Car Insurance!!!!!

Started by balladmaker, January 21, 2010, 07:18:31 PM

clonian

Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 30, 2024, 05:19:58 PM
Quote from: clonian on July 29, 2024, 02:35:18 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on July 09, 2024, 11:52:04 AM
Quote from: screenexile on July 09, 2024, 09:12:53 AMWho's your house insurance with lads? I paid £270 last year with a company called GetSafe who have now been taken over and won't offer me any cover. The cheapest quote I can get now is £580.

I've tried those not on the comparison sites like Axa/Aviva/Admiral/LV/Direct Line and no luck yet.

I had a similar issue with my insurer and had previously set it to auto renew as it was so cheap so never gave it a thought.
Only to realise I'd gone almost 2 years without insurance as they stopped covering NI. When I went to re-quote, prices were sky high (000s) as I have a gap in my insurance.
Still havent found a replacement for reasonable money.

Ours went from 500 odd to 900 last year. Getting quotes now for 1700 ffs. What nonsense is going on with home insurance?
Climate change leading to increase in claims related to flooding etc., inflation leading to massive increases in labour and material costs for repairs to properties and cars etc. That's the official line from the insurers but they can make any oul shite up and when one goes up they all go up.

Just a follow up on this. I now can't get a quote under 2k because I have a claim in the last 2 years. Most companies here have a new policy of no new customers with a claim within 2 years and our existing insurer (along with quite a few others) are no longer insuring in the North.

Wife says she's not paying that much!

Quote from: clonian on August 19, 2024, 12:33:28 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 30, 2024, 05:19:58 PM
Quote from: clonian on July 29, 2024, 02:35:18 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on July 09, 2024, 11:52:04 AM
Quote from: screenexile on July 09, 2024, 09:12:53 AMWho's your house insurance with lads? I paid £270 last year with a company called GetSafe who have now been taken over and won't offer me any cover. The cheapest quote I can get now is £580.

I've tried those not on the comparison sites like Axa/Aviva/Admiral/LV/Direct Line and no luck yet.

I had a similar issue with my insurer and had previously set it to auto renew as it was so cheap so never gave it a thought.
Only to realise I'd gone almost 2 years without insurance as they stopped covering NI. When I went to re-quote, prices were sky high (000s) as I have a gap in my insurance.
Still havent found a replacement for reasonable money.

Ours went from 500 odd to 900 last year. Getting quotes now for 1700 ffs. What nonsense is going on with home insurance?
Climate change leading to increase in claims related to flooding etc., inflation leading to massive increases in labour and material costs for repairs to properties and cars etc. That's the official line from the insurers but they can make any oul shite up and when one goes up they all go up.

Just a follow up on this. I now can't get a quote under 2k because I have a claim in the last 2 years. Most companies here have a new policy of no new customers with a claim within 2 years and our existing insurer (along with quite a few others) are no longer insuring in the North.

Wife says she's not paying that much!
:-\  the wife just texted me at work to say a letter through the door saying ours is up from 800 to 2 grand!

There must be some people driving about with no car insurance.

I can understand why in all fairness.

KOTS3

Very frustrated renewing this year

Bit of background - previous policy, 24yo male, 3 penalty points, 1L Ford Focus (petrol) with 3 years no claims bonus (along with 2 Years named experience with no claims), including my sister and girlfriend as learners (about +€120 for the first learner to be added, then €40 for herself) for €630 for the year.

Fast forward to my renewal process now and getting quoted for 950-1100 for the same set up, despite now being 25, penalty points expired, with an additional years no claims

On phone and getting told that the price they have to pay mechanics has "doubled" over the past year - have they not considered shopping around themselves as we are encouraged to do?

Given my "risk profile" is decreasing year on year (and I've paid probably the guts of €4k-€5k so far in premiums which have never been used), I'm finding it very difficult to justify paying an increased premium

It's encouraging to see the likes of Revolut entering the market (albeit underwritten by AIG and using the blackboxes) which can hopefully cause a shake up in the next few years from the status quo as the banks are seeing now but the legislative issue of not being able to access european insurers is reducing competition within the industry and allowing them to set the price as they see fit

And don't get me started on the 2% levy..

statto

Quote from: KOTS3 on August 30, 2024, 12:16:08 PMVery frustrated renewing this year

Bit of background - previous policy, 24yo male, 3 penalty points, 1L Ford Focus (petrol) with 3 years no claims bonus (along with 2 Years named experience with no claims), including my sister and girlfriend as learners (about +€120 for the first learner to be added, then €40 for herself) for €630 for the year.

Fast forward to my renewal process now and getting quoted for 950-1100 for the same set up, despite now being 25, penalty points expired, with an additional years no claims

On phone and getting told that the price they have to pay mechanics has "doubled" over the past year - have they not considered shopping around themselves as we are encouraged to do?

Given my "risk profile" is decreasing year on year (and I've paid probably the guts of €4k-€5k so far in premiums which have never been used), I'm finding it very difficult to justify paying an increased premium

It's encouraging to see the likes of Revolut entering the market (albeit underwritten by AIG and using the blackboxes) which can hopefully cause a shake up in the next few years from the status quo as the banks are seeing now but the legislative issue of not being able to access european insurers is reducing competition within the industry and allowing them to set the price as they see fit

Awful honest declaring the three points. 

Quote from: statto on August 30, 2024, 12:32:32 PM
Quote from: KOTS3 on August 30, 2024, 12:16:08 PMVery frustrated renewing this year

Awful honest declaring the three points. 

If you don't own up the points at the start you could lose a claim if you needed to use your insurance, think its called fraud

urbangael

Any recommendations for cheap house insurance lads? Being quoted crazy money at present!

Quote from: urbangael on September 05, 2024, 09:46:40 PMAny recommendations for cheap house insurance lads? Being quoted crazy money at present!
We got shafted. Girl in work says she was quoted 1700 for her automatic requote and got it for 600 with Aviva.

Newbridge Exile

Quote from: urbangael on September 05, 2024, 09:46:40 PMAny recommendations for cheap house insurance lads? Being quoted crazy money at present!
Just after getting my house insurance renewal quote  toto nearly a 40% increase from last year , time to hit the comparison sites

Just don't get it insured... if enough people do it, the costs will come down  ;)