GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Donnellys Hollow on July 10, 2011, 07:08:14 PM

Title: An Mhí v Cill Dara
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 10, 2011, 07:08:14 PM
(http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/f6/4e/d7/a14ee255cf2d8bfd3b8235e169b6a99900da3b2226/INPHO_00496849.jpg)

Here we go again.......
Title: Re: An Mhí v Cill Dara
Post by: Jinxy on July 10, 2011, 07:09:58 PM
You're dead this time.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 10, 2011, 07:11:00 PM
"sure tis only a matter of toggin out"
Post by: Jinxy on July 10, 2011, 07:11:40 PM
I presume this will be all ticket.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 10, 2011, 07:13:00 PM
meath to win
Post by: Jinxy on July 10, 2011, 07:16:33 PM
I have a Kildare friend who reckons they'll win this by 12 points.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2011, 07:19:05 PM
He was only 3 points out in the Laois game and just because you listen to Ray D'Arcy on the radio doesn't make him your friend.
Post by: Jinxy on July 10, 2011, 07:21:25 PM
How many tickets do we have to give the flourbags for this?
Post by: muppet on July 10, 2011, 07:22:07 PM
(http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/f6/4e/d7/a14ee255cf2d8bfd3b8235e169b6a99900da3b2226/INPHO_00496849.jpg)

Ah here's a team you should know OH!
Ah Banty when the lights are down low OH!
I say grab your Banty then go OH!

If you don't know how to do it Geez you're out of luck
Push ya Banty out then you knee him in de back
Start a little movement in your sacrolliac
Wiggle like a stick wobble like a duck
That's what get do when you mess with Huddle-Buck
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2011, 07:23:08 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 10, 2011, 07:21:25 PM

I'd say we'll keep our money for the Derry game.
Post by: Jinxy on July 10, 2011, 07:26:12 PM
Plenty of parking close to the ground.

(http://www.theequinest.com/images/portugal-horse1.jpg)
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 10, 2011, 07:27:57 PM

Well such is the love in with the meeja, rte and the gaa in general with kildare at the mo, id imagine the lilles will prob get 70% of tickets and extra space for the oul jeeps..........................two huddle tents on the pitch for geeezer aswell

(http://rexee-11.vo.llnwd.net/d1/video_image_1/1053/90203501_13457.jpg)
ITS TIME FOR A HUDDLE YOU GUYS
Post by: Jinxy on July 10, 2011, 07:29:32 PM
Nothing wrong with a nice huddle every now and again.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2011, 07:30:16 PM
(http://images.icanhascheezburger.com/completestore/2009/2/16/128792979272085746.jpg)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 10, 2011, 07:35:26 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 10, 2011, 07:26:12 PM
Plenty of parking close to the ground.

(http://www.theequinest.com/images/portugal-horse1.jpg)

I thought the Ward Union Hunt had been banned, no? You'll have to arrange other transport.

I presume there's ample parking in Navan for the convoy of Range Rovers?
Post by: Jinxy on July 10, 2011, 07:36:24 PM
Bring plenty of spare tyres.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2011, 07:37:44 PM
QuoteI thought the Ward Union Hunt had been banned, no?

We'll have our own version of that Saturday night, may bring the big gun though...
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 10, 2011, 07:42:36 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2011, 07:37:44 PM
QuoteI thought the Ward Union Hunt had been banned, no?

We'll have our own version of that Saturday night, may bring the big gun though...

Dermot can bring the artillery with him:
(http://inpho.ie/cache/inpho/5e/af/00/a149c66db7e04dbc42629ad8b20c6730e06ce8e52f/INPHO_00164355.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on July 10, 2011, 07:44:49 PM
Banty and Grimley will be pulling all-nighters at the tactics table for this one.

(http://i.ytimg.com/vi/eGaQZgU4xZE/0.jpg)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 10, 2011, 07:49:54 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 10, 2011, 07:36:24 PM
Bring plenty of spare tyres.

Sure there's no shortage of spare tyres up Navan way these days:
(http://inpho.ie/cache/inpho/c2/8f/d6/8f73d4cfea38213e3bba25ff04aefc0abca7b0ddf2/INPHO_00519646.jpg)

Bring on the belly ticklin!
Post by: thejuice on July 10, 2011, 08:06:20 PM
End of the f**king road for us I'm afraid. Never in my life have I ever went in to a Meath match saying we haven't a dream of winning but this will be it.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 10, 2011, 08:13:03 PM
Will the Meath fans arrive on time for this game?
Post by: Jinxy on July 10, 2011, 08:17:26 PM
It's our pitch, we'll arrive when we damn well feel like it.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 10, 2011, 08:50:49 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2011, 07:23:08 PM

I'd say we'll keep our money for the Derry game.

i will do some some laughing if it's Meath/Donegal  ;D
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2011, 08:58:01 PM
(http://cdn.wn.com/pd/5c/06/2b7db8f0e87b45451ad3dc095637_grande.jpg)

Kildare try on their new gear for their visit to Navan, with a huddle of course..
Post by: thejuice on July 10, 2011, 09:16:12 PM
Is Geezer still growing the hair, if he's not careful he'll end up looking like Geezer Butler.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2011, 09:19:50 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 10, 2011, 09:16:12 PM
Is Geezer still growing the hair, if he's not careful he'll end up looking like Geezer Butler.

He looks like a ruffian very uncouth, not what one expects from a Kildare manager.
Post by: Jinxy on July 10, 2011, 09:22:35 PM
I think he's aiming for the Mickey Burke look.

(http://www.hoganstand.com/Common/NewGallery/AB4C1473.jpg)
Post by: ross4life on July 10, 2011, 09:26:30 PM
What about the Meath/Kildare hamster images?
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2011, 09:34:54 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 10, 2011, 09:26:30 PM

(http://i1010.photobucket.com/albums/af226/bwbwbw24/Funny%20pics/haha.jpg)

Graham Geraghty is injured thank god!!
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 10, 2011, 09:36:13 PM
I think he's going for the Killian Brennan look circa mid 1990s:
(http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/c6/d4/22/e5d182d006902310aa74ed11a2/INPHO_00010070.jpg)

He might as well make hay while the sun shines:
(http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/e5/da/a0/5a47dad9877bce62eb3a67d64ab6c41a89fc9ddc7f/INPHO_00175784.jpg)
Post by: seafoid on July 10, 2011, 09:39:02 PM
I never felt sorry for Meath before.
Post by: Jinxy on July 10, 2011, 09:58:11 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 10, 2011, 09:26:30 PM

I was a bit disappointed RTE played it safe with the draw and refused to take on board my suggestions.
Post by: Hardy on July 11, 2011, 01:43:25 AM
I hate the world I'm living in now. I wasn't meant to be like this. Wishing you hadn't drawn Kildare. Who'd have thought?
Post by: meathie on July 11, 2011, 09:38:14 AM
I cant wait actually,might as well play a proper team. bring it on!
Post by: Jinxy on July 11, 2011, 09:46:51 AM
Quote from: Hardy on July 11, 2011, 01:43:25 AM
I hate the world I'm living in now. I wasn't meant to be like this. Wishing you hadn't drawn Kildare. Who'd have thought?

It's crazy alright.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 11, 2011, 11:37:45 AM
Will this be the TV game? In Liverpool on a stag so would obviously like to see it, with that in mind can anyone recommnend a pub in Liverpool to watch it if it is on?
Post by: Jinxy on July 11, 2011, 11:39:04 AM
If you were any sort of a Kildare supporter you'd get the stag switched to Navan.
Post by: seafoid on July 11, 2011, 11:46:13 AM
Quote from: Hardy on July 11, 2011, 01:43:25 AM
Anyone who knew Banty from before .
Post by: heffo on July 11, 2011, 11:52:01 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 11, 2011, 11:37:45 AM
Will this be the TV game? In Liverpool on a stag so would obviously like to see it, with that in mind can anyone recommnend a pub in Liverpool to watch it if it is on?

The Irish centre is your best bet - http://www.stmichaelsirishcentre.org/

O'Neills might have it on, but as you probably know they're soulless kips..
Post by: Bingo on July 11, 2011, 11:53:33 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 11, 2011, 11:37:45 AM

O'Neills should be the spot for it. Or Pogues would have it.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 11, 2011, 11:58:00 AM
Any self-respecting Kildare supporter wouldn't spend a cent in Navan  >:(

Cheers Bingo/Heffo, will check them out.
Post by: Stevie g 8 on July 11, 2011, 11:59:16 AM
is this game gonna be all ticket.i went to the game on saturday in navan and really enjoyed the atmosphere,it should be a cracker
Post by: meathie on July 11, 2011, 12:09:35 PM
Yes will be all ticket. Navan needs more stiles me thinks. weather is wet and windy for sat eve, I like that weather. I dont like Paddy O Rourke
Post by: Hardy on July 11, 2011, 12:15:06 PM
Paddy O'Rourke and wet weather together could be good, though.
Post by: Declan on July 11, 2011, 12:20:15 PM
I doubt they'll be letting the u16s in for free this Sat like last Saturday - Much appreciated by us hard pressed punters!!

On form you can only see Kildare winning this but...... there's always a but when it comes to Meath ;)
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on July 11, 2011, 12:21:38 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 11, 2011, 11:58:00 AM
Any self-respecting Kildare supporter wouldn't spend a cent in Navan  >:(

Pity no horsey racing in Navan next Saturday. We could have locked ye all up for the day.
Post by: meathie on July 11, 2011, 12:23:59 PM
yes alot of 'uner 16s' got in for free on sat eve alright! I was impressed In particular the 35 year old 'under 16' who was offended that the stewart asked him what age he was!
Post by: Royalranter on July 11, 2011, 12:31:27 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 11, 2011, 12:15:06 PM

I reckon we should keep Paddy O'Rourke out of the wet weather, just incase he catches a cold or something.  I believe it's supposed to be nice and dry on the bench
Post by: Hardy on July 11, 2011, 12:52:16 PM
Quote from: Royalranter on July 11, 2011, 12:31:27 PM

I reckon we should keep Paddy O'Rourke out of the wet weather, just incase he catches a cold or something.

It'd be a nice change for him to catch something.
Post by: Jinxy on July 11, 2011, 01:14:38 PM
 :D :D
Post by: Jinxy on July 11, 2011, 01:17:53 PM

In order for this to be true Hardy, it would have to be so wet that the water level on the pitch was 6 feet 4 inches, thus drowning all the Kildare players and leaving Paddy O'Rourke free to float the ball into the net.
Post by: meathie on July 11, 2011, 01:38:10 PM
Well since he cant catch anything in dry weather god help him on sat eve! I hope he gets the bench for sat sorry Paddy but no no no!
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 11, 2011, 03:30:14 PM
hope this game is on the telly, in case I dont get to it.
Cant see meath getting close to kildare to be honest.
galways are brutal and meath almost fluffed that one.
Post by: Jinxy on July 11, 2011, 04:03:14 PM
Banty has issued the following pitch dimensions to the PT groundsman for re-marking.

(http://keelbyunited.co.uk/blog/images/5_a_Side_Tournament.JPG)

Lets see yis run away from us now!

Post by: muppet on July 11, 2011, 04:56:41 PM
Quote from: meathie on July 11, 2011, 12:23:59 PM
yes alot of 'uner 16s' got in for free on sat eve alright! I was impressed In particular the 35 year old 'under 16' who was offended that the stewart asked him what age he was!

That was Graham Geraghty.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on July 11, 2011, 05:03:50 PM
http://www.hoganstand.com/Meath/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=151456
Post by: Jinxy on July 11, 2011, 05:06:19 PM
Cavan ref.
We're screwed.
Post by: Hardy on July 11, 2011, 05:08:36 PM
I'm happy about that. Excuse sorted and all and it's only Monday.
Post by: Jinxy on July 11, 2011, 05:09:37 PM
I mightn't even bother going now.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 11, 2011, 05:13:58 PM
Hmm. Didn't McQuillan send off both Dermot Earley and Ronan Sweeney in a league match at the same venue a few years back? Dermot's red was rescinded afterwards.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 11, 2011, 05:26:03 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 11, 2011, 05:13:58 PM
Hmm. Didn't McQuillan send off both Dermot Earley and Ronan Sweeney in a league match at the same venue a few years back? Dermot's red was rescinded afterwards.

2009, never a red card offence card rightly rescinded

I wonder which Joe will turn up the one that reffed Wexford or the one that reffed Dublin?
Post by: Jinxy on July 11, 2011, 08:28:50 PM
Stop giving out about the ref.
We got there first.
Post by: Orangemac on July 11, 2011, 10:30:03 PM
Certainly was against Down. Oh that Paddy O'Rourke!
Post by: Offalylad on July 11, 2011, 10:51:11 PM
Kildare have the greater potential to advance further than Meath would if they were to win I think.
Post by: Hardy on July 12, 2011, 12:12:27 AM
That's true. The loser had little enough potential to advance anyway.
Post by: Royalranter on July 12, 2011, 12:14:55 AM
Quote from: Hardy on July 12, 2011, 12:12:27 AM

Never a truer word spoken.
Post by: Jinxy on July 12, 2011, 12:16:20 AM

That'll learn him.  :D
Post by: Offalylad on July 12, 2011, 12:23:50 AM
I was clearly saying Kildare would be the better bet to advance late into the competition  if they won than Meath would be if they won. Smartarse.
Post by: Jinxy on July 12, 2011, 12:34:39 AM
Don't be coming in here starting rows.
The Kildare lads will be diving all over the place.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 12, 2011, 09:35:06 AM
(http://www.hoganstand.com/Common/ImageGallery/martinlynch.jpg)

Did someone mention my name?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 12, 2011, 09:42:50 AM
Jaysus Dinny, that's a rare photo. He's standing up.
Post by: Jinxy on July 12, 2011, 10:15:58 AM
He must have rotated it in photoshop.
Post by: PAULD123 on July 12, 2011, 10:22:24 AM
Quote from: Offalylad on July 11, 2011, 10:51:11 PM
Kildare have the greater potential to advance further than Meath would if they were to win I think.

That makes little sense if Meath are better than Kildare then they have a better chance of advancing than Kildare. The best team has the best chance. You are basically suggesting that Meath are worse than Kildare even if they are better than them.

I think you are just buying into a ridiculous media hype about Kildare that has no real basis. Kildare are a good side but that's about all. Dublin outclassed them until stupidly taking the foot off the gas. Kildare beat unprepared Wicklow and Meath sides. The only time they faced a quality team (Dublin) they lost, and should have lost by more.

Your point would be valid if one team had a load of injures/suspensions which were all due back in the next game. But that is not true of either side. So basically it is nothing more than buying into foolish hype.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 12, 2011, 10:59:47 AM
Jaysus Paul, have you ever been wrong about anything? I've never seen anyone so *certain* all the time.

Surely you've seen games where the better team didn't win? Due to a bad day perhaps? I can think of a certain All Ireland quarter final last year for example.

Maybe other factors? Lucky bounce? Sending off? I distrust anyone who deals in absolutes, and anyone who says that the winner of any game is definitely the better team is on dodgy ground.

Lets say, for hypothetical purposes, that Meath beat Kildare because a) They are local rivals with a history, b) They are at home, c) They get a lucky goal or 2, d) Tomás O'Connor is sent off for decapitating the Meath full back.

In those hypothetical circumstances, would you accept that were Meath and Kildare to meet on neutral grounds 10 more times, there's no guarantee that Meath won win even 5? (There's no guarantee Kildare would either by the way).

So, we are back to Offalylad's point, which I understand. (Maybe it's a BIFFO thing) :D

On paper, and on performances to date, Kildare are a better team than Meath. If they were not playing each other, you would fancy Kildare to go a bit further than Meath, all things being equal.

The fact that they are playing each other brings all the variables I mentioned into a one off contest, which might well end up with Meath winning.

That does not invalidate his opinion that Meath would not then be a better team than Kildare. (He may be wrong, but I understand his point).

The better team does not always win, otherwise we wouldn't bother playing the games. Offaly would never have beaten Kerry in 1982, and hundreds of other upsets would never happen. If Clare beat Down (as they should have on the day) in Ennis, would you think Clare are better equipped for a run at the All Ireland than Down are now?  I doubt it.
Post by: thejuice on July 12, 2011, 11:10:15 AM
The main difference for me is that Kildare, as wasteful as they can be, are just that bit better at hitting the target. That and the fact that they were able to dominate midfield breaks the last time out till Mark Ward came on.

I still think Shane O'Rourke should stay in the middle, he might have an easier time of it than against Joe Bergin and is a better distributor of the ball than Ward. We need someone who can track John Doyle so maybe get Seamus Kenny to stick with him the whole game, I don't know anyone else quick enough to stay with him.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 12, 2011, 11:12:13 AM
AZ, stop talking absolute sense.

Post by: Dinny Breen on July 12, 2011, 11:18:18 AM
Quote from: thejuice on July 12, 2011, 11:10:15 AM
We need someone who can track John Doyle so maybe get Seamus Kenny to stick with him the whole game, I don't know anyone else quick enough to stay with him.

(http://www.ltdwatch.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/04/usain_bolt.jpg)

Unless you have this fella I think you'd be playing into Kildare's hands..
Post by: Hardy on July 12, 2011, 11:20:05 AM
AZ - if the winner of any game is not, by definition, the better team (on that occasion), how are we to determine which is the better team? What will be the basis for consensus and who gets the casting vote in the event of disagreement? The manual for that procedure should be a good read. What is the point of playing games, with all the expense and inconvenience it entails if the result doesn't determine which is the better team or alter any previous determination of which was the better team? That's the sort of stuff we'd expect from the likes of Frank Murphy and not lads with "Offaly" in their names.
Post by: Hardy on July 12, 2011, 11:22:22 AM
Quote from: Offalylad on July 12, 2011, 12:23:50 AM
I was clearly saying Kildare would be the better bet to advance late into the competition  if they won than Meath would be if they won. Smartarse.

That's exactly what you weren't doing, because if you were "clearly" saying something, it wouldn't be capable of the opposite interpretation to the one you intended. Dumbarse.
Post by: Chéad rogha on July 12, 2011, 11:22:38 AM
Meath are a great price for this one at 2/1, especially in Navan. Tempting to have some of that. In typical GAA style one of the teams scraped through (and has now been written off) and one team won impressively (and has now been written up), so its all set up for the supposed shock.
Post by: Declan on July 12, 2011, 11:29:20 AM
On present form Kildare are favourites for this game. If Meath do beat them and get to the QF that's as far as they'll go because they'll surely draw Dublin and it'll be a comforable passage to the semis with the ref giving every assistance to the Dubs for the good of the GAA ;) ;)

That will mean that Dublin are the best team in Leinster not the fact that they won the cup on Sunday
Post by: AZOffaly on July 12, 2011, 11:35:31 AM
Quote from: Hardy on July 12, 2011, 11:20:05 AM
AZ - if the winner of any game is not, by definition, the better team (on that occasion), how are we to determine which is the better team? What will be the basis for consensus and who gets the casting vote in the event of disagreement? The manual for that procedure should be a good read. What is the point of playing games, with all the expense and inconvenience it entails if the result doesn't determine which is the better team or alter any previous determination of which was the better team? That's the sort of stuff we'd expect from the likes of Frank Murphy and not lads with "Offaly" in their names.

Hardy, you are (deliberately I suspect :D) misunderstanding me. I clearly said that if you are to evaluate both teams in isolation on their form etc, Kildare would be the better team. Just as Down are a 'better team' than Clare, Kerry in 1982 were a 'better team' than Offaly.

However, the better team on the day is not always the same thing, as there are myriad factors that can influence a one off contest.

I suspect you know exactly what I'm saying, and had Offalylad said that Meath had the potential to go further, you'd be in agreement :D
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 12, 2011, 11:37:02 AM
I think Meath will be in with a right shout here..............robbed of a defo goal vs kildare already they will be out to avenge the manner of the defeat, and of course to "do it for Graham" motto will be ringing in their ears

Oh to picture to picture the banty pot belly in the changing rooms after the victory.............

Is geezer adapting a Im not cutting my hair until we are out motto ??? or is he rebelling now since thay all had to wear their hair like navy seals playing for armagh ?
Post by: Royalranter on July 12, 2011, 11:44:25 AM
I've heard they are capping the attendance at 20,000 for 'health and safety reasons'. Pairc Tailteann will comfortably hold more than that. The official capacity is 28,000 but you'd squeeze one or two more bodies in there than that. There's gona be a scramble for tickets now because Kildare always bring a good following and you could expect 15,000 royals looking for tickets too....... luckily, i have mine already
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 12, 2011, 11:51:37 AM
Nothing like a kildare band wagon to get things going......................................

Anyone remember that Public Enemy classic "Dont believe the Hype"....................  ;)
Post by: Hardy on July 12, 2011, 11:55:39 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 12, 2011, 11:35:31 AM
Quote from: Hardy on July 12, 2011, 11:20:05 AM

Hardy, you are (deliberately I suspect :D ) misunderstanding me. I clearly said that if you are to evaluate both teams in isolation on their form etc, Kildare would be the better team. Just as Down are a 'better team' than Clare, Kerry in 1982 were a 'better team' than Offaly.

However, the better team on the day is not always the same thing, as there are myriad factors that can influence a one off contest.

I suspect you know exactly what I'm saying, and had Offalylad said that Meath had the potential to go further, you'd be in agreement :D

Drat. My rant does apply, though, to people who say, in all seriousness, "the better team lost - Kildare (well, OK - Mayo) had 80% of the possession but kicked 18 wides". How does the inability to score make you a better team than the team that beat you?

I reject your final point outright, of course.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 12, 2011, 11:56:44 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 12, 2011, 10:59:47 AM
d) Tomás O'Connor is sent off for decapitating the Meath full back.

He'd be back to being an Offaly man then!
Post by: AZOffaly on July 12, 2011, 11:57:38 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 12, 2011, 11:56:44 AM

He IS an Offaly man.
Post by: Royalranter on July 12, 2011, 11:58:33 AM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 12, 2011, 11:51:37 AM
Nothing like a kildare band wagon to get things going......................................

Anyone remember that Public Enemy classic "Dont believe the Hype"....................  ;)

What do you mean 'don't believe the hype', of course they should believe it, sure all they need to do is turn up and theyll win by 15-20 points
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 12, 2011, 11:59:55 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 12, 2011, 11:57:38 AM

He IS an Offaly man.

He's no more an Offaly man than Obama.

*for the time being anyway
Post by: AZOffaly on July 12, 2011, 12:01:19 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 12, 2011, 11:59:55 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 12, 2011, 11:57:38 AM

He IS an Offaly man.

He's no more an Offaly man than Obama.

*for the time being anyway

Correct.
Post by: Offalylad on July 12, 2011, 01:32:03 PM
Bet he's fairly relieved his auld lad moved down to Kildare now, given the current situations of both teams.
Post by: Jinxy on July 12, 2011, 01:45:35 PM
If the official capacity of Pairc Tailteann is 28,000, but it can only hold a maximum of 20,000 on health and safety grounds, should the official capacity not be 20,000?
Post by: Royalranter on July 12, 2011, 02:14:32 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 12, 2011, 01:45:35 PM
If the official capacity of Pairc Tailteann is 28,000, but it can only hold a maximum of 20,000 on health and safety grounds, should the official capacity not be 20,000?

That's what you'd think, isn't it. I've been told its because of the ends with grass on them, even though they were 'safe' for the Galway game, they're now 'unsafe' for the kildare match, hence the reduced capacity. It's a bit of a strange one
Post by: Hardy on July 12, 2011, 02:39:53 PM
Must be something to do with horses.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on July 12, 2011, 02:47:53 PM
I guess they got a slightly bigger crowd than they were expecting for the Galway match, given the nice evening that it was and the fact the game wasn't on TV. Lower admission prices and free for kids helped as well. When you are taking cash at the turnstiles there is some flexibility when announcing attendances if a capacity limit has been placed on H&S grounds, so long as you do not get a crowd way in excess of that figure. But when a game like Kildare comes up where the likelihood / probability is an even greater crowd which may very well become a real issue where capacity is concerned (with far more than a safe excess amount), well then they have to take action and leave nothing to chance. All ticket is the only way to go. The increased prices and TV coverage will/would have reduced this scenario. It is slightly strange situation where the grass banks are concerned. They are either safe (comply) or not but it would appear it is more about numbers than actual occupation. If they keep the capacity to a certain level, that the stands and terracing can handle, if people wander behind the goals that appears to be fine (H&S wise). Not an issue in real terms unless wet and densely populated.
Post by: meathie on July 12, 2011, 02:53:31 PM
Yes except that it is meant to be wet and windy on sat/sat eve. so are they going to block off the 2 grass end hills? hopefully not just wont be as many as last sat I suspect. bro got text from club only 60 terrace tickets been given there. scimpy I think. I have season ticket so hopefully will be able to flash the card again this weekend, no queueing!
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 12, 2011, 02:58:45 PM
Not the same craic rolling down the terraces.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on July 12, 2011, 03:09:34 PM
Hard to say for sure but it is a possibility that the hospital end may be closed or people asked/encouraged to move elsewhere. There are some railings at the O'Mahonys end so they may allow a limited amount of people to stand behind that goal. Who knows. Lets hope they show some discretion and common sense. I'll head for the concrete terracing, stand right up behind the wall, best view and somewhat protected from the elements. Only downside is making sure birds do not drop their bombs if you stand underneath the floodlight pylons!
Post by: Royalranter on July 12, 2011, 03:22:23 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 12, 2011, 02:58:45 PM
Not the same craic rolling down the terraces.

But you wont get grass stains on the knees of your trousers rolling down terraces
Post by: meathie on July 12, 2011, 03:23:25 PM
Id like to see some all white lillies rolling down the hill. Ill have daz at the ready!
Post by: Stevie g 8 on July 12, 2011, 03:41:39 PM
shock of the weekend here.Meath by 3
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 12, 2011, 03:55:55 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 12, 2011, 02:39:53 PM

Sure them Meath horses have trouble getting up grass hills. Twas no bother to the Kildare trained animal on the right:
(http://www.betting-directory.com/images/subdomains/cheltenham/harchibald.jpg)
Post by: Hardy on July 12, 2011, 04:12:03 PM
 :D  Born and reared in Tipperary. As Kildare as Brian Lacey!
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 12, 2011, 04:14:51 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 12, 2011, 04:12:03 PM
:D  Born and reared in Tipperary. As Kildare as Brian Lacey!

Kildare trained and named. One of the holy trinity in 2005 of Cheltenham champions trained in the Shortgrass. Sure they had to put a Meath man up on two of them so yee didn't feel left out!
Post by: Jinxy on July 12, 2011, 04:17:35 PM

There's good grazing at the hospital end.
Post by: Jinxy on July 12, 2011, 04:21:32 PM
Parents traditionally take their kids (if very small) to the hospital end.
A small child only counts as 1/3 of an adult so we could fit thousands of them in there.
By the way, if there was 18,000 there for the Galway game I'd love to know where they'd fit another 10,000 to reach the 'official capacity'.
My guess is that the crowd on Saturday was in excess of 20,000.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 12, 2011, 09:05:07 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 12, 2011, 03:55:55 PM

Sure them Meath horses have trouble getting up grass hills. Twas no bother to the Kildare trained animal on the right:
(http://www.betting-directory.com/images/subdomains/cheltenham/harchibald.jpg)

Look at our horse .............. ;)

(http://www.independent.ie/multimedia/archive/00779/race_indo_779885t.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on July 12, 2011, 09:37:08 PM
The horse won both the race and the subsequent skills competition.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 13, 2011, 04:09:56 PM
Looking likely at this stage John Doyle is going to miss this game, has the pendulum swung in Meath's favour especially with the heavy rain forecast that will suit their bigger more natural forwards.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on July 13, 2011, 04:32:12 PM
Banty's new master plan is to select six of the ladies team as our entire back line. They got to the Leinster final on merit (beating the Dubs). Dressed in their 2011 ensemble, they can both distract and confuse the flourbags.

(http://data.celticmediagroup.com/img/2011/07/06/1309962123663.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on July 13, 2011, 04:43:25 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 13, 2011, 04:09:56 PM
Looking likely at this stage John Doyle is going to miss this game, has the pendulum swung in Meath's favour especially with the heavy rain forecast that will suit their bigger more natural forwards.

What's up with him?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 13, 2011, 05:05:26 PM
The gods certainly don't smile on Kildare when it comes to injuries. That's all three of our All-Stars gone if it is the case.

Plenty of options to replace him with but the great man would be a loss to any team. The ideal scenario would be Flynner coming back in but he can't be fully fit himself yet. Paudie O'Neill could always go to midfield with Jimmers coming into the full-forward line and Rob Kelly going out to the forty. Brophy in as a straight swap will probably be the preferred option.

Not a hope McGeeney would try it but if Bolton is fit to start, we could move Lyons back to the corner and bring McGrillen out to midfield. He's always managed O'Rourke fairly well and his mobility would compliment Lynch dropping back and holding the middle.
Post by: mup on July 13, 2011, 05:18:43 PM

Johnny should be ok for Saturday.
Post by: Jinxy on July 13, 2011, 05:33:46 PM
More lies.
Ye must think we're thick as well as stupid.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 14, 2011, 12:05:34 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 13, 2011, 04:43:25 PM

What's up with him?

Geezer and him were at the oul mma stuff again.........in the nip  ;)

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF629/455708.jpg)
Post by: meathie on July 14, 2011, 12:32:11 PM
Meath waiting on news of Kev Reilly and Cian Ward for injuries. without Reilly esp. we would be in more trouble than we think......
Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2011, 12:59:11 PM
Kevin Reilly exists in a perpetual state of injury.
Post by: Ard-Rí on July 14, 2011, 01:32:19 PM
I saw Cian Ward hurt his ankle early in the Galway game, mid-way through the first half. If that's all that's wrong with him, he's fine.
Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2011, 04:53:33 PM
Has everyone got there tickets?
Post by: Go home ref on July 14, 2011, 06:44:06 PM
I've got mine but a mate of mine ordered his through GAA website for collection in Navan do any of the Meath people know where in the ground would you collect them?
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on July 14, 2011, 07:22:19 PM
Was it ticketmaster or tickets.ie? One may have some mobile vehicle somewhere on Brews Hill. If not I would ask at the express gate on LHS of turnstiles where season ticket holders gain entry. It is quite possible that it is somewhere inside the O'Mahonys ground just before Pairc Tailteann itself. There are also turnstiles down at the very back past the NOM clubhouse on your RHS.
Post by: Royalranter on July 14, 2011, 07:22:59 PM
Quote from: Go home ref on July 14, 2011, 06:44:06 PM
I've got mine but a mate of mine ordered his through GAA website for collection in Navan do any of the Meath people know where in the ground would you collect them?

I'm not sure tbh, there could be a van parked outside somewhere. Should be handy enough to find, there's not too many places around the entrance that it could be hiding!!!
Post by: Go home ref on July 14, 2011, 07:29:30 PM
Quote from: DB_An_Mhi on July 14, 2011, 07:22:19 PM
Was it ticketmaster or tickets.ie? One may have some mobile vehicle somewhere on Brews Hill. If not I would ask at the express gate on LHS of turnstiles where season ticket holders gain entry. It is quite possible that it is somewhere inside the O'Mahonys ground just before Pairc Tailteann itself. There are also turnstiles down at the very back past the NOM clubhouse on your RHS.

It was on GAA.ie im sure we'll find it we'll get there nice and early just to be sure thanks for the reply
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 14, 2011, 07:44:23 PM
Meath manager Seamus McEnaney is sweating on the fitness of Cian Ward and Kevin Reilly ahead of Saturday's All-Ireland qualifier encounter with Kildare in Navan.

Ward has been struggling with an ankle injury, while Reilly aggravated a long-standing back injury in his side's 0-11 to 0-10 victory over Galway last Saturday.

McEnaney is expected to give both players every chance to recover and will not name his starting XV until Saturday.

In an interview with the Irish Sun, McEnaney said: 'There are a few knocks around the place after last Saturday night's game against Galway.

'Kevin Reilly would be the biggest concern so we will give the lads every chance to see how they get on over the next few days.'

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2011/0714/meath.html (http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2011/0714/meath.html)

Meath full-back Kevin Reilly has rubbished reports in the national media that he is stuggling to be fit for Saturday night's All-Ireland SFC qualifier against Kildare.

According to media reports both Reilly and Cian Ward are on the 'doubtful list' in the lead up to Saturday's eagerly-awaited encounter.

However, Reilly says that he is not suffering a recurrance of his back injury and will be available for selection while Ward is also belived to be moving well in training.

"I took part in a full-training session this week and got some physio afterwards and I feel fine," he told the Meath Chronicle.

"I have to laugh, I don't know where these reports come from," added the Navan O'Mahonys clubman.

http://www.meathchronicle.ie/sport/gaa/articles/2011/07/14/4005534-reilly-in-fine-form-ahead-of-big-game/ (http://www.meathchronicle.ie/sport/gaa/articles/2011/07/14/4005534-reilly-in-fine-form-ahead-of-big-game/)

Kildare won't know whether they're coming or going. Banty will leave us in a complete muddle.
Post by: Ard-Rí on July 14, 2011, 08:19:57 PM
Meanwhile Geraghty is sneaked back into the squad..
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 14, 2011, 11:18:45 PM
The Kildare team to play Meath has been announced as : Shane Connolly, Andrew McLoughlin, Mick Foley, Hugh McGrillen, Gary White, Morgan O'Flaherty, Emmet Bolton, John Doyle, Hugh Lynch, Padraig O'Neill, Eoghan O'Flaherty, Eamonn Callaghan, Rob Kelly, Tomas O'Connor and Fionn Dowling

Bit harsh on Ollie Lyons but Bolton is one of the best in the country. Nice to see the full-forward line rewarded, they mightn't have got the scores but they worked their bollixes off Saturday.
Post by: mup on July 15, 2011, 08:11:57 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 14, 2011, 11:18:45 PM
The Kildare team to play Meath has been announced as : Shane Connolly, Andrew McLoughlin, Mick Foley, Hugh McGrillen, Gary White, Morgan O'Flaherty, Emmet Bolton, John Doyle, Hugh Lynch, Padraig O'Neill, Eoghan O'Flaherty, Eamonn Callaghan, Rob Kelly, Tomas O'Connor and Fionn Dowling

Bit harsh on Ollie Lyons but Bolton is one of the best in the country. Nice to see the full-forward line rewarded, they mightn't have got the scores but they worked their bollixes off Saturday.

I'm afraid that won't be the starting team. Unluckily for Highie Lynch he did himself damage last night and will definitely miss the game. Looking like he'll be gone for the rest of the year. A big blow.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 15, 2011, 08:49:16 AM
Another Cruciate? Jaysus if Kildare didn't have bad luck, they'd have no luck at all. Is Daryl Flynn nearly back?
Post by: mup on July 15, 2011, 09:14:14 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 15, 2011, 08:49:16 AM
Another Cruciate? Jaysus if Kildare didn't have bad luck, they'd have no luck at all. Is Daryl Flynn nearly back?

Not sure if its cruciate but tis serious emough. Rumours are that flynns in line for a start. Can't see if myself but I'm not McGeeney.
Post by: Jinxy on July 15, 2011, 09:44:22 AM
Quote from: mup on July 15, 2011, 08:11:57 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 14, 2011, 11:18:45 PM

I'm afraid that won't be the starting team. Unluckily for Highie Lynch he did himself damage last night and will definitely miss the game. Looking like he'll be gone for the rest of the year. A big blow.

Best of luck to him in his recovery.
Post by: meathie on July 15, 2011, 09:44:35 AM
1 day, cant wait now! I think Meath have a nig game in them and hoping this is the one. For me it has all the signs of our Mayo game in 2009, so same again please! on a side note that Reilly/banty thing is rediculous. is he or is he not? Ive never been so confused as this season not having an idea who'll start or whos in or out. Just tell it ilke it is please!
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on July 15, 2011, 10:11:09 AM
It's either a big game tomorrow or bust. While still underdogs, confidence is growing as the day approaches. Not into all the mind games nonsense. Banty has stated in the press that he always picks his team on recent form. One of his selections for the Galway game would suggest otherwise and that he is too bloody-minded for his own good. We will see for sure on Saturday.

Good picture of Brendan Murphy's save on the front of the sports section of the Chronicle and the reaction of supporters behind the goal.
Post by: meathie on July 15, 2011, 10:21:59 AM
yes great pic, I do admit to having my eyes closed on that moment as couldnt watch! Im expecting something big from Joe tomorrow too, hes been moving along but nothing outstanding bar  a point or two. tomorrow to be his and Farrells day.
Post by: Jinxy on July 15, 2011, 10:31:59 AM
I kind of like going to these games that we're expected to lose.
It's the ones we're expected to win that make me nervous.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 15, 2011, 11:02:01 AM
Desperately unfortunate for Hughie Lynch. I've probably been critical enough of him in the past but he was really growing into the team and was developing a good partnership with Johnny. Hopefully Flynner is fit enough for seventy minutes.
Post by: meathie on July 15, 2011, 11:18:21 AM
Im the same Jinxy. when theres less pressure Im more hopeful! Is Hughie deff gone?
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 15, 2011, 11:55:17 AM
Gutted for Lynch, always fell for players when they miss out because of injury.

He might bring in Flynn or young Brophy or a combination of both during the game. Also has the option of switching O'Neill into midfield and bring Jimmers into attack. Big decision for McGeeney.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 15, 2011, 07:17:18 PM
Best of luck lads on both sides of the terrace.................really looking forward to watching this game, hopefully the rain stays away, we dont want any excuses
Post by: Lily4life on July 15, 2011, 08:20:54 PM
Sickened for poor Hugh Lynch, always thought he was underrated and he was starting to play really well this year. Fingers crossed it's not the cruciate.
I'd say Flynn will come in. Kavanagh could start in the forwards too, he should anyway in my opinion.
I think we're going to be up against it tomorrow but I think we'll win by 1 or 2. Go on the Lilies!
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 15, 2011, 08:27:27 PM
Think Meath are gonna scrap thru here boys, kildare are under serious pressure now to perform and win this
Post by: micka the dub on July 15, 2011, 09:38:46 PM
its like rangers playing england,i really cant decide who i want to lose this one.its a pity they both cant lose.
Post by: mup on July 15, 2011, 10:29:41 PM
Quote from: micka the dub on July 15, 2011, 09:38:46 PM
its like rangers playing england,i really cant decide who i want to lose this one.its a pity they both cant lose.

Coming from a West Brit whose team wear blue jerseys.  :)
Post by: micka the dub on July 15, 2011, 10:52:31 PM
what???????????????? look at a map ye thick,dublin is in the east of the island ,right beside your  county ,a county were most of the people living in it were actually born in the worlds greatest city.
btw would you dress a baby boy in pink due to your dislike of the colour blue,now if you excuse me im off to count me sterling.ya bleeding muppet
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 16, 2011, 12:07:55 AM
Quote from: micka the dub on July 15, 2011, 10:52:31 PM
what???????????????? look at a map ye thick,dublin is in the east of the island ,right beside your  county ,a county were most of the people living in it were actually born in the worlds greatest city the big smoke
btw would you dress a baby boy in pink due to your dislike of the colour blue,now if you excuse me im off to count me sterling.ya bleeding muppet

Ah yes, the blow ins. Sure you can't blame the Jackeens for wanting to escape the rat race of the big smoke I suppose. They might lower the tone of what were once quaint sleepy villages, but us amenable easy going Kildare folk are quite welcoming to those who do not own a single tweed garment or have never thrown their leg over a horse. We provide the opportunity to those less fortunate than ourselves to clean our Range Rovers and paint our wrought iron gates. Sure you could hardly expect the tally ho brigade to carry out such demeaning tasks?
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 16, 2011, 12:21:23 AM
jaysus talk about lowering the tone.................. micka the dub and mup, grow the hell up will ye........................that soccer shite and bigotry has no place in the Gaels game  ;) seriously all that west brit nonsense, give it a rest
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 16, 2011, 09:48:30 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 16, 2011, 12:07:55 AM
what???????????????? look at a map ye thick,dublin is in the east of the island ,right beside your  county ,a county were most of the people living in it were actually born in the worlds greatest city the big smoke

Ah yes, the blow ins. Sure you can't blame the Jackeens for wanting to escape the rat race of the big smoke I suppose. They might lower the tone of what were once quaint sleepy villages, but us amenable easy going Kildare folk are quite welcoming to those who do not own a single tweed garment or have never thrown their leg over a horse. We provide the opportunity to those less fortunate than ourselves to clean our Range Rovers and paint our wrought iron gates. Sure you could hardly expect the tally ho brigade to carry out such demeaning tasks?

True I was actually able to let my Moldovan cleaner go and got two Jackees in instead and still saved money...
Post by: snippets on July 16, 2011, 09:58:34 AM
Banty seems to be working wonders up there in meath. He promotes great passion among the meath faithful and leads by example re intimidating mc geeney etc.  Who would have thought that a proud county with 7 all irelands would seek the services of a monaghan man without an ulster championship.  Has he earned a new contract yet or would it take todays win to guarantee it
Post by: heffo on July 16, 2011, 12:52:05 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 16, 2011, 09:48:30 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 16, 2011, 12:07:55 AM

True I was actually able to let my Moldovan cleaner go and got two Jackees in instead and still saved money...

Will you ask them to teach you how to use the quote function??!
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 16, 2011, 01:04:51 PM
Hughie Lynch will be out for 10-12 weeks so I suppose there's an outside chance that he'll be back for the All-Ireland Final   ;)

Whoever comes in, be it Flynner or Brophy, shouldn't weaken the team a whole lot. This match will be a much stiffer test than last week and the law of averages suggest that Meath have to beat this Kildare team some day. It will be interesting to see how much McEnaney and Grimley have learned from the Croke Park encounter. Meath will throw the kitchen sink at Kildare in their own back yard but as long as we don't concede goals I'd be confident enough. Meath have the forwards capable of getting goals as they showed against Louth this year and Dublin last year. The Kildare backs have been particularly stingy this year though and I think we have only conceded four goals between League and Championship. Hopefully it's a good match and the rain stays away. Should be good craic on the terraces/grass-banks either way.

Cill Dara Abú
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on July 16, 2011, 01:36:23 PM
Quite sunny in An Uaimh this lunchtime after a pretty bleak looking morning early on. Mixture of blue skies and a few dark clouds and quite windy. Hopefully we will not get heavy rain or overly gusty conditions in the 7-9pm window.
Post by: Royalranter on July 16, 2011, 01:48:24 PM
I have it on good authority from a reliable source that Graham Geraghty's place on the Meath panel has been filled by Jody Devine, and he will be brought on near the end of the match if the game is still in the mix
Post by: passedit on July 16, 2011, 04:57:52 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 16, 2011, 01:04:51 PM
Should be good craic on the terraces/grass-banks either way.

Cill Dara Abú

Don't forget:

(http://www.distinctlybritish.com/images/CBU/%5B2%5D/shooting-stick-005.jpg)(http://cache.virtualtourist.com/1/1551444-Delivered_in_a_VW_hamper_van_-London.jpg)
Post by: footy15 on July 16, 2011, 05:00:58 PM
Kildare far fiitter team, meath winning by 3 at half time or 5 to 10 mins before half time , but kildare fitness to show in 2nd half and pull away to win by 8 or 9
Post by: footy15 on July 16, 2011, 05:03:41 PM
Now Meath no cheating today????????
Post by: Blowitupref on July 16, 2011, 05:07:18 PM
I'm looking forward to this game tonight. i think Meath will give Kildare a real game but come up just short..Kildare by 2pts
Post by: Royalranter on July 16, 2011, 05:42:54 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 16, 2011, 05:07:18 PM
I'm looking forward to this game tonight. i think Meath will give Kildare a real game but come up just short..Kildare by 2pts

Not at all, build the hype... Kildare by 20 points!!!
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 16, 2011, 07:31:54 PM
IF I HAVE TO LOOK AT THAT MEATH PHYSIOS ARSE AGAIN..............................my lord charted physio wearing tights and as roundy as that, shocking
Post by: Hardy on July 16, 2011, 07:40:26 PM
Anybody any idea what the penalty was for?
Post by: Offalylad on July 16, 2011, 07:43:20 PM
O'Connor kinda just tumbled.
Post by: Ard-Rí on July 16, 2011, 07:50:47 PM
No Penalty at all, dar liomsa ar aon nós.

But it's still all up for grabs, as the majority predicted.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on July 16, 2011, 08:09:39 PM
Meath point, all level. Tighter than a Cavanman's wallet.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 16, 2011, 08:34:09 PM
Good effort from Meath the goals the real killer however Kildare got a deserved win.
Post by: seafoid on July 16, 2011, 08:38:30 PM
So that it is for Meath. Any sign of a decent team underage or is it another decade in purgatory ?
Post by: Ard-Rí on July 16, 2011, 08:53:21 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 16, 2011, 08:38:30 PM
So that it is for Meath. Any sign of a decent team underage or is it another decade in purgatory ?

Yeah, there are some good players coming through.

I think we need a less divisive manager, someone who can get the best out of these payers. There's more in them, no doubt.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 16, 2011, 09:31:43 PM
Really enjoyed that game. It'll do Kildare a power of good, and Daryl Flynn got a good 70 minutes. James Kavanagh made a huge difference. Johnny Doyle is definitely carrying something though.

Post by: Minder on July 16, 2011, 09:35:11 PM
I think Kevin McStay was either high or drunk tonight.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 16, 2011, 09:50:16 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 16, 2011, 09:35:11 PM
I think Kevin McStay was either high or drunk tonight.

What did he do now ???
Post by: agorm on July 16, 2011, 10:21:34 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on July 16, 2011, 08:53:21 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 16, 2011, 08:38:30 PM

Yeah, there are some good players coming through.

I think we need a less divisive manager, someone who can get the best out of these payers. There's more in them, no doubt.

I have to disagree. In my opinion he is not divisive. He has made mistakes but no more than previous managers. I think we have made good progress this year, especially in the backs. Granted several of our much lauded forwards have failed to step up to the mark and I am unsure as to how much blame can be attributed to Banty for this.

Overall, however, I hope that he is kept on....we dont need another change and a new management team that doesnt see the latter stages of the club championships.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 16, 2011, 10:51:21 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 16, 2011, 09:31:43 PM
Really enjoyed that game. It'll do Kildare a power of good, and Daryl Flynn got a good 70 minutes. James Kavanagh made a huge difference. Johnny Doyle is definitely carrying something though.

Johnny got a right clout going for the first ball this evening (a perfectly fair and legal one too) and looked a bit dodgy after it. He ships some amount of punishment but is still able to have a mighty influence on the game. He had no right to win some of the balls he won today.

Any year you beat Meath twice in championship football is a good one as far as I'm concerned. I know Meath posters will say it's a fairly mediocre Meath team but they threw the kitchen sink at Kildare today. Kildare had to grind out a result and they showed that they had the bottle for it in the last ten minutes. Hopefully that bit of momentum now will carry us through a few more rounds at least.

Connolly - made two timely interventions and apart from a couple of wayward kickouts was solid
McLoughlin - Ward had him under pressure for long spells but he really drove Kildare forward with some of his runs
Foley - picked up a few knocks but was still a rock on the edge of the square
McGrillen - effective as usual on his gallops up the field, kicked a classy point with the left foot
Chalky - struggled to put the shackles on Sheridan
M O'Flaherty - one of the most reliable players on the Kildare team, reads the game so well and rarely wastes a ball
Bolton - a goal and two points from a wing-back, what more can you say?
Doyle - probably not as prominent as in previous games but still got through a mountain of ball
Flynn - understandably rusty but will have benefitted from the outing, key player if Kildare are to progress further
O'Neill - mixed the good with the bad, won plenty of ball but made a mess of two good chances in the second half
E O'Flaherty - well held tonight but should hold his place
Callaghan - has been more effective in previous matches but he won some important balls when he switched inside for the last quarter
Kelly - never really at the races tonight
O'Connor - got more change out of Reilly tonight than he did in Croke Park and had a key hand in both goals
Dowling - still a bit light at this level but he never stops showing and he has a bit of class about him

Kavanagh - should have done enough to start next weekend
Flanagan - stuck to Sheridan like shit to a blanket, made one important diving block, best game in a Kildare shirt
Brophy - kicked a bad wide at an important stage, covers plenty of ground though, useful option for the last quarter of games
Sweeney - clearly fired up for it and thundered into the first kickout, kicked a vital point
Lyons - hard on him to be dropped after a fine performance last week but he is a great defensive option off the bench
Post by: AZOffaly on July 16, 2011, 10:54:07 PM
Jaysus that Brophy lad has some tan, and he was doing some blowing out his cheeks when he came on. He reminded me of a chestnut going into the starting gates for the derby.
Post by: thejuice on July 16, 2011, 10:54:52 PM
no surprises. Meath gave it a better shot but are far too disjointed to beat a team like kildare. A team who seem to actually have something resembling a game plan,  team work ethic, the ability to find each other with passes and play each other into spaces that allowed them to take scores.

Banty might as well stay on, but if I may be so bold as to suggest I don't think we'll much in a way of innovation in Meath football that was required or expected. Essentially we parted ways with Eamonn O'Brien to find a man who could take us into the top three believing O'Brien wasn't that man. That's the role Banty took on, whether he liked it or even knew it.

But anyway. I think we need to put more focus on our minors and club structures first, that in turn should breed a good county team.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 16, 2011, 11:15:36 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 16, 2011, 10:54:07 PM
Jaysus that Brophy lad has some tan, and he was doing some blowing out his cheeks when he came on. He reminded me of a chestnut going into the starting gates for the derby.

See the socks pulled up to his ball sack practically............................................ :D
Post by: Hardy on July 17, 2011, 12:39:19 AM
Worst of all possible worlds - we lose, but not by a big enough hiding to get rid of this ludicrous regime. The RTÉ pundits praising our "progress" seals our fate of being struck with this setup.

What progress have we made? Is being beaten by Kildare in the qualifiers progress from being beaten by them in the QF? What's the game plan? Where is the coherent strategy? Do the players know what they're supposed to be doing? Last week a target man at full forward. This week Graham Reilly! Is that a U-turn or just random nonsense? And then Graham is taken off for not achieving something he can't have comprehended. The players nearly managed to get a result despite the absence of any direction or tactics that I could see. And no doubt the little spoofer will claim that as evidence of his restoring something to Meath football that he doesn't even understand. And it looks as though it'll be more (or less) of the same next year.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on July 17, 2011, 01:22:13 AM
Progress? The introduction of Lenehan, Gilsenan and (presently injured) Menton as first team players. McAnarney has improved greatly. Meath as a collective team also have a bit more fight in them.

As for qualifiers v QF defeat ... you could say we narrowed the margin and manner of the defeat, even if home advantage and Kildare injuries were a part of that so-called improvement.

Our midfield problems while by no means fixed, are at least been addressed. No progress has been made where the forwards are concerned. In fact this area has been seriously neglected. No real tactics or nurturing of talent, coaching existing players to play football as a team not individuals (with good build-up and support play). We have been "winging" it all year. Forwards coach badly needed.

If Banty and his management team get to see the latter stages of the club championship with the intention of introducing some new players to the squad (with specific positions as a priority) and get working with them before and the winter break, will that improve things somewhat next year.

Is there any point getting rid of the present set up unless you have someone better lined up to replace them. If not you could really go backwards. There is something to be said for continuity.
Post by: thejuice on July 17, 2011, 07:59:15 AM
Liam Harnan maybe  :P
Post by: seafoid on July 17, 2011, 08:42:08 AM
Quote from: Hardy on July 17, 2011, 12:39:19 AM
Worst of all possible worlds - we lose, but not by a big enough hiding to get rid of this ludicrous regime. The RTÉ pundits praising our "progress" seals our fate of being struck with this setup.

What progress have we made? Is being beaten by Kildare in the qualifiers progress from being beaten by them in the QF? What's the game plan? Where is the coherent strategy? Do the players know what they're supposed to be doing? Last week a target man at full forward. This week Graham Reilly! Is that a U-turn or just random nonsense? And then Graham is taken off for not achieving something he can't have comprehended. The players nearly managed to get a result despite the absence of any direction or tactics that I could see. And no doubt the little spoofer will claim that as evidence of his restoring something to Meath football that he doesn't even understand. And it looks as though it'll be more (or less) of the same next year.

That all sounds very like the IMF bailout, Hardy.

These post mortems are more interesting than the fuball.
Getting dumped out of the championship is one of the worst markers of the year for a county with expectations. 
Post by: Lily4life on July 17, 2011, 01:19:04 PM
Delighted with the win last night. It's great to come out of Navan happy, doesn't happen too often. Some great performances from our lads.

Connolly was very solid in the goals apart from that one dodgy kickout.
The full back line did very well I thought. 
McGrillen got a great point. Foley's definitely one of the best full backs in Ireland and I thought McLoughlin did well too.
Gary White was quiet enough, wasn't surprised to see him taken off.
Morgan O'Flaherty had a fine performance but Emmet Bolton was the best at the back.
What price would you have got him to score a goal? He's having a great year.
Flynn did well in the middle considering it was his first match back. Thought he looked a little bit rusty at times but it's great to see him back.
Doyle was a bit quieter than usual but scored some great points.
In the half forward line O'Neill did well. Eoghan O'Flaherty has had better days. I think he holds onto the ball too long at times.
Leper was quieter than usual but he's still one of our best players.
Rob Kelly was quiet, thought he looked a bit sluggish.
Tomas O'Connor had another fine performance, involved in both goals. Wasn't as dominant as in the Laois match but he was on one of the best full backs in the country last night.
Fionn Dowling lacks the experience needed for these big games in my opinion although he didn't do too bad.

Was impressed with the subs.
James Kavanagh made a big difference when he came on. He showed for every ball and there'll be lots of supporters left scratching their heads if he's left on the bench again next weekend.
Flanagan was great when he came on too, did a good job on Sheridan.
Brophy, Sweeney and Lyons all played their part when they came on as well. It's great to know we've such a strong bench.

Roll on next weekend now! Come on the Lilies!
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 17, 2011, 07:26:18 PM
Just watched a re-run of the game, didn't realise how influential Kavanagh was after his introduction.

Our defence is playing very well our biggest improvement from last year and I think Connolly in goals is a massive factor in that, the full back line seem very confident in him and they are allowed focus on their own roles. Mick Foley was the best full-back on the pitch last and that says something when Kevin Reilly is playing. Midfield is a worry but Flynn (who showed his worth last night) will help solve that and young Brophy might allow JD move into forwards.

Still to go to Navan play a Meath time who were hurting, who didn't give up and still come out with the victory will mean a lot more than the facile win over Laois.

Pundits seem very b-polar and all of sudden we are the flavour of the month, it annoys but I doubt the Kildare camp pay any attention and just focus on the next game.
Post by: Jinxy on July 17, 2011, 08:39:34 PM
Kavanagh was running very long leads as they'd say in aussie rules.
30/40 yard runs from the FF line out.
King doesn't have anything like the sustained running ability needed to keep up so Kavanagh was 5 yards in front every time he ran out towards the wing.
He made a big difference when he came on.
Emmet Bolton scored a goal and a point while Seamus Kenny was off the field with a blood injury.
These are the small things that tight games hinge on.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 17, 2011, 09:24:31 PM
I thought King did a decent enough job on Kavanagh. Jimmers does look like he is coming back to some sort of form though which is promising from a Kildare point of view. He'll probably come in for Kelly the next day. I'm sure Robbie will be a bit disappointed with his performance. I think he's more effective in a central position because he lacks pace.

Menton was a big loss for Meath. If they get David Bray back and blood the likes of Newman and Dalton jnr during the league than they'll be a force next year.
Post by: mup on July 17, 2011, 09:49:14 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 16, 2011, 12:21:23 AM
jaysus talk about lowering the tone.................. micka the dub and mup, grow the hell up will ye........................that soccer shite and bigotry has no place in the Gaels game  ;) seriously all that west brit nonsense, give it a rest

Ah lads relax. it was only a bit of banter. Hence the wink smilie at the end.
Post by: Jinxy on July 17, 2011, 10:09:13 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 17, 2011, 09:24:31 PM
I thought King did a decent enough job on Kavanagh. Jimmers does look like he is coming back to some sort of form though which is promising from a Kildare point of view. He'll probably come in for Kelly the next day. I'm sure Robbie will be a bit disappointed with his performance. I think he's more effective in a central position because he lacks pace.

Menton was a big loss for Meath. If they get David Bray back and blood the likes of Newman and Dalton jnr during the league than they'll be a force next year.

I dunno what the story is with him but we need at least one tight-marking corner back.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 17, 2011, 10:27:38 PM
s kenny was massive loss when he went of with a blood injury................... was his head that bad

Refs stop games for other players if they run outta puff.....................
Post by: Armaghgeddon on July 17, 2011, 10:48:15 PM
Kildare defenders outscored their starting 6 forwards 1-4 0-3. Impressive stuff.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 17, 2011, 11:46:36 PM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on July 17, 2011, 10:48:15 PM
Kildare defenders outscored their starting 6 forwards 1-4 0-3. Impressive stuff.

Who needs forwards? They're overrated anyway
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 17, 2011, 11:53:47 PM
Total football, we're like the Dutch in the 70s, the number on your back is irrelevant  8)
Post by: Jinxy on July 18, 2011, 12:15:40 AM
Spillane is obsessed with this 'the 6 starting forwards only scored x number of points' nonsense.
Completely meaningless analysis that disregards substitutions (Kavanagh and Sweeney were forward subs and both got on the scoresheet).
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 18, 2011, 12:30:09 AM
Whatever about Spillane, I'd love to know what's written in that notebook that McStay has plonked up on his lap every Sunday. I reckon it's a list of basketball/rugby league/American football/Aussie Rules phraseology that he thinks he can apply to football:

"It was an absolute ripper of a mark by Doyle at the baseline, he avoided the attempted spear tackle by the Meath quarterback who was looking for the turnover, good hustle Des"
Post by: macdanger2 on July 18, 2011, 12:32:20 AM
Spillane got in his weekly dig about players going to the gym too much when he was on about how good J Clarke is, he never forgets to mention it!!!
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 18, 2011, 12:57:12 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 17, 2011, 11:53:47 PM
Total football, we're like the Dutch in the 70s, the number on your back is irrelevant  8)

the dutch would normally score inside the first 10 mins, unlike ure lot  ;)..........................alas its the result in the end that matters

Mcstay and the rest of the pundits are doing ye no favours
Post by: Jinxy on July 18, 2011, 08:55:44 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on July 18, 2011, 12:32:20 AM
Spillane got in his weekly dig about players going to the gym too much when he was on about how good J Clarke is, he never forgets to mention it!!!

Did he not say earlier on in the year that J Clarke needs to go to the gym?  ???
Post by: Declan on July 18, 2011, 09:14:04 AM
Impressive result from Kildare and it confirms them as third favourites for Sam. Meath put it up to them for long periods but definitely seem to lack a game plan and are dependant on individuals doing something great. Enjoyable championship game
Post by: LilySavage on July 18, 2011, 09:59:48 AM
Best display from Meath against us of the last 3, the game was there for them but thankfully we dug it out in the end. Very exciting  game to attend, good atmosphere in Navan.
Post by: Jinxy on July 18, 2011, 11:59:08 AM
Quote from: Declan on July 18, 2011, 09:14:04 AM
Impressive result from Kildare and it confirms them as third favourites for Sam. Meath put it up to them for long periods but definitely seem to lack a game plan and are dependant on individuals doing something great. Enjoyable championship game

We've a defensive game plan, possibly even a midfield game plan but as soon it's in the opposition half it's just a free for all.
Every man for himself.
Post by: Go home ref on July 18, 2011, 02:01:33 PM
Quote from: LilySavage on July 18, 2011, 09:59:48 AM
Best display from Meath against us of the last 3, the game was there for them but thankfully we dug it out in the end. Very exciting  game to attend, good atmosphere in Navan.

Yeah it was a real test of courage and guts and our lads showed they had plenty of that. We were awful for the majority of the 2nd half so it's a good sign to be able to beat Meath after playing that badly we stood up to Meath's physicality and off the ball stuff very well aswell. James Kavanagh has to start the next day he won every ball into him and I think being dropped against Laois was the kick in the arse that he needed.
Post by: Jinxy on July 18, 2011, 03:30:42 PM
Quote from: Go home ref on July 18, 2011, 02:01:33 PM

Yeah it was a real test of courage and guts and our lads showed they had plenty of that. We were awful for the majority of the 2nd half so it's a good sign to be able to beat Meath after playing that badly we stood up to Meath's physicality and off the ball stuff very well aswell. James Kavanagh has to start the next day he won every ball into him and I think being dropped against Laois was the kick in the arse that he needed.

What off the ball stuff?
Post by: Go home ref on July 18, 2011, 03:49:15 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 18, 2011, 03:30:42 PM
Quote from: Go home ref on July 18, 2011, 02:01:33 PM

What off the ball stuff?

The pulling, dragging and tripping of Johnny Doyle off the ball in the 2nd half
Post by: Jinxy on July 18, 2011, 03:51:51 PM
It's a mans game you blouse.
Post by: Go home ref on July 18, 2011, 03:58:28 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 18, 2011, 03:51:51 PM
It's a mans game you blouse.

I know it is but off the ball fouling doesn't make you a man and there's no need to be so touchy :-*
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 18, 2011, 04:04:20 PM
Tough hard game. Typical of what you'd expect from a Kildare Meath clash. Johnny was getting a bit of treatment from Brian Meade early on alright but nobody was doing any whingeing. It was heartening to see lads just getting on with it because football in general has gone too soft. Even the match on Saturday was like an afternoon tea party compared to the 1997 trilogy.
Post by: Jinxy on July 18, 2011, 05:08:39 PM
Tell that to Ciaran Lenehan!  :D
The poor lad still thinks its Saturday.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 18, 2011, 05:09:25 PM
He was a lucky lad. That's the sort of body position that can end up with a broken neck.
Post by: Hardy on July 18, 2011, 05:10:23 PM
Exactly. It was very worrying for a while there. No blame attaching to anybody, though.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 18, 2011, 05:12:44 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 18, 2011, 05:08:39 PM
Tell that to Ciaran Lenehan!  :D
The poor lad still thinks its Saturday.

If that was a kildare player on the receiving end of that, a penalty would have been awarded  ;)
Post by: AZOffaly on July 18, 2011, 05:14:40 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 18, 2011, 05:10:23 PM
Exactly. It was very worrying for a while there. No blame attaching to anybody, though.

No, just one of those things.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 18, 2011, 05:19:34 PM
Health and safety will eventually have to put a stop to these Kildare Meath matches. Only a matter of time before someone gets killed. It's a wonder that Martin Lynch escaped alive from those games in the late nineties!

(http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/e3/c7/12/99c9bfe14aa91643abc93c6012/INPHO_00006880.jpg)
(http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/0d/1d/4e/343b34d1044b50fa72470bf5aa/INPHO_00006572.jpg)
(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF1/000810.jpg)
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 18, 2011, 05:24:07 PM
S Kenny was a massive loss for the blood injury..............................game would have been stopped if it was Mr Doyle who grazed his forehead  ;)
Post by: Jinxy on July 18, 2011, 05:27:42 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 18, 2011, 05:19:34 PM
Health and safety will eventually have to put a stop to these Kildare Meath matches. Only a matter of time before someone gets killed. It's a wonder that Martin Lynch escaped alive from those games in the late nineties!

The only danger to Martin was if he landed awkwardly on one of his frequent trips to the ground.
Post by: mup on July 18, 2011, 05:40:07 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 18, 2011, 05:24:07 PM
S Kenny was a massive loss for the blood injury..............................game would have been stopped if it was Mr Doyle who grazed his forehead  ;)

You've an unhealthy fascination with all things Kildare. Everyone of your posts these days mention them in some way.

Now thats I've responded, have you got the attention you so dearly crave with all your posts? You remind me of the donkey in Shrek - 'pick me pick me pick me'
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 18, 2011, 05:45:48 PM
Quote from: mup on July 18, 2011, 05:40:07 PM

You've an unhealthy fascination with all things Kildare. Everyone of your posts these days mention them in some way.

Now thats I've responded, have you got the attention you so dearly crave with all your posts? You remind me of the donkey in Shrek - 'pick me pick me pick me'

Donkeys a legend so that will do fine with me............................ besides kildare are worthy favs for the all ireland, why wouldnt I mention them ?????.................if I didnt it would be like taking a gick without any bog roll  ;)
Post by: Jinxy on July 18, 2011, 05:51:12 PM
This isn't ResDubs sonny jim.
This board is for lads that know their football and the nordies so if all you're going to do is annoy everyone with constant jibes at Kildare you may saunter back there.
Post by: mup on July 18, 2011, 08:00:01 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 18, 2011, 05:45:48 PM
Quote from: mup on July 18, 2011, 05:40:07 PM

Donkeys a legend so that will do fine with me............................ besides kildare are worthy favs for the all ireland, why wouldnt I mention them ?????.................if I didnt it would be like taking a gick without any bog roll  ;)

Its Dublins to lose so. They beat the team that you call worthy favs.

That game last Saturday will do Kildare no harm at all. Meath had them on the ropes with about 10/12 minutes to go. In fact I'd say they were on top at this stage and looking likely winners. I have to admit we probably got a couple of softish frees that were marginal. I was more than happy to come out of Navan with a win. Shane O Rourke and big Joe probably should have put Meath two up so it could have gone either way.

However I don't think there is any AI in this Kildare team. They are behind Kerry, Cork and Dublin at best. The likes of Donegal will be hard to beat and Mayo have a talented bunch of footballers who probably like ourselves are short a few players to seriously challenge for honours. IMO Down are second only to Kerry with the set of forwards they have. The likes of Derry, Tyrone and Armagh still have a kick left in them. I like the look of Wexford too as they put one of the AI favs to the pin of their collar. They'll put it up to a lot of the teams left. Limerick with Galvin would put it up to them but I honestly can't see them beating Wexford.

At this stage it looks like Kerry, Cork and Dublin. I can't see anyone else bringing Sam home this year I'm afraid.

Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 18, 2011, 08:16:44 PM
No chance for us dubs Im afraid.................... we were deeply exposed in the leinster final, I feel a good run in the qualifiers would have done us wonders ala kildare, however we were never gonna throw a game  ;)

Jesus I thought Meath had a massive chance the other evening, they really let it slip

How poor are kildare at starting games ??? yes I know they finish strongly, but no score for nearly 10 mins and then successive penalties in two weeks ???
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 18, 2011, 08:23:36 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 18, 2011, 05:51:12 PM
This isn't ResDubs sonny jim.
This board is for lads that know their football and the nordies so if all you're going to do is annoy everyone with constant jibes at Kildare you may saunter back there.

Bit a belly tickling that is all......................and no I dont frequent res dubs as its rather 1 sided...............i remember you were a hardcore user at one stage though  ;)
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 19, 2011, 08:09:25 PM
I love the way squire in navy slacks uses all the full stops in all of his posts.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 19, 2011, 08:19:21 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 19, 2011, 08:09:25 PM
I love the way squire in navy slacks uses all the full stops in all of his posts.

Thanks gaffer................................  ;)
Post by: orangeman on July 20, 2011, 11:09:48 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2011/0720/meath.html

Loss of Geraghty was "key" says the Banty.

Post by: Jinxy on July 21, 2011, 11:21:05 AM
I'd actually agree with Banty there.
The roof would have come off the place if we brought Geraghty in for the last 15 min of that game.
I don't care how old he is he would still have the cuteness to win a free or two and make a general nuisance of himself in the FF line.