Search for New Mayo Manager

Started by IolarCoisCuain, September 28, 2015, 11:17:28 PM

Quote from: mayoaremagic on May 05, 2017, 10:48:20 AM
Anyone see Martin Breheny's newest article on the Holmes/Connelly debacle?

Aido obviously never heard the adage "Never pick a fight with people who buy ink by the barrel."

Aido should have kept quiet - Breheny gets another few articles out of the whole thing (which in the quiet period between league and championship is an absolute gift for him) while Aido gets zip.

Amateur sportsman verses the big bad Independent. Breheny should have got the road long ago and be replaced by a young fresher gasun. Holmes and Connolly should have taken their beaten like real men, right or wrong this kind of stuff happens to us all in life. Crying like pansies makes them look weak.

Quote from: Rudi on May 05, 2017, 11:26:48 AM
Amateur sportsman verses the big bad Independent. Breheny should have got the road long ago and be replaced by a young fresher gasun. Holmes and Connolly should have taken their beaten like real men, right or wrong this kind of stuff happens to us all in life. Crying like pansies makes them look weak.

Hard to call it amateur when he's using a media gig for AIB to have a shot at the Indo..

Quote from: Beffs on May 04, 2017, 11:09:50 PM
Aidan O'Shea has one of the highest media profiles in Ireland. Love him or hate him, he's box office. Editors and journalists all over the country know that. If he wasn't allowed speak out 6 months ago, as his own Co Board/Roachford would rather all the players kept quiet, or the squad had made a group decision to say nothing, that is one thing. But it's utterly laughable to imply that the Indo or anyone else in the media, would deny him the opportunity to state his own version of events, if he chose to give them. There isn't a single media outlet in the country that wouldn't fall all over themselves to give him a platform to say whatever he wants to say, for as long as he wants to say it. Don't think he did himself any favours by saying what he did. If Mayo people want all this to blow over and for everyone to move on, it is unlikely to happen if the players themselves give the situation yet more oxygen.
Yeah, that's all very well but Breheny knew damn well that O'Shea or anyone else 'outed' by the pile of shite swas going to acknowledge it and wouldn't anything which they felt was factually incorrect.
Breheny can look to Heaven and swear by all who are there that his only motive was to post something that he felt was in the public's interest.
He knew that what was posted wasn't going to get an acknowledgement,  let alone a response.
In fairness to Holmes and Connelly, what was actually published may not have been all they had intended to say. It seems to me that Breheny's article was checked by a lawyer and bits that were libellous were redacted. Otherwise, the gruesome twosome must have been on the piss for at least a solid week beforehand.
Just bear in mind that 27 of the panel of 32 voted to get rid of the pair. There was nothing in what was posted to show that it was a so-called axis of evil that was running the show and made that pair of hoors walk the plank. By any standards, 27 out of 32  suggests that there was widespread unhappiness with their performance.
Breheny didn't allude to this at any stage. That's not impartial journalism.

Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 05, 2017, 11:49:17 AM
Aidan O'Shea has one of the highest media profiles in Ireland. Love him or hate him, he's box office. Editors and journalists all over the country know that. If he wasn't allowed speak out 6 months ago, as his own Co Board/Roachford would rather all the players kept quiet, or the squad had made a group decision to say nothing, that is one thing. But it's utterly laughable to imply that the Indo or anyone else in the media, would deny him the opportunity to state his own version of events, if he chose to give them. There isn't a single media outlet in the country that wouldn't fall all over themselves to give him a platform to say whatever he wants to say, for as long as he wants to say it. Don't think he did himself any favours by saying what he did. If Mayo people want all this to blow over and for everyone to move on, it is unlikely to happen if the players themselves give the situation yet more oxygen.
Yeah, that's all very well but Breheny knew damn well that O'Shea or anyone else 'outed' by the pile of shite swas going to acknowledge it and wouldn't anything which they felt was factually incorrect.
Breheny can look to Heaven and swear by all who are there that his only motive was to post something that he felt was in the public's interest.
He knew that what was posted wasn't going to get an acknowledgement,  let alone a response.
In fairness to Holmes and Connelly, what was actually published may not have been all they had intended to say. It seems to me that Breheny's article was checked by a lawyer and bits that were libellous were redacted. Otherwise, the gruesome twosome must have been on the piss for at least a solid week beforehand.
Just bear in mind that 27 of the panel of 32 voted to get rid of the pair. There was nothing in what was posted to show that it was a so-called axis of evil that was running the show and made that pair of hoors walk the plank. By any standards, 27 out of 32  suggests that there was widespread unhappiness with their performance.

? ? ?

That assumes the Mayo players were going to launch a law suit over an interview - probably the closest assumption to the reality of their behaviour the last two seasons.

Don't make huge leaps like that just because you didn't like fact the joint managers broke the already comical Mayo omerta - that didn't stop the players releasing a constant stream of bile to the public in the form of well-founded 'rumours' throughout the mangers' year in charge.

The reaction in Mayo to this has been and continues to be head in the earth stuff. Ye are the reason lads like AOS/SOS and COC/Dillon felt so entitled that they thought they were bigger and better than the people brought in to manage them. Acting like AI winners off the field, but something far less on it.

Quote from: Syferus on May 05, 2017, 12:01:45 PM

The reaction in Mayo to this has been and continues to be head in the earth stuff. Ye are the reason lads like AOS/SOS and COC/Dillon felt so entitled that they thought they were bigger and better than the people brought in to manage them. Acting like AI winners off the field, but something far less on it.

If in business, a manager does not have the support of his/her most talented employees, then that manager would be likely toast. You seem to go out of your way to defend managers who have lost the dressing room. You are definitely County Board material.

Quote from: weareros on May 05, 2017, 01:38:17 PM

If in business, a manager does not have the support of his/her most talented employees, then that manager would be likely toast. You seem to go out of your way to defend managers who have lost the dressing room. You are definitely County Board material.

You realise they were four up on Dublin in the second half of an AISF replay, right? Keep trying.

? ? ?

That assumes the Mayo players were going to launch a law suit over an interview - probably the closest assumption to the reality of their behaviour the last two seasons.

Don't make huge leaps like that just because you didn't like fact the joint managers broke the already comical Mayo omerta - that didn't stop the players releasing a constant stream of bile to the public in the form of well-founded 'rumours' throughout the mangers' year in charge.

Ah, cool yer jets Syf, by the time you are past puberty, you'll see things differently. ;D
You can assume whatever you damn well please let me do my own assuming, if you please.
I never said that the players might have launched a lawsuit bit I did say nobody in the Mayo camp was going to respond and that Breheny knew that. I did not make leaps of any sort. Furthermore, I don't recall any player burp up any bile at any time.

I don't know where you and some other gullible souls got the idea that "lads like AOS/SOS and COC/Dillon felt so entitled that they thought they were bigger and better than the people brought in to manage them." Dunno where COC comes into this , H&C never said that he caused them any trouble. SOS said he'd prefer Hennelly to Clarke because he had a better kick out. What you and Breheny fails to recognise is that Seamie and Robbie Have known each other for years and therefore he had a better understanding with Robbie than with Clarkie. No rocket science there.
Managers said no deal and that was their prerogative.
What's wrong with SOS asking or H&C refusing? Neither H&C nor Breheny stated that O'shea did anything other than ask and neither claimed that there was any resentment or aggro of any sort as a result of O'Shea's request.
Dillon complained that he was being unfairly treated and that Andy was getting preferential treatment. He was pissed off but that didn't lead to 27 players demanding their resignation. H&C didn't say it did but you feel you know better than they do.
What had the allegations about the dodgy fundraising? What had that to do with the players and the pair of tulips?
It appears that Noel Howley who organises transport for some of the players had a barney with the management. We weren't told what the row was about or how it affected the relationship between players and management.
What about the team plans being left behind in the hotel? 
Dumb and Dumber claimed that it was a player who left them behind. Why should the players blame  the managers for this? Fact is it was the pair of them that forgot to bring the plans to the game but they knew no players was going to reply so they felt safe to say what they liked.

Quote from: Syferus on May 05, 2017, 01:56:46 PM
Quote from: weareros on May 05, 2017, 01:38:17 PM

You realise they were four up on Dublin in the second half of an AISF replay, right? Keep trying.

That doesn't change the fact that the players were not going to row in behind the management - when that happens a manager is, as I said, toast in any walk of life. The county board could, of course, have ignored the players' wishes as many county boards tend to do until the situation deteriorates. But when you don't take the right decision early, the world will give you a bigger kick in the gob down the road.

Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 05, 2017, 02:00:34 PM
What's wrong with SOS asking or H&C refusing? Neither H&C nor Breheny stated that O'shea did anything other than ask and neither claimed that there was any resentment or aggro of any sort as a result of O'Shea's request.
Dillon complained that he was being unfairly treated and that Andy was getting preferential treatment. He was pissed off but that didn't lead to 27 players demanding their resignation. H&C didn't say it did but you feel you know better than they do.
What had the allegations about the dodgy fundraising? What had that to do with the players and the pair of tulips?
It appears that Noel Howley who organises transport for some of the players had a barney with the management. We weren't told what the row was about or how it affected the relationship between players and management.
Dumb and Dumber claimed that it was a player who left them behind. Why should the players blame  the managers for this? Fact is it was the pair of them that forgot to bring the plans to the game but they knew no players was going to reply so they felt safe to say what they liked.

No need for that, Lar.
This isn't hoganstand.com.

Holmes,Connelly have given a lot to Mayo football over the years for both their clubs and county. Their U21 teams of 2006 to 2009 are one the reasons why Mayo seniors are where they are today e.g a top 4 team. Both men were entitled to their opinions and it was a situation that was handled terrible however it's in the past now and AOS in the media again seriously? By now he should know better and stay away from the media for a while and don't allow the old timer Indo journalist to milk this story anymore.

Has the new Mayo manager gone missing already?

Quote from: T Fearon on May 05, 2017, 07:31:48 PM
Has the new Mayo manager gone missing already?
They are always losing them.
I think the Mayo Rose competition was on recently.

Quote from: Jinxy on May 05, 2017, 04:13:13 PM

No need for that, Lar.
Know what? You are right. I was intemperate at what I saw as another attempt by an old pro journalist  stir up controversy again.  I imagine that all Mayo posters would agree with me that we were sorry to see both Noel and Pat being forced out. If some s.o.b at county board level hadn't leaked the news of the players' request for a meeting with the board, none of this would have come to public notice  we'd all have to find something else to row about.
Back in the good ol' days when Barney was still about, we had a discussion on the best Mayo team of all time and I had no problem about selecting Connelly and making him the captain as well. Not many may know this but Pateen is the player who made the most appearances for Mayo and don't forget he was an All-Star also. Both men gave good service to the county and didn't deserve humiliation of any sort.
I did not back the players out of blind allegiance to the cause but because I wasn't happy with their version of what happened during their time in charge. I knew we weren't getting the whole story butI also knew that the players would not give their side of what really happened so any charge that was levelled at any of them was not going to be contested.
I was still feeling sorry for them both until Breheny presented their side of the story. Nothing positive came from it and the general consensus of opinion in Mayo is that the pair of boyos were whinging and should grow up. I definitely agree with the majority view. I felt sympathy for them until I saw what they were up to with their 'expose.'
PS O'Shea should have known better and said nowt about the matter as it was only going to give Breheny and his likes more oxygen to keep making headline

Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 05, 2017, 07:50:33 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 05, 2017, 04:13:13 PM

No need for that, Lar.
Know what? You are right. I was intemperate at what I saw as another attempt by an old pro journalist  stir up controversy again.  I imagine that all Mayo posters would agree with me that we were sorry to see both Noel and Pat being forced out. If some s.o.b at county board level hadn't leaked the news of the players' request for a meeting with the board, none of this would have come to public notice  we'd all have to find something else to row about.
Back in the good ol' days when Barney was still about, we had a discussion on the best Mayo team of all time and I had no problem about selecting Connelly and making him the captain as well. Not many may know this but Pateen is the player who made the most appearances for Mayo and don't forget he was an All-Star also. Both men gave good service to the county and didn't deserve humiliation of any sort.
I did not back the players out of blind allegiance to the cause but because I wasn't happy with their version of what happened during their time in charge. I knew we weren't getting the whole story butI also knew that the players would not give their side of what really happened so any charge that was levelled at any of them was not going to be contested.
I was still feeling sorry for them both until Breheny presented their side of the story. Nothing positive came from it and the general consensus of opinion in Mayo is that the pair of boyos were whinging and should grow up. I definitely agree with the majority view. I felt sympathy for them until I saw what they were up to with their 'expose.'
PS O'Shea should have known better and said nowt about the matter as it was only going to give Breheny and his likes more oxygen to keep making headline

Why the hate of journos? Should they only report the nice stories or something?