Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Rudi on September 21, 2022, 02:09:23 PM

Title: Lawless Republic
Post by: Rudi on September 21, 2022, 02:09:23 PM
https://gript.ie/slashed-woman-is-latest-victim-of-our-lawless-republic/
Title: Re: Lawless Republic
Post by: Rudi on September 21, 2022, 02:11:42 PM
https://www.thejournal.ie/cherry-orchard-ramming-garda-reaction-5870952-Sep2022/
Post by: Rudi on September 21, 2022, 02:14:56 PM
The judiciary are a sham in this country, political system that sits back & does nothing is also a sham. Soft approach to crime & drugs is a major problem for Irish society.
Post by: clarshack on September 21, 2022, 02:17:20 PM
Quote from: Rudi on September 21, 2022, 02:11:42 PM
https://www.thejournal.ie/cherry-orchard-ramming-garda-reaction-5870952-Sep2022/

I seen a Croatian lad on Twitter saying this sort of thing happened when he was growing up and they sent in a swat team to take out all the troublemakers and that was the problem solved.
Post by: Truth hurts on September 21, 2022, 02:19:09 PM
scum
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 21, 2022, 02:26:49 PM
Quote from: Rudi on September 21, 2022, 02:09:23 PM

And people stand by and film the incident before doing anything about it.. Lovely
Post by: Armagh18 on September 21, 2022, 02:27:27 PM
The woman with the knife should have be launched through that window. Sickening.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 21, 2022, 02:29:24 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on September 21, 2022, 02:27:27 PM
The woman with the knife should have be launched through that window. Sickening.

Yes, but you'd end up being prosecuted while she gets a hefty claim, the worlds fucked
Post by: Rudi on September 21, 2022, 02:30:02 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on September 21, 2022, 02:27:27 PM

Genuinely as punishment, I would relieve her of her right arm. A yoke like that is a serial offender.
Post by: trailer on September 21, 2022, 02:33:50 PM
Scum
Post by: general_lee on September 21, 2022, 02:39:55 PM
They should be deported back to their home country.
Post by: trailer on September 21, 2022, 02:45:36 PM
Dublin is a kip. Last time I was on O'Connell St it was full of drug addicts and the smell of pish would knock you out. Look at what went on it Tallaght from those murders to the Lidl break in. It's a f**king dump. Then the carry on in Ballyfermot. No one fears the Garda at all.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on September 21, 2022, 03:21:51 PM
Quote from: general_lee on September 21, 2022, 02:39:55 PM
They should be deported back to their home country.

Dont know whats worse, the slashing or everyone standing about laughing and videoing.
Post by: square_ball on September 21, 2022, 04:18:07 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 21, 2022, 02:26:49 PM

And people stand by and film the incident before doing anything about it.. Lovely

Genuine question if you found yourself as a bystander there what would you do?
Post by: toby47 on September 21, 2022, 04:53:37 PM
Quote from: square_ball on September 21, 2022, 04:18:07 PM

Take hear head clean off her shoulders? Why wouldn't you?
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on September 21, 2022, 05:12:35 PM
Quote from: toby47 on September 21, 2022, 04:53:37 PM

Take hear head clean off her shoulders? Why wouldn't you?

Because I don't like prison food or knives in me
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 21, 2022, 05:22:54 PM

The first thing you do is not film the thing ffs! Next thing is phone the fire service at least you'll have lads arriving with protective gear and hatchets  ;) as they will be out a lot quicker than the police it seems. Thirdly assess what you can do to prevent injury to all parties.. A knife can cause serious damage, regardless who's using it.

Post by: Armagh18 on September 21, 2022, 07:50:31 PM

Not film the f**king thing and laugh for starters. Beyond that who knows until you're in the situation but I'd like to think I'd have done something. Her arm should have been snapped to get the blade off her
Post by: Ash Smoker on September 23, 2022, 09:53:59 AM
No fear of the Guards is the biggest problem.
The weak justice system and the guards not being arsed feeds that.
The arrests in Ballyfermot shows the Gardai could tackle this head on if they were motivated to do so.

Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 23, 2022, 10:04:31 AM
Quote from: Ash Smoker on September 23, 2022, 09:53:59 AM
The arrests in Ballyfermot shows the Gardai could tackle this head on if they were motivated to do so.

The problem is not whether the guards are arsed or not, or whether the justice system is strong enough or not, as that is a top down solution as opposed to a bottom up. Where there is deprivation and poverty you will always have more crime. Places like Ballyfermot are no different than areas of east or west Belfast, Moss Side in Manchester, or any deprived areas in major cities across the world. These types of crimes have been happening for generations, but populations have exploded in the last 2 decades, along with the advent of camera phones and social media, there is a perception that it is now worse than it was. It isn't.

This crime does not start when these kids, generally boys, reach 12-13. They come from homes that are broken beyond repair from a very young age,  they generally have no father in their lives, if they do he is generally involved in crime/physically abusive/alcohol or drug addict or all of the above. They fall into gang life as that's the only way to survive. There's insufficient funds being pumped into the cause of this happening at an early age and too much pumped into law enforcement. Break the cycle before it happens. This will take generations but is the only way. Criminal justice is purely a sticking plaster
Post by: Turf on September 23, 2022, 10:07:32 AM
Nuke the lot of 'em Joe.
Post by: trailer on September 23, 2022, 10:27:54 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 23, 2022, 10:04:31 AM
Quote from: Ash Smoker on September 23, 2022, 09:53:59 AM

The problem is not whether the guards are arsed or not, or whether the justice system is strong enough or not, as that is a top down solution as opposed to a bottom up. Where there is deprivation and poverty you will always have more crime. Places like Ballyfermot are no different than areas of east or west Belfast, Moss Side in Manchester, or any deprived areas in major cities across the world. These types of crimes have been happening for generations, but populations have exploded in the last 2 decades, along with the advent of camera phones and social media, there is a perception that it is now worse than it was. It isn't.

This crime does not start when these kids, generally boys, reach 12-13. They come from homes that are broken beyond repair from a very young age,  they generally have no father in their lives, if they do he is generally involved in crime/physically abusive/alcohol or drug addict or all of the above. They fall into gang life as that's the only way to survive. There's insufficient funds being pumped into the cause of this happening at an early age and too much pumped into law enforcement. Break the cycle before it happens. This will take generations but is the only way. Criminal justice is purely a sticking plaster

I genuinely used to think this. Honestly. But I have seen communities get huge funding, the best of the best and they just wreck it. In West Belfast my mate was working on the new play park. He told me the cost of the walking track, some special stuff. Eyewatering money. They broke in and lit a fire on it before it was even opened. They torched the crane and the forklift a different night. Just thuggery.
Where I live in a fairly middle class town, we have no leisure facilities. No community pitches. No community hall, not even as much as a play park, yet our kids aren't out terrorising the community. So this bullshit line about them having nothing and no investment doesn't stack up in the real world.
These lot are in bred scum. Their Ma was scum who opened her legs to every man who offered he a cigarette and popped them out one after another with no thought of rearing them or looking after them. Their Da did a runner when he heard that he might have to take on some responsibility. And the cycle continues.

They deserve nothing. They offer nothing to their communities. Time everyone got real. Throwing money at these communities is pointless. Throw them in jail and f**k the key away.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 23, 2022, 10:48:50 AM
And that's the problem in a single post Trailer. I understand your mindset and I also think that at times but locking up and throwing away the key is not the answer either as that creates inter generational crime and poverty, which there has been for many generations across all societies. What happened at Ballyfermot is no different than what was happening with joyriding on the Falls in the late 80's early 90's. That is no where near as bad as it was. There has been a lot of work on the ground in respect of community policing and the communities themselves taking more control. That is not through play parks and leisure centres but through active participation. That's what needs to happen but it is a very slow process.
Post by: general_lee on September 23, 2022, 11:02:16 AM
Spoken like a true tory! Managed decline, isn't that what Thatcher called it?
Post by: Rudi on September 23, 2022, 11:21:07 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 23, 2022, 10:48:50 AM
And that's the problem in a single post Trailer. I understand your mindset and I also think that at times but locking up and throwing away the key is not the answer either as that creates inter generational crime and poverty, which there has been for many generations across all societies. What happened at Ballyfermot is no different than what was happening with joyriding on the Falls in the late 80's early 90's. That is no where near as bad as it was. There has been a lot of work on the ground in respect of community policing and the communities themselves taking more control. That is not through play parks and leisure centres but through active participation. That's what needs to happen but it is a very slow process.

Two processes have to work in tandem, crime has to be punished,  end of. Society would break down completely if it was not. I agree that some form of group with social workers etc have to work with poorer communities & create mentors/ community leaders to improve anti social behaviour & make people feel positive about their community.
But to be clear, what happened in the video needs to be punished.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 23, 2022, 11:26:47 AM
Quote from: Rudi on September 23, 2022, 11:21:07 AM

Two processes have to work in tandem, crime has to be punished,  end of. Society would break down completely if it was not. I agree that some form of group with social workers etc have to work with poorer communities & create mentors/ community leaders to improve anti social behaviour & make people feel positive about their community.

Agree 100%. I am not a tree hugging liberal who let's all go and blames society for others bad behaviour. I have been in prison cells with bad wee bastards and I know that some are beyond redemption and there has to be punishment. The key is prevention through better structures and a greater focus on restorative work to try to prevent reoffending and breaking cycles. Prison creates more dangerous criminals, not the other way around.
Post by: Armagh18 on September 23, 2022, 11:28:15 AM
They have no fear for anyone or respect for anyone. The likes of the little scumbags you'll find in the rough parts of any big city. I think there needs to be a carrot and stick approach- give them the funding, the things to do etc but they still need to know that if they're acting the w**ker like that there will be consequence. Whether that be through police and properly tough prison sentences or probably more effectively some big scary f**ker that'll slap them into next week if they misbehave.

I think the likes of the GAA and especially boxing clubs can have a big impact here.
Post by: trailer on September 23, 2022, 11:47:21 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 23, 2022, 11:26:47 AM

Agree 100%. I am not a tree hugging liberal who let's all go and blames society for others bad behaviour. I have been in prison cells with bad wee bastards and I know that some are beyond redemption and there has to be punishment. The key is prevention through better structures and a greater focus on restorative work to try to prevent reoffending and breaking cycles. Prison creates more dangerous criminals, not the other way around.

You're wasting your time. They are beyond help.
Post by: Armagh18 on September 23, 2022, 12:02:05 PM
Quote from: trailer on September 23, 2022, 11:47:21 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 23, 2022, 11:26:47 AM

You're wasting your time. They are beyond help.
The cycle needs to be broken. I'd say like everything you'll have a few ring leaders and then everyone else tries to out do each other and look like the hard man- and before you know it the whole thing spirals out of control.

I refuse to believe they are all beyond help but I'd agree probably a lot of them are
Post by: Rudi on September 23, 2022, 09:10:31 PM
https://www.thejournal.ie/anti-social-behaviour-dublin-5874950-Sep2022/
Post by: Rudi on October 07, 2022, 12:12:24 PM
Murder in the graveyard in Tralee. Done in broad daylight in front of hundreds of witnesses. The dead man sent out a video proclaiming he didnt want any part in a feud.
Again the free legal aid brigade are involved,  they are involved in a disportinate level of crime. Society is in decline, but sure as long as they do it to themselves, we'll be alright Jack.
Post by: Rossfan on October 07, 2022, 12:45:46 PM
Brother charged with it!
Post by: Tubberman on October 07, 2022, 01:07:38 PM
Failed by the state, the poor man.
Post by: Itchy on October 07, 2022, 01:07:45 PM
Quote from: Rudi on October 07, 2022, 12:12:24 PM
Murder in the graveyard in Tralee. Done in broad daylight in front of hundreds of witnesses. The dead man sent out a video proclaiming he didnt want any part in a feud.
Again the free legal aid brigade are involved,  they are involved in a disportinate level of crime. Society is in decline, but sure as long as they do it to themselves, we'll be alright Jack.

Is that supposed to be a clever way of saying travellers? Do you have data to say Travellers are involved in a disproportionate amount of crime versus other disadvantaged groups?
Post by: Rudi on October 07, 2022, 01:23:00 PM
Quote from: Itchy on October 07, 2022, 01:07:45 PM

Is that supposed to be a clever way of saying travellers? Do you have data to say Travellers are involved in a disproportionate amount of crime versus other disadvantaged groups?

No, most people who par-take in this type of crime are in receipt of free legal aid. Your second question is based on your initial presumption. I replied to Brokencrossbar in relation to what I think should be the approach with dis-advantaged groups. Pretty sure you're a Sinn Fein voter, those boys & girls would know a thing or 3 about crime & free legal aid. I'm sure they'd have all the stats on crime you're looking for, then probably not.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 07, 2022, 01:34:08 PM
Was having coffee in a friends office yesterday and we were discussing this and also discussing the Donegal Celtic shooting. Whilst completely different in their background they are both products of 'gangs' and control. The paramilitaries of the 80's and 90's have been replaced by other types of 'gangs'. The difference now is the levels of money involved in the crimes. There's no such thing anymore as an 'ordinary decent criminal'. With the drugs that the place is awash with there's no controls anymore. I'm general though crime rates are dropping. Violence and sexual offences have risen, as have drugs and public order. Likely there's a cross connection between all of these but in general we have never been safer. Instances like the Donegal Celtic killing and this Tralee incident are headliners but in general they are not the norm
Post by: seafoid on October 07, 2022, 01:43:56 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 07, 2022, 01:34:08 PM
Was having coffee in a friends office yesterday and we were discussing this and also discussing the Donegal Celtic shooting. Whilst completely different in their background they are both products of 'gangs' and control. The paramilitaries of the 80's and 90's have been replaced by other types of 'gangs'. The difference now is the levels of money involved in the crimes. There's no such thing anymore as an 'ordinary decent criminal'. With the drugs that the place is awash with there's no controls anymore. I'm general though crime rates are dropping. Violence and sexual offences have risen, as have drugs and public order. Likely there's a cross connection between all of these but in general we have never been safer. Instances like the Donegal Celtic killing and this Tralee incident are headliners but in general they are not the norm
I do not understand why society has ceded so much power to drugs gangs.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 07, 2022, 01:49:41 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 07, 2022, 01:43:56 PM

If there is a need for it then people will profit from it, drugs, coal, oil .. One is illegal the others seem to be ok

I suppose 2 recent murders in the West of the city will bring it home, but there has to be higher figures across the country, turf wars are no different than the paramilitary feuds from years ago, they were brutal
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 07, 2022, 02:10:57 PM

Cocaine is an easier, and sometimes cheaper, option to many now instead of getting drunk. There is the demand and that is being supplied. Over the years the paramilitaries kept their areas under control but that is gone. There is a vacuum that the police have never been able to close up.

Don't though that they are running areas. The reality is crime is not as bad as it used to be,  it's simply more visible
Post by: Itchy on October 07, 2022, 02:26:28 PM
Quote from: Rudi on October 07, 2022, 01:23:00 PM

No, most people who par-take in this type of crime are in receipt of free legal aid. Your second question is based on your initial presumption. I replied to Brokencrossbar in relation to what I think should be the approach with dis-advantaged groups. Pretty sure you're a Sinn Fein voter, those boys & girls would know a thing or 3 about crime & free legal aid. I'm sure they'd have all the stats on crime you're looking for, then probably not.

The first word of your response would have been enough.
Post by: Truth hurts on October 07, 2022, 02:26:43 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 07, 2022, 02:10:57 PM

Is it true that Crossmaglen is now being run by drug barons? back in the day that wouldnt have happened

Cocaine is an easier, and sometimes cheaper, option to many now instead of getting drunk. There is the demand and that is being supplied. Over the years the paramilitaries kept their areas under control but that is gone. There is a vacuum that the police have never been able to close up.

Don't though that they are running areas. The reality is crime is not as bad as it used to be,  it's simply more visible
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 07, 2022, 02:30:24 PM
Quote from: Truth hurts on October 07, 2022, 02:26:43 PM

Is it true that Crossmaglen is now being run by drug barons? back in the day that wouldnt have happened

Yeah that's 100% true. They have a big house that over looks the town and the locals have to take their first born for a blood sacrifice to them to ensure they are not punished....standard stuff really
Post by: Armagh18 on October 07, 2022, 02:38:47 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 07, 2022, 02:30:24 PM
Quote from: Truth hurts on October 07, 2022, 02:26:43 PM

Yeah that's 100% true. They have a big house that over looks the town and the locals have to take their first born for a blood sacrifice to them to ensure they are not punished....standard stuff really
Sadly it's a massive problem in Cross and surrounding areas as well as Newry these days. Scumbags see it as handy money and if rumours are to be believed half of them are psni informants as well.

Certainly wouldn't have been the case 30 years ago
Post by: rosnarun on October 07, 2022, 03:13:09 PM
What a lovely Bunch of reactionary Tories
Over reaction to Criminal Problems have never been known to solve anything .
we are rant the no 1 friendliest place in the world and the 8th most peaceful but read the thread it peple aeem to think we are something similar to Elsalavdor or Jamaica
Educate yourselves before you write and never propagate fake news through Ignorance
Post by: Rossfan on October 07, 2022, 03:22:58 PM
2 other cases before the Courts

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/courtandcrime/arid-40978286.html

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/courtandcrime/arid-40978397.html
Post by: Armagh18 on October 07, 2022, 06:54:15 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on October 07, 2022, 03:13:09 PM
we are rant the no 1 friendliest place in the world and the 8th most peaceful but read the thread it peple aeem to think we are something similar to Elsalavdor or Jamaica
Educate yourselves before you write and never propagate fake news through Ignorance
Theres parts of Dublin and some other major towns and cities that are as dangerous as anywhere. Bury your head if you want.
Post by: joemamas on October 07, 2022, 07:32:41 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 07, 2022, 03:22:58 PM
2 other cases before the Courts

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/courtandcrime/arid-40978286.html

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/courtandcrime/arid-40978397.html

what a complete and total sc**bag
11 shots including three in the back.
Post by: David McKeown on October 07, 2022, 08:36:06 PM

Anyone accused of Murder in the North is automatically part of the free legal aid brigade regardless of their background or earnings. Is it not the same in the south?

Now it's been 15 years since I studied criminology but historically stronger sentences do nothing to deter offending and in fact leads to higher recidivism as criminals become more and more ostracised.

Since 2008 in NI sentences over 12 months have stopped being subject to automatic remission. Without going into the technicalities sentences have effectively increased in length quite dramatically. It's done nothing to deter offending. Of course unsurprisingly whilst these new sentences were supposed to put a greater emphasis of rehabilitation, the resources required were by and large not provided for. The system up here is at breaking point and needs rethought.
Post by: Eire90 on October 07, 2022, 11:02:10 PM
sinn fein very quiet about what happened in palestine.
Post by: David McKeown on October 07, 2022, 11:06:14 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on October 07, 2022, 10:45:59 PM
Any impact on reoffending? Probably a more pertinent question.

Reoffending is high but lower than it was. Although it varies depending on the crime. There was a big controversy a number of years ago over a particular course in prison for sex offenders. It was discovered it actually increased reoffending because it encouraged sex offenders to share stories of how they had gone undetected for years with other sex offenders. 
Post by: rosnarun on October 13, 2022, 12:23:44 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on October 07, 2022, 06:54:15 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on October 07, 2022, 03:13:09 PM
Theres parts of Dublin and some other major towns and cities that are as dangerous as anywhere. Bury your head if you want.

maybe in small areas but overall we have les violence less shooting and a crime rate that is shrinking .
thats only the fact i know  mad rightwing bastards opinions are more more accurate
Post by: Rossfan on November 03, 2022, 10:20:43 AM
https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/victim-of-premeditated-assault-by-millionaire-eugene-hanratty-snr-says-no-escape-from-torture-42115403.html
Post by: Armagh18 on November 03, 2022, 10:23:25 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 03, 2022, 10:20:43 AM
https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/victim-of-premeditated-assault-by-millionaire-eugene-hanratty-snr-says-no-escape-from-torture-42115403.html
Jaysus. What was that over!
Post by: general_lee on November 03, 2022, 01:51:03 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 03, 2022, 10:23:25 AM
Probably Eugene's criminal activities?
Post by: Armagh18 on November 03, 2022, 02:07:56 PM
Quote from: general_lee on November 03, 2022, 01:51:03 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 03, 2022, 10:23:25 AM
Probably Eugene's criminal activities?
Didn't imagine that it was random now...
Post by: Rossfan on November 08, 2022, 01:15:41 PM
A pillar of the Community ::)

https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2022/1108/1333874-eugene-hanratty/
Post by: Tubberman on November 08, 2022, 01:32:50 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 08, 2022, 01:15:41 PM
A pillar of the Community ::)

https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2022/1108/1333874-eugene-hanratty/

Sponsors Crossmaglen GAA club apparently.
Post by: Rossfan on November 17, 2022, 06:16:51 PM
I see Jury couldn't agree a verdict in the Silver trial.
Be tough on the Horkan family if as likely there's a retrial.
Post by: LeoMc on November 18, 2022, 10:40:35 AM
The UK is having its issues also.

https://twitter.com/edwest/status/1564874026329296898?s=46&t=7q3YsKM_nQcedIiX6kKSmg
Post by: RedHand88 on November 21, 2022, 10:41:17 AM
https://twitter.com/stebreen/status/1594638815012036610?s=46&t=HVbqqSJFkk2urJYNe02BXQ (https://twitter.com/stebreen/status/1594638815012036610?s=46&t=HVbqqSJFkk2urJYNe02BXQ)
Post by: Armagh18 on November 21, 2022, 08:39:45 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on November 21, 2022, 10:41:17 AM
https://twitter.com/stebreen/status/1594638815012036610?s=46&t=HVbqqSJFkk2urJYNe02BXQ (https://twitter.com/stebreen/status/1594638815012036610?s=46&t=HVbqqSJFkk2urJYNe02BXQ)
Jesus. Hopefully not too badly injured and a crowd of them are in tonight giving yhe little tramps a taste of their own medicine.
Post by: Armagh18 on December 02, 2022, 02:39:03 PM
https://armaghi.com/news/newry-news/newry-murder-victim-58-was-ambushed-and-executed-as-perpetrators-lay-in-wait/192126?fbclid=IwAR0TnerBLzk1w9BOvCqWz82q8iO3gqBPrMq07treiFUZ4tt2ah6tQ13A-Ns

I'll not name him on here but would be from a fairly well known (for the wrong reasons) family locally
Post by: toby47 on December 05, 2022, 08:31:18 AM
You don't seem to get a long life in that game.

Post by: trailer on December 20, 2022, 11:10:18 AM
https://www.rte.ie/news/munster/2022/1220/1342878-rathkeale-limerick/ (https://www.rte.ie/news/munster/2022/1220/1342878-rathkeale-limerick/)

Travellers are great people altogether
Post by: tonto1888 on December 20, 2022, 11:40:13 AM
Quote from: trailer on December 20, 2022, 11:10:18 AM
https://www.rte.ie/news/munster/2022/1220/1342878-rathkeale-limerick/ (https://www.rte.ie/news/munster/2022/1220/1342878-rathkeale-limerick/)

Jumping to conclusions are ye?
Post by: trailer on December 20, 2022, 12:09:22 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on December 20, 2022, 11:40:13 AM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HbDJjE5PM74 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HbDJjE5PM74)

Post by: laoislad on December 20, 2022, 12:22:42 PM

Not that big of a jump to be fair.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on December 20, 2022, 12:49:37 PM
Nope, he probably just knows the layout of the land in this case.
Post by: Rudi on December 20, 2022, 01:13:49 PM

Rathkeale is an enclave , English reg jeeps, vans 4by4's etc, all home for the Christmas. He is certainly not jumping to conclusions.
Post by: Tubberman on December 20, 2022, 01:37:33 PM

Not in the slightest. Everyone knows it's Travellers "home" for Christmas, but RTE just say its related to a feud. Can't be offending them.
Post by: Main Street on December 21, 2022, 12:30:21 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on December 20, 2022, 01:37:33 PM

Not in the slightest. Everyone knows it's Travellers "home" for Christmas, but RTE just say its related to a feud. Can't be offending them.
Nothing new here, some random Gaaboard regulars idiotically ranting against Travelers.
Soon someone will be saying they're as bad as Tyronies or even they're reminding people of the ethnic violence Belfast experienced on a daily basis during the last hundred years of its history.
Fortunate those Travelers were never in positions of power in the Magdalene Laundries or weren't educated enough to be child molesting teachers, never mind being pious enough to be a christian child molesting clergy. Perhaps those Travelers are involved in the murky world of drug dealing or pressuring women into prostitution, I doubt that. But when it comes to law and order misfits, those Travelers have to be enemy nr 1 of the state.
Post by: Armagh18 on December 21, 2022, 07:32:27 AM
Quote from: Main Street on December 21, 2022, 12:30:21 AM

Nothing new here, some random Gaaboard regulars idiotically ranting against Travelers.
Soon someone will be saying they're as bad as Tyronies or even they're reminding people of the ethnic violence Belfast experienced on a daily basis during the last hundred years of its history.
Fortunate those Travelers were never in positions of power in the Magdalene Laundries or weren't educated enough to be child molesting teachers, never mind being pious enough to be a christian child molesting clergy. Perhaps those Travelers are involved in the murky world of drug dealing or pressuring women into prostitution, I doubt that. But when it comes to law and order misfits, those Travelers have to be enemy nr 1 of the state.
That's some rant. No idea what the relevance is.
Post by: Tubberman on December 21, 2022, 08:05:25 AM

Only one person ranting here.
Post by: Rudi on December 21, 2022, 08:15:04 AM

A relatively new word in the English dictionary that could aptly describe the above, as "whataboutery", I must say I dislike that word. I would prefer to call the above as absolute & pure "shite-hawkery".
Post by: Saffrongael on December 21, 2022, 08:15:49 AM

Maybe put the sherry bottle down
Post by: trailer on December 21, 2022, 08:44:01 AM

You're the king of dog shite and shite in a bucket.
Post by: Rossfan on December 21, 2022, 10:29:32 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on December 21, 2022, 07:32:27 AM

That's some rant. No idea what the relevance is.

Seems to be saying it's alright for those Rathkeale scumbags to act like the thugs they are because of all the bad things that were done to other people over the last 100 years 🙄
Post by: armaghniac on December 21, 2022, 03:07:59 PM
On reflection, it is not as clear as it might be. There people are undoubtedly travellers, but 90% of the travellers who might come to Rathkeale Christmas do not in any way get up to this sort of thuggery.
Traveller commits crime, GAA players commits crime etc tends to associate people with the crime who have nothing to do with it.
Post by: whitey on December 21, 2022, 04:10:07 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on December 21, 2022, 03:07:59 PM
On reflection, it is not as clear as it might be. There people are undoubtedly travellers, but 90% of the travellers who might come to Rathkeale Christmas do not in any way get up to this sort of thuggery.
Traveller commits crime, GAA players commits crime etc tends to associate people with the crime who have nothing to do with it.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40018400.html

Post by: trailer on December 21, 2022, 04:59:11 PM
Quote from: whitey on December 21, 2022, 04:10:07 PM

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40018400.html

Post by: Tubberman on December 22, 2022, 06:19:02 PM

And the Travellers ramming cars in Patrickswell last night? Another few bad apples, but the vast majority are grand?

Do they contribute anything to society? Do they contribute anything to the public purse?
No - they're a drain on both, and a scourge on the nation.
Post by: armaghniac on December 22, 2022, 11:34:46 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on December 22, 2022, 06:19:02 PM
And the Travellers ramming cars in Patrickswell last night? Another few bad apples, but the vast majority are grand?

Are you saying that the majority of travellers ram cars?

QuoteDo they contribute anything to society? Do they contribute anything to the public purse?

There is a spectrum being not being much use and some of the stuff these people get up to.
Post by: tonto1888 on December 24, 2022, 06:57:35 AM

Do they contribute anything to society? Do they contribute anything to the public purse?

plenty of non travellers are the same. Do you have the same outrage for them?
Post by: Tubberman on December 24, 2022, 07:51:15 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on December 24, 2022, 06:57:35 AM

plenty of non travellers are the same. Do you have the same outrage for them?

Yes, I do.
But the travellers want to be treated differently, as an ethnic minority, they are a distinct group of people they tell us.
So they can hardly complain when people refer to the behaviour of their society.
If the "main Irish ethnic group" behaved the same way, can you imagine what the place would be like!?
Post by: trailer on December 28, 2022, 09:35:31 PM
Met a few travellers. Yet to meet a decent one. Will continue to look.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 28, 2022, 10:23:54 PM
Quote from: trailer on December 28, 2022, 09:35:31 PM

Grew up with many around me. Many more decent than not but they don't make the news. Each people have different experiences but I wouldn't lump them all together. I genuinely suspect that very few people on this board have any real day to day experience of Travellers.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 28, 2022, 10:30:06 PM
Yeah was teaching some travellers years ago and the guys were great, the lad that organised it was a top bloke.

Of course there are some headers but I know more headers from my own community to be fair
Post by: tonto1888 on December 29, 2022, 08:00:14 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 28, 2022, 10:23:54 PM
Quote from: trailer on December 28, 2022, 09:35:31 PM

Grew up with many around me. Many more decent than not but they don't make the news. Each people have different experiences but I wouldn't lump them all together. I genuinely suspect that very few people on this board have any real day to day experience of Travellers.

Im the same, went to school with some travellers and they were all good people. On the flip side, had to throw a couple out of the pub I worked in many years ago. I can tell the difference between a few idiots though.
Post by: general_lee on December 29, 2022, 10:08:05 AM
Went to primary school with a few travellers, didn't think any different of them then and I don't really think any different of them now. Like people from all walks of life, some are c***ts.
Post by: Rossfan on January 05, 2023, 01:11:35 PM
Some "lovely" people around!
Anyone hazard a guess as to the politics of the Sh1te throwing "people".

.https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/politics/arid-41041649.html
Post by: tonto1888 on January 05, 2023, 01:32:29 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 05, 2023, 01:11:35 PM

people who dont want a biogas plant located on the edge of town?
Post by: Armagh18 on January 05, 2023, 02:11:03 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 05, 2023, 01:11:35 PM

Only getting back what they've been giving out for years sure ;)
Post by: Rossfan on January 05, 2023, 02:44:05 PM
Will ye still be laughing when some cnut murders a politician.
Martin Kenny being forced to move house.
Post by: Armagh18 on January 05, 2023, 03:40:29 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 05, 2023, 02:44:05 PM
Depends on the politician.
Post by: Tubberman on January 05, 2023, 05:58:56 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on January 05, 2023, 03:40:29 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 05, 2023, 02:44:05 PM
Depends on the politician.

You're really showing yourself up between this and defending that Tate gobshite.
Post by: Rossfan on March 15, 2023, 09:11:11 PM
I see Silver found guilty of the capital murder of Gda Horkan.
Post by: David McKeown on March 15, 2023, 10:54:24 PM
There was a stat I saw in 2020 that between 2014 and 2020 no case in the central criminal that had resulted in a death. For example, murder, manslaughter, death by careless driving had resulted in an acquittal. I think that's both remarkable and explainable
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on March 15, 2023, 11:22:30 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on March 15, 2023, 10:54:24 PM
There was a stat I saw in 2020 that between 2014 and 2020 no case in the central criminal that had resulted in a death. For example, murder, manslaughter, death by careless driving had resulted in an acquittal. I think that's both remarkable and explainable
The mandatory life sentence for murder means you get the same sentence olif you plead guilty or not guilty. So there hasn't been a guilty plea in decades. You lose nothing so roll the dice. Bonkers.
Post by: Rossfan on March 15, 2023, 11:53:06 PM
There was a guilty plea to murder last couple of weeks .
Case of husband killing wife with a samurai sword wasn't it?
Post by: Rudi on May 18, 2023, 08:24:53 AM
https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/2023/05/17/he-is-only-a-child-family-of-boy-assaulted-in-navan-co-meath-describe-incident-as-horrific-and-wrong/

No mercy in society. Nobody shouting stop anymore. There was a time when a brave child or passerby would shout stop or intervene. No empathy or compassion. Just feral thugs.
Post by: downtown on May 20, 2023, 09:27:05 PM
Anyone following the Roscommon eviction court case from 2018 where that family was evicted from their home in strokestown or know how it's going ?
Post by: Rossfan on June 02, 2023, 06:44:15 PM
3 of them found guilty and remanded in custody for sentencing.
I man from Meath found not guilty.
Post by: seafoid on June 02, 2023, 06:55:29 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 02, 2023, 06:44:15 PM
3 of them found guilty and remanded in custody for sentencing.
I man from Meath found not guilty.
crazy story
Post by: marty34 on June 02, 2023, 07:47:42 PM
Mad stuff altogether.

Why were the lads staying in the house?

I thought they'd just change the locks etc. and that'd be that.
Post by: Rudi on August 13, 2023, 08:58:31 PM
https://www.thejournal.ie/temple-bar-attack-victims-speaks-6141845-Aug2023/

English lads this time.

The young lad showed me a video of a 16 year old battering 3 seperate young lads on the same day. Frightening stuff, gasuns kicked in the head multiple times. Mental what's happening up & down the country, that aul shite that Conor McGregor involved in not helping. They call it sport, sweet Jaysus, just one gurrier kicking the shite of another.
Post by: Eire90 on August 13, 2023, 09:32:06 PM
where are the so called irish patriots  guys like o dywer they all quiet on this.
Post by: The Wedger on August 14, 2023, 11:41:15 AM
Dublin city centre has been declining for years. Lots of scrotes who have no fear of authority and with good reason too.
Even if they get apprehended, they get a slap on the wrist from a judge at most.
Post by: clarshack on September 11, 2023, 09:02:15 AM
https://twitter.com/TheBull_McCabe/status/1700971042007552008?s=20
Post by: Rudi on September 11, 2023, 04:24:03 PM
https://www.thejournal.ie/galway-city-6165594-Sep2023/

Animals, no regard for human life. This will get much worse. The guards are powerless the DPP has gone on holidays. It is one thing when they do it between themselves, but when ordinary law abiding good people are brought into it, its a whole new story & the rapid decay of society is real. Current justice minister more concerned with hate speech & other drivel.

Its only going to get worse given the nature of our main political parties, no alternative party out there.
Post by: Blowitupref on September 11, 2023, 04:30:57 PM
Quote from: Rudi on September 11, 2023, 04:24:03 PM

Animals, no regard for human life. This will get much worse. The guards are powerless the DPP has gone on holidays. It is one thing when they do it between themselves, but when ordinary law abiding good people are brought into it, its a whole new story & the rapid decay of society is real. Current justice minister more concerned with hate speech & other drivel.

Its only going to get worse given the nature of our main political parties, no alternative party out there.

Going back 30 years I witnessed more than a few incidents near the Galway train station. The public toilets up the road use to be the meeting place for weirdos/pedos thankfully they were demolished. 
Post by: trailer on September 11, 2023, 05:24:08 PM
Quote from: Rudi on September 11, 2023, 04:24:03 PM

Careful now, it's only a matter of time till that dose John Connors is along to say it is the settled community demonising them.
Post by: Eire90 on September 12, 2023, 07:05:40 AM
the tds wont care unless it starts popping off in their own neigbourhoods.
Post by: marty34 on September 12, 2023, 07:47:25 AM
Quote from: Eire90 on September 12, 2023, 07:05:40 AM
the tds wont care unless it starts popping off in their own neigbourhoods.

But that must be in a TD's area?
Post by: Rudi on September 29, 2023, 05:09:11 PM
https://www.irishtimes.com/crime-law/2023/09/29/teenager-arrested-after-killing-family-member-in-offaly/
Post by: Rudi on October 05, 2023, 08:25:39 AM
https://gript.ie/much-loved-sligo-pensioner-tom-niland-to-be-laid-to-rest-20-months-after-home-burglary/

3 disgusting excuses for human beings. Mans inhumanity to man ...

These 3 lads deserve to die for their heinous actions. A cage with 3 half starved xl bullies.
Post by: general_lee on October 05, 2023, 09:03:05 AM
Quote from: Rudi on October 05, 2023, 08:25:39 AMhttps://gript.ie/much-loved-sligo-pensioner-tom-niland-to-be-laid-to-rest-20-months-after-home-burglary/

These 3 lads deserve to die for their heinous actions. A cage with 3 half starved xl bullies.
Deport them back to their home country...
Post by: Rudi on October 05, 2023, 10:12:29 AM
Quote from: general_lee on October 05, 2023, 09:03:05 AM
Quote from: Rudi on October 05, 2023, 08:25:39 AMhttps://gript.ie/much-loved-sligo-pensioner-tom-niland-to-be-laid-to-rest-20-months-after-home-burglary/

Explain that smart arse ::)
Post by: Rossfan on October 05, 2023, 10:57:02 AM
Quote from: general_lee on October 05, 2023, 09:03:05 AM

😁😆

Mayogodhelpus
Post by: clarshack on November 20, 2023, 02:31:44 PM
https://www.thejournal.ie/chatham-street-dublin-stabbing-elderly-woman-6227583-Nov2023/
Post by: Rossfan on November 30, 2023, 07:32:22 AM
More bloody foreigners....

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-41280178.html
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 30, 2023, 07:53:54 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 30, 2023, 07:32:22 AMMore bloody foreigners....

A touching tribute...

"...the victim was never one to be without a "big fat joint" and a "hammer in his pocket"."

RIP 🙏
Post by: Armagh18 on November 30, 2023, 07:56:52 AM

Enough of our own scum without letting scum from abroad in.
Post by: tonto1888 on November 30, 2023, 09:04:45 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 30, 2023, 07:56:52 AM

once again, who are you trying to impress
Post by: toby47 on November 30, 2023, 10:04:40 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 30, 2023, 07:53:54 AM

A touching tribute...

"...the victim was never one to be without a "big fat joint" and a "hammer in his pocket"."

RIP 🙏

The video's of the funeral are daft, Dozens of scramblers doing wheelies and spinning tyres etc. Pure tramps. I'd say the priest was saying the mass in pure disgust.

Another dealer gone, hopefully more to follow in the aftermath.
Post by: clarshack on November 30, 2023, 10:34:05 AM
https://www.limerickpost.ie/2023/11/29/id-like-to-see-them-shot-in-the-head-councillors-hard-line-on-dublin-riots/

The rioters need dealt with but that is proper hate speech right there.

If McGregor is being investigated then so should this guy.
Post by: tonto1888 on November 30, 2023, 10:36:05 AM
Quote from: clarshack on November 30, 2023, 10:34:05 AMhttps://www.limerickpost.ie/2023/11/29/id-like-to-see-them-shot-in-the-head-councillors-hard-line-on-dublin-riots/

The rioters need dealt with but that is proper hate speech right there.

If McGregor is being investigated then so should this guy.

have to agree with that
Post by: Rossfan on November 30, 2023, 10:50:56 AM
Quote from: toby47 on November 30, 2023, 10:04:40 AM

A touching tribute...

RIP 🙏

10 more will be lining up to take their places☹️
Post by: Armagh18 on November 30, 2023, 11:39:52 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 30, 2023, 10:50:56 AM

A touching tribute...

RIP 🙏

If there'd been a bomb dropped on that funeral itd have been a public service. Utter scum.
Post by: toby47 on November 30, 2023, 11:50:15 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 30, 2023, 11:39:52 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 30, 2023, 10:50:56 AM

A touching tribute...

RIP 🙏

If there'd been a bomb dropped on that funeral itd have been a public service. Utter scum.

Couldn't agree any more.
Post by: Rossfan on November 30, 2023, 02:40:30 PM
The gript sh1tbag at it again

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/special-security-put-in-place-for-algerian-man-wrongly-identified-as-suspect-for-parnell-square-stabbings/a968017709.html
Post by: LC on November 30, 2023, 06:30:12 PM

A touching tribute...

RIP 🙏

The video's of the funeral are daft, Dozens of scramblers doing wheelies and spinning tyres etc. Pure tramps. I'd say the priest was saying the mass in pure disgust.

No doubt a pile of the attendees all wearing new trainers and they would have picked up somewhere in the last 7 days  ;)
Post by: Rossfan on November 30, 2023, 06:40:24 PM
Which of these are more representative of the Irish people?

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/courtandcrime/arid-41280763.html
Post by: whitey on November 30, 2023, 06:53:35 PM
Quote from: LC on November 30, 2023, 06:30:12 PM

A touching tribute...

RIP 🙏

No doubt a pile of the attendees all wearing new trainers and they would have picked up somewhere in the last 7 days  ;)

There was a another video of a funeral of a guy who was gunned down in a fued. 

Someone had the guys putbull dressed up in a tuxedo

One of the comments stated that the dog knew his master was dead by how he was acting at the funeral. ( No mention was made of the twenty fellas revving motorbikes two feet away from the poor dog)
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 30, 2023, 07:22:54 PM
He'll have a proper gurrier headstone too.
Post by: Armagh18 on November 30, 2023, 08:27:13 PM
Quote from: whitey on November 30, 2023, 06:53:35 PM
Quote from: LC on November 30, 2023, 06:30:12 PM

A touching tribute...

RIP 🙏

There was a another video of a funeral of a guy who was gunned down in a fued. 

Someone had the guys putbull dressed up in a tuxedo

One of the comments stated that the dog knew his master was dead by how he was acting at the funeral. ( No mention was made of the twenty fellas revving motorbikes two feet away from the poor dog)

Again a bomb in the middle of that would be a public service
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 30, 2023, 09:28:52 PM

That seems to be the usual line, if they are in because the laws allow it then that's that, whoever you are voting in government you need to address them and their policies and get them to change their stance.

If not happy with your choice, change it to someone you feel will get you what you want..

Who will you vote for now?
Post by: whitey on November 30, 2023, 10:23:28 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 30, 2023, 09:28:52 PM

That seems to be the usual line, if they are in because the laws allow it then that's that, whoever you are voting in government you need to address them and their policies and get them to change their stance.

If not happy with your choice, change it to someone you feel will get you what you want..

Who will you vote for now?

I was listening to the BBC World Service this morning and they were discussing what're happening with Sweeden

https://www.bbc.com/mediacentre/proginfo/2023/49/the-documentary

Post by: Wildweasel74 on November 30, 2023, 10:55:45 PM
The problem is, if the police go in, kick all round them we complaining, let them run riot. We complaining they do f**k all.The lets go 50/50 never works.
Post by: Armagh18 on November 30, 2023, 11:05:27 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on November 30, 2023, 10:55:45 PMThe problem is, if the police go in, kick all round them we complaining, let them run riot. We complaining they do f**k all.The lets go 50/50 never works.
The problems go deeper than just going in and kicking the shite out of them. Its a problem in cities worldwwide, particularly in the US and UK. It runs deep.