GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: SCFC on July 30, 2019, 06:41:43 PM

Title: Next Laois football manager
Post by: SCFC on July 30, 2019, 06:41:43 PM
Sugrue gone. :-[
Title: Re: Next Laois football manager
Post by: South Laois man on July 30, 2019, 06:50:49 PM
That's a huge setback. No obvious candidates to take over either. I hope we don't go back to journey man managers.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on July 30, 2019, 06:55:55 PM
I really wasn't expecting that. Big blow. Next appointment is vital. Let's hope we do as well as we did when appointing John.
Post by: steven seagal on July 30, 2019, 07:08:20 PM
Shocked to hear that, was hoping he would be around for at least two more years. He put a huge amount of time into it, it cant be easy to give that much commitment, run a business and rear a family as well. He'll be hard to replace. Best wishes to him in the future.
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on July 30, 2019, 07:10:54 PM
Huge loss. Thought we might have got another year out of him. Best of luck to him in whatever he does next. I can see him potentially getting the Kerry role somewhere down the line.

As for who's going to come in now, not easy to predict. No obvious candidates inside Laois. Padraig Clancy is the only one I can think of that might be up to scratch, but not even sure at that.

Post by: Keyser Söze on July 30, 2019, 07:22:16 PM
He probably will have to do something else at IC level to get the Kerry job, whether it is the Kerry senior backroom team again, the Kerry Minor/u21s, or another senior IC job.
That job is not handed out too easily.

No idea where you could now. But those in positions of power should ensure that John Evans et al (and no doubt several of them will apply) don't get an interview.

2 slightly left field ones - Niall Rigney or Liam Kearns back again? Bearing in mind what ye manager's actual role is?
Presuming Jack O' Connor couldn't be convinced we probably need to do all we can to avoid outside spoofers.
Post by: Joeythelips on July 30, 2019, 07:34:59 PM
Was a bit shocked but fair play to Sugrue. He did great work to get back to back promotions and he blooded plenty of players. We need to find someone with a similar mindset as we will have some decent players coming through over the next year or two from the u-20's.
Post by: High Fielder on July 30, 2019, 08:27:55 PM
Ask him to reconsider. Alternatives don't exist for Laois. There is nobody out there within our reach who could come close to him. I thought he was on the start of a journey, not the end. Hugely disappointing news
Post by: Chrimtain on July 30, 2019, 08:40:51 PM
To me, there often seemed to be a note of frustration in his post match interviews. It appeared to me that he was frustrated that he was not getting he best out of the team.

There is no obvious replacement, but I hope that the county board look hard for a good man.
Post by: recyclebin on July 30, 2019, 09:00:41 PM
Did he release a statement saying why? Laois were on the way back up. Strange that he is stepping away now. Division 2 would have been a good test for his management skills if he wanted a bigger job down the line.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on July 30, 2019, 09:35:01 PM
Thanks John
Post by: BallyroanAbu on July 30, 2019, 09:36:19 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on July 30, 2019, 07:22:16 PM
He probably will have to do something else at IC level to get the Kerry job, whether it is the Kerry senior backroom team again, the Kerry Minor/u21s, or another senior IC job.

No idea where you could now. But those in positions of power should ensure that John Evans et al (and no doubt several of them will apply) don't get an interview.

2 slightly left field ones - Niall Rigney or Liam Kearns back again? Bearing in mind what ye manager's actual role is?
Presuming Jack O' Connor couldn't be convinced we probably need to do all we can to avoid outside spoofers.

Liam Kearns, Niall Rigney seriously ? 
Post by: thejuice on July 30, 2019, 09:36:46 PM
Strange decision alright even if things always didn't go your way, like the league final and the Meath and Cork games but there are teams in much worse positions than Laois and there's a bit of talent still there in the squad and a good bit of experience too.
Post by: Keyser Söze on July 30, 2019, 09:43:17 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on July 30, 2019, 09:36:19 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on July 30, 2019, 07:22:16 PM

Liam Kearns, Niall Rigney seriously ?

As I said "left field". Have no problem with an opposing opinion- but I do prefer when an actual critique is given, or at the very least some alternatives!
I think you could make a very strong case for Liam Kearns.
Rigney is a former intercounty manager and an extremely experienced coach.
As I said, bear in mind the actual role of the manager.
I am not pushing for or promoting either, just racking my head for suitable "possibles". There aren't too many!
Post by: on the hop on July 30, 2019, 09:53:30 PM
Jerome stack wouldn't be a bad outside bet
Post by: High Fielder on July 30, 2019, 10:17:44 PM
This doesn't look good for us. If a man walks away from a job after being successful and is highly regarded, does that man feel he can't do any more? I'm hoping we hear from him and I'm hoping he talks about the huge commitment required and/or wanting to spend more time with the family. Anything else will make this an impossible sell and God knows what Bozo we'll end up with
Post by: Countyminor on July 30, 2019, 10:20:33 PM
Be interesting to see what Sugrue does now. My guess is he takes another sabbatical. Having a young family and being self employed are only compatible with intercounty commitments for so long
Post by: BallyroanAbu on July 30, 2019, 10:35:14 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on July 30, 2019, 10:17:44 PM
This doesn't look good for us. If a man walks away from a job after being successful and is highly regarded, does that man feel he can't do any more? I'm hoping we hear from him and I'm hoping he talks about the huge commitment required and/or wanting to spend more time with the family. Anything else will make this an impossible sell and God knows what Bozo we'll end up with

I'd say unfortunately that may be the case.
Post by: Don Draper on July 30, 2019, 10:56:51 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on July 30, 2019, 10:35:14 PM

It's a cert it's because of family and work.
Post by: High Fielder on July 30, 2019, 11:07:20 PM
I hope you're right Don. If I thought for a minute he was pushed or going elsewhere, bar Kerry, I'd blow a gasket. He's been the best thing to happen to Laois football in a long time
Post by: Giovanni on July 30, 2019, 11:27:30 PM
He did bring an intelligence to the whole thing that will be hard to replace. I can't see that any of the usual suspects would be an adequate replacement.
Post by: High Fielder on July 30, 2019, 11:33:47 PM
I was hoping he might take the 20s as well. It was increasing his involvement, not terminating it, that I had in mind.
Post by: The Boy Wonder on July 31, 2019, 12:07:52 AM
Very disappointing news but thank you John Sugrue.
Getting us back up from Division 4 to Division 2 was a testament to his ability - he had the skillset and did an excellent job.
I think we all would have wished him to continue.

Anyway, whether it was to be John or a new manager there was always going to be a rebuilding job to be done.
Obviously the backbone of our team is ageing but we we do have some bright prospects emerging from Under-20.
The new man will have his work cut out to consolidate our place in Division 2 while blooding younger lads in the process.

Whoever is chosen I just hope he can do as least as good a job as John Sugrue has done.

Post by: BallyroanAbu on July 31, 2019, 12:14:57 AM
Rather than outsiders would prefer we go internal and risk it, Cotter, Kearns etc i'd rather our own than the usual catwalk of also rans
Post by: Keyser Söze on July 31, 2019, 12:20:23 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on July 31, 2019, 12:14:57 AM
Rather than outsiders would prefer we go internal and risk it, Cotter, Kearns etc i'd rather our own than the usual catwalk of also rans

At their age and level of experience I think it would be mad not to pair an experienced MANAGER with them.
The continuity of having them involved would however be a positive.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on July 31, 2019, 02:56:39 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on July 30, 2019, 09:07:46 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on July 30, 2019, 07:30:43 PM
He won't. Also have manners you cur.

Quote from: Keyser Söze on July 30, 2019, 09:22:41 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on July 30, 2019, 07:30:43 PM

Horrendous post. Should be deleted.

Lads, the original post seems to have been removed, suggest you delete your replies quoting it
Post by: welcomehome on July 31, 2019, 08:53:55 AM
Well done john..u did a great job for the last few years..Hopefully we will get a good man to take over..personally i didnt think they moved as good this year as last year.didnt think some of the players had the same hunger..
Post by: High Fielder on July 31, 2019, 09:12:33 AM
The Laois Today article says it all. The greatest list of Can't Haves and Don't Wants ever compiled. No harm intended to the lads
Post by: Andy06 on July 31, 2019, 09:33:20 AM
Well thats us goosed!
Can't underestimate the job Sugrue has done. Never mind the work with the seniors which was his basic remit, but also the setting up of the Laois "area" championship last year to take a look at more lads, it was a super idea and shows the initiative of the man.
I would assume its for family reasons as it was clearly a project that he was building and I have no doubt he would have been eager to test him and his teams abilities against better teams.

Wonder how far the County Board went to keep him here, did they pre-empt any of  this, or did they try reach out to him as soon as the season finished to discuss a suitable arrangement for staying on. I have a feeling they did diddly squat!
Post by: blueandwhite1 on July 31, 2019, 09:47:17 AM
Desperately sad that John couldn't continue. Hard to find that mix of knowledge, vision, passion, enthusiasm and leadership. He did a great job and I personally hoped he would be in the job for another 10 years.

I would rather we took a chance on a young ambitious and forward thinking replacement than a journeyman. Laois are going to be in transition for 3-4 years now as our stalwarts bow out and are replaced with younger guys. The quality of the set-up will be key to whether it is a successful transition.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 31, 2019, 10:08:27 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on July 31, 2019, 09:12:33 AM
The Laois Today article says it all. The greatest list of Can't Haves and Don't Wants ever compiled. No harm intended to the lads

Personally I think there are a few good contenders here, especially Malachy O'Rourke or Jack O'Connor. Can't Haves only exist if they are not asked, think big and anything is possible.

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/07/31/15-potential-candidates-for-the-laois-football-managers-job/
Post by: High Fielder on July 31, 2019, 10:19:06 AM
I think the Squealers have first call on him Junior. We're going to find out very quickly that we had a good man in place and replacing him won't be easy. I'm not interested in new coaches until I know why Sugrue left. We'll know more about our future direction then
Post by: redsetanta on July 31, 2019, 10:46:59 AM
https://soundcloud.com/user-550792397/chris-conway-on-john-sugrue?fbclid=IwAR3-FT4DHQ5w8fYhzTC-CP17qQK9y2th4wi72xZmtDj_N8QtXjJ7AReNRAw (https://soundcloud.com/user-550792397/chris-conway-on-john-sugrue?fbclid=IwAR3-FT4DHQ5w8fYhzTC-CP17qQK9y2th4wi72xZmtDj_N8QtXjJ7AReNRAw)

Chris Conways take on things.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 31, 2019, 11:04:15 AM
There is no doubt we had a good man in John Sugrue, what I really liked about him was the way he was investing in the future by running the area league and bringing on some good young players.

Our next appointment is vital if we are to continue with the progress we have made under John.
Post by: Tony on July 31, 2019, 11:29:54 AM
To be honest, I'd say there's some reason why Sugrue left outside of family and business committments. I don't know that for sure, but I'm very surprised he's left at this time. He was building something up and was just getting started (it seemed), having built a good foundation. He doesn't strike me as a man who just gives that up unless something very negative happened. I certainly don't know this for sure but I'd guess there's some other reason there. Maybe we won't find that out eitherway.

It's hard to look at other possible managers at this time.
Post by: Leixlad on July 31, 2019, 11:36:30 AM
A huge loss - massive blow to all  of Laois football and wont be easily replaced. Best wishes to John whatever he does. 
Give it to Cheddar  8)
Post by: Chrimtain on July 31, 2019, 05:26:18 PM
Let's ask him to stay on, because there is nothing exciting about the options that Laois Today has put forward.
Post by: Blow-in on July 31, 2019, 05:59:57 PM
Ignore Laois Today. It's just click bait. End of story. Hasn't been one proper story on it all year. Our County Board need now to take their time when appointing someone new. Probably the biggest appointment in the history of the senior footballers been honest
Post by: Chrimtain on July 31, 2019, 06:08:57 PM
Hpefully, the County Board will ensure that the Divisional Championhip is a permanent part of the Laois GAA calendar from now on.
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on July 31, 2019, 06:50:16 PM
Quote from: Chrimtain on July 31, 2019, 06:08:57 PM
Hpefully, the County Board will ensure that the Divisional Championhip is a permanent part of the Laois GAA calendar from now on.

Agreed. That area championship helps tell the difference between good club players and good county players. It also raised funds for a great cause, so it's a no brainer really.
Post by: Mad Mentor on July 31, 2019, 07:45:03 PM
The Laois manager's job is a far more attractive position today, to any prospective manager than it was two years ago - which is a huge credit to Sugrue. A squad that are going forward with the potential to challenge for the Super 8's and playing in Division two should entice a few genuine contenders you would hope. There must be some young ambitious managers out there looking to do the footballing equivalent of Eddie Brennan. A journeyman is precisely what we don't need now.
Post by: les Antiques on July 31, 2019, 08:13:21 PM
Stephen Rochford and Éamonn Fitzmaurice two names I'd like to see been mentioned . Rochford not going to stay a  number 2 forever and Fitzmaurice is will eventually be eager to return to inter county management after his sabbatical.
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on July 31, 2019, 08:48:45 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on July 31, 2019, 08:13:21 PM
Stephen Rochford and Éamonn Fitzmaurice two names I'd like to see been mentioned . Rochford not going to stay a  number 2 forever and Fitzmaurice is will eventually be eager to return to inter county management after his sabbatical.

I'd be shocked if either of them would be interested in managing Laois. They've managed All-Ireland challenging teams in Mayo and Kerry respectively. I know we've improved and have a bit of potential, but I don't think either will fancy it.
Post by: Butch Cassidy on July 31, 2019, 10:16:39 PM
Surprised Malachy McNulty isn't been mentioned, did good work with Portlaoise and Laois have talent from within that we should be developing.
Post by: High Fielder on July 31, 2019, 10:22:55 PM
Quote from: Chrimtain on July 31, 2019, 05:26:18 PM
Let's ask him to stay on, because there is nothing exciting about the options that Laois Today has put forward.

Until I hear the reason for his departure, he remains for me the best candidate for the job. I personally don't want anyone else in there. The statement told us he was leaving and nothing else. I have enough distrust of our CB not to leave it at that. If he comes out and gives valid reasons for leaving, then fair enough. Until then, I'm growing increasingly sceptical and be damned with talk of a replacement. f**k it even Cian O Neill gave a parting statement and the Squealers hated him. Sugrue was universally well got, so I'd like to hear what he has to say. Now that would be worth reading
Post by: The PRO on August 01, 2019, 12:35:46 AM
I wonder could Dessie Farrell be approached? Good record with Dublin minors and doesn't seem to be with anyone. Would he be a football version of Fast Eddie B?
Post by: Keyser Söze on August 01, 2019, 12:47:07 AM
What would Laois Today suggest/post about/podcast about if here didn't exist?!
Think they eventually came up with the name of John Divilly to basically avoid being a podcast reviewing this forum. Total lack of fresh ideas. Some of their spoutings on their hurling preview were laughable. The "great" Tommy Buggy was on holidays. Nobody within Laois they could have splashed out on to preview the SHC? Especially after our most succesful IC year in many moons.
Post by: High Fielder on August 01, 2019, 06:10:22 AM
I've been critical of LT in the past, but in fairness, their live feed for games and match reports are excellent. That said, there's a story to be told here and someone needs to tell it. Neither they nor the CB were on the ball if they were happy to trot out the "John's Gone Let's Move On" story. The man was too well regarded for that. Real journalism knows how to read the room, ask the right questions and form an opinion. What John Sugrue has to say means more to me right now than the madness of getting a new coach. We can't move forward until we know why we've stalled
Post by: Don Draper on August 01, 2019, 06:24:20 AM
Quote from: The PRO on August 01, 2019, 12:35:46 AM
I wonder could Dessie Farrell be approached? Good record with Dublin minors and doesn't seem to be with anyone. Would he be a football version of Fast Eddie B?
Funny you mention Eddie.

Dessie is in the Dublin hurling backroom team sent packing by Eddie.

And Eddie lived and worked in Laois.
Post by: The PRO on August 01, 2019, 06:30:16 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on August 01, 2019, 06:24:20 AM
Funny you mention Eddie.

Dessie is in the Dublin hurling backroom team sent packing by Eddie.

And Eddie lived and worked in Laois.
Didn't know that about Dessie Farrell. I actually wouldn't be a fan of him after his GPA time. But he appears to be a good coach, no?
Post by: portlaoisekid on August 01, 2019, 08:53:00 AM
Sugrue did a good job with Laois at a bad time for Laois and really it seems like he has the hard work done in terms of weeding out his squad and bringing fresh faces in. With Division 2 and 2 years conditioning under these lads its a surprise he left.

Its a pity we didn't hear why he left , if only just to stop the endless rumors doing the rounds about certain groups of players and /or our CB etc.

If he ends up with Kildare as coach or manager it will be some kick in the teeth to Laois football.I'd say thats unlikely and I would probably say his next move will be to a top club team.

As to where we go from here I dont know, there are no credible options within  the county at the minute and as for outsiders we dont have the money to get a top manager.I suspect  another journeyman incoming or else taking a total punt on an Eddie Brennan type recently retired player .

It seems every ounce of optimism that was built up in Laois football over the past 18 months or so has now disappeared.
Post by: High Fielder on August 01, 2019, 09:04:36 AM
Good post PK. Optimism is an appropriate word. Players get involved because of that optimism. People start following the team and put their money down because of optimism. Sugrue created that optimism. My optimism is shot right now and will be until I hear why he stepped down.
Post by: Jd on August 01, 2019, 09:20:30 AM
Has it occurred that he's stepped down for personal reasons and it's not being reported out of respect for his privacy. He's a good honorable family man and family comes first. I'm terribly disappointed that he's gone but I'm sure his reasons are solid and he doesn't need to tell the county his business. After all he isn't being paid and didn't have a contract
Post by: Tony on August 01, 2019, 09:25:02 AM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on August 01, 2019, 08:53:00 AM
It seems every ounce of optimism that was built up in Laois football over the past 18 months or so has now disappeared.
I definitely wouldn't go that far - we've made huge progress over the past 2 years. But until the managerial position is sorted, it's on pause for now. Hopefully CB aren't stupid enough to get evans or l.dempsey or one of those. Would personally love if the sugrue situation could be resolved and he comes back - stranger things have happened.
Post by: High Fielder on August 01, 2019, 09:32:30 AM
Quote from: Jd on August 01, 2019, 09:20:30 AM
Has it occurred that he's stepped down for personal reasons and it's not being reported out of respect for his privacy. He's a good honorable family man and family comes first. I'm terribly disappointed that he's gone but I'm sure his reasons are solid and he doesn't need to tell the county his business. After all he isn't being paid and didn't have a contract

I could accept that. And you can say that in a statement, just like you have, and everyone would walk away. However, our CB have made too many bad appointments, and made too many bad decisions, to be given impunity. I trust Sugrue more than them and I'd rather hear it from the horse's mouth
Post by: Chrimtain on August 01, 2019, 10:10:17 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on August 01, 2019, 09:32:30 AM
Quote from: Jd on August 01, 2019, 09:20:30 AM

I could accept that. And you can say that in a statement, just like you have, and everyone would walk away. However, our CB have made too many bad appointments, and made too many bad decisions, to be given impunity. I trust Sugrue more than them and I'd rather hear it from the horse's mouth

Perhaps Laois Today could interview John Sugrue, or even some one from the county board, instead of basing their articles on what they read here.
Post by: Giovanni on August 01, 2019, 10:20:46 AM
I don't think he's the kind of man that would be making statements about difficulties with the county board (or whoever). That wouldn't be his style. I have no idea what the reasons are but I doubt we'll be hearing them from the horses mouth.

It would be good however to know what the County Board did to try to keep him in place. Surely the clubs and supporters could reasonably ask that question?
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on August 01, 2019, 10:32:22 AM
Im going to throw the name Mick Bohan into the pot. Dublin ladies manager, worked with Jim Gavin as a selector, did very well with Clare.
Post by: GAA-SMART on August 01, 2019, 10:50:07 AM

Dessie over Na Fianna.. he only has one job on his radar..

Mick Bohan would be a good candidate as mentioned above.

Sugrue is a hard act to follow tho lads, will be in the mind of anyone new to inter county management that has aspirations
Post by: blueandwhite1 on August 01, 2019, 10:50:53 AM
If they don't have a clear passion or vision for Laois, or a shit-hot CV then I personally would not like to see one of these backroom lads / former selectors.

That is, would love to see a big name like Malachy O'Rourke or Rory Gallagher. Failing that, start looking at local lads like Clancy, Higgins, Billy Sheehan. Billy in particular seems to be unpopular with some of the folks on here but there would be no shortage of passion and drive.

Of course it would be great to have Sugrue back but that rarely happens. 
Post by: Countyminor on August 01, 2019, 10:58:22 AM
Billy Sheehan would be my insider pick. Got a lot of stick from absolute clowns who couldn't kick a ball themselves to save their lives during his career. He'd take no prisoners as well. Anyone who knows Billy would tell you just how articulate and methodical he is. Wouldn't mind seeing Clancy getting it alternatively.
Post by: Keyser Söze on August 01, 2019, 11:04:28 AM
Maybe I was harsh on LT there, and maybe their list being so similar to this thread is symptomatic of the lack of options we have.

From what I know of Sugrue you can be guaranteed
1. There will be no parting shots fired type statement
2. He won't be changing his mind next week & walking back into the job
3. He won't be heading North up the M7 because he was offered a few quid more.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on August 01, 2019, 11:18:26 AM
Billy Sheehan is not an insider pick,  he is merely serving his own C.V as he did when he played for Emo and Laois.  Be he a success or failure he adds nothing long term to Laois.  Sugrue long term even now will benefit Laois.  Whatever reasons he left I doubt it's to manage another county. Billy is an outsider the same as Micko (utterly useless long term) and all the others we choose to waste our money on for short term success.  Give it to someone in Laois,  good or bad he will be better for the experience.  I am for Malachy, Clancy, Kearns or Cotter all are risky but all will be giving back to Laois football in 50 years.  If Billy wants to come down live in Laois train a club, I have no objection.  But it's high time, we copped on to ourselves improve our own coaching rather than waste time on what are high risk outsiders anyway.  No objection to paying outsiders to help our management but the top job must remain within.

We need to make our own coaches better.
Post by: From the Terrace on August 01, 2019, 11:30:41 AM
Im with high fielder on this. Need to hear from sugrue about his decision. If he says Family & Business to look after first that is grand. But very surprised with the whole situation.
Post by: Chrimtain on August 01, 2019, 11:33:47 AM
I am surprised that Chris Conway's name has not been mentioned.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on August 01, 2019, 11:40:09 AM
Chris also fine
Post by: Don Draper on August 01, 2019, 12:31:11 PM
Quote from: From the Terrace on August 01, 2019, 11:30:41 AM
Im with high fielder on this. Need to hear from sugrue about his decision. If he says Family & Business to look after first that is grand. But very surprised with the whole situation.
We have no right to hear anything from the man. The players perhaps, but he owes Laois supporters nothing.
Post by: High Fielder on August 01, 2019, 01:06:41 PM
He mightn't owe anybody an explanation, but it would be helpful if he gave one. At the moment it just looks like we fucked up again. It's not an ideal way to move forward, and supporters support more when they trust what's in front of them.
Post by: Joeythelips on August 01, 2019, 01:15:33 PM
Anyone think Billy O'Loughlin would be a good fit? in fairness his CV going by the Laois Today article is decent and he has got a good tune out of the current u-20 team. Maybe a mix of Liam Kearns and Billy O'Loughlin or something like that. Kevin McStay is another one who is not on the list.
Post by: Countyminor on August 01, 2019, 01:16:15 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on August 01, 2019, 11:18:26 AM
Billy Sheehan is not an insider pick,  he is merely serving his own C.V as he did when he played for Emo and Laois.  Be he a success or failure he adds nothing long term to Laois.  Sugrue long term even now will benefit Laois.  Whatever reasons he left I doubt it's to manage another county. Billy is an outsider the same as Micko (utterly useless long term) and all the others we choose to waste our money on for short term success.  Give it to someone in Laois,  good or bad he will be better for the experience.  I am for Malachy, Clancy, Kearns or Cotter all are risky but all will be giving back to Laois football in 50 years.  If Billy wants to come down live in Laois train a club, I have no objection.  But it's high time, we copped on to ourselves improve our own coaching rather than waste time on what are high risk outsiders anyway.  No objection to paying outsiders to help our management but the top job must remain within.

Billy played the bulk of his senior career with Emo and involved in the Laois set up. To essentially say the only reason he played with Laois was self serving is somewhat derogatory. He was of intercounty standard and he knew it, he was a valuable addition to our county and always gave his best. Like it or loath it he gave serious service to both his adopted club and county. Ask any of his former intercounty teammates what they think of Billy having played with him and you'll get as close to unanimously positive feedback as possible. What more does he have to do to prove his Laoisness? Sing Lovely Laois on main street Portlaoise wearing the 1986 replica jersey?

Malachy is probably a non contender. Our choices are slim pickings at best. I've a feeling our next manager is someone not even on our radar at the moment but Billy wouldn't be the worst choice. 
Post by: BallyroanAbu on August 01, 2019, 04:36:49 PM
How is it self serving he only kicked with Emo so he could play County football as soon as that was over he was gone.  He would of played with any county that would of taken him,  he no doubt had ability but should have never been considered for Laois.  He serves no purpose for Laois bar he was slightly better than our own.  I have no truck with him,  but our managers should be from within always.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on August 01, 2019, 04:46:57 PM
Quote from: Countyminor on August 01, 2019, 01:16:15 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on August 01, 2019, 11:18:26 AM

Billy played the bulk of his senior career with Emo and involved in the Laois set up. To essentially say the only reason he played with Laois was self serving is somewhat derogatory. He was of intercounty standard and he knew it, he was a valuable addition to our county and always gave his best. Like it or loath it he gave serious service to both his adopted club and county. Ask any of his former intercounty teammates what they think of Billy having played with him and you'll get as close to unanimously positive feedback as possible. What more does he have to do to prove his Laoisness? Sing Lovely Laois on main street Portlaoise wearing the 1986 replica jersey?

Malachy is probably a non contender. Our choices are slim pickings at best. I've a feeling our next manager is someone not even on our radar at the moment but Billy wouldn't be the worst choice.

Agree completely with you. There has always been a few Billy haters on here. He soldiered for a good many years with Laois and showed up many of our 'native' stars who had very short inter county careers. The 'outsider' logic is bizarre with regarding Billy. He did some soldiering for Laois, more than Sugrue and look what John has achieved and contributed long term in a couple of years !!
Post by: Chrimtain on August 01, 2019, 05:03:14 PM
I'm not sure what they might say in Emo, but for me, when Billy Sheehan played with Laois, he always displayed a great attitude. He always played with passion and never let us down. Maybe not a bad option to replace John Sugrue?

Apparently he was very close to getting the job last time round.
Post by: Giovanni on August 01, 2019, 05:21:00 PM
I hope "playing with a great attitude" or "soldiering for Laois" are not going to be the main criteria. Billy Sheehan is as entitled as anyone else to think he has a chance but he should be able to convince that he has the skills to do a complicated job with the senior team and that he has some idea how to develop useful structures for the future of football in Laois.

Post by: BallyroanAbu on August 01, 2019, 06:05:12 PM
Right easiest thing in this county is to be from somewhere else and we love them.  Criteria don't come from Laois as we regard ourselves as simpletons and poor footballers.  Proud to be from Laois and happy to support Laois. But sick of we can't do it attitude, don't matter to me.  The reason Sugrue succeeded is he got us to believe in ourselves,  now your back at it again.  Every day Billy played he took that position off some young Laois player would Kerry do the same for us?  We are plenty good enough ourselves.  TOF Liam Kearns same racket I'd rather one of our own give him everything and rather than criticize
Post by: on the hop on August 01, 2019, 06:06:46 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on August 01, 2019, 04:36:49 PM
How is it self serving he only kicked with Emo so he could play County football as soon as that was over he was gone.  He would of played with any county that would of taken him,  he no doubt had ability but should have never been considered for Laois.  He serves no purpose for Laois bar he was slightly better than our own.  I have no truck with him,  but our managers should be from within always.

So who would you think in laois has a chance??
Post by: BallyroanAbu on August 01, 2019, 06:36:49 PM
Malachy(Fine by me), Clancy, Higgins, Eddie K, Kearns, Cotter,  Mcmahon, Donnacha, BOL, Eddie Kelly, Mark Rooney, Joe Higgins, Chris Conway, Noel Garvan loads  more

Every one of them would improve from being Laois manager and go back to their clubs in Laois improved for the experience .

Of course some of them are not up to it,  but if we promote from within and there is a clear pathway we will have more buy in.

Literally none of them could be worse than TOF or Peter Creedon

And you know what everyone of them care about Laois Football numero uno Kerry is not the first result the look to

Back them financially the same as an outsider, help them and improve them.

Post by: on the hop on August 01, 2019, 06:42:22 PM
I think you are being unfair to billy, he was one of the few laois supporters at a dead rubber o byrne cup match in bray this year.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on August 01, 2019, 06:48:46 PM
Move to Laois no iissue but he lives works and plays club football in Dublin.
Post by: Giovanni on August 01, 2019, 09:20:11 PM
If there were 2 equally qualified candidates - one from Laois and one from outside Laois - of course you'd have to give it to the Laoisman. There are clear advantages to having a local man in charge and that would certainly be ideal. But should we go for a less qualified candidate just because he's from Laois? I hope not.

Post by: BallyroanAbu on August 01, 2019, 09:30:10 PM
Qualified what is qualified
Post by: Chrimtain on August 01, 2019, 09:50:12 PM
Quote from: Giovanni on August 01, 2019, 09:20:11 PM
If there were 2 equally qualified candidates - one from Laois and one from outside Laois - of course you'd have to give it to the Laoisman. There are clear advantages to having a local man in charge and that would certainly be ideal. But should we go for a less qualified candidate just because he's from Laois? I hope not.

No!
Post by: Nameless on August 01, 2019, 10:03:04 PM
The Laois job shouldn't be an internship for inexperienced managers. They'll have to have done something to show they are capable of progressing things.
Post by: Giovanni on August 01, 2019, 10:22:34 PM
Well qualified isn't soldiering for Laois or being from Laois.

I would say that qualified is either having a track record of achievement at club or county level or having sufficiently convincing ideas about how you would do the job.

It's perfectly reasonable to think such people exist in Laois.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on August 01, 2019, 10:41:09 PM
Or for simpletons previously hired Billy's record doesn't really stack up
Post by: Don Draper on August 01, 2019, 10:44:43 PM
Brian Cody's prior experience in Kilkenny was managing The Village to a Senior Final.

Think outside the box gentlemen. 
Post by: High Fielder on August 01, 2019, 11:58:11 PM
Quote from: Nameless on August 01, 2019, 10:03:04 PM
The Laois job shouldn't be an internship for inexperienced managers. They'll have to have done something to show they are capable of progressing things.

I agree and I thought that almost went without saying. Some of the names mentioned are bizarre to say the least. Unfortunately there is no outstanding coach in Laois. If there was, he would have made his mark easily enough. Chris Conway at least was successful in Tipperary and he's the only one internally who interests me. I haven't seen anything in Laois that suggests that we have the know how to get results against other counties. Often times, the team is a lot better than the coach and as a result, they get so far and peter out. Sugrue worked with a successful team and had that know how. Eddie Brennan played in successful teams. Who have we got with that sort of pedigree?
Post by: Giovanni on August 02, 2019, 12:09:21 AM
Would agree that if you confine yourself to Laois only Chris Conway or Clancy suggest possibility
Post by: High Fielder on August 02, 2019, 12:26:36 AM
I personally wouldn't contemplate a Laois based coach except Sugrue Giovanni. I'd be looking towards Dublin because they have the know how and it's near. Someone like Bryan Cullen maybe although he's probably on mega bucks
Post by: Tony on August 02, 2019, 09:53:33 AM
If Sugrue is gone for certain I'd like to see Billy Sheehan or Chris Conway in there.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on August 02, 2019, 10:18:47 AM
I am coming across wrong, if Laois were capable of attracting Stephen Rochford for example I could see the flaw in my arguement.  But we really are not an attractive proposition for that level of coach so I think our only option is to create those coaches from within.

Otherwise it is really the usual gallery of also rans who I see as nonsensical let's be honest it's 10 times more likely them than the top notch candidates in Sugrue we were lucky he was on his way to the top.
Post by: portlaoisekid on August 02, 2019, 10:22:45 AM
Quote from: Tony on August 02, 2019, 09:53:33 AM
If Sugrue is gone for certain I'd like to see Billy Sheehan or Chris Conway in there.
They will come as a team, one wont come without the other
Post by: SCFC on August 02, 2019, 10:27:28 AM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on August 02, 2019, 10:22:45 AM
Quote from: Tony on August 02, 2019, 09:53:33 AM
They will come as a team, one wont come without the other
Along with Gary Kavanagh? That was mooted last time around anyway....
Post by: Butch Cassidy on August 02, 2019, 11:56:58 AM
Tony McEntee a contender (if interested)
Post by: on the hop on August 02, 2019, 12:44:33 PM
I think Paul galvin got the Wexford job
Post by: blueandwhite1 on August 02, 2019, 12:52:26 PM
Quote from: on the hop on August 02, 2019, 12:44:33 PM
I think Paul galvin got the Wexford job

Well that'll be them sorted for fashion tips....
Post by: bluespower on August 02, 2019, 07:03:41 PM
Bit of a shock to see Sugrue step down that sure came out of the blue very surprising at this time when he had the team moving along nicely and making progress, i was wondering and this is just my own opinion but after two successful seasons is it possible he could see his third year in charge as been more challenging as we may find it tough going in Div 2 and who knows maybe a few retirements as well i know there are younger lads coming through but all the same, and he may have thought he won't be able to keep this upward trend and progress going and just wanted to go out when things were very positive and at a high you could say.

Anyway just speculation as seen he did not give a valid reason for leaving yet anyway all we can do now is speculate.

How about Mick Dempsey as a replacement, i am sure he could be available after Kilkenny are beaten in the hurling final the man knows what it takes to achieve success with a team anyway.
Post by: High Fielder on August 02, 2019, 08:28:13 PM
Quote from: bluespower on August 02, 2019, 07:03:41 PM
Bit of a shock to see Sugrue step down that sure came out of the blue very surprising at this time when he had the team moving along nicely and making progress, i was wondering and this is just my own opinion but after two successful seasons is it possible he could see his third year in charge as been more challenging as we may find it tough going in Div 2 and who knows maybe a few retirements as well i know there are younger lads coming through but all the same, and he may have thought he won't be able to keep this upward trend and progress going and just wanted to go out when things were very positive and at a high you could say.

Anyway just speculation as seen he did not give a valid reason for leaving yet anyway all we can do now is speculate.

How about Mick Dempsey as a replacement, i am sure he could be available after Kilkenny are beaten in the hurling final the man knows what it takes to achieve success with a team anyway.

At this stage, I've put every conceivable possibility through my mind, and I'd be amazed if he walked away from an improving team. I accept that some people bow out when they're ahead, but it would be a right slap in the face to lads who have soldiered for him this last two years. It would be a complete vote of no confidence and a contradiction of everything he said about the players. He's an honourable man and I don't think that would happen.

The optics of this are terrible in my opinion. For everybody. I only hope the players know the full story, because I'm not sure how they would feel otherwise. It's hard to be optimistic when you see how easily that optimism can be snuffed out

Post by: Tony on August 02, 2019, 08:37:50 PM
I think you might be over thinking it a tad, High Fielder. Maybe he did just go for personal reasons. He has a family and a business. Maybe the 100% he was putting into Laois football was taking away from the more important things in his life.

I agree though, it would be good to get some kind of statement to have closure and to stop people like us idly coming up with theories that might have no basis in truth.
Post by: High Fielder on August 02, 2019, 08:42:17 PM
Fair enough Tony. I can accept that.
Post by: Chrimtain on August 02, 2019, 08:46:01 PM
In his interview for radio 3 Chris Conway appeared to suggest that John Sugrue saw himself stepping into the Laois role on short term basis only. I think and hope that he has stepped away now for family and business reasons.

Who knows, he may come back again in the future, either at senior or under age level. He is too well regarded to be lost to Laois GAA for good.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on August 03, 2019, 12:21:33 AM
The Search Begins.....

Three-man committee set up as search for new Laois football manager begins in earnest

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/08/02/three-man-committee-set-up-as-search-for-new-laois-football-manager-begins-in-earnest
Post by: Chrimtain on August 03, 2019, 12:05:56 PM
Jack O'Connor to Kildare? That's a good for one for them.
Post by: Jd on August 03, 2019, 12:51:36 PM
Family and work I heard   I'm sure he'd like to be able to head off for a weekend with the wife and kids who are fairly young and possibly miss their dad not being home in the evenings. Most on here are involved with clubs and if you wanted you could be gone every evening and weekend. He took that on and had no option but to fully immerse himself in the process of improving Laois football which he did. I hav had underage teams and you'd be burned out at the end of the year So maybe John was getting that way and decided to go. I also know that co board did their level best to talk him around and also organized players to talk to him but he was not for turning. It might work out that he takes a less time consuming job with the coaching/underage setups and hopefully we'll have him for more time in the long run.
Post by: Don Draper on August 03, 2019, 12:56:52 PM
Quote from: Jd on August 03, 2019, 12:51:36 PM
Family and work I heard   I'm sure he'd like to be able to head off for a weekend with the wife and kids who are fairly young and possibly miss their dad not being home in the evenings. Most on here are involved with clubs and if you wanted you could be gone every evening and weekend. He took that on and had no option but to fully immerse himself in the process of improving Laois football which he did. I hav had underage teams and you'd be burned out at the end of the year So maybe John was getting that way and decided to go. I also know that co board did their level best to talk him around and also organized players to talk to him but he was not for turning. It might work out that he takes a less time consuming job with the coaching/underage setups and hopefully we'll have him for more time in the long run.
Nail on the head
Post by: steven seagal on August 03, 2019, 01:09:54 PM
One thing that struck me over the last couple of years was the amount of awards nights and presentations he was going to, for someone self-employed that's a tough thing to do. Between time spent coaching Laois and time going to these events, it all eats away at time spent on his business. It's not like he can delegate, if he's not there himself he's not making money. Add in the family side of things and it's easy to see why he would feel the need to step away. I think the key now is not to leave him gone long-term like we did with Cheddar, I think he has a genuine interest in the county, hopefully he can be kept involved in some capacity, even if it's helping out with a development squad when things have settled back down for him.
Post by: High Fielder on August 03, 2019, 01:35:51 PM

Thanks for the clarification. Everyone missed an opportunity by not saying that in the first place. It ends the speculation and it humanises the whole thing which at this point, at county level and even in some clubs, is way out of control. The top teams in the country have nearly as many on the line and in the stands than in the matchday panel. It's getting increasingly hard to compete
Post by: Don Draper on August 03, 2019, 02:01:01 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on August 03, 2019, 01:35:51 PM

Thanks for the clarification. Everyone missed an opportunity by not saying that in the first place. It ends the speculation and it humanises the whole thing which at this point, at county level and even in some clubs, is way out of control. The top teams in the country have nearly as many on the line and in the stands than in the matchday panel. It's getting increasingly hard to compete
It was said from the start. Work and family.
Post by: High Fielder on August 03, 2019, 02:11:45 PM
Who said it?
Post by: Don Draper on August 03, 2019, 06:18:21 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on July 30, 2019, 10:56:51 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on July 30, 2019, 10:35:14 PM

It's a cert it's because of family and work.

Most right thinking people
Post by: High Fielder on August 03, 2019, 06:53:17 PM
Speculation. We can all do that. I didn't see anyone saying wrong about John, so it's fair to say nobody is wrong thinking.
Post by: Don Draper on August 03, 2019, 07:46:15 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on August 03, 2019, 06:53:17 PM
Speculation. We can all do that. I didn't see anyone saying wrong about John, so it's fair to say nobody is wrong thinking.
You had just thanked him for his clarification  ;D
Post by: High Fielder on August 03, 2019, 07:50:26 PM
He said he had heard and I assumed he meant from someone in the know. I have no reason to distrust the poster
Post by: Jd on August 03, 2019, 08:02:59 PM
Yeah was a person who would have connections with co board. I'm not prepared to say any more though but trust me it's true
Post by: High Fielder on August 03, 2019, 08:36:21 PM
Fair play Jd. I'm glad we got to the bottom of it. I wish John Sugrue the very best and want to thank him for his dedicated and excellent work. He sowed optimism where there was none and improved so many aspects of our preparation. He cut through the bullshit and made some unpopular but correct calls. It will be extremely hard to replace him

In my opinion, he made Laois better than the sum of its parts. I don't think any coach in Laois is capable of doing that. Well at least not that I've seen anyway. Just my opinion
Post by: Mad Mentor on August 04, 2019, 12:31:53 AM
What are we expecting from the senior football manager? John Sugrue went beyond what I would expect a senior manager to do by instigating the divisional championship and putting in numerous appearances around the county.  Would he be expected to do this in any other county? Is setting up the structures to ensure we have talented players for the future not the job of the county board, and by extension, the clubs? Eddie Brennan has fired up the hurling end of the county but it is still up to the clubs and county board to drive it forward. The Joe McDonagh cup has done the rounds of the Cùl camps but Eddie hasn't been carrying it. No disrespect to him as it's not his job. For a very short time we had the best football and hurling managers we could have hoped for. If Brian Cody resigned after the All Ireland, we could lose both of them in the one year.
Until the clubs fully grasp the reality that it is up to them to drive it forward, we will never sustain a successful county team.
Post by: From the Terrace on August 07, 2019, 10:57:35 AM
the last two are good posts, agree with both. When John Sugrue meet with club officials last February only 5/6 clubs showed i think. That is nowhere near good enough, Also he suggested all clubs get in a room & have a structured discussion on improving Senior/Intermediate/Junior breakdown but this has not happened. I'm sure that has not helped John in making his decision. They're is a number of ways the county board need to direct football in our county to improve. 16 senior clubs down to 8 with two divisional teams would be ideal i think, Rob Tyrell, 2 Comerfords, Hitchcock are examples of lads who need to be playing in our Senior Championship, Junior will not improve these lads.
Post by: les Antiques on August 09, 2019, 11:15:38 AM
Jack O'Connor would be interesting. I hear he's been approached by three counties including Laois .
Post by: Chrimtain on August 09, 2019, 01:10:45 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on August 09, 2019, 11:15:38 AM
Jack O'Connor would be interesting. I hear he's been approached by three counties including Laois .

Is he not going to Kildare?
Post by: portlaoisekid on August 09, 2019, 01:11:06 PM
Its Kildare or nowhere for Jack O'Connor.

Rumors abound that Laois have approached a good few outsiders about the job, its seems a character like Eddie Brennan for the footballers is on the cards. From what I hear it'll only be a Laois man if the outsider route fails.
Post by: Chrimtain on August 09, 2019, 01:15:32 PM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on August 09, 2019, 01:11:06 PM

Rumors abound that Laois have approached a good few outsiders about the job, its seems a character like Eddie Brennan for the footballers is on the cards. From what I hear it'll only be a Laois man if the outsider route fails.

Any names?
Post by: High Fielder on August 09, 2019, 01:21:37 PM
Johnny Doyle. Padraig Joyce
Post by: Zooming around on August 09, 2019, 01:21:48 PM
Darragh O'Se must be one.

Jason Sherlock
Padraig Joyce
Post by: les Antiques on August 09, 2019, 01:34:46 PM
Pat Gilroy another one but I think  his work commitments have ruled him out .
Jack O'Connor to Kildare far from been complete . Sarsfields Davy Burke has put up a good case apparently.
Post by: Butch Cassidy on August 09, 2019, 07:03:41 PM
Declan Darcy would be an interesting one if he was interested .
Post by: GAA-SMART on August 10, 2019, 01:39:06 PM
It will either be someone completely out of the box of thought or it will be a John Evans type if not John himself. Is there a rough time frame for it to be moved along?
Post by: Chrimtain on August 10, 2019, 02:52:02 PM
Quote from: GAA-SMART on August 10, 2019, 01:39:06 PM
It will either be someone completely out of the box of thought or it will be a John Evans type if not John himself. Is there a rough time frame for it to be moved along?

Surely not. Isn't Evans the type of journeyman we have been saying we don't want.
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on August 10, 2019, 03:00:43 PM
Quote from: Chrimtain on August 10, 2019, 02:52:02 PM

Surely not. Isn't Evans the type of journeyman we have been saying we don't want.

Don't think GAA-SMART is saying he wants to see Evans get the gig, just that it's a possibility. It wouldn't surprise me if Peter Creedon 2.0 walked through the door.
Post by: The Saint on August 10, 2019, 03:14:41 PM
Would Jason Ryan be a good option?
Post by: South Laois man on August 10, 2019, 03:33:42 PM
The appointment of Evans would straight away reverse everything that John Sugrue put right. I would love to see Jack O Connor get the job but unfortunately I don't think that's going to happen. Unfortunately there doesn't seem to be too many options out there.
Post by: GAA-SMART on August 10, 2019, 03:44:17 PM
Quote from: Silkyskillssunshinee on August 10, 2019, 03:00:43 PM
Quote from: Chrimtain on August 10, 2019, 02:52:02 PM

Don't think GAA-SMART is saying he wants to see Evans get the gig, just that it's a possibility. It wouldn't surprise me if Peter Creedon 2.0 walked through the door.

In no way am I saying John Evans is the man, I am just noting i wouldnt be suprised to see that type walk through the door.

Jason Ryan is a great coach, I doubt he wouldn't want to be the main man but id say certainly open to involvement if leaving the Cork set up.

Is there any moves on Minor / 20s ?
Post by: portlaoisekid on August 10, 2019, 04:55:34 PM
Quote from: Chrimtain on August 09, 2019, 01:15:32 PM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on August 09, 2019, 01:11:06 PM

Any names?
I heard both  Padraic Joyce and Thomas O'Se were approached , Joyce not a flat out no  but waiting for Galway decision and O'Se has no interest .
Post by: BallyroanAbu on August 10, 2019, 05:46:27 PM
Padraig Joyce unlikely, successful business in the West based in Tuam.  He was subsidizing Galway U20 backroom.  Just don't see him taking Laois.
Post by: GAA-SMART on August 11, 2019, 06:37:20 PM
Joyce wants the Galway Job but took abit of damage after the 20s loss to Dublin. What about a Kevin Mc Stay / Liam McHale ?
Post by: The PRO on August 12, 2019, 10:17:36 AM
I'm hearing whispers that John Sugrue will part of Jack o'connor's team of the gets the kildare job.
I'm also hearing that the fault for Sugrue not staying on lies firmly with our county board. If true, they have serious questions to answer.
Post by: Don Draper on August 12, 2019, 10:21:56 AM
Quote from: The PRO on August 12, 2019, 10:17:36 AM
I'm hearing whispers that John Sugrue will part of Jack o'connor's team of the gets the kildare job.
I'm also hearing that the fault for Sugrue not staying on lies firmly with our county board. If true, they have serious questions to answer.
I heard that Donald Trump is actually a lizard creature wearing a humans skin to disguise himself.
Post by: The PRO on August 12, 2019, 10:46:05 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on August 12, 2019, 10:21:56 AM
I heard that Donald Trump is actually a lizard creature wearing a humans skin to disguise himself.
Part two of my post is from the horse's mouth. Part one I heard in kildare and I cant be sure of but I'd be sick if it comes to pass.
Post by: Don Draper on August 12, 2019, 10:46:42 AM
Quote from: The PRO on August 12, 2019, 10:46:05 AM
Part two of my post is from the horse's mouth. Part one I heard in kildare and I cant be sure of but I'd be sick if it comes to pass.
Are you exclusively revealing that he told you this himself?
Post by: High Fielder on August 12, 2019, 10:53:26 AM

If the first part of that equation is right, I'd imagine the second follows quite naturally. Two things surprised me about Sugrue departing. Firstly, the timing was bizarre. He had got back to back promotions and the team were performing well. Secondly, we heard nothing from him, and for a man who had plenty to say, that struck me as odd. We have to remember that the CB have a presence on this forum and there are some serious apologists for all that they do. But make no mistake, this was a body blow for the county. You can sense it everywhere. The mood is downbeat for sure.
Post by: High Fielder on August 12, 2019, 11:04:37 AM
Quote from: The PRO on August 12, 2019, 10:46:05 AM

You've certainly put the cat amongst the pigeons this Monday morning  ;D
Post by: Giovanni on August 12, 2019, 11:11:08 AM
Sometimes you get the impression that the Country Board would prefer managers that don't have ideas. This is quite reminiscent of the Cheddar debacle.
Post by: High Fielder on August 12, 2019, 12:46:40 PM
Quote from: Giovanni on August 12, 2019, 11:11:08 AM
Sometimes you get the impression that the Country Board would prefer managers that don't have ideas. This is quite reminiscent of the Cheddar debacle.

I'm still prepared to give them the benefit of the doubt. I'm prepared to do the same with Sugrue. It would be a terrible sleight on us if he joined the Squealers, and I don't think he's that disrespectful. I'm hoping all is as it was reported to us; that he left and that was that.
Post by: Chrimtain on August 12, 2019, 12:48:30 PM

This is sickening if true. Weren't we told here that the CB did everything to keep him.
Post by: The PRO on August 12, 2019, 01:33:37 PM
Quote from: Chrimtain on August 12, 2019, 12:48:30 PM

This is sickening if true. Weren't we told here that the CB did everything to keep him.
They most certainly did not. When are the divisional championships pencilled in for? They're not is the answer.
Post by: Chrimtain on August 12, 2019, 01:41:04 PM
Quote from: The PRO on August 12, 2019, 01:33:37 PM
Quote from: Chrimtain on August 12, 2019, 12:48:30 PM

They most certainly did not. When are the divisional championships pencilled in for? They're not is the answer.

Have you been talking to the man himself?
Post by: Chrimtain on August 12, 2019, 01:42:45 PM
Has he left because the CB would not run the divisional championship this year?
Post by: les Antiques on August 12, 2019, 02:34:38 PM
I would imagine there's more to it than that .
Post by: Jd on August 12, 2019, 05:20:09 PM
I posted earlier that it was for family and business reasons and I had heard it from someone close to co board. That's what I was told and I'm certainly no apologist for the co board
Post by: Zooming around on August 12, 2019, 05:30:17 PM
It struck me as very strange both the decision and the timing. It didn't smell of a long, carefully thought out "Family and Business" decision. Wouldn't be in the least bit surprised if they fucked it up yet again. If there's one thing they are uncomfortable with it's a manager doing well. Incompetent wouldn't even begin to describe it.
Post by: High Fielder on August 12, 2019, 06:32:14 PM
Quote from: Jd on August 12, 2019, 05:20:09 PM
I posted earlier that it was for family and business reasons and I had heard it from someone close to co board. That's what I was told and I'm certainly no apologist for the co board

That's the story we were all hearing. It might yet be factually correct, and I wasn't referring to you when I used the word apologist. I don't know for certain why Sugrue departed, but I do know for certain that he remains the best man for the job. So, if there's even the slightest possibility that he could be enticed back, then I would tell that committee to stop their search immediately and do the right thing. I had actually heard one or two rumblings that certain people weren't happy with his performance. To those people I would say cop yourselves on and take a long hard look at what we have available to us.
Post by: seafoid on August 12, 2019, 07:03:50 PM
Quote from: Zooming around on August 12, 2019, 05:30:17 PM
It struck me as very strange both the decision and the timing. It didn't smell of a long, carefully thought out "Family and Business" decision. Wouldn't be in the least bit surprised if they fucked it up yet again. If there's one thing they are uncomfortable with it's a manager doing well. Incompetent wouldn't even begin to describe it.

Why manage an inter county team when Leinster is dead and the All Ireland is a procession?

It can't be easy motivating players who get hammered as standard
Post by: Nameless on August 12, 2019, 07:09:32 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on August 12, 2019, 06:32:14 PM
I had actually heard one or two rumblings that certain people weren't happy with his performance. To those people I would say cop yourselves on and take a long hard look at what we have available to us.

It reminds me of when McNulty was ran out of town. There were those who thought we were better than getting to All Ireland quarter finals and playing Division 1 and Division 2 football. As we fell down to division 4, those people got their answer.
Post by: High Fielder on August 12, 2019, 07:10:43 PM
Quote from: seafoid on August 12, 2019, 07:03:50 PM
Quote from: Zooming around on August 12, 2019, 05:30:17 PM

Why manage an inter county team when Leinster is dead and the All Ireland is a procession?

It can't be easy motivating players who get hammered as standard

Oddly enough, you probably chose the worst man to make that point about. Sugrue had little time for talk about Dublin's dominance. He only saw the challenge of beating them. I accept that he might have come to his senses, but his motivation came very much from within. External factors didn't faze him at all
Post by: High Fielder on August 12, 2019, 07:12:33 PM
Quote from: Nameless on August 12, 2019, 07:09:32 PM
I had actually heard one or two rumblings that certain people weren't happy with his performance. To those people I would say cop yourselves on and take a long hard look at what we have available to us.

It reminds me of when McNulty was ran out of town. There were those who thought we were better than getting to All Ireland quarter finals and playing Division 1 and Division 2 football. As we fell down to division 4, those people got their answer.

I have no problem admitting I was one of them. I also have no problem admitting that I enjoyed the trip to London far more than losing to Dublin under McNulty by a small margin. It was hard to watch Nameless, but I can see your point.
Post by: Giovanni on August 12, 2019, 10:03:25 PM
I had actually heard one or two rumblings that certain people weren't happy with his performance.

What??! Could anyone seriously argue that point? What else could the man have done?

I don't know if he's the best man for the job or not. There may be better people out there. However, Sugrue has proven that he's able to do a top class job in Laois. We also know that people like that are hard to find. If he's been driven out because some clown wasn't happy with our performances, then I really give up. What was expected? That we beat Dublin? 
Post by: clonadmad on August 12, 2019, 11:58:33 PM
With Waterford sounding out Eddie Brennan,we might need to change the thread title

The fact that John had to literally beg and try and recruit key people to his backroom team when the county board should have been doing it might have been a factor in his departure.

The fact that we couldn't appoint a doctor for our senior county team says it all.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on August 13, 2019, 12:19:20 AM
Quote from: clonadmad on August 12, 2019, 11:58:33 PM
With Waterford sounding out Eddie Brennan,...
Uhhh, is this actually happening?
Post by: Chrimtain on August 13, 2019, 08:12:04 AM
With Waterford sounding out Eddie Brennan,we might need to change the thread title

The fact that John had to literally beg and try and recruit key people to his backroom team when the county board should have been doing it might have been a factor in his departure.

The fact that we couldn’t appoint a doctor for our senior county team says it all.

It seems to be all coming out now. Apparently, our glorious County Board, with things going so well under John Sugrue, were just not prepared to go that extra mile to accommodate a good man. That was the case with Cheddar as well. So, if it turns out that all of this is true, they should all be booted out and replaced with competent, progressive people.

As for Eddie Brennan, it would not surprise me in the slightest if they lose him as well.
Post by: High Fielder on August 13, 2019, 09:08:04 AM
We've heard nothing official from the CB (unlikely anyway) or from Sugrue. They want your money, support and volunteerism but don't dare ask any questions. We have no right to expect an explanation, but it's the done thing nowadays. Cian O Neill wrote an essay FFS. But not in Laois of course. Another PR disaster.
Post by: Don Draper on August 13, 2019, 10:51:49 AM
Anyone here ever run for a position in the CB? Could we organise a coup? Few good fellas on here I'd happily row in behind. Would you do it lads, for the county like?
Post by: Zooming around on August 13, 2019, 11:47:51 AM
Quote from: Chrimtain on August 13, 2019, 08:12:04 AM

The fact that we couldn't appoint a doctor for our senior county team says it all.

It seems to be all coming out now. Apparently, our glorious County Board, with things going so well under John Sugrue, were just not prepared to go that extra mile to accommodate a good man. That was the case with Cheddar as well. So, if it turns out that all of this is true, they should all be booted out and replaced with competent, progressive people.

As for Eddie Brennan, it would not surprise me in the slightest if they lose him as well.

Some of them, especially one of those in a non-elected position, should have been removed forcibly by the clubs years ago. They are simply not fit for purpose and are piggy backing on who they know in the cosy cartel. Clubs need to be proactive at this right now as we head towards convention time before we slip back in both hurling and football yet again. The amount of good people working tirelessly behind the scenes deserve more. Of course there's no problem getting them to stand in for a photo with John Horan. It's time for action.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on August 13, 2019, 11:57:06 AM
Quote from: Zooming around on August 13, 2019, 11:47:51 AM
Quote from: Chrimtain on August 13, 2019, 08:12:04 AM

Some of them, especially one of those in a non-elected position, should have been removed forcibly by the clubs years ago. They are simply not fit for purpose and are piggy backing on who they know in the cosy cartel. Clubs need to be proactive at this right now as we head towards convention time before we slip back in both hurling and football yet again. The amount of good people working tirelessly behind the scenes deserve more. Of course there's no problem getting them to stand in for a photo with John Horan. It's time for action.

Who are these men of action that are fit for purpose? The county board and various hurling and football committees are mostly made up of conservative older men with time on their hands who have been appointed by their clubs because nobody else will put their names forward. I agree that such people are fine to have 'voting rights' but don't expect it to generate a group of proactive, passionate and energetic folk. It would make a massive difference if our county board was made up of ex club and county players who have retired in the last 10 years. Who would organize that though? Would be turkeys voting for xmas.
Post by: clonadmad on August 13, 2019, 12:19:08 PM
Anytime any of Ye want to become county board delegates lads,get the nomination from your clubs

That's just the first small step as county board delegates have as much say in things as a North Korean TD.

Power is vested in a small enough cabal and good luck with breaking in there

Post by: clonadmad on August 13, 2019, 12:22:36 PM
Given a choice between Laois and Waterford

I think Brennan would be mad to even consider them

Pat Ryan had the job last year down there and walked away when the players decided to interview him for the role

Post by: GAA-SMART on August 13, 2019, 12:30:21 PM
Love an aul coup via a forum.. youd swear clubs never get a vote on who gets onto the CB executive. The only man Bullet Proof in there is Handy, its Laois clubs that keep everyone else, make no mistake. Obviously something went wrong with Sugrue but the man said family and work commitments and ill take his word until we hear / see otherwise. As for Brennan, id be suprised if he goes at the same time, what can he achieve next year with Laois, if Leinster is not made a 6 team province then we are looking at a drop back to the Mc Donagh bar another win against Dublin which I'd question. With Waterford, he probably just needs two wins which are getable and he keeps his stock high instead of the bit of Damage he might get if he stays with Laois. Cody is going to be gone soon so he has to stay up on the pecking order as itll come down to Brennan v Shefflin for the top job there.
Post by: LooseCannon on August 13, 2019, 12:58:07 PM
...and Shefflin will get it.
Post by: Gmac on August 13, 2019, 05:03:15 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on August 13, 2019, 09:08:04 AM
We've heard nothing official from the CB (unlikely anyway) or from Sugrue. They want your money, support and volunteerism but don't dare ask any questions. We have no right to expect an explanation, but it's the done thing nowadays. Cian O Neill wrote an essay FFS. But not in Laois of course. Another PR disaster.
+1 the fact that Sugrue has not made a statement makes it look like it was far from an amicable parting and the cb don't want anyone to know why or what happened.
Post by: GAA-SMART on August 13, 2019, 05:08:04 PM
Hopefully nothing untoward and it is what was said. Family & Work, we will know soon enough im sure.

Is anyone going to the Adam Mangan final on Saturday ?
Post by: Chrimtain on August 13, 2019, 08:39:27 PM
I wonder would Davy Burke, the man who guided Kildare U20s to an All Ireland and rejected for the position of senior manager, be worth appraoching for our job?
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on August 14, 2019, 12:12:53 AM
Jack O'Connor officially nominated for the Kildare job, lets hope Sugrue don't go with him.
http://kildaregaa.ie/statement-kildare-senior-football-manager/
Post by: les Antiques on August 14, 2019, 12:20:29 AM
Quote from: Chrimtain on August 13, 2019, 08:39:27 PM
I wonder would Davy Burke, the man who guided Kildare U20s to an All Ireland and rejected for the position of senior manager, be worth appraoching for our job?

No and no again
Post by: Joeythelips on August 14, 2019, 07:29:21 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on August 14, 2019, 12:12:53 AM
Jack O'Connor officially nominated for the Kildare job, lets hope Sugrue don't go with him.
http://kildaregaa.ie/statement-kildare-senior-football-manager/

Sugrue has done a great job with Laois and owes us nothing but I would be hugely disappointed if he turned up as part of O'Connors backroom team. One of Sugrue's best traits was his straight talking and honesty, so I would be very surprised if he said he stood down due to family and work commitments only to take a similar role with our neighbours.
Post by: High Fielder on August 14, 2019, 08:21:07 AM
Surprised? I'd be fuckin livid. The Squealers must have got another bailout from Croke Park to be able to afford this Dream Team. It's a good few years now since HQ told them to get rid of that hen house they call a stadium.

In all seriousness, fair play to them. They've shown real intent with O Connor. They have plenty of good young footballers so if they don't go for it now, they never will. It's inconceivable that Sugrue will go in with them because whatever happened in Laois, that would be a shitty thing to do on Laois people. I don't think Sugrue is that type of person and even if we allow for the CB making a hames of things (which I'm still prepared to be sceptical about) then walking down the road to Kildare would never be the right thing to do
Post by: Don Draper on August 14, 2019, 09:28:09 AM
O Connor has had a disappointing time with the Kerry U20's. He lost a few marquee players, grand, so did everyone, but he's had his hole handed to him repeatedly at the grade. His star is on the wane as a result in Kerry, the pressure was coming on. Grand to win a few All Irelands against Mayo with some of the greatest players to play the game, and pick up some Minors with some outstanding players, but he's not pushed on and he wasn't able for Tyrone. The knives were being sharpened. Kildare have given him a life raft. We'll see how it goes. I don't for one second believe the rumors about Sugrue and any job in Kildare. Idle chatter from empty vessels. He desereves far more respect than he's getting on here with such talk.
Post by: High Fielder on August 14, 2019, 10:58:38 AM
Nobody has disrespected Sugrue. It's quite the contrary in fact, and that is why people are speculating so much. Nobody cared when some of our previous managers departed, but this is very different. People looked at Sugrue as the tide who could lift a few boats, and there is no doubt that he brought a renewed enthusiasm. In the same way that none of us expect him to go to Kildare, I have a similar feeling that he wouldn't walk away unless something went wrong. If all is as simple as family and work, then why not say that? You're hardly letting people into your confidence by telling the truth. You're also stopping the speculation.

Post by: Don Draper on August 14, 2019, 12:20:24 PM
He has no requirement to say or explain anything. He gave Laois two years of his life and stepped away. The sense of entitlement on here is off the charts.
Post by: High Fielder on August 14, 2019, 12:34:15 PM
Entitlement? Are you serious? I have followed Laois around the country for a long, long time and have contributed a lot of money in one way or another to Laois GAA. That commitment extends way beyond two years. I get nothing back for that except my enjoyment (rare) of the odd good performance. I even had to pay to get a spot in the car park, only to see lads getting in for free. Entitlement me hole. I'll let you off.
Post by: Giovanni on August 14, 2019, 01:08:12 PM
Surely to God it's reasonable for volunteers, sponsors, supporters of Laois GAA to want to know the reasons for the his departure? It may not be an "entitlement" but it's a reasonable expectation. There are several good reasons why this information should be shared as a matter of course. Firstly, it prevents the marginalisation of the people that the organisation depends on (people like HF who are providing both financial and moral support to county and club teams). Secondly, greater transparency in decision-making helps to ensure that people are more likely to behave with some maturity when they get into these positions. Finally, it exposes root causes of particular problems that will never be solved otherwise.

This is not about "entitlement". It's about doing what's right.
Post by: High Fielder on August 14, 2019, 01:26:16 PM
Smoke and mirrors Giovanni.
Post by: portlaoisekid on August 14, 2019, 04:50:43 PM
Sugrues departure has left a sour taste in the mouth and if the rumours that he has agreed to join O'Connors back room team are true then it further sheds a dark cloud over this sorry affair.Once again Laois players and supporters left in the sh!t.

For Laois moving forward I'm genuinely worried as to who we will get, this could all go wrong very quickly and move back down the divisions again.

Post by: Chrimtain on August 14, 2019, 05:11:54 PM
It is disappointing enough for John Sugrue to resign his position as Laois football manager, but for him to join O'Connor's team, would be, for me, extremely disillusioning. I would feel stupid for having put so much faith in what I believed he was trying to do over the past two years for Laois football. Living and working in Laois, I genuinely believed he had the best interest of Laois football at heart. I also believed he was the best thing to happen to Laois since Micko. He is free to do what he likes, but I sincerely hope he does not join O'Connor's team.

This may sound pathetic, but is it too late for us to go cap in hand to him, give him what he wants and ask him to reconsider and return to his position of Laois football manager?

Could what he was looking for have been so outrgeous that the CB could not concede to his wishes?

The CB cannot come out of this saga well. But maybe they don't give a damn.
Post by: les Antiques on August 14, 2019, 05:39:45 PM
There is absolutely no substance to the rumour of Sugrue joining
up with with JOC . Where these stories get started are bemusing.
Post by: Countyminor on August 14, 2019, 05:48:45 PM
Lots of insiders were happy to see Sugrue go. That's the reality. There will be no going back begging for him to come back. A man with his intelligence, demeanour and nous was a threat to them. John's the kind of person who will be successful wherever he goes. It doesn't matter who we appoint next because whoever it is will not give to Laois what John Sugrue did.
Post by: Chrimtain on August 14, 2019, 06:00:13 PM
Quote from: Countyminor on August 14, 2019, 05:48:45 PM
Lots of insiders were happy to see Sugrue go. That's the reality. There will be no going back begging for him to come back. A man with his intelligence, demeanour and nous was a threat to them. John's the kind of person who will be successful wherever he goes. It doesn't matter who we appoint next because whoever it is will not give to Laois what John Sugrue did.

Why on earth should they feel threatened by John Sugrue's success? Surely his achievements couldn't but reflect well on the CB? I just don't get this? Were they also threatened by Cheddar's success?

Should anyone considering applying to take Sugrue's job stress during the interviewing process that they are not overly ambitious for Laois football?
Post by: Giovanni on August 14, 2019, 06:06:57 PM
Quote from: Chrimtain on August 14, 2019, 05:11:54 PM

This may sound pathetic, but is it too late for us to go cap in hand to him, give him what he wants and ask him to reconsider and return to his position of Laois football manager?

Could what he was looking for have been so outrgeous that the CB could not concede to his wishes?

I don't think this is pathetic at all. If there is any window of opportunity to convince him to stay on, they should use it. There are some good young players coming through and it's very important that there's someome like him at the helm.
Post by: High Fielder on August 14, 2019, 06:23:04 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on August 14, 2019, 05:39:45 PM
There is absolutely no substance to the rumour of Sugrue joining
up with with JOC . Where these stories get started are bemusing.

I guess when you're treated like mushrooms (kept in the dark and fed shite) you'll get this sort of speculation. You seem to know. Others seem to know. But the rest of us don't. And our money is as good as anyone else's when we're asked to support Laois GAA.
Post by: High Fielder on August 14, 2019, 06:31:30 PM

I find this unbelievable. Are you taking the piss?
Post by: on the hop on August 15, 2019, 02:35:52 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on August 14, 2019, 06:31:30 PM

Are you trying to ruin my holiday, your going to have to back this up.
Post by: Tony on August 15, 2019, 09:08:41 AM
If he does go to Kildare, who are we to begrudge him in all fairness. He would be forwarding his career. If it turns out that the CB were not going to back his ideas for Laois, then why wouldn't he get out and join a county that have serious ambition? Of course it would hurt but we have to let the man do what he wants with his career. A simple statement to end all the needless speculation would be nice. If he does join Kildare, then the lack of statement thus far will make a whole lot of sense. All will be revealed with time; in the meantime, let's get someone from within Laois for 2020. I can't see anyone from outside the county putting in the required time, effort and passion to keep us driving forward. JS still the man for it if something can be worked out. If not, Chris Conway for me wouldn't be too far off.
Post by: Chrimtain on August 15, 2019, 09:34:32 AM
Quote from: Tony on August 15, 2019, 09:08:41 AM
If he does go to Kildare, who are we to begrudge him in all fairness. He would be forwarding his career. If it turns out that the CB were not going to back his ideas for Laois, then why wouldn't he get out and join a county that have serious ambition? Of course it would hurt but we have to let the man do what he wants with his career. A simple statement to end all the needless speculation would be nice. If he does join Kildare, then the lack of statement thus far will make a whole lot of sense. All will be revealed with time; in the meantime, let's get someone from within Laois for 2020. I can't see anyone from outside the county putting in the required time, effort and passion to keep us driving forward. JS still the man for it if something can be worked out. If not, Chris Conway for me wouldn't be too far off.

As I said before, I would hate to see him go to Kildare. Nothing will change my mind on that. I would see it as a kick in the proverbials, and an 'up yours' to Laois. It would also taint my view of the last two years.

Meanwhile, Chris Conway was an interested spectator at he match in OMP last might between BallyroanAbbey and Port.
Post by: GAA-SMART on August 15, 2019, 09:53:30 AM
What exactly has Chris Conway done on the sideline to warrant the Laois Senior Job ? Chris and Laois would be better off if he got involved at U14s and builded upwards and  try create something and gain experience instead of jumping into the top job where he is questionably qualified for if qualified at all.
Post by: Tony on August 15, 2019, 09:57:29 AM
He doesn't owe you or any of us anything. He gave his all to Laois for 2 years. If he wasn't getting the standard required to match his ambitions in Laois, then why wouldn't he go to Kildare. I'd like to find out one way or another, but if that scenario comes to light, then best of luck to him and shame on the people within the Laois CB who let him go.
Post by: Tony on August 15, 2019, 09:58:12 AM
Quote from: GAA-SMART on August 15, 2019, 09:53:30 AM
What exactly has Chris Conway done on the sideline to warrant the Laois Senior Job ? Chris and Laois would be better off if he got involved at U14s and builded upwards and  try create something and gain experience instead of jumping into the top job where he is questionably qualified for if qualified at all.
so who do you want then, evans?
Post by: Chrimtain on August 15, 2019, 10:14:37 AM
Quote from: Tony on August 15, 2019, 09:57:29 AM
He doesn't owe you or any of us anything. He gave his all to Laois for 2 years. If he wasn't getting the standard required to match his ambitions in Laois, then why wouldn't he go to Kildare. I'd like to find out one way or another, but if that scenario comes to light, then best of luck to him and shame on the people within the Laois CB who let him go.

He owes me nothing, but if he had not been given the opportunity to work with Laois footballers for the past two years, it is unlikely that he would be seen as an attractive option to Kildare.
Post by: GAA-SMART on August 15, 2019, 10:16:40 AM
Quote from: Tony on August 15, 2019, 09:58:12 AM

No not evans as I stated before.. but it annoys me when I see fanciful names being connected with no foundation whatsoever. There are many better qualified candidates than Chris Conway, Billy O Loughlin would be more qualified even tho he wouldn't be on my list. Point being he has at least put something into Laois Underage and got some experience instead of being connected because of name, playing years and looking after school teams. If I had a pick id go back to Liam Kearns and team in Jason Ryan as the trainer. Right or wrong that be my choice from available realistic candidates with experience and if Conway wanted to be a selector id be delighted.
Post by: portlaoisekid on August 15, 2019, 10:28:22 AM
Sugrue owes nothing to Laois supporters but the players are still in the dark and speculating just as much as we are. Does he not owe them something?

This is leading to a dark cloud over Laois football when there was no need for it.
Post by: Chrimtain on August 15, 2019, 10:31:42 AM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on August 15, 2019, 10:28:22 AM
Sugrue owes nothing to Laois supporters but the players are still in the dark and speculating just as much as we are. Does he not owe them something?

Yes.
Post by: High Fielder on August 15, 2019, 10:42:38 AM
The players are the ones who matter in all of this. If they want him, and he wants to manage them, then they need to speak up before another dud walks through the door.
Post by: redsetanta on August 15, 2019, 10:56:01 AM
I am sure there were plenty current and former Laois footballers at the game in O'Moore PArk. What's your point?
Post by: Countyminor on August 15, 2019, 11:40:40 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on August 14, 2019, 06:31:30 PM

Pretty much, yes. Thought I'd spin a devious CB vs Sugrue plot because clearly the idea Sugrue left first and foremost for family and work reasons isn't enough for some.
Post by: les Antiques on August 15, 2019, 12:58:40 PM
Liam Kearns seriously ?? Explain that one please .
Quote from: GAA-SMART on August 15, 2019, 10:16:40 AM
Quote from: Tony on August 15, 2019, 09:58:12 AM

No not evans as I stated before.. but it annoys me when I see fanciful names being connected with no foundation whatsoever. There are many better qualified candidates than Chris Conway, Billy O Loughlin would be more qualified even tho he wouldn't be on my list. Point being he has at least put something into Laois Underage and got some experience instead of being connected because of name, playing years and looking after school teams. If I had a pick id go back to Liam Kearns and team in Jason Ryan as the trainer. Right or wrong that be my choice from available realistic candidates with experience and if Conway wanted to be a selector id be delighted.
Post by: Jd on August 15, 2019, 03:21:59 PM
I always felt Kearny's to be overrated. Did well enough with limerick but after that ?? Got a good Laois setup didn't achieve anything and went back a division. Got tipp post creedon on with after winning all Ireland minor or U21 ?? They went very well in his first year but I'd argue that that was creedons  setup and they have gone backwards ever since. I just feel he might be the wrong man to come in to bring us forward
Post by: smcder on August 15, 2019, 05:47:56 PM
Could Sugrue go to Kildare as a Physio?          Probable not as much time and I'd assume the payment would be clear and to his business.  Could make financial sense for him and his business.  Dont think people would be happy about it but I dont think anyone could complain about it either.   

I am just making a guess here, I have no idea whats going on.
Post by: les Antiques on August 15, 2019, 07:35:22 PM
The Kildare connection has no substance.
More likely to get involved with Tipp footballers. .!!
Post by: smcder on August 16, 2019, 08:20:14 PM
Why tipp footballers?
Post by: GAA-SMART on August 20, 2019, 09:56:47 AM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/08/19/laois-on-the-look-out-for-new-minor-football-manager-as-phelan-steps-down/

Donnacha gone aswell. Fair play to him, two years of service and two semi finals.
Post by: SCFC on August 20, 2019, 02:45:31 PM
Quote from: GAA-SMART on August 20, 2019, 09:56:47 AM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/08/19/laois-on-the-look-out-for-new-minor-football-manager-as-phelan-steps-down/

Donnacha gone aswell. Fair play to him, two years of service and two semi finals.
Thankless job taking any county team really. He did quite well. Presume this years 16s management will be in the running.
Post by: GAA-SMART on August 20, 2019, 03:01:31 PM
Quote from: SCFC on August 20, 2019, 02:45:31 PM
Quote from: GAA-SMART on August 20, 2019, 09:56:47 AM

Thankless job taking any county team really. He did quite well. Presume this years 16s management will be in the running.

Not sure how many will want it, don't think the applications flew in the last time. Be interesting to see if any hands go up all the same
Post by: les Antiques on August 21, 2019, 02:27:10 PM
Would like to see the Senior management Positions filled before the start of the quarter finals In September.
Post by: Butch Cassidy on August 21, 2019, 03:44:32 PM
Billy O staying on with the u20s?
Post by: GAA-SMART on August 21, 2019, 04:21:25 PM
Think he said he would stay if they changed the player rules over eligibility
Post by: les Antiques on August 22, 2019, 10:15:39 AM
Which doesn't look like is going to change for 12 months anyway.  Think he'll give it another 12 months regardless . He's doing well with that group and created a great rapport.

I'd be more concerned about the Senior position and the suggestion  of going back to former coaches such as Kearns and  Tom Cribben .
Post by: BallyroanAbu on August 22, 2019, 11:02:27 AM
For anyone taking the Laois job it's quiet a tricky task, they over achieved last year and possibly are favorites for relegation from Div 2.  This could lead to unrest in what will be a relatively new camp. 

To be honest I am very disappointed Sugrue( I regard him as a Laois based coach)  has left, my genuine belief is that the players should have a meeting and see if there is an appetite to go persuade Sugrue back.  My hope is that there would be,  genuinely I think we were only going to see Sugrue get better.  I think there was plenty of mistakes on his part but the end result was two promotions.  He was relatively new in the job so has a lot of learning to do,  but surely would have kept improving.  But for the good of Laois Football we should try persuade him to have a rethink.  He is the outstanding candidate.

If Sugrue were not to return my choice would be to go with his back room that is a Cotter/Kearns joint management.  They are young and hungry.  They are both Laois men and what the best for the county,  I realize there will be mistakes and all may not go well.  But the promotion of Laois based coaches should be top of the agenda in the County Board.  This merry go ground of  what are largely journey men coming and going has never served us well.  I don't see Kilkenny, Kerry or Dublin going outside of the county.  It is a real bug bear of mine why we have continually promoted those outside of the county above our own. 
Post by: portlaoisekid on August 22, 2019, 11:40:50 AM
Lads its a complete mess at the minute, rumours abound and our championship is moving along regardless.

We need a manager in place asap. The right manager of course but we need a figurehead in place for the quarter finals especially if its going to be an outsider with no knowledge of our players.
Post by: Tintin84 on August 22, 2019, 11:42:59 AM
Who is Cotter? Where has he come from or what club is he from, Excuse my ignorance but what is his CV like or how did he manage to get involved with Sugrue this year?
Post by: Heshs Umpire on August 22, 2019, 11:52:06 AM
Quote from: Tintin84 on August 22, 2019, 11:42:59 AM
Who is Cotter? Where has he come from or what club is he from, Excuse my ignorance but what is his CV like or how did he manage to get involved with Sugrue this year?
Sean Cotter of Portlaoise club. Has been with Maynooth University Sigerson teams. Good coach apparently.
Post by: Keyser Söze on August 22, 2019, 11:59:59 AM
Sugrue cannot come back. It is fantasy land. I'm sure the man thought it out and came to a decision he is happy with. To do a u-turn would be unprecedented and unhelpful (would bring massive pressure, attention and questions after every bad result). It is unfortunate but it is over.

I think it would be madness to thrust Kearns or Cotter or both into it. Keep them involved and learning, yes.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on August 22, 2019, 12:10:32 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on August 22, 2019, 11:59:59 AM
Sugrue cannot come back. It is fantasy land. I'm sure the man thought it out and came to a decision he is happy with. To do a u-turn would be unprecedented and unhelpful (would bring massive pressure, attention and questions after every bad result). It is unfortunate but it is over.

I think it would be madness to thrust Kearns or Cotter or both into it. Keep them involved and learning, yes.

It's madness if Stephen Rochford or Malachy O Rourke we're available but that's not what we are facing more like Luke Dempsey or Liam Kearns.  In reality how much more qualified was Sugrue or even Eddie Brennan. 

Need I remind you this county gave TOF a job and no one could be as bad as he was.
Post by: Keyser Söze on August 22, 2019, 12:20:45 PM
Listen, I was no fan of TOF and I called out Creedon from Day 1. Nobody could consider Luke Dempsey.
I wouldn't put Liam Kearns in that bracket for one minute, that is my opinion.

Neither Cotter or Kearns have any major playing/coaching achievements behind them. To compare them to Eddie Brennan, a multiple all ireland winning hurler and U21 Leinster winning manager is simply ridiculous.

Picture the scene.
1) Things are coming to a head after a few bad results. Your manager starts talking about digging in and turning a corner. Expressing his belief in you. Coming from Brennan or coming from Cotter/Kearns?

2) Incident of indiscipline. A player is challenged and doesn't react well. "f**k you, what would you know about it......"

The above shouldn't be a problem, but realistically it is a problem.

I am not knocking either of them or their coaching ability, I am simply being realistic.
Post by: High Fielder on August 22, 2019, 12:43:38 PM
I have no interest in this process at all. I don't know what happened with Sugrue, but his silence has thrown a cloud over the county. Even the minor manager explained himself and what about it? Perfectly understandable, thanks for your contribution and best of luck in the future. Simple. No need for rumours or speculation.

I hope our players wanted Sugrue to stay. If they did and stood there sucking their thumbs like the rest of us, I feel sorry for their inability to speak up for themselves. If they didn't want him to stay, they alone would know why and that's ok too. In my opinion, there is no doubt that he improved the team, and any shortcomings we had were because we didn't have enough quality in certain areas.

Sugrue remains the best candidate for the Laois job. I'm not sure who it would take to come in and change my opinion of that.
Post by: High Fielder on August 22, 2019, 01:29:25 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on August 22, 2019, 11:02:27 AM
For anyone taking the Laois job it's quiet a tricky task, they over achieved last year and possibly are favorites for relegation from Div 2.  This could lead to unrest in what will be a relatively new camp. 

To be honest I am very disappointed Sugrue( I regard him as a Laois based coach)  has left, my genuine belief is that the players should have a meeting and see if there is an appetite to go persuade Sugrue back.  My hope is that there would be,  genuinely I think we were only going to see Sugrue get better.  I think there was plenty of mistakes on his part but the end result was two promotions.  He was relatively new in the job so has a lot of learning to do,  but surely would have kept improving.  But for the good of Laois Football we should try persuade him to have a rethink.  He is the outstanding candidate.

If Sugrue were not to return my choice would be to go with his back room that is a Cotter/Kearns joint management.  They are young and hungry.  They are both Laois men and what the best for the county,  I realize there will be mistakes and all may not go well.  But the promotion of Laois based coaches should be top of the agenda in the County Board.  This merry go ground of  what are largely journey men coming and going has never served us well.  I don't see Kilkenny, Kerry or Dublin going outside of the county.  It is a real bug bear of mine why we have continually promoted those outside of the county above our own.

No coach in Laois has achieved anything of note. I don't even see a coach improving any side. Teams who improve in Laois tend to do so because a better batch of players came along. I'd like to see a Laois coach too, but they're not there unfortunately. I don't wish to be any more disrespectful than that, but let's stop the nonsense
Post by: The Monument Road on August 22, 2019, 01:59:45 PM
Im out of the loop these days working away but i do keep in contact. Its disappointing to hear John Sugrue has gone. He had a something very good going on and for now to see it come to a complete halt is more disappointing. Hopefully someone of similar skills and distinction will be appointed. As a matter of interest is there a possibility that a few of "his" panel are not available next year. Im hearing that some players ( first team players) informed him that they are either retiring or taking a break abroad next year and that was the main reason he decided to step down. Maybe its only idle gossip. Only time will tell.
Post by: les Antiques on August 22, 2019, 02:43:58 PM
Sorry lads I can't see the argument for bringing Kearns back , I really can't . Thats clearly  a step backwards . Some one in the same mould or simliar to Sugrue is what we require .Kearns is neither and has been at the Laois helm before which is another story.

Cotter on the other hand I would definitely keep involved .
it's pretty common knowledge Donie won't be involved next year also .
Post by: BallyroanAbu on August 22, 2019, 03:29:15 PM
Wrong Kearns I am talking about Eoin not Liam.
Post by: steven seagal on August 22, 2019, 04:38:50 PM
I would be in favour of keeping Kearns and Cotter on board but I don't think either are ready for it on their own or in a duo. Kearns had to step back and take a lesser role after Year 1 due to the time pressures, so I don't know if he'd even be in a position to assume a more time-consuming role at this stage. I think we need to be aware of what taking over a job as a county manager entails, particularly in terms of time pressures. Derek McGrath was a school teacher with the whole summer off every year, and he still took secondment from the job to spend more time focusing on the Waterford job. Does Davy Fitz even have a job, outside of coaching teams? Limerick are bankrolled by a multimillionaire and Cody is retired with nothing else to do. Dublin have enough coaches and backroom staff to even out the workload on Jim Gavin. Mickey Harte is institutionalised to the whole thing at this stage so keeps it going. Most other counties are in a situation where managers get burnt out after a couple of years.

I read a thing this morning about Tipperary splitting their video analysis between three or four different experts to generate the most accurate feedback for players. The level of preparation is absolutely crazy if you want to try to compete with the best teams now, or at least make progress against the teams above you. It's probably another 30-40 hours a week on top of whatever job you're doing now and whatever family commitments you have as well.
Post by: les Antiques on August 22, 2019, 04:42:45 PM
Eoin Kearns and Cotter have to stay involved regardless of who steps in . Lots of potential between the two .
Post by: GAA-SMART on August 22, 2019, 05:46:31 PM
Any word on the Minor
Post by: High Fielder on August 22, 2019, 07:58:04 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on August 22, 2019, 03:29:15 PM
Wrong Kearns I am talking about Eoin not Liam.

I feel the need to apologise for being rude to you above. I understand where you're coming from, and if all things were as they were last year, I couldn't see how we could go for a Laois coach. However, it has become clear that certain players won't be around next year, and in those circumstances, it might be best not to go wasting money on big names. A coach from Laois would at least know who we could potentially turn to if we don't have our best available.

Post by: GAA-SMART on August 26, 2019, 11:12:43 AM
After the hurling minor rumours, suppose the minor footballers are going to get Jim Gavin once he gets this 5 in a row business out of the way.

I hear Liam Kearns is genuinely a live contender for the senior. I said him on here a few weeks ago but on reflection it doesnt inspire massive confidence.
Post by: les Antiques on August 26, 2019, 12:36:06 PM
Unlikely now an appointment will be in place before the quarter finals which is disappointing.
Post by: les Antiques on August 27, 2019, 04:01:23 PM
Anyone hear of the Ciaran Deely contact ?
Post by: Unlaoised on August 29, 2019, 02:55:13 AM
Quote from: les Antiques on August 27, 2019, 04:01:23 PM
Anyone hear of the Ciaran Deely contact ?

Ex London manager ?

Post by: BallyroanAbu on August 29, 2019, 07:35:07 AM
Hard to see Ciaran Deeley in Laois, he is a full time coach at QPR.  Logistics won't work.
Post by: les Antiques on August 29, 2019, 06:52:29 PM
Yes he' is currently Sports Scientist at QPR but he was touted for the Wexford Job  before Galvin got it . He's open to approachs by all accounts.
Post by: GAA-SMART on August 29, 2019, 10:13:19 PM
Think Minor Football Manager nominations close tomorrow. Anyone any idea who might be in ? In terms of seniors, heard it might be wrapped up next week.
Post by: South Laois man on August 30, 2019, 04:03:35 PM
If the search for a senior manager is to be wrapped up next week, I'm sure somebody on here would have an idea of who is in line for it
Post by: Zooming around on August 30, 2019, 04:25:45 PM
Luke Dempsey seemingly in the running
Post by: Chrimtain on August 30, 2019, 04:53:30 PM
Quote from: Zooming around on August 30, 2019, 04:25:45 PM

Sh1t
Post by: redsetanta on August 30, 2019, 05:08:44 PM
If that were the case I think many of the older players will call it a day. Couldn't see them having much appetite for him after the Sugrue term.
Post by: South Laois man on August 30, 2019, 06:30:15 PM
Luke Dempsey!!!!!!! For f*ck sake!!!!!!!! Surely not. The county board wouldn't do that to us surely??????
Post by: thegreeenandgold on August 30, 2019, 08:59:25 PM
Quote from: Zooming around on August 30, 2019, 04:25:45 PM

With Billy as a selector ?
Post by: vetoldthe on August 30, 2019, 10:37:02 PM
Whatever about a manager i want to see laois get a top class coach
preferably someone with a proven track record,we have some good young players coming through
with the players that are already on the senior panel i really believe a good coach could bring our
players up another level, here are a few things we could improved on like  tackling, support play,
short kickouts, in position for breaking ball, ahead in the race for the ball, passing the ball with either hand
and hopping the ball with either hand, learning a player to give fake, shimmy, or a dummy, and keeping
the ball low when the keeper advances, maybe with the right management team in place we could hold
our own in div 2 for the coming season.  I would like to thank John Sugrue for coming in when laois were
at a low point and introducing lots of new players and getting us from div 4 to div 2 in two years well done.
Post by: Gmac on August 30, 2019, 10:46:01 PM
Who ever takes over Laois defending and stopping goals should be a priority most matches we lost this year we conceded a lot of goals , even happened at u20 Leinster final
Post by: BallyroanAbu on August 31, 2019, 08:47:44 AM
It's clear there is not a suitable candidate for Laois at the moment, possibly only Davy Burke in Kildare fits all the criteria that we require.  I still am not in favor of an outside coach as it's sticking plaster constantly.  The development of Laois based coaches for Laois teams is much more sustainable.

However in my mind there is utterly no reason why we cannot go back to Sugrue and try persuade him to return,  In any business or aspect of life anything is possible if there is a will to make that happen.  The return of Sugrue is imperative to Laois both on and off the pitch.  For John there is the chance to create something going forward all within a workable distance from home,  I have never thought he was motivated by money.  ( I don't know him that well)  but the opportunity to direct and control the framework of a county rarely comes round.  In Kildare, Tipperary or where ever he was linked with he is only a manager, Laois provides the opportunity to do far more.   
Post by: les Antiques on August 31, 2019, 01:00:49 PM
I believe there are a number of reasons why we can't go back and persuade Sugrue to return and in time I think he will give his reasons why .
Don't see why Luke Dempsey should be considered while there are lads from our county equally and just as good that are interested in the role .
Post by: Target Man on August 31, 2019, 01:17:22 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on August 31, 2019, 01:00:49 PM
I believe there are a number of reasons why we can't go back and persuade Sugrue to return and in time I think he will give his reasons why .
Don't see why Luke Dempsey should be considered while there are lads from our county equally and just as good that are interested in the role .

Who is interested?

Luke Dempsey would be a disaster, definitely would be better take a chance on an inside manager
Post by: Jd on August 31, 2019, 03:30:32 PM
I believe there are nine reasons why he won't go back   They were his ten recommendations to be implemented at the start of his tenure but co board only did two and then rowed back on one which was the divisional tournament so he upped and walked
Post by: The PRO on August 31, 2019, 07:08:51 PM
Quote from: Jd on August 31, 2019, 03:30:32 PM
I believe there are nine reasons why he won't go back   They were his ten recommendations to be implemented at the start of his tenure but co board only did two and then rowed back on one which was the divisional tournament so he upped and walked
Exactly as I heard it Jd.
Post by: Giovanni on August 31, 2019, 09:13:04 PM
Does anyone know what these recommendations were? Were they feasible?
Post by: portlaoisekid on August 31, 2019, 10:33:54 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on August 30, 2019, 05:08:44 PM
If that were the case I think many of the older players will call it a day. Couldn't see them having much appetite for him after the Sugrue term.
not just older players, younger players would give it up too ... And rightfully so... Jesus from what I've heard of Dempsey , we should literally give up rather than giving him the job.
Post by: Blow-in on August 31, 2019, 11:59:19 PM
Cool the jets. Luke Dempsey is not or won't bw in the running. Once again Zooming Around and his other username, Clonadmad, like to stir things.
Post by: les Antiques on September 01, 2019, 10:13:09 AM
Heard last night from a fairly credible source  that Pauric Joyce has been offered the job . A few issues with Galway u20 s to sort out but looks like he's about to take his first step into inter county management .
Post by: BallyroanAbu on September 01, 2019, 01:10:59 PM
Padraig Joyce is no chance would be seriously shocked.
Post by: clonadmad on September 01, 2019, 02:00:14 PM
Quote from: Batman!!! on August 31, 2019, 11:59:19 PM
Cool the jets. Luke Dempsey is not or won't bw in the running. Once again Zooming Around and his other username, Clonadmad, like to stir things.

Actually we are 2 different posters,sonny

Wrong as usual
Post by: les Antiques on September 01, 2019, 11:46:23 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on September 01, 2019, 01:10:59 PM

OK BallyroanAbu 🤔
Post by: Keyser Söze on September 02, 2019, 09:33:42 AM

You'd be surprised. These are lucrative positions. It seems unlikely that Kevin Walsh will hang on in Galway though, unless Joyce knows he ain't getting that one?
Post by: High Fielder on September 02, 2019, 12:07:33 PM
Still time to go back and ask Sugrue to reconsider. Anyone else is an inferior option, and I include in that all the names mentioned so far
Post by: Zooming around on September 02, 2019, 12:47:18 PM

Every time you post on this board you say something that's incorrect. Some achievement
Post by: Unlaoised on September 02, 2019, 02:00:55 PM
Joyce story seems to be gathering legs
Post by: les Antiques on September 02, 2019, 02:09:37 PM

90% done apparently according to Galway Bay fm
Post by: BallyroanAbu on September 02, 2019, 02:25:51 PM
Still don't see it happening, maybe I am a cynic but see us as a pawn in the Galway Senior Football Managers Job.  Anyway if it does welcome John Divlly as the Laois Coach that's a cert. 
Post by: Butch Cassidy on September 02, 2019, 02:37:28 PM
John Divily is highly rated by all accounts. Joyce any other experience apart from Galway u20s?
Post by: Blow-in on September 02, 2019, 03:46:41 PM
Quote from: Zooming around on September 02, 2019, 12:47:18 PM

Every time you post on this board you say something that's incorrect. Some achievement

So Luke Dempsey is going to be the manager? You would be better off going back and trying to sell a few cars rather than spouting horse dung here.
Post by: les Antiques on September 02, 2019, 04:04:24 PM
Quote from: Butch Cassidy on September 02, 2019, 02:37:28 PM
John Divily is highly rated by all accounts. Joyce any other experience apart from Galway u20s?

I don't think he does Butch .
I recall he turned down the Laois job after he was offered it when Sean Dempseys reign ended about 9 years ago .
Post by: Zooming around on September 02, 2019, 04:52:42 PM
Quote from: Batman!!! on September 02, 2019, 03:46:41 PM
Quote from: Zooming around on September 02, 2019, 12:47:18 PM

So Luke Dempsey is going to be the manager? You would be better off going back and trying to sell a few cars rather than spouting horse dung here.

First you tell me I'm from Clonad (you couldn't be more wrong. Neighbouring parish but still wrong) and then you tell me to sell cars. Is that a metaphor or something. Pardon me for not having the first clue what you're on about.
Post by: Butch Cassidy on September 03, 2019, 08:46:41 AM
Looks like Kevin Walsh is gone from Galway. Joyce linked with this role but heard also Rochford could get it
Post by: GAA-SMART on September 03, 2019, 11:12:01 AM
Quote from: Butch Cassidy on September 03, 2019, 08:46:41 AM
Looks like Kevin Walsh is gone from Galway. Joyce linked with this role but heard also Rochford could get it

Rochford said about 3 weeks ago he doesnt want to manage and is looking forward to another year with Donegal.
Post by: justinn on September 07, 2019, 10:13:54 AM
From Galway Bay FM

Betting this evening has been suspended on Pádraig Joyce becoming the next senior Galway football manager. We understand a meeting of the players and Galway GAA officials is set to take place tomorrow.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on September 07, 2019, 11:36:34 AM
Joyce was never coming here
Post by: portlaoisekid on September 09, 2019, 09:00:40 AM
Any chance of a new Laois manager attending the quarter finals this weekend.........
Post by: High Fielder on September 10, 2019, 11:50:28 AM
It doesn't really matter PK. The Divisional Championship probably serves the purpose better, and there aren't that many who could make a difference anyway. The biggest problem for the new manager could well be trying to convince lads to stay. From what I can gather, a few lads are considering walking away.

We have to remember at all times that the players are the ones who make the biggest sacrifices. I think in many ways, playing for Laois must be especially tough. You more than likely work or study outside the county. You spend a lot of time commuting, not just to and from work, but also to training and matches too. You did this at a great personal cost to your wellbeing and pocket, and you do it knowing you're playing in a team that is unlikely to win even a provincial championship. I think that makes playing for counties like those immediately around us and ourselves pretty difficult. I can well understand why lads would be tired of it, and even though we were going pretty well under Sugrue, could it ever be enough?

The limbo at the moment doesn't bother me. Speaking to one of the panelists, it sounded to me like he was happy to have a break from the intensity of county training. It's not a religion in Laois like it is in Kerry or other counties where there's something on offer all the time. There is nothing to sweeten the pot for players in Laois and many counties like us. I don't blame lads for wanting to take a break and let's face it, Jim Gavin and his players wouldn't stick with Dublin for as long as they have unless they wete getting something out of it. So I'm in no rush to see a new manager in place. I'm not looking forward to starting afresh anyway after a successful period, and anyway, it will more likely than not be an underwhelming appointment.
Post by: SCFC on September 11, 2019, 09:30:53 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on September 10, 2019, 11:50:28 AM
It doesn't really matter PK. The Divisional Championship probably serves the purpose better, and there aren't that many who could make a difference anyway. The biggest problem for the new manager could well be trying to convince lads to stay. From what I can gather, a few lads are considering walking away.

We have to remember at all times that the players are the ones who make the biggest sacrifices. I think in many ways, playing for Laois must be especially tough. You more than likely work or study outside the county. You spend a lot of time commuting, not just to and from work, but also to training and matches too. You did this at a great personal cost to your wellbeing and pocket, and you do it knowing you're playing in a team that is unlikely to win even a provincial championship. I think that makes playing for counties like those immediately around us and ourselves pretty difficult. I can well understand why lads would be tired of it, and even though we were going pretty well under Sugrue, could it ever be enough?

The limbo at the moment doesn't bother me. Speaking to one of the panelists, it sounded to me like he was happy to have a break from the intensity of county training. It's not a religion in Laois like it is in Kerry or other counties where there's something on offer all the time. There is nothing to sweeten the pot for players in Laois and many counties like us. I don't blame lads for wanting to take a break and let's face it, Jim Gavin and his players wouldn't stick with Dublin for as long as they have unless they wete getting something out of it. So I'm in no rush to see a new manager in place. I'm not looking forward to starting afresh anyway after a successful period, and anyway, it will more likely than not be an underwhelming appointment.
Agree with all your post bar the first bit. The area competition is grand but it's not the same intensity as the white heat of a senior championship quarter final. A lad will burst his gut for his club but will he do it for North Laois? A pity we have no manager to see these games.
Post by: portlaoisekid on September 11, 2019, 11:41:51 AM
Whats the hold up with the new manager?

The more time goes by the more worrying it becomes..
Post by: High Fielder on September 11, 2019, 01:48:55 PM
Fair point above SCFC. I suppose the Divisionals still give a fair reflection of technical ability. And I guess if a lad wants it badly enough that desire should be evident.

As for the new Manager, I'm guessing there are a number of journeymen who would gladly take the job. We need more than that though. It seems likely that we won't be playing with a full deck next year (do we ever play with a full deck in Laois) so we need someone in the Sugrue mould who will develop players and create a system of play. Maybe we need to focus on specialised development personnel and spend big on coaches rather than getting one big name. And give the top job then to someone like Cheddar, Rigney or Critchley. I honestly don't know.

I know what I don't want, and that's a Dempsey, Kearns, O'Flaharta type figure. I think most of our coaches in Laois could do as good as any of them. If that's all that's out there (a journeyman), then just stay local and save the money.
Post by: South Laois man on September 11, 2019, 02:05:53 PM
Who are the players that won't be on board next year?
Post by: GAA-SMART on September 11, 2019, 02:29:27 PM
I see O Loughlins gone
Post by: The PRO on September 11, 2019, 02:53:24 PM
We're now looking for three new football managers. A bit of a disastrous off season for us.
Post by: Butch Cassidy on September 11, 2019, 03:06:10 PM
It has to be said that Billy did a very good job with the u20s and think he would be good for the minors if he was interested.

I would like to see someone appointed to oversee S&C for all grades in both hurling and football. This would be a full time job ala Bryan Cullen but would be an important role.

Some important jobs coming up, I would echo what others are saying and to avoid a journeyman appointment. Laois is an attractive job in that we're operating in division 2 so be interesting to see who they appoint given the high profile appointments the hurlers have done.

Post by: les Antiques on September 11, 2019, 05:53:03 PM
Loose rumours and possible shenanigans 😂😂 and sideline behaviour  .  !? What' a load of crap . Laois football needs lads like O'Loughlin involved . Jesus we love nothing more like burying our own .
Post by: Blow-in on September 11, 2019, 08:30:54 PM
Far from rumors by all accounts. Some of the stuff doing the rounds wouldn't be tolerated by a junior c manager
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on September 12, 2019, 12:57:08 AM
Even though Sugrue has left it's great to see the divisional games are going ahead again this year. This is a fantastic competition to see the best footballers Laois has to offer and for lads to step up and look for a place on the county team.

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/09/06/details-announced-for-second-ever-divisional-football-championship-in-laois/
Post by: les Antiques on September 12, 2019, 02:26:11 PM
Michael Quirke.  . Didn't see this coming .
Post by: on the hop on September 12, 2019, 02:35:24 PM
Happy enough with that
Post by: les Antiques on September 12, 2019, 02:42:24 PM
Agreed . He's certainly no journey man . Hear him on OTB sometimes and comes across very well .
Post by: redsetanta on September 12, 2019, 02:44:39 PM
Yep, sounds promising.
Post by: merman on September 12, 2019, 03:12:58 PM
Super appointment.
Post by: GAA-SMART on September 12, 2019, 04:00:44 PM
Well done to all involved in this. Hopefully its a continuation of the last few years, maybe even with abit of off the record help from Sugrue
Post by: blueandwhite1 on September 12, 2019, 04:31:43 PM
Definitely an imaginative appointment. Will bring energy and enthusiasm and I'd say lads will want to play for him.

I'd say he will be quick to talk to some of the lads who are thinking of retiring.
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on September 12, 2019, 04:50:43 PM
Happy with the appointment, but would've been happier if Sugrue was still involved.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on September 12, 2019, 05:05:35 PM
Excellent appointment I listen to Quirkes podcast most weeks,  again I would be happier with Laois based coaches or Sugrue remaining.  With some of the names going round this is a lot better, fair play to the County Board. 
Post by: les Antiques on September 12, 2019, 05:32:45 PM
It'll be interesting to see his backroom team and who is involved from Laois .
Post by: town1980 on September 12, 2019, 10:10:53 PM
Interesting appointment please god it works who has he managed.? I don't know much about him is all? Gutted John has left and he will be missed I think it's a tough job ahead for the new management team and a tough guy to follow so let's see how it pans out
Post by: High Fielder on September 12, 2019, 10:56:58 PM
Good luck to him. It's a better appointment than I expected. He has a difficult task following Sugrue for a number of reasons, but he can only do his best. I'm assuming he spoke to John before agreeing to take the job, because there's not much you could find fault in when looking at Sugrue's time. Any deficiencies we had under Sugrue were not of his making. He made the Senior team better, unlike other coaches who probably didn't get the best out of what they had available to them. I hope Quirke can make his mark for all our sakes, but I'm still shook up about Sugrue.
Post by: Chrimtain on September 12, 2019, 11:13:34 PM
My initial reaction was that this is a good appointment for Laois. Of course time will tell, but I get the impression that he is a good motivator and may be able to persuade lads who have been considering retirement to play for the county. I would like to think that he has been in communication with John Sugrue and may have been persuaded by him to take on the job. Hopefully, its onwards and upwards.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on September 13, 2019, 01:12:22 AM
For anyone who's still wondering what this is all about read this::
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/09/12/breaking-new-laois-senior-football-manager-revealed/

Post by: Smurfy123 on September 13, 2019, 08:59:05 AM
Excellent appointment because you listen to his podcast? He talks a lot of waffle he does. Talking easier than managing. Prepare to fail. I'll touch back in a few months
Post by: Don Draper on September 13, 2019, 09:08:09 AM
Quirke is a very intelligent, clued in operator. He's a good and well respected coach and has performed at the top level of the game too. He's as good as we could hope for post Sugrue, and possibly even better than we could have hoped for. The backroom team will be interesting.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on September 13, 2019, 09:31:23 AM
Quote from: Smurfy123 on September 13, 2019, 08:59:05 AM
Excellent appointment because you listen to his podcast? He talks a lot of waffle he does. Talking easier than managing. Prepare to fail. I'll touch back in a few months

f**k off Poacher, back to Down forum.
Post by: Tony on September 13, 2019, 11:43:56 AM
To be honest, I thought we were going to get an awful appointment like Evans or a TOF like person. But to be fair, this is an imaginative and frankly exciting appointment. Hopefully the players agree. Well done to all involved in getting him in. To those who think it's a bad appointment - who were the alternatives - any outstanding canditates? Don't think so. Hopefully upwards from here, I was fearing the worst. But there's no doubt that is a positive appointment. Word is he's pally with Sugrue so hopefully John will help him get settled in, too.
Post by: SCFC on September 13, 2019, 03:13:17 PM
Quote from: Tony on September 13, 2019, 11:43:56 AM
Word is he's pally with Sugrue so hopefully John will help him get settled in, too.
Maybe he'll need a good physio?! One that used to manage the team would be handy...
Post by: Joeythelips on September 13, 2019, 04:50:06 PM
I have no idea about his managerial credentials, but like others I was fearing some journey man appointment like Evens or Kearns. They have gone for someone with new fresh ideas it would seem. If Im right its the same group (Fergal Byron and a few others I believe) that were tasked with finding the new manager as put forward Sugrue for the role and he turned out to be a breath of fresh air, so well done to all involved.

I know we like to put down our own county but Laois are in Div 2 after back to back promotions and have a young enough team with some decent u-20s from last year coming through also so its not the most un attractive post in the country. If Quirke can get them going we could be in for an exciting couple of years.
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on September 13, 2019, 06:21:57 PM
I'd be content if Quirke helped us stay in Division 2 this year. Even relegation wouldn't be the end of the world though. The quality in Division 2 is a huge step up on 3.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on September 17, 2019, 11:26:59 PM
(https://www.4shared.com/img/5j3CGxq6gm/s25/16d41531d08/Laois_Manager)
Post by: Don Draper on September 18, 2019, 11:02:27 AM
Disappointing to see we've lost out on Kevin Smyth once again. I'd hope to see him involved in Laois GAA in some capacity in the future, but its looks more and more unlikely the higher he goes.
Post by: les Antiques on September 18, 2019, 12:25:27 PM
I believe he was offered a role Don but has other commitments.
Post by: Don Draper on September 18, 2019, 12:27:58 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on September 18, 2019, 12:25:27 PM
I believe he was offered a role Don but has other commitments.
Aye, we've most likely missed the boat on him.
Post by: les Antiques on September 18, 2019, 01:47:51 PM
Looks like he's taken up the role of Strength and conditioning  coach with the  Cork Senior footballers . Best of luck to him . Pity though . Like Don said he would have been a great addition to our backroom team .
Post by: GAA-SMART on September 18, 2019, 02:00:04 PM
Any word on 20 and Minors?
Post by: Helix. on September 18, 2019, 03:39:18 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on September 18, 2019, 01:47:51 PM
Looks like he's taken up the role of Strength and conditioning  coach with the  Cork Senior footballers . Best of luck to him . Pity though . Like Don said he would have been a great addition to our backroom team .

Think he's doing phd down there in CIT and prob be linked with Cian O'Neill as coach down there in college as well. He'll get decent money from Cork as well as being on pittance money doing a phd. He'll be busy. Best of luck to him!
Post by: High Fielder on September 18, 2019, 04:03:26 PM
That's a nice team Cork are assembling. We don't have the resources, appeal or prospects to compete with that. That sort of set up doesn't come cheap I'd imagine.
Post by: High Fielder on September 18, 2019, 04:11:16 PM
Are you lost?
Post by: les Antiques on September 18, 2019, 04:18:11 PM
Malachy O'Rourke linked to what ?
Quote from: topofthesoil on September 18, 2019, 04:08:23 PM
Malachy O'Rourke linked, any truth in the rumours?
Post by: GAA-SMART on September 18, 2019, 05:12:02 PM
Quote from: topofthesoil on September 18, 2019, 04:41:31 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on September 18, 2019, 04:18:11 PM
Malachy O'Rourke linked to what ?
Quote from: topofthesoil on September 18, 2019, 04:08:23 PM
Malachy O'Rourke linked, any truth in the rumours?

U20 Management job? thought this was public knowledge

::) ::)

It was tough enough getting a senior manager now Malachy O Rourke is taking the 20s.. Jim Gavin taking the Minors
Post by: GAA-SMART on September 26, 2019, 06:29:40 PM
Any word on the two outstanding positions ?
Post by: Pearse Blue on September 27, 2019, 04:33:08 PM
Quote from: topofthesoil on September 27, 2019, 04:01:13 PM
Quote from: GAA-SMART on September 26, 2019, 06:29:40 PM

Stephen O'Neill linked now i hear, O'Rourke still in pole position but
You've already ruined the Tyrone discussion board sir, don't ruin the Laois one too
Post by: Don Draper on September 27, 2019, 05:16:39 PM
Quote from: topofthesoil on September 27, 2019, 04:56:43 PM
Quote from: Pearse Blue on September 27, 2019, 04:33:08 PM
Quote from: topofthesoil on September 27, 2019, 04:01:13 PM
Quote from: GAA-SMART on September 26, 2019, 06:29:40 PM

Stephen O'Neill linked now i hear, O'Rourke still in pole position but
You've already ruined the Tyrone discussion board sir, don't ruin the Laois one too

dont shoot the messenger. Im trying to save this board for shes only a handful of pages long anyway
I've had a few handfuls of your mother as it is
Post by: GAA-SMART on September 27, 2019, 07:28:54 PM
I heard 4  names in for minor this evening, possibly 3. Not much on 20s
Post by: Chrimtain on October 02, 2019, 08:38:51 AM
Has Mike Quirke been spotted at the qtr or semi finals? It's a bit strange if he has not attended any of the championship matches yet.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on October 02, 2019, 08:39:21 AM
He was there last weekend.
Post by: portlaoisekid on October 02, 2019, 10:27:36 AM
He will have seen  a lot of good players on Sunday playing in tough conditions and with their backs to the wall. Sunday was a true test of a lot of players.
Post by: les Antiques on October 02, 2019, 10:58:31 AM
Heard last night Mick Dempsey is considering a role with Quirkes back room team after been approached recently . Not sure how true it is but there has been contact apparently.
Post by: Don Draper on October 02, 2019, 12:08:54 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on October 02, 2019, 10:58:31 AM
Heard last night Mick Dempsey is considering a role with Quirkes back room team after been approached recently . Not sure how true it is but there has been contact apparently.
Mick is gone from Kilkenny.
Post by: portlaoisekid on October 02, 2019, 12:37:34 PM
That would be some coup for Laois
Post by: Neutralobserver on October 02, 2019, 12:54:52 PM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on October 02, 2019, 12:37:34 PM
mick is an excellent physical coach and has proved it time and time again with Kilkenny but i have heard to often how the laois lads dont repsond to well to physical training (probably only a rumour also as i think county players should be commended for all the time and effort they put in) so not sure if this appointment will go ahead.
Post by: Tony on October 02, 2019, 01:01:29 PM
Quote from: Neutralobserver on October 02, 2019, 12:54:52 PM
mick is an excellent physical coach and has proved it time and time again with Kilkenny but i have heard to often how the laois lads dont repsond to well to physical training (probably only a rumour also as i think county players should be commended for all the time and effort they put in) so not sure if this appointment will go ahead.
Lads don't respond well to physical training? What are you even on about. They are going to train to get better physically.
Post by: Chrimtain on October 02, 2019, 01:17:50 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on October 02, 2019, 10:58:31 AM

That would be great if it happened.
Post by: Neutralobserver on October 02, 2019, 01:19:05 PM
Quote from: Tony on October 02, 2019, 01:01:29 PM
Quote from: Neutralobserver on October 02, 2019, 12:54:52 PM
Lads don't respond well to physical training? What are you even on about. They are going to train to get better physically.
I mean they don't like taking on the extra physical training that mick would bring or require. Don't shoot the messenger
Post by: Chrimtain on October 02, 2019, 03:00:02 PM
Surely anyone who wants to play inter county football has to be willing to put in the physical work.
Post by: Neutralobserver on October 02, 2019, 03:31:15 PM
i do personally think myself tho that the type of player that John Surgure was bringing in over the last few years suggested that we were putting more of an emphasis on the physical fitness side of the game so maybe mick might also think like that,
Post by: Tony on October 02, 2019, 04:39:07 PM
Think of the commitment these lads have to put into going to training 3 - 5 times a week, cutting off some of their social and family life. The have the respect of any clear thinking person and well as good GAA people. If they were afraid of a bit of hard physical work, they wouldn't show up to begin with; that goes for any counties players. "Don't shoot the messenger." You're not the messenger, you're an idiot  ;D!
Post by: The Monument Road on October 02, 2019, 04:55:02 PM
Great news if true but I'll believe it when I see it. Mick may have other plans and I'm sure the queue to get him is pretty long. For those who weren't about or remembers his  previous role with laois. That didn't finish well.
Post by: les Antiques on October 02, 2019, 06:01:28 PM
Quote from: The Monument Road on October 02, 2019, 04:55:02 PM
Great news if true but I'll believe it when I see it. Mick may have other plans and I'm sure the queue to get him is pretty long. For those who weren't about or remembers his  previous role with laois. That didn't finish well.

I'd agree with that . Also his brother Sean's  Tenure didn't exactly end in harmony .
Post by: The Monument Road on October 02, 2019, 10:10:27 PM
Sean's tenure at senior didn't work out but he did achieve wonderful results with the underage groups he had...in Micks case it was laois officialdom that caused the departure. He proved his pedigree since.  I'd safely say Quirke has his own crew sorted and Mick will change direction and do his own thing..My opinion.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 03, 2019, 12:38:12 AM
Quirke hasn't even been appointed yet, how can he have a backroom team... ??
Post by: The Monument Road on October 03, 2019, 07:39:00 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 03, 2019, 12:38:12 AM
Yes you are correct..We do, myself included do get ahead of ourselves.
Post by: Don Draper on October 03, 2019, 10:07:01 AM
You're surely not this naive?
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 03, 2019, 04:06:18 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on October 03, 2019, 10:07:01 AM

Another gem from "the Don"..
Post by: Don Draper on October 03, 2019, 08:10:20 PM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 03, 2019, 04:06:18 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on October 03, 2019, 10:07:01 AM

Another gem from "the Don"..
You're very tetchy
Post by: Joeythelips on October 07, 2019, 10:08:33 AM
I see the draw was made for Leinster championship, I presume from the graphic that if Laois beat the winners of Louth v Longford they would face Meath/Wexford/Wicklow in semis? But it is not clear.
https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2019/1007/1081542-dublin-to-begin-2020-leinster-defence-against-westmeath/ (https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2019/1007/1081542-dublin-to-begin-2020-leinster-defence-against-westmeath/)
Post by: GAA-SMART on October 07, 2019, 12:03:54 PM
Semi final draw next year.
Post by: clonadmad on October 07, 2019, 08:40:19 PM
Best of luck to John Sugrue
Post by: BallyroanAbu on October 07, 2019, 08:49:01 PM
Presume U20 season is going to be shortened.
Post by: High Fielder on October 07, 2019, 09:32:21 PM
Did nobody on the CB think about asking him to train our U20's? I'm just adding two and two here, but obviously the Under 20 schedule won't affect his family and work commitments as much? Give me a break. Good luck to him of course, but what a kick in the hole for Laois.
Post by: clonadmad on October 07, 2019, 09:42:14 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on October 07, 2019, 08:40:19 PM
Best of luck to John Sugrue
Different set of expectations on him now,kinda makes his reasons for leaving us look redundant,a pity he wasn't given anything like the wherewithal he will now have with the kingdom.
Post by: thegreeenandgold on October 07, 2019, 09:58:12 PM
Ouch.  Some kick in the teeth for Laois some incompetence on behalf of our County Board.  That's what he thinks of Laois Football.
Post by: Gmac on October 07, 2019, 10:18:16 PM
Quote from: thegreeenandgold on October 07, 2019, 09:58:12 PM
Ouch.  Some kick in the teeth for Laois some incompetence on behalf of our County Board.  That's what he thinks of Laois Football.
im sure he's eyeing Kerry senior job after this or Kerry county board are setting him in place to take over as senior boss if he delivers at u20 level .
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on October 07, 2019, 10:25:13 PM
It was sad to see him go but good luck to the man. That said, I'd be hopeful Mike Quirke can continue the good work that Sugrue built. That divisional championship was one of the best things Sugrue did here, along with back to back league promotions of course.
Post by: Tony on October 07, 2019, 10:28:29 PM
Best of luck to him with it. He's a good man and he'll do well there.
Post by: thegreeenandgold on October 07, 2019, 10:53:40 PM
That's like wishing your girlfriend good luck with her next fella.

Post by: Don Draper on October 07, 2019, 11:08:21 PM
Quote from: thegreeenandgold on October 07, 2019, 10:53:40 PM
That's like wishing your girlfriend good luck with her next fella.
Particularly tough on you given your girlfriend is probably your sister
Post by: les Antiques on October 07, 2019, 11:13:38 PM
Jesus Don
Definitely less work strain but I'm sure the truth will come out some day and it won't paint a pretty picture for our county board.

Quirke ratified tonight , still no word on back room team .
Post by: Don Draper on October 07, 2019, 11:22:53 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on October 07, 2019, 11:13:38 PM
Jesus Don
Definitely less work strain but I'm sure the truth will come out some day and it won't paint a pretty picture for our county board.

f**k him, you read his previous post.
Post by: Keyser Söze on October 07, 2019, 11:33:17 PM
And what did he say wrong?
That it's a kick in the teeth?
That something obviously soured Laois in Sugrue's mind, given he has stepped back into a job like this?

Not everything is a personal attack.
They are relevant points.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 07, 2019, 11:41:42 PM
Former Laois manager takes role as Kerry U-20 football boss

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/10/07/former-laois-manager-takes-role-as-kerry-u-20-football-boss/
Post by: Chrimtain on October 08, 2019, 08:50:58 AM
It does look bad for our CB. I doubt that the hours he will have to devote to Kerry u20s will be much less than the time he would give to Laois seniors. What on earth was he looking for that our CB could not provide? If he⁹ does well, it looks certain he will get the senior job down there eventually.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on October 08, 2019, 09:03:42 AM
I suspect this Kerry U20 thing has been floating around for some time. It is a huge job with massive expectations. They won 5 all Ireland minors in a row and John will be entrusted with transitioning them from minor to senior. If he does well he could well be the next Kerry senior boss with a huge haul of talent at his disposal. Compare those prospects with keeping Laois in division 2, with a very limited pipeline and resources and an unambitious county board.

He's nothing if not cute.
Post by: thegreeenandgold on October 08, 2019, 09:16:40 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on October 07, 2019, 11:22:53 PM
Jesus Don

Enjoy the trip to watch Kerry U20's Don,  It never changes in Laois.  New man we all fawn over him, now he f**ks us and gives us two fingers we wish him well.  Could you imagine Sugrue doing it the other way what Kerry would think of him.  Wishing him well what sort of mentality is that.  No doubt Sugrue did a good job but this is self serving.  Quirke is nothing more than a club manager moving up the ladder before he takes his next job promotion with Kerry under 15's.
Post by: High Fielder on October 08, 2019, 10:49:26 AM
Quote from: thegreeenandgold on October 08, 2019, 09:16:40 AM
Jesus Don

Enjoy the trip to watch Kerry U20's Don,  It never changes in Laois.  New man we all fawn over him, now he f**ks us and gives us two fingers we wish him well.  Could you imagine Sugrue doing it the other way what Kerry would think of him.  Wishing him well what sort of mentality is that.  No doubt Sugrue did a good job but this is self serving.  Quirke is nothing more than a club manager moving up the ladder before he takes his next job promotion with Kerry under 15's.

Why would we not wish him well? The man gave good service and clearly had a positive impact on Laois. None of us know what happened in the finish, but I'm pretty certain about the conclusion I would draw from Sugrue departing. And if I'm right, that would only make him more honourable in my opinion. That is why I wish him well, and until I hear otherwise, I can only assume that it's another own goal for Laois GAA and its officers.
Post by: thegreeenandgold on October 08, 2019, 11:47:43 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on October 08, 2019, 10:49:26 AM
Quote from: thegreeenandgold on October 08, 2019, 09:16:40 AM
Jesus Don

Before going further let me state I think John Sugrue did a good job as Laois Manager.

However your post proves my point

Why would we not wish him well? The man gave good service and clearly had a positive impact on Laois. None of us know what happened in the finish, but I'm pretty certain about the conclusion I would draw from Sugrue departing. And if I'm right, that would only make him more honourable in my opinion. That is why I wish him well, and until I hear otherwise, I can only assume that it's another own goal for Laois GAA and its officers.

First let me say that I think John Sugrue did a good job with Laois.

However your post is clearly proving my point.  You are willing to assume John was right in Laois while also assuming that the County Board was wrong.  I am not saying that your assumption is incorrect but there is no real evidence either ways. Just that you are far more willing to forgive John Sugrue a paid appointee over volunteers who are unpaid.   That saying maybe I should have no gripe with Sugrue moving on as for him Laois was a career move and he can be dispassionate.  I doubt in Kerry he will operate under the same freedom of management that he did in Laois.  But I do genuinely think it's some kick in the teeth for Laois Players & Supporters that he is willing to take what many would think a step down.    This is very much self serving by Sugrue and if you want to cheer lead him in the Kerry job good for you.   As they say we are no longer compatible.
Post by: smcder on October 08, 2019, 12:02:13 PM
Lads, it's probable a stepping stone to the Kerry job. The Laois job wouldn't be that.
Post by: Joeythelips on October 08, 2019, 12:07:40 PM
Wait, newsflash. The Laois senior football managers role is NOT the most attractive role in the country? I am shocked. It looks like Johns ultimate role would be to be manager of Kerry senior footballers and good luck to him.

Plenty of journey men have come to Laois taken a few coins of silver and done sod all, he took the role and brought the team back to Div 2, in other word he did a good job. Other people noticed this, not just the people on this message board and now he has other offers.

The guy is from Kerry so his long term plan may be to move back one day or should we call him names if he does this? I would imagine Quirkes long term goal would be to manage Kerry seniors also, if he wants a shot at it he would have to also improve Laois, would you not be willing to accept this? or would you rather we appoint Luke Dempsey
Post by: thegreeenandgold on October 08, 2019, 12:09:22 PM
Firstly I did not call anyone names.

It's an avenue to the Kerry Senior Job but is that any way certain ?  A lot of uncertainties in that for a man who lives in Portlaoise.

I thought we were talking about Laois GAA, not a talent academy for Kerry ?  Is that the limit of our ambitions !  I would much prefer to be like Monaghan, Roscommon or Armagh, have some pride in your County.  Better "One day as a Lion than a life time as Lamb". 

Kerry have won 5 minors but U20 has been underwhelming with Jack O Connor for all the reasons that we know be it the Calendar and rule on inter-county players.

Post by: High Fielder on October 08, 2019, 12:39:06 PM
A talent academy for Kerry? What are you even talking about? The man lived in Portlaoise and knew plenty about local football already. Enough to sort the wheat from the chaff which a lot of previous coaches had a hard time doing. What is your net point exactly? That you object to people wishing him well? That you think we're an academy for Kerry? I'm a little lost in the blurb
Post by: thegreeenandgold on October 08, 2019, 01:49:39 PM
Kerry have not exactly been prolific at U20/U21 grade winning Munster 3 times since 2000 and 1 All Ireland.  Not exactly a pathway to managing Kerry Seniors.

Post by: High Fielder on October 08, 2019, 02:08:01 PM
He's a Kerryman first and foremost. That carries a lot of weight. As for other reasons, they may be plentiful or few. Who knows? We were told nothing, just to keep the money flowing and trust that everything is being done correctly. That isn't enough though. This episode has left a very sour taste in the mouth of a lot of people, and I include myself in that. The only thing I blame Sugrue for is not being honest with supporters. That showed a lack of respect. But maybe if we knew the full story, I could be in a position to withdraw that remark. I pay a lot of money to Laois GAA and devote a lot of my free time as well. It's not good enough to be treated this way
Post by: Don Draper on October 08, 2019, 02:32:10 PM
Quote from: thegreeenandgold on October 08, 2019, 01:49:39 PM
Kerry have not exactly been prolific at U20/U21 grade winning Munster 3 times since 2000 and 1 All Ireland.  Not exactly a pathway to managing Kerry Seniors.
Peter Keane
Eamon Fitzmaurice
Jack O Connor
Pat O Shea
JOC
Paidi
Ogie

How many of them didn't manage Kerry U20 sides or an underage side for Kerry?
Post by: thegreeenandgold on October 08, 2019, 02:47:27 PM
Don't disagree with you Don but success was the key to all those appointments for some unknown reason of late Kerry have not been that good at U20/U21.  I would see this as a bit of coup for Kerry to get a young up and coming man with inter county management experience as their U20 manager and who know where that goes.  John Sugrue gets albeit with a  gamble back into the reckoning for Kerry. 

But my gripe is Laois, what do we get ?  We got shafted.  This is an absolute sicker and while I like John and I rate him as a manager.  Going on like nothing has happened and wishing him luck as he moves on to better things while we trudge on in the shit is not my idea of a good time.   

Post by: High Fielder on October 08, 2019, 02:56:46 PM
But what do you want? What would you like/expect to happen?
Post by: Blow-in on October 08, 2019, 04:33:34 PM
Killian Whelan very vocal on Twitter. Someone replied to him saying Sugrue had to buy the water for a challenge game
Post by: Helix. on October 08, 2019, 06:20:06 PM
Quote from: Batman!!! on October 08, 2019, 04:33:34 PM
Killian Whelan very vocal on Twitter. Someone replied to him saying Sugrue had to buy the water for a challenge game

If I'm not mistaken was it said before that there was no team doctor for example appointed this year (anyone can confirm this) That'd be more concerning. Along with whatever list of demands he had while he was in charge that wasn't fulfilled. Champagne dreams on a lemonade budget springs to mind and if he's not getting the backing from County Board financially and with appropriate structures he's right to walk. I also imagine the u20 job came up after leaving the Laois job rather than leaving to go manage Kerry u20s. You can hardly begrudge him managing his home county. Sure wasn't he involved in 08 with the all Ireland winning team.

I can imagine money was tight across the board especially with the hurlers going well and trying to compete to some degree at both grades.
Post by: clonadmad on October 08, 2019, 06:50:23 PM
Quote from: Helix. on October 08, 2019, 06:20:06 PM
Quote from: Batman!!! on October 08, 2019, 04:33:34 PM

If I'm not mistaken was it said before that there was no team doctor for example appointed this year (anyone can confirm this) That'd be more concerning. Along with whatever list of demands he had while he was in charge that wasn't fulfilled. Champagne dreams on a lemonade budget springs to mind and if he's not getting the backing from County Board financially and with appropriate structures he's right to walk. I also imagine the u20 job came up after leaving the Laois job rather than leaving to go manage Kerry u20s. You can hardly begrudge him managing his home county. Sure wasn't he involved in 08 with the all Ireland winning team.

I can imagine money was tight across the board especially with the hurlers going well and trying to compete to some degree at both grades.

I can confirm that
Post by: High Fielder on October 08, 2019, 07:01:11 PM
Maybe they should start charging all their mates for admission and car parking. That would yield a nice few quid
Post by: Laois Rising on October 14, 2019, 03:03:01 PM
In fairness to Laois county board the cost of running teams has become astronomical. in 2018 over 3/4 million euro spent on our intercounty teams. With hurlers going further this year I imagine that figure could be higher again for 2019. While managers are right to look for best of resources, it is unrealistic for a smaller county like Laois to be able to compete with resources that a county like Dublin, Kerry or Mayo can pump into their teams. These counties can tap into wealthy business people both here and abroad who see potential returns (All-Ireland success) for their significant contributions. We do not have that luxury. It is next to impossible for smaller dual counties to adequately provide for both hurling and football teams. While our county board often comes in for a bashing here, they can only operate within the confines of a set budget.
Post by: High Fielder on October 14, 2019, 04:34:11 PM
If you're right LaoisRising, then getting a lad in from Kerry is a false economy. He's already costing more than Sugrue and what happens if he's successful and the hurlers have another good year? We lost a good man somehow and I have a feeling we have yet to see the full repercussions. Anyway, the coffers will be nicely bulging after yesterday. Good crowd and 20 euro to get in. Hopefully the hangers on paid like the rest of us
Post by: Giovanni on October 14, 2019, 08:43:53 PM
I thought 20 euro entry and 4 for the program was hefty enough for that match yesterday.
Post by: Jd on October 14, 2019, 09:49:44 PM
€20 is good value in my opinion. The minor was a great match and Killeshin brought great color and noise and no one left before it ended so €20 for almost four hours isn't too bad if you're into your Gaelic games
Post by: les Antiques on October 16, 2019, 12:33:40 PM
Happy to see Kearns back involved with the back room .
Hear Cotter could have a role with the u-20s .
Post by: Keyser Söze on October 16, 2019, 05:25:27 PM
I have no idea of the ins & outs of the situation but Kearns and (potentially) Cotter getting involved to me makes it look a bit less likely that Sugrue was "wronged" in some way by LCB?