GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: thejuice on January 08, 2016, 12:01:01 PM

Title: O'Byrne Cup 2017
Post by: thejuice on January 08, 2016, 12:01:01 PM
No thread on this yet? Shockin' disgrace so it is.

Where do things stand at the moment for your counties. I am away so only catching up with it when I have wifi.

Meath need to beat Laois on Sunday to get through after losing to UCD. Apparently we hit the woodwork 7 times in that game which I feel we should be awarded 10 bonus points for such a feat. Not only that but James McEntee scored two points for UCD so they should be ours as well.

Anyway it all comes down to Sunday for us.

Title: Re: O'Byrne Cup 2015
Post by: AZOffaly on January 08, 2016, 12:09:50 PM
And a year late too :)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 08, 2016, 12:50:59 PM
Westmeath going well, introducing new faces along with a few of the regulars and 2 wins from 2. Led most of the way down in Bray and came from 10 points down at half time on Wednesday in the pissing rain and driving wind. Kept Longford scoreless too in the second half although they contributed to their own demise. The team don't know when they are beaten.
Post by: Rossfan on January 08, 2016, 02:09:07 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 08, 2016, 12:09:50 PM
And a year late too :)
When are they playing the 2016 competition? :o
Post by: AZOffaly on January 08, 2016, 02:25:22 PM
At the moment. thejuice is just stuck in the past :)
Post by: heffo on January 08, 2016, 04:00:44 PM
Quote from: thejuice on January 08, 2016, 12:01:01 PM
No thread on this yet? Shockin' disgrace so it is.

Where do things stand at the moment for your counties. I am away so only catching up with it when I have wifi.

Meath need to beat Laois on Sunday to get through after losing to UCD. Apparently we hit the woodwork 7 times in that game which I feel we should be awarded 10 bonus points for such a feat. Not only that but James McEntee scored two points for UCD so they should be ours as well.

Anyway it all comes down to Sunday for us.

I've a feeling Dublin are going to win it in 2015
Post by: thejuice on January 08, 2016, 10:07:39 PM
Go easy on me lads, im still on holidays for another day. Still 2015 til im back to work
Post by: Jinxy on January 09, 2016, 09:14:30 PM
We're all only playing for second place.
Kildare have been training since last spring for this.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on January 09, 2016, 11:41:31 PM
Have you not seen the results? We were hammered by Louth.
O'Neill out.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 10, 2016, 07:03:37 AM
The Kings of January are fucked this year. Absolute disgrace, shameful, embarrassing to be a Kildare man, no pride.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 10, 2016, 10:25:29 AM
It was all we had  :'(
Post by: thejuice on January 10, 2016, 07:27:54 PM
Are TG4 showing highlights?
Post by: Billys Boots on January 11, 2016, 10:22:21 AM
We Larries are devastated that we are still in the competition and that our chances of lifting the Bihatimber (even though it seems that competition is now defunct) are gone - 2016 over on Jan 10th.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on January 12, 2016, 12:04:23 AM
Bring back the bihatimber, Leinster GAA's answer to the Europa League
Post by: AZOffaly on January 12, 2016, 03:14:58 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on January 12, 2016, 12:04:23 AM
Bring back the bihatimber, Leinster GAA's answer to the Europa Champions League

Fixed that for you. The O'Byrne Cup itself is the Europa League.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 13, 2016, 10:05:00 AM
I've been so busy at work I have only kept 1/4 on an eye on the most won-derful time of the year.

WH blew it there agin the students having come back Lazurus like against Longford so we get to a semi-final in Longford v Dubs.

Revenge for Leinster 2015 (4-25 to 0-10) perhaps?

LOL at the wet Dubs wondering why they can't go into the lovely looking stands..................

As far as I know the Bihatimber was robbed and melted down......

BTW Juice - can you rename the title to '2016' so as not to upset Kildare lads.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 13, 2016, 10:08:22 AM
HOw do you melt Timber?
Post by: Hardy on January 13, 2016, 10:54:33 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 13, 2016, 10:08:22 AM
HOw do you melt Timber?

Get Martin Carney to talk to it for an hour.
Post by: Rossfan on January 13, 2016, 11:09:56 AM
Quote from: Hardy on January 13, 2016, 10:54:33 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 13, 2016, 10:08:22 AM
HOw do you melt Timber?

Get Martin Carney to talk to it for an hour.
;) ;) :D ;D
Post by: thejuice on January 13, 2016, 05:06:21 PM
I'm going to wait till it's all over and then change the title to 2017 so it's all ready to go for next year.
Post by: thejuice on January 13, 2016, 09:50:56 PM
Yeah should be a fun encounter for the time of year. Where's it being played?
Post by: Bart1 on January 13, 2016, 11:31:44 PM
Offaly and wexford wouldn't make last 8 of senior championship in Dublin in my opinion
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 16, 2016, 02:29:47 PM
Longford missing both Brian Kavanagh (on a New York junket for Longford NY GAA club dinner dance) and Michael Quinn for tomorrow's game.

I have been told to expect the classic 1-12-2 formation.

So, Dubs are 9/2 on so rob the childrens college funds and lorry all on the Dubs.
Post by: Jinxy on January 16, 2016, 03:12:41 PM
Quote from: Bart1 on January 13, 2016, 11:31:44 PM
Offaly and wexford wouldn't make last 8 of senior championship in Dublin in my opinion

That's good to know, any thoughts on the O'Byrne Cup?
p.s. Have you met Indiana?
p.p.s Has Indiana been banned?
p.p.p.s Are you Indiana?
Post by: Bart1 on January 16, 2016, 03:17:04 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 16, 2016, 03:12:41 PM

That's good to know, any thoughts on the O'Byrne Cup?

p.s. Have you met Indiana?
p.p.s Has Indiana been banned?
p.p.p.s Are you Indiana?

Thats a fact Wexford or Offaly make last 8 of senior championship in Dublin
Post by: Jinxy on January 16, 2016, 05:30:19 PM
Only 9% of the Irish population are natural redheads.
Post by: heffo on January 16, 2016, 06:14:13 PM
Are Meath fielding a team in this?
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on January 17, 2016, 06:57:44 AM

Rhode or Edenderry would have a fair chance of making the last eight of the Dublin championship, never mind Offaly
Post by: thejuice on January 17, 2016, 02:13:56 PM
Meath 0-03
Louth 0-01

after 15 mins
Post by: thejuice on January 17, 2016, 02:20:02 PM
Meath 0-05
Louth 0-02

Dalton McDonagh missed a great goal chance
Post by: thejuice on January 17, 2016, 02:25:52 PM
Meath 0-06
Louth 0-02
Post by: thejuice on January 17, 2016, 02:27:43 PM
Meath 0-07
Louth 0-02

27mins gone
Post by: thejuice on January 17, 2016, 02:42:08 PM
Half Time

O'Byrne Cup semi-finals

Longford 0-7 Dublin 0-4,
Louth 0-3 Meath 0-7,
Post by: thejuice on January 17, 2016, 03:07:52 PM
Meath 0-08
Louth 0-07

Meath losing grip fast. 15mins gone
Post by: thejuice on January 17, 2016, 03:14:39 PM
10-8 to meath
Post by: thejuice on January 17, 2016, 03:18:34 PM
Meath 0-10
Louth 0-09

Meath down to 14 players.
Post by: thejuice on January 17, 2016, 03:28:57 PM
Meath 0-11
Louth 0-09

Loads of wides by both teams. Last few minutes.
Post by: Jinxy on January 17, 2016, 03:35:50 PM
We play Longford in the final.
A grudge match for the ages.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 17, 2016, 03:36:49 PM
Longford 1-12
Dublin 0-09

Hope nobody took my betting advice :-\
Post by: Hardy on January 17, 2016, 03:38:29 PM
A titanic struggle in prospect to decide the dominant force in Leinster football.
Post by: Jinxy on January 17, 2016, 03:43:31 PM
There can be only one.
Post by: thejuice on January 17, 2016, 03:44:22 PM
Meath 0-11
Louth 0-10

Full time. Could have gone either way in the end. Poor shooting by Louth after getting back in contention and couldn't get in front. Maybe the sending off brought Louth back into it more but we were losing control before then.

Held on and hopefully the lads have their heads screwed on for the final. Longford had a great win it seems so we better rise to the occasion. A bit of silverware to start the year would be nice.
Post by: Hardy on January 17, 2016, 03:45:03 PM
At least we've slapped down the Louth challenge for supremacy. St. Brigid, John Boyle O'Reilly, Benny Gaughran, Rob Kearney, Jim Corr – your boys took a hell of a beating.
Post by: Jinxy on January 17, 2016, 03:46:15 PM
The Dubs don't like getting their socks dirty, it would seem.
I doubt they'd make the last 4 of the Dublin club championship.
p.s. Longford have to be heavy favourites after dethroning the All-Ireland champions.
Post by: thejuice on January 17, 2016, 03:54:57 PM
Hang on

You mean reigning Leinster, League, All-Ireland AND O'Bryne Cup champions.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on January 17, 2016, 03:59:55 PM
More games away from Croker for the Dubs please
Post by: annapr on January 17, 2016, 04:25:02 PM
Well done Longford!
Post by: heffo on January 17, 2016, 06:22:27 PM
Gavin out!

Can't believe the back to back clean sweep for 2016 is no more.
Post by: laoislad on January 17, 2016, 06:38:39 PM
Longford should be split in two.
Post by: LaurelEye on January 17, 2016, 07:32:37 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 17, 2016, 06:38:39 PM

Divide it along the N4 and we could go with that.
Post by: Rossfan on January 17, 2016, 08:16:25 PM
Give it to Westmeath - it might stop the hoors stalin' half o Ros. >:(
Post by: The Insider on January 17, 2016, 09:18:49 PM
Longford is nearly divided by the N4 . Only 3 of the 13 clubs who will play Senior championship in 2016 are in the South of the county and they provided the grand total of 3 to todays match day squad with 2 more to come back.  .This trend is better at minor this year where about 12 will be from the southern clubs .
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 18, 2016, 09:06:07 AM
I agree with the other sentiments there. Longford is effectively already split in two with 'North Longford' and the 'Rest'.

Now the solution for Central Council is there for all to see.

Simply replace the Champioship with the O'Byrne Cup.
Post by: Billys Boots on January 18, 2016, 10:01:07 AM
The Longford GAA calendar should run from Jan 6th to Feb 1st every year. 
Post by: Hardy on January 18, 2016, 10:25:59 AM

We'll do our best next Sunday.
Post by: heffo on January 18, 2016, 10:39:38 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 17, 2016, 03:46:15 PM
The Dubs don't like getting their socks dirty, it would seem.

Dubs don't like it up em.

Best of luck to Longford Sunday v Meath
Post by: Declan on January 18, 2016, 11:57:41 AM
Thanks to the Larries for their wonderful hospitality yesterday and good luck in the final
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 18, 2016, 02:22:18 PM
Quote from: Declan on January 18, 2016, 11:57:41 AM
Thanks to the Larries for their wonderful hospitality yesterday and good luck in the final

Thanks Declan

Shame that the covered stand the far side is closed off for safety reasons. Would have made viewing a bit more comfortable for the 2.5k there.

Meath beat Longford in the O'Byrne Cup final in 1983. Back then, of course, it was only a Micky Mouse competition.

That may have been Sean Boylan's first silverware.

Post by: AZOffaly on January 18, 2016, 02:23:57 PM
We won the O'Byrne Cup one year when Finbarr Cullen was captain. Or maybe it was Tom Coffey. Anyway, we sneered at it. SNEERED!!!! Jaysus we'd kill for one now! Mind you , we won the Leinster Championship that year. Just sayin' Larries.
Post by: Rossfan on January 18, 2016, 03:52:04 PM
Best of luck to the poor little Marries as they enter the hone of the Meath ogres.
I hope there will be a strong ref appointed to protect the poor gasúníns..... :D
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 18, 2016, 04:16:46 PM

Don't worry about us - dem Meath bize aren't as fearsome as they used to be.

Navan used to be a graveyard for Longford but not so much so any more.

Who'll be up for it more on the day bearing in mind the League is deemed more important. A good start is needed as the last thing we want is a bottom of the table scrap to avoid the drop to Div 4.

I am sure if the management were offered the O'Byrne Cup over staying in Div 3 they would chose the Div 3 option.
Post by: thejuice on January 19, 2016, 06:01:30 PM
To be honest this is probably our only real shot at silverware this year. I hope the lads take it. I'm somewhat dismayed by the way Louth came back into it on Sunday. The same thing happened against Westmeath in the championship last year and it cost us then. The same thing almost gapped the year before against Kildare and in the league.

This has been a feature of the MOD years where strong starts are followed up by an almost complete loss of control of the game. I don't think it is a fitness issue more likely a leadership or psychological thing that has set in. They just don't come out of the blocks like they need to when they have a good early lead.
Post by: Syferus on January 19, 2016, 11:24:22 PM
Quote from: thejuice on January 19, 2016, 06:01:30 PM
To be honest this is probably our only real shot at silverware this year. I hope the lads take it. I'm somewhat dismayed by the way Louth came back into it on Sunday. The same thing happened against Westmeath in the championship last year and it cost us then. The same thing almost gapped the year before against Kildare and in the league.

This has been a feature of the MOD years where strong starts are followed up by an almost complete loss of control of the game. I don't think it is a fitness issue more likely a leadership or psychological thing that has set in. They just don't come out of the blocks like they need to when they have a good early lead.

Would Meath people not think promotion is a realistic goal for this year then? Meath were as good as any of the others in D2 last year and honestly Tyrone is the only one in D2 you'd put ahead of them this year.
Post by: Ard-Rí on January 20, 2016, 12:00:58 AM
Quote from: Syferus on January 19, 2016, 11:24:22 PM
Quote from: thejuice on January 19, 2016, 06:01:30 PM

Would Meath people not think promotion is a realistic goal for this year then? Meath were as good as any of the others in D2 last year and honestly Tyrone is the only one in D2 you'd put ahead of them this year.

I'd give us a bigger chance of being relegated than promoted.
Post by: thejuice on January 20, 2016, 03:42:06 PM
We had a few retirements over the winter so we can't be sure where we are. A few new lads will need to step up and take the mantle of team leader. I don't think we'll be relegated but I can see being squeezed out of promotion.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 23, 2016, 10:58:36 AM
Excitement at fever pitch yet?

Any of ye Meath lads heading.?

I'll be there - so wil Laureleye I'm sure. Billy is lost to the garrison game of a Sundah.

Who's in the minor match?
Post by: Hardy on January 23, 2016, 11:39:26 AM
I'll be watching it on Sky. Don't want to miss a second of the hype.

Sure ye'll always see more on d'telly.
Post by: Rossfan on January 23, 2016, 02:02:05 PM
Best of luck to the Marries - a rising power in Leinster.
Post by: thejuice on January 23, 2016, 09:12:22 PM
I'd love to be there but I'm over the water at the moment.

Fairly new looking team out there now. Only O'Rourke, Keoghan, Burke, Reilly and Newman with much experience.

Meath (O'Byrne Cup v Longford) –

Paddy O'Rourke;
James O'Reilly, Donal Keogan, Darragh Smyth;
Alan Douglas, Mickey Burke, Cathal Finn;

Harry Rooney, Andrew Tormey;

Graham Reilly, Padraic Harnan, Cillian O'Sullivan;
Mickey Newman, Dalton McDonagh, Donal Lenihan.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on January 23, 2016, 09:25:37 PM
Quote from: thejuice on January 23, 2016, 09:12:22 PM
I'd love to be there but I'm over the water at the moment.

Fairly new looking team out there now. Only O'Rourke, Keoghan, Burke, Reilly and Newman with much experience.

Meath (O'Byrne Cup v Longford) –

Paddy O'Rourke;
James O'Reilly, Donal Keogan, Darragh Smyth;
Alan Douglas, Mickey Burke, Cathal Finn;

Harry Rooney, Andrew Tormey;

Graham Reilly, Padraic Harnan, Cillian O'Sullivan;
Mickey Newman, Dalton McDonagh, Donal Lenihan.

Rooney, Tormey, Harnan, McDonagh and Lenihan would all be somewhat established players albeit they are mostly young.

I'm surprised that ye are still persisting with Keoghan at full back, I would have thought he would be more of a centre back in the Karl Lacey mould. Menton on the other hand had the potential to be a great traditional full back especially suited to marking big full forwards, might have came in handy against Westmeath in the second half.
Post by: Hardy on January 24, 2016, 03:19:48 PM
Half time in Naaavan
Meath 0-10
Longford 1-03

"Terrific crowd in Páirc Tailteann."
"Neither side flat out."
"Not seeing the bite you'd expect in a final."
Post by: Hardy on January 24, 2016, 03:48:20 PM
Meath 1-13
Longford 1-06
46 mins.

Cillian O'Sullivan goal.
Post by: Hardy on January 24, 2016, 04:15:25 PM
Result:
Meath 1-17
Longford 1-11

Great show by Graham Reilly, by all accounts. Six from play.

Hard luck Longford, but ye'll be back again next year. Hip-hip ...
Post by: armaghniac on January 24, 2016, 04:44:50 PM
Meath are back, the mighty Longford have been vanquished.
Post by: thejuice on January 24, 2016, 05:29:29 PM
Good win. Can't believe it's ten years since the last one. Winning is a good habit to have and hope these young lads have that mentality. Hopefully those few games will bring us on a bit and we'll have a good run the league.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 24, 2016, 06:00:57 PM
Feck.

Meath by far the better side as they made possession count.

This effing passing back and forth on the 40 drives me mad. Back and forth, backwards, further backwards, across, across, backwards, lose possession.

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr  >:(

I see the floodlights in Pairc Tailteann have disappeared. I heard they fell down. Any truth in this?
Post by: From the Bunker on January 24, 2016, 06:05:34 PM
Quote from: thejuice on January 24, 2016, 05:29:29 PM
Good win. Can't believe it's ten years since the last one. Winning is a good habit to have and hope these young lads have that mentality. Hopefully those few games will bring us on a bit and we'll have a good run the league.

First silverware in 10 years?
Post by: Jinxy on January 24, 2016, 06:36:04 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 24, 2016, 06:00:57 PM
Feck.

Meath by far the better side as they made possession count.

This effing passing back and forth on the 40 drives me mad. Back and forth, backwards, further backwards, across, across, backwards, lose possession.

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr  >:(

I see the floodlights in Pairc Tailteann have disappeared. I heard they fell down. Any truth in this?

Erosion.
Post by: thejuice on January 24, 2016, 08:20:37 PM
We put them away for the winter and only take them out for the summer as a back up in case the sun doesn't come up some day.

We last won the O'Byrne last time in 2006. We won the bi'hatimber in 2009 or 2010. We Martin Sluddened the Leinster title in 2010.
Title: Re: O'Byrne Cup 2017
Post by: thejuice on January 24, 2016, 08:25:21 PM
I think we can use the league and championship as a springboard to win the O'Byrne Cup back to back.
Post by: Throw ball on January 24, 2016, 09:57:47 PM
Now that Meath can mark 2016 as a successful year is there any chance they can let Armagh win in Navan next Sunday? We could do with the points!
Post by: Jinxy on January 25, 2016, 10:19:05 AM
Don't go leaving early if we're up by 10 points with 20 minutes to go.
That's when the fun usually starts.
Post by: Declan on January 25, 2016, 12:45:25 PM
Nice to see young Cillian O'Sullivan back after a bad injury - See he scored the goal - How'd he do in general play?
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 25, 2016, 03:11:47 PM
Nice to see Meath back with the elite.
Post by: thejuice on November 13, 2016, 12:11:24 AM
Bump

When are we getting fixtures?

Looking forward to something of a statement of intent from the new management. Although it is hard to do more than what we achieved in this competition but its the manner in which we play that matters.

And ultimately it needs to carry on into the league.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 15, 2016, 08:41:21 AM
Juice

The tables are usually done in early December afaik. Usually the Longford GAA twitter is quick to publish them so I will be in like Flynn here with them.

It really is a most wonderful competition. Ticks all the boxes for the likes of me.

Bring it on!
Post by: The Insider on November 16, 2016, 01:39:35 AM
Leinster meeting tonight (Wednesday) doing 2017 minor leagues draws, so I assume O Byrne cup also on the agenda
Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 16, 2016, 11:20:41 PM
Draw was made tonight....but nothing on Leinster GAA website.

I do know that in Longford's group we have Kildare, Offaly and Carlow IT.
Post by: thejuice on November 18, 2016, 12:33:41 AM
We have Laois Wicklow and DIT in our group.

Should get out of that one all going well.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 18, 2016, 09:32:22 AM
Did we avoid the juggernaut?
Post by: Jinxy on November 18, 2016, 12:57:17 PM
Yes, you did.
Read the post above yours.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 18, 2016, 03:12:08 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on November 18, 2016, 12:57:17 PM
Yes, you did.
Read the post above yours.

Didn't know you were a DIT man Jinxy. Or as Neil Delamare calls them, someone who didn't get where they wanted in the CAO.
Post by: thejuice on November 24, 2016, 12:52:21 AM
http://www.leinstergaa.ie/news/fixtures-released-for-2017-bord-na-m%C3%B3na-obyrne-cup.8327.html

GROUP 1 Dublin, Wexford, DCU, UCD

GROUP 2 Kildare, Offaly, Longford, IT Carlow

GROUP 3 Meath, Laois, Wicklow, DIT

GROUP 4 Louth Westmeath, Carlow, Maynooth University

There is the groups. Fixtures in the link above.

Will be interesting to see who from Dublin lines out against Dublin for DCU and UCD
Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 24, 2016, 08:59:24 AM
Time to start planning the trips.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Cx-bKICXUAEoOUr.jpg:large)

What's Newbridge like in January - any better than any other time of the year?
Post by: laoislad on November 24, 2016, 09:12:37 AM
Group 3 is the Group of death.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 24, 2016, 09:38:24 AM
Wednesday night trip to Carlow, when do the tickets go on sale?
Post by: Dinny Breen on November 24, 2016, 10:32:07 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on November 24, 2016, 09:38:24 AM

Might be able to throw some corporate tickets your way.
Post by: Jinxy on November 24, 2016, 10:48:10 AM
What's the best hotel in Laois?
Post by: laoislad on November 24, 2016, 10:58:07 AM
Durrow Castle.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 24, 2016, 11:39:10 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on November 24, 2016, 10:32:07 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on November 24, 2016, 09:38:24 AM

Might be able to throw some corporate tickets your way.

Premium is as far as I go Dinny, no atmosphere in those boxes...
Post by: Jinxy on November 24, 2016, 11:51:45 AM
Quote from: laoislad on November 24, 2016, 10:58:07 AM
Durrow Castle.

Good carvery?
Post by: south Laois on November 24, 2016, 03:28:18 PM
Durrow castle wouldn't exactly be the place that does carvary Jinxy. It would be more of a fine dining experience!! Also it 15 miles from Portlaoise. O Loughlins on main street Portlaoise does good grub.
Post by: Jinxy on November 24, 2016, 08:26:01 PM
Oh, so you think Durrow Castle is too good for the likes of me?  >:(
Just for that I'm definitely staying there.

They better do a nice apple tart.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 25, 2016, 09:20:37 AM
Not sure your sleeveless Trevor Giles jersey will meet the formal dining requirements, recommend a polo shirt with Mr. Tayto blazed all over the front of it.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 02, 2017, 01:33:15 PM
Here we go!

Kildare v Longford gets the ball rolling this Sat in Newbridge at 2 pm.

Looking forward to getting some shouting and roaring out of the system with this being the first official inter county game of 2017 (I think)

Hopefully there won't be a crush on the way in.......
Post by: Jinxy on January 02, 2017, 01:39:45 PM
Playing Kildare in January is the acid test of any Leinster team.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 05, 2017, 10:36:24 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 02, 2017, 01:33:15 PM
Here we go!

Looking forward to getting some shouting and roaring out of the system with this being the first official inter county game of 2017 (I think)

Dublin hurlers played Carlow in the Walsh Cup last night.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 05, 2017, 12:47:01 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 05, 2017, 10:36:24 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 02, 2017, 01:33:15 PM
Here we go!

Dublin hurlers played Carlow in the Walsh Cup last night.

Hmmmmm - I was thinking of football in fairness,
Post by: thejuice on January 06, 2017, 04:27:58 PM
Meath (O'Byrne Cup SF v Wicklow):

Jack Hannigan,
Donal Keogan, Donnacha Tobin, Mickey Burke,
Conor Downey, Shane McEntee, Sean Curran,

Bryan Menton, Cian O'Brien,

Cillian O'Sullivan, Graham Reilly, Paddy Kennelly,
Kevin Ross, Brian Sheridan, Bryan McMahon

Strong enough team for this time of year.

2 debuts in Hannigan and Ross but a few inexperienced guys like Kennelly and Downey too.
Post by: Jinxy on January 06, 2017, 04:57:45 PM
Good to see Menton back.
Hope he's fit and raring to go this year.
We need a bit of dynamism around midfield.
Post by: thejuice on January 06, 2017, 09:17:27 PM
Just looking at the two forward lines with Reilly, O'Sullivan, McMahon and Sheridan makes me fairly confident we'll win this handy enough so long as the weather doesn't turn foul.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 07, 2017, 02:48:57 PM
Good crowd in Newbridge. I'd say 1,000 or so. Football game of the year so far  :)

Kildare 1-07
Longford 0-07 at half time
Post by: seafoid on January 07, 2017, 03:42:49 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 02, 2017, 01:39:45 PM
Playing Kildare in January is the acid test of any Leinster team.
Only 11 years to go for Kildare to hit the century
Post by: seafoid on January 07, 2017, 05:43:53 PM
Get the John Maughan look for the O'Byrne cup with a pair of Offaly bermuda shorts. Fake tan available at all good chemists

https://www.oneills.com/offaly-gaa-toulon-cargo-shorts-beige.html?
Post by: Jinxy on January 08, 2017, 02:47:08 PM
HT
Meath 1-13
Wicklow 0-02
Post by: Hardy on January 08, 2017, 02:51:18 PM
Straight away the new regime confronts our major weakness - holding on to half time leads. Fingernails at risk now for 35 minutes.
Post by: seafoid on January 08, 2017, 02:52:47 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 08, 2017, 02:47:08 PM
HT
Meath 1-13
Wicklow 0-02
Pile in at 66/1 on Meath for Sam . That price will be impossible to find tomorrow
http://www.paddypower.com/bet/gaa-sports/gaa-football/all-ireland-sfc
Post by: Jinxy on January 08, 2017, 02:54:45 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 08, 2017, 02:51:18 PM
Straight away the new regime confronts our major weakness - holding on to half time leads. Fingernails at risk now for 35 minutes.

If we manage to come back and win after being 14 points up at half-time, we'll know we've turned a corner.
Post by: thejuice on January 08, 2017, 05:16:32 PM
Good start to the Andy McEntee era. A full 70minute performance is what we needed. Need to see this repeatedly throughout the O'Byrne and league to start feeling optimistic.

The new lads applied themselves well.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on January 09, 2017, 01:06:33 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 08, 2017, 02:52:47 PM
HT
Meath 1-13
Wicklow 0-02
Pile in at 66/1 on Meath for Sam . That price will be impossible to find tomorrow

Just for anyone unfamiliar with betting and odds, here's the way that works.
If for example, you put €20 on at 66-1, then you lose €20.
Post by: Hardy on January 09, 2017, 01:19:00 AM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on January 09, 2017, 01:06:33 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 08, 2017, 02:52:47 PM
HT
Meath 1-13
Wicklow 0-02

Just for anyone unfamiliar with betting and odds, here's the way that works.
If for example, you put €20 on at 66-1, then you lose €20.

That's not exactly the way it works. Usually the 66/1 goes out to 80/1 after you place your bet. You can't believe the odds are getting even better and you put on another €20 and now you lose €40.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 09, 2017, 03:02:27 PM
Looking at Kildare on Sat I can confidently say that they seem to have peaked for 2017.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 09, 2017, 05:21:02 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 09, 2017, 03:02:27 PM
Looking at Kildare on Sat I can confidently say that they seem to have peaked for 2017.

IT Carlow are lurking in the long grass planning their ambush.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 09, 2017, 05:28:13 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 09, 2017, 05:21:02 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 09, 2017, 03:02:27 PM

IT Carlow are lurking in the long grass planning their ambush.

Hate them since they were an RTC!! We fu*kin owe them!!!
Post by: thejuice on January 10, 2017, 10:41:29 PM
15 changes on the Meath team from Sunday's win over Wicklow. Andy really taking a look at what's available. I don't think this is anywhere near our strongest team and it might cost us the win but we'll see. According to some accounts Andy had the lads training 6 nights a week in the run up the O'Byrne Cup.

It was interesting to hear what he had to say about Shane O'Rourke that he simply wouldn't be able for the intensity of training that they were doing so he left him off the squad despite Shane's impressive performances for Simonstown. I guess they've taken things up a level.I just hope they'll be right come June and not worn out.

Meath (O'Byrne Cup v DIT) - 

Robbie Burlingham

Alan Douglas, David McQuillan, Thomas McGovern,
Declan Smyth, Willie Carry, Alan Forde,

Brian Power,  James Toher,

Stuart Lowndes, Bobby O'Brien, Ruairí Ó Coileáin,
Dan Queeney, Sean Tobin, Donal Lenihen.

Subs -
Joe Sheridan
Patrick Brady
David Toner
Kieran Lynch
Adam Flanagan
Padraic Harnan
Ben Brennan
David Larkin
Post by: Hardy on January 11, 2017, 12:21:38 AM
This is a very cavalier attitude to a vital test against our bogey team.
Post by: moysider on January 11, 2017, 12:44:06 AM
Quote from: thejuice on January 10, 2017, 10:41:29 PM
15 changes on the Meath team from Sunday's win over Wicklow. Andy really taking a look at what's available. I don't think this is anywhere near our strongest team and it might cost us the win but we'll see. According to some accounts Andy had the lads training 6 nights a week in the run up the O'Byrne Cup.

It was interesting to hear what he had to say about Shane O'Rourke that he simply wouldn't be able for the intensity of training that they were doing so he left him off the squad despite Shane's impressive performances for Simonstown. I guess they've taken things up a level.I just hope they'll be right come June and not worn out.

Meath (O'Byrne Cup v DIT) - 

Robbie Burlingham

Alan Douglas, David McQuillan, Thomas McGovern,
Declan Smyth, Willie Carry, Alan Forde,

Brian Power,  James Toher,

Stuart Lowndes, Bobby O'Brien, Ruairí Ó Coileáin,
Dan Queeney, Sean Tobin, Donal Lenihen.

Subs -
Joe Sheridan
Patrick Brady
David Toner
Kieran Lynch
Adam Flanagan
Padraic Harnan
Ben Brennan
David Larkin

Have to say that is the first time ever I don't know any Meath footballer! Once I'd be able to pick the f**king team myself and Boylan could have concentrated on picking herbs and 'schrooms and stuff. Could ye not have put that fella in there that looks like he has birds' nests in his hair and beards, for a bit of familiarity. Micky Burke would have given me something I could have got continuity from.
Post by: Jinxy on January 11, 2017, 09:51:13 AM

I'd agree 100% with Andy here and it's really encouraging that he (no doubt with Gerry giving him his opinion) recognises this.
It's the best thing for Shane, the best thing for Simonstown and the best thing for the county team.
The lad has had such a bad time with injuries that it's a massive win if he gets to play another few years for the club and live his life without having to constantly worry about injuries & surgery.
Let him play away with the club and enjoy himself.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 11, 2017, 01:05:38 PM
Big Joe will surely get a run out. Unlimited subs I believe.

Sadly I won't get to the banks of the Shannon in Longford this eve to see the clash with Offaly.
I hear it's a sell out.

Grass may be too wet for this sort of craic by the Offaly travelling supporters.

(http://img2.thejournal.ie/inline/932849/original/?width=630&version=932849)
Post by: Jinxy on January 11, 2017, 02:01:54 PM
Those were the days.
And not a single person with a phone in their hand.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 11, 2017, 03:16:21 PM
Donal Lenihen - certainly something different for Meath. A good rugby player back in the day and I would have thought a bit old for Inter-County football but what would I know. Andy is certainly looking at all options..
Post by: Jinxy on January 11, 2017, 03:21:39 PM
Quote from: moysider on January 11, 2017, 12:44:06 AM

Have to say that is the first time ever I don't know any Meath footballer! Once I'd be able to pick the f**king team myself and Boylan could have concentrated on picking herbs and 'schrooms and stuff. Could ye not have put that fella in there that looks like he has birds' nests in his hair and beards, for a bit of familiarity. Micky Burke would have given me something I could have got continuity from.

Unfortunately, Mickey is in hospital with spinach poisoning.
Post by: thejuice on January 11, 2017, 06:44:13 PM
I'm pretty sure that these lads played senior county football in the last few years though for most it was only O'Byrne and the league. Tobin, Forde and Lenihen have played in the championship.

Alan Douglas, 
Alan Forde,
Brian Power, 
James Toher,
Bobby O'Brien,
Ruarí Ó Coileáin,
Dan Queeney,
Sean Tobin,
Donal Lenihen.
Post by: thejuice on January 11, 2017, 07:24:02 PM
David Toner is on for Thomas McGovern at corner back as Thomas has taken the surprising move of playing for the opposition.
Post by: thejuice on January 11, 2017, 07:50:29 PM
Latest after 20 mins

Wexford 0-0 DCU 0-0,
Kildare 1-5 IT Carlow 0-0,
Longford 0-1 Offaly 0-3,
Meath 0-5 DIT 0-4,
Wicklow 0-0 Laois 0-1,
Louth 0-1 NUI Maynooth 0-0,
Carlow 0-3 Westmeath 1-2,
Post by: thejuice on January 11, 2017, 08:07:36 PM
About half time in all the games. Kildare will be playing against the wind in the second half. We'll see how that changes things.

Wexford 1-3 DCU 0-3,
Kildare 2-14 IT Carlow 0-0,
Longford 0-2 Offaly 0-5,
Meath 0-7 DIT 0-5,
Wicklow 0-1 Laois 0-3,
Louth 0-5 NUI Maynooth 1-4,
Carlow 0-9 Westmeath 1-6,
Post by: Jinxy on January 11, 2017, 08:45:03 PM
19mins 2nd Half
Meath: 2-8
DIT: 0-10

Time to teach these no good students a lesson.
Post by: inexile on January 11, 2017, 08:51:54 PM
Kildare 4-20 IT Carlow 0-01 59 mins
Post by: Jinxy on January 11, 2017, 08:55:06 PM
31 mins 2nd Half
Meath: 2-13

Proper nutrition making all the difference here.
Spinach & blueberries vs. koka noodles and chicken fillet rolls.
Post by: Jinxy on January 11, 2017, 09:04:21 PM
FT
Meath: 2-15

It's a long, lonely drive back to Kevin St.
Post by: Jinxy on January 11, 2017, 09:12:03 PM
Kildare 4-24
IT Carlow 0-01

There's no need for that.
Post by: Rossfan on January 11, 2017, 09:13:13 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 11, 2017, 08:55:06 PM
31 mins 2nd Half
Meath: 2-13

Proper nutrition making all the difference here.
Spinach & blueberries vs. koka noodles and chicken fillet rolls.
It's that calf food that's sponsoring ye. ;D
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 11, 2017, 09:37:25 PM
Longford 2-11
Offaly 0-09

Longford played with the Shannon in the second half  :)
Post by: Jinxy on January 11, 2017, 09:52:32 PM
FT
UCD 2-9
Dublin 1-10

Useless.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 11, 2017, 10:04:05 PM
IT Carlow back in their box for another year.

I'm off down to the Foundry to celebrate.
Post by: thejuice on January 11, 2017, 10:18:59 PM
Decent performance by essentially our B team. Lenihan got 1-5 but whether that gets him into the first 15. Good to see Dublin lose as well. Should be an interesting finale to the group stages.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 11, 2017, 11:05:05 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 11, 2017, 10:04:05 PM

I'm telling ye boys. Kildare are peaking already. Semi final place assured
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 11, 2017, 11:33:22 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 11, 2017, 11:05:05 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 11, 2017, 10:04:05 PM

I'm telling ye boys. Kildare are peaking already. Semi final place assured

Kings of January. I love the smell of the O'Byrne Cup this time of the year...
Post by: Jinxy on January 11, 2017, 11:43:22 PM
Hope you're proud of yourselves, Dinny.
Half those lads will probably drop out of college now.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 11, 2017, 11:58:13 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 11, 2017, 11:43:22 PM

About time they paid tax.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on January 12, 2017, 12:09:25 AM
I don't want to lose the head over this result but having said that it's also clear that the O'Byrne-Div2-Leinster-Sam quadruple is very much on.
Post by: Jinxy on January 12, 2017, 12:31:10 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 11, 2017, 11:58:13 PM

About time they paid tax.

Those scallions won't pick themselves.
Post by: thejuice on January 12, 2017, 01:07:29 AM
Do you need a degree to pick scallions these days?
Post by: Unlaoised on January 12, 2017, 10:08:58 AM
Decent Result for Laois as well who seem to be going well under their new manager ...

All roads lead to Stradbally on Saturday evening where Laois and Meath play in a shootout ...

The two big guns in Leinster usually produce a classic :-)

Remember this one?

Draw match after extra time Laois 1-16 Meath 2-13

Here is fat Joe trying to get his shirt off with the help of Laois's  Pauric McMahon

http://www.sportsfile.com/id/434385/
Post by: Jinxy on January 12, 2017, 10:23:08 AM
He really wants that jersey and who could blame him.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 12, 2017, 04:52:00 PM

They are playing Longford on Sunday so perhaps their faith in their football will be restored.

Unless they go on the batter on the Sat night.....
Post by: thejuice on January 13, 2017, 12:27:04 PM
Meath (O'Byrne Cup v Laois) -

Joe Sheridan (Seneschalstown);

Donal Keogan (Rathkenny), David McQuillan (St Patrick's), Mickey Burke (Longwood);
Conor Downey (Na Fianna), Brian Power (Ratoath), Sean Curran (Donaghmore/Ashbourne);

Bryan Menton (Donaghmore/Ashbourne), Cian O'Brien (Ratoath);

Cillian O'Sullivan (Moynalvey), Graham Reilly (St Colmcille's), Paddy Kennelly (Dunderry);
Bryan McMahon (Ratoath), Kevin Ross (Castletown), Donal Lenihan.

Subs -
Jack Hannigan (Donaghmore/Ashbourne),
Alan Forde (Navan O'Mahonys),
Willie Carry (Drumbaragh),
David Toner (Curraha),
Declan Smyth (Dunsany),
Adam Flanagan (Clonard),
Bobby O'Brien (Ratoath),
Sean Tobin (Simonstown),
Fiachra Ward (Wolfe Tones).
Post by: Hardy on January 13, 2017, 02:34:17 PM
Is Mickey Newman gone from the panel? And the Wallaces?
Post by: Jinxy on January 13, 2017, 02:40:20 PM
Eamon Wallace is playing for UCD anyway.
I assume Newman is injured.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on January 13, 2017, 08:23:54 PM
I think I seen Joey Wallace's name on the the Maynooth panel, only Eamon is/was(looked top class when he first broke through) any good though while I wouldn't rate Micky Newman as highly as others do.
Post by: thejuice on January 14, 2017, 12:03:11 PM
Newman is injured apparently. I'm sure he'll feature at some stage this year if it's not serious.
Post by: seafoid on January 14, 2017, 12:24:03 PM
Nobody from Simonstown on the team
Post by: laoislad on January 14, 2017, 02:23:36 PM
Welcome to the Jungle Stradbally
Post by: thejuice on January 14, 2017, 07:12:16 PM
Meath 0-04
Laois 0-01

After 9 mins according to Meath facebook page. No updates on hoganstand or LMFM
Post by: thejuice on January 14, 2017, 07:15:23 PM

Meath 0-05
Laois 0-03

15 mins
Post by: thejuice on January 14, 2017, 07:20:46 PM

Meath 1-05
Laois 0-03

20 mins
Post by: thejuice on January 14, 2017, 07:21:20 PM
Meath 1-06
Laois 0-03

21 mins
Post by: thejuice on January 14, 2017, 07:22:44 PM
Meath 1-07
Laois 0-03

23 mins
Post by: thejuice on January 14, 2017, 07:27:17 PM
Meath 1-08
Laois 0-03

24 mins
Post by: thejuice on January 14, 2017, 07:29:58 PM
Meath 1-08
Laois 0-04

28 mins
Post by: thejuice on January 14, 2017, 07:31:30 PM
Meath 1-09
Laois 0-04

29 mins

Graham Reilly with his 4th point, I think.
Post by: thejuice on January 14, 2017, 07:33:31 PM
Meath 1-09
Laois 0-07

Laois rattling off a few scores there. Ramsbottom with 2 of them
Post by: thejuice on January 14, 2017, 07:35:22 PM
Meath 1-09
Laois 0-08

34 mins

Laois back in it.
Post by: thejuice on January 14, 2017, 07:38:41 PM
Half time

Meath 1-10
Laois 0-10

Really tightened up now.
Post by: Jinxy on January 14, 2017, 07:39:24 PM
Some game.
What a top class competition this is.
Post by: thejuice on January 14, 2017, 07:44:28 PM
Lenihan with the goal and a point, Reilly and Kevin Ross with 3 points each.
Post by: thejuice on January 14, 2017, 07:54:29 PM
Meath 1-11
Laois 0-10

Back to it,
Post by: thejuice on January 14, 2017, 07:56:00 PM
Meath 1-11
Laois 0-11

37 mins

Kingston with the left.
Post by: thejuice on January 14, 2017, 07:57:07 PM
Meath 1-11
Laois 1-11

Kingston gets the goal. Level here
Post by: thejuice on January 14, 2017, 07:58:35 PM
Meath 1-11
Laois 1-12

Tide has turned
Post by: thejuice on January 14, 2017, 07:59:28 PM
That was Kingston again
Post by: thejuice on January 14, 2017, 08:08:40 PM
No change on the scoreboard. Andy has made a few subs. I'm putting the young lad to bed so won't be making as many updates
Post by: thejuice on January 14, 2017, 08:16:25 PM
Meath 1-12
Laois 1-13

57 mins
Post by: thejuice on January 14, 2017, 08:33:50 PM
Last minute penalty, Ross scores

Meath 2-13
Laois 1-15
Post by: thejuice on January 14, 2017, 08:35:25 PM
All over, draw. Begley with the equaliser

2-13
1-16

Meath into semifinals
Post by: thejuice on January 14, 2017, 08:41:32 PM
Meath Scorers:
Kevin Ross (1-3, 0-3f, 1-0pen),
Donal Lenihan (1-1, 0-1f),
Graham Reilly (0-3),
Cillian O'Sullivan,
Cian O'Brien,
Bryan McMahon,
Bryan Menton,
Sean Tobin (f),
Bobby O'Bien 0-1 each.

Seemed reminiscent of the Mick O'Dowd era giving away such a good lead. At least the lads held on and took their chances.
Post by: Jinxy on January 14, 2017, 08:45:46 PM
Good to get another game for Andy to run the rule over as many players as possible.
Post by: heffo on January 14, 2017, 08:48:35 PM
Did they finally get the lights fixed in Navan?
Post by: Jinxy on January 14, 2017, 08:52:20 PM
Mind your own business.
Post by: laoislad on January 14, 2017, 09:25:14 PM
Quote from: thejuice on January 14, 2017, 08:35:25 PM
All over, draw. Begley with the equaliser

2-13
1-16

Meath into semifinals
Listened to it on the wireless. Cracking game by the sounds of it.
Post by: thejuice on January 14, 2017, 09:44:39 PM
Never thought to look for a "foreign" radio station. Ah well. No matter.

We play the winners of Carlow vs Louth.
Post by: shyted on January 14, 2017, 09:47:47 PM
why are wexford favs v the dubs
Post by: Beffs on January 14, 2017, 09:53:28 PM
Quote from: shyted on January 14, 2017, 09:47:47 PM

Probably coz the real Dubs are 3000 miles away in Jamaica.
Post by: heffo on January 14, 2017, 09:58:57 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 14, 2017, 08:52:20 PM
Mind your own business.

:'(
Post by: Aaron Boone on January 14, 2017, 10:00:01 PM
Quote from: Beffs on January 14, 2017, 09:53:28 PM
Quote from: shyted on January 14, 2017, 09:47:47 PM

Probably coz the real Dubs are 3000 miles away in Jamaica.
Banty in the summer, given a few differentials, has the Dubs number.
Post by: Jinxy on January 14, 2017, 10:31:08 PM
Wexford won't fear the Dubs.
Post by: Beffs on January 15, 2017, 01:26:36 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on January 14, 2017, 10:00:01 PM

Banty in the summer, given a few differentials, has the Dubs number.

What's that? What they will lose by, should they meet in the summer? Just like everyone else in Leinster, any random number between 10 & 20 should do.  ::)
Post by: dublin7 on January 15, 2017, 05:18:59 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 14, 2017, 10:31:08 PM

Dubs beat wexford in wexford.  Big test next week in newbridge against O'Byrne cup kings Kildare.

Will be interesting to see to the dubs stick with the current panel or ease some 1st teamers back into the side
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 15, 2017, 07:25:16 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on January 15, 2017, 05:18:59 PM

Dubs beat wexford in wexford.  Big test next week in newbridge against O'Byrne cup kings Kildare.

Will be interesting to see to the dubs stick with the current panel or ease some 1st teamers back into the side

Afraid are we?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 15, 2017, 07:58:17 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 15, 2017, 07:25:16 PM

Afraid are we?

Town end terrace next Sunday:

(http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2015/02/26/261FA02200000578-0-_Welcome_to_Hell_-m-30_1424977059111.jpg)
Post by: dublin7 on January 15, 2017, 08:14:14 PM

Hard to see how the dubs can go down to fortress Newbridge and get a victory. Can hope for the best and expect the worst
Afraid are we?
Post by: seafoid on January 15, 2017, 09:00:36 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 15, 2017, 07:58:17 PM

Afraid are we?

Town end terrace next Sunday:

(http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2015/02/26/261FA02200000578-0-_Welcome_to_Hell_-m-30_1424977059111.jpg)
In hell nobody can spell
Post by: Jinxy on January 15, 2017, 10:04:29 PM
Who do we play next?
It better not be some gang of students.
Post by: laoislad on January 15, 2017, 10:11:30 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 15, 2017, 10:04:29 PM
Who do we play next?
It better not be some gang of students.
The 2010 Leinster Champions.
Post by: MayoBuck on January 15, 2017, 10:52:06 PM
Does anyone have the team sheets from DCU vs UCD earlier today?
Post by: Jinxy on January 15, 2017, 11:06:17 PM
Same team for both, just reverse the order.
Post by: thejuice on January 15, 2017, 11:51:03 PM
Should be some good games in the semis. I remember a few years ago TG4 broadcast a few games this time of year. Anything this year?
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on January 15, 2017, 11:58:36 PM
Quote from: MayoBuck on January 15, 2017, 10:52:06 PM

DCU: A Farrelly; D Ward, D O'Neill, S Lavin; B Kerr, J Mealiff (0-2), P Durcan (0-1); S O'Brien, S Carthy (0-2, 0-1f); C Mulligan (0-1), E Smith (0-1), M Plunkett (0-2); R Burns (0-2), N Murphy (0-6, 0-4f), E O'Connor. Subs: E Smith for Ward (24); T Galligan for O'Brien (25); D Mannix (0-1) for O'Connor (h-t); T Lahiff for Durcan (55); C Boylan for O'Neill (60); E Smyth for Murphy; B Cawley for Kerr (both 69).

UCD: C Honan; A Hassett, M Fitzsimons, N McInerney; S O'Dea, S Coen, P Fagan; BD O'Sullivan (0-2), B O'Seanachain; A McDonnell (0-1), C Basquel, L Kelly; T Hayes, R Cleary, E Lowry (1-2, 0-2f). Subs: R McDaid for Fitzsimons (18); L Casey for O'Sullivan (31, BC); S Mullooly for O'Dea; D Maguire for McInerney; L Moran (0-2, 1f) for McDonnell; G Farrell for Lowry; E Wallace (0-1) for Hayes (all h-t); S Meade for Farrell (50, BC); C Nolan (0-1) for Coen (55).
Post by: MayoBuck on January 16, 2017, 12:17:02 AM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on January 15, 2017, 11:58:36 PM
Quote from: MayoBuck on January 15, 2017, 10:52:06 PM

DCU: A Farrelly; D Ward, D O'Neill, S Lavin; B Kerr, J Mealiff (0-2), P Durcan (0-1); S O'Brien, S Carthy (0-2, 0-1f); C Mulligan (0-1), E Smith (0-1), M Plunkett (0-2); R Burns (0-2), N Murphy (0-6, 0-4f), E O'Connor. Subs: E Smith for Ward (24); T Galligan for O'Brien (25); D Mannix (0-1) for O'Connor (h-t); T Lahiff for Durcan (55); C Boylan for O'Neill (60); E Smyth for Murphy; B Cawley for Kerr (both 69).

UCD: C Honan; A Hassett, M Fitzsimons, N McInerney; S O'Dea, S Coen, P Fagan; BD O'Sullivan (0-2), B O'Seanachain; A McDonnell (0-1), C Basquel, L Kelly; T Hayes, R Cleary, E Lowry (1-2, 0-2f). Subs: R McDaid for Fitzsimons (18); L Casey for O'Sullivan (31, BC); S Mullooly for O'Dea; D Maguire for McInerney; L Moran (0-2, 1f) for McDonnell; G Farrell for Lowry; E Wallace (0-1) for Hayes (all h-t); S Meade for Farrell (50, BC); C Nolan (0-1) for Coen (55).

Cheers!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 16, 2017, 09:29:57 AM
It's Kildare's to lose at this stage. But Meath may be chomping at the bit to retain the title.

Dubs could be a dark horse with a collection of wanna-bees and maybees and neverwillbes while the real Dubs top up the tan in Jamaica (no, she went willingly).

Kildare for O'Byrne.

Post by: Jinxy on January 16, 2017, 10:06:20 AM
I just hope the Louth FF line doesn't 'go after' Big Joe.
Do they still have that Hulk Hogan lookalike playing for them?
Post by: Jinxy on January 16, 2017, 03:28:06 PM
'Banty' unapologetic over physical approach

Seamus 'Banty' McEnaney has defended the physical tactics adopted by his Wexford team in their O'Byrne Cup defeat to Dublin.

John Turbit (Wexford) and Gary Sweeney (Dublin) were both sent off for separate incidents late in the first half, while at least two other Wexford players were fortunate not to see red.

"It's a physical game we're playing and if there's one thing that disappoints me about the GAA over the last number of years, it's that we're losing the physicality," the Monaghan man is quoted in the Irish Daily Star.

"It's one part of the game I don't intend losing for whoever I'm managing."

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=265076&utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter (http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=265076&utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter)

(http://www.independent.ie/migration_catalog/article25319448.ece/ALTERNATES/h342/mcgeeney-mcenaney)
Post by: Main Street on January 16, 2017, 09:15:35 PM
That's just an affectionate eskimo kiss.

(https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/06/fa/e2/06fae21c057e4fd155a7589a12d3ba60.jpg)

Post by: thejuice on January 17, 2017, 10:14:39 AM
looking forward to an early rattle at Louth and if we get over them a shot at Kildare or Dublin is a juicey reward. I have a feeling Kildare could do it. Dublin are well below strength and Kildare usually peak in January.
Post by: skeog on January 17, 2017, 10:24:29 AM
Banty should have been in the circus he is some clown with a massive ego.
Post by: Jinxy on January 17, 2017, 10:57:08 AM
The thoughts of playing the flourbots in the final in Navan should give the lads plenty of motivation to put Louth to the sword.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 17, 2017, 10:58:49 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 17, 2017, 10:57:08 AM
The thoughts of playing the flourbots in the final in Navan should give the lads plenty of motivation to put Louth to the sword.

Would they double it up with the league game?
Post by: Unlaoised on January 17, 2017, 11:19:17 AM
Laois v Meath was as good a game as you're likely to see in the O'Byrne cup this year or any other year.

It had a bit of everything

A tenner well spent.

I fancy Meath to go on and win it again!
Post by: Jinxy on January 17, 2017, 11:33:29 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 17, 2017, 10:58:49 AM

The Ardboyne Hotel is doing a special rate for the week if you don't fancy making the long trip home after losing on the 29th.
Plenty to see & do in Navan.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 17, 2017, 11:43:18 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 17, 2017, 11:33:29 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 17, 2017, 10:58:49 AM

The Ardboyne Hotel is doing a special rate for the week if you don't fancy making the long trip home after losing on the 29th.
Plenty to see & do in Navan.

Dinny doesn't do Navan!!
Post by: Jinxy on January 17, 2017, 12:24:19 PM
Does Navan do Dinny though?
Post by: thejuice on January 20, 2017, 10:52:26 PM
Meath (O'Byrne Cup semi-final v Louth) -

Jack Hannigan

David McQuillan, Donal Keogan, Sean Curran;
Seamus Lavin, Brian Power, Alan Forde;

Bryan Menton, Cian O'Brien;

Ruairí Ó Coileáin, Graham Reilly, Eamon Wallace;
Kevin Ross, Paddy Kennelly, Sean Tobin.

Subs -
Joe Sheridan
Conor Downey
Cillian O'Sullivan
Bryan McMahon
Shane McEntee
Adam Flanagan
Conor McGill
Mickey Burke
Michael Newman

Some definite starters left on the bench. Good to see Newmans name there. Not sure that forward line are going to that effective unless Louth are poor. Good to see Ross having another chance. Can see Andy emptying the bench if things aren't going well early on.
Post by: Hardy on January 21, 2017, 12:06:56 AM
Who knows? This might be the first outing of the O'Rourke, Stafford, Flynn of the ... f**k me, we're nearly 20% of the way through the 21st century and on course for our longest ever gap between All-Irelands.
Post by: thejuice on January 21, 2017, 12:14:13 AM
God only knows what way it will go. There's always a bit of fresh optimism when a new manager takes the reigns but I still don't see the level of talent or guts thats are needed to win major trophies. But it might be there.

Looking back at videos of 1999 it seems like a different era alright, to think that's how my parents remember the 70's when I was a young lad. No drainpipe trousers though but we did have some class footballers
Post by: Jinxy on January 21, 2017, 12:52:01 PM
While it would be nice to think about winning major trophies, you have to crawl before you walk I suppose.
We need to become a competitive, well-organised, properly conditioned outfit, so that when the rare talents come along, they can make the difference.
I think we have some lads that are playing well below their potential and I'd have a lot of faith that Andy will get more out of them.
Outside of the top 3 teams, we should be able to give any other county a proper game.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on January 22, 2017, 02:43:03 PM
Kildare being outclassed by Dublin's 3rd team, it really is time to take a leaf out of Kilkenny's book and withdraw from inter county football. The money saved could be used to fix up Conleths.
Post by: Hardy on January 22, 2017, 03:01:41 PM
Louth leading 0-9 to 0-4 ten minutes into second half and playing into the scoring end. 4 points in three quarters of an hour!

I suppose it's an opportunity to see is there any of the old comeback race memory in the team.
Post by: Hardy on January 22, 2017, 03:07:24 PM
10-5. Meath's first score in 32 minutes.
Post by: Hardy on January 22, 2017, 03:30:57 PM
Race memory me arse. 1-14 to 0-10 final score.

McEntee out!
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on January 22, 2017, 03:39:12 PM
Might only be an O'Byrne cup game but equally as humiliating as all the hammerings. Depressed with football in January is a new low.
Post by: seafoid on January 22, 2017, 03:46:13 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 22, 2017, 03:30:57 PM

McEntee out!
1970s race memory perhaps
Post by: Jinxy on January 22, 2017, 03:56:39 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 22, 2017, 03:30:57 PM

McEntee out!

We clearly threw the game to focus on the league.
Post by: yellowcard on January 22, 2017, 04:02:56 PM
Would Dublin 3rd win Leinster given the fact that they are in the O'Byrne cup final. Personally I think they wouldn't be too far away.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on January 22, 2017, 04:12:49 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on January 22, 2017, 04:02:56 PM
Would Dublin 3rd win Leinster given the fact that they are in the O'Byrne cup final. Personally I think they wouldn't be too far away.

I'd say so.
Post by: Beffs on January 22, 2017, 04:19:21 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on January 22, 2017, 04:02:56 PM

Yep. They got this far, with only being assembled and playing and training together, for a few weeks. What more could they achieve, if they were all traning and playing together regularly, for the next 5 months? A provincial title could be well within their grasp, especially if Jim Gavin was in charge of them.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on January 22, 2017, 04:30:21 PM
The only hope for Kildare is that it was some of our own players betting against themselves on the Friday afternoon gamble on Dublin but logic would dictate that we are just rubbish and Dublin knew.

I still maintain that the Leinster counties outside Dublin will at some stage have to break away and play in a junior competition amongst themselves until standards improve. There isn't a hope of any of us doing anything in the AI series anyway anymore.
Let Dublin have a bye into the AI quarter final at least they could play some more competitive in house games.
Post by: thejuice on January 22, 2017, 04:40:22 PM
Jesus lads it's only January.

By the sounds of it Meath haven't figured how to deal with blanket defences which turned the game against Laois as well. We had a friendly against Donegal last night as well and lost by 11 points. Lot of football being played this time of year.

I'm not too despondent. Once we've cut the squad down to size I think they'll be more focusedz.
Post by: Jinxy on January 22, 2017, 05:11:10 PM
Quote from: thejuice on January 22, 2017, 04:40:22 PM
Jesus lads it's only January.

By the sounds of it Meath haven't figured how to deal with blanket defences which turned the game against Laois as well. We had a friendly against Donegal last night as well and lost by 11 points. Lot of football being played this time of year.

I'm not too despondent. Once we've cut the squad down to size I think they'll be more focusedz.

I'd agree with that.
Andy will have learned a good bit from the last two games.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on January 22, 2017, 10:37:15 PM
Our five-year rope-a-dope plan all set to pay off this summer.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 22, 2017, 11:24:51 PM
The faithful on the Kildare forums are suicidal. It was a poor performance but all sense of perspective has been lost. 2 weeks time in Navan is what matters so I will reserve judgement till then. First time in Newbridge where I can remember being out numbered by the opposition support.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on January 23, 2017, 05:47:52 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 22, 2017, 11:24:51 PM
The faithful on the Kildare forums are suicidal. It was a poor performance but all sense of perspective has been lost. 2 weeks time in Navan is what matters so I will reserve judgement till then. First time in Newbridge where I can remember being out numbered by the opposition support.

Over-reaction is unreal. It's a challenge match, in effect. Don't remember Dublin panicking when they put out a decent team and lost to Longford this time last year.
I would reassess where we are after seven league games.
Post by: Unlaoised on January 24, 2017, 10:51:23 AM
Kildare Meath and Laois need to get their houses in line to even try and give dublin a game who in fairness bar Mayo and maybe an inform ulster team and Kerry would beat everyone else with points to spare.

Dublin are so far ahead in Leinster its unreal and it won't change for a long long time...

Louth Westmeath and Longford have come on a bit and are on a par with the three above teams or very close...Offaly Wicklow Carlow and wexford are still someway behind.

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 24, 2017, 12:01:52 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on January 24, 2017, 10:51:23 AM
Kildare Meath and Laois need to get their houses in line to even try and give dublin a game who in fairness bar Mayo and maybe an inform ulster team and Kerry would beat everyone else with points to spare.

Dublin are so far ahead in Leinster its unreal and it won't change for a long long time...

Louth Westmeath and Longford have come on a bit and are on a par with the three above teams or very close...Offaly Wicklow Carlow and wexford are still someway behind.

Westmeath have reached the last 2 Leinster finals, beating 2 of your singled out 3 teams en-route and yet are only on a par with them or very close? What have Laois done to reach such an exulted status?
Post by: thejuice on January 24, 2017, 09:06:45 PM
"Sure we're only 10 points worse than Dublin, you'se are even worser. "

What a prize to argue over.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 25, 2017, 09:35:11 AM
Westmeath 3-19 Eastmeath 2-18

Argue that.  8)
Post by: thejuice on January 25, 2017, 12:46:17 PM
Well done, here's your prize:

Dublin 2-13 Westmeath 0-06

Dublin 2-19 Westmeath 0-10

You can dine out on that for the rest of your life.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 25, 2017, 03:43:57 PM
Half time was Westmeath 1-07 Eastmeath 2-12.

Closing 20 minutes saw one team outscore the other by 2-08 to a single point.

Fair amount of eating in that.
Post by: Jinxy on January 25, 2017, 04:51:23 PM
When was this?
Seems like something I would remember...
Post by: thejuice on January 25, 2017, 05:47:23 PM
Yes yes well done you but my point is we could kick the living shit out of you lads (or vice versa) this year but if we are still a distant second to Dublin it won't matter a toss.
Post by: seafoid on January 25, 2017, 08:12:43 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 25, 2017, 03:43:57 PM
Half time was Westmeath 1-07 Eastmeath 2-12.

Closing 20 minutes saw one team outscore the other by 2-08 to a single point.

Fair amount of eating in that.
Heslin's goal was class
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on January 25, 2017, 10:12:59 PM
I have to say the Meath fans around me in Croke Park that day showed a bit of dignity and class in defeat. It was a great second half of football but what is forgotten is the football Meath played in the first. For a few minutes it looked like someone might be able to be competitive with Dublin but then the usual collapse happened.
Post by: Gael85 on January 25, 2017, 11:31:14 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on January 22, 2017, 04:30:21 PM
The only hope for Kildare is that it was some of our own players betting against themselves on the Friday afternoon gamble on Dublin but logic would dictate that we are just rubbish and Dublin knew.

I still maintain that the Leinster counties outside Dublin will at some stage have to break away and play in a junior competition amongst themselves until standards improve. There isn't a hope of any of us doing anything in the AI series anyway anymore.
Let Dublin have a bye into the AI quarter final at least they could play some more competitive in house games.

[/b]

Why dont Clare,Tipperary, Limerick and Waterford break from Munster too? 1 Munster between the 4 of them in last 81 years.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 26, 2017, 09:50:03 AM
Quote from: thejuice on January 25, 2017, 05:47:23 PM
Yes yes well done you but my point is we could kick the living shit out of you lads (or vice versa) this year but if we are still a distant second to Dublin it won't matter a toss.

Of course it matters, no wonder ye are down in the dumps if that's the mentality in the county. Need to concentrate on beating the teams that haven't been afforded every unfair advantage going. If you can't start beating the teams with the same resources as the vast majority then there's no point in dreaming about beating the chosen ones.
Post by: thejuice on January 28, 2017, 01:40:20 PM
It's not the reason for our current state. The point is we aren't happy with second place and you know it. A lot of things need to be put right in order to get back at the Dubs but it's not because we won't pat ourselves on the back for losing Leinster finals.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 30, 2017, 09:41:59 AM
Quote from: thejuice on January 28, 2017, 01:40:20 PM
It's not the reason for our current state. The point is we aren't happy with second place and you know it. A lot of things need to be put right in order to get back at the Dubs but it's not because we won't pat ourselves on the back for losing Leinster finals.

You'll need to start getting back to Leinster finals before worrying about loosing them.
Post by: Blowitupref on November 16, 2017, 01:19:07 AM
The groups for the 2018 Bord na Móna Leinster GAA Series have been announced

Bord na Móna O'Byrne Cup SF

Group 1: Dublin, Offaly, Wexford

Group 2: Kildare, Louth, Longford

Group 3: Meath, Carlow, Wicklow

Group 4: Westmeath, Laois

Format: Round robin with first placed team advancing to semi-finals. Westmeath and Laois play each other home and away with aggregate score deciding who tops Group 4.

Dates: Dec 30, Jan 3, Jan 7. Semi-finals Jan 13/14. Final Jan 20/21

Opening Fixtures: Dec 30: Offaly v Wexford, Louth v Longford, Wicklow v Carlow, Westmeath v Laois

Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 16, 2017, 09:16:03 AM
Blow it Up

I have a 2018 thread going if you want to cut and paste into this?

Quote from: Blowitupref on November 16, 2017, 01:19:07 AM
The groups for the 2018 Bord na Móna Leinster GAA Series have been announced

Bord na Móna O'Byrne Cup SF

Group 1: Dublin, Offaly, Wexford

Group 2: Kildare, Louth, Longford

Group 3: Meath, Carlow, Wicklow

Group 4: Westmeath, Laois

Format: Round robin with first placed team advancing to semi-finals. Westmeath and Laois play each other home and away with aggregate score deciding who tops Group 4.

Dates: Dec 30, Jan 3, Jan 7. Semi-finals Jan 13/14. Final Jan 20/21

Opening Fixtures: Dec 30: Offaly v Wexford, Louth v Longford, Wicklow v Carlow, Westmeath v Laois