Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: bingobus on April 20, 2009, 04:42:12 PM

Title: BIRDS
Post by: bingobus on April 20, 2009, 04:42:12 PM
They are full of shit. The winged version.

Lovely day yesterday, cut the grass, took the garden furniture out etc etc.

Went out front and the two cars where parked on the drive as normal, side by side. Both where covered in bird shite though, and I mean covered. My car had about 40 marks on it, fresh and stinking. On roof, bonnet and one side.

Wife's car had same, on the side, roof, back, that was alongside mine and it stunk as well. Well over 40 markings as well, not that I counted.

The drive way between cars was covered as well but nowhere else.

How the frig did that happen? Multiple birds or one fecker with severe diarrhea.

Cost me €14 to get them washed as well!
Title: Re: BIRDS
Post by: ziggysego on April 20, 2009, 04:46:47 PM
Put bird food in the garden or somewhere where bird do-do won't bother you. Should attract them away from you car and drive way.
Post by: bingobus on April 20, 2009, 04:49:20 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 20, 2009, 04:46:47 PM
Put bird food in the garden or somewhere where bird do-do won't bother you. Should attract them away from you car and drive way.

I have a bird feeder out back, this wasn't a prolonged attacked. It happened all at once. I was out at car 30 mins before that and there wasn't one bird shit on it, half a hour later, its covered in multiple shit marks, both cars.

It was like a fly-by.
Post by: illdecide on April 20, 2009, 04:50:08 PM
An over & under should do the trick with plenty of cartridges
Post by: ziggysego on April 20, 2009, 05:00:29 PM
Sounds like someone's throwing bird seed over your car. Piss anyone off lately?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 20, 2009, 05:01:12 PM
I understand your pain bingobus..
They have my decking ruined with shite Im sick of washing it off.
btw €14 for two car washes? Ever hear of a bucket and sponge and do it yourself ?
Post by: gawa316 on April 20, 2009, 05:02:05 PM
Is there any electric cables/lines running overhead?

Remember parking the car at the brother-in-laws under electric lines when I was away on holidays. Came back and the feckin car was covered in shite from them sitting on the wire. Stupid get of a bro-in-law never even thought to move it
Post by: bingobus on April 20, 2009, 05:08:04 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 20, 2009, 05:01:12 PM
I understand your pain bingobus..
They have my decking ruined with shite Im sick of washing it off.
btw €14 for two car washes? Ever hear of a bucket and sponge and do it yourself ?

I was heading out to dinner for wedding Anniversary and was backing the nipper into car at the time. No time for mucking in at that stage. I normally only wash car twice a year! It was that bad, it called for immediate action.

Young lads at casr wash pissed themselves, second time I pulled up!
Post by: bingobus on April 20, 2009, 05:09:03 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on April 20, 2009, 05:02:05 PM
Is there any electric cables/lines running overhead?

Remember parking the car at the brother-in-laws under electric lines when I was away on holidays. Came back and the feckin car was covered in shite from them sitting on the wire. Stupid get of a bro-in-law never even thought to move it

Nothing over head. Too far from house roof for that to be a factor either.
Post by: thebandit on April 20, 2009, 05:22:31 PM
I thought this was going to be a more interesting thread  :(
Post by: bingobus on April 20, 2009, 05:26:05 PM
Quote from: thebandit on April 20, 2009, 05:22:31 PM
I thought this was going to be a more interesting thread  :(

Like "My Neighbour and his bird collection"

You missed it. Was going to blame you but you where gone!! I've seen bins on cars round my way but never as much Bird shit in my life!!
Post by: Mid Mon on April 20, 2009, 06:27:35 PM
I had d same outside d house in Dundalk last weekend, maybe they made d trip down to Blayney.
Post by: AFS on April 20, 2009, 06:49:46 PM
Was most of the shit down the side of the car or close to the wing mirrors?
Post by: Puckoon on April 20, 2009, 07:45:00 PM
Where are you going with this AFS?

I'm interested.
Post by: AFS on April 20, 2009, 08:48:33 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on April 20, 2009, 07:45:00 PM

I'm interested.

Some birds are very territorial. Could be a fella trying to scare off his reflection in the wing mirror. Birds are stupid bastards.
Post by: Puckoon on April 20, 2009, 08:49:10 PM
Quote from: AFS on April 20, 2009, 08:48:33 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on April 20, 2009, 07:45:00 PM

I'm interested.

Some birds are very territorial. Could be a fella trying to scare off his reflection in the wing mirror. Birds are stupid b**tards.

Never a truer sentence spoken, I knew you'd make sense at the end of it.
Post by: bingobus on April 21, 2009, 11:01:16 AM
Quote from: AFS on April 20, 2009, 06:49:46 PM
Was most of the shit down the side of the car or close to the wing mirrors?

Not only on side -  on roof, back window, front window and side. My car is silver, wifes is black. Both got it.
Post by: maco on April 21, 2009, 11:14:49 AM
I heard once that birds will crap when they see their reflection. Maybe a flock of them were flying low over your cars, loads of them seen their reflection in the black car and dropped one! Just a thought - could be a shit theory though!!!
Post by: scud on April 21, 2009, 01:59:37 PM
Quote from: maco on April 21, 2009, 11:14:49 AM
I heard once that birds will crap when they see their reflection. Maybe a flock of them were flying low over your cars, loads of them seen their reflection in the black car and dropped one! Just a thought - could be a shit theory though!!!

Indeed it could.........  ;)
Post by: downgirl on April 21, 2009, 02:01:45 PM
You could do what Peter Griffin did!!!  :D
Post by: mrsandman on April 21, 2009, 02:21:23 PM
Quote from: downgirl on April 21, 2009, 02:01:45 PM

Has everybody heard?  :D
Post by: fitzroyalty on April 21, 2009, 02:30:44 PM
when a bird gets into the house its a 'mare! get got down the chimney once and shat all over the good room!!so count urself lucky its only ur car and u got someone else to clean it!
Post by: downgirl on April 21, 2009, 03:16:49 PM
Quote from: mrsandman on April 21, 2009, 02:21:23 PM

LOL....have seen all of series 7 online already!!!
Post by: mrsandman on April 21, 2009, 03:28:47 PM
Quote from: downgirl on April 21, 2009, 03:16:49 PM

Fcuk, your going well, ive only seen that one...
Post by: Puckoon on April 21, 2009, 03:51:59 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on April 21, 2009, 02:30:44 PM
when a bird gets into the house its a 'mare! get got down the chimney once and shat all over the good room!!so count urself lucky its only ur car and u got someone else to clean it!

So people still have good rooms then? I never got that idea myself.
Post by: downgirl on April 21, 2009, 03:54:08 PM
Quote from: mrsandman on April 21, 2009, 03:28:47 PM

http://watchfamilyguyonline.org/
Post by: mrsandman on April 21, 2009, 04:06:54 PM
Quote from: downgirl on April 21, 2009, 03:54:08 PM
Quote from: mrsandman on April 21, 2009, 03:28:47 PM

http://watchfamilyguyonline.org/

Cheers Downgirl  ;D
Post by: Olly on May 31, 2020, 08:03:18 PM
My house is getting attacked every morning by a magpie. It has already ram-raided four windows and seems to be eyeing up my cat and has already been caught trailing mice as bait. Any tips?
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on May 31, 2020, 08:12:56 PM
Let it into house. Burn house. Youre welcome
Post by: omochain on May 31, 2020, 08:16:16 PM
You need to start an eradication campaign. Back in the middle of the last century in Keady, Bro Adrian ran a very cost effective and successful campaign. You got 6 pence for each magpie egg. It must have been sanctioned by Rome or the De La Salle brothers would not have approved it. So I guess you would have canon law on your side.
Post by: tintin25 on May 31, 2020, 08:40:40 PM
What's the rules on removing nests that are under construction phase?  Birds (starling i think) building  a nest under the eaves at the front of the house.
Post by: Olly on May 31, 2020, 08:44:08 PM
Sure it's not swallows? You can detect a South African accent.
Post by: tintin25 on May 31, 2020, 08:51:53 PM
Quote from: Olly on May 31, 2020, 08:44:08 PM

Yes lol...Swallows
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on May 31, 2020, 09:57:37 PM
Let the swallows go, legends of birds, they will be away again by September.
Post by: Orior on May 31, 2020, 10:12:20 PM
Sadly, the generation that knew every bird and bird song has gone.

It's now left to the ornithologists.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on May 31, 2020, 10:52:58 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 31, 2020, 10:12:20 PM

I was lucky to have spent a lot of time with grand uncle innmy younger days, this was a real passion for him, it has stuck with me, my daughter has same interest in it. None of my wains got my love of GAA.  >:(
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 31, 2020, 11:31:28 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on May 31, 2020, 08:51:53 PM

Yes lol...Swallows
Could be Housemartins. We have a nest on our house and have done for years. They are protected so would doubt that your phase of construction is relevant.
Post by: tintin25 on May 31, 2020, 11:41:39 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 31, 2020, 11:31:28 PM

Yes lol...Swallows
Could be Housemartins. We have a nest on our house and have done for years. They are protected so would doubt that your phase of construction is relevant.

You could be right, definitely one or the other.  In fairness, the noise of whatever they are doesn't bother me so much...their crap on the window ledge does - guess I can ride it out until they go.
Post by: ONeill on May 31, 2020, 11:47:55 PM
Good on you. Don't touch the Swallows. They came a long way.
Post by: J70 on June 01, 2020, 01:23:40 AM
Quote from: tintin25 on May 31, 2020, 11:41:39 PM

Yes lol...Swallows

You could be right, definitely one or the other.  In fairness, the noise of whatever they are doesn't bother me so much...their crap on the window ledge does - guess I can ride it out until they go.

Enjoy them while you can.

The way things are going, insectivorous birds like swallows won't have food for much longer.
Post by: J70 on June 01, 2020, 01:28:51 AM

Summer time in my youth in the hills of Donegal. Swallows, skylarks, cuckoos... curlew song every evening, nightjar song at night.

From what I've read, the curlew and nightjar are more or less gone. Cuckoos not far behind them.
Post by: trueblue1234 on June 01, 2020, 08:46:28 AM
Quote from: J70 on June 01, 2020, 01:28:51 AM

Summer time in my youth in the hills of Donegal. Swallows, skylarks, cuckoos... curlew song every evening, nightjar song at night.

From what I've read, the curlew and nightjar are more or less gone. Cuckoos not far behind them.

Funny heard a cukoo yesterday for the first time in years.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on June 01, 2020, 10:23:25 AM
Quote from: J70 on June 01, 2020, 01:23:40 AM
Quote from: tintin25 on May 31, 2020, 11:41:39 PM

Yes lol...Swallows

Enjoy them while you can.

The way things are going, insectivorous birds like swallows won't have food for much longer.

Definitely noticed far less Swallows last 5 years besides our house. I've noticed a big upturn in intensive crop farming over same period.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 01, 2020, 10:38:59 AM

Yes lol...Swallows

Is it a house you live in or a Caravan of Love....would be a Happy Hour when you got them away from about the place....
Post by: ONeill on June 01, 2020, 02:15:04 PM
I'd no Swallows last year but they arrived this weekend to fix up an old nest. Messy boys but great to see them.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 01, 2020, 04:22:51 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on June 01, 2020, 08:46:28 AM

Heard them nearly every night over the last few weeks.
Post by: ziggy90 on June 01, 2020, 06:02:59 PM

I heard one every morning for the last few weeks not this morning though.

'The Cuckoo comes in April
it sings its song in May.
In the month of June it changes its tune
and in July it flys away.'
Post by: J70 on June 01, 2020, 06:31:14 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on June 01, 2020, 06:02:59 PM

I heard one every morning for the last few weeks not this morning though.

'The Cuckoo comes in April
it sings its song in May.
In the month of June it changes its tune
and in July it flys away.'

Haven't heard that wee rhyme since I was in national school!
Post by: ziggy90 on June 01, 2020, 06:41:43 PM
It came into my head a couple of weeks ago when I heard the Cuckoo. It must be at least fifty years since I last heard it!!
:)
Post by: ONeill on August 22, 2020, 08:48:17 PM
My swallows are away. Sad, sad day.
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 22, 2020, 09:06:14 PM
Is it common for wrens to be friendly? April to July one kept following me when I was at the flowers and veg and would sit on my lap outside. Haven't seen the Little fella this month.
Post by: ONeill on August 22, 2020, 09:23:30 PM
That's fantastic. Did ye feed it?
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 22, 2020, 10:33:35 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 22, 2020, 09:23:30 PM
That's fantastic. Did ye feed it?
Loved dry porridge oats.