GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: BennyCake on February 19, 2015, 09:34:57 PM

Title: GAA Room 101
Post by: BennyCake on February 19, 2015, 09:34:57 PM
What things in the GAA would you put into Room 101?
Title: Re: GAA Room 101
Post by: Itchy on February 19, 2015, 09:46:05 PM
Seafood
Post by: rrhf on February 19, 2015, 09:49:42 PM
GAA Books such as:
Pillers Blue Book
The Barren Maiden - Derry GAA 1994 - 2014. 
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 19, 2015, 09:56:37 PM
Quote from: Itchy on February 19, 2015, 09:46:05 PM
Seafood

+1.

His room 101 would be a bar mitzvah filled with moderately successful tax-payers that earned more than him.

........the worst thing in his world......
Post by: JoG2 on February 19, 2015, 10:03:59 PM
Posters using GAA legends names

The blanket defence

Small rotund refs

The pre season tournaments

Diving

Sledging / goading

Post by: thewobbler on February 19, 2015, 10:25:52 PM

The utterly daft fixation with individual player statistics, when the single biggest impact on a player's performance is always his direct opponent... who changes every week.

Post by: muppet on February 19, 2015, 10:46:20 PM
My GAA gambling technique.

I used to bet on club games.

My first strategy was to visit both clubs in the run up to a game and ask them straight out 'how much do you want it?'. I figured that as it is a GAA golden rule that the team who wanted it more wins, I could use that as a signpost. I went for draws a lot as a result.

Bad idea!

Everyone told me they want it more than anything. You only find out afterwards some of them were lying and obviously didn't really want it at all, the bastards.

Then I decided to try live betting. I would either watch a game on the TV or listen to the radio and wait to hear/see that a team was getting on top. Then I would lump everything on a goal for the other team. Again this was based on extensive research of live commentary, post-match reports in the media and sites such as this. The amount of times a goal is scored 'against the run of play' is incredible. So I reckoned over a year of such bets I should clean up. Another bad idea.

Turns out the f**kers know less about the run of play than they do about how much they really want it.

Finally, I decided to bet the house on teams who were 'written off during the week'. Especially Davy Fitz teams. Well f**k that.

Post by: Itchy on February 19, 2015, 10:53:38 PM
Referees, be better craic without them
Monaghan
Access to Alcohol for Armagh fans
Ger Canning
Late late show gaa specials
Roaring abusive ejits in the crowd
Father's living their failures through their kids
That Kerry fella that used to be president, never liked him
Tommy Carr. Blast him into space in case he escapes room 101
Gaa player interview cliches
Post by: ONeill on February 19, 2015, 11:10:01 PM
Women singing Amhrán na bhFiann excruciatingly slowly.
Joe Brolly.
"Impossible angles".
Post by: charlieTully on February 19, 2015, 11:17:22 PM
The lads who suddenly turn up to support the club at the semi final stage of a championship after not having been near a game in ten years and they are roaring at management to get a player switched etc etc.
Post by: BennyCake on February 19, 2015, 11:27:36 PM
Have to agree with Ger Canning and weemin singing the anthem.
Post by: muppet on February 19, 2015, 11:31:31 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on February 19, 2015, 11:17:22 PM
The lads who suddenly turn up to support the club at the semi final stage of a championship after not having been near a game in ten years and they are roaring at management to get a player switched etc etc.

Unless of course his father was useless. Then it is fair game.
Post by: sheamy on February 19, 2015, 11:33:54 PM
Boys saying "f**k" in every sentence all the time in front of kids. And worse, not knowing or caring. Very sad.
Post by: ONeill on February 19, 2015, 11:49:47 PM
Quote from: sheamy on February 19, 2015, 11:33:54 PM
Boys saying "f**k" in every sentence all the time in front of kids. And worse, not knowing or caring. Very sad.

I dunno. It's coming of age experience.
Post by: Sidney on February 20, 2015, 12:06:31 AM
The Sigerson and Fitzgibbon Cups.
Post by: Itchy on February 20, 2015, 12:08:47 AM
Eating sandwiches from the boot of the car.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 20, 2015, 12:43:16 AM
The black card.
Post by: seafoid on February 20, 2015, 08:30:18 AM
Umpire coats
Fuzzy recordings of the Moycarkey Borris pipe band
Thurles car parks with only one narrow exit
Brian Carthy
Des Cahill's fake tan
The last choc ice
Eddie Keher's PR advisor
Post by: tiempo on February 20, 2015, 08:59:17 AM
GAA Board 101
wans being unable to communicate or discuss without vomiting a list of insults at each other, or at posters who didn't insult them in the first place
wans being unable to accept another persons opinion even if it disproves something a previous poster said, typically the previous poster will reduce their original comment to about 1% of its former meaning just to make a point/save face, wans should wise up
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on February 20, 2015, 09:11:44 AM

Quote from: ONeill on February 19, 2015, 11:10:01 PM
Joe Brolly.
"Impossible angles".

Yes!
Also on the music theme
Trad music at half time.
The people without a musical bone in their body acting like they love trad music at half time.
Does Croke Park still play that god awful "may we never have to say goodbye" at the end of matches? If so, that too.

Blayney played this at half time against Cork https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D1JIgtX5pCk (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D1JIgtX5pCk) :D
Post by: JoG2 on February 20, 2015, 09:27:51 AM
Joe Brolly.
"Impossible angles".

wont say too much, but I saw the man very recently, and all I can say he is, the guy is a legend with a huge heart.
Post by: rosnarun on February 20, 2015, 10:03:10 AM
Hurling
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on February 20, 2015, 10:06:22 AM
Calling Ham sandwiches "Hang" Sangers
Joe Brolly
County Boards
International Rules...or at least the current rule book for the code
Gaagle tracksuit bottoms
Joe Brolly
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on February 20, 2015, 10:50:24 AM
Joe Brolly
Post by: seafoid on February 20, 2015, 11:06:53 AM
People who get wound up by Joe Brolly
Pat Spillane saying "intensity"
Gaelic football tackling
Post by: JoG2 on February 20, 2015, 11:34:32 AM
Quote from: seafoid on February 20, 2015, 11:06:53 AM
People who get wound up by Joe Brolly
Pat Spillane saying "intensity"
Gaelic football tackling

You have to understand that as a land locked county, Tyrone people are stuck for ways to let off steam. Dancing to Philomena, Hugo or whatever gelled up young pup with highlights is the latest craze on the country music scene in the Mellon country inn and various dance halls throughout the county and shopping in Derry were the staples, and now frothing at the mouth re Joe Brolly. All good stress relievers 
Post by: deiseach on February 20, 2015, 11:53:00 AM
Bogball and stickball.
Post by: Sidney on February 20, 2015, 11:53:50 AM
Pathetic toilet facilities at GAA grounds.
Post by: ONeill on February 20, 2015, 12:03:08 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on February 20, 2015, 09:27:51 AM
Joe Brolly.
"Impossible angles".

wont say too much, but I saw the man very recently, and all I can say he is, the guy is a legend with a huge heart.

Met him too and you're correct. But I'd still put him in GAA room 101.
Post by: Hardy on February 20, 2015, 12:11:59 PM
What happens if I put GAA Room 101 into GAA Room 101?
Post by: AZOffaly on February 20, 2015, 12:14:13 PM
A black hole.
Post by: TheOptimist on February 20, 2015, 12:15:24 PM
Women who only go to big games and then give dirty looks if your shouting too loud!
Fans who leave before the final whistle.
14 yard frees for of the ball incidents, when the player with the ball on the half way line had no intention of playing it to the man on the 14 yard line in the first place
Marty Duffy
Yer man Coldrick
Pat Spillane's "analysis"
Post by: JoG2 on February 20, 2015, 12:21:26 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 20, 2015, 12:14:13 PM
A black hole.

Macosquin?
Post by: deiseach on February 20, 2015, 12:24:46 PM
Quote from: Hardy on February 20, 2015, 12:11:59 PM

You'll find God.
Post by: Hardy on February 20, 2015, 12:43:30 PM
Quote from: deiseach on February 20, 2015, 12:24:46 PM

You'll find God.

I was hoping for Larry Reilly, at least.
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on February 20, 2015, 12:46:28 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on February 20, 2015, 12:21:26 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 20, 2015, 12:14:13 PM
A black hole.

Macosquin?

Moygashel
Post by: 5 Sams on February 20, 2015, 12:58:00 PM
Supporting other counties from your own province:-\
Post by: seafoid on February 20, 2015, 01:02:38 PM
County songs like rose of mooncoin, rose of tralee, star of the county down etc that were the dog's bollocks in 1895 but are a bit dated now that pre marital sex is no longer taboo and Elvis happened in the meantime.
Post by: ONeill on February 20, 2015, 01:13:25 PM
Ach no. I like the Mountains of Pomeroy.
Post by: seafoid on February 20, 2015, 02:35:51 PM
Turning on all Ireland winning managers when the county goes into inevitable decline. As if losing incoherently never happened before.
Post by: deiseach on February 20, 2015, 02:39:35 PM
God doesn't believe in the existence of Larry Reilly.
Post by: ONeill on February 20, 2015, 03:28:15 PM
I wonder what Larry is doing right now.
Post by: giveballaghback on February 20, 2015, 03:57:57 PM
Pat Spillanes rehearsed one liners,
umpires that cant look up,
Marty Duffy,
Umbrellas open when match is going on, you cant see and water pissing down on you off the umbrella,
Pearse stadium,
selling tickets for local clubs at county matches,
one sheet programmes that cost 2euro full of wrong information.

Post by: Itchy on February 22, 2015, 09:39:03 PM
Threads about Roscommon.
Post by: Shrewdness on February 23, 2015, 12:28:03 AM
People complaining about threads about Roscommon, despite the fact that 2 out of the 3 threads were started by people from Longford and Mayo.
Post by: rrhf on February 23, 2015, 06:30:31 AM
return of the mort.
Post by: Itchy on February 23, 2015, 07:14:34 AM
[quote author=Shrewdness link=topic=25527.msg1441980#msg1441980 date=1424651283
People complaining about threads about Roscommon, despite the fact that 2 out of the 3 threads were started by people from Longford and Mayo.

Ok then, threads abducted by Rossies and turned into threads about Roscommon, even though the started out being threads about unrelated stuff like space exploration or stamp collecting.
Post by: Shrewdness on February 23, 2015, 07:20:42 AM
. ;D
Post by: muppet on February 23, 2015, 12:10:54 PM

That would be a same-text marriage and Scripture warns us against the evils of such a thing.
Post by: giveballaghback on February 23, 2015, 07:16:43 PM
Itchy you need scratchey fast.
Post by: BennyCake on March 25, 2015, 11:23:56 AM
Promotion/relegation playoffs in hurling. Ridiculous. Finish top, you go up. Finish bottom, you go down.
Post by: Rossfan on March 25, 2015, 11:25:37 AM
Calling the Hurling Spring Competition a League when there seem to be more knock out games than league games.
Post by: seafoid on March 25, 2015, 11:59:49 AM
Davy Fitz's thuggery
Post by: Shrewdness on March 25, 2015, 01:54:58 PM
Most, but not all, of the Mayo posters on this board for their obsession with picking on the Rossies.
Post by: The Bearded One on March 25, 2015, 02:00:14 PM
Marty Duffy
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 25, 2015, 04:18:27 PM
Martin Breheny.
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 25, 2015, 07:01:02 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on March 25, 2015, 01:54:58 PM
Most, but not all, of the Mayo posters on this board for their obsession with picking on the Rossies.

What???
Who is picking on the poor little Rossies? ;D ;D
If you check it out, you'll find that the incorrigible Rossfan and/or the inimitable Syferus usually start the craioc off by slagging us poor long-suffering Mayo folk with taunts of rhubarbs and God knows what. (Most of the time, with Rossfan on the loose, even God will have to phone a friend to find out wtf he's on about.
Now that we've quietened that pair down for a whileen anyway, two or maybe three new laitchekoes have arrived on the scene and are trying to start another row.
May I refer you to the Gospel of Matthew, chapter 7, verses 1 to 5. Yaknow the bit about the mote and the beam stuff.
In other words, fix the headbangers on your own side before accusing us poor Mayo people of anything rude-- like tellinig the truth about ye. ;D
Post by: Rossfan on March 25, 2015, 08:00:26 PM
Blessed be the Rossies for they will inherit the Sam.
Post by: BennyCake on May 24, 2015, 09:56:32 PM
I suppose sledging has to go in.
Post by: Gonzalo15 on May 26, 2015, 12:44:13 AM
Women who turn up to one game a year shouting and roaring complete nonsense behind you in the stand/terrace.

and also joe brolly obviously..the ugly fecker
Post by: BennyCake on May 26, 2015, 01:00:40 AM
Quote from: Gonzalo15 on May 26, 2015, 12:44:13 AM
Women who turn up to one game a year shouting and roaring complete nonsense behind you in the stand/terrace.

and also joe brolly obviously..the ugly fecker

Women full stop. No wonder you can't get tickets these days ;)
Post by: omaghjoe on May 26, 2015, 03:26:25 AM
Quote from: sheamy on February 19, 2015, 11:33:54 PM

Here Here. Although I may have been guilty of this in the past myself  :(

But this would be a good place to tackle the sledging, clean up the language of players, and what comes out of their mouths generally will improve! It will also lead to a culture of better language and attitude throughout the GAA including in the stands! Making the GAA a more family friendly place in general, how many mother's out there dread their wee uns going to a match and comin back ffin and blinding?
Post by: BluestackBoy on May 27, 2015, 01:52:05 PM
1. Pat Spillane.
2. Sound system in Croke Park.
3. McKenna Cup.
4. Fellas confusing "blanket defences" with "negative football".
5. Players roaring into other player's faces.
6. Useless umpires.
Post by: BennyCake on June 10, 2015, 11:12:03 PM
Sunshine supporters.
Post by: T Fearon on June 10, 2015, 11:21:17 PM
1 St Michaels Band (Enniskillen) time for someone else to get a chance
2.All wee girls singing the National Anthem before the match.
3The boring "nothing beats being there" mantra
4All Narhan Carter fundraising concerts.
5.The miserable hoors who charge a tenner for parking your car in Clones.I have never seen this practice in the 6 counties
Post by: Ard-Rí on June 10, 2015, 11:29:33 PM
1. A yellow card each regardless of what went on
2. "There will be at least two minutes of additional time at the end of the half"
3. The fans who only know "ARRA WILL YE LET IT IN" - almost all over 50.
4. The boys in the studio talking over the anthem.
5. Last year's Leinster Final.
Post by: Mikasa on June 11, 2015, 08:48:44 AM
Someone in the crowd shouting 'he's at that all day ref' despite the game only being 5 minutes in.
Post by: westbound on June 11, 2015, 09:29:57 AM
Quote from: Mikasa on June 11, 2015, 08:48:44 AM
Someone in the crowd shouting 'he's at that all day ref' despite the game only being 5 minutes in.

Ha Ha. I was told that one day by a ref when I was being sent off! I was on the receiving end of a kick (after a little provocation I must admit!). When I asked the ref what was he sending me off for he said "Ye are at it all day".
The game was on less than 10 mintutes!

I cant say I didn't deserve to be sent off, but I thought his reasoning was strange!
Post by: rosnarun on June 11, 2015, 10:49:01 AM
short arse players like Kevin McManamon being allowed to take as many steps as they want
Post by: red hander on June 12, 2015, 06:02:01 PM
Shit referees.
Mark Sidearse's excruciating one-liners.
Joe Brolly.
The rest of the Inbreds.
Post by: general_lee on June 13, 2015, 09:29:04 AM
Fellas that wear white socks instead of football socks when playing. Numpties  >:(
Post by: The Stallion on June 13, 2015, 10:07:21 PM
I concur with the yellow card for both players nonsense, totally unfair.

Tyrone folk's tendency to excuse or condone appalling behaviour from their teams.

Referees still allowing players to throw the ball away or stand in front of a free taker.

Players in the last minute taking a point when their team are three behind, have some balls and go for goal.

Soft frees awarded to keepers for minimal physical contact.
Post by: CD on June 14, 2015, 07:17:13 AM
From a playing point of view - the death of the corner forward.
From a refereeing point of view - ignoring over carrying the ball
From a social point of view - young lads drinking and drunk at games - the worst scourge of all and one the GAA needs to address
Training - Young lads who look like hulk hogan but don't know how to solo the ball (maybe that's why they over carry)
TV - the personal nature of punditry
Post by: Owenmoresider on June 14, 2015, 04:07:29 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on June 10, 2015, 11:29:33 PM
1. A yellow card each regardless of what went on
2. "There will be at least two minutes of additional time at the end of the half"
3. The fans who only know "ARRA WILL YE LET IT IN" - almost all over 50.
4. The boys in the studio talking over the anthem.
5. Last year's Leinster Final.
This. Though it's usually the commentators rather than the studio analysts. Morrissey is cat for it, and with minute's silences too as just there now in Salthill, managing to talk over the start of both, does it all the time. Recall seeing the video of the Meath-Dublin game in 91, Micko was saying his piece but stopped mid sentence when the anthem struck up, as it should be.
Post by: BennyCake on June 14, 2015, 09:57:00 PM
Two captains lifting a trophy. It ruins iconic images.
Post by: BennyCake on July 05, 2015, 09:57:35 PM
People quoting that Al Pacino inches bollix and quotes from some dude Lombardo.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 05, 2015, 09:59:49 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on July 05, 2015, 09:57:35 PM
we use the metric system anyway
Post by: muppet on July 05, 2015, 10:05:51 PM

Who quotes this guy?

(https://images.duckduckgo.com/iu/?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.sportsworldcards.com%2Fekmps%2Fshops%2Fsportsworld%2Fimages%2Fsampdoria-attilio-lombardo-top-micro-card-italian-league-1989-football-trading-card-26984-p%5Bekm%5D231x300%5Bekm%5D.jpg&f=1)
Post by: BennyCake on July 05, 2015, 10:11:53 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 05, 2015, 10:05:51 PM

Who quotes this guy?

(https://images.duckduckgo.com/iu/?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.sportsworldcards.com%2Fekmps%2Fshops%2Fsportsworld%2Fimages%2Fsampdoria-attilio-lombardo-top-micro-card-italian-league-1989-football-trading-card-26984-p%5Bekm%5D231x300%5Bekm%5D.jpg&f=1)

That's him. The bollix :D

He had a dance named after him too.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 05, 2015, 10:15:04 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on June 14, 2015, 09:57:00 PM

Especially when one has two hands on it! It ruins the symmetry!

Post by: Captain Obvious on July 05, 2015, 10:15:55 PM
In fairness Vince Lombardi has some of the best ever sporting quotes.
Post by: Hardy on July 05, 2015, 10:17:26 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on July 05, 2015, 10:11:53 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 05, 2015, 10:05:51 PM

Who quotes this guy?

That's him. The bollix :D

He had a dance named after him too.

I thought he was a Hun.
Post by: Sandy Hill on July 05, 2015, 10:42:39 PM
Martin Carney
All hurling pundits with their monotone voices and their attitude their game is the best in the world
Brian Cody
Post by: BennyCake on July 05, 2015, 10:47:34 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 05, 2015, 10:15:04 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on June 14, 2015, 09:57:00 PM

Especially when one has two hands on it! It ruins the symmetry!

The worst ever was Paul Curran hijacking John O'Leary's lifting in 1995. Cheeky bollix.
Post by: BennyCake on September 21, 2015, 11:32:58 AM
Goalkeepers taking free kicks.

Yesterday again reinforces it. Should have been stopped years ago. Cluxton wasted at least 5 minutes doing it. Ridiculous that it's still allowed.
Post by: JoG2 on September 21, 2015, 12:09:48 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on September 21, 2015, 11:32:58 AM
Goalkeepers taking free kicks.

Yesterday again reinforces it. Should have been stopped years ago. Cluxton wasted at least 5 minutes doing it. Ridiculous that it's still allowed.

agreed. A real gear grinder. Cluxton, will I wont I, will I wont I routine adding another 30 secs onto the usual minute (minimum) wasted already

Also, players trying to gouge out another man's eyeball. his feckin eye ffs :-(

Physio's leaving their bags on the pitch :-)
Post by: BennyCake on February 11, 2017, 02:35:53 PM
Fourth/sideline officials that take too long to put up the board for the amount of injury time to be played. Sometimes the play is well into a second minute overtime before the board goes up.
Post by: Jinxy on February 11, 2017, 02:42:40 PM
Umpires who like to add a dramatic, and prolonged, pause for effect before signalling yet another near-miss for your team.
Post by: Jinxy on February 11, 2017, 07:46:17 PM
Martin McHugh.
Post by: thejuice on February 11, 2017, 10:21:56 PM
The bunch of spectators at club matches who gradually move onto the pitch at midfield to get a better look.
Another vote for Pat Spillane and the rest of the lifers on RTE. Why can't we have people who actually analyse games.
Post by: OgraAnDun on February 11, 2017, 10:41:24 PM
Allianz League Sunday with virtually no analysis apart from 'this young fella must be good because he scored 0-03'.
Also the fact that it's a 90 minute programme for up to 32 games (16 football and 16 hurling).
Post by: BennyCake on July 27, 2017, 06:05:00 PM
Two captains leading their team in the pre-match parade. Seen Wexford at it the other night. What's that all about?