GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: The Monument Road on February 22, 2017, 08:02:42 PM

Title: Laois SFC 2017
Post by: The Monument Road on February 22, 2017, 08:02:42 PM
SFC:
O'Dempsey's v Ballyfin G;
Portarlington v Arles Killeen;
Clonaslee v St Joseph's;
Ballylinan v Mountmellick G;
Stradbally v The Heath
Ballyroan Abbey v Crettyard Gaels;
Arles Kilcruise v Portlaoise;
Graiguecullen v Killeshin
Title: Re: Laois SFC 2017
Post by: town1980 on February 22, 2017, 10:52:48 PM
Some nice ties kilcruise for me won't get near the town the rest all teams will fancy there chances,,, strand v the Heath,, local derby kilishin v graigcullen let's see the league form of all teams
Post by: The Monument Road on February 23, 2017, 01:26:48 PM
Quote from: town1980 on February 22, 2017, 10:52:48 PM
Some nice ties kilcruise for me won't get near the town the rest all teams will fancy there chances,,, strand v the Heath,, local derby kilishin v graigcullen let's see the league form of all teams
Three of the above teams are in Div 2 and they will have some very easy games in that division. It will be hard to judge their form and may possibly give them a false impression on how good they are
Post by: SCFC on February 23, 2017, 03:29:23 PM
Quote from: The Monument Road on February 23, 2017, 01:26:48 PM
Three of the above teams are in Div 2 and they will have some very easy games in that division. It will be hard to judge their form and may possibly give them a false impression on how good they are
All three teams you refer to will be playing in Division 2 without their players from other clubs who will join them for championship.
Post by: The Monument Road on February 23, 2017, 04:22:42 PM
Quote from: SCFC on February 23, 2017, 03:29:23 PM
Quote from: The Monument Road on February 23, 2017, 01:26:48 PM
All three teams you refer to will be playing in Division 2 without their players from other clubs who will join them for championship.
Yep i forgot about the gaels set up. I will help
Post by: Helix on February 23, 2017, 05:28:31 PM
League form can be sometimes an inaccurate reflection as the Heath demonstrated last year ::)
Post by: town1980 on February 23, 2017, 10:28:22 PM
Strand div 1 Heath div 1 graig div 1,, but yes Heath did blow up
Post by: BallyroanAbu on February 25, 2017, 10:36:11 PM
The Heath are far better than last year's championship show.
Post by: Unlaoised on February 28, 2017, 12:11:28 PM
Mountmellick Ballylinan O'Dempsey's St Joes and Ballyroanabbey will be happiest with them draws.

Portlaoise won't like facing Kilcruise that early

Stradbally and the Heath should be a belter.

I'd expect Graigue and Killeshin to be tight but they will like playing each other.

Port v Kileen was a great game last year if memory serves me right and could be the same again this season.

O'Dempseys will fancy it against Ballyfin esp being two divisions ahead of them in the league.

Joes should beat clonaslee

There won't be much between Ballylinan and M.Mellick and both will be happy with that draw.

Ballyroan Abbey will be happy to draw a Crettyard team who have been very lucky with the draw for the last few years and unless Evan O carroll is back to his best and the get more from spink I fancy Ballyroan to beat them!

Decent draw as it has thrown up so many games that are hard to call.
Post by: smcder on July 04, 2017, 09:29:29 PM
when is this starting?
Post by: High Fielder on July 04, 2017, 11:32:14 PM
Hopefully never. Pure shite
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 05, 2017, 01:47:58 AM
Laois Shopping Centre Senior Football Championship Round 1

27-07-2017 (Thurs) 
O'Moore Park 19:30       
O'Dempseys V Ballyfin Gaels

28-07-2017 (Fri)
Ballyroan Abbey V Crettyard Gaels

29-07-2017 (Sat)
O'Moore Park 18:00     
Arles/Kilcruise V Portlaoise

Portarlington V Arles/Killeen

30-07-2017 (Sun)
O'Moore Park 12:00     
Clonaslee St Manmans Gaels V St Joseph's

O'Moore Park 13:30     
Ballylinan V Mountmellick Gaels

O'Moore Park 17:30     
Graiguecullen V Killeshin

O'Moore Park 19:00     
Stradbally V The Heath
Post by: SCFC on July 26, 2017, 07:47:31 AM
Ballyfin to give odempseys a right run for it.
Post by: portlaoisekid on July 26, 2017, 01:15:13 PM
Tough championship to call. Portlaoise and Josephs the two stand out teams for me.

It'll be a test of how good a manager Malachy really is, Portlaoise are not going to win this championship in second gear, for the first time in many years they will need good management to win the county.
Post by: Laoiseabu on July 26, 2017, 01:35:01 PM
Joseph's ? Stand out team?
Post by: SCFC on July 26, 2017, 04:31:41 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on July 26, 2017, 01:35:01 PM
Depends how many of the lads that are gone away return.
Post by: The PRO on July 26, 2017, 04:37:41 PM
Portlaoise are nailed on to beat Arles.
Joseph's will take care of clonaslee annanough combo.
Graigue should win the derby.
Strad comfortable v heath.
A Killeen by 4/5 v port.
Hard to call the other 3 games. Ballyfin had a bad league but they always do!
Post by: Heshs Umpire on July 26, 2017, 07:03:37 PM
Portlaoise, Josephs and Strad would be my treble.
Post by: The Monument Road on July 26, 2017, 08:25:15 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on July 26, 2017, 01:35:01 PM
Bit strange you saying that. On the other Senior championship post you say Josephs should be aware of the Clonaslee set up. How you think they are a stand out team bewilders me. They are average enough as they presently stand and are lucky to have one of the lesser teams in the first round. I agree with your assumption on the other post, they should be aware.
Post by: Laoiseabu on July 26, 2017, 09:24:24 PM
No I was questioning the post previous . I was questioning how are Joseph's a stand out team
Post by: Laoiseabu on July 26, 2017, 09:25:54 PM
I think Clonaslee could give them a run with the Annanough boys Joseph's are bang average
Post by: BallyroanAbu on July 26, 2017, 11:52:32 PM
Josephs without 5 players are bang average, what the Clonaslee Annanough Amalgamation works out like is anyone's guess
Post by: SCFC on July 27, 2017, 09:28:29 AM
Portlaoise
Joseph's
O'Dempseys
Killeen
Stradbally
Graigue
Ballyroan v Cretty draw
Ballylinan
Post by: El Jefe on July 27, 2017, 11:47:05 AM
Can see The Heath giving Stradbally a serious rattle
Post by: SCFC on July 27, 2017, 12:46:00 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on July 26, 2017, 11:52:32 PM
Josephs without 5 players are bang average, what the Clonaslee Annanough Amalgamation works out like is anyone's guess
I think this is the thing. No one knows how the Clonaslee Annanough thing will go.
How many Annanough lads are involved? Scully, Donal, Rory, maybe Simon Miller are the ones springing to mind.
Post by: Downtheroad on July 27, 2017, 04:48:24 PM
SFC:
O'Dempsey's v Ballyfin G;       O'Dempseys
Portarlington v Arles Killeen;    Arles Killeen
Clonaslee v St Joseph's;         St Josephs 
Ballylinan v Mountmellick G;    Mountmellick  after a replay
Stradbally v The Heath            Stradbally     
Ballyroan Abbey v Crettyard Gaels; Ballyroan Abbey
Arles Kilcruise v Portlaoise;      Portlaoise       
Graiguecullen v Killeshin          Graigcullen  after a replay
Post by: Laois Laois on July 27, 2017, 05:20:21 PM
O'Dempsey's v Ballyfin G;          O'Dempseys
Portarlington v Arles Killeen;     Portarlington
Clonaslee v St Joseph's;           St Josephs
Ballylinan v Mountmellick G;      Ballylinan
Stradbally v The Heath             Stradbally     
Ballyroan Abbey v Crettyard     Ballyroan Abbey
Arles Kilcruise v Portlaoise;       Portlaoise       
Graiguecullen v Killeshin           Killeshin
Post by: Unlaoised on July 27, 2017, 09:29:00 PM
O Dempseys win well but scoreline could have been different with Ballyfin missing a few great goal chances
at a time when there was 5/6  points in it.
O dempseys too missed late goal chances but got 3 points from their attempts for goals.
Rumours about Ballyfins training not going well because of numbers and hurling commitments looked true .

They were a shambles at the start but after a few changes they played some good football to drag themselves into the game.

O dempseys looked fitter and well drilled the advantage of extra training less fixtures and division one football was evident in their use of the ball and their turnover in the tackles.

Rory Bracken was decent as was Robbie kehoe

I thought johnny kelly and the number 7 were also excellent

The corner back did well on sean moore but talk in the stand he was carrying an injury

For Ballyfin james finn was decent made some serious runs with little support

Sub Rob Tyrell was also good

Infact Ballyfin ended far stronger looking than they started on the field .

O dempseys will fall short of a semi final place i think while it depends on the draw for ballyfin probably better than one or two at this level but being a dual club with small numbers is just very difficult for them.
Post by: SCFC on July 27, 2017, 10:01:06 PM
Comfortable for ods. Ballyfin were very unfit looking.
Finn tried his best but hadn't much help.
Ods will probably make q finals but whether they go further is questionable. Could make a semi.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 27, 2017, 10:09:07 PM
O'Dempsey's     2-15
Ballyfin Gaels    1-12
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 29, 2017, 01:06:36 AM
Ballyroan Abbey   2-9
Crettyard Gaels    0-14                   http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/07/28/ballyroan-abbey-hold-crettyard-gaels-miss-chance/
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 29, 2017, 01:08:43 AM
(had posted this in the wrong thread.. )

O'Dempseys v Ballyfin:        O'Dempseys
Ballyroan v Crettyard:          Crettyard
Kilcruise v Portlaoise:           Portlaoise
Portarlington v Killeen:        Portarlington
Ballylinan v Mountmellick:      Ballylinan
Clonaslee v St. Joseph's:      St. Joseph's
Graiguecullen v Killeshin:      Graiguecullen
Stradbally v The Heath:         Stradbally
Post by: town1980 on July 29, 2017, 10:09:34 AM
ballyroan abu you must be a happy man today?yee were lucky ducks but yee got yere bit of luck thats needed in championship,i went for crettyard and i think i was justified OMG they must be sick,anyway well done
Post by: BallyroanAbu on July 29, 2017, 10:54:52 AM
There is definitely some improving to do.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 30, 2017, 12:15:34 AM
Tonight's results:

Arles-Killeen     3-10
Portarlington    1-16                    http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/07/29/enrights-late-free-saves-draw-14-man-arles-killeen-portarlington/

Portlaoise         3-13
Arles-Kilcruise  1-14                    http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/07/29/portlaoise-get-off-mark-win-arles-kilcruise/

Post by: High Fielder on July 30, 2017, 09:37:40 AM
Can't Defend, Won't Defend in full swing last night in O'Moore Park. Four teams and not a decent back on the pitch all night. Tackling just non existent. Fair play to Donal Kingston, he's quality and we all know it. But you just can't imagine a lad running 50 yards with 3 or 4 lads around him and still scoring.
Post by: Butch Cassidy on July 30, 2017, 10:03:02 AM
Love to know if teams are doing tackling drills? Even before games you see lads taking shots but why aren't they doing tackling drills? They might get 1 shot a game but how many times will they have to defend? Can anyone please tell me if clubs are getting taught how to tackle and defend?

Defending from all the teams last night was very bad. Bring a sweeper back to sort it is lazy management. Do players get coached to sweep in training like Colm Cavanagh? Coach your team how to defend, attack the ball and play from the front.

Donie Kingston was brilliant last night, worth the admission fee alone
Post by: High Fielder on July 30, 2017, 10:23:27 AM
I agree Butch, he was, but where would he enjoy that sort of freedom outside of Laois? This is a big part of problem. Work without the ball and tackling. I have no preference for a coach, but I think we need Mick Dempsey to come and teach us some things. Our defending is pathetic
Post by: OTF on July 30, 2017, 03:22:05 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on July 30, 2017, 10:23:27 AM
I agree Butch, he was, but where would he enjoy that sort of freedom outside of Laois? This is a big part of problem. Work without the ball and tackling. I have no preference for a coach, but I think we need Mick Dempsey to come and teach us some things. Our defending is pathetic
We've had this discussion more than once HF and the good news is tackling and good defending can actually be thought as opposed to kicking the ball over the bar a talent you are born with.

I like your suggestion to bring in a coach for this purpose, that would improve things but hard and unglamorous work required for this is not part of our DNA and that needs to change.
In short whether we like it or not the "fancy dan"culture must come to an end.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 31, 2017, 12:10:49 AM
Tonights Results:

Ballylinan                     1-13
Mountmellick Gaels     0-7               http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/07/30/mcevoy-farrell-star-asballylinan-get-better-mountmellick/

Clonaslee Gaels           0-7
St Joseph's                  1-12              http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/07/30/strong-second-half-sees-josephs-past-gaels/

Graiguecullen              2-11                 
Killeshin                       0-15              http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/07/30/graiguecullen-withstand-killeshin-comeback-advance/

Stradbally                    1-12
The Heath                    3-10              http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/07/30/heath-topple-county-champions-stradbally/

Draw for Round 2:

Round 2 Winners Section

Winners of Portarlington/Arles-Killeen v Ballyroan-Abbey
Ballylinan v St Joseph's
O'Dempsey's v Portlaoise
The Heath v Graiguecullen

Round 2 Losers Section

Ballyfin Gaels v Stradbally
Arles-Kilcruise v Killeshin
Losers of Portarlington/Arles-Killeen v Mountmellick Gaels
Clonaslee St-Manman's Gaels v Crettyard Gaels
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on July 31, 2017, 12:18:50 AM
Quote from: OTF on July 30, 2017, 03:22:05 PM
We've had this discussion more than once HF and the good news is tackling and good defending can actually be thought as opposed to kicking the ball over the bar a talent you are born with.

I like your suggestion to bring in a coach for this purpose, that would improve things but hard and unglamorous work required for this is not part of our DNA and that needs to change.
Are you joking here? If not u should be banned from ever commenting on football again. Not just on the internet either, in your local pub, at the gaa field, on public transport and anywhere gaa is discussed.  :'(
Post by: Keyser Söze on July 31, 2017, 12:52:04 AM
Quote from: SpeculativeEffort on July 31, 2017, 12:18:50 AM

Are you joking here? If not u should be banned from ever commenting on football again. Not just on the internet either, in your local pub, at the gaa field, on public transport and anywhere gaa is discussed.  :'(

Crazy
Post by: OTF on July 31, 2017, 09:22:19 AM

Thats pretty aggressive language you're using there, perhaps you might explain yourself.
Post by: town1980 on July 31, 2017, 10:45:41 AM
well the first round is over predictions most lads got them right,i wasnt at the ballylinan game my only game to miss as i stayed in portlaoise for the two games yesterday evening,portlaoise still have the highest quality at the minute in my opinion,i was impressed with the heath they are down alot of men who are away but they out fought stradbally and were full value for there win,i thought graigue were very good in the first half 2-7 kicked by half time was very good they had  good structure seemed to play to there plan but gave away silly frees which kept kilieshin although i thought moore was poor for both sides,exciting game though
Post by: El Jefe on July 31, 2017, 10:53:57 AM
Quote from: El Jefe on July 27, 2017, 11:47:05 AM
Can see The Heath giving Stradbally a serious rattle
7/2 in Ladbrokes and a well deserved win
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on July 31, 2017, 03:27:02 PM
Quote from: OTF on July 31, 2017, 09:22:19 AM

Thats pretty aggressive language you're using there, perhaps you might explain yourself.

Stop deflecting from the fact that you on here trying to rectify the ills in Laois football while holding the opinion that you can coach defending but kicking a ball between two posts is a skill you are 'born with'. This statement discredits any other comment you will ever make on coaching or games development.
Post by: Laois fan on July 31, 2017, 03:57:24 PM
I tend to agree with him get a team fit and developing a defensive system is easily done,teaching lads to kick points from 40 yards is alot harder
Post by: Laois Laois on July 31, 2017, 04:29:08 PM
11-08-2017 (Fri)
Laois Shopping Centre Senior Football Championship Round 2 - Winners

O'Moore Park   19:30   The Heath v Graiguecullen

12-08-2017 (Sat)
Laois Shopping Centre Senior Football Championship Round 2 - Qualifier

O'Moore Park   16:30   Ballyfin Gaels v   Stradbally

O'Moore Park   18:00   Ballylinan v St Josephs
O'Moore Park   19:30   O'Dempsey's  v   Portlaoise         

13-08-2017 (Sun)
Laois Shopping Centre Senior Football Championship Round 2 - Qualifier

O'Moore Park   12:00   Crettyard Gaels   v Clonaslee St Manmans Gaels
O'Moore Park   13:30   Loser Portarlington / Arles Killeen v Mountmellick Gaels
O'Moore Park   17:30   Arles Kilcruise v   Killeshin

O'Moore Park   19:00   Winner Portarlington / Arles Killleen v Ballyroan Abbey
Post by: OTF on July 31, 2017, 06:01:17 PM
Quote from: SpeculativeEffort on July 31, 2017, 03:27:02 PM
Quote from: OTF on July 31, 2017, 09:22:19 AM

Stop deflecting from the fact that you on here trying to rectify the ills in Laois football while holding the opinion that you can coach defending but kicking a ball between two posts is a skill you are 'born with'. This statement discredits any other comment you will ever make on coaching or games development.

I'll comment on this forum on what and as often as I wish and you or anyone else well not dictate to me what I am qualified to comment on. My comments are my own opinion and I most certainly am not trying to impose them on anyone or indeed for anyone to take them serious
Now have I hit a raw nerve here or are you trying to tell me that you are involved in coaching and development and you are the expert here and I know nothing..... and you know what you could be right. Either way I don't give s**t.
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on July 31, 2017, 10:55:49 PM
I'm telling you that your thinking is flawed if you believe defending can be coached but attacking cant. Tell that to German FA 20 years ago who put structures in place to develop skilled players. Now they have two squads of quality playing an attractive brand of football and are the standard bearers on an international level. Bet they regret not hiring Jack Charlton instead.
What we should be doing with urgency is putting coaches in place to develop as many u6,8,10s that are well balanced, have good functional movement and using left and right sides equally. Maybe in 10-15 years we would have a team playing quality football.
Post by: Unlaoised on August 01, 2017, 12:57:45 PM
Few tasty draws...

O'Dempseys will fancy a craic at the Town

Stradbally will be relieved to have drawn Ballyfin

The same for the looser of Killeen and Port v Mountmellick

Joes v Ballylinan could be a cracker.

The Heath and graigue has potential.

Clonaslee and crettyard will love getting each other...(crettyard always seem to get favourable draws sometimes even byes)

Kilcruise will be worried about Killeshin its a tricky tie.

Ballyroan won't care who they play ....

Predictions

The Town
Graigue
Killeen to win both games
Joes

The little Town
Crettyard
Port to beat m.mellick after another replay ;-)
Killeshin to upset Kilcruise
Post by: OTF on August 01, 2017, 07:44:58 PM
Quote from: SpeculativeEffort on July 31, 2017, 10:55:49 PM
I'm telling you that your thinking is flawed if you believe defending can be coached but attacking cant. Tell that to German FA 20 years ago who put structures in place to develop skilled players. Now they have two squads of quality playing an attractive brand of football and are the standard bearers on an international level. Bet they regret not hiring Jack Charlton instead.
What we should be doing with urgency is putting coaches in place to develop as many u6,8,10s that are well balanced, have good functional movement and using left and right sides equally. Maybe in 10-15 years we would have a team playing quality football.
[/quote

Attacking play yes , I agree can be coached but that's not what I posted.
For example could Kevin Meaney be turned in Donie Kingston in my opinion no, no matter how much coaching he gets because he doesn't have the natural ability. You could however turn for example Damian O Connor and Garrett Dillon into defenders.
Look at the Mayo for the last 30 years any amount of good footballers why aren't they able to convert or coach a few finishers from that amount of talent. Because imo they didn't have or dont have enough natural ability to work with in the first place.
High fielder is of the opinion that we don't have natural defenders and I believe defending can be coached. My post was replying in that context.
I agree with the remainder of your post.
Post by: High Fielder on August 01, 2017, 09:00:24 PM
I don't want want to stir the pot here, but defensive play in my opinion is a skill that can't be coached into a lad quickly. The fundamentals have to be in place first and bar Healy and one or two others, not many have them in Laois. I don't think any of the current panel are defensively sound, not even one. That for me is a massive problem for Laois just now
Post by: redsetanta on August 02, 2017, 01:04:08 AM
Do you mean defensively sound or don't work hard enough. Healy always gives everythin he's  got. Thats what makes him differemt. I'm not saying he doesn't have talent and skill but lads could learn a lot about his effort.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on August 02, 2017, 01:44:29 AM
Quote from: redsetanta on August 02, 2017, 01:04:08 AM
Do you mean defensively sound or don't work hard enough. Healy always gives everything he's got. That's what makes him different. I'm not saying he doesn't have talent and skill but lads could learn a lot about his effort.

Unfortunately Healy has done the cruciate and will be out for this year by the looks of things.
http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/08/01/cruciate-injury-confirmed-healy-faces-long-spell-sidelines/ (http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/08/01/cruciate-injury-confirmed-healy-faces-long-spell-sidelines/)
Post by: Unlaoised on August 02, 2017, 11:22:21 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on August 02, 2017, 01:44:29 AM
Do you mean defensively sound or don't work hard enough. Healy always gives everything he's got. That's what makes him different. I'm not saying he doesn't have talent and skill but lads could learn a lot about his effort.

Unfortunately Healy has done the cruciate and will be out for this year by the looks of things.
http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/08/01/cruciate-injury-confirmed-healy-faces-long-spell-sidelines/ (http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/08/01/cruciate-injury-confirmed-healy-faces-long-spell-sidelines/)

What is it with Laois hurlers and Cruciate's its getting to be a farce at this stage.
Post by: Don Draper on August 02, 2017, 11:43:46 AM
Quote from: Unlaoised on August 02, 2017, 11:22:21 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on August 02, 2017, 01:44:29 AM

What is it with Laois hurlers and Cruciate's its getting to be a farce at this stage.
How many have we had over the past 2 years?
Mark Kavanagh (x2)
Cahir Healy
Tom Delaney

Any others?
Post by: redsetanta on August 02, 2017, 01:13:31 PM
Did Picky do his cruciate?
Post by: The PRO on August 02, 2017, 05:01:32 PM
Mountmellick, Arles, Clonaslee and Ballyfin to battle to avoid the drop in my opinion.
Post by: town1980 on August 02, 2017, 07:41:44 PM
I tend to agree clonaslee v ballyfin with clonaslee going down
Post by: High Fielder on August 03, 2017, 09:51:02 AM
Do you mean defensively sound or don't work hard enough. Healy always gives everythin he's  got. Thats what makes him differemt. I'm not saying he doesn't have talent and skill but lads could learn a lot about his effort.

I don't think any of them are defensively sound. I would never doubt their work rate, but they're defensive instincts always look way off to me. They all look uncomfortable on the back foot and haven't a clue how to tackle without fouling. Resources are very thin in terms of backs. It's not like they're there and not on the panel. They're just not there full stop.
Post by: The Monument Road on August 03, 2017, 12:55:49 PM
Quote from: town1980 on August 02, 2017, 07:41:44 PM
Can Gaels teams be relegated.Clonaslee, Ballyfinn, Mountmellick, Crettyard are all gaels. If so how would it effect the Intermediate promotion. Im not familiar with the "Rules"
Post by: Downtheroad on August 03, 2017, 03:02:17 PM
Quote from: The Monument Road on August 03, 2017, 12:55:49 PM
Quote from: town1980 on August 02, 2017, 07:41:44 PM
Can Gaels teams be relegated.Clonaslee, Ballyfinn, Mountmellick, Crettyard are all gaels. If so how would it effect the Intermediate promotion. Im not familiar with the "Rules"
Yes. There is a rule somewhere that covers it.
Post by: Laois fan on August 03, 2017, 03:39:41 PM
None of the other clubs would of let this happen if they couldnt be relegated.Iimagine if relegated they have the option of offically joining up or they just  go there seperate ways
Post by: redsetanta on August 04, 2017, 09:38:04 AM
Great win for Port last night.That will be a real confidence boost for them! Anyone at the game as it seems Kileen should have won in normal time.
Post by: The PRO on August 04, 2017, 12:42:56 PM
As someone said there's a rule or bye law to cover area teams being relegated but given the county board's track record, it wouldn't amaze me if it could be challenged😁
Post by: BallyroanAbu on August 04, 2017, 06:06:52 PM
I don't think Ballyroan will fear Port the same way we fear Kileen.
Post by: town1980 on August 04, 2017, 10:58:49 PM
I agree but port are a pacey side youth v youth good game in store best of luck
Post by: town1980 on August 06, 2017, 03:49:51 PM
Predictions for the football weekend?
Post by: town1980 on August 08, 2017, 04:12:48 PM
Ok I'll start,,
heath  to beat graigue  but a toss up in my opinion
Ballylinan to beat joes
Port to beat ballyroan but again so hard to call
Portlaoise to beat o dempseys
All four games look lively and I could be wrong in any one of them

Stradbally to beat ballyfin
Killeen to beat mountmelick just because of done an injury to him there gone

Crettyard to beat clonaslee
Killeshin to beat kilcruise but again kilcruise no how to grind a win
Post by: Unlaoised on August 08, 2017, 04:21:50 PM
Quote from: town1980 on August 08, 2017, 04:12:48 PM
Ok I'll start,,
heath  to beat graigue  but a toss up in my opinion
Ballylinan to beat joes
Port to beat ballyroan but again so hard to call
Portlaoise to beat o dempseys
All four games look lively and I could be wrong in any one of them

Stradbally to beat ballyfin
Killeen to beat mountmelick just because of done an injury to him there gone

Crettyard to beat clonaslee
Killeshin to beat kilcruise but again kilcruise no how to grind a win

I'd go with all of them expect Graigue to beat the Heath and Joes to beat Ballylinan

I think Stradbally and Kileen will put up cricket scores againt Mountmellick and Ballyfin
Post by: Spillane on August 08, 2017, 05:17:07 PM
heath v Graigue.... think the heath will sneak this too, were very impressive against Strad. have a nice mix of pace and especially power something Graigue lack up front excluding forbes
Ballylinan v Joes.... Going slightly with Ballylinan here, think they will relish beating Joes as they did a few years back, but all depends on how game is refereed. Can't afford to concede frees against Dan Dunne inside 50 yards.
Port v Ballyroan Abbey.... Broan to win it because of their full forward line. Port looked wasteful against an injury hit Killeen team. However saying that they will be flying all over the field. Should be a great game.
Portlaoise v O'Dempseys.... Thought the town would be convincing champions this year but I'd give OD more of a hope after seeing both teams in action. The town by 4 at least.

Ballyfin v Strad.... Strad to bounce back, should win once Moore is tied up and Begley to keep Finn quiet too. Strad by 6.
Killeen v Mountmellick.... Kingstons and Enright to put MM to the sword. Interesting to see what shape Killeen finish in with injuries a massive problem against Port.
Killeshin v Kilcruise.... Flip of a coin in this one. Youth v experience. Going with Arles by a score, they just know how to win in these battles.
Crettyard v Clonaslee.... Can't see anything but a Cretty win. Murphy to punish them from frees. Unlucky against Broan the first day, but great young player who will bounce back. Cretty by 6
Post by: BallyroanAbu on August 08, 2017, 06:06:29 PM
Graigue to beat Heath ,  if Tony Connolly and Evan Keane reappear different story
Ballylinan to beat Josephs have a sneaky suspicion Ballylinan will go along way in this year championship.
Ballyroan to beat Port, Heart ruling my head here
O Dempsey Portlaoise going to be close Draw
Stradbally to beat Ballyfin
Kileen to beat Mountmellick
Crettyard to beat Clonaslee
Killeshin to be beat Kilcruise

Post by: SCFC on August 09, 2017, 09:29:21 AM
Think Graigue might edge The Heath. Hard to call. I'd like to see Graigue fulfilling their potential.
Port and Ballyroan Abbey is also a tough one. Lot of young players on both teams. I'm going give a hesitant vote to Port. That replay win over Killeen will do their confidence the world of good.
O'Dempseys will beat Portlaoise. By around three. Healy is a massive loss for The Town.
Joes to edge Ballylinan. Again should be close enough. If Joes had all their players, they'd win well.
Strad should take Ballyfin Gaels. I think Ballyfin aren't going as well as last year.
Killeen should have too much experience for Mountmellick.
I think Arles are gone and Killeshin will run them off the field. Meaney, Munnelly and Davy Conway could drag Arles through again but I'm going to say they won't.
Cretty Gaels v Clonaslee Gaels. This could be a draw. Two pretty poor outfits to be fair. I might just give the nod to Cretty on the basis that the Annanough lads will be playing Friday night and again on Sunday at 12.
Post by: Uisce on August 09, 2017, 01:41:00 PM
Fairly confident on below winners:

Graigue
Port
Portlaoise
Josephs
Stradbally
Killeen
Killeshin
Crettyard
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on August 09, 2017, 03:46:26 PM
Graiguecullen
Portarlington
O'Dempseys
Ballylinan
Stradbally
Killeen
Kilcruise
Crettyard Gaels
Post by: portlaoisekid on August 09, 2017, 04:44:50 PM
Graigue vs Heath - Graiguecullen by 3+
Josephs  v Ballylinan -Draw

Portarlington vs Ballyroan  - Port by 2+
O Dempsey vs Portlaoise- Portlaoise win, first match wasn't good enough but it will have brought them on and flying it in training since.

Killeen vs Mountmellick - AK by 6+
Crettyard vs Clonaslee - Crettyard by 4

Kilcruise vs Kileshin- Kilcruise by 1
Post by: Unlaoised on August 11, 2017, 03:46:07 PM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on August 09, 2017, 04:44:50 PM

O Dempsey vs Portlaoise- Portlaoise win, first match wasn't good enough but it will have brought them on and flying it in training since.

Ballyfin v Stradbally?
Post by: Downtheroad on August 11, 2017, 04:36:57 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on August 11, 2017, 03:46:07 PM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on August 09, 2017, 04:44:50 PM

Ballyfin v Stradbally?
One would imagine that Stradbally will win but saw them against The Heath and they were very poor. A repeat of that and they could be in trouble.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on August 12, 2017, 12:00:21 AM
Good win for Graiguecullen tonight with a great second half comeback against The Heath finishing on a scoreline of  ---  Graiguecullen 0-10:   The Heath 0-8

Graiguecullen turn on the style in second half to see off The Heath
http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/08/11/graiguecullen-turn-style-second-half-see-off-heath/
Post by: town1980 on August 12, 2017, 11:16:01 AM
What an enjoyable game last night,graigcullen  started off poor but just looked leggy and brought no intensity the heath on the other hand just played defensively counter attacked to better effect game was poor with one team dominating,what unfolded after half time and whatever p clancy said to them lads omg they came out like demons some of the football along with there switchs was a joy to watch they rattled off 8 scores and missed two goal chances and there fitness levels look to be very good i was just totally impressed with there attitude,i felt sorry for the heath they had chances near the end to draw the game but i didnt think they deserved it,they are missing players if they had them they would be such a strong side,but all the plaudits go to graigue well done
Post by: TheGiantSquid on August 12, 2017, 11:48:21 AM
The Heath typically cant put back to back performances in championship. I am delighted they lost as all they did was filter men back (which every team does) but they then didnt break out when in possession. They had so much of the ball around the 45 and D area but not one forward was able to stand up or do something different. Any big team will lick their lips are getting the Heath the next round. To blow a 5 point lead while playing defensive is utterly inexcusable & I am sick of the same failings for this crop. RANT OVER
Post by: SCFC on August 12, 2017, 12:20:16 PM
Quote from: town1980 on August 12, 2017, 11:16:01 AM
What an enjoyable game last night
The first half last night would have put the worst insomniac to sleep!
Post by: town1980 on August 12, 2017, 12:44:55 PM
but did you enjoy the change in the second half only my opinion but there was a complete transformation from one team,but i agree heath looked no threat they could not contain the pace and workrate of graigue
Post by: Don Draper on August 12, 2017, 09:38:09 PM
Good to see Kevin Fitz get another 10 minutes tonight to bring Portlaoise home.
Post by: town1980 on August 12, 2017, 10:19:03 PM
Strad v Ballyfin well I'm delighted to see ballyfin win equally because I'm a portlaoise man and the great stradbally once again fight relation with probably mountmelick gaels kilcruise and clonaslee gaels where the vicarstown lads would love to relegate them
Ballylinan full value you for there win joes were poor
Portlaoise lads we're awesome and won't be stoped doesn't matter who's over us we're too strong on on our day
Post by: High Fielder on August 13, 2017, 11:35:23 AM
Very impressed with Ballyfin's younger lads yesterday - Connolly and Tyrell in particular. They played with no fear and got their reward. Stradbally looked awful. Defending in particular just shocking.

Ballylinan are bound to be happy with a win over the neighbours and I thought Cathal Dunne was good for them. Give them a year or two and they could be a force. Small bit early for them this year although aside from Portlaoise they have nobody to worry about. I can't understand Brian Daly moving to Josephs when they were that under strength. His old club are now in a relegation battle in Intermediate and it's hard to work out what he has achieved by causing so much fuss.

Portlaoise playing like last night are lovely to watch. The passing, the movement and class is worth the entrance fee. Some obvious failings (no natural ball winning midfielder and backs not great) but overall far too strong for Laois I would have thought
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on August 13, 2017, 11:43:12 PM
Today's Results

Portarlington 2-23
Ballyroan-Abbey 0-10

Killeshin 2-15
Arles-Kilcruise 1-16

Arles-Killeen 2-17
Mountmellick Gaels 2-11

Crettyard Gaels 1-12
Clonaslee Gaels 1-9

Laois Shopping Centre Senior Football Championship Round 3

The Heath v Killeshin
O'Dempsey's v Crettyard Gaels
St Joseph's v Ballyfin Gaels
Ballyroan-Abbey v Arles-Killeen

Laois Shopping Centre Senior Football Championship Relegation Semi-Finals

Clonaslee-St Manman's Gaels v Mountmellick Gaels
Stradbally v Arles-Kilcruise
Post by: Laois fan on August 14, 2017, 09:01:41 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on August 04, 2017, 06:06:52 PM
I don't think Ballyroan will fear Port the same way we fear Kileen.
Maybe ye should have 
Post by: BallyroanAbu on August 14, 2017, 09:28:32 AM
Maybe we should have, well done Port.
Post by: Unlaoised on August 14, 2017, 04:16:11 PM
Ballyfin were a breath of fresh air Saturday they played alovely brand of fast attacking football.

Only in experience and two late goals meant a nervous finish for them they were 7-8 points the better team.

James Finn gave and tremendous performance in midfield as did Rob Tyrell.

They are a fine dual club and must take great credit for what they achieve on such small numbers.
They had some support there Saturday altho im sure all the neutrals added there voices to the exciting finish.

Ben Conroy coming back will only add more options to there attack.

Portlaoise have a serious full forward line that has goals goals goals in them.

They will be hard to stop.

Ballylinan played great football and deserved their win.

Port look like a team destined for a semi spot.

I didn't see Graigue v the Heath or Arles v Killeshin.

Kileen did enough to win against a Mounmellick team lacking fitness.

Post by: town1980 on August 14, 2017, 08:27:21 PM
Ballyroan Abu what happened yee yesterday evening????
Post by: redsetanta on August 16, 2017, 11:38:14 AM
Good to see Portarlington and Graigue joining Portlaoise in the quarters. We've spoken about the contribution of the urban centres to the Laois cause in the past so this has to be welcomed. Mountmellick down in the relegation fight isn't good for a town that size.

Stradbally in relegation does nothing for their credibility either being the defending champions.

Josephs going nowhere again this year and it's hard to look beyond Portlaoise for a winner although they might get a game from Graigue or Port were they to meet. In saying that Graigue have promised much in the past and failed to deliver.
Post by: town1980 on August 16, 2017, 11:57:01 AM
i feel both graigue and portarlington are differant this year,port had the easier game against a very poor looking ballyroan side,ballyroan should have been beaten by crettyard whilst gragiue in my opinion have shown a little bit of character to turn around a dismal first half to a super second half against the heath  and i think it will bring them on further they have definately responded to p clancy been over them when you look at how far  back ballyroan have gone in my opinion compared to last year, all said i cannot see anyone stopping the town were just on the money at thin minute and look a united team and a changed team if only mal seen the potential in a couple of them last year its 11 in arow we would be going for   
Post by: SCFC on August 16, 2017, 03:55:23 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on August 16, 2017, 11:38:14 AM
Good to see Portarlington and Graigue joining Portlaoise in the quarters. We've spoken about the contribution of the urban centres to the Laois cause in the past so this has to be welcomed.
Not enough players from those three clubs on the Laois senior panel.
A lot of lads won't commit for whatever reason.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on August 16, 2017, 04:05:53 PM
Graiguecullen have a lot of young players at the moment and the still have to develop physically to compete with the top teams. They were lost in the first half and only started to compete when Aaron Forbes came in as he is a big, physical guy. 
Clancy is doing a great job there but I feel the next round could be a bit too far for them depending who they draw. If he gets three years with them they could turn into a very good team as they have the talent to get to a final.

http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/08/16/updated-laois-gaa-football-rankings-two-rounds-championship/
Post by: portlaoisekid on August 17, 2017, 09:03:12 AM
Its so refreshing to so Port and Graigue bringing so many young lads through.   Its a testament to both clubs. Laois in general needs this.

In the championship as a whole I'm impressed with the younger generation playing, most are still very raw and not ready for inter county action but there seems to be something to build on .

It should be a tight enough finish to the championship but unlike previous years Portlaoise look in the mood for this championship .
Post by: OTF on August 17, 2017, 10:00:55 PM
Dare I say
Green shoots
Post by: BallyroanAbu on August 22, 2017, 12:29:22 PM
This Weekend
O DEMPSEYS V CRETTYARD hard to see past O Dempseys
BallyroanAbbey V ArlesKileen Hard to see Ballyroan overturning Kileen (fingers crossed)
Clonaslee V Mountmellick  Mountmellick all the way
Kilcruise  V Stradbally   I think Kilcruise here, Stradbally are not in the same parish as last year.
The Heath V Killeshin  a complete toss up Killeshin I suppose
St Josephs V Ballyfin   Josephs should win but I am going for Ballyfin.

Post by: Uisce on August 22, 2017, 04:27:47 PM
The Heath v Killeshin -> Very hard to call but will go with Killeshin
O'Dempsey's v Crettyard Gaels -> O'Dempseys are better than they showed v Portlaoise, should win here
St Joseph's v Ballyfin Gaels -> Josephs will be too strong for Ballyfin
Ballyroan-Abbey v Arles-Killeen -> Killeen to have too much firepower

Clonaslee-St Manman's Gaels v Mountmellick Gaels -> Mountmellick to just edge this one.
Stradbally v Arles-Kilcruise -> Draw
Post by: SCFC on August 23, 2017, 12:33:27 PM
Heath o Dempseys Joe's and Killeen to win for me.

Mellick and Strad to win and avoid the drop.
Post by: The Saint on August 26, 2017, 12:02:18 PM
I'd expect ODempseys to win easily, 8 -10pts
Josephs to just about get over the line by 3 or 4 pts, injuries still a big problem.
Killeshin to beat The Heath by 4 or 5pts
Kilcruise to beat Strad in a tight game
Killeen to win with a bit to spare
Mountmellick to account for CSM
Post by: town1980 on August 26, 2017, 09:48:31 PM
Both games were terrible Evan o Carroll doesn't look the first cousin of a county footballer his gone so poor,,, Killeen second half upped there games ballyroan were woeful and are lucky not to be n relegation,joes and Heath for me tmw
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on August 27, 2017, 09:18:08 PM
Laois Shopping Centre Senior Football Championship Quarter Finals
Portarlington v Arles-Killeen
Portlaoise v O'Dempsey's
Graiguecullen v St Joseph's
Ballylinan v Killeshin

Laois Shopping Centre Senior Football Championship Relegation Final
Arles-Kilcruise v Mountmellick Gaels
Post by: Laoisguy on August 29, 2017, 09:20:16 PM
Quote from: town1980 on August 26, 2017, 09:48:31 PM
Both games were terrible Evan o Carroll doesn't look the first cousin of a county footballer his gone so poor,,, Killeen second half upped there games ballyroan were woeful and are lucky not to be n relegation,joes and Heath for me tmw

Please please will someone look at this guys workrate....is it county standard
Post by: Don Draper on August 29, 2017, 10:14:13 PM
Aye, why dont you two boys absolutely kick the shite out of a young fella who has been dogged with injuries for the past 2 years. Sickening fucks.
Post by: town1980 on August 30, 2017, 09:21:29 AM
did he play intercounty football this year don??we can only go on what we see on the field of play and i seen a very poor champoinship from him there no disputing that but he also played senior championship this year so what are you on about,hope john can maximise his potential it is there
Post by: Laoisguy on August 30, 2017, 10:18:56 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on August 29, 2017, 10:14:13 PM
Aye, why dont you two boys absolutely kick the shite out of a young fella who has been dogged with injuries for the past 2 years. Sickening f**ks.

Kick the shite out of who? DD

Its FACT
Too many guys on that Laois team have a bloated opinion of there ability that's why we are in Division 4
Post by: Don Draper on August 30, 2017, 10:22:15 AM
Quote from: Laoisguy on August 30, 2017, 10:18:56 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on August 29, 2017, 10:14:13 PM
Aye, why dont you two boys absolutely kick the shite out of a young fella who has been dogged with injuries for the past 2 years. Sickening f**ks.

Kick the shite out of who? DD

Its FACT
Too many guys on that Laois team have a bloated opinion of there ability that's why we are in Division 4
Typing FACT in capital letters doesn't make it so.
Post by: Unlaoised on August 30, 2017, 04:15:27 PM
Poor games over the weekend ...

Ballyfin and joes was terrible apart from a superb James finn goal.

I fancy Portlaoise will go all the way ...maybe Graigue joining them depending on the draw
Post by: SCFC on August 30, 2017, 04:31:13 PM
Hard to believe Arles are one game from the drop. Yeah, I know they're an aging outfit but I thought they had enough quality players in their first 15 to avoid this. Davy Conway, meaney, Ross and colm munnelly.
I still think they will edge mountmellick this year but they are sure to go down over the next few years.
Post by: town1980 on September 10, 2017, 04:08:19 AM
Now that the dust has settled on the senior management what are the predictions for this weekend,I'll go kilishin,portlaoise,portarlinton,graigcullen,,few hard ones to call
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on September 10, 2017, 03:17:37 PM
15/09/2017
19:30

Arles Kilcruise  v Mountmellick Gaels

19:45
Graiguecullen v St Joseph's

16/09/2017
16:30

Portlaoise v O'Dempseys

18:00
Portarlington v Arles/Killeen

Baile Uí Laigheanáin v Killeshin
Post by: The Monument Road on September 10, 2017, 04:42:46 PM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on September 10, 2017, 03:17:37 PM
15/09/2017

Arles Kilcruise  v Mountmellick Gaels (Arles)

Graiguecullen v St Joseph's (Graigue)

16/09/2017

Portlaoise v O'Dempseys (Portlaoise)

Portarlington v Arles/Killeen (Kileen)

Baile Uí Laigheanáin v Killeshin (Ballylinan)
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on September 11, 2017, 08:31:48 PM
Quote from: The Monument Road on September 10, 2017, 04:42:46 PM
15/09/2017

Graiguecullen v St Joseph's (Graigue)

16/09/2017

Ballylinan v Killeshin (Ballylinan)

I'd find it hard to disagree with any of those predictions
Post by: BallyroanAbu on September 14, 2017, 09:38:55 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on September 11, 2017, 08:31:48 PM
15/09/2017

Graiguecullen v St Joseph's (Graigue

16/09/2017

Second that
Post by: redsetanta on September 14, 2017, 10:00:42 AM
Port have already beaten Kileen so what's the difference this time?
Post by: SCFC on September 14, 2017, 10:01:27 AM
Arles, Joseph's, Portlaoise, Killeen and Killeshin for me.
Port decimated with injuries - would have gone for them to beat Killeen but for that.
Post by: Uisce on September 14, 2017, 10:36:30 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on September 14, 2017, 09:38:55 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on September 11, 2017, 08:31:48 PM
15/09/2017

Graiguecullen v St Joseph's (Graigue

16/09/2017

Second that

+1 Can't see any surprises, well Port beating Killeen wouldn't be much of a surprise but think Killeen will win.
Post by: Laoisguy on September 14, 2017, 11:11:36 AM
Quote from: SCFC on September 14, 2017, 10:01:27 AM
Port decimated with injuries - would have gone for them to beat Killeen but for that.

Who are injured for Port?
Post by: SCFC on September 14, 2017, 12:50:48 PM
Quote from: Laoisguy on September 14, 2017, 11:11:36 AM

I've heard Eoin McCann, Colm Murphy, Stephen Lyons, Sean Byrne, Cathal Ryan and Dean Foster. Allegedly😊

Post by: Don Draper on September 14, 2017, 12:57:36 PM
Quote from: SCFC on September 14, 2017, 12:50:48 PM

I've heard Eoin McCann, Colm Murphy, Stephen Lyons, Sean Byrne, Cathal Ryan and Dean Foster. Allegedly😊
Bring back Hughie
Post by: The Monument Road on September 14, 2017, 05:54:27 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on September 14, 2017, 12:57:36 PM
Quote from: SCFC on September 14, 2017, 12:50:48 PM

Bring back Hughie
anyone got eoin kearns number...
Post by: redsetanta on September 15, 2017, 09:49:43 AM
Relegation battle this evening between Arles and Mountmellick. You'd have to think that Arles would still be that bit better than a younger Mountmellick team. They should have enough to beat them but one off knock out games don't always go that way. Arles competed very well against Portlaoise and Killeshin but were very poor against Stradbally. I would still go with the Arles boys though!
Post by: Keyser Söze on September 15, 2017, 11:10:12 AM
Arles
St Josephs
Portlaoise
Portarlington
Ballylinan
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on September 16, 2017, 12:28:57 AM
Very good win for Graiguecullen tonight in what was a typically nervous quarter final game. Graiguecullen were by far the better team in the first half but two softly conceded goals kept St. Joseph's in the game and they went in level at half time. It was a very defensive second half from both teams with Graiguecullen scoring 4 points and St. Joseph's scoring 3 points. Good tactical game and some good talent on view tonight.

Barry Brennan made a return to football after a long time away due to injury and made a bit of an impact but he looked a long way off the level needed at this stage of the championship. Graiguecullen just about deserved it due to the way they responded to the hammer blows of two very soft goals and a blistering effort for themselves that cannoned of the crossbar and was cleared away to safety. I have to mention the brilliant free taking of Ian Fleming under pressure slotting three points at vital stages of the game while at the other end Dan Dunne was very wayward in his efforts.

Not a great game but a very good win for Graiguecullen and one which will stand to them for the next challenge. Also a word of congratulations to Eddie Kinsella who allowed play to flow and was not afraid to make the big calls when needed.

Fleming points the winner as Graiguecullen into the last four
http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/09/15/20791/ (http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/09/15/20791/)

Injury time heroics save Kilcruise and relegate Mountmellick
http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/09/15/injury-time-heroics-save-kilcruise-relegates-mountmellick/ (http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/09/15/injury-time-heroics-save-kilcruise-relegates-mountmellick/)
Post by: town1980 on September 16, 2017, 10:26:54 AM
i enjoyed the game last night graigue were by far the better side just two silly goals kept joes in it really,,you could see the effect clancy has on them also they are playing a certain way which is hard to play against there first twenty mins was as good as i have seen all year,joes are still a very very good young side just scoring let them down 2-4 thats just 6 scores which wouldnt scare anyone really and graigue missed a sitter that rattled the crossbar,,looking forward to the games this evening
Post by: The PRO on September 16, 2017, 07:56:36 PM
Portlaoise, Port and Graigue into semi finals. Big urban areas. Just need them to start producing senior county players now.
Post by: redsetanta on September 16, 2017, 08:05:08 PM
Mountmellick relegated though.

GOt t ohand it to Kilcruise though they kept at it and got the break. Tough one for MM but they have something to aim for next year. Some decent players there!
Post by: BallyroanAbu on September 16, 2017, 08:25:59 PM
Fair play to Port, I thought each time Arles would beat them. 
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on September 16, 2017, 10:32:07 PM
Semi Final Draw

Ballylinan v Portarlington
Portlaoise v Graiguecullen
Post by: redsetanta on September 16, 2017, 11:18:09 PM
Gonna be a new finalist this year. Port and Ballylynan should be a good game. Big stakes.
Post by: Toomanygaels on September 17, 2017, 02:28:04 AM
Quote from: redsetanta on September 16, 2017, 08:05:08 PM

GOt t ohand it to Kilcruise though they kept at it and got the break. Tough one for MM but they have something to aim for next year. Some decent players there!

To be honest I am happy to see Arles beat Mountmellick. Mountmellick first option to improve is to become a gaels team and to bring players in from others club. Arles try there best to improve there own players. Mountmellick are Laois football in a nut shell. Instead of working to improve what you have they take the easy option of joining up with someone else.
Post by: Unison on September 17, 2017, 07:55:38 AM
Is it time now to end the rift in Arles and amalgamate the two clubs for one and for all?

Portarlington will win a championship soon. However, 2017 is probably too soon for them.
Post by: town1980 on September 17, 2017, 08:19:26 AM
Port only took off when Kingston rightly got his red card,, ballylinan were full value for there win and I think they will win there semi,,, it's the end of the road for graigcullen cant see them getting near portlaoise been honest,, ballylinan might trouble them though
Post by: BallyroanAbu on September 17, 2017, 08:37:30 AM
I suppose the interesting thing I see is how many clubs in the semi-finals with so little county players.  For those that say we lack talent maybe we are looking in the wrong places or not motivating the right men.

Am I right in saying 1 starter from
Ballylinan
Graigue
Port

that's with Gary not being definite and Timmons being out all year.
Post by: SCFC on September 17, 2017, 08:48:06 AM
Quote from: Toomanygaels on September 17, 2017, 02:28:04 AM
Quote from: redsetanta on September 16, 2017, 08:05:08 PM

To be honest I am happy to see Arles beat Mountmellick. Mountmellick first option to improve is to become a gaels team and to bring players in from others club. Arles try there best to improve there own players. Mountmellick are Laois football in a nut shell. Instead of working to improve what you have they take the easy option of joining up with someone else.
100% agree.
Mountmellick must be the third biggest town in Laois and shouldn't need lads from Castletown to play senior.
Will they be allowed use them next year in intermediate either? I don't think so anyway.
Portlaoise could do them a favour and beat Emo in the intermediate final I suppose.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on September 17, 2017, 08:52:55 AM
Delighted for Port and Noel Coss in particular who took on a managerial job that not many wanted.
Post by: Faugheen on September 17, 2017, 02:01:40 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on September 17, 2017, 08:37:30 AM
I suppose the interesting thing I see is how many clubs in the semi-finals with so little county players.  For those that say we lack talent maybe we are looking in the wrong places or not motivating the right men.

Ballylinan
Graigue
Port

Graiguecullen had 3 players on the county panel this year. The 3 of them played against Wicklow in the qualifiers. Trevor Collins, Mark Timmons and Ambrose Doran.
Post by: The Monument Road on September 17, 2017, 05:45:22 PM
Quote from: Heshs Umpire on September 17, 2017, 08:52:55 AM
Delighted for Port and Noel Coss in particular who took on a managerial job that not many wanted.
I thought Des Cooney was Port's 's manager.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on September 17, 2017, 08:26:52 PM
Quote from: The Monument Road on September 17, 2017, 05:45:22 PM
Quote from: Heshs Umpire on September 17, 2017, 08:52:55 AM
I thought Des Cooney was Port's 's manager.
OK. Thought Noel was still there.
Still glad to see Port winning. Good young team.
Post by: steven seagal on September 18, 2017, 12:02:10 AM
QuoteTo be honest I am happy to see Arles beat Mountmellick. Mountmellick first option to improve is to become a gaels team and to bring players in from others club. Arles try there best to improve there own players. Mountmellick are Laois football in a nut shell. Instead of working to improve what you have they take the easy option of joining up with someone else.

To be fair to Mountmellick, the link with Castletown started with Ger and Brendan Reddin, because their father is from Mountmellick, and the two of them have been kicking football with Mountmellick for years. Ger has since emigrated but Brendan is still kicking with them. James Mullaney played a bit with them this year too, but not to any great degree, I wouldn't say he even started a game for them.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on September 18, 2017, 02:17:46 AM
Quote from: Faugheen on September 17, 2017, 02:01:40 PM

Ballylinan
Graigue
Port

Graiguecullen had 3 players on the county panel this year. The 3 of them played against Wicklow in the qualifiers. Trevor Collins, Mark Timmons and Ambrose Doran.

Oh right and against Clare ?
Post by: Don Draper on September 18, 2017, 08:00:21 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on September 18, 2017, 02:17:46 AM

Ballylinan
Graigue
Port

Clutching at straws there ever so slightly. He gave you 3 Graigue players starting the same Cship match for Laois in 2017.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on September 18, 2017, 08:33:31 AM
Just asking Don?  We are going to have to unearth new players the old boys  can't play forever.
Post by: Don Draper on September 18, 2017, 08:49:43 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on September 18, 2017, 08:33:31 AM
Just asking Don?  We are going to have to unearth new players the old boys  can't play forever.
No argument with your point, just observing he answered it and then some. Looking forward to our new manager doing a clearout in the coming weeks.
Post by: portlaoisekid on September 18, 2017, 11:41:42 AM
Very interesting line ups for the semi finals. Definitely the best 4 teams are left in it.

I was impressed with Portarlington on Saturday, they will take a lot of beating. I think it'll be Portlaoise v Portarlington final.
Post by: town1980 on September 18, 2017, 12:00:59 PM
i felt killeen had the game until kingston got sent off,,port then took off with there subsitutes really powerful running running killeen ragged,i think ballylinan could nick this one they are very good up front and play with a double sweeper something port cant handle kileen got massive joy pushing up on therre kickouts also,portlaoise i think will beat graigue but it mighnt be all one way traffic i have a feeling it could be a good game but portlaoise are definately on the money this year so far
Post by: Don Draper on September 18, 2017, 12:08:08 PM
Quote from: town1980 on September 18, 2017, 12:00:59 PM
i felt killeen had the game until kingston got sent off,,port then took off with there subsitutes really powerful running running killeen ragged,i think ballylinan could nick this one they are very good up front and play with a double sweeper something port cant handle kileen got massive joy pushing up on therre kickouts also,portlaoise i think will beat graigue but it mighnt be all one way traffic i have a feeling it could be a good game but portlaoise are definately on the money this year so far
Changed your tune on Malachy I see. You disgust me, you despicable creature.
Post by: Unlaoised on September 18, 2017, 04:15:28 PM
I think Ballylinan will beat Port...

Graigue will give the town a good game but it won't be enough
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on September 18, 2017, 06:54:43 PM
Quote from: town1980 on September 17, 2017, 08:19:26 AM
it's the end of the road for graigcullen cant see them getting near portlaoise been honest,, ballylinan might trouble them though
Quote from: town1980 on September 18, 2017, 12:00:59portlaoise i think will beat graigue but it mighnt be all one way traffic i have a feeling it could be a good game but portlaoise are definately on the money this year so far

Eh, not sure what to make of you really ... ???   Make your mind up, will ya..
Post by: Faugheen on September 18, 2017, 08:01:36 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on September 18, 2017, 02:17:46 AM

Ballylinan
Graigue
Port

Oh right, only 2, Mark Timmons, Trevor Collins. So you're not right :-)
Post by: BallyroanAbu on September 18, 2017, 09:24:46 PM
Fair enough
Post by: redsetanta on September 19, 2017, 10:01:31 AM
Should be a tight game between Port and Ballylynan. Very hard to call but Ballylynan have that bit more with their county players which could be enough to swing it their direction.

Can only see Portlaoise winning the other semi final. Graigue struggled against a poor Josephs team.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on September 19, 2017, 11:10:44 AM
Sunday 01/10/2017

14:00:  Portlaoise  v  Graiguecullen
15:30:  Portarlington v Ballylinan
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on September 25, 2017, 10:22:01 AM
Still not sure who's going up or going down....

http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/09/23/clarification-relegationpromotion-sfc-ifc/
Post by: Saint 1963 on September 25, 2017, 10:39:15 AM
What happens to the Portlaoise panel of players if they win on Saturday and their seniors win the SFC?
Post by: town1980 on September 25, 2017, 11:58:06 AM
if portlaoise  beat emo mountmelick will play emo in a play off im told to see who plays intermediate in 2018
Post by: Saint 1963 on September 25, 2017, 12:57:40 PM
If Portlaoise win both Senior and Intermediate championships using all available subs during both finals, will they then end up with 40+ senior players for 2018 and only one team on which they can play in the SFC?
Post by: steven seagal on September 25, 2017, 01:23:02 PM
No, if Portlaoise intermediates win then they will remain in the IFC. They can't be promoted because the club already have a team at the higher grade, it's the same in the league, you can't have two teams from the same club competing in the same competition.
Post by: OTF on September 25, 2017, 01:41:24 PM
As a matter of interest why can't they have 2 teams senior... I do remember them having 2 minor teams in the championship.

Simply declare 2 separate panel at the start of the year and off you go.

No ?
Post by: SCFC on September 25, 2017, 02:21:06 PM
Quote from: OTF on September 25, 2017, 01:41:24 PM
As a matter of interest why can't they have 2 teams senior... I do remember them having 2 minor teams in the championship.

Simply declare 2 separate panel at the start of the year and off you go.

No ?
Yeah. That's my understanding. If they want 2 senior teams, they an opt to go up. 
Post by: clonadmad on September 25, 2017, 02:50:53 PM
http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/09/23/clarification-relegationpromotion-sfc-ifc/
Post by: SCFC on September 25, 2017, 03:58:18 PM
I think it's wrong of that article to state Portlaoise's second team can't be promoted to senior if they win the intermediate. I don't know any rule that doesn't allow it to happen.
Post by: Downtheroad on September 25, 2017, 05:06:36 PM
Quote from: SCFC on September 25, 2017, 03:58:18 PM
I think it's wrong of that article to state Portlaoise's second team can't be promoted to senior if they win the intermediate. I don't know any rule that doesn't allow it to happen.
Have to agree.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on September 25, 2017, 05:59:14 PM
Has it happened anywhere else same club with two Senior Teams in the same championship.
Post by: the sash on September 25, 2017, 06:31:23 PM
Back in 1956 portarlington were forced to enter two teams in the senior championship after winning the intermediate title the year before.  Seemingly it created alot of unrest, especially in the selection process
Post by: Heshs Umpire on September 25, 2017, 10:58:21 PM
Portlaoise had two senior teams as recently as the late 70's or early 80's. I remember seeing them playing each other. It was actually a fairly tough hard hitting game.
St Brigids in Dublin also had two senior teams around 10 or 12 years ago.
Post by: The Monument Road on September 26, 2017, 01:02:54 PM
Quote from: Heshs Umpire on September 25, 2017, 10:58:21 PM
Portlaoise had two senior teams as recently as the late 70's or early 80's. I remember seeing them playing each other. It was actually a fairly tough hard hitting game.
St Brigids in Dublin also had two senior teams around 10 or 12 years ago.
I think the year was 1983 Hesh. And i may be corrected on this but i think Pat Rowe played with their second team. He didnt get on too well with members of the great Portlaoise team of that era. He transferred to the Heath shortly after i think. Someone from Portlaoise may update us on that
Post by: Butch Cassidy on September 26, 2017, 02:50:33 PM
Have Portlaoise been holding back any of their seniors so they can play intermediate? Rogers surely. Interesting to see their team for Sunday. Was Zach regraded? :)
Post by: town1980 on September 27, 2017, 10:44:33 PM
My club to beat graigcullen and ballylinan to beat port
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on September 28, 2017, 01:27:01 AM
Quote from: town1980 on September 27, 2017, 10:44:33 PM

How would you feel about Clancy if he somehow manages to pull off a victory for Graiguecullen and beat YOUR club. ????
Post by: town1980 on September 28, 2017, 01:02:39 PM
cant see it happening been honest like everyone on here most lads will predict a town win,,,if they pull it off i will be shocked
Post by: Don Draper on September 28, 2017, 01:23:22 PM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on September 28, 2017, 01:27:01 AM
Quote from: town1980 on September 27, 2017, 10:44:33 PM

How would you feel about Clancy if he somehow manages to pull off a victory for Graiguecullen and beat YOUR club. ????
He'll probably launch another despicable attack on Malachy.
Post by: Laoisguy on September 29, 2017, 03:52:51 PM
Looking forward to the semi finals
Portlaoise Ballylinan to reach final after competitive games I hope

Thought Trevor Collins did well against St Joes maybe Forbes could cause some problems
Post by: Unlaoised on September 29, 2017, 04:24:35 PM
I'm going for Graigue to get a draw but loose the replay....Ballylinan to beat Port by 4
Post by: redsetanta on October 01, 2017, 05:10:30 PM
Congrats to Ballylynan on getting to the county final for the first time in 30 years. They play the same opposition as they did then in what was a tough day for the village. This time round they should give a much better account of themselves. They've been playing well this year and deserve their place. Best of luck to them in the final!
Post by: BallyroanAbu on October 01, 2017, 07:23:28 PM
Well done Ballylinan, entertaining game today.
Post by: High Fielder on October 01, 2017, 09:04:46 PM
I thought it was awful. It frightens me to think that this was a Laois SFC semi final. The tactics were like something out of an U12 game and the defending was beyond bad. Portlaoise played beautifully in the first half and the rest of it was a write off.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on October 01, 2017, 10:34:40 PM
I think Ballylinan will have to tighten up big time at the back or Portlaoise could destroy them.
Ballylinan's young forwards looked good and should give it a good go.
Post by: town1980 on October 02, 2017, 10:01:24 AM
portlaoise were full value for there win but i will say graiguecullen never gave up,,they will be disapointed by there first half display they were transformed in the second half but left too much to do,the new lads portlaoise have are doing a great job i have to say and im delighted mal has trusted them yes i would have gave out about mal but i think he has them very focused this year,ballylinan v port for me was just a turkey shoot but ballylinan wont care 4-7 i thinks there forwards scored so portlaoise will have to watch that too they have quality forwards,congrats to both teams on reaching the final
Post by: Laoiseabu on October 02, 2017, 01:32:38 PM
Always admire the way Ballylinan try and play a big physical mobile side. From midfield up they are more than good enough. Give me two more good backs to slot into the back line and I would have them county champs but they don't seem to have them which is a pity.
Post by: redsetanta on October 02, 2017, 04:01:03 PM
I see where Ross Munnelly will be top scorer in championship this year. Cormac Murphy of Port is top scorer from play. How many times has Ross been top scorer? A few times at least. Anyone got the stats?
Post by: the sash on October 02, 2017, 11:19:30 PM
Yea the two murphy brothers are the top scorers from play in the championship with 23 each. Quite an achievement. Still the same family names doing the rounds on the portarlington teams throughout the years. Murphys, ryans, fosters, bennetts and more coming through. We never seem to do well in the transfer market😂

Post by: redsetanta on October 03, 2017, 11:19:49 AM
A decent team there though and should look to build on this years achievement. It will only be of benefit to Laois to have Port challenging for county titles. 
Post by: Laoisguy on October 06, 2017, 11:20:30 AM
Don't envy Sugrues task after those semi finals, not a huge amount of intercounty talent on view

Graigue showed far to much respect to the town at the outset which surprised me...not enough threat up forward

Ballylinan v Portlaoise to me is not the foregone conclusion just yet...Ballylinan very strong down the middle

Post by: The Monument Road on October 06, 2017, 01:23:48 PM
Congratulations to Ballylinan and Portlaoise on reaching the final. Ballylinan are in a position a lot of us would give their right arm to be in. I passed through the village this morning and the place is "Green & Gold". I think they have a good chance and are full of good players with loads of experience with a great mix of young and old. The Farrell brothers, Gary Walsh, cathal Dunne and Ritchie Ryan are all immense players. They will miss young Kevin Byrne immensely and i cannot understand how he was over looked at minor level. The chap is the best young corner back i've seen in a long time. Awful pity he is going to miss his day out with his club.
All in all its an intriguing final. Portlaoise will be eager to make amends for last year. They also have a few new lads on board who none of us know much about. Looking forward to it.
Post by: portlaoisekid on October 06, 2017, 02:22:19 PM
I was hugely impressed with Ballylynan in the semi final, I thought Port would beat them but in reality Ballylynan were head in shoulders ahead of Port despite the score line.

Portlaoise looked ruthlessly efficient all year and the newer players were excellent again. Brian Smith is a huge addition for Portlaoise, a super sub to have to come on.  Portlaoise look on a mission and with few more players available to them before the final I have to go for Portlaoise to win but Ballylynan will run them damn close .
Post by: The Monument Road on October 06, 2017, 04:03:35 PM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on October 06, 2017, 02:22:19 PM
I was hugely impressed with Ballylynan in the semi final, I thought Port would beat them but in reality Ballylynan were head in shoulders ahead of Port despite the score line.

Portlaoise looked ruthlessly efficient all year and the newer players were excellent again. Brian Smith is a huge addition for Portlaoise, a super sub to have to come on.  Portlaoise look on a mission and with few more players available to them before the final I have to go for Portlaoise to win but Ballylynan will run them damn close .
Is Zach available
Post by: redsetanta on October 06, 2017, 04:13:54 PM
1987 was a disaster of a day for BAllylynan against Portlaoise.

I would assume Portlaoise were hot favourites that day. They had some serious footballers at the time. The 21 point defeat was a tough pill to swallow.
Post by: High Fielder on October 06, 2017, 07:45:21 PM
The bookies odds say it all. This should be one way traffic. I don't know how anyone could be positive about Ballylynan having watched them get torn apart last week. It was a contest within a contest as most Laois matches are, but in an overall context Portlaoise are the only decent club team in Laois. They don't have enough either to win a Leinster but at least they have their focus back. Aside from having satisfaction at seeing different clubs emerging, I'm afraid to say this Championship has done nothing but confirm how far off the pace we have become.
Post by: the sash on October 06, 2017, 10:19:55 PM
Yea maybe on a quality side of things yea the championship has been a bit below par, but most games involving port and ballylinan were very open and entertaining at least. Portlaoise are like george grahams arsenal, focused and difficult to beat but boring as hell. They play very defensive but because of their fitness levels and having physical mobile men between the two fiftys they can move the ball very quickly to their inside forward line. They are very tactically aware, the amount of possession they had in the first half of the odempsey game was unbelievable. They recycle the ball very well and only shoot when they are nearly certain of a score but  having said all that if ballylinan can get to bruno n cahilanne then we might be in for a right good game
Post by: High Fielder on October 07, 2017, 10:27:39 AM
It doesn't pay to be this optimistic Sash. The standard is woeful. There have been horror stories in recent weeks of teams going outside of Laois for challenge matches and getting murdered. Your own club had a decent year but the way ye defended last week was comical. And Ballylynan weren't much better. John Sugrue will struggle badly to put a full back line together. They're just not there
Post by: Don Draper on October 07, 2017, 01:20:58 PM
Lads who were all these senior team that's we had contesting in Leinster years ago? I must be suffering memory loss
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 08, 2017, 12:09:46 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on October 07, 2017, 01:20:58 PM
Lads who were all these senior team that's we had contesting in Leinster years ago? I must be suffering memory loss

I think you're suffering more than memory loss ...??
Post by: Don Draper on October 08, 2017, 05:39:56 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 08, 2017, 12:09:46 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on October 07, 2017, 01:20:58 PM

I think you're suffering more than memory loss ...??
A very nasty nasty post.
Post by: SCFC on October 12, 2017, 09:42:45 AM
Anyone give Ballylinan a chance?
I don't think they 're tight enough at the back and fear for them against Cahillane and Bruno.
It could be high scoring.
Is Zack around, anyone hear?😊
Post by: Don Draper on October 12, 2017, 10:15:50 AM
Ballylinan are going to sentence Portlaoise to, DELETION.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on October 12, 2017, 11:41:28 AM
Ballylinan are in a final they have a chance,  Portlaoise have looked fantastic all year, however  they have not been in a tight game all championship and really have not been tested.  They are about a 6/1 - 8/1 chance and that's not far off the mark.
Post by: the sash on October 12, 2017, 11:50:35 AM
I'd give them a chance, if they can stay in the game for the first 40-45 mins. They are physically in great shape n will still full of running with 10 mins to go. Portlaoise will not have met a more conditioned side all year.i hope the occasion dosen't get to them.
Post by: Unlaoised on October 12, 2017, 02:27:21 PM
I'm going for a win against the odds here in Ballylinan ....

I think fact that Zac won't be there is a boost for the Athy border side!

They have the fitness and forwards to win the game and just need to be patient when the Town have the ball and not foul!
Post by: Gmac on October 12, 2017, 04:47:47 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on October 06, 2017, 04:13:54 PM

I would assume Portlaoise were hot favourites that day. They had some serious footballers at the time. The 21 point defeat was a tough pill to swallow.
would love to see the team sheets from that final anyone got them?
Post by: portlaoisekid on October 13, 2017, 08:29:51 AM
Quote from: Gmac on October 12, 2017, 04:47:47 PM

Their in the programme Sunday as far as I'm aware.
Post by: portlaoisekid on October 13, 2017, 08:39:37 AM
Does anyone know why the terrace has not been open for any club matches this year?   I saw a handful on the far side the last day but no one was behind the goals.

No big deal of course, just wondering.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 13, 2017, 09:39:40 AM
Ballylinan have a great chance of pulling off a shock win here. Portlaoise were poor enough when Graiguecullen started to believe in themselves and went for it. Ballylinan won't need much motivation to give it everything on Sunday and the fact that Zack won't be on the bench, as Unlaoised pointed out, will give them a great boost.
http://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/10/12/blow-town-tuohy-wont-home-final/
Post by: The Monument Road on October 13, 2017, 11:45:18 AM

I can remember that final well. I remember Ballylinan painting some of their footballs green and gold for the day. Players i remember playing and on the panel were Mick Dunne in goals, Eamonn Lacey. Michael Loughman, Seamus Kavanagh, Rocky Mcdonald, Seamus Kelly, Timmy Kavanagh, Ned Kelly, Jimmy Hovendon, Leo & Enda Condron, Declan Mulhare,Gerry Mulhall,Ned Walsh,Eamonn Kaye,John Behan,Ted Farrell,Jimmy Farrell,Jim Lynskey,John Kavanagh,Franko Farrell,Michael Farrell,Paddy Brandon. I probably left a few out. Ballylinan lost a fair few of that team to Kileen in the years after so its a credit to them to start again and reach another Final. The "Bally Boys" love their football and wouldnt it be a great reward for those who stuck it out and worked their socks off to keep the club going. Best of luck .
Post by: Laois Laois on October 13, 2017, 01:05:43 PM
Quote from: The Monument Road on October 13, 2017, 11:45:18 AM

I can remember that final well. I remember Ballylinan painting some of their footballs green and gold for the day. Players i remember playing and on the panel were Mick Dunne in goals, Eamonn Lacey. Michael Loughman, Seamus Kavanagh, Rocky Mcdonald, Seamus Kelly, Timmy Kavanagh, Ned Kelly, Jimmy Hovendon, Leo & Enda Condron, Declan Mulhare,Gerry Mulhall,Ned Walsh,Eamonn Kaye,John Behan,Ted Farrell,Jimmy Farrell,Jim Lynskey,John Kavanagh,Franko Farrell,Michael Farrell,Paddy Brandon. I probably left a few out. Ballylinan lost a fair few of that team to Kileen in the years after so its a credit to them to start again and reach another Final. The "Bally Boys" love their football and wouldnt it be a great reward for those who stuck it out and worked their socks off to keep the club going. Best of luck .

Ballylinan didnt do themselves justice that day losing by 21 points in the end i think. They beat Portloise in Championship the following year.
Post by: town1980 on October 13, 2017, 02:29:55 PM
my opinion is that portlaoise will win handy enough,,i could be wrong i just dont think ballylinan are the team to stop them i do no they have done well this year but the same players suffered defeat to ballyroan last year and a heavy defeat to stradbally so im going for a big town win i  hope anyway
Post by: portlaoisekid on October 13, 2017, 04:50:33 PM
Quote from: town1980 on October 13, 2017, 02:29:55 PM
my opinion is that portlaoise will win handy enough,,i could be wrong i just dont think ballylinan are the team to stop them i do no they have done well this year but the same players suffered defeat to ballyroan last year and a heavy defeat to stradbally so im going for a big town win i  hope anyway
Cant agree with that. I think Portlaoise will be to the pin of their collar to beat Ballylynan.   

Post by: Dave like the tv channel on October 13, 2017, 06:56:36 PM
both captains were right corner forwards (at least on paper).
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on October 13, 2017, 06:59:53 PM
Paths to that final in 1987:

Portlaoise
Rd1 v The Heath 0-8 1-3
QF v Emo 2-12 1-9
SF v Portarlington 1-8 1-8
SFr v Portarlington 2-13 0-11

Ballylinan
QF v St Josephs 1-5 0-6
SF v Annanough 2-9 0-8
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on October 13, 2017, 07:02:01 PM

1987 Laois Senior Football Final

Score Portlaoise 3-16 (1-4) Ballylinan 0-5 (0-3)
Wides Portlaoise 8 (4) Ballylinan 4 (3)
45s Portlaoise 5 (2) Ballylinan 0
Frees Portlaoise 19 (11) Ballylinan 23 (12)

Portlaoise
Mick Mulhall
Brian Colgan
John Bohane
Tommy Conroy
Colm Browne
Mark Kavanagh
Liam Duggan
Pat Critchley [0-2]
Karl Lenihan
Gerry Browne
Tom Prendergast [2-2]
James Fahy [0-5]
Seamus Lalor
Joe Keenan [1-1]
Noel Prendergast (c) [0-6]

Ballylinan
Michael Dunne
John Kavanagh
Ted Farrell
John Behan
Declan Mulhare [0-1]
Tim Kavanagh
Eamon Lacey
Gerry Mulhall
James Hovenden
John McDonald [0-1]
Michael Loughman
Seamus Kelly
Enda Condron [0-2]
Enda Kaye
Seamus Kavanagh (c) [0-1]
Subs:
Eamon Doyle for J Kavanagh (33mins)
Des Cooney for M Loughman (37mins)
Jim Lynsky for J McDonald (46mins)

Referee: Seamus Lalor
Post by: town1980 on October 15, 2017, 12:53:53 AM
The town to whip ballylinan wahoooo ;D
Post by: BallyroanAbu on October 15, 2017, 01:37:21 PM
Portlaoise are the undoubtable favs,  but I can't get away from Ballylinan causing a shock, the easy analysis is that Portlaoise have looked awesome all year.  I just think there are holes in this and the game could be a close one.   So Ballylinan to cause a shock.

I think that Portarlington win was better than most people are giving it credit for.
Post by: High Fielder on October 15, 2017, 08:17:21 PM
It obviously wasn't. Like the rest of the county, the Ballylynan back line is porous. There's a big difference between entertainment and quality, and I'm afraid to say a lot of analysis on here doesn't distinguish between the two. Portlaoise have obvious deficiencies but are too strong in Laois. I can't see them doing too much in Leinster, but good luck to them.
Post by: on the hop on October 15, 2017, 09:09:05 PM
Just while they were doing their warm up, young Farrell slipped over water bottles and twisted his ankle. These things only even to happen at the worst times
Post by: the sash on October 15, 2017, 10:27:23 PM
Yea ,have to hand it to portlaoise even though it kills me to say it. They were very professional and as always organised as they  took care of business today. Yea i heard alan farrel was injured in the warm up n it sadly had a bearing on his game as he has been their star performer all year. Thought d occasion got to ballylinan a little as you could see the nervousness in their defence which was evident on the first half especially in the mix up for the first goal. Thought john flynn should also have thrown up the ball in the build up to the second goal when he impeded the bally player competing for the ball. It might have made the second half a bit more competitive if so. All credit to portlaoise though by far the better team
Post by: town1980 on October 15, 2017, 11:25:05 PM
Well again I was right at 40 mins on the clock  ballylinan were tankd fitness levels were just not there they tried but again the town were too strong,, portlaoise top of the tree I'll go graigue at num 2 then ballylinan then port,,, I'm enjoying my Guinness to nite get in there  :D
Post by: SCFC on October 16, 2017, 08:17:00 AM
Chris Finn was superb yesterday. How many balls did he burst out with and distribute perfectly? I'd say he could be in Sugrue's notebook.
Fair play to Ballylinan. The final score was a bit harsh on them. They battled hard. I thought they could be blown away from early on but far from it.
Walsh missed a few big frees which could have kept it a contest for a bit longer. Lillis was excellent on him from general play.
One of Bruno's points was worth the admission fee on its own. Unreal.
Post by: redsetanta on October 16, 2017, 10:20:28 AM
Portlaoise were far the better team in the second half but looked very heavy legged in the first half. In that first half Ballylinan really took the game to them. Couple of defensive mix ups allowed Portlaoise in for scores particularly the collision between the two Ballylinan backs that resulted in the goal. Flynn should really have called back play prior to Portlaoises second goal as he had done so previously when he obstructed the play. The second goal killed of the game really. Cahillane was in great form and his marker had a torrid time. Ballylinan couldn't cope with Portlaoises running game in the second half and they did looked out on their feet. Ball runners had little support and more often than not Gary Walsh was the only option. The final score is a little harsh on Ballylinan considering the effort they put in but Portlaoise were the dominant team and sitting in the stands there was an air of evitability about things 10  mins into the second half. Dillon has a right burst of speed in him when he gets the ball. Portlaoise bench was fairly strong. It is a microcosym of Dublin and the rest of Leinster. Great atmosphere in the first half and the whole of Ballylinan must have been in O'Moore Park.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on October 16, 2017, 02:59:55 PM
Be fair Town, fitness was not an issue for Ballylinan.  They made killer mistakes at the wrong time, score line flattered Portlaoise.  Fair play to Portlaoise a well drilled outfit all year worryingly for the rest of us there probably is more improvement in this team.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on October 18, 2017, 12:07:20 PM
Very composed performance from Portlaoise.
Really hope Sugrue can get a good few of them in to the county panel.
Would love to see Cahillane and Boyle back on board. Finn looked brilliant in the final and we should be able to use Dillon' s pace somewhere.
Good effort from Ballylinan. Couple of potential county lads there too to go with Gary Walsh and Alan Farrell in Richie Ryan and Jamie Farrell.
Post by: High Fielder on October 18, 2017, 03:46:45 PM
Little or no pressure on the score takers from Ballylynan. You can't win matches playing that open. They are best of the rest this year in Laois, but that means nothing at all. Portlaoise have evolved  in the last year and it's not uncommon for them to have 12 men behind the ball and break at speed. They have to go up a gear now, because Rhode would easily. beat every team in Laois too. I honestly think we never see the best of Portlaoise in Laois, which makes the defeat last year to Stradbally all the worse.