GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: JimStynes on July 04, 2017, 08:42:43 PM

Title: Buff Egan - Hurling Banter Facebook
Post by: JimStynes on July 04, 2017, 08:42:43 PM
Anyone else have this man on snapchat? Jesus he gets to a serious amount of games and has become a cult hero around the country!
Title: Re: Buff Egan - Hurling Banter Facebook
Post by: didlyi on July 04, 2017, 08:54:23 PM
A South Kerryman going to hurling matches all over the place, day in day out.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 04, 2017, 09:16:33 PM
Is he not from clare?
Post by: JimStynes on July 04, 2017, 09:22:11 PM
Not the full whack but he's got some following. No, he's from Kerry but is a big Clare supporter. Loves his WWE quotes and a Ric Flair Wooooooo
Post by: imtommygunn on July 04, 2017, 09:30:22 PM
Stood beside him at a match the other year. Hadn't a notion who he was but he showed me his facebook following. Think you have hit the nail on the head with one statement there lol. Fair play to him though- very passionate about his hurling.
Post by: JimStynes on July 04, 2017, 09:42:23 PM
Add him on snapchat (hurlingbanter) if you have it. Some man for an update on a game if you're not there and dying to know what's happening.
Post by: clonadmad on July 04, 2017, 10:02:02 PM
Been following Bluff since 2013,a guilty pleasure

Hurlings answer to David Brent

Never mind the hurling it's the various scrapes our hero gets into,that makes it comedy gold
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 04, 2017, 10:23:20 PM
He was getting bad manners last week for saying he lost his wallet as people were saying he always "loses" his wallet to get freebies! Harmless lad.
Post by: Minder on July 04, 2017, 10:53:37 PM
Seems like a total simpleton
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 04, 2017, 11:27:49 PM
Heard he got a belt for his troubles in Kilkenny recently. Bad form if true.
Post by: clonadmad on July 04, 2017, 11:50:07 PM
Buff loves the drama,all part of the act
Post by: Minder on July 04, 2017, 11:54:44 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on July 04, 2017, 11:50:07 PM
Buff loves the drama,all part of the act

Aye him reporting to his "fans" that his wallet was lost when he was in Heuston Station was as bad a bit of acting as you will see
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on July 05, 2017, 12:37:59 AM
You need characters like this. Bit like the Derry football keeper.
Post by: MoChara on July 05, 2017, 08:16:30 AM
Over the weekend he got kicked in the gut by some randomer and then his car wouldn't starton a lay by on the motorway and he's on snapchat seeing if someone will drop by with some jump leads, its the only reality TV I really bother with lol

I never knew he was from Kerry I always thought he was Clare as well, he goes on like hes from Clare.
Post by: JimStynes on July 06, 2017, 08:24:37 AM
Drink it in maaaaaaan
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 06, 2017, 08:34:45 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on July 06, 2017, 08:24:37 AM
Drink it in maaaaaaan
BELIEVE THAT 😱
Post by: JimStynes on July 25, 2017, 06:07:38 PM
Buff's losing the run of himself a bit!
Post by: seafoid on July 25, 2017, 06:17:30 PM
Shucky ducky quack quack
Post by: Minder on July 25, 2017, 06:21:34 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on July 25, 2017, 06:07:38 PM

Why what's he at ?

Seriously don't know how anyone finds him amusing, interesting or funny. He seems like a total moron
Post by: JimStynes on July 25, 2017, 08:36:54 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 25, 2017, 06:21:34 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on July 25, 2017, 06:07:38 PM

Why what's he at ?

Seriously don't know how anyone finds him amusing, interesting or funny. He seems like a total moron

He's got a cooking segment in his snapchat now haha. tantalising!!
Post by: bogball88 on July 25, 2017, 10:12:47 PM
Nahh mann
Post by: AZOffaly on July 25, 2017, 10:26:09 PM
I'd say he's a bit touched.
Post by: Minder on July 25, 2017, 10:28:37 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 25, 2017, 10:26:09 PM

He seems to be. All his "fans" seem to be teenagers
Post by: seafoid on July 25, 2017, 11:38:36 PM
He is like an updated version of Brian Carthy. But with a bit more depth
Post by: DuffleKing on July 25, 2017, 11:51:40 PM

Wrong forum...
Post by: seafoid on July 26, 2017, 02:29:09 AM
Quote from: Minder on July 25, 2017, 10:28:37 PM

Who else is reaching them?
What do you think they think of TSG ? 
Or Martin Breheny ?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 26, 2017, 10:03:22 AM
Quote from: Minder on July 25, 2017, 10:28:37 PM

Ye aul lads don't know what is going on with young people these days.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 26, 2017, 10:19:38 AM
We won an auld shield thing there a few weeks ago, and when the lads were posing for their photo they all made the thumb and finger gesture he does, like the old 'OK' sign, and were roaring about sending the photo to Buff Egan. I was amazed.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 26, 2017, 10:28:09 AM
Capiche!!!
Post by: seafoid on July 26, 2017, 10:35:23 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Il5OzBBgzgs
Post by: ONeill on July 26, 2017, 12:07:22 PM
He's a bit of a laugh.

Some unfair comments here.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on July 26, 2017, 01:29:58 PM
Anything or anybody that gets young people talking about hurling has to be good.

And that's a fact of life!
Post by: seafoid on July 26, 2017, 01:30:49 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on July 26, 2017, 01:29:58 PM
Anything or anybody that gets young people talking about hurling has to be good.

And teenagers love buzzwords
Post by: AZOffaly on July 26, 2017, 01:36:55 PM

No doubt. He comes across well in that interview. I'd still say he's not the full shilling but he's doing more to market hurling than the GAA is, that's for sure :)
Post by: seafoid on July 26, 2017, 01:38:02 PM
social media has some great GAA stuff

EG https://twitter.com/DeludedFrank
Post by: Franko on July 26, 2017, 01:39:51 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 26, 2017, 01:36:55 PM

No doubt. He comes across well in that interview. I'd still say he's not the full shilling but he's doing more to market hurling than the GAA is, that's for sure :)

It's sad but 100% true.  He's actually interested in hurling outside the top 8 counties.
Post by: general_lee on July 26, 2017, 02:42:20 PM
He's a good laugh. Looking forward to more recipes lol
Post by: didlyi on July 26, 2017, 11:50:40 PM
He really love hes hurling. Great to see some of these characters in the GAA.
Post by: maigheo on July 27, 2017, 02:53:35 AM
Great character and comments saying he is a simpleton and not the full shilling are very unfair
Post by: laoislad on July 27, 2017, 08:07:18 AM
Quote from: maigheo on July 27, 2017, 02:53:35 AM
Great character and comments saying he is a simpleton and not the full shilling are very unfair
Had never heard of him before this thread but I fully agree with your comment there.
For all we know he could be a member here seeing as he is so mad into his hurling and social media.
Very ignorant of people to say he isn't the full shilling.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 27, 2017, 09:19:01 AM
True. I might be a million miles off base. I just see a 20 something year old adult (He says he was very young in 1995) posting like he does and think we're in box of frogs territory. But I'm obviously a completely different generation, and the young lads seem to love him, so fair play.

He spoke very well on that interview at times.
Post by: JimStynes on July 27, 2017, 10:47:48 AM
https://www.facebook.com/ballsdotie/videos/10155682511756042/?hc_ref=ARTx8LiXa4n17jSZ4uv6BfnoPOeAwTJyPzG_h0mb_WClsZLUh-OknHO3GJVBZdBM0iM (https://www.facebook.com/ballsdotie/videos/10155682511756042/?hc_ref=ARTx8LiXa4n17jSZ4uv6BfnoPOeAwTJyPzG_h0mb_WClsZLUh-OknHO3GJVBZdBM0iM)
Not sure if that link works but it's on balls.ie
Speaks very well.
Post by: seafoid on July 27, 2017, 11:20:07 AM
I think he is really sharp. He has built up a career doing something he loves, that he is very good at. I read somewhere that if you want to set up a business you need to offer something that nobody else is offering.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 27, 2017, 11:22:34 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 27, 2017, 11:20:07 AM
I think he is really sharp. He has built up a career doing something he loves, that he is very good at. I read somewhere that if you want to set up a business you need to offer something that nobody else is offering.

A career? He said he had to get a girl from Laois to pay for him to go into a match and buy him food. Or was that because he left his wallet at home? I'm not sure this is monitised as of yet, maybe that's a reason for it's popularity too. As he said himself, if he gets sponsorship from some big company, then he'd be beholden to them for approval of his content.

He's not an idiot.
Post by: seafoid on July 27, 2017, 11:37:20 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 27, 2017, 11:22:34 AM

A career? He said he had to get a girl from Laois to pay for him to go into a match and buy him food. Or was that because he left his wallet at home? I'm not sure this is monitised as of yet, maybe that's a reason for it's popularity too. As he said himself, if he gets sponsorship from some big company, then he'd be beholden to them for approval of his content.

He's not an idiot.
I bet he will make a career out of it.
He'll do stuff in the papers or TV. He has built up something special.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 27, 2017, 11:40:08 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 27, 2017, 11:37:20 AM

He's not an idiot.
I bet he will make a career out of it.
He'll do stuff in the papers or TV. He has built up something special.

He will I'd say. Fair play to him if he does. At least he seems to love the game!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 27, 2017, 11:44:26 AM

He's not an idiot.

Lost his wallet apparently, put it out on snapchat and people were coming up offering him food, bed for the night, etc. He got the wallet back too. What does he work at I wonder to be able to get to all these games and put so much content out there.
Post by: seafoid on July 27, 2017, 02:51:49 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 27, 2017, 11:44:26 AM

He's not an idiot.

Lost his wallet apparently, put it out on snapchat and people were coming up offering him food, bed for the night, etc. He got the wallet back too. What does he work at I wonder to be able to get to all these games and put so much content out there.
Matches are on at the weekend. He probably pays half fare on the train. Social media is free
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 27, 2017, 04:24:11 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 27, 2017, 11:44:26 AM

He's not an idiot.

Read on another forum that he does nixers and a bit of this and a bit of that. Doesn't have a 9 to 5 but I could be wrong.

With the amount of cooking he does he could be the next Donal Skehan. He's probably a better cook that Skehan is anyway. ;D
Post by: theskull1 on September 03, 2017, 11:56:26 PM
Buff reporting he got serious abuse from a large number of young supporters today at the game.

Pretty shameful behaviour
Post by: AZOffaly on September 06, 2017, 11:28:38 AM
He posted a video giving out about it. I still don't think he's all there. If he is he is in the wrong game. He claims his actions and the way he talks are all an act, which I believe, but then he gets upset when young lads, who he aims this act at, start calling him names. They are not calling him the names, they are calling the character he has created those names.

https://www.facebook.com/HumansofGAA/videos/1457205081064918/ (https://www.facebook.com/HumansofGAA/videos/1457205081064918/)

Post by: Captain Scarlet on September 06, 2017, 05:57:19 PM
It's an odd one here as AZ says he kinda admits himself he acts up for the craic and then the followers treat him as such. Also you would reckon that most of his followers are younger lads and young ones who, when they see him and are in the group with perhaps a few shandies on board want to rip the piss out of him.
If he is saying on one hand that his character is a bit mad then don't expect to be treated like a straight broadcaster like the one point for Tony Kelly lad he refers to. If it is a case of acting up for the Snapchat then you will be treated like a gimmick.
He seems hurt in that post, he acknowledges he acts up a bit, but then fails to connect the fact that that is why people treat him like a fool.
Look he seems to do decent work promoting hurling and I'd have him over Rory's Stories any day.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on September 06, 2017, 06:25:02 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on September 06, 2017, 05:57:19 PM
It's an odd one here as AZ says he kinda admits himself he acts up for the craic and then the followers treat him as such. Also you would reckon that most of his followers are younger lads and young ones who, when they see him and are in the group with perhaps a few shandies on board want to rip the piss out of him.
If he is saying on one hand that his character is a bit mad then don't expect to be treated like a straight broadcaster like the one point for Tony Kelly lad he refers to. If it is a case of acting up for the Snapchat then you will be treated like a gimmick.
He seems hurt in that post, he acknowledges he acts up a bit, but then fails to connect the fact that that is why people treat him like a fool.
Look he seems to do decent work promoting hurling and I'd have him over Rory's Stories any day.

That doesnt justify lads physically attackin him in public though
Post by: AZOffaly on September 06, 2017, 06:35:13 PM
Absolutely not. Anyone who physically attacks a fella for no reason is a shitehawk. Likewise, anyone who verbally abuses the chap for no reason is also a dick. I just think he's not fully aware of how/why this could happen, which is probably along the lines of what Captain Scarlett and I have said. He's doing no harm to anyone, and he's has a savage love for the game. But he talks about getting respect, and the other 'bloggers' in it for the money getting respect. But he doesn't set his 'character'  up as someone that commands respect. I think that's the bit he's missing, and he wouldn't be so upset about it if he put the 2 things together.

It doesn't excuse the lads that abuse him at all, shitehawks, but it might explain it.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on September 06, 2017, 06:41:31 PM
Lads being the key word here. Most over 30 would have very little knowledge of him until recently and his core would be secondary school to U21s who are out in a big gang for a match and see him and accost him being pure shitheads acting cool and probably posting it on their own social media.

No excusing anyone getting abuse when they are doing zero harm and causing no offence.

Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 07, 2017, 01:56:05 AM
No harm in Buff at all.
Post by: Mourne Red on September 11, 2017, 10:17:40 AM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on September 07, 2017, 01:56:05 AM
No harm in Buff at all.

Seen on Facebook he got a little bit heated with a Limerick fan? Shoved him into next week
Post by: seafoid on September 11, 2017, 10:20:25 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 06, 2017, 06:35:13 PM
Absolutely not. Anyone who physically attacks a fella for no reason is a shitehawk. Likewise, anyone who verbally abuses the chap for no reason is also a dick. I just think he's not fully aware of how/why this could happen, which is probably along the lines of what Captain Scarlett and I have said. He's doing no harm to anyone, and he's has a savage love for the game. But he talks about getting respect, and the other 'bloggers' in it for the money getting respect. But he doesn't set his 'character'  up as someone that commands respect. I think that's the bit he's missing, and he wouldn't be so upset about it if he put the 2 things together.

It doesn't excuse the lads that abuse him at all, shitehawks, but it might explain it.
Is it begrudgery?  Or something to do with privacy?
Post by: clonadmad on September 11, 2017, 02:19:21 PM
When Celebrities go Bad

https://youtu.be/yfczjkDcMyE
Post by: theskull1 on September 11, 2017, 02:24:32 PM
More like .... When you get young d*ckheads getting their mate to video them doing what they do best
Post by: Orchard park on September 11, 2017, 02:57:18 PM
sleep with dogs rise with fleas  Buff
Post by: Boycey on September 22, 2017, 04:42:38 PM
I never heard of Buff til I saw this thread a couple of months ago. I follow him now on snapchat and spend most of my day with him it seems  ;D. Can anyone tell me what age he might be and does he do anything other than wander the country going to matches or to the ploughing??

I'm still trying to work out if he's an eejit or a genius, possibly both?
Post by: OgraAnDun on October 25, 2017, 08:09:08 PM
He's turning into one of the "big names" he's always giving out about - he now even has a selfie policy!
Post by: heffo on October 25, 2017, 08:43:33 PM
Jesus he should disable comments on his posts, the poor fella.

Post by: Gael85 on October 25, 2017, 09:04:11 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 04, 2017, 09:16:33 PM
Is he not from clare?

From Kerry but supports Clare   ::)
Post by: MoChara on December 22, 2017, 11:12:43 PM
https://youtu.be/sHLBIlqZWik

He's some whinge, I used to like him but he's sounding like a whinging f**ker now
Post by: Minder on December 22, 2017, 11:20:57 PM
Quote from: MoChara on December 22, 2017, 11:12:43 PM

He's some whinge, I used to like him but he's sounding like a whinging f**ker now

Aye a total tool, guard slipped a bit there. Anyone that didn't think he was looking to make a bit of money at his "promoting hurling" shtick needs their head examined
Post by: OgraAnDun on December 22, 2017, 11:32:14 PM

Where the f*ck was he yapping on for 8 minutes? Did he record it or did someone secretly record it?
Post by: MoChara on December 22, 2017, 11:44:54 PM
Supposedly it was doing the rounds on WhatsApp before being put on YouTube.

Minder he literally has a story up at the minute about getting a hundred quid of his car insurance  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Minder on December 22, 2017, 11:54:22 PM
Quote from: MoChara on December 22, 2017, 11:44:54 PM
Supposedly it was doing the rounds on WhatsApp before being put on YouTube.

Minder he literally has a story up at the minute about getting a hundred quid of his car insurance  ;D ;D ;D

Used to follow him on Twitter, out of curiosity, but the act got old very quickly

All he her said was he wasn't in it for the money, but seems he is in it for the........
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 23, 2017, 03:59:11 AM

In fairness he has one thing right anyway. Rory's Stories is an absolute dose.

They even had him analysing GAA games on RTE radio during the Summer. I mean seriously.
Post by: tommysmith on December 23, 2017, 09:44:16 PM
The biggest problem he has is thinking Rory is a rival when they are in no way similar.

All they have in common is the use of social media to talk shite.

After listening to that I think he needs help.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on December 24, 2017, 03:31:25 PM
That was a mad aul listen. Betrayed by his own people!
I can take or leave Rorys Stories but he is clever and he has aligned himself well within the GAA and gets talking at things like the Youth Forum. He has a massive following from the teen age group.

Buff clearly hates him and if he played himself less angry he could be getting gigs like that too. He hates the Two Johnnies too. Another rival faction.
These internet people are very touchy!
Post by: Minder on December 24, 2017, 03:36:16 PM
I thought the best bit was when he said he probably wouldn't be known as a "sporting legend" in somewhere like Meath as it's not his home county
Post by: seafoid on December 24, 2017, 04:44:30 PM
I would say it is business frustration. He has the brand but not the cash-flow. 
Post by: Minder on December 24, 2017, 04:51:09 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 24, 2017, 04:44:30 PM

It's brain cells he needs not cash flow
Post by: JimStynes on December 24, 2017, 05:19:10 PM
Quote from: Minder on December 24, 2017, 04:51:09 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 24, 2017, 04:44:30 PM

It's brain cells he needs not cash flow

He's built it all on the basis of it being voluntary. He's probably dying to charge for appearances etc. I still think he's harmless and does more good than bad.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on December 24, 2017, 06:47:20 PM
Rory is boring now only so far you can go repeating yourself,  Buff I would think started as a hobby but he would have to be clever to monotise himself.  He is not exactly going to get paid €15 a skull to say capice.
Post by: imtommygunn on December 24, 2017, 08:57:05 PM
I think the fella defines himself by followers etc - met him once without having a clue who he was and more or less introduced himself by telling me how many facebook followers he had.

I really don't think there was an end game with monetising things etc. Without trying to be disrespectful I think people are looking for a depth that isn't there. Maybe some people have tried to persuade him he can make money but i can't see why anyone would pay him to appear.
Post by: MoChara on December 27, 2017, 08:48:25 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on December 24, 2017, 08:57:05 PM
I think the fella defines himself by followers etc - met him once without having a clue who he was and more or less introduced himself by telling me how many facebook followers he had.

I really don't think there was an end game with monetising things etc. Without trying to be disrespectful I think people are looking for a depth that isn't there. Maybe some people have tried to persuade him he can make money but i can't see why anyone would pay him to appear.

I'd say he'd be popular for a few juvenile presentations and that but I can't see much more of a spectrum for him. 
Post by: seafoid on December 27, 2017, 09:01:17 AM

You wouldn't know with millenials.  JournalisM might fly too.
The biography market could be improved.
People are mad for content during the season. I also think he could grow into a role. He is better than Ger canning...
Post by: AZOffaly on December 27, 2017, 11:21:08 AM
Quote from: seafoid on December 27, 2017, 09:01:17 AM

People are mad for content during the season. I also think he could grow into a role. He is better than Ger canning...

Journalism? Are you mental? You'd do well to fill an article with Capiche and Tantalising.
Post by: Minder on December 27, 2017, 11:43:12 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 27, 2017, 11:21:08 AM

Journalism? Are you mental? You'd do well to fill an article with Capiche and Tantalising.

Seriously Seafoid catch a grip, do you read any of your posts before posting them ?
Post by: seafoid on December 27, 2017, 12:51:17 PM
Quote from: Minder on December 27, 2017, 11:43:12 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 27, 2017, 11:21:08 AM

Seriously Seafoid catch a grip, do you read any of your posts before posting them ?

Capiche etc is Internet.  I rëmember the catchphrases the Mary Whitehouse experience had 25 years agô. It is marketing.

He knows about the sport. A lot of hurling journalism is very poor.
The Indo boys are dire. RTE is hit and miss.
Young people like him.
It all depends what he does now.
Post by: imtommygunn on December 27, 2017, 01:42:04 PM
He doesn't know much about the sport and isn't a millennial...

You are looking for something which isn't there or even close to it.
Post by: seafoid on December 27, 2017, 03:30:25 PM
Let's see. It is all up to him
Post by: JimStynes on December 27, 2017, 07:03:55 PM
Believe that!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on December 29, 2017, 12:09:02 AM
Hail hail
Post by: slippery dodger on February 05, 2018, 04:24:46 PM
Buff Egan had some night of it in Kanturk last night