GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 11, 2018, 10:45:32 PM

Title: Leinster Senior Football Championship 2019
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 11, 2018, 10:45:32 PM
(http://i67.tinypic.com/5lz3br.jpg)

The Laois senior footballers have been drawn to face Westmeath in the quarter final of the Leinster championship for 2019.
It is a good draw for Laois as they are on the side of the draw that means they cannot face Kildare or Dublin unless we reach the final.
If Laois defeat Westmeath, they will face either Meath, Offaly or Carlow in the semi final.
John Sugrue's men will be bidding to replicate their run from last year which saw them reach the final for the first time in 11 years this year.

And it was that run that saw them seeded for tonight's draw along with Dublin, Longford and Carlow meaning they avoided having to play in the first round for only the second time since 2009.

Last year. Laois began their campaign in Round 1 away to Wexford where they trailed by ten points at half time but came back to force extra time where they eventually won.
They then faced Westmeath in the quarter final where a Paul Kingston hat-trick did the business to see Laois into their first semi final since 2009.
Here, neighbours Carlow lay in their way once more but Laois got the better of them for the third time this season to reach the final.

This ultimately proved a step too far for Laois as Dublin triumphed and Laois were eliminated two weeks later when they lost in Round 4 of the Qualifiers to Monaghan.
We can only hope that 2019 will bring half as much excitement as 2018 did.

LAOIS TODAY..
Title: Re: Leinster Football Championship 2019
Post by: Chrimtain on October 11, 2018, 11:10:16 PM
Nice draw! Can we take advantage of it though? First off its Westmeath, and they will be hungry for revenge. If we can get over that, it should be Meath, but don't write off Offaly. Could we possibly achieve the double of promotion and a Leinster Final appearance again?

Hopefully this divisional championship will throw up a few new faces who will help us achieve that.
Post by: Laois Rising on October 12, 2018, 11:39:48 AM
It's a fantastic draw and we have the added bonus of not having to face a side who has a championship game under their belts going into the quarter final. Westmeath will be much tougher proposition twelve months on from this year's championship game. Heslin and co. will be out to make amends for a write-off of a year. Things were not right in their set up this year and, with the manager that is in place now, I would expect that to be rectified by the time we face them.

The draw should also encourage buy in from lads-realistic target of a division three title and another Leinster final appearance with possibility of reaching a super-eight.
Post by: South Laois man on October 12, 2018, 01:00:12 PM
Anyone know if we have a home and away arrangement with Westmeath?
Post by: portlaoisekid on October 12, 2018, 02:02:31 PM
Decent draw, Westmeath and Meath for a place in a Leinster final is a tough test but we are capable of reaching the final.

2018 could be tough year and we badly need to unearth a number of players . If we can then we should be aiming to get into a Leinster final and push for a super 8 placing.
Post by: BallyroanAbbey on October 12, 2018, 04:08:39 PM
What i could see happening is that we finish mid table in the league leinster semi and 3rd round of qualifiers and there will be calls for sugrue's head. In the space of a year lads have went from football is dead in laois to super 8s and back to back promotions. Reality is we got way further than anyond thought but we played nobody in the league and beat wexford (D4) after extra time, a shocking Westmeath team and Carlow (D4) to get to a leinster final, hammered there no shame in that and brody prevented an annialation against Monaghan, if we got what i suggested at the start id be happy enough but unfortuntely the majority of laois football supporters way from drastically in expectations with no middle ground
Post by: Don Draper on October 12, 2018, 05:14:10 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbbey on October 12, 2018, 04:08:39 PM
What i could see happening is that we finish mid table in the league leinster semi and 3rd round of qualifiers and there will be calls for sugrae's head. In the space of a year lads have went from football is dead in laois to super 8s and back to back promotions. Reality is we got way further than anyond thought but we played nobody in the league and beat wexford (D4) after extra time, a shocking Westmeath team and Carlow (D4) to get to a leinster final, hammered there no shame in that and brody prevented an annialation against Monaghan, if we got what i suggested at the start id be happy enough but unfortuntely the majority of laois football supporters way from drastically in expectations with no middle ground
Calls for Sugrue's Head  ;D
Post by: Laoiseabu on October 13, 2018, 11:02:57 AM
I'd say Westmeath will be tougher bet this time around . You'd assume with the new manager and maybe the return of a few players would mean there house will be in order
Post by: Chrimtain on October 14, 2018, 04:44:28 PM
Could John Sugrue attract Colm Boyle and Conor Meredith back for next year?
Post by: ollie12 on October 14, 2018, 06:14:58 PM
And Robbie kehoe......
Post by: merman on October 14, 2018, 10:45:06 PM
Gary Saunders would be a fine addition.
Post by: SCFC on October 26, 2018, 05:19:26 PM
We'll be planning without Niall Donoher anyway. Big loss not just on the field but also for his presence around the dressing room and squad.
Presume Brendan Quigley is also unlikely to be back next year?
I think the 2003 and 2004 minors are down to Timmons and Begley now. Maybe Davy Conway too?
Post by: Laoiseabu on October 26, 2018, 08:25:58 PM
It's nearly the end of an era . What great stalwarts they were over the years .
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 27, 2018, 01:51:22 AM
Quote from: SCFC on October 26, 2018, 05:19:26 PM
We'll be planning without Niall Donoher anyway. Big loss not just on the field but also for his presence around the dressing room and squad.
Presume Brendan Quigley is also unlikely to be back next year?
I think the 2003 and 2004 minors are down to Timmons and Begley now. Maybe Davy Conway too?

Blow for Laois footballers as key forward set to retire

(https://www.laoistoday.ie/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/pjimage235-640x360.jpg)
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2018/10/26/blow-for-laois-footballers-as-key-forward-set-to-retire/
Post by: Don Draper on November 08, 2018, 09:50:27 AM
Sorry to see Niall retire, think he had a few more year in him. I know he had a lot of injuries, but he was in good fettle and you'd have hoped the sniff of another Leinster Final next year would have been enough to keep the horse in the race. Anyway, a good servant, boxed over his weight for a good many years. Another fine example of a man from a junior/intermediate (and now senior) club contributing handsomely to his counties cause. Courtwood have a fine tradition of doing so.

In other news, I fully expect Cahir Healy to tog out for the Laois footballers in 2019.
Post by: Laoiseabu on November 08, 2018, 10:52:03 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 08, 2018, 09:50:27 AM
Sorry to see Niall retire, think he had a few more year in him. I know he had a lot of injuries, but he was in good fettle and you'd have hoped the sniff of another Leinster Final next year would have been enough to keep the horse in the race. Anyway, a good servant, boxed over his weight for a good many years. Another fine example of a man from a junior/intermediate (and now senior) club contributing handsomely to his counties cause. Courtwood have a fine tradition of doing so.

In other news, I fully expect Cahir Healy to tog out for the Laois footballers in 2019.
I doubt Healy will tog for the footballers if I'm honest . Hurling is his "first love"
Post by: Chrimtain on November 08, 2018, 11:19:51 AM
He has said in the past that he intends to go back to the footballers before he hangs up his boots.
Post by: Don Draper on November 08, 2018, 11:24:50 AM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on November 08, 2018, 10:52:03 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 08, 2018, 09:50:27 AM

I doubt Healy will tog for the footballers if I'm honest . Hurling is his "first love"
Bide your time young man.
Post by: Laoiseabu on November 08, 2018, 12:16:04 PM
Quote from: Chrimtain on November 08, 2018, 11:19:51 AM
He has said in the past that he intends to go back to the footballers before he hangs up his boots.
Tuohy said the same thing . He would soon want to come home from Australia if that's the case . He's 29 in a couple of weeks so he'd be at his peak
Post by: Don Draper on November 08, 2018, 12:16:43 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on November 08, 2018, 12:16:04 PM
Quote from: Chrimtain on November 08, 2018, 11:19:51 AM
Tuohy said the same thing . He would soon want to come home from Australia if that's the case . He's 29 in a couple of weeks so he'd be at his peak
Tuohy is a different kettle of bananas to Cahir.
Post by: Don Draper on December 06, 2018, 12:51:10 PM
Heslin potentially gone for 2019. Definitely won't be figuring with panel until after league anyway.

Ray Connellan gone for the year.

Good news for us.
Title: Re: Leinster Senior Football Championship 2019
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on April 20, 2019, 12:14:12 AM
Lets bring this thread back into action, these games will be the next big games for our lads..
Post by: Don Draper on April 20, 2019, 06:00:54 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 06, 2018, 12:51:10 PM
Heslin potentially gone for 2019. Definitely won't be figuring with panel until after league anyway.

Ray Connellan gone for the year.

Good news for us.
Heslin is back guys, my bad.
Post by: Tony on April 20, 2019, 02:06:50 PM
I reckon 4 games in the championship for us would be good going, either through 2in leinster/2qualifiers or 1 leinster / 3 qualifiers etc. 2019 is already a success with the promotion. I don't think we're ready to be competitive with Dublin, but if we beat westmeath and are competitive with meath, I'd be delighted. Whatever happens from there is a bonus. The westmeath game is 50/50, if we do lose that, it'd be a consolation to have a run in the qualifiers. Hopefully we can make that 10% improvement required between now
  and late may to get the win. No idea how to team is going to look then and I won't dare guess, surely a few positional and tactical changes ahead. If anyone hears of challenge games ahead, let us know. Would like to have a gander at some of those
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on April 20, 2019, 04:03:37 PM
Apart from Dublin, Meath seem to be the team in Leinster to have shown the most improvement this year but apart from them we should be able to hold our own against any of the others. I think we will beat Westmeath and have a good crack at getting to another Leinster final.
Post by: The Boy Wonder on April 30, 2019, 11:57:18 PM
Isn't it strange - we know that if the lads play to their potential they could beat Westmeath and give Meath a right rattle, maybe getting to Leinster Final again.
But then you face the all powerful Dubs - what should we wish for ?
Post by: Don Draper on May 01, 2019, 08:02:50 AM
Quote from: The Boy Wonder on April 30, 2019, 11:57:18 PM
Isn't it strange - we know that if the lads play to their potential they could beat Westmeath and give Meath a right rattle, maybe getting to Leinster Final again.
Facing Dublin. Always.
Post by: portlaoisekid on May 01, 2019, 09:01:11 AM
Quote from: The Boy Wonder on April 30, 2019, 11:57:18 PM
Croke Park Leinster final day has to be the aim.

I fully expect Laois to perform well against Westmeath and in the championship in general. We are well able to beat Westmeath and Meath. In Donie and Evan we have two class forwards who are capable of doing damage, we need them on the ball as much as possible and develop a better quality of ball delivered into them, it has to be quick and accurate.
Post by: GAA-SMART on May 01, 2019, 09:12:36 AM
Leinster Final- Gives you two good darts are getting to the Super 8s instead of having to go the lenght and breathe of the country for the qualfiers trying to dodge all sorts of banana skins and Ulster teams who might go into it early- ie the likes of Cavan will be hard bet especially in Brefni or Monagahan in Omagh
Post by: Tony on May 01, 2019, 10:25:42 AM
Of course Leinster final is the aim. But of course it will be very difficult. I never get the attitude of hoping we lose so we don't play the big matches. Why are you supporting the team at all if you want them to lose, lol.
Post by: High Fielder on May 01, 2019, 11:14:09 AM
Give me the league any day. Playing teams of similar ability is the only way sport should be played. No problem having a one off FA Cup type competition, but to make the All Ireland series the epicentre of the GAA calendar is an absolute joke. Unless things change, the exodus to the US will get bigger each year. The Championship is a waste of time
Post by: Tony on May 01, 2019, 02:02:50 PM
I agree with you, HF, that makes a lot of sense. I don't see it happening though, for at least another 5- 10 years. Lots of traditionalists out there. However, we do see the excitment that massive change can bring. For example the qualifier system was a huge change from the old system, and has been a success, even though there was a lot of apprehension about it prior to it happening. But clearly a system like the league set up, in championship is the best way forward. At least 7 games for every team, and competitive matches. Ireland is a relatively small country so getting around to games isn't a big issue. The league format for championship in, let's say, Australia, would be a massive issue. The provincial system doesn't make much sense. Having said that, I would kill for laois to win Leinster this year  ;D. There certainly is and has been a magical feeling for any county to win their provincial title. Year on year though, it's ridiculous to see a provence like Connaught contrasted with Ulster or Leinster. The opposite of fairness, really.
Post by: The Boy Wonder on May 01, 2019, 05:42:46 PM
I'd love to see the GAA start with a clean slate rather than tinkering with existing competition structures.  My tuppence worth would be :

1)   Provincial Championships played off at start of year in place of O'Byrne Cup, Connacht FBD etc.
        These would be standalone competitions confined to each province

2)   The NFL transformed into Championship(s) with promotion, relegation (and maybe promotion play-offs)
        Division 1 (12 teams)
        Division 2 (10 teams)
        Division 3 (10 teams)

3)   Open-draw knockout Sam Maguire Cup competition (32 teams)
        Played alongside NFL in same manner as soccer leagues and FA Cup across the water

Re. 2019 Leinster Championship – I don't think any Laois supporter would prefer the backdoor over reaching Leinster Final. But you would not approach a Leinster Final versus the Dubs with anything near the same level of optimism as if you were facing Kildare. But we're getting way too far ahead of ourselves even talking about Leinster finals at this stage.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 06, 2019, 01:06:54 AM
              Times and dates for the 2019 Leinster Championship

(http://i64.tinypic.com/kcz0bl.jpg)

(http://oi65.tinypic.com/2vchmjk.jpg)

County by County Odds:
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/county-by-county-guide-to-the-2019-football-championship-1.3875258

A bit of Chat about the Players:

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/the-irish-times-2019-all-ireland-football-championship-vox-pop-1.3879162

Post by: Sir Alex7 on May 06, 2019, 02:28:39 AM
Stage 1...all ireland qualifiers.. 8 groups of 4...groups a-d division 1 and 2 teams top 2 qualify.groups e-h division 3 and 4 only top team qualifies
Stage 2=provinical champs.. Winners qualify to quarter finals
Stage 3=all lreland series made up of de qualifiers from stage 1 and 2
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 06, 2019, 12:16:52 PM
                                           Qualifier Draws 2019

(http://i64.tinypic.com/qrcap1.jpg)   (http://i67.tinypic.com/1z4wrp5.jpg)
Post by: Unlaoised on May 08, 2019, 04:39:12 PM
Did Laois Play cork in a friendly over the weekend?

I'm hearing it was a high scoring encounter with Laois loosing by 4 ??
Post by: Don Draper on May 09, 2019, 09:58:59 AM
Quote from: Unlaoised on May 08, 2019, 04:39:12 PM
Did Laois Play cork in a friendly over the weekend?

I'm hearing it was a high scoring encounter with Laois loosing by 4 ??
I read online somewhere that they were involved in a high scoring encounter and Laois lost by 4.
Post by: portlaoisekid on May 09, 2019, 10:59:08 AM
Heard it was a little closer than that but in any case it was a good run out but neither team at full strength.Typical challenge match.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 09, 2019, 12:46:05 PM
Cork beat them by 2 points but Cork only beat Carlow by 1 point earlier on. Then Cork go and beat the Dubs by 6 points last night... 
Post by: GAA-SMART on May 09, 2019, 12:51:14 PM
Right so are we all on Cork at 250-1 then ?  ;D
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 09, 2019, 11:42:07 PM
Quote from: GAA-SMART on May 09, 2019, 12:51:14 PM
Right so are we all on Cork at 250-1 then ?  ;D
Well, if they can beat Carlow then they're surely worth a few bob...   :'(
Post by: Tony on May 12, 2019, 12:05:55 PM
Cork are a strange team. They're relegated to Div 3, but could easily be a Div 1 team, on their day. They have the players to be a good side, they just really need to get it together. Consistency is their downfall, really; that and suspect managers and tactics / game plans. Sleeping giant at them moment.
Post by: Unlaoised on May 12, 2019, 05:47:07 PM
interesting that Offaly ran Meath so close and that Wicklow gave the Lillys a scare over the weekend.

Louth v Dublin is in portlaoise now!
Post by: GAA-SMART on May 13, 2019, 01:21:42 PM
25-05-2019 (Sat)
Leinster MHC – Preliminary Quarter Finals

Leinster SFC Quarter Final
O'Moore Park   17:00   Meath         V      Carlow
O'Moore Park   19:00   Dublin         V      Louth

Talent Academy Football Day
U14 in Ferns CoE – Laois "A" & "B"  v Louth & Wexford "A" & "B"
U15 in LOETB CoE – Laois "A" & "B"  v Offaly "A" & "B"

Busy day in OMP next Saturday !
Post by: on the hop on May 15, 2019, 09:06:00 AM
So the rumors are true, Benny Carroll gone from the panel as he is traveling to the states for the summer
Post by: les Antiques on May 15, 2019, 09:20:07 AM
He' hasn't been training with the county since the league finished I believe .
Post by: Don Draper on May 15, 2019, 09:21:25 AM
Fair play Benny, no one could blame you. Enjoy.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 15, 2019, 09:59:59 AM
Blow for Laois footballers as forward departs panel ahead of Leinster championship
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/05/15/blow-for-laois-footballers-as-forward-departs-panel-ahead-of-leinster-championship/
Post by: High Fielder on May 16, 2019, 09:35:49 AM
Disappointing but I can't blame him. I'm actually surprised more don't go. Playing for your county is an honour, but playing for nothing in every sense of the word is a waste of time.

There is no solution out there, not tiered championships, tin pot second and third rate cups, none of it can save what is a dying concept. Inter county, at its core, is boring and inequitable. I love Laois. I hope we beat Westmeath etc etc. But no harm done in the overall scheme of things if we don't.
Post by: oliverkelly on May 17, 2019, 01:01:45 PM
Roscommon beat Laois by 6 or 7 in challenge last night. Both teams started strong and made a lot of changes at half time
Post by: Zooming around on May 18, 2019, 09:26:41 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on May 16, 2019, 09:35:49 AM
Disappointing but I can't blame him. I'm actually surprised more don't go. Playing for your county is an honour, but playing for nothing in every sense of the word is a waste of time.

There is no solution out there, not tiered championships, tin pot second and third rate cups, none of it can save what is a dying concept. Inter county, at its core, is boring and inequitable. I love Laois. I hope we beat Westmeath etc etc. But no harm done in the overall scheme of things if we don't.

I have no idea why a lad would train all winter, play the league and the leave the panel just before the championship. When was the gear handed out as a matter of interest?
Post by: Don Draper on May 18, 2019, 10:56:40 AM
Quote from: Zooming around on May 18, 2019, 09:26:41 AM

I have no idea why a lad would train all winter, play the league and the leave the panel just before the championship. When was the gear handed out as a matter of interest?
f**k off
Post by: Tony on May 18, 2019, 03:57:02 PM
For once I'm with Don on this one. "Zooming around" - do you honestly think someone would do hard winter training and league training, giving up 15 - 20 hours of their week, every week, for a bit of kit? Cop yourself on lad, you're a holy show  ;D
Post by: Zooming around on May 20, 2019, 09:12:53 AM
Quote from: Tony on May 18, 2019, 03:57:02 PM
For once I'm with Don on this one. "Zooming around" - do you honestly think someone would do hard winter training and league training, giving up 15 - 20 hours of their week, every week, for a bit of kit? Cop yourself on lad, you're a holy show  ;D

Fair enough the comment on the gear might be OTT but you've kind of made my point for me when you say "do you honestly think someone would do hard winter training and league training, giving up 15 - 20 hours of their week, every week" . Why would a lad do all that and then leave a matter of days before the reason he has done all that arrives. It's baffling. You must also remember that he has taken up a place on the panel that could have been allocated to a player who is committed to the championship. All the game time he got in the League could have been given to someone else to see if they could stake a claim for a place in the championship.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on May 20, 2019, 09:33:20 AM
Is there not a rule if you play championship you can't play in America that year ?  I have no idea is this the issue for Benny but seems likely. 
Post by: High Fielder on May 20, 2019, 10:57:59 AM
Quote from: Zooming around on May 20, 2019, 09:12:53 AM
Quote from: Tony on May 18, 2019, 03:57:02 PM

Fair enough the comment on the gear might be OTT but you've kind of made my point for me when you say "do you honestly think someone would do hard winter training and league training, giving up 15 - 20 hours of their week, every week" . Why would a lad do all that and then leave a matter of days before the reason he has done all that arrives. It's baffling. You must also remember that he has taken up a place on the panel that could have been allocated to a player who is committed to the championship. All the game time he got in the League could have been given to someone else to see if they could stake a claim for a place in the championship.

The point you make about taking someone else's place is reasonable. But I doubt he committed to the panel knowing all along that he was going to America. It was probably a snap decision, and Laois or similar counties have no enticement beyond a tracksuit to keep him here. They give their time freely and in all honesty I'm amazed that more don't go to America for the summer. This is the GAA's long term problem in a nutshell. They love this romantic notion of the amateur player (a crock of shite in some counties) but for lads like Benny or in fact any lad in Laois, this strikes me as a golden opportunity. I don't begrudge him one bit. I wish he was playing Sunday, because in my opinion he's our best half forward by a mile, and only getting better. But such is life. 3 months in America or facing the Qualifiers at some stage? No brainer
Post by: The PRO on May 20, 2019, 11:11:15 AM

::) New level of stupid. Train your arse off for 4 or 5 months for a few bits of O'Neills...
Post by: Don Draper on May 20, 2019, 12:40:41 PM
Quote from: The PRO on May 20, 2019, 11:11:15 AM

::) New level of stupid. Train your arse off for 4 or 5 months for a few bits of O'Neills...
Those half zips and gilets are delish man.
Post by: Zooming around on May 20, 2019, 01:46:41 PM
Quote from: The PRO on May 20, 2019, 11:11:15 AM

I've seen it before
Post by: Tony on May 20, 2019, 02:07:20 PM
Yeah I seen it before too, at the U-14 club training. Would you ever cop on, you're still spouting that! Have you ever seen a SENIOR INTER COUNTY PLAYER do 15-20 hours per week since December for a bit of kit? You're the one resurrecting this. So go on and tell us, when did you see any fella give 20 hours per week x 26 = 520 hours since december for a tracksuit and a bag?! WHEN? You're talking some nonsense. You're turning into a joke there lad. Best come off the site for a while.
Post by: Don Draper on May 20, 2019, 02:12:15 PM
Quote from: Tony on May 20, 2019, 02:07:20 PM
Yeah I seen it before too, at the U-14 club training. Would you ever cop on, you're still spouting that! Have you ever seen a SENIOR INTER COUNTY PLAYER do 15-20 hours per week since December for a bit of kit? You're the one resurrecting this. So go on and tell us, when did you see any fella give 20 hours per week x 26 = 520 hours since december for a tracksuit and a bag?! WHEN? You're talking some nonsense. You're turning into a joke there lad. Best come off the site for a while.
Dont forget the Gilet
Post by: Countyminor on May 20, 2019, 02:58:41 PM
Benny Carroll master manipulator, successfully mugged Sugrue off for a half zip, polo shirt and gear bag before riding off into the J1 sunset, absolutely beautiful.
Post by: Don Draper on May 20, 2019, 03:06:46 PM
Quote from: Countyminor on May 20, 2019, 02:58:41 PM
Benny Carroll master manipulator, successfully mugged Sugrue off for a half zip, polo shirt and gear bag before riding off into the J1 sunset, absolutely beautiful.
And a Gilet.
Post by: Zooming around on May 20, 2019, 03:34:25 PM
Jaysus I've touched a nerve here. What are ye? Benny's family or something.
My original point still stands. Why would a lad do what he did. It's both baffling and selfish to occupy a place on a panel and not be around for the championship.
You don't seriously expect me to name names do you but yes, i have seen it before: several times in fact.

Using CAPS to shout and roar and telling someone to "f**k off" are hardly good debating techniques. If ye're not able for the internet stay off it.  I've already scaled back on the gear comment and concentrated on my original core point...
Post by: Don Draper on May 20, 2019, 03:38:36 PM
Quote from: Zooming around on May 20, 2019, 03:34:25 PM
Jaysus I've touched a nerve here. What are ye? Benny's family or something.
My original point still stands. Why would a lad do what he did. It's both baffling and selfish to occupy a place on a panel and not be around for the championship.
You don't seriously expect me to name names do you but yes, i have seen it before: several times in fact.

Using CAPS to shout and roar and telling someone to "f**k off" are hardly good debating techniques. If ye're not able for the internet stay off it.  I've already scaled back on the gear comment and concentrated on my original core point...
He did it because when he went in he may have not been planning on going to America. He did it because the training is good and the set up is admirable. He did it because he wanted to push himself to improve. If there was another player in the county better than him, he'd have been on the panel. He did it because he wanted to contribute and he shouldn't be punished for having a change of heart midway through the season. If the chap wants to go to America before setting into a life behind a desk and bursting his bollocks to play for Laois for the next 10 years, he should have the option to do so.
Post by: Laois Rising on May 20, 2019, 05:01:27 PM
You make out committing 15-20 to Laois training a week as being a chore. Most lads-if they have the time to give to it- actually enjoy the training, being involved with a well run set up and playing competitive games. Ask Ross Munnelly at 36 years of age and he will tell you that he wouldn't dream of doing anything else.

The US is a great opportunity for young lads to experience. The opportunity arose and he went with it. It's not like he went out to deceive Sugru or rest of panel. He's a loss but it gives others an opportunity to now step up.

You could also make the argument that by having Benny involved with panel up to now that he was driving those around him eyeing up a position in half forward line to improve their own game considering the competition for places. The more high quality players who have in training with the county the better it helps raise standards of the collective.   
Post by: Tony on May 20, 2019, 10:40:58 PM
Quote from: Zooming around on May 20, 2019, 03:34:25 PM
Using CAPS to shout and roar and telling someone to "f**k off" are hardly good debating techniques. If ye're not able for the internet stay off it. 
Don't act the victim here kid. You're the one accusing a good young lad with a very good name of manipulating and using the laois set up for a bit of gear. All that and from the safety of your anon username; a cowardly, malicious rumour against a good honest young laois lad. Play the victim all you want. That stuff will not be tolerated.
Post by: les Antiques on May 21, 2019, 07:57:15 AM
Well best of luck to Benny Stateside.  You only live once !!
Any predictions on a team lads ? Looks like Westmeath will go in as slight favourites.
Post by: Helix. on May 21, 2019, 08:53:36 AM
Quote from: les Antiques on May 21, 2019, 07:57:15 AM
Well best of luck to Benny Stateside.  You only live once !!
Any predictions on a team lads ? Looks like Westmeath will go in as slight favourites.

If Laois play any way to their potential, particularly up front and cut down on wide count they're in with a great shout. Rightly so going in as underdogs with 2 consecutive losses against them however hoping they'll do the business. Nullify Ger Egan will be the big test from the last day in Croke Park.
We need to target their full back line early and hopefully rattle them! Should be the makings of a good game and decent crowd for double header.
Post by: les Antiques on May 21, 2019, 09:13:10 AM
Interested to see our Midfield pairing . Begley and JOL with Lillis operating on the half forward could be an option Sunday .

Seemingly Carlow will learn there fate tonight regarding there suspensions appeal . Murphy the most likely to get off I  hear .
Post by: SCFC on May 21, 2019, 03:54:12 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on May 21, 2019, 07:57:15 AM
Any predictions on a team lads ?
I'll guess;
Brody
Attride Timmons Dillon
Scully Begley O'Flynn
Lillis O'Loughlin
O'Carroll Lowry O'Connor
Munnelly D Kingston P Kingston

I'm only guessing though.
Post by: les Antiques on May 21, 2019, 04:04:56 PM
I think you have the goalie and back 6 spot on .
Paul Kingston had a quite league by his standards , my choice would have been Cahillane . It'll be interesting.
Post by: SCFC on May 21, 2019, 06:12:41 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on May 21, 2019, 04:04:56 PM
I think you have the goalie and back 6 spot on .
Paul Kingston had a quite league by his standards , my choice would have been Cahillane . It'll be interesting.
Cahillane hasn't trained for a couple of weeks so I'm guessing he won't start.
Boyle might start. But I was fierce disappointed with him in the league final.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 21, 2019, 11:55:48 PM
The old injury bug strikes again....

Double blow for Laois footballers ahead of championship opener
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/05/21/double-blow-for-laois-footballers-ahead-of-championship-opener/

(https://www.laoistoday.ie/wp-content/uploads/2019/05/Optimized-Trevor-Collins-640x493.jpg)
Post by: les Antiques on May 22, 2019, 08:22:02 AM
Carlow bans all upheld .
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 22, 2019, 02:39:20 PM
Laois manager Sugrue hits out at 'two tier' football championship suggestion
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/05/22/laois-manager-sugrue-hits-out-at-two-tier-football-championship-suggestion/

Sugrue keen to push on
http://hoganstand.com/Laois/article/index/299543?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

(https://www.laoistoday.ie/wp-content/uploads/2018/07/1524793-e1530789282351-640x469.jpg)
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 22, 2019, 02:40:39 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on May 22, 2019, 08:22:02 AM
Carlow bans all upheld .

Hopefully that band of thugs will be banned for a long time..
Post by: Gmac on May 23, 2019, 01:53:52 AM
Laois odds of losing 3 times in 3/4 months to same opposition have to be pretty slim
What are the bookies saying ?
Post by: SCFC on May 23, 2019, 06:29:07 AM
Quote from: Gmac on May 23, 2019, 01:53:52 AM
Laois odds of losing 3 times in 3/4 months to same opposition have to be pretty slim
PP goes Westmeath evens and us 11/10.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 23, 2019, 09:12:11 PM
And so it Begins....

(https://pbs.twimg.com/ad_img/1130500389609070598/8sTXGPdG?format=jpg&name=orig)
Post by: The Boy Wonder on May 23, 2019, 09:29:43 PM
Who is captain this year - Gareth Dillon or Stephen Attride ?
Post by: Countyminor on May 24, 2019, 12:40:15 AM
Attride is captain, Dillon and O'Connor were picked as vice captains.

Given injuries, I think 1-9 picks itself for Sunday. Brody; Attride, Timmons, Dillon; Scully, Begley, O'Flynn; O'Loughlin, Lillis.

Predicting the forward line-up is practically impossible, aside from Donie and Evan. Not even worth speculating over. Sean Byrne would be an interesting selection if fully fit. Dicey if fit would bring real pace and energy to a team that looked slow and ponderous last time out.
Post by: Giovanni on May 24, 2019, 09:20:29 AM
I'd love to see Quigley at midfield and don't concede the kick outs as we've done in previous games
Post by: Countyminor on May 24, 2019, 10:11:01 PM
John's started the mind games
Post by: on the hop on May 24, 2019, 10:12:24 PM
That's a strange team, must be injuries??
Post by: blueandwhite1 on May 24, 2019, 10:13:16 PM
Quote from: Countyminor on May 24, 2019, 10:11:01 PM
John's started the mind games

Team pulled out of a hat maybe?
Post by: Don Draper on May 24, 2019, 10:17:18 PM
Very happy with that team. Laois by 4.
Post by: Chrimtain on May 24, 2019, 10:26:36 PM
Wow! Some surprises there. Could this really be the starting team? No Attride, no Donie. Very strange.

Best of luck to them nonetheless.
Post by: Countyminor on May 24, 2019, 10:28:44 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on May 24, 2019, 10:17:18 PM
Very happy with that team. Laois by 4.

Only 4?
Post by: Chrimtain on May 24, 2019, 10:33:52 PM
Is this really the team?
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 24, 2019, 11:07:09 PM
It certainly is.....

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/05/24/laois-senior-football-team-for-leinster-quarter-final-against-westmeath-is-announced/

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D7XFVAbWwAICBp3.jpg)
Post by: merman on May 25, 2019, 01:27:47 AM
Surely one of the Kingstons are starting?
Post by: justinn on May 25, 2019, 08:02:29 AM
13. paul Kingston
Post by: Blow-in on May 25, 2019, 08:59:48 AM
Attride injured seemingly. Donie not starting due to training performances by all accounts
Post by: The Monument Road on May 25, 2019, 12:34:52 PM
Quote from: Batman!!! on May 25, 2019, 08:59:48 AM
Attride injured seemingly. Donie not starting due to training performances by all accounts
it's a pity if true..thought he would put it in with Sugrue. Unfortunately Donie never reached his undoubted potential and he will probably end up the same...I have a notion it's his last year..
Post by: Chrimtain on May 25, 2019, 12:38:26 PM
Or is he injured?
Post by: Chrimtain on May 25, 2019, 12:41:52 PM
Last year it was Westmeath who were in disarray.
Post by: SCFC on May 25, 2019, 03:34:25 PM
Donie is injured. He's on the bench but Attride is completely out.
Post by: The Monument Road on May 25, 2019, 05:25:49 PM
Quote from: SCFC on May 25, 2019, 03:34:25 PM
Donie is injured. He's on the bench but Attride is completely out.
glad to hear that..we need him no matter what state he is in
Post by: Nameless on May 26, 2019, 11:10:18 AM
Can't see us winning this I'm afraid. Inexperienced wing backs and Booth has struggled previously when it came to championship football means our back line could be under pressure. Still slow around the middle which Westmeath have exposed in our previous meetings. O'Connor and O'Reilly do add some pace. I'm not sure why Scully is not starting after a very impressive league campaign. Then no Donie up front will obviously weaken us. We have no left footed free taker on the field which has cost us scores earlier in the league. We have a few players to come in like Quigley and Kingston if he's any way fit. Hopefully they all step up and put in a great performance and hopefully a good crowd travels over.
Post by: Tony on May 26, 2019, 12:20:36 PM
Best of luck to all involved today. Odd team named but we're not at training every evening so we don't know who's performing etc and it could change before throw in. I do see a few weak spots on the team but we have to go with it. Hoping to be surprised but I can see another tight match with westmeath coming out on top. Regardless, looking forward to supporting the team and heading over now after what seems like an age since the league! Laois abu
Post by: Don Draper on May 26, 2019, 12:41:53 PM
No excuses. This is Championship. Excuses can f**k off.
Post by: Joeythelips on May 26, 2019, 04:08:53 PM
Job done, well done lads.
Post by: Don Draper on May 26, 2019, 04:12:43 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on May 26, 2019, 12:41:53 PM
No excuses. This is Championship. Excuses can f**k off.
I love these boys. Warriors.
Post by: GAA-SMART on May 26, 2019, 04:20:05 PM
Great Result. Well done to Players / Management
Post by: Gmac on May 26, 2019, 05:31:00 PM
Quote from: Gmac on May 23, 2019, 01:53:52 AM
[/quote stats do not lie 3 times in a row to Westmeath doesn't happen well done Laois
Post by: Nameless on May 26, 2019, 07:05:21 PM
Great result and performance. We battled hard and deserved the win. When Timmons went off early, we had 3 defenders making their championship debuts. That our defence was so strong and only conceded 10 points tells a lot. I thought Booth had an excellent game as did our two young wing backs. O'Loughlin had a strong game but seemed to tire in the second half, many players did in fairness as it was hot on the pitch. O'Reilly and O'Connor did some amount of running, up and down the pitch, great effort.
It was a strange enough game in that not a lot of ball went into the full forward lines because of the wind. Paul Kingston did well with the limited ball he got and O'Carroll was superb again. Scully had a great game when he came on at half time. His direct running style causes teams problems. We telegraphed our kick outs for Quigley when he came on and Westmeath mopped them up. Lowry was lively on his introduction and scored a great point and Donie got on some ball and his composure helped us over the line.
Meath will be a massive step up. Hopefully, we'll have players back fit. Attride should be as should Donie. I'd say Timmons is unlikely but Begley should be ok. Then Collins and Cahilane are maybes. It has to be said though, with some players having such good games, it's going to be hard to get back on the team for some.
Post by: High Fielder on May 26, 2019, 09:20:52 PM
That was some team performance. Those lads worked their asses off for the jersey today. I have to be honest and say I didn't expect much heading over. I should have had more faith. This man Sugrue is a cute hoor. He let them win the battles and all the time the plot to win the war was being worked on. Some of their star men were nullified today. And just to make it sweeter, we had plenty to contend with injury wise. I have so much respect for Heslin and Martin because they deserve it. They are good enough to play in the best of teams. But it was nicer watching them hit brick wall after brick wall and Dillon throwing himself at everything that looked threatening. I love what these lads are doing for the jersey and fair play to everyone involved.
Post by: Don Draper on May 26, 2019, 09:28:10 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on May 26, 2019, 09:20:52 PM
That was some team performance. Those lads worked their asses off for the jersey today. I have to be honest and say I didn't expect much heading over. I should have had more faith. This man Sugrue is a cute hoor. He let them win the battles and all the time the plot to win the war was being worked on. Some of their star men were nullified today. And just to make it sweeter, we had plenty to contend with injury wise. I have so much respect for Heslin and Martin because they deserve it. They are good enough to play in the best of teams. But it was nicer watching them hit brick wall after brick wall and Dillon throwing himself at everything that looked threatening. I love what these lads are doing for the jersey and fair play to everyone involved.
Well said
Post by: Brandon on May 26, 2019, 11:01:53 PM
Surprised Ross Didn't come on very upset over that. First Championship game he hasn't played since he started off in 2003.
Post by: Tony on May 27, 2019, 03:14:50 AM
Why would you get upset over that. This isn't a testimonial game. It's a serious championship game. No room for sentiment, best team plays, full stop.
Brilliant, gritty performance by these lads. Absolutely agree with everything high fielder said. The workrate and effort all put in was immense! So proud to support this team. Huge pride in the jersey. Amazing lads, all of them. Thank you to all, including management. That's a big improvement since the league, best performance all year. Meath will be a step up but we'll enjoy tonight and we won't fear them either.
Post by: Don Draper on May 27, 2019, 06:34:28 AM
Quote from: Brandon on May 26, 2019, 11:01:53 PM
Surprised Ross Didn't come on very upset over that. First Championship game he hasn't played since he started off in 2003.
Ross doesn't want your pity, nor token gestures
Post by: thejuice on May 27, 2019, 08:37:39 AM
Meath team that played Laois in December
Andrew Colgan; Seamus Lavin, Bryan Menton, Ronan Ryan; James McEntee, Donal Keoghan, Gavin McCoy; Sean Tobin, Adam Flanagan; Daniel Quinn, Darragh Campion, Bryan McMahon; James Conlon, Mickey Newman, Thomas O'Reilly.

Meath team that played Carlow on Saturday
Andrew Colgan; Seamus Lavin, Conor McGill, Shane Gallagher; Padraic Harnan, Donal Keogan, Gavin McCoy; Bryan Menton, Adam Flanagan; Cillian O'Sullivan, Bryan McMahon, Ben Brennan; Sean Tobin, Mickey Newman, Thomas O'Reilly.

As you'll see we've been at playing near full strength all year long to try get promoted. Our fitness levels were near championship levels in December. So I imagine things are much closer now in terms of fitness.
Post by: GAA-SMART on May 27, 2019, 08:49:15 AM
All Ireland Qualifier draw Rd. 1 - @louthgaa v @AontroimGAA @TipperaryGAA v @OfficialDownGAA @LeitrimGAA v @wicklowgaa @OfficialWexGAA v @derry @Offaly_GAA v @LondainGAA @monaghangaa v @FermanaghGAA @Carlow_GAA v @OfficialLDGAA /@KildareGAA @westmeath_gaa v @WaterfordGAA

Some interesting games there- Monaghan v Fermanagh will be tasty enough- Derry wont like having to travel to Wexford Park- even tho Wexford are pure muck Derry arent much better.
Post by: redsetanta on May 27, 2019, 11:07:11 AM
https://www.gaa.ie/news-archive/news/gaa-ie-football-team-of-the-week-x7275/?fbclid=IwAR0C-YRlSpJnB38EmGx04O0_4N3BOUCt3q1gAVoW5JMH_43OZHcoHKe_xcU (https://www.gaa.ie/news-archive/news/gaa-ie-football-team-of-the-week-x7275/?fbclid=IwAR0C-YRlSpJnB38EmGx04O0_4N3BOUCt3q1gAVoW5JMH_43OZHcoHKe_xcU)

Evan O'Carroll and Gareth Dillon make team of the week.
Post by: Countyminor on May 27, 2019, 11:32:28 AM
In general the game was a disappointment as a spectacle. John's a shrewd hoor, we learnt our lessons and didn't play into their hands. I think Dinny Booth proved myself and quite a few more wrong. Dillon outstanding. All debutants acquitted themselves really well. To lose someone like Timmons and still hold the opposition scoreless for about 15 minutes more, albeit with wind advantage, is some going. Very proud of this group, they are as honest and as hard working as it gets. Onto Croker, albeit a big improvement needed.

Special mention to Dicey. So happy to see him back and firing, worked his arse off all day. Some going for a lad who's only played 2 or 3 competitive games in a year.
Post by: les Antiques on May 27, 2019, 04:19:24 PM
Nullifying Heslin and in particular Kierans Martins general involvement yesterday was executed superbly.  I just wonder will we have similiar plan against meath with just under 2 weeks preparation.!?  Anyway I still we will give Meath a good rattle .
Timmons definitely out ?
Post by: Brandon on May 27, 2019, 04:34:27 PM
Evan O' Carroll in last 3 for footballer of the week. Keep It Up Evan great stuff.
Post by: SCFC on May 27, 2019, 05:17:19 PM
Quote from: thejuice on May 27, 2019, 08:37:39 AM
Meath team that played Laois in December
Andrew Colgan; Seamus Lavin, Bryan Menton, Ronan Ryan; James McEntee, Donal Keoghan, Gavin McCoy; Sean Tobin, Adam Flanagan; Daniel Quinn, Darragh Campion, Bryan McMahon; James Conlon, Mickey Newman, Thomas O'Reilly.

Meath team that played Carlow on Saturday
Andrew Colgan; Seamus Lavin, Conor McGill, Shane Gallagher; Padraic Harnan, Donal Keogan, Gavin McCoy; Bryan Menton, Adam Flanagan; Cillian O'Sullivan, Bryan McMahon, Ben Brennan; Sean Tobin, Mickey Newman, Thomas O'Reilly.

As you'll see we've been at playing near full strength all year long to try get promoted. Our fitness levels were near championship levels in December. So I imagine things are much closer now in terms of fitness.
Welcome to the Laois page. Interesting to see how your team has been quite strong all year.
We still probably don't know our best 15 and it's strange to be going into a Leinster semi final with so many questions over the team.
Timmons and Attride would be massive pluses for us if right for Sunday week. Collins would be good cover. Big Donie? I just don't know anymore. Class footballer but just not fit enough for the real top level.
Post by: Laoiseabu on May 28, 2019, 11:56:47 AM
Meath up next . Was at their game against Carlow and they will be a big step up from Westmeath especially with their pacy fowards in the wide spaces of Croke Park . Offaly gave them a big scare so if we apply ourselves well we have a chance . It will be important to keep it very tight and crowded in the backline and try to get quick quality ball into O'Carroll (and Donie if he plays ) . I wouldn't like to see our backs left in one to one battles with their fowards therefore we will need to crowd it and force turnovers . Timmons( broken arm )will definitely be out  and Begley( ankle )is doubtful . We may see booth going fullback and Attride coming back into the corner . If Begley is out I expect Pigott to be given the nod at centre back . I Think scully is more than worth his play either as a half back or half foward.
Post by: Tony on May 28, 2019, 03:03:27 PM
We're getting a bit unlucky with some key injuries at an important time. Timmons is a big loss but in fairness, other lads showed up against W.meath and we weren't wanting for effort, that's for sure. I'd prefer to see 15 less talented lads give 100% VS 15 more talented lads give 80%, any day. The performance against Westmeath was excellent. I think westmeath are a good, well drilled, talented side and I wouldn't be surprised if we see them around round 4 of the qualifiers. My men of the match would have been Dillon, Booth, Begley, JOL, Scully and Evan. I also thought O Sullivan and Lowry did well, as did Paul Kingston.

I also would like us to go for the jugular more. It's the only chance we'll have against better opposition. There were chances in that match to get goals if we just saw the free man available. We'll need goals vs Meath to have a chance as they are looking fast, sharp and they have good scorers. I hope this is something John will drill in training. If the goal is on, we have to take it. Dublin do it a lot - they could take the point but a lot of the time they have the vision to work a goal. I noticed it at the match itself but also when watching back footage later. I really hope Scully starts the next day - there's nothing like seeing a lad terrorising the opposition like that.
Post by: on the hop on May 29, 2019, 12:22:52 AM
That's a big loss if the Timmons injury is that bad. Newman is a key man for Meath and we will need someone playing in front of him and hopefully that's Begley. I still have my doubts about piggotts positioning at times in the centre but in fairness that was a very inexperienced back line that finished and it held firm. Meath seemed to have pressed Carlow high on the kick outs and I would expect the same with us as we struggled at times when Westmeath pressed. Brody wouldn't have the biggest boot to go over it so hopefully we can work them better.

As said above if we could get a few goals it would really rattle them. I would start the front three again as I felt sorry for Murphy with no ball coming in and James Dolan parked In front of him. It was probably tactical with the wind in mind but A lot of ball going in was poor and into the corners and with only half forwards and midfield sitting back often it was left to moments of brilliance to clip over scores. We badly miss a link man at centre forward and Benny Carroll probably would have done that role but we have to work with what we have. It will interesting to see what game plan we go with, a more cautious plan like last weekend or go after them like Offaly did.
Post by: Laois Rising on May 29, 2019, 11:20:39 AM
 Timmons loss will be tested by Newman as he has had a great year so far. We will need to position someone in front of him to provide cover to whoever ends up marking him on the day. As for Piggott he is improving all of the time- the Louth and Westmeath games in Croker taught us a lot about how we need to set up defensively playing in croker. Badly exposed at times in both games. Meath will exploit similar failings as there is plenty of speed in their team.

Donie will be needed if we are to overcome Meath. Hopefully he will be fit to start. Evan will be a marked man after his performance against Wesmeath. It might take some of the heat off Donie as normally he was the one double and at times trebled marked over the years. 
Post by: blueandwhite1 on May 29, 2019, 12:45:20 PM
Pace will be key in Croker with the big spaces and the fast surface. Great that so many of the faster young lads did well in Tullamore, we will need them in Dublin.
Post by: Unlaoised on May 29, 2019, 01:35:19 PM
First up a great win well done to all the lads they showed real pride in the jersey and the support really got behind them despite the Longford ref trying to bring westmeath back into it.

Timmons is a big blow ...id prefer Piggott at full back and let booth man Mark
Post by: Joeythelips on May 29, 2019, 05:24:27 PM
I have not seen any Laois games but going by match reports this year the one thing that seems to stand out is the quality of our panel as most have been given decent game time by Sugrue. This has been one of his great traits in fairness, no one is above dropping or is indispensable if they are not putting in a shift. Lads know if they are working hard enough they will get a chance.
Timmons is a loss but it's a chance for someone else to do a job. Meath are definitely much improved this year and will be a huge challenge, but thats what championship football is all about.
Post by: Unlaoised on June 04, 2019, 09:15:21 PM
Who's all going Sunday I for one cannot wait ...love playing Meath in croker
Post by: Tony on June 04, 2019, 09:42:58 PM
Yep, going here with the young crew, win or lose it'll be great to support the lads. Delighted with how we're going really, so for me, anything from here is a bonus. Great to see us doing well in Leinster again after all those barron years. 1 final and now a semi final (and maybe another final if we're lucky) in 2 years is good going, especially considering where we were just a couple years back. All we can hope for is progress and to give our all and that's what we're seeing. 

In relation to the match, I see Meath being too fast and pacey for us on the day, a big step up from Westmeath. Probably 5 points in it or so. Of course, I hope I'm wrong. Never know. It'll be interesting to see the teams named...
Post by: Don Draper on June 04, 2019, 10:21:02 PM
We won't fear Meath in Croker.
Post by: on the hop on June 04, 2019, 11:39:29 PM
We will have to up our scoring rate, I don't think we have got over 13 points in any of the last games we have played there
Post by: Don Draper on June 05, 2019, 08:09:07 AM
Quote from: on the hop on June 04, 2019, 11:39:29 PM
We will have to up our scoring rate, I don't think we have got over 13 points in any of the last games we have played there
Carlow being one of those, Dublin the other, and the league final in which we kicked about 500 wides.
Post by: SCFC on June 05, 2019, 02:48:05 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 05, 2019, 08:09:07 AM
Carlow being one of those, Dublin the other, and the league final in which we kicked about 500 wides.
We played Louth there too.
Post by: Tony on June 05, 2019, 03:35:15 PM
Yeah, we don't seem to be a high goal scoring county really, for years. We'll need to take our goal chances if we're to beat Meath in my opinion. Dublin do it a lot - any half chance at all, they go for goal. I'm not comparing us to Dublin but there's no reason why Evan or Paul or whoever can't back themselves, take on their man and run straight for their goal, terrorise them. Or better still: look up and see the man running towards goal in a better position. We could have had a few goals vs Westmeath in my opinion but we took the safe option. Of course you can't go for goals all the time but when the opportunity is there, why not! Goals make a massive difference to the momentum of the game and if we can grab a couple on Sunday, who knows.
Post by: The Boy Wonder on June 05, 2019, 04:20:33 PM
Forecast gives rain for Sunday afternoon - might not make any difference but sometimes it can work in favour of the older and slower team.
Meath have a few speed merchants and Laois do have a number of lads who have a lot of mileage on the clock.
Post by: Don Draper on June 06, 2019, 06:37:48 AM
Quote from: SCFC on June 05, 2019, 02:48:05 PM
I refuse to acknowledge that fixture
Post by: The PRO on June 06, 2019, 03:54:15 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 06, 2019, 06:37:48 AM
Quote from: SCFC on June 05, 2019, 02:48:05 PM
I refuse to acknowledge that fixture
So did some of our players!😀
Post by: Tony on June 07, 2019, 10:38:54 PM
Team officially named for Sunday:

LAOIS: Graham Brody (Portlaoise); Stephen Attride (Killeshin), Denis Booth (The Heath), Gareth Dillon (Portlaoise; Sean O'Flynn (Courtwood), Robbie Pigott (Portarlington), Paddy O'Sullivan (Portarlington); John O'Loughlin (St Brigid's), Kieran Lillis (Portlaoise); Daniel O'Reilly (Graiguecullen), Conor Boyle (Portlaoise), Damien O'Connor (Timahoe); Paul Kingston (Arles-Killeen), Colm Murphy (Portarlington), Evan O'Carroll (Crettyard).
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 08, 2019, 12:13:37 AM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D8e9PyeXUAEYe6P.jpg)
Post by: Unlaoised on June 08, 2019, 12:18:25 AM
What's wrong with Begley ?
Massive loss
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 08, 2019, 12:23:46 AM
Quote from: Unlaoised on June 08, 2019, 12:18:25 AM
What's wrong with Begley ?
Massive loss

Hasn't recovered from the ankle injury he picked up during the Westmeath game..
Post by: The Monument Road on June 08, 2019, 10:32:22 AM
And what's wrong with Donie
Post by: Don Draper on June 08, 2019, 12:28:21 PM
Great team.

Laois by 5
Post by: Tony on June 08, 2019, 01:31:49 PM
Consolation here is that we have a strong bench. Donie made a substantial difference when he came on against westmeath but he's still not 100%fit to start. Presumably Begley will also be available from the bench but he's not ready to start. Timmons is a big loss but a broken hand usually takes 3-5 weeks to heal, so we might see him for the next match or one after that. Missing our main full back, centre back and centre forward is a big question mark for the squad but let's see how we respond. They certainly did enough against westmeath. I'll go to croker in hope rather than expectation, but I trust all these lads will all give 100%, so I'm more than delighted to support them, win or lose. Laois abu
Post by: Unlaoised on June 09, 2019, 12:38:19 AM
Quote from: Tony on June 08, 2019, 01:31:49 PM
Consolation here is that we have a strong bench. Donie made a substantial difference when he came on against westmeath but he's still not 100%fit to start. Presumably Begley will also be available from the bench but he's not ready to start. Timmons is a big loss but a broken hand usually takes 3-5 weeks to heal, so we might see him for the next match or one after that. Missing our main full back, centre back and centre forward is a big question mark for the squad but let's see how we respond. They certainly did enough against westmeath. I'll go to croker in hope rather than expectation, but I trust all these lads will all give 100%, so I'm more than delighted to support them, win or lose. Laois abu

Good post ...id be worried a little about the half forward line but they proved me wrong in Tullamore ...
O connor and Dicey will run all day and give you 110 a and Boyle likes croker ...(I'm talking myself around here )

Meath have changed their tactics a few times this year ...

I think they will go at us early and if we come through that I fancy us to sneak through we will need probably 1-15 ish or more to win so we have to be clinical .

Our bench will defo help if we are there or there abouts with 15 or 20 to go .

Laois never fear Meath in Croker

Prediction

A win by 1-14 to 16 points
Post by: High Fielder on June 09, 2019, 02:54:58 PM
We probably don't deserve to be 5 points down but Meath are just that bit sharper. We miss the organisation that Begley brings and are still at sixes and sevens when run at. We're getting better at holding on to the ball, but finding an end product can be a long drawn out process. They just look that bit cuter than us
Post by: High Fielder on June 09, 2019, 03:39:58 PM
Disappointing. Our deficiencies laid bare once again. I feel so sorry for those lads who are used as square pegs in round holes, because it's days like these that find you out. The best corner back in Laois last year was Saunders of Portlaoise. I know he's not involved with the 20s, but any selection after him in that position is a lesser option. It's not really anyone's fault, but this is a lot of our problem.
Post by: town1980 on June 09, 2019, 04:41:35 PM
Timmons is 33/34 begly the same Ross quigley so there is a big big void to come in that dressing room ,,, there was a difference in class as Meath were in a div 2 final, we barley got to our div 3 final taking nothing away from the lads but Dublin would run riot the way we play,, John still the best man for the job but maybe a Conway with him as a tweak in tactics is maybe needed,,hard luck regardless every man tried hard to the end
Post by: The PRO on June 09, 2019, 05:50:24 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on June 09, 2019, 03:39:58 PM
Disappointing. Our deficiencies laid bare once again. I feel so sorry for those lads who are used as square pegs in round holes, because it's days like these that find you out. The best corner back in Laois last year was Saunders of Portlaoise. I know he's not involved with the 20s, but any selection after him in that position is a lesser option. It's not really anyone's fault, but this is a lot of our problem.
You can't make a lad play. He turned down the invite.
Post by: The PRO on June 09, 2019, 05:52:08 PM
We now play one of these 8.
Leitrim, Down, Derry, Antrim, Longford, Westmeath, Offaly, Monaghan.
Post by: High Fielder on June 09, 2019, 05:55:19 PM
If you read what I said, you'll see that I said it's nobody's fault. I don't blame him at all. It's just a fact of life.
Post by: Chrimtain on June 09, 2019, 06:15:55 PM
Quote from: The PRO on June 09, 2019, 05:52:08 PM
We now play one of these 8.
Leitrim, Down, Derry, Antrim, Longford, Westmeath, Offaly, Monaghan.

I hope we can put this behind us and go on and give the qualifiers a good rattle.
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on June 09, 2019, 07:03:25 PM
Today is a taste of the next 3-4 years as Timmons, Begley, Johno, Lillis, Munnelly, Quigley, Donie and others inevitably step away. They are the remnants of the last really competitive team we've had. They have given it their all but next few years will be tough.
Post by: High Fielder on June 09, 2019, 07:33:00 PM
I think the key to what happens after this is Sugrue. There are good young players in the county, and the sooner he has contact with them the better. I don't see it as an end of an era, because we've known many days like this recently. Meath deserved to win today because they were sharper, but they weren't 11 points better than us and I don't think I'm being delusional by saying that. We have serious structural flaws under pressure but so do Meath, and there's no denying we opened them up. They would be foolish to walk away from this thinking they have it sussed, because we actually outplayed them for long periods. But importantly, they had a method and a steeliness that we lack. All is not lost by a long chalk, and we should try and look at the positives. Young Murphy at last looked like he belonged out there and that's what it's all about. There was plenty to take away from today
Post by: Chrimtain on June 09, 2019, 08:28:32 PM
Quote from: SpeculativeEffort on June 09, 2019, 07:03:25 PM
Today is a taste of the next 3-4 years as Timmons, Begley, Johno, Lillis, Munnelly, Quigley, Donie and others inevitably step away. They are the remnants of the last really competitive team we've had. They have given it their all but next few years will be tough.

I think that one of the good things that Sugrue has done is to slowly introduce a number of young players and I'm not sure that the loss of the these players will make us that much weaker. Neither Munnelly nor Quigley are starters any more. Moreover, I believe that because of the way they look after themselves, there could be two to three years left in the likes of O'Loughlin, Begley and Lillis. Certainly Timmons will be a loss, but if I was Sugrue I would be attempting to find a new fullback in what ever number of qualifier games we get this year.
Post by: The Boy Wonder on June 09, 2019, 08:42:05 PM
I was puzzled when Evan O'Carroll was taken off - was he injured ?
We were very shot-shy, especially in the first 15 minutes when we practically owned the ball.
I reckon we at least broke even and probably better than that in the possession stakes overall.
However the scoreboard is what matters and Meath gave us a lesson in finishing.
Post by: Tony on June 09, 2019, 09:43:02 PM
Happy enough with the performance today overall. I know that might sound strange after an 11 point loss. But there were a lot of positives and there's no way we were 11 points the worse team. We dominated many periods of the game, and also dominated possession for large spells. In my opinion, we were the better team in certain areas. We just didn't dominate in the scoring department. We're badly needing one or two more consistent scorers up front. Where are our scores coming from? The opportunities are there but we need conversion - for me, the forward line needs far more.

I thought Evan was hard done by to be substituted today. He was causing trouble for Meath but missed some scorable chances. I thought one of the other forwards should have made way. Donie, Evan and Murphy need to start the next day. For me, the next best in the forward line is Cahilane and maybe Scully and Danny O'Reilly up there, too. Our attack was pretty toothless today, and it cost us the match. Not for lack of trying of course, everybody tried their heart out. It's just an ability thing. I thought otherwise, Brody, Booth, Attride, JOL, and Murphy did well. We badly missed Begley in my opinion. All of these things matter a lot and can be the winning and losing of a match. I don't think this year is over. I see us rebounding from this, learning and maybe getting another couple matches out of it. We made Meath (a division 1 side now) look very ordinary for large periods of the game. Just up top were missing that cutting edge for me; we must start our best scorers the next day and keep them on. A learning experience and a lot of homework to do, but progress has been made and all is not lost.
Post by: recyclebin on June 09, 2019, 11:03:38 PM
I think we need Evan and Donie on the pitch at the same time. None of our other forwards seem to have the same level of confidence to shoot when the score is on. We also need to look at ways of breaking down a crowded defence. Too many times lads turned around and passed it back. They need to have confidence to break a tackle or two or have runners to open up the defence. We are far too open in defence and a bit naive for two of the goals. The 11 point win wasn't fair on Laois. If we had of taken a couple of goals chances we could have beaten them. Meath are a division 1 team now and I don't think we are a million miles off them. Tactics are our weakest point.
Post by: town1980 on June 09, 2019, 11:25:43 PM
I do think tactics are a major issue in our play we are so naive in this aspect which is the most important part like I said I think John needs better people around him Chris Conway for me would be great ,,I don't think his selectors offer him the info he needs because he has the respect of all the county he needs a strong num 2
Post by: Giovanni on June 09, 2019, 11:32:22 PM
What tactics are you talking about?
Post by: on the hop on June 10, 2019, 12:52:42 AM
a few points for debate

1. once again we failed to get above 13 scores, a consistent problem probably not helped by the lack of mobility in midfield and support play from the half forward line. failure once again to score goals when the chances presented themselves.
2. not giving evan a bit longer, meath persisted with newman who was having a similar day. donie made a big difference but should have been in full forward especially near the end, pointless having him back in his own half at times and no one ahead of him to pass to.  it was really evan or paul Kingston to go as none of the half forward were going to taken off with the game plan we use. for me boyle should have went and given evan a bit longer. Also Quigley should have been on earlier as lillis was out on his feet.
3. lack of a link man in the half forward line. we packed it with three workers and some of the passing was shocking, that was when we even attempted to pass. We had oceans of ball but played it in front of meath which suited them. we seldom seemed to want to run at them or take them on or even stretch them. we are very conservative in our approach to games. Sullivan for them played very well in that role. scully in the second game was on a different level as a link man.
4. round pegs in square holes especially in the case of both corner backs. in a perfect world both would be attacking wing backs. while the options aren't great especially with the injury to Timmons and Begley both had a difficult day, Attride in particular made numerous mistakes which is unusual for him. I couldn't understand with meath operating a sweeper that we could have tried to protect him.
5. booth, o Flynn, jol and donie tried hard. murphy did well on limited ball but the goal miss was a game changer
6. Allowing Keoghan to get on so much ball, especially from the kickouts similarly not tracking menton. it wasn't if these things hadn't been sign posted in previous meath matches.

meath were just a bit slicker today at times, especially when getting scores. it was a real struggle for us, 11 scores is a dreadful return and I can't understand how people feel it was a good performance on that return. we have loads of honest effort but the quality is not improving.  they probably are not that much better than us both but when they got a chance at goals they exploited them, conceding three goals in a championship game is always a bad day for a defence . we play a very rigid type game which is not really effective when we have to chase a game, we don't appear to have a plan b. the qualifiers are going to be tough for us as there are no easy matches, hopefully we might get a home draw.

Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 10, 2019, 08:47:33 AM
Derry away in the next round, far from easy...
Post by: Chrimtain on June 10, 2019, 08:49:17 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 10, 2019, 08:47:33 AM
Derry away in the next round, far from easy...

It couldn't be much worse! After losing badly yesterday, to have to travel to Derry is the last thing we wanted.
Post by: High Fielder on June 10, 2019, 08:59:02 AM
Good post as usual OTH. Your matchplay analysis is always spot on. For me it was a good performance because I thought we went toe to toe at times with a now Division 1 team. They showed why they are in Division 1 but I didn't feel overawed by them. They were smarter and ultimately felt they were a better team than us, and they were in fairness.

We have to find a way past the square pegs in round holes. Dillon and Attride are great committed players and would play anywhere we want them to. But we're making a huge sacrifice by stemming their natural attacking ability and putting them at corner back. They are probably the two best wing backs we have. Unfortunately, needs must. In my opinion, the two most likely candidates are Healy and Saunders. Both unavailable. After that, you tell me. Do you do what McNulty tried to do with Meaney and develop players in the hope that they're a good fit? I'm not sure we have the sort of specialist coaching needed for that, so maybe putting good players into vacant positions is the best way. I'm of the opinion that this doesn't always work either, even though we know of many examples where it has. I guess you'll get away with it up to a point, and the better player will find you out.

Then we have a serious issue with pace. We are slow, not just in our leg speed, but also in our thought processes. We have tried to balance that by being better at holding on to the football, but Meath were happy to wait. They knew they could do damage on the break and particularly by running directly at us. I'm not sure yet whether the sixes and sevens is caused by the slowness of our movement or inferior ability of certain players. We have to accept that too. There are some lads on the field who don't have the ability for this level. Of everything that disappointed me about yesterday, I can't for the life of me understand how Scully didn't start. I don't know why so maybe that's short sighted of me, but he's easily been our find of the season. I really hope next year that Carroll and himself are our wing forwards. Whilst saying that, I don't want to be critical of anyone because Sugrue had his plan and he obviously felt the players he picked could implement it. Benny Carroll is a massive loss to us.

So all things considered, I was happy with what we did yesterday. The better team won and a lot would have to change to reverse that. We did extremely well to beat Westmeath who clearly are a team of similar ability to ourselves with very similar shortcomings. You can see why McNukty came in and decided the best approach was safety first, but that just papered over the cracks. Sugrue is more adventurous and whilst that means you'll get the odd beating, you still feel like you're learning. The future doesn't phase me, because we live in an age where competitiveness for a team like us is hard to define. For me, I just hope that Sugrue can see something that he likes, because he knows more than all of us put together. I think we have some good footballers in the county. I just hope we can get them on the same pitch together and functioning in a way that gives us a chance. Despite all the good work done, there's still a lot more to do

Post by: Countyminor on June 10, 2019, 12:26:37 PM
Our approach play was slow and laboured. Add to the mix our score taking is consistently absolutely dreadful. Countless wides and missed goal chances that just have to be taken. This is a constant theme in any match we play now. You can't score 0:11 and expect to win.
Post by: brandyandPORT on June 11, 2019, 10:01:27 AM
You'd need to assess the runners from deep and how they were not dealt with, they seemed to cause the damage in creating the goal chances.

To be fair to John he picked Laois up at its lowest point, and lifted us back to division 2.

I'm not entirely sure if we can play Kingston and O'Carroll together, might be mad but they didn't compliment each other in the league final!! I do feel Kingston can produce more game changing moments than Evan.

Sunday for me was a bit worrying when looking at John's support team, to see a man on the line with Laois wearing an ear piece, communicating with management in the form of Brian Breen, this is of pure shock and horror. This is a man who was unable to get decisions right in the middle of the pitch when refereeing. To now see him in communication with our seniors, makes for apprehensive viewing 🙊
Post by: GAA-SMART on June 11, 2019, 10:33:04 AM
There is no question for me John is the right man to lead Laois for many years to come even if beaten by Derry- double league promotion and a Leinster Final in two years, id of snapped your hand of for it after the O Flatharta /Creedon fiascos and what followed. Meath were just better in the forwards than we were in the backs. Derry game will be tight but it is a hard to place to go against a team who has a relatively good record in the qualifiers. Here is hoping for a big big performance in two weeks.
Post by: Don Draper on June 11, 2019, 11:15:01 AM
Jesus I read a comments under a LaoisToday Facebook post. There are some absolute f**king retards in this county. We don't deserve someone like Sugrue, thats the pure truth of it.
Post by: O moore parklife on June 11, 2019, 12:55:28 PM
Quote from: brandyandPORT on June 11, 2019, 10:01:27 AM
You'd need to assess the runners from deep and how they were not dealt with, they seemed to cause the damage in creating the goal chances.

To be fair to John he picked Laois up at its lowest point, and lifted us back to division 2.

I'm not entirely sure if we can play Kingston and O'Carroll together, might be mad but they didn't compliment each other in the league final!! I do feel Kingston can produce more game changing moments than Evan.

Sunday for me was a bit worrying when looking at John's support team, to see a man on the line with Laois wearing an ear piece, communicating with management in the form of Brian Breen, this is of pure shock and horror. This is a man who was unable to get decisions right in the middle of the pitch when refereeing. To now see him in communication with our seniors, makes for apprehensive viewing 🙊

Ha ha even water boys getting stick some beauties in this county
Post by: High Fielder on June 11, 2019, 01:00:11 PM
People don't understand the bomb site he inherited Don. They see what suits their agenda and they expect far too much. Im sometimes amazed at the short sightedness of some people and their inability to understand the basics. It was obvious at a very early stage that Donie and Evan don't really play well together up top. Unfortunately, no other combination has been any better, so that lends itself to criticism. For the reasons discussed above, we will always have to t**ker and experiment because we don't have a natural fit in every position. Every other county at our level, and even some above it, have to do the same. Michael Murphy for instance can appear anywhere between midfield and full forward. With that in mind, perhaps it's time to give Evan a go in the middle. Good Fielder and distributor and as a nod to all the nay sayers, perhaps too good to be taken off altogether
Post by: Toomanygaels on June 11, 2019, 02:13:45 PM
Quote from: brandyandPORT on June 11, 2019, 10:01:27 AM

Attack the water boy. You should be ashamed of yourself. I would imagine Brian Breen has no act or part in picking or training the team. He is just their to be a help to the management in the huge work load that is involved in running a county team. What has the quality of his refereeing got to do with anything? They are a lot of bad referees out but I am sure they have other strengths.
Post by: GAA-SMART on June 11, 2019, 03:15:25 PM
Absplutely is bright- between what we ahve at senior- decent U20 team, Minors in the Semi finals of Leinster and a couple of good development squads with good people in charge of them. Hopefully we see the rewards soon
Post by: Hospital Pass on June 12, 2019, 10:18:43 AM
Breen job is logistics as far as I know. Can we blame him for the team looking a little lost on Sunday  ;D
On the O'Carroll and Donie selection issue, Evan is a confidence player and had a bad start, I would have persisted with him as some of our forwards are a little shot shy.
Donie is still our best forward, i'm guessing he was dropped for fitness or form issues. Donie probably needed this kick up the backside when he was 22 or 23 to reach his true potential.
I wouldn't be atall bit critical of Sugrue for making the call. He's trying to change the squad mentality.
I'd love to see Donie take this as motivation and kick on.
Post by: Helmut on June 12, 2019, 02:02:25 PM
Good post Higfielder.
Evan is definetely a confidence player and when hes good hes very good but when hes bad he's terrible and doesnt want to know. Might have been a bit unlucky coming off so early on Sunday not because he was playing well but because Paul Kingston was annoymous to at that stage. Something had to be done to change up the forward line. Just before he came off his man beat him for a ball and in a short run easily put 20-25 yards between them. It was probably what decided it.
As for Donnie at this age he more than likely never will reach the potential or peak fitness he could of had. Saying that for me at least he is our best player by a mile. His skill and more importantly at times his calmness and composure on the ball is at another level to most of the rest of the team.
To say the difference between Laois and meath was they had better attackers than our defenders doesnt sit well by me. I think on average there was nothing much between the teams. We just got our strategy completely wrong. As others had said for a lot of the game we owned the ball but as has been the problem under a lot of Sugrue's tenure we are to negative and pedestrain. I was a little bit disappointed by some of the decisions coming from the line. With being 7-8 points down Ross was the only player in their half at times. I think if we had been more positive and pushed on, especially in the first half when we owned the ball the game was there for us. Why for instance when we had nothing to lose was Donnie or Quigley not pushed up for some high balls into the box.
With the way we play we struggle to get decent scores on average and even an okay team will have a chance to beat us.
My only hope against Derry is if we play a more adventerous type of game.
Post by: Laois Rising on June 13, 2019, 01:17:03 PM
Going through the qualifiers may actually prove an easier route to the super 8s than if we were to enter the competition as a provincial loser. With teams like monaghan, Tyrone and Mayo coming through the back door you could find yourself with a very difficult round four qualifier to make it into super 8. Going out now and if we can get past Derry and gain a favourable round 3 draw would see us having to face Cavan, Cork, Meath or Roscommon (if provincial finals go to form) to make the Super 8s. That should be the motivation for this Laois team. Bounce back in Owenbeg Saturday week and everything still to play for.

I think Sugru learned a lot from the loss to Westmeath in the Division 3 final and that was evident in the quarter-final encounter. I would expect him to have learned more about his team after the Meath game. If they can build upon this experience there is no reason why we cannot go to Derry and look to claim an away win in an Ulster ground which would be a great scalp. Granted it won't be easy as Derry have momentum with a hugely impressive win the last day out.   
Post by: Tony on June 13, 2019, 01:58:13 PM
There's a new thread now for the qualifiers Laois Rising :). Let's continue on there, the Leinster Championship is sadly over for us this year.