Best/Most Disappointing Places You Have Visited

Started by Canalman, June 20, 2008, 12:57:19 PM

el_cuervo_fc

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 20, 2008, 04:58:30 PM

Newcastle - England (best stag ever)

I'm going back there next week for a stag.  Can't wait!!! four days of madness  ;D ;D

Quote from: muppet on June 20, 2008, 09:38:48 PM
Go maith

San Pedro - Belize
Byron Bay - Oz
New Orleans (pre hurricane)
Cesky Krumlov - Czech Republic
Santa Monica

Stunning wee town alright

Goats Do Shave

Quote from: Puckoon on June 21, 2008, 05:29:48 AM
Quote from: J70 on June 21, 2008, 01:24:51 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on June 20, 2008, 05:23:18 PM
Best.

1. Fintra strand on a nice summers day
2. Fintra strand on a grey winters day

3. Anfi Del Mar - gran canaria
4. Cancun mexico
5. Lake Tahoe, NV

Worst.

1. Finglas
2. Bakersfield California
3. Fresno California
4. Los Angeles California
5. Castlederg                                                                                                          Sir.

"Fintra" as in Killybegs?

One and the same. One of the nicest places on earth.

I'd agree, used to go there every summer as a kid, love it!

QuoteGoing at end of July, hope it lives up to Goats high praise.

You'll enjoy it! Loads to do, we stayed in the Palmin - lovely hotel!!

Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on June 21, 2008, 09:01:54 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 20, 2008, 04:58:30 PM

Newcastle - England (best stag ever)

I'm going back there next week for a stag.  Can't wait!!! four days of madness  ;D ;D
Four days is mad, after two days there I was ready for St Lukes.  Cant say I was overly impressed with Newcastle, full of Squaddies - you could get a slap very quick.

Best :

Achill
Cape Tribulation
Monaco
Edinburgh
Seattle

Worst :

Tuam
Dundee
Glenavon
Gosford
Carlow

Best:

Dubai
New York
Puerto Banus (Chav city, but still a good laugh)
Clones on an Ulster Final day
Paris

Worst:

Playa del Ingles
Salou
Budapest
Basle
Clones any other day

Best:

1. Barca
2. The Alps
3. Paris
4. Toronto

Worst

1. Jordanstown
2. Strabane
3. Newcastle (Some craic but the place is a kip, bodies everywhere after 2 oclock)
4. Wexford (Worst holiday ever BORING)

Derry Daisy

Quote from: saffron sam2 on June 20, 2008, 09:56:11 PM
Best.

1. Port Douglas
2. Ballinskelligs
3. Paris
4. The Glens Pub Crawl Of Distinction
5. Sugarloaf Mountain, Maine

Worst

1. Agree with Bondi - awful let down.
2. Longford
3. Slaughneil
4. Larne
5. Birmingham

You've never been up the Carn then?? I do enjoy your hate for anything related to slaughtneil :-\

Best:

1. Queenstown (NZ)
2. Amsterdam
3. Killarney
4. Galway
5. Barcelona (except for the feckin pick pockets)

Worst

1. Tenerife (full of English arseholes trying to get you into crap bars)
2. LARNE
3. Singapore (one big shopping centre and wannabe oriental yanks, soulless place)
4. LARNE
5. LARNE

Quote from: screenexile on June 23, 2008, 11:43:04 AM
1. Jordanstown
2. Strabane
3. Newcastle (Some craic but the place is a kip, bodies everywhere after 2 oclock)
4. Wexford (Worst holiday ever BORING)

I know what you mean. I went to Strabane for my birthday. Don't know why, but never again.

stevo-08

Best:
Machu Pichu
Cinque Terre
Galapagos Islands
New York
Sistine Chapel
Buenos Aires

Most Disappointing:
Mchale Park, Castlebar(yesterday) :(

Best;

Sydney
Hvar, Croatia
Austria
Rome

Worst;
Dublin
Limerick (city)
Knock (used hate being brought there)
Claremorris (had to pass through to see above)

bombidal

Best

Koh Tao, Thailand
Roundstone Co. Galway
NY
Las Vegas
Cape of good hope

*** Gaaboard Fantasy Football Champion 09 ***

isourboydownyet

BEST
1.newyork
2.rio
3.myrtle beech (south carolina)
4.galway

WORST
1.ibiza
2.venice
3.glasgow
4.bundoran

FL/MAYO

Quote from: Puckoon on June 21, 2008, 05:29:48 AM
Quote from: J70 on June 21, 2008, 01:24:51 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on June 20, 2008, 05:23:18 PM
Best.

1. Fintra strand on a nice summers day
2. Fintra strand on a grey winters day

3. Anfi Del Mar - gran canaria
4. Cancun mexico
5. Lake Tahoe, NV

Worst.

1. Finglas
2. Bakersfield California
3. Fresno California
4. Los Angeles California
5. Castlederg                                                                                                          Sir.

"Fintra" as in Killybegs?

One and the same. One of the nicest places on earth.

Played a lot of football at Fintra and trained on that beach during the summer, it is a lovely spot alright. A few miles further out the coast road into Kilcar is one of my favourite spots.

Big disappointment was the Giants Causeway, as someone already mentioned it was smaller than I imagined.
Thought Vegas was a dump once you left the strip.
Best places that I have seen are Cape Town and the surrounding area and the Grand Canyon as it was just bigger than I imagined.