Quote from: Applesisapples on November 16, 2020, 02:09:36 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on November 16, 2020, 02:02:50 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on November 16, 2020, 01:08:38 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on November 16, 2020, 12:46:10 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on November 16, 2020, 11:13:07 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on November 16, 2020, 10:38:17 AM
Quote from: Applesisapples on November 16, 2020, 10:34:43 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 16, 2020, 09:27:20 AM
Eastwood is awful - a really poor leader. I quite like Mallon generally and Hanna is ok though not as ok as I thought she was initially. They are definitely a party which still aren't progressing.
Mallon is good, Hanna is too rehearsed, she has been left stumped a few times by Nolan, hardly a genius himself.

At least she went on to face him, he's a hateful hoor but no way stupid and backed up in advance of every interview with tonnes of info from a full production team.

The SDLP shouldn't be giving that bigot any time at all.

Unfortunately the electorate listen to the show. Why should we the nationalist people give him a free reign

Do they?

Yeah, going by the amount of people who phone in, i rarely miss, always important to hear all sides, SF all listen in secret, Gerry Kelly tweeted a few times that "on the Nolan show he said .....".
Quality of guests bar the obvious tubes like Bryson and Jim Allister can be good
Nolan turns everything into a onesie anti SF rant. Not worth the airtime.

They make it easy for him though, constant balls ups and then nobody sent in to defend the balls ups. Makes them look guilty to the middle ground.There is no doubt its all tinged with a hatred of them though

JohnDenver

Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on November 16, 2020, 02:24:39 PM
Eastwood is awful - a really poor leader. I quite like Mallon generally and Hanna is ok though not as ok as I thought she was initially. They are definitely a party which still aren't progressing.
Mallon is good, Hanna is too rehearsed, she has been left stumped a few times by Nolan, hardly a genius himself.

At least she went on to face him, he's a hateful hoor but no way stupid and backed up in advance of every interview with tonnes of info from a full production team.

Unfortunately the electorate listen to the show. Why should we the nationalist people give him a free reign

Do they?

Yeah, going by the amount of people who phone in, i rarely miss, always important to hear all sides, SF all listen in secret, Gerry Kelly tweeted a few times that "on the Nolan show he said .....".
Quality of guests bar the obvious tubes like Bryson and Jim Allister can be good

They make it easy for him though, constant balls ups and then nobody sent in to defend the balls ups. Makes them look guilty to the middle ground.There is no doubt its all tinged with a hatred of them though

You're maybe a regular contributor as well as a listener  8)

Angelo

Quote from: LCohen on November 16, 2020, 01:16:38 PM
Quote from: Angelo on September 18, 2020, 07:41:32 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 18, 2020, 07:24:52 PM
Quote from: Angelo on September 18, 2020, 07:13:16 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 18, 2020, 07:10:46 PM
Quote from: Angelo on September 18, 2020, 06:06:05 PM
You saw what I said about no substance.

There it is again.

Ah look, here's the quasi-unionist to throw in his few cents.

Jabbers, that takes the biscuit, I've been called many's the thing on this forum, quasi-unionist wasn't one of them, quite the reverse.

Any person from a nationalist background in the north who defends and promotes the Free State establishment parties attitude and policies to the northern situation during the troubles is a wrong one and you are certainly guilty of that.

Spell out what the RoI "Establishment Parties" are get wrong re NI?

Is there any reason to suggest that their policies on that issue are reflective of opinion in Ireland?

FF/FG routinely play political football with the legacy of the troubles.

Spouting about Tom Oliver and Paul Quinn while thwarting the McAnespie family in their bid for justice and making official complaints about a documentary investigating state collusion with loyalist murder squads. They also appointed a high ranking official in a disgraced, disbanded sectarian police force as head of their police service. The same high ranking official who thwarted a proper investigation into the Glenanne Gang.

They were barking and lecturing SF on the need to form a government with DUP dinosaurs up north but when government numbers became tricky down south and when SF had the highest vote in the last election both FF and FG refused to negotiate with SF to form a government.

You'd want to hang your head in shame if you want to defend either of these parties and their petty and backward attitude to the north.
GAA FUNDING CHEATS CHEAT US ALL

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Quote from: JohnDenver on November 16, 2020, 02:31:15 PM

Do they?

lol, no i dont want the baseball bat men around the house again

LCohen

Quote from: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 02:47:42 PM

There it is again.

Jabbers, that takes the biscuit, I've been called many's the thing on this forum, quasi-unionist wasn't one of them, quite the reverse.

Any person from a nationalist background in the north who defends and promotes the Free State establishment parties attitude and policies to the northern situation during the troubles is a wrong one and you are certainly guilty of that.

Is there any reason to suggest that their policies on that issue are reflective of opinion in Ireland?

Spouting about Tom Oliver and Paul Quinn while thwarting the McAnespie family in their bid for justice and making official complaints about a documentary investigating state collusion with loyalist murder squads. They also appointed a high ranking official in a disgraced, disbanded sectarian police force as head of their police service. The same high ranking official who thwarted a proper investigation into the Glenanne Gang.

They were barking and lecturing SF on the need to form a government with DUP dinosaurs up north but when government numbers became tricky down south and when SF had the highest vote in the last election both FF and FG refused to negotiate with SF to form a government.

You'd want to hang your head in shame if you want to defend either of these parties and their petty and backward attitude to the north.

Holy fcuk.

Who do you think make more of a political football out of NI/ the troubles, FG, FF or SF? I'm a supporter of none of those parties but it would be good to hear your reasoned views?

Are SF doing everything they can to help research past atrocities? If not you must really despise SF then?

Angelo

Quote from: LCohen on November 16, 2020, 03:18:27 PM

There it is again.

Holy fcuk.

Who do you think make more of a political football out of NI/ the troubles, FG, FF or SF? I'm a supporter of none of those parties but it would be good to hear your reasoned views?

Are SF doing everything they can to help research past atrocities? If not you must really despise SF then?

Unquestionably FF and FG.

SF have a mandate from the nationalist community, they are by far the largest nationalist party in the O6. They have members who have been victims of British state terrorism and collusion, they are people who have lived through and being directly impacted by the troubles. So to then be moralised and pontificated by leaders from a state who sat on their hands as innocent nationalists were being burned out of their homes and shot on their streets of their home towns takes some gall.

Maybe if the Free State had made a stand there would have been no need for the Provos.

They are also the ones who have looked for a reconciliation process. Why do FF/FG actively reject this? Probably the same reason you rarely if ever hear any of them demanding justice for the biggest ever terrorist atrocity to hit their state.

FF and FG do not want to have to hold the British state to account to will look to openly suppress any quest from the victims of British state atrocities in Ireland.

LCohen

Quote from: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 03:25:54 PM

There it is again.

Holy fcuk.

SF have a mandate from the nationalist community, they are by far the largest nationalist party in the O6. They have members who have been victims of British state terrorism and collusion, they are people who have lived through and being directly impacted by the troubles. So to then be moralised and pontificated by leaders from a state who sat on their hands as innocent nationalists were being burned out of their homes and shot on their streets of their home towns takes some gall.

Maybe if the Free State had made a stand there would have been no need for the Provos.

They are also the ones who have looked for a reconciliation process. Why do FF/FG actively reject this? Probably the same reason you rarely if ever hear any of them demanding justice for the biggest ever terrorist atrocity to hit their state.

FF and FG do not want to have to hold the British state to account to will look to openly suppress any quest from the victims of British state atrocities in Ireland.

When COVID is over will you take this show on the road?

SF play games continually.

And as for the experiences of their members? Their members also participated in collusion. They participated in the taking of innocent life. They participated in acts demonstrating reckless abandon with innocent life. They participated in gross sectarianism. They did and do participate in organised criminality.

The provos never had majority nationalist support. Never forget that.

Will SF hold the armed republican movement to account?

Angelo

Quote from: LCohen on November 16, 2020, 03:51:43 PM

There it is again.

Holy fcuk.

And as for the experiences of their members? Their members also participated in collusion. They participated in the taking of innocent life. They participated in acts demonstrating reckless abandon with innocent life. They participated in gross sectarianism. They did and do participate in organised criminality.

Maybe you can address FF/FG's approach to the north without going after SF?

What you are doing here now is disingenuous and trying to divert the matter. You took umbrage with my comments on FF/FG and their record in the north so leave SF out of it if you want to discuss that.

LCohen

Quote from: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 04:13:52 PM
Quote from: LCohen on November 16, 2020, 03:51:43 PM

There it is again.

Holy fcuk.

Maybe you can address FF/FG's approach to the north without going after SF?

What you are doing here now is disingenuous and trying to divert the matter. You took umbrage with my comments on FF/FG and their record in the north so leave SF out of it if you want to discuss that.

I'm just pointing out the absence of integrity in your personal position on this.

As for FG and FF I have no problem with their general view on NI. Obviously there are exceptions to that. Political interference to prevent an inquiry or disclosure of inquiry findings would be such an exception.

Angelo

Quote from: LCohen on November 16, 2020, 04:21:53 PM

I'm just pointing out the absence of integrity in your personal position on this.

As for FG and FF I have no problem with their general view on NI. Obviously there are exceptions to that. Political interference to prevent an inquiry or disclosure of inquiry findings would be such an exception.

So you have no problem with FF/FG using victims of the Troubles as political footballs to score points while they continue to frustrate the likes of the McAnespie family in their bid for justice?

What FF/FG serve to do is rewrite the narrative of The Troubles. They only focus on the victims of the Provos, but the vast, vast amount of nationalists were victims of the British State, their security forces and the loyalist murder squads they colluded with and what is the FF/FG stance on that?

FF/FG routinely namecheck Tom Oliver, Paul Quinn, Jean McConville, Mairia Cahill etc but they wouldn't be able to name you nationalist victim of British state forces. That is as callous as it gets. FG TDs coming out and blaming the IRA for the Dublin/Monaghan bombings when their own party sought to cover it up. Appointing a RUC stooge as head of their police force.

FF/FG are every bit as bad as the DUP.

Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on November 16, 2020, 02:54:43 PM

Do they?

One of those "phone lines are hopping" lads whose always on recently admitted that the researchers ring him all the time to go on the show. A norman from Bangor, I guess he's giving a nationalist outlook along with the regular contributors, Jamie, McAllister, Nelson and Jim Wells on speed dial..

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Quote from: johnnycool on November 16, 2020, 04:52:32 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on November 16, 2020, 02:54:43 PM

Do they?

One of those "phone lines are hopping" lads whose always on recently admitted that the researchers ring him all the time to go on the show. A norman from Bangor, I guess he's giving a nationalist outlook along with the regular contributors, Jamie, McAllister, Nelson and Jim Wells on speed dial..

Always bit of that going on on every show. But there are a lot of nationalist s phoning in every day. Honestly. But the show always has good experts on , and when it's not us v them subject there is usually good attempt to present experts from both sides of arguement. It wouldn't be on and he wouldn't be getting paid what he does if the ratings were not there

LCohen

Quote from: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 04:31:29 PM

So you have no problem with FF/FG using victims of the Troubles as political footballs to score points while they continue to frustrate the likes of the McAnespie family in their bid for justice?

What FF/FG serve to do is rewrite the narrative of The Troubles. They only focus on the victims of the Provos, but the vast, vast amount of nationalists were victims of the British State, their security forces and the loyalist murder squads they colluded with and what is the FF/FG stance on that?

FF/FG routinely namecheck Tom Oliver, Paul Quinn, Jean McConville, Mairia Cahill etc but they wouldn't be able to name you nationalist victim of British state forces. That is as callous as it gets. FG TDs coming out and blaming the IRA for the Dublin/Monaghan bombings when their own party sought to cover it up. Appointing a RUC stooge as head of their police force.

Well I have no problem with people being held to account? FG and certainly FF have the skeletons. By all means go after them. I'm no fan of either Party. Shinners have some serious dirt in their past and a good deal in their present. Hold them to account.

In my earlier post I specifically mentioned inquiries. So your question re McAnespie is baffling.

There is nobody in Irish politics trying to rewrite the troubles as much as SF. So if rewriting history irks you as you say you must be genuinely disgusted with SF.

You describe someone as being callous based upon evidence that exists in your head.

I think you are unwell.

Angelo

Quote from: LCohen on November 16, 2020, 07:09:41 PM

Well I have no problem with people being held to account? FG and certainly FF have the skeletons. By all means go after them. I'm no fan of either Party. Shinners have some serious dirt in their past and a good deal in their present. Hold them to account.

In my earlier post I specifically mentioned inquiries. So your question re McAnespie is baffling.

There is nobody in Irish politics trying to rewrite the troubles as much as SF. So if rewriting history irks you as you say you must be genuinely disgusted with SF.

You describe someone as being callous based upon evidence that exists in your head.

I think you are unwell.

Two points:

1. You're off on a SF tangent again. You contended my post about the FF/FG attitude to the north, if you want to focus on that then stop bringing SF into it.

2. The most notable case of rewriting history seems to be coming from you. You do realise that the Provos were a reaction to a violent and sectarian pogrom on the Catholic population aided and abetted by security forces as both the British and Free State governments watched on and did nothing. The Provos were an inevitability so to sit and listen to two parties in a partitioned state that were both founded by the gun and versed in violence is not who any northern nationalist should take moral lectures from.

LCohen

Quote from: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 07:27:48 PM
Quote from: LCohen on November 16, 2020, 07:09:41 PM

I think you are unwell.

Two points:

1. You're off on a SF tangent again. You contended my post about the FF/FG attitude to the north, if you want to focus on that then stop bringing SF into it.

2. The most notable case of rewriting history seems to be coming from you. You do realise that the Provos were a reaction to a violent and sectarian pogrom on the Catholic population aided and abetted by security forces as both the British and Free State governments watched on and did nothing. The Provos were an inevitability so to sit and listen to two parties in a partitioned state that were both founded by the gun and versed in violence is not who any northern nationalist should take moral lectures from.

2 points

1. I am holding the 3 named political parties to the same standard. You are trying to hold 2 parties to a standard and bye-ball the third. There is no integrity in what you are at. It's shameful. You won't get away with it.

2. The provos never had a majority nationalist approval. You can't get away from that. A majority of nationalist did not see the Provo way as the only way