Flags in lurgan

Started by mooncatiii, July 02, 2007, 07:31:32 AM

mooncatiii

any1 about lurgan last nite see the stand off for between catholics and protestants over the flags in the town centre?  last week union jacks and bunting was erected the whole way down the middle of the town and then yesterday afternoon tri-colours where erected beside the union jacks in the catholic area of the town.  a few hundred r so loyalists gathered and began taking the tricolours down, a police barrier was then set up after a few clashes followed!

reportedly it was al goin well till a well known loyalist along with a DUP member got a police escort to the PSNI station but then tried returning without the escort through the nationalists, no doubt they got recognised and recieved a few digs for their troubles, was mostly paecefull apart from a few scuffles in side streets and alley ways although drove through this mornin and police still are maintaining an presence!

any views? do you think it was right for the tri-colours to be erected in the catholic end of the town, bear in mind the union jacks and bunting was not pulled down, the tricolours where alongside the union jacks
shazam

Fiodoir Ard Mhacha

Aye, I seen the Mexican stand-off. A whole lot of kids on the nationalist side in Celtic jerseys, a whole lot of bulldogs on the loyalist side with Rangers tops. Never seen so many Union jacks and bastardised Ulster flegs up the town, right through to Paisley's church way out the Banbridge Road. Noticed the 'big church' had 4 Union jacks hanging out of it too.

Time all this flags business was knocked on the head.

I heard Sammy G got ruffled. As one SDLP councillor recently said, "Lurgan's the last bastion of the dissident"...
"Something wrong with your eyes?....
Yes, they're sensitive to questions!"

SammyG

Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on July 02, 2007, 07:55:55 AM
I heard Sammy G got ruffled. As one SDLP councillor recently said, "Lurgan's the last bastion of the dissident"...

Strange that you'vebrought me into this, considering I've said many times that I fecking hate flegs and other crap about the place. But sure don't let the facts get in the way of your rants.  ::)

And just as a p.s. The NI flag is not a bastardised Ulster Flag, but I presume you knew that already and were just being 'provocative'.

Fiodoir Ard Mhacha

Sammy G is Sammy Gardiner, UUP councillor for Lurgan.

"Something wrong with your eyes?....
Yes, they're sensitive to questions!"

This is all a continuation of the row from last year when the PSNI in the town claimed they didn't have the power to take down the flags and bunting. I assume someone has decided to see if that works both ways.

Interesting also that Fenians have the backing of the towns Chamber of Commerce on this issue and on the contentious parades. Maybe the Protestants on this group have been put up to it by SF?

mooncatiii

Quote from: Donagh on July 02, 2007, 09:36:11 AM
This is all a continuation of the row from last year when the PSNI in the town claimed they didn't have the power to take down the flags and bunting. I assume someone has decided to see if that works both ways.

Interesting also that Fenians have the backing of the towns Chamber of Commerce on this issue and on the contentious parades. Maybe the Protestants on this group have been put up to it by SF?

no, id say its more likely that most of the traders are "fenians"!  and in the area the tri-colours r erected it is mainly nationalist anyway
shazam

Quote from: mooncatiii on July 02, 2007, 09:48:30 AM
no, id say its more likely that most of the traders are "fenians"!  and in the area the tri-colours r erected it is mainly nationalist anyway

Not necessarily MC, they have the sense to see that these rags and trying to march in areas were you are not wanted is bad for business.

I wonder what Gardiner's UVF allies think about him cavorting around in public with members of the LVF. Still he can't complain about getting 'ruffed up' a little when he and his UUP colleagues in Craigavon were instrumental in getting the barracks moved from Union St to it present position. Handy for keeping an eye on the Fenians and the price of shoes but I guess he didn't foresee the day when the RUC would cease to be the official armed wing of the Unionist Party.

mooncatiii

Quote from: Donagh on July 02, 2007, 10:15:08 AM
Quote from: mooncatiii on July 02, 2007, 09:48:30 AM

Not necessarily MC, they have the sense to see that these rags and trying to march in areas were you are not wanted is bad for business.

I wonder what Gardiner's UVF allies think about him cavorting around in public with members of the LVF. Still he can't complain about getting 'ruffed up' a little when he and his UUP colleagues in Craigavon were instrumental in getting the barracks moved from Union St to it present position. Handy for keeping an eye on the Fenians and the price of shoes but I guess he didn't foresee the day when the RUC would cease to be the official armed wing of the Unionist Party.

suppose, although ur right id say he'd have lost a few votes after publicly walking side by side with a top LVF member to the barracks.  although it mustn't have went to wel as the police escort dithced him and let go through the crowd on his own! :D

wonder if the remainder of the tricolours will be left up or wil there be another incident like last nite
shazam

GweylTah

How are some of you internet warriors such experts about who's the UVF, LVF or whatever other pathetic pretend-soldier organisations?

You wouldn't just be bored wannabees with vivid imaginations would you?

A job of work and a bit of sexual relief could do wonders for you. Have you considered man-sex, if you are old enough?

Quote from: mooncatiii on July 02, 2007, 11:49:45 AM
suppose, although ur right id say he'd have lost a few votes after publicly walking side by side with a top LVF member to the barracks.  although it mustn't have went to wel as the police escort dithced him and let go through the crowd on his own! :D

wonder if the remainder of the tricolours will be left up or wil there be another incident like last nite

I don't see what they can do. Last year both the PSNI and the DOE refused to take action when the illegal loyalist flags and bunting were placed in the town. The unionists for their part still haven't grasped that the PSNI cannot enforce their illegal displays anymore. So if they continue in their attempts to mark the town out as 'unionist' as in 'ye odle goode old dayes' this is what will happen.

The question is whether their desire to hang onto the last of symbol of their dominance over the rebels of north Lurgan is strong enough to allow them to face the rebel flag flying outside their police station and church in the town centre.

Denver Mayobridge

Gweyl Tah whats your problem? Can the lads here not just say what they heard? Go play with the traffic son

mooncatiii

Quote from: GweylTah on July 02, 2007, 12:01:59 PM
How are some of you internet warriors such experts about who's the UVF, LVF or whatever other pathetic pretend-soldier organisations?

You wouldn't just be bored wannabees with vivid imaginations would you?

A job of work and a bit of sexua relief could do wonders for you. Have you considered man-sex, if you are old enough?

GweylTah go jump out infront of the dublin express!  bored wannabe what? who is discussing the ins and outs of the UVF and LVF, we r discussiong what happened in lurgan last nite! and as for the have i considered man-sex...have you considered findin out who your real da is!
shazam

Quote from: mooncatiii on July 02, 2007, 01:14:32 PM

GweylTah go jump out infront of the dublin express!  bored wannabe what? who is discussing the ins and outs of the UVF and LVF, we r discussiong what happened in lurgan last nite! and as for the have i considered man-sex...have you considered findin out who your real da is!

Ah now to be fair they're not all wife-swapping, queens arse licking, gold bracelet wearing, multiple beer belly, bible-thumping, Sun newspaper reading, animals. Some of them are very nice.

Aye i watched a bit of that craic last night myself, what a bunch of wankers. I hope someone can correct me on this but it was only up to last year that Craigavon Borough Counci (yes thats correct i did say Craigavon Borough Council who we pay our rates too) actually supplied and fitted these bunting etc etc for the orange wankers from the east side of the town. We are all aware that Lurgan is split down the middle half green and half orange so to avoid any confrontations there should not be any flags or buntings of any colour put up in the town centre.

If they want all this shit put on lamposts do it in their own housing estates i.e. "Mourneview"

SammyG

Quote from: Donagh on July 02, 2007, 12:05:45 PMI don't see what they can do. Last year both the PSNI and the DOE refused to take action when the illegal loyalist flags and bunting were placed in the town.
I've already said that I can't stand flegs and crap about the place but in what way are they illegal.
Quote from: Donagh on July 02, 2007, 12:05:45 PM
The unionists for their part still haven't grasped that the PSNI cannot enforce their illegal displays anymore. So if they continue in their attempts to mark the town out as 'unionist' as in 'ye odle goode old dayes' this is what will happen.
Truely pathetic even by your usual standards. A few 'hard men' decide to put up some flegs and this (in Donagh world) represents the whole of the Unionist community.
Quote from: Donagh on July 02, 2007, 12:05:45 PM
The question is whether their desire to hang onto the last of symbol of their dominance over the rebels of north Lurgan is strong enough to allow them to face the rebel flag flying outside their police station and church in the town centre.

More double speak. You still haven't explained your prod flegs-sectarian, taig flegs-good post from last week.