Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Milltown Row2 on June 03, 2017, 10:59:42 PM

Title: London Bridge
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 03, 2017, 10:59:42 PM
London Bridge seems to have had an incident
Title: Re: London Bridge
Post by: Lar Naparka on June 03, 2017, 11:03:20 PM
https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/3717339/london-bridge-attack-car-police-response-latest/

Post by: GJL on June 03, 2017, 11:05:40 PM
Copy cat from the incident a few weeks ago?
Post by: Windmill abu on June 03, 2017, 11:32:57 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 03, 2017, 10:59:42 PM

Didn't they write a song about that.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on June 03, 2017, 11:36:38 PM
Yep looks like the same tactic used again, absolutely sickening if it is,
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 03, 2017, 11:38:34 PM
Quote from: Windmill abu on June 03, 2017, 11:32:57 PM

Never heard it. Tell me what it is?
Post by: BennyCake on June 03, 2017, 11:42:18 PM
Are you sure it wasn't John Terry celebrating again?
Post by: Aaron Boone on June 03, 2017, 11:45:40 PM
Prime Minister May being kept informed.
Post by: Windmill abu on June 03, 2017, 11:47:54 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 03, 2017, 11:38:34 PM

It is called "you need to get out more and lighten up a bit"
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on June 03, 2017, 11:49:52 PM
Some rather odd comments here considering the seriousness of the incident
Post by: Newbridge Exile on June 03, 2017, 11:53:58 PM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on June 03, 2017, 11:49:52 PM
Some rather odd comments here considering the seriousness of the incident
Yep thought that also , saw some photos of terrified children being carried away by their parents on the BBC website also now reports of gunfire and stabbings in the area,,
Post by: Boycey on June 04, 2017, 12:01:49 AM
Ah Jaysus lads the world is gone mad, multiple incidents it seems..
Post by: BennyCake on June 04, 2017, 12:02:47 AM
Probably a normal London Saturday night. Everything is being whipped up into a story to create fear in people, and then the government can impose any sort of terror laws they wish and people won't even bat an eyelid.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 04, 2017, 12:05:03 AM
Quote from: Windmill abu on June 03, 2017, 11:47:54 PM

I'd lighten up a bit more if you were mowed down though, I could make jokes about that all day
Post by: Hereiam on June 04, 2017, 12:05:11 AM
The brits might reconsider their foreign policy yet
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 04, 2017, 12:06:08 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on June 04, 2017, 12:02:47 AM
Probably a normal London Saturday night. Everything is being whipped up into a story to create fear in people, and then the government can impose any sort of terror laws they wish and people won't even bat an eyelid.
Head on to bed there lad.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 04, 2017, 12:12:18 AM
Quote from: Hereiam on June 04, 2017, 12:05:11 AM
The brits might reconsider their foreign policy yet

That's it in a nutshell, let more innocents be maimed and killed on both sides of this.... glad that stuff never happened here .... oh wait, two wrongs don't make a right lad
Post by: Gold on June 04, 2017, 12:16:05 AM
F me you do far too much squabbling

This is awful and beyond a joke at this stage. When will it end?
Post by: Windmill abu on June 04, 2017, 12:18:34 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 04, 2017, 12:05:03 AM

I'd lighten up a bit more if you were mowed down though, I could make jokes about that all day

Thanks MR2. I need someone on this board to wish me harm. You are a bully hoping another poster suffers physical harm. I made a joke about your initial post being a play on the song "London Bridge is falling down" and you decide I need to be mowed down. I hope you retract your desire for my physical harm before I report you to the board moderators.
Post by: Rossfan on June 04, 2017, 12:28:20 AM
Quote from: Gold on June 04, 2017, 12:16:05 AM

When the so called "Coalition" stop killing hundreds of Syrians, Yemenis etc every day perhaps?
Post by: BennyCake on June 04, 2017, 12:32:24 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 04, 2017, 12:28:20 AM
Quote from: Gold on June 04, 2017, 12:16:05 AM

When the so called "Coalition" stop killing hundreds of Syrians, Yemenis etc every day perhaps?

You don't think these attacks are a backlash for the hundreds of thousands being blown to hell in the Middle East, do you?
Post by: Boycey on June 04, 2017, 12:33:31 AM
Katie Hopkins in full flow on twitter. Fcukwit
Post by: orangeman on June 04, 2017, 12:40:26 AM
The UK seemed to have got away fairly unscathed for a long period but now are getting it full tilt.

When is it going to end ?.

Not in the foreseeable future.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on June 04, 2017, 12:41:30 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on June 04, 2017, 12:02:47 AM
Far far removed from a normal London Saturday night ,
Post by: seafoid on June 04, 2017, 12:51:19 AM
It's awful. Ariane Grande visited some injured kids in hospital yesterday for the sake of positivity and love and now there is more nihilism. It puts the election questions about nukes into perspective. Libya was a catastrophe.  All middle east wars are.
Post by: Syferus on June 04, 2017, 12:52:51 AM
Fúck this absolute shit..
Post by: armaghniac on June 04, 2017, 01:25:58 AM
Very very hard to stop this stuff, every kitchen has a knife and every drive a vehicle.

Easy prescriptions about Syria are not the answer either.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 04, 2017, 02:01:16 AM
Awful images.  Seems that they have one suspect dead who was strapped.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 04, 2017, 02:02:28 AM
And i have to give it to Nolan. Im no fan but he did a fine job of the coverage on 5 live
Post by: JimStynes on June 04, 2017, 04:48:24 AM
Mental, you can't defend against this carryon! I'm surprised it isn't happening more in England considering the size of the Muslim population. There's bound to be a right few radicalised headers amongst them all.

I was going to say can this thread be kept for proper updates and discussion related to the incident and then start another one for all the usual people trying to get one up on each other, it seems it's too late though. IRA is a cert to be mentioned by the end of page 3.

Also, my nephew and his P7 classmates are meant to be flying to London tomorrow for their school trip  :-\
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on June 04, 2017, 06:10:37 AM
A bit naive to just blame foreign policy. The guy in sweden who drove a truck into pedestrians claimed it was for revenge but in reality was pissed off that his asylum claim had failed. Likewise wtf have belgium or germany done - hard evidence please and not just some generalised nato excuse.
Post by: seafoid on June 04, 2017, 07:13:59 AM
The police don't seem to be on top of things. And one of the Brexit options would mean the UK would opt out of European security cooperation  . The UK is weaker after years of austerity and polarisation. All the UKIP posters and Katie Hopkins rants. All that hatred.  Maybe it has generated some unintended consequences.    The country  is probably an easy target for people with malevolent intentions. The UK is going through a series of structural crises simultaneously.

Post by: Farrandeelin on June 04, 2017, 07:41:32 AM
How many dead/injured etc?
Post by: seafoid on June 04, 2017, 07:57:26 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 04, 2017, 07:41:32 AM
How many dead/injured etc?
6 dead
40.injured according to the Guardian

Ambulances arrived 6 minutes after the 999 call
After 8 minutes the attackers were dead
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 04, 2017, 08:25:00 AM
Quote from: Windmill abu on June 04, 2017, 12:18:34 AM

Thanks MR2. I need someone on this board to wish me harm. You are a bully hoping another poster suffers physical harm. I made a joke about your initial post being a play on the song "London Bridge is falling down" and you decide I need to be mowed down. I hope you retract your desire for my physical harm before I report you to the board moderators.

I'll take it off when you take your stupid post off, 6 dead 40 odd injured and you do a TF
Post by: Esmarelda on June 04, 2017, 09:05:33 AM
How many more of these before people begin to feel they don't deserve their own thread?
Post by: seafoid on June 04, 2017, 10:02:34 AM
7 dead now
Post by: BennyHarp on June 04, 2017, 11:21:36 AM
Quote from: Esmarelda on June 04, 2017, 09:05:33 AM
How many more of these before people begin to feel they don't deserve their own thread?

Yep, definitely the question on everybody's lips this morning!
Post by: dclane on June 04, 2017, 11:40:18 AM
Quote from: Windmill abu on June 04, 2017, 12:18:34 AM

In fairness your 'joke' was in poor taste.
Post by: Seany on June 04, 2017, 12:06:31 PM
Surely someone is telling the GB govt that spending £1billion on Trident is not going to stop this type of attack which is the main threat to the democratic freedoms of the west which are hated by extreme Islam.  That daft spending on a pointless and unnecessary deterrent needs to stop and the money used to fund public services properly.  More ordinary policing, intelligence etc etc.

Selling arms to Saudi Arabia who give them to ISIS who use them on soft targets in big cities is simply jaw droppingly stupid.

Have they learnt no lessons at all from NI?  That a security solution is not the answer? 

Why are there none of these attacks in Ireland?  Because we didn't involve ourselves in the failed destruction of the Middle East.

A little simplistic, but people have become radicalised by what they see as western involvement in the troubles of their homelands.  Once the identity of the culprits of this attack are known, they will be seen as having been radicalised by what they saw happening in their own countries. 

I am not trying to justify the evil minds of these killers, but a reactionary response will only get us quicker to the next atrocity. 
Post by: seafoid on June 04, 2017, 12:18:59 PM
https://twitter.com/KTHopkins
Post by: BennyCake on June 04, 2017, 01:33:24 PM
Quote from: Seany on June 04, 2017, 12:06:31 PM
Surely someone is telling the GB govt that spending £1billion on Trident is not going to stop this type of attack which is the main threat to the democratic freedoms of the west which are hated by extreme Islam.  That daft spending on a pointless and unnecessary deterrent needs to stop and the money used to fund public services properly.  More ordinary policing, intelligence etc etc.

Selling arms to Saudi Arabia who give them to ISIS who use them on soft targets in big cities is simply jaw droppingly stupid.

Have they learnt no lessons at all from NI?  That a security solution is not the answer? 

Why are there none of these attacks in Ireland?  Because we didn't involve ourselves in the failed destruction of the Middle East.

A little simplistic, but people have become radicalised by what they see as western involvement in the troubles of their homelands.  Once the identity of the culprits of this attack are known, they will be seen as having been radicalised by what they saw happening in their own countries. 

I am not trying to justify the evil minds of these killers, but a reactionary response will only get us quicker to the next atrocity.

They haven't learned from the North because they don't want to.

Anyone with half a brain cell can see this is a backlash from their involvement in the Middle East. But they maintain these attacks have nothing to do with that. Because admitting that link, would be admitting that what they're doing in the M East is wrong. They aren't going to do that, so they'll just continue to blow the shite out of the M East and tighten it's security laws on everyone in the UK, not just potential attackers.
Post by: Minder on June 04, 2017, 01:42:29 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on June 04, 2017, 01:33:24 PM

Anyone with half a brain cell can see this is a backlash from their involvement in the Middle East. But they maintain these attacks have nothing to do with that. Because admitting that link, would be admitting that what they're doing in the M East is wrong. They aren't going to do that, so they'll just continue to blow the shite out of the M East and tighten it's security laws on everyone in the UK, not just potential attackers.

Why where there attacks in Belgium & Sweden ? ISIS have clearly said there main issue is with western lifestyle, so i wouldn't get too comfortable that it won't happen here.
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on June 04, 2017, 03:45:35 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 04, 2017, 01:42:29 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on June 04, 2017, 01:33:24 PM

Why where there attacks in Belgium & Sweden ? ISIS have clearly said there main issue is with western lifestyle, so i wouldn't get too comfortable that it won't happen here.

Couldn't agree more. Wasn't long ago that nut Bakri was indeed encouraging an attack on ireland as revenge for helping the American air force at Shannon. Let's not forget 200 odd loons from here went to Syria. An incredible number when you take the Muslim population here and start taking out women children elderly and the ill. Don't think the ra even at the height of the troubles would have had so many volunteers. So as the previous poster said don't get too comfortable and think this is all because of stupid British interference in the middle east.  Irish citizenship didn't much help ken bigley or Margaret hasan.
Post by: seafoid on June 04, 2017, 08:36:25 PM
Via twitter

James Poniewozik‏
Curious why Trump response to London attack more adversarial/politicizing than after Manchester. Few theories:

James Poniewozik‏
1. Manchester, Trump was on foreign trip, in different time zone, kept more busy & away from his phone, under eye of handlers

James Poniewozik‏

2. Trump admin, for whatever reason, sees more political advantage this time--or feels it needs one more badly at least
James Poniewozik‏

3. Trump was simply watching more TV this time, got mad, tweeted, that suddenly becomes the White House position. (My $ on this one.)

James Poniewozik‏
4. One other thing re Trump's London tweets: they show how completely his mindset meshes with that of tabloids/cable news...

James Poniewozik‏
5. Past presidents, like (some) old-fashioned media, valued projecting calm & gravitas, stability, in crisis. Trump is anti-that, at all times
Post by: armaghniac on June 04, 2017, 08:41:09 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 04, 2017, 08:36:25 PM
Via twitter

James Poniewozik‏
Curious why Trump response to London attack more adversarial/politicizing than after Manchester. Few theories:

James Poniewozik‏
1. Manchester, Trump was on foreign trip, in different time zone, kept more busy & away from his phone, under eye of handlers

James Poniewozik‏

2. Trump admin, for whatever reason, sees more political advantage this time--or feels it needs one more badly at least
James Poniewozik‏

3. Trump was simply watching more TV this time, got mad, tweeted, that suddenly becomes the White House position. (My $ on this one.)

James Poniewozik‏
4. One other thing re Trump's London tweets: they show how completely his mindset meshes with that of tabloids/cable news...

James Poniewozik‏
5. Past presidents, like (some) old-fashioned media, valued projecting calm & gravitas, stability, in crisis. Trump is anti-that, at all times

6. Trump doesn't know where Manchester is?
Post by: LeoMc on June 04, 2017, 10:28:50 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 04, 2017, 08:41:09 PM
Via twitter

James Poniewozik‏

Hr was quicker to tweet about Manchester than Portland. Wonder why?
Post by: seafoid on June 04, 2017, 10:59:13 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on June 04, 2017, 10:28:50 PM
Via twitter

James Poniewozik‏

I think it's cos tweets between 12 and 6 am Eastern Time are unmediated from the Trump reptile brain while those during daytime are managed. 
Post by: Owen Brannigan on June 04, 2017, 11:05:09 PM
Maybe there will be more use of information after the public claims to have informed on attackers beforehand.

https://youtu.be/bq98R6GXruQ (https://youtu.be/bq98R6GXruQ)
Post by: whitey on June 04, 2017, 11:52:58 PM
Via twitter

James Poniewozik‏

Probably because the Portland stabber was a Bernie supporter!
Post by: LeoMc on June 05, 2017, 11:20:56 AM
Quote from: whitey on June 04, 2017, 11:52:58 PM
Via twitter

James Poniewozik‏

So he didn't tweet about it because he knew the guy was a Bernie supporter?
Post by: lurganblue on June 05, 2017, 12:45:38 PM
Confirmed there that one of the attackers had an Irish ID
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on June 05, 2017, 12:57:38 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on June 05, 2017, 12:45:38 PM

No cant be true according to a load of lads here its not our problem and nothing to do with us surely they cant be wrong.
Post by: omagh_gael on June 05, 2017, 01:01:21 PM
Morrocan lad married to a Scottish woman and had lived in Dublin for an undetermined length of time. Not known to the guards in any way apparently.
Post by: J70 on June 05, 2017, 01:33:55 PM
Via twitter

James Poniewozik‏

Yes, THAT is the defining characteristic of Jeremy Christian.  :o
http://www.opb.org/news/article/portland-oregon-stabbing-suspect-jeremy-christian-hate-speech/ (http://www.opb.org/news/article/portland-oregon-stabbing-suspect-jeremy-christian-hate-speech/)

And Trump's silence had nothing to do with the fact that the victims were defending muslim girls. ::)
Post by: J70 on June 05, 2017, 01:36:16 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on June 05, 2017, 11:20:56 AM
Via twitter

James Poniewozik‏

Makes sense, right? ;D
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 05, 2017, 02:53:58 PM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on June 05, 2017, 12:57:38 PM

No cant be true according to a load of lads Experts here its not our problem and nothing to do with us surely they cant be wrong.

Fixed that
Post by: Avondhu star on June 05, 2017, 04:03:58 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 05, 2017, 02:53:58 PM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on June 05, 2017, 12:57:38 PM

No cant be true according to a load of lads Experts here its not our problem and nothing to do with us surely they cant be wrong.

Fixed that

Dont worry. Ms Zappone will probaly say " he was a good lad really but fell into bad company. We must embrace our differences"
Post by: Rossfan on June 05, 2017, 06:46:05 PM
Are you alleging that Minister Zappone knew him?
Or are you just showing your true colours?
Post by: Avondhu star on June 05, 2017, 07:53:03 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 05, 2017, 06:46:05 PM
Are you alleging that Minister Zappone knew him?
Or are you just showing your true colours?
She probably too busy working out her mileage claim to be bothered commenting.
Post by: LeoMc on June 05, 2017, 09:06:37 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 05, 2017, 01:36:16 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on June 05, 2017, 11:20:56 AM
Via twitter

James Poniewozik‏

Makes sense, right? ;D
Bu bu but emails.
Post by: seafoid on June 06, 2017, 08:17:26 AM
https://www.theatlantic.com/politics/archive/2017/05/terrorism-is-aimed-at-the-people-watching/527724/
Post by: stew on June 06, 2017, 05:57:31 PM
Quote from: AQMP on June 06, 2017, 03:56:52 PM
French police shoot man who attacked police officer with a hammer (if my rusty French is accurate) at Notre Dame.

I hope they wreck the bastard!
Post by: Owen Brannigan on June 07, 2017, 07:21:23 PM
8th victim's body has been recovered from the Thames, he is a French national.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on June 19, 2017, 01:39:39 AM
Looks like another "possible" terrorist attack using a car in London.
Post by: Sandino on June 19, 2017, 03:07:27 AM
Will they refer to it as a terrorist attack though?
Post by: MoChara on June 19, 2017, 08:16:15 AM
Surprisingly enough the news report I read said the Cops are treating it as a potential Terror Attack.
Post by: stew on June 19, 2017, 09:23:01 AM
Quote from: AQMP on June 19, 2017, 09:03:29 AM
According to police all the victims are "from the Muslim community"

From the Guardian reports:

"The van was driven into a crowd, members of which had recently left prayers at the nearby Finsbury Park mosque.  A witness said the driver had shouted "I want to kill Muslims" before onlookers pinned him to the ground"

The Muslim community have handled this situation impeccably thus far, May better hope there is no election in the next year because her cutbacks have the security forces and care services stretched to breaking point.

Post by: outinfront on June 19, 2017, 11:02:17 AM
Daily Mail: "Clean-shaven white man arrested"
Post by: johnneycool on June 19, 2017, 11:33:21 AM
Quote from: outinfront on June 19, 2017, 11:02:17 AM

I wonder if he was on any terrorist watch list or is that the preserve of Muslims?
Post by: Owen Brannigan on June 19, 2017, 01:22:47 PM
Quote from: AQMP on June 19, 2017, 01:00:00 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on June 19, 2017, 11:33:21 AM
Quote from: outinfront on June 19, 2017, 11:02:17 AM

I wonder if he was on any terrorist watch list or is that the preserve of Muslims?

As Alison Morris tweeted:  What school/church was he radicalised at, arrest his family members and friends...

Stupid tweet from her.  She obviously doesn't recall that that was the default position of RUC/PSNI when a person was accused/suspected of involvement in a terror act in N.Ireland.
Post by: Declan on June 20, 2017, 08:32:10 AM
What could possibly have radicalised him?

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DCvt5qqXUAErB-z.jpg:large)