Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Harold Disgracey on January 29, 2013, 11:23:33 PM

Title: Nathan Carter
Post by: Harold Disgracey on January 29, 2013, 11:23:33 PM
What is the attraction? I don't get it, how can someone so shite be so apparently popular?
Title: Re: Nathan Carter
Post by: lawnseed on January 29, 2013, 11:26:20 PM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on January 29, 2013, 11:23:33 PM
What is the attraction? I don't get it, how can someone so shite be so apparently popular?
yes you are completely correct pure slurry.
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on January 30, 2013, 12:01:10 AM

Do you dance?
Post by: Syferus on January 30, 2013, 12:02:14 AM
Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on January 30, 2013, 12:01:10 AM

Do you dance?

Does uncontrollable foot-and-table-tapping count?
Post by: theskull1 on January 30, 2013, 12:04:30 AM
I'd like to know his position on the flegs dispute before I give an opinion on the man.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 30, 2013, 12:05:09 AM
Have been wondering this myself. Heard ones talking about him at Christmas and how there are people travelling from all over to see him. Wouldn't know him from Adam til I saw him on Nolan Show a couple of weeks ago. Pure MOR Country and Western which I wouldn't listen to if he was playing in my garden. However fair fcuks to the lad if, like Daniel, he can make a packet out of the mugs that watch him.
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on January 30, 2013, 12:19:27 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 30, 2013, 12:05:09 AM
Have been wondering this myself. Heard ones talking about him at Christmas and how there are people travelling from all over to see him. Wouldn't know him from Adam til I saw him on Nolan Show a couple of weeks ago. Pure MOR Country and Western which I wouldn't listen to if he was playing in my garden. However fair fcuks to the lad if, like Daniel, he can make a packet out of the mugs that watch him.

Watch him?  Youse are missing the point. People go to dance at his shows. I was at one the other night. It was a mighty show and mighty craic!.. And full of young ones too!.
Post by: T Fearon on January 30, 2013, 12:48:13 AM
A youthful Daniel O'Donnell.Sadly there will always be a huge Market in Ireland for this sort of shite!
Post by: trileacman on January 30, 2013, 01:11:15 AM
Would you f**k off to bed ye crowd of spiteful hoors.
Post by: screenexile on January 30, 2013, 09:27:59 AM
Complete shite, his upbeat and terrible version of Green Day's "Time of your Life" is particularly sickening.

A few ones in my work go and say it's a great night but the hoor is charging £10 -£20 on the way in and has places absolutely packed out. As far as I know all his shows around here are sold out so he must be doing something right. I think his popularity is causing a few problems though as I've heard serious trouble has broken out at a few of his big nights.
Post by: johnneycool on January 30, 2013, 09:43:35 AM
Saw him on Fat Nolan's show the other night, where's he from?

My money is on Tyrone, the county that gave us Hugo and Philomena.
Post by: BennyHarp on January 30, 2013, 09:48:03 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on January 30, 2013, 09:43:35 AM
Saw him on Fat Nolan's show the other night, where's he from?

My money is on Tyrone, the county that gave us Hugo and Philomena.

He's from Liverpool - think he was previously known as Owen McLove
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 30, 2013, 09:55:11 AM
Never heard of this fella.

I assume he is a Norn Iron secret - sounds like ye should keep him under wraps for yourselves - or is that partitionist?

Post by: Rois on January 30, 2013, 10:10:28 AM
My 25 year old hairdresser was at one of his shows and loved it - she has taken up jiving now.

Some of you are very hard on what other people enjoy - live and let live! 

As for the £10 or £20 a go - sure how many thousands pay significantly more than that regularly to go and watch 22 diva performances on a soccer pitch?  Each to their own. 

Echoes of the bible belt here - that rock and roll causing the destruction of society with fights at gigs and so on - don't let it across the county line, y'hear!  ;D
Post by: Hardy on January 30, 2013, 10:10:48 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on January 30, 2013, 12:04:30 AM
I'd like to know his position on the flegs dispute before I give an opinion on the man.

Post by: Hardy on January 30, 2013, 10:12:21 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 30, 2013, 09:55:11 AM

I assume he is a Norn Iron secret - sounds like ye should keep him under wraps for yourselves - or is that partitionist?

Think Crystal Swing. Sorry for that thought. Now subtract the mammy, the sister, the suave urbanity and the stunning musical talent, leaving only the unaccountable popularity. There y'are.
Post by: johnneycool on January 30, 2013, 10:14:58 AM
Quote from: Hardy on January 30, 2013, 10:12:21 AM

Think Crystal Swing. Sorry for that thought. Now subtract the mammy, the sister, the suave urbanity and the stunning musical talent, leaving only the unaccountable popularity. There y'are.

Now there's a blast from the past..

Why are they now hiding their obvious talent under a bushel?
Post by: kickingmule on January 30, 2013, 10:16:44 AM
Very talented performer, {not for the music clone}
Post by: Hardy on January 30, 2013, 10:20:57 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on January 30, 2013, 10:14:58 AM
Quote from: Hardy on January 30, 2013, 10:12:21 AM

Now there's a blast from the past..

Why are they now hiding their obvious talent under a bushel?

There isn't a bushel big enough.
Post by: Bingo on January 30, 2013, 10:29:21 AM
He is fairly drawing the crowds, when he played locally in October last the place was absolutely swamped and doors closed hours before they normally would. The crowd would range from 16 to 86. People seem to like this night out at the minute with a lively entertainer and a good dance.

Wouldn't be for me. At the end of the day, he is a cover band and anyone that plays the one song 3/4 times in a night (wagonwheel) needs to get a new song.
Post by: deiseach on January 30, 2013, 10:59:01 AM
I know Nathan's grandparents quite well. It would have been their grandparents who were Irish and from what I can see Nathan's father has no Irish roots at all, so he's a long way removed from the old country. Yet seeing him on TG4 recently, he was talking like he was Ulster born and bred. Strange bunch, the Liverpool Irish.
Post by: balladmaker on January 30, 2013, 11:06:28 AM
Was talking to a fella who was working at the Country Music Awards on Monday night in Mullingar ... I asked what was the story with Nathan Carter, he said each act got up and sang a couple of songs, when Carter took to the stage he said it was like Beatle mania, the crowds just seem to love him.

He's doing well for a 22 year old, and is probably raking in around 30k a week, some going!
Post by: AQMP on January 30, 2013, 11:17:57 AM
Music's version of Mrs Brown's Boys...complete shite, yet inexplicably popular.  He doesn't just inflict his talent on us Nordies, he seems to like Connacht too.
Post by: Denn Forever on January 30, 2013, 11:25:03 AM
QuoteComplete shite, his upbeat and terrible version of Green Day's "Time of your Life" is particularly sickening.

Was intrigued when I seen this.  So here it is.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xTjfMQrnYi4
Post by: deiseach on January 30, 2013, 11:25:25 AM
Regarding Nathan Carter's success, I'm reminded of what Brush Shiels once said of Sonny Knowles's enduring appeal - "he sings simple songs for simple people". He elaborated by explaining that Sonny is a great sax player but wouldn't dream of going into a jazz riff for his usual clientele. The music world is full of geniuses who would struggle to fill a phone box.
Post by: fitzroyalty on January 30, 2013, 11:44:49 AM
I'd take him any day ahead of what's on offer on x-factor. At least he's keeping her country.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 30, 2013, 11:50:25 AM
One of the youtube comments on that Greenday song made me snigger:

Irish pissy country band meets one of the greatest songs ever only to be destroyed by this c**t! Slow winks and the swagger, can nearly swear there is a bit of auto tune in that mic, he should be shot with a big ball of his own shite.
Post by: Mont on January 30, 2013, 11:54:57 AM
charging a min of 4500, even 4 a shitty week night he is the latest fad

believe he is playin on athletic grounds later in the year, suppose ther wont be much else hapenin ther
Post by: screenexile on January 30, 2013, 11:58:07 AM
Quote from: Rois on January 30, 2013, 10:10:28 AM
My 25 year old hairdresser was at one of his shows and loved it - she has taken up jiving now.

Some of you are very hard on what other people enjoy - live and let live! 

As for the £10 or £20 a go - sure how many thousands pay significantly more than that regularly to go and watch 22 diva performances on a soccer pitch?  Each to their own. 

Echoes of the bible belt here - that rock and roll causing the destruction of society with fights at gigs and so on - don't let it across the county line, y'hear!  ;D

Yes Rois "your 25 year old hairdresser" really loved it . . . come on now don't be ashamed you can admit to us your Nathan's biggest fan!!
Post by: Bingo on January 30, 2013, 12:01:31 PM
Quote from: Mont on January 30, 2013, 11:54:57 AM

believe he is playin on athletic grounds later in the year, suppose ther wont be much else hapenin ther

Alot of these guys are now operating on a % of the door from 80% to 90% takings.
Post by: deiseach on January 30, 2013, 12:02:38 PM
Would his popularity cut across the sectarian divide? I seem to recall some Loyalist paramilitaries incurring the wrath of their mammies when they threatened Daniel O'Donnell. Or was that an urban rural myth?
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on January 30, 2013, 12:14:31 PM
Quote from: Bingo on January 30, 2013, 10:29:21 AM
He is fairly drawing the crowds, when he played locally in October last the place was absolutely swamped and doors closed hours before they normally would. The crowd would range from 16 to 86. People seem to like this night out at the minute with a lively entertainer and a good dance.

Wouldn't be for me. At the end of the day, he is a cover band and anyone that plays the one song 3/4 times in a night (wagonwheel) needs to get a new song.

Played it twice on Sunday night.. 2nd song and last one. Understandable as its his most popular song.

I see some of youse are whinging at the cost on the door.. €15 into one of his shows for 2 full hours of good live, dancing music or a €10 into the nightclub over on the far side to get yer ears blown off by some DJ?. Only one winner..

And again ill ask, do any of you dance? Cause if you don't your opinion isn't worth a shite..

Post by: the Deel Rover on January 30, 2013, 12:17:11 PM
Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on January 30, 2013, 12:14:31 PM

Played it twice on Sunday night.. 2nd song and last one. Understandable as its his most popular song.

I see some of youse are whinging at the cost on the door.. €15 into one of his shows for 2 full hours of good live, dancing music or a €10 into the nightclub over on the far side to get yer ears blown off by some DJ?. Only one winner..

And again ill ask, do any of you dance? Cause if you don't your opinion isn't worth a shite..

Thats telling ye lads  ;D
Post by: deiseach on January 30, 2013, 12:21:08 PM
(http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2009/09/30/article-1216939-06A51820000005DC-756_468x651.jpg)
upmonaghansayswe yesterday
Post by: Bingo on January 30, 2013, 12:53:46 PM

You tell them!

You'll have to change your picture from Kasabian to Nathan Carter though, do you do the same type of dancing at the Kasabian dances? ;)
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on January 30, 2013, 01:24:56 PM
Quote from: Bingo on January 30, 2013, 12:53:46 PM

You'll have to change your picture from Kasabian to Nathan Carter though, do you do the same type of dancing at the Kasabian dances? ;)

Different ball game entirely :).. Just went on Sunday to see what the fuss was about and I was fairly impressed!. A welcome change from a typical weekend night!.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 30, 2013, 01:50:10 PM

We operate a Gaaboard version of John Lithgow in Footloose when it comes to dancing. Does that make you Kevin Bacon?
Post by: stew on January 30, 2013, 03:41:33 PM
Fair play to him, he has enough talent to make gobs of money then fair play to the lad.

If the music is shite, so what, people are having a good time and he rakes in the kesh........................where is the downside???
Post by: T Fearon on January 30, 2013, 04:56:31 PM
He's like the grandson of Charlie Landsborough, another Liverpudlain who made a fortune out of lyrically enquiring about the hue of the wind, over and over again.

Deiseach, there used to be a joke back in the 80s/90s about the UDA capturing Daniel O'Donnell, Gerry Adams and Martin Mc Guinness, however they only had two bullets so they shot Daniel twice!

Seriously, there was an elderly woman in a loyalist estate in Portadown who worshipped Daniel, and he would visit her at home once or twice a year, not a hair on his head was harmed. He posed no threat to the union!
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 30, 2013, 05:27:36 PM
Quote from: screenexile on January 30, 2013, 09:27:59 AM
Complete shite, his upbeat and terrible version of Green Day's "Time of your Life" is particularly sickening.

A few ones in my work go and say it's a great night but the hoor is charging £10 -£20 on the way in and has places absolutely packed out. As far as I know all his shows around here are sold out so he must be doing something right. I think his popularity is causing a few problems though as I've heard serious trouble has broken out at a few of his big nights.

Every country singer seems to have "Time of your life" on record. Each as bad as the last if you don't mind me saying.
Post by: thebandit on January 30, 2013, 05:51:30 PM
Quote from: deiseach on January 30, 2013, 12:02:38 PM
Would his popularity cut across the sectarian divide? I seem to recall some Loyalist paramilitaries incurring the wrath of their mammies when they threatened Daniel O'Donnell. Or was that an urban rural myth?

I know that in Monaghan, the whole country scene seems to be popular with the young brethern
Post by: Puckoon on January 30, 2013, 06:42:46 PM
It's not unlike the days of the showbands, who often times didn't have an original hit in years of playing halls. He's young, has assembled a decent bunch of muscians and is selling out halls singing other peoples songs. Not my particular brand of vodka, but you have to hand it to the chap - it's a decent living if you can make it. Having people ask you to play "Nathan Carter's Wagon Wheel" is irritating as shit however. Kinda like drunk Americans asking for an Irish song - "like Galway Girl"!
Post by: leenie on January 30, 2013, 06:46:07 PM

A few years ago i wouldn't have dreamed of going to a country night... now i love them.. The first time i went was because i was at a loss so thought i might as well and i can honestly say it was one of the best nights craic, live music, dancing, meeting ones of all ages... unlike niteclubs you actually interact with strangers who are all out for a good nite....

I know young fella's who can be seen at oxygen, sense night club and at a country night... just an appreciation for all types of music!

before ya judge i would say to ye to go to one of these nites as a once off and then ye'll see what its all about... Nathan Carter, Dereck Ryan or Mike Denver are your best nights... and for the lads who dont want to be going to a male performer than Lisa McHugh is yer woman!

I know city folk and large town folk dont get it but the 1000+ that are going to these dance nites do!  KEEP HER COUNTRY! 
Post by: Arthur_Friend on January 30, 2013, 07:03:02 PM
Quote from: leenie on January 30, 2013, 06:46:07 PM

A few years ago i wouldn't have dreamed of going to a country night... now i love them.. The first time i went was because i was at a loss so thought i might as well and i can honestly say it was one of the best nights craic, live music, dancing, meeting ones of all ages... unlike niteclubs you actually interact with strangers who are all out for a good nite....

I know young fella's who can be seen at oxygen, sense night club and at a country night... just an appreciation for all types of music!

before ya judge i would say to ye to go to one of these nites as a once off and then ye'll see what its all about... Nathan Carter, Dereck Ryan or Mike Denver are your best nights... and for the lads who dont want to be going to a male performer than Lisa McHugh is yer woman!

I know city folk and large town folk dont get it but the 1000+ that are going to these dance nites do!  KEEP HER COUNTRY!

Tyrone....no surprises here.
Post by: Minder on January 30, 2013, 07:08:07 PM
http://youtu.be/cSZfUnCK5qk
Post by: Throw ball on January 30, 2013, 09:04:00 PM
Quote from: Mont on January 30, 2013, 11:54:57 AM

Think it is April 20th that he plays Armagh Athletic Grounds. Tickets available at armaghgaa.net . Tickets £20 a go for all you fans. Never heard him myself.
Post by: balladmaker on January 30, 2013, 10:34:49 PM
QuoteThink it is April 20th that he plays Armagh Athletic Grounds. Tickets available at armaghgaa.net . Tickets £20 a go for all you fans. Never heard him myself.

Is Armagh GAA running it as a fundraiser?  He'll probably put a few thousand into the Athletic Grounds
Post by: Throw ball on January 31, 2013, 12:11:34 AM
Quote from: balladmaker on January 30, 2013, 10:34:49 PM
QuoteThink it is April 20th that he plays Armagh Athletic Grounds. Tickets available at armaghgaa.net . Tickets £20 a go for all you fans. Never heard him myself.

Is Armagh GAA running it as a fundraiser?  He'll probably put a few thousand into the Athletic Grounds

Yep
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 31, 2013, 12:35:15 AM
Quote from: Minder on January 30, 2013, 07:08:07 PM
http://youtu.be/cSZfUnCK5qk
Bob's Country Bunker probably looks like an upmarket nightclub to some of these Tyrone lads.
Post by: ONeill on January 31, 2013, 06:38:20 AM
Y'know, I was once like you lads. Afeared to embrace this stuff for fear of ridicule.

Then it dawned on me. I was increasingly likely to hold the dial at Hugo's programme when flicking through the wireless. There's something about country music in our DNA.

I like Carter's version of the Green Day song. There. I've said it.

Now fcuk off the rest of yiz.
Post by: JUst retired on January 31, 2013, 06:42:53 AM
Good man O`Neil for coming out,I bet you feel better after that. CAP country and proud. :D
Title: Nathan Carter’s plans for global domination
Post by: FermGael on January 31, 2013, 09:53:27 AM

Taken from http://fermanaghherald.com/2013/01/nathan-carters-plans-for-global-domination/ (http://fermanaghherald.com/2013/01/nathan-carters-plans-for-global-domination/)

Nathan Carter's plans for global domination

Nathan Carter was a guest on the Nolan show on January 23

COUNTRY music star Nathan Carter may be a resounding success in Fermanagh taking his own brand of self-styled country around the village halls of the county, but the Liverpool born singer has high ambitions and hopes to be the next Garth Brooks.

As a sign of Nathan's growing popularity he appeared on the Nolan Show on BBC last Wednesday night. With many of his passionate fans sitting in the audience wearing t-shirts adorning their country idol, Nathan told presenter Stephen Nolan about his upcoming plans.

"We do a lot of dances and it is good to see dance halls full, but I would love to go on to concerts. We have experimented with a few concerts recently and as I said there were totally different age groups and it was a great atmosphere.

"We're actually doing a run of concerts coming up and will be playing our first ever gig in Belfast in the Europa coming up very, very soon."

Nathan has high aspirations and told the show that he would like to become a major star not only in Ireland, but across the world.

"Garth Brooks has done it massive and the likes of the Dixie Chicks. So I don't see why it can't be done again and try and get everyone involved."

Fermanagh fans will have to wait a while for Nathan to be playing locally as he is currently touring throughout Ireland, including three dates in Bundoran on January 19 and two in  February on the 1st and 18th .

He shall also embark on a UK tour taking in Scotland and England. It promises to be another busy and exciting year in the career of this emerging country music sensation.

Post by: Hardy on January 31, 2013, 10:29:12 AM
I like good country music too. That's why I hate this shite.

Why does Tyrone have to destroy everything it touches?
Post by: Billys Boots on January 31, 2013, 10:38:02 AM
You might enjoy this Hardy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nLq-2eo9Z6c (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nLq-2eo9Z6c)
Post by: Hardy on January 31, 2013, 10:45:13 AM
Those lads remind me of the Pogues, and not only because they contravene the laws of punk by being able to play (whatever about singing). Good stuff. I could have done without the lecture to teach me that Hank Williams was cool, though.
Post by: Billys Boots on January 31, 2013, 10:47:00 AM
Jason and the Scorchers are always good value - still going too apparently; a mate of mine goes to see them everytime they visit Blighty (annually). 
Post by: Hardy on January 31, 2013, 10:51:37 AM
For no reason, other than that I'm reminded and I love the line - Leonard Cohen:

Hank Williams ... a hundred floors above me in the Tower of Song.
Post by: LCohen on January 31, 2013, 10:54:07 AM
Quote from: Hardy on January 31, 2013, 10:51:37 AM
For no reason, other than that I'm reminded and I love the line - Leonard Cohen:

Hank Williams ... a hundred floors above me in the Tower of Song.

I said to Hank Williams - How lonely does it get?

Hank Williams has answered me yet.
Post by: Hardy on January 31, 2013, 10:58:03 AM
Cough, cough.
Post by: supersarsfields on January 31, 2013, 11:00:39 AM
Quote from: Hardy on January 31, 2013, 10:29:12 AM

Jeez we might to be blame for a few things but I'm interested to see why we're getting credited with Nathan Carter?
Post by: Hardy on January 31, 2013, 11:03:19 AM
Quote from: supersarsfields on January 31, 2013, 11:00:39 AM

Jeez we might to be blame for a few things but I'm interested to see why we're getting credited with Nathan Carter?

For clowning purposes and random abuse, mainly, but also because Tyrone seems to condone this sort of carry-on more than anywhere else. Or at least refuses to condemn it.
Post by: OverThePostsAWide on January 31, 2013, 11:09:16 AM
Quote from: Denn Forever on January 30, 2013, 11:25:03 AM
QuoteComplete shite, his upbeat and terrible version of Green Day's "Time of your Life" is particularly sickening.

Was intrigued when I seen this.  So here it is.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xTjfMQrnYi4

But Paul Grimley's a quare accordian player. Fair play to him.

(http://img194.imageshack.us/img194/6687/nathancarter.jpg)
Post by: seafoid on January 31, 2013, 11:09:46 AM
Is Nathan Carter his real name? If it is, how did his parents know he would turn out to be a country singer ?   
Post by: supersarsfields on January 31, 2013, 11:25:23 AM
Quote from: Hardy on January 31, 2013, 11:03:19 AM

For clowning purposes and random abuse, mainly, but also because Tyrone seems to condone this sort of carry-on more than anywhere else. Or at least refuses to condemn it.

We're more honest up here in Tyrone. We like our dirty little pleasures to be out in the open. I know you Meath boys go into darkened rooms and play Wagonwheel on repeat while watching dirty dancing and drinking blue WKD. T'is why yous are so rough on the football pitch to compensate. 
Post by: deiseach on January 31, 2013, 11:46:28 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 31, 2013, 11:09:46 AM
Is Nathan Carter his real name? If it is, how did his parents know he would turn out to be a country singer ?

It is. Once they found he could hold a tune he was bound to be a country singer. It's called 'trying too hard'.
Post by: seafoid on January 31, 2013, 11:54:13 AM
Quote from: deiseach on January 31, 2013, 11:46:28 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 31, 2013, 11:09:46 AM

It is. Once they found he could hold a tune he was bound to be a country singer. It's called 'trying too hard'.
I thought most of the names of country singers in Ireland were made up eg TR Dallas, Mike Denver
I wonder what makes a city suitable as a surname. Why do they never pick Cincinnatti ?
Post by: deiseach on January 31, 2013, 12:00:44 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 31, 2013, 11:54:13 AM
I wonder what makes a city suitable as a surname. Why do they never pick Cincinnatti ?

Good question. Was it not named after a farmer?
Post by: Harold Disgracey on January 31, 2013, 12:52:07 PM

Compare and contrast

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=JXGuljM6Tec

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=-7JVxE2SYxo
Post by: No Soloing on January 31, 2013, 01:38:38 PM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on January 31, 2013, 12:52:07 PM

Compare and contrast

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=JXGuljM6Tec

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=-7JVxE2SYxo

After having watched 5 seconds of the Green Day one earlier I couldnt bring myself to watch those and compare and contrast - I think I know which one is better anyway!
Im glad to say I had to google Nathan Carter when I first read this yesterday
Post by: Applesisapples on January 31, 2013, 01:53:31 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on January 31, 2013, 11:25:23 AM

We're more honest up here in Tyrone. We like our dirty little pleasures to be out in the open. I know you Meath boys go into darkened rooms and play Wagonwheel on repeat while watching dirty dancing and drinking blue WKD. T'is why yous are so rough on the football pitch to compensate.
The Original "Wagon Wheel" was co written by Bob Dylan and appears on Old Crow Medicine Show's album OCMS. What this Country and Oirish goon has done to it is a disgrace. check out the original.
Post by: supersarsfields on January 31, 2013, 02:11:25 PM
I know the orginal. Don't get me wrong. I'm no fan of Nathan Carter, (The wife on the other hand....). I just entered into the fray to try and distance Nathan Carter being linked with Tyrone by thon Meeth hallion. We're more Dominic Kirwin up here.
Post by: Applesisapples on January 31, 2013, 02:22:15 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on January 31, 2013, 02:11:25 PM
I know the orginal. Don't get me wrong. I'm no fan of Nathan Carter, (The wife on the other hand....). I just entered into the fray to try and distance Nathan Carter being linked with Tyrone by thon Meeth hallion. We're more Dominic Kirwin up here.
No accounting for the wife's taste eh? Mine likes Boyzone for F's Sake!
Post by: Hardy on January 31, 2013, 02:34:52 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on January 31, 2013, 11:25:23 AM

Dunno about Wagon Wheel, but we do have our dark side: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CK3KCVLGVLI
Post by: seafoid on January 31, 2013, 02:55:18 PM
Quote from: deiseach on January 31, 2013, 12:00:44 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 31, 2013, 11:54:13 AM

Good question. Was it not named after a farmer?
Apparently
But it would only be suitable as a name for an opry singer
Post by: deiseach on January 31, 2013, 03:02:34 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 31, 2013, 02:34:52 PM
Dunno about Wagon Wheel, but we do have our dark side: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CK3KCVLGVLI

That's either a link to Rick Astley or the best of Mick Lyons. Either way, avoid.
Post by: Hardy on January 31, 2013, 03:19:20 PM
It's worse than either and your advice is good.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 31, 2013, 03:30:17 PM
Jaysus Hardy if it's a county's dark side you're after I'd advise you not to wake up us Longford folk!
Post by: deiseach on January 31, 2013, 03:37:20 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 31, 2013, 03:30:17 PM
Jaysus Hardy if it's a county's dark side you're after I'd advise you not to wake up us Longford folk!

(http://www.tuamherald.ie/wp-content/uploads/2010/11/Declan-Nerney-Heaven-300x293.jpg)
Post by: maggie on January 31, 2013, 04:44:23 PM
I'm a fan but haven't been to see him yet.
But then I find myself listening to Hugo when I can as well.
Hello middle age....... :-\
Post by: AQMP on January 31, 2013, 04:52:40 PM
Quote from: maggie on January 31, 2013, 04:44:23 PM
I'm a fan but haven't been to see him yet.
But then I find myself listening to Hugo when I can as well.
Hello middle age....... :-\

A shocking confession maggie.
Post by: armaghniac on May 17, 2016, 11:33:15 AM
Not everyone is a fan.
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/if-i-hear-wagon-wheel-one-more-time-im-going-to-break-that-stereo-man-snapped-after-neighbour-repeatedly-played-nathan-carter-tune-34721985.html
Post by: maddog on May 17, 2016, 11:57:10 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 17, 2016, 11:33:15 AM
Not everyone is a fan.
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/if-i-hear-wagon-wheel-one-more-time-im-going-to-break-that-stereo-man-snapped-after-neighbour-repeatedly-played-nathan-carter-tune-34721985.html

They are forever playing that dirge in my local. Added to that one of the 2 landladies is a cousin of Big Tom. We are feckin scundered. If i hear 4 roads again i swear i will have a breakdown.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on May 17, 2016, 12:01:07 PM
Not everyone is a fan.

I read that story in another paper yesterday, from the headline I actually thought it was a Waterford Whispers story.  ;D

I really cant understand the popularity of the likes of Nathan Carter and that whole country scene.
Post by: JoG2 on May 17, 2016, 12:36:21 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on May 17, 2016, 12:01:07 PM
Not everyone is a fan.

I read that story in another paper yesterday, from the headline I actually thought it was a Waterford Whispers story.  ;D

I really cant understand the popularity of the likes of Nathan Carter and that whole country scene.

People, especially country folk love to jive. Until about 10 years ago, the rural dance scene was dying out, the art of taking your partner by the hand and swinging her around the dance floor was a skill on its last legs, performed mostly by the older generations. Since then, younger generations have latched on and its very popular again. Personally I cant put one foot in front of the other, but its good to see the skills being kept alive in the old dance halls up and down the country . I'd say there's a lot less bother at these events as dancing,  opposed to getting wrote off is the main priority of the night! More power to them says I . Wagon Wheel is an awful dirge in fairness, with Hit the Diff hot on its heals
Post by: Brick Tamlin on May 17, 2016, 01:07:19 PM
Ive said it before and il say it again.
Somebody for god's sake.

Resurrect the Mucksavage thread!!
Post by: general_lee on May 17, 2016, 03:02:00 PM
Tell you what I'd sooner go see Nathan Carter, Derek Ryan et al before I'd give my money to see drugged up pricks like harry styles and that talentless wee bitch Justin Bieber
Post by: balladmaker on May 18, 2016, 09:46:09 AM
Something not right about an Irish man or woman singing in a fake American accent ... just saying.
Post by: sensethetone on May 18, 2016, 10:23:02 AM
Quote from: balladmaker on May 18, 2016, 09:46:09 AM
Something not right about an Irish man or woman singing in a fake American accent ... just saying.

I would agree with that. Don't mind some traditional music folk songs etc.
Post by: Longshanks on May 18, 2016, 10:30:33 AM
Neither Derek Ryan or Nathan Carter would be my cup of tea but my parents have been to see both and thought they were great, play all their own instruments and their bands are great from what I hear.

They interact with the fans and stay behind after for photos and any anything people want signed, personally think they do no harm and make alot of people happy and are talented unlike some others who charge terrible the money and get on stage and sing and then get out of there asap.
Post by: ziggy90 on May 18, 2016, 01:29:43 PM
Quote from: maddog on May 17, 2016, 11:57:10 AM
Not everyone is a fan.

They are forever playing that dirge in my local. Added to that one of the 2 landladies is a cousin of Big Tom. We are feckin scundered. If i hear 4 roads again i swear i will have a breakdown.

You shouldn't be posting stuff like that on public forums Maddog. Guess what's going to happen next Sunday evening??
Post by: leenie on May 18, 2016, 02:22:33 PM
I have been known to part take in the country scene .. A few years back I couldn't imagine I would have but I have had some deadly nights and it's great for meeting people.. There is a few who sing popular culture songs as well as country, Johnny Brady was doing rock music before country and was unreal , but I suppose he moved into the country as there is money in it ..

If it's the jiving your after Buckley and mizzell are the ones
If it's the Craic it's, Johnny Brady Jim Devine and Derek Ryan

Nathan doesn't do venues like the tullyglass and riding-dale anymore

Did someone mention muck savage thread  ;D ;D :P ::)
Post by: seafoid on May 19, 2016, 07:52:28 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on May 18, 2016, 09:46:09 AM
or wearing a stetson
and then the names....
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 19, 2016, 08:02:50 PM
Heavy security presence in Armagh tonight for the Irish Country Music Awards.
Post by: BennyCake on May 19, 2016, 09:45:57 PM
Quote from: leenie on May 18, 2016, 02:22:33 PM
I have been known to part take in the country scene .. A few years back I couldn't imagine I would have but I have had some deadly nights and it's great for meeting people.. There is a few who sing popular culture songs as well as country, Johnny Brady was doing rock music before country and was unreal , but I suppose he moved into the country as there is money in it ..

Is the country scene filling the void left by modern nightclubs and lack of slow sets?
Post by: Syferus on May 19, 2016, 11:43:39 PM
Carter is supposedly a bit of a bollix behind the scenes. From the horse's mouth.
Post by: seafoid on May 20, 2016, 05:50:13 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 19, 2016, 09:45:57 PM

Is the country scene filling the void left by modern nightclubs and lack of slow sets?
It was always there doing its thang. Big Tom and Philomena Begley were singing in the drumlins 40 years ago. 
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on May 20, 2016, 08:58:20 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 19, 2016, 08:02:50 PM
Heavy security presence in Armagh tonight for the Irish Country Music Awards.

What is that needed for?

Over-exuberant fans??....disgruntled indie kids threats?....dissident threats?....ISIS threats?...Too many tractors coming into town??...Country lads liquered up?

/Jim.
Post by: MoChara on May 20, 2016, 09:25:15 AM
Wouldn't be a Fan of him in general but I like his version of Banks of the Roses
Post by: The Gs Man on May 20, 2016, 09:28:30 AM
The gobshite completely ruined one of my all time favourite songs (Wagon Wheel) and for that, I wish a plague of locusts on all his houses.
Post by: laoislad on May 20, 2016, 09:43:40 AM
The song he sang on the Late Late show a few weeks ago in tribute to the Hillsborough victims was very good imo.
I don't know much about him after that.
https://youtu.be/fFaa4bWlaIo
Post by: blewuporstuffed on May 20, 2016, 09:52:28 AM
Quote from: laoislad on May 20, 2016, 09:43:40 AM
The song he sang on the Late Late show a few weeks ago in tribute to the Hillsborough victims was very good imo.

Is this country music circuit more of a northern thing or is it the same all over ireland?
Post by: seafoid on May 20, 2016, 11:07:46 AM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on May 20, 2016, 09:52:28 AM
Quote from: laoislad on May 20, 2016, 09:43:40 AM

Is this country music circuit more of a northern thing or is it the same all over ireland?
Very strong in East Galway, Connemara Gaeltacht, Roscommon, north Tipp, Mayo, Donegal , Longford, Offaly afaik
The Mayo radio station must be at least 50% country music
http://www.midwestirishradio.com/radiomwir.htm
Post by: The Gs Man on May 20, 2016, 11:51:19 AM
It was a brilliant song, one which we used to cover in our sets when I played in that band that I used to torture the board about.

Here's the link to the original:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1gX1EP6mG-E

I can't listen to it now without picturing thon glipe arriving up in a campervan with a load of mucksavages playing a guitar that isn't plugged in.

Post by: Applesisapples on May 20, 2016, 12:01:57 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on May 20, 2016, 09:28:30 AM
The gobshite completely ruined one of my all time favourite songs (Wagon Wheel) and for that, I wish a plague of locusts on all his houses.
Post by: Applesisapples on May 20, 2016, 12:07:33 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 20, 2016, 11:28:20 AM
Ruined it or just made you realise it was shite in the first place?
Wagon Wheel song originally sketched by Bob Dylan. It was later modified by Ketch Secor of Old Crow Medicine Show and ruined by Nathan Carter.
Post by: leenie on May 20, 2016, 12:21:47 PM

I've never seen anyone curting on the dance floor .. Was out at a 'nite club' recently and it was stuffed with drunk ppl in there own groups or fellas following girls around like puppy's .. This doesn't happy on country nights .. Everyone mixes and there's no pushing and shoving

And it's not checked shirts and Stetson .. The girls are far more classy and well dressed and less drunk .. And if you are a fella who can dance your sorted .. I know a fella who has queues of women waiting to dance him .( which I do find amusing). You're actually doing something and you get to talk to the person ..in a nite club you just drink and look the curt
Post by: redzone on May 20, 2016, 12:34:28 PM
Quote from: leenie on May 20, 2016, 12:21:47 PM

I've never seen anyone curting on the dance floor .. Was out at a 'nite club' recently and it was stuffed with drunk ppl in there own groups or fellas following girls around like puppy's .. This doesn't happy on country nights .. Everyone mixes and there's no pushing and shoving

And it's not checked shirts and Stetson .. The girls are far more classy and well dressed and less drunk .. And if you are a fella who can dance your sorted .. I know a fella who has queues of women waiting to dance him .( which I do find amusing). You're actually doing something and you get to talk to the person ..in a nite club you just drink and look the curt

Most clubs you are guaranteed the ride, country nights no. Unless u are prepared to go for some old divorcee
Post by: general_lee on May 20, 2016, 12:38:16 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 19, 2016, 11:43:39 PM
Carter is supposedly a bit of a bollix behind the scenes. From the horse's mouth.
I've heard similar
Post by: general_lee on May 20, 2016, 12:46:19 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on May 20, 2016, 12:07:33 PM
Wagon Wheel song originally sketched by Bob Dylan. It was later modified by Ketch Secor of Old Crow Medicine Show and ruined by Nathan Carter.
How exactly did he ruin it? Is this a mild form of music snobbery/hipster mentality "i loved that song before it was popular and he came along and ruined it". Cos the original ocms version is feckin awful no harm to anyone. (Mumford and Sons do the best version)

Don't understand the hate for him tbh, he's got a good voice, can play a rake of instruments and has the good looks to go with it. He's not my favourite but he's certainly not the worst...
Post by: leenie on May 20, 2016, 12:55:10 PM
Quote from: general_lee on May 20, 2016, 12:38:16 PM
I've heard similar

His manager is a Bollox , but I've met carter thru a fundraising event and he came to our local for a pre launch and extremely friendly and when he preformed at our festival he brought all his family but the manager was t**ser, was kicking up a fuss cause there was few tussles in the car park.. And the following night Nathan came back as a customer .. But that was 3 yrs ago so he might not be the same
Post by: seafoid on May 20, 2016, 01:06:55 PM
I think there is a lot of prejudice against Country music. It's not as if chart music is much better ..
Post by: leenie on May 20, 2016, 01:12:22 PM

Most clubs you are guaranteed the ride, country nights no. Unless u are prepared to go for some old divorcee

On a separate note from Nathan .. Either I'm turning old or missed out but I'm suprised at the amount of girls taking randomers home to their home houses after a nite out .( my recent trip to a night club there was 11 single fellas went down and 4 came back .. The rest all going home with weemin )Back in the day u had to b at uni or living out of home .. I would have been killed if I'd took a stranger home ..
Post by: laoislad on May 20, 2016, 01:13:56 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 20, 2016, 01:06:55 PM
I think there is a lot of prejudice against Country music. It's not as if chart music is much better ..
It's all about individual taste surely?
Music snobs make me laugh. What a stupid f**king thing to get uptight about. ;D
Listen to what ever the fcuk you like and don't be minding what anyone else thinks.
There is a thread on here about house music that wouldn't listen to if you paid me but if someone else likes it good for them.
If I like a tune I don't care who it is actually singing it.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 20, 2016, 01:15:26 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 20, 2016, 01:13:56 PM
Listen to what ever the fcuk you like and don't be minding what anyone else thinks.
There is a thread on here about house music that wouldn't listen to if you paid me but if someone else likes it good for them.
What if Alex Ferguson or Rory McIlroy were singing it? Agree with your other points.
Post by: laoislad on May 20, 2016, 01:16:58 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 20, 2016, 01:15:26 PM
What if Alex Ferguson or Rory McIlroy were singing it? Agree with your other points.
I hear they do a great version of A Nation Once Again.
Post by: The Gs Man on May 20, 2016, 01:40:01 PM
Quote from: general_lee on May 20, 2016, 12:46:19 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on May 20, 2016, 12:07:33 PM
How exactly did he ruin it? Is this a mild form of music snobbery/hipster mentality "i loved that song before it was popular and he came along and ruined it". Cos the original ocms version is feckin awful no harm to anyone. (Mumford and Sons do the best version)

Don't understand the hate for him tbh, he's got a good voice, can play a rake of instruments and has the good looks to go with it. He's not my favourite but he's certainly not the worst...

Opinions are like arseholes general.  Everybody has one and most of them are full of shite.

He ruined it for me because I can't listen to the song again without picturing that video in my head.
No snobbery there at all.
Post by: maddog on May 20, 2016, 02:23:01 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on May 18, 2016, 01:29:43 PM
Quote from: maddog on May 17, 2016, 11:57:10 AM
Not everyone is a fan.

You shouldn't be posting stuff like that on public forums Maddog. Guess what's going to happen next Sunday evening??

The same as every other Sunday evening
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on May 20, 2016, 02:31:37 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 20, 2016, 11:07:46 AM
Very strong in East Galway, Connemara Gaeltacht, Roscommon, north Tipp, Mayo, Donegal , Longford, Offaly afaik

Hmmm that reads like a heat map of in-breeding in Ireland.

Maybe a link there...

/Jim.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on May 20, 2016, 02:32:04 PM
I hate the way that if you dont like something that's 'popular'  you are a music snob, yet people that only listen to mainstream stuff aren't snobs for not liking anything 'alternative'
Post by: general_lee on May 20, 2016, 02:38:07 PM
Quote from: leenie on May 20, 2016, 12:55:10 PM
I've heard similar

His manager is a Bollox , but I've met carter thru a fundraising event and he came to our local for a pre launch and extremely friendly and when he preformed at our festival he brought all his family but the manager was t**ser, was kicking up a fuss cause there was few tussles in the car park.. And the following night Nathan came back as a customer .. But that was 3 yrs ago so he might not be the same
I've heard Nathan was a shlippery enough customer when it comes to female fans, I know 2 girls claim to have shifted him and one says he felt her ass... All from Tyrone mind you so ya have to take what they say with a generous pinch of salt  ;)
Post by: Brick Tamlin on May 20, 2016, 02:50:42 PM
Quote from: general_lee on May 20, 2016, 02:38:07 PM
Quote from: leenie on May 20, 2016, 12:55:10 PM
I've heard similar

I've heard Nathan was a shlippery enough customer when it comes to female fans, I know 2 girls claim to have shifted him and one says he felt her ass... All from Tyrone mind you so ya have to take what they say with a generous pinch of salt  ;)

Theres a shock.
Post by: ziggysego on May 20, 2016, 10:06:22 PM
Quote from: leenie on May 20, 2016, 12:21:47 PM

I must get my dancing shoes on leenie,  who are these women?
Post by: From the Bunker on May 20, 2016, 10:15:02 PM
Hate this genre of Music. I suppose it has it's place.

Although these crowd are not bad

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zgvppD2ars8 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zgvppD2ars8)
Post by: seafoid on May 21, 2016, 01:34:10 AM
Quote from: leenie on May 20, 2016, 01:12:22 PM

On a separate note from Nathan .. Either I'm turning old or missed out but I'm suprised at the amount of girls taking randomers home to their home houses after a nite out .( my recent trip to a night club there was 11 single fellas went down and 4 came back .. The rest all going home with weemin )Back in the day u had to b at uni or living out of home .. I would have been killed if I'd took a stranger home ..
Back in the day the notion of taking a selfie of your genitals was unheard of
Post by: DickyRock on May 21, 2016, 09:27:56 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 20, 2016, 10:15:02 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zgvppD2ars8 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zgvppD2ars8)

Disturbing video though- all I could see was a stalker 😯
Post by: snoopdog on May 21, 2016, 01:15:12 PM
Quote from: DickyRock on May 21, 2016, 09:27:56 AM

Why do they all sound the same?
Post by: From the Bunker on May 21, 2016, 04:47:57 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on May 21, 2016, 01:15:12 PM
Quote from: DickyRock on May 21, 2016, 09:27:56 AM

Why do they all sound the same?
Because it's a winning formula!
Post by: balladmaker on November 03, 2016, 02:36:38 PM
Nathan's performance on last night's Nolan Show on the BBC wouldn't have me rushing out to book a ticket for his upcoming SSE Arena show, no doubt he'll pack it out all the same.
Post by: cynic on May 14, 2017, 12:00:17 PM
Carter is from Liverpool; and, yes, it's his real name.  He now lives in Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh.  Seems like a decent enough lad, on a personal basis.  But you don't pick your musicians on the basis of how nice they are as people.  My late Dad was a hardcore trad fiddle player in the unaccompanied Donegal style and his view of cheesy Irish country was that it was "simple stuff - music for people who don't understand music".

The wider issue with much Irish country is that it isn't country.  Daniel O'Donnell had a big row years ago with English country music charts when the country fans in England tried to stop him being listed on country charts on the basis that he was a boring dinner jacketed crooner, not a real country singer. 

The new wave of cheesy so-called country is even more misleading.  It has little to do with country, either in its ethos or its delivery.  Very revealing that when Carter was asked who his biggest musical influence was, he said Michael Bublé.  Michael f***ing Bubble!  No harm to mr Bubble, but he is to country what I am to quantum physics, i.e., nothing.  No mention of Johnny Cash or The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band or, god help us, not even Joe Dolan or Big Tom.  In reality, these new country pretty boys are just cleancut, cissified, boyband pop crooners cynically wearing big hats to market themselves to a new culchie market. 

Compare the choirboy Nathan and his inane warblings with the style of a real new US country singer such as, e.g., Chris Stapleton - this is what a country singer should look like: http://www.billboard.com/files/styles/article_main_image/public/media/01-Chris-Stapleton-bb4-grammy-2016-billboard-1250.jpg
Hi songs titles show what a different world he lives in compared to saint Nathan - you won't hear Carter recording songs with titles like "Tennessee Whiskey", "Might as well get stoned" or "Death Row".

When I was a kid at school in Omagh in the late 70s through early 80s, all the young people formed their own punk / new wave bands.  There were "battles of the bands" off the back of a lorry in O'Kane Park using amps borrowed from parents who had been in showbands in the 50s; doing Joy Division, Sex Pistols, Damned and Capt Beefheart covers.  Country music beyond the pale.  It wasn't even worth laughing at.  Nobody, but nobody, was into it.   Some lads from my year from back then:
http://www.spitrecords.co.uk/excellerators.htm
http://www.spitrecords.co.uk/theproblems.htm
http://www.irishrock.org/irodb/bands/crocodile-omagh.html

There are two reasons why modern kids don't do cutting edge music any more and why they're into all this Carter rubbish that kids in the 70s and 80s would have laughed at:

- the death of nightclubs - traditional line dancing I'm sure is good crack, and if it comes packaged with naff new country music. reality is, lots of kids don't really care one way or another, as long as they get a shift

- the death of pop music as a mark of social identity.  TOTP is dead.  Modern kids define themselves through social media, not by which bands you like. Music is just background noise / another thing for kids nowadays, it's no longer a vital part of their identity like it was for my generation. 

- the stranglehold on pop music by simon cowbells, Louis walsh and other assorted a**holes.  in my time, music still had the potential to be rebellious / counter-cultural.  now it's just a bunch of crawlers on TV, crying and sucking up to simon cowbells.  modern mainstream pop is so boring (Adele ffs) that even Carter's rubbish doesn't seem much worse.

And on the narrow point re wagon wheel, yes, obviously, Carter completely misunderstands and makes a hames of the song.  Guy can hold a melody, but there's more to singing than that.  He can't interpret a song.  He's like a song destroyer, where no matter what decent song goes into the nathanatron, it all comes out the other end as the same upbeat, grinning, inane sh1te.  God help us all : )
Post by: seafoid on May 14, 2017, 12:39:37 PM
Quote from: cynic on May 14, 2017, 12:00:17 PM
Carter is from Liverpool; and, yes, it's his real name.  He now lives in Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh.  Seems like a decent enough lad, on a personal basis.  But you don't pick your musicians on the basis of how nice they are as people.  My late Dad was a hardcore trad fiddle player in the unaccompanied Donegal style and his view of cheesy Irish country was that it was "simple stuff - music for people who don't understand music".

The wider issue with much Irish country is that it isn't country.  Daniel O'Donnell had a big row years ago with English country music charts when the country fans in England tried to stop him being listed on country charts on the basis that he was a boring dinner jacketed crooner, not a real country singer. 

The new wave of cheesy so-called country is even more misleading.  It has little to do with country, either in its ethos or its delivery.  Very revealing that when Carter was asked who his biggest musical influence was, he said Michael Bublé.  Michael f***ing Bubble!  No harm to mr Bubble, but he is to country what I am to quantum physics, i.e., nothing.  No mention of Johnny Cash or The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band or, god help us, not even Joe Dolan or Big Tom.  In reality, these new country pretty boys are just cleancut, cissified, boyband pop crooners cynically wearing big hats to market themselves to a new culchie market. 

Compare the choirboy Nathan and his inane warblings with the style of a real new US country singer such as, e.g., Chris Stapleton - this is what a country singer should look like: http://www.billboard.com/files/styles/article_main_image/public/media/01-Chris-Stapleton-bb4-grammy-2016-billboard-1250.jpg
Hi songs titles show what a different world he lives in compared to saint Nathan - you won't hear Carter recording songs with titles like "Tennessee Whiskey", "Might as well get stoned" or "Death Row".

When I was a kid at school in Omagh in the late 70s through early 80s, all the young people formed their own punk / new wave bands.  There were "battles of the bands" off the back of a lorry in O'Kane Park using amps borrowed from parents who had been in showbands in the 50s; doing Joy Division, Sex Pistols, Damned and Capt Beefheart covers.  Country music beyond the pale.  It wasn't even worth laughing at.  Nobody, but nobody, was into it.   Some lads from my year from back then:
http://www.spitrecords.co.uk/excellerators.htm
http://www.spitrecords.co.uk/theproblems.htm
http://www.irishrock.org/irodb/bands/crocodile-omagh.html

There are two reasons why modern kids don't do cutting edge music any more and why they're into all this Carter rubbish that kids in the 70s and 80s would have laughed at:

- the death of nightclubs - traditional line dancing I'm sure is good crack, and if it comes packaged with naff new country music. reality is, lots of kids don't really care one way or another, as long as they get a shift

- the death of pop music as a mark of social identity.  TOTP is dead.  Modern kids define themselves through social media, not by which bands you like. Music is just background noise / another thing for kids nowadays, it's no longer a vital part of their identity like it was for my generation. 

- the stranglehold on pop music by simon cowbells, Louis walsh and other assorted a**holes.  in my time, music still had the potential to be rebellious / counter-cultural.  now it's just a bunch of crawlers on TV, crying and sucking up to simon cowbells.  modern mainstream pop is so boring (Adele ffs) that even Carter's rubbish doesn't seem much worse.

And on the narrow point re wagon wheel, yes, obviously, Carter completely misunderstands and makes a hames of the song.  Guy can hold a melody, but there's more to singing than that.  He can't interpret a song.  He's like a song destroyer, where no matter what decent song goes into the nathanatron, it all comes out the other end as the same upbeat, grinning, inane sh1te.  God help us all : )

There was an American journalist called Mencken who wrote that nobody went broke underestimating the taste of the public.
If people like it, let them off. A lot of pop is crap as well. So is a lot of restaurant food, a lot of journalism etc.

What music does is mysterious. It's not always rational

http://rsvpmagazine.ie/nathan-carter-brings-joy-cancer-patient/