Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Hashtag on November 23, 2011, 09:53:08 AM

Title: What's your favourite Pizza topping?
Post by: Hashtag on November 23, 2011, 09:53:08 AM
Someone once told me the number one pizza topping in Australia is fried eggs. This has always stuck with me.

Personally I go for Chicken, Bacon and Onion.
Title: Re: What's your favourite Pizza topping?
Post by: gawa316 on November 23, 2011, 09:55:54 AM
Quote from: Hashtag on November 23, 2011, 09:53:08 AM
Someone once told me the number one pizza topping in Australia is fried eggs. This has always stuck with me.

Snap

Asda also do a mexican fajita chicken one that is loving.

Only started eating pizza in last year or so and it has to be ranch dressing on side
Post by: Hashtag on November 23, 2011, 09:58:35 AM
Quote from: gawa316 on November 23, 2011, 09:55:54 AM
Quote from: Hashtag on November 23, 2011, 09:53:08 AM

Snap

Asda also do a mexican fajita chicken one that is loving.

Only started eating pizza in last year or so and it has to be ranch dressing on side

Had the mexican fajita chicken pizza from ASDA (other stores available) at the weekend there.  :o Kindered spirits?

Why have you only started to eat pizza?

I strangely hate cheese- even the smell of it. But love pizza. Go Figures.
#aJoeyspecial-Twopizzas
Post by: Olly on November 23, 2011, 09:59:59 AM
I do this every Christmas:

Christmas Pizza Topping

You need to select the pizza base that you want to use... I go for the Traditional Irish Thin Crust Pizza Base which has been used for centuries here.

Ingredients
100ml gravy
200g turkey
200g roast potatoes
100g stuffing

Make the pizza dough. Knead for 45-60 minutes. This an seem a tough undertaking and that is why you should work out a shift before hand. My grandfather used to knead his blankets in bed for a month beforehand to build up his kneading muscles.

Pour the gravy over the pizza base. The gravy can be any flavour at all.
Slice the non-free ranged turkey. Do NOT go for free range. The taste of a distressed turkey brings out an edginess to the overall meal. Even thinking about it makes me concentrate more about what I'm putting in my mouth which I'd normally be carefree about. The Greek potatoes and Larne stuffing need to be sliced into thin strips and arranged over the pizza
Post by: Hashtag on November 23, 2011, 10:02:46 AM
Quote from: Olly on November 23, 2011, 09:59:59 AM

Christmas Pizza Topping

You need to select the pizza base that you want to use... I go for the Traditional Irish Thin Crust Pizza Base which has been used for centuries here.

Ingredients
100ml gravy
200g turkey
200g roast potatoes
100g stuffing

Make the pizza dough. Knead for 45-60 minutes. This an seem a tough undertaking and that is why you should work out a shift before hand. My grandfather used to knead his blankets in bed for a month beforehand to build up his kneading muscles.

Slice the non-free ranged turkey. Do NOT go for free range. The taste of a distressed turkey brings out an edginess to the overall meal. Even thinking about it makes me concentrate more about what I'm putting in my mouth which I'd normally be carefree about. The Greek potatoes and Larne stuffing need to be sliced into thin strips and arranged over the pizza

On Christmas night we always have turkey curry, our turkey only lasts us Christmas Eve (toasties) and Christmas day.
Post by: gawa316 on November 23, 2011, 10:39:28 AM
Quote from: Hashtag on November 23, 2011, 09:58:35 AM

Why have you only started to eat pizza?

I strangely hate cheese- even the smell of it. But love pizza. Go Figures.
#aJoeyspecial-Twopizzas

Was always a picky wee fecker growing up anyway but never really liked tomato based stuff and cheese, so just assumed I didn't really like pizza. I still wouldn't eat cheese unless it is melted like in a toastie ???! Plus the pizza's have to be thin and crispy and perferably with a mexican or bbq base
Post by: Don Johnson on November 23, 2011, 11:19:37 AM
Spicy chicken and pepperoni, together. Have had a kebab meat pizza before but depends what way they make it, if they put the meat on then some cheese to weld it down it is ok, if they put the meat on after then it is pointless, slides straight off.

No time for fruit or vegetable toppings.

Sometimes like to get a bit of puff pastry rolled out, some tomato puree, cheese and some ham or chicken or whatever we have in the house, fire in the oven for about 10-12 mins and you have your own, lovely.
Post by: Up The Middle on November 23, 2011, 11:42:16 AM
Quote from: Olly on November 23, 2011, 09:59:59 AM

Christmas Pizza Topping

Ingredients
100ml gravy
200g turkey
200g roast potatoes
100g stuffing

You sir are insane
Post by: armaghniac on November 23, 2011, 12:04:27 PM
Barbarians, all of you. The pizza makers of Napoli would erupt if they could see this thread.
Post by: screenexile on November 23, 2011, 12:38:59 PM
Yeah I'm a pepperoni man. Love the stuff!!

Favourite Pizza's:

New Yorker from Domino's

The Edge Meat Feast from Pizza Hut (They don't do it anymore hence me not having eaten there in 3 years!)

New Yorker from Pizza Man (The Local Pizza place, one in Maghera and one in Magherafelt... Very nice)

American from Pizza Express
Post by: Don Johnson on November 23, 2011, 01:52:13 PM
I think Pizza Hut has to be the most overrated of all the fast food places about. The prices for what you get aren't great. The only good thing it had was the buffet lunch thing where you could get value as long as you didn't fill yourself with crusts or fizzy drinks.

Dominos are ok but I would only buy if I had a voucher or something in the post because the normal prices are ridiculous. Their gourmet garlic bread is unbelievable though.

The best pizza places tend to be the local ones I think.
Post by: BennyCake on November 23, 2011, 01:56:38 PM
Could never understand why someone would put pineapple on a pizza. Pineapples are for fruit cocktails and the likes. They shouldn't be on anything hot. That's just sick.
Post by: Puckoon on November 23, 2011, 02:04:16 PM
Pepperoni, pineapple and jalapeƱos.

Interesting to hear that pizza hut and dominos are extortionate over there. They are in a huge price war here. 3 medium pizzas for 10$ etc.
Post by: The Iceman on November 23, 2011, 02:23:49 PM
Pizza Hot from Pizza D'Or in Monaghan - whatever is on it!!!!!!

I like spicy toppings so I might give that concoction a try Puck!
Post by: muppet on November 23, 2011, 02:48:04 PM
I am a passionate pepperoni man.

Olly, we knead to talk.
Post by: stew on November 23, 2011, 02:55:51 PM
Onions and plenty of them.
Post by: johnneycool on November 23, 2011, 03:46:42 PM
semi-related story on pizza's.

I was once on a business trip with a colleague and we went out that night to get some grub. He was a chip eater (from West Belfast) and pretty picky about what he'd eat. We agreed on a sit down pizza parlour where you could see the pizza's being made in the ovens. The girl arrived over to take our order and I ordered first, he then proceeded to order a marguerita, but with no tomatoe sauce. The girl noted this down and walked away, only to turn on her heals and came back to the table to see if she'd heard him correctly, he repeated the same, so slightly bemused off she went to the chef.
She showed the chef the docket and he and her had a bit of a conversation and pointing over at our table, so my colleague at the top of his voice out, 'no sauce mate, i hate tomatoes' across the whole place. At this point i said to him, 'fuckin hell, if you didn't like pizza, you should have said', he said he loved pizza's but just not ones with red sauce on them.

WTF

Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 23, 2011, 03:53:55 PM
Pepperoni, ham, bacon, pineapple, chorizo, chicken & peppers

Actually double pepperoni
Post by: ardal on November 23, 2011, 04:04:38 PM
4 quesos

mmmmmmmh

Maybe add a few thinly sliced mushrooms (wild), if I'm in the mood
Post by: Hardy on November 23, 2011, 04:48:11 PM
Why in the leppin feck would anyone (over 9) be interested in what someone else's favourite ANYTHING is? Never mind pizza topping? Never mind people you don't even know? What difference does it make? What does knowing what kind of pizza Muppet likes contribute to the enlightenment or amusement of the rest of us? Or vice versa? It's the kind of conversation you hear in Junior Infants.

I have friends who go on like this all the time. ALL the f'n TIME. Grown up, middle-aged people.

I love Chocolate Goldgrain. Do you like them?
- Ehh ... they're grand, I suppose.

You can't beat them with a cup of tea.
- Right.

Milky tea, of course. Do you take much milk in your tea?
- No. Just a spoonful (this just to avoid being monosyllabic).

No sugar, though. I can't stand sugar in my tea. Funnily enough, I take two spoons in coffee, though. That's strange, isn't it? I don't know why. Do you take sugar in your tea?
- Oh sorry. What?

Sugar?
- Yes, Honey?

Hahha! Hooooooooohaaaah! Oh Lord! Hooooooooooooooooooh! Yes Honey! But seriously. Back to sugar. How much sugar do you like?
- Can you pass me that fork?

Here.
- Now, hold still while I stab your eyeballs, one at a time.

Stop it. Please. Now.
Post by: Don Johnson on November 23, 2011, 05:00:32 PM
Hardy, what's your favourite cheese on a pizza?
Post by: Hardy on November 23, 2011, 05:08:19 PM
I give up. Tell me.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B3KBuQHHKx0

Post by: ONeill on November 23, 2011, 06:48:28 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 23, 2011, 04:48:11 PM
Why in the leppin feck would anyone (over 9) be interested in what someone else's favourite ANYTHING is? Never mind pizza topping? Never mind people you don't even know? What difference does it make? What does knowing what kind of pizza Muppet likes contribute to the enlightenment or amusement of the rest of us? Or vice versa? It's the kind of conversation you hear in Junior Infants.

I have friends who go on like this all the time. ALL the f'n TIME. Grown up, middle-aged people.

- Right.

No sugar, though. I can't stand sugar in my tea. Funnily enough, I take two spoons in coffee, though. That's strange, isn't it? I don't know why. Do you take sugar in your tea?
- Oh sorry. What?

Sugar?
- Yes, Honey?

Hahha! Hooooooooohaaaah! Oh Lord! Hooooooooooooooooooh! Yes Honey! But seriously. Back to sugar. How much sugar do you like?

Here.

Stop it. Please. Now.

Jaysus you're one miserable bastard.

Post by: Gold on November 23, 2011, 06:51:43 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on November 23, 2011, 01:56:38 PM
Could never understand why someone would put pineapple on a pizza. Pineapples are for fruit cocktails and the likes. They shouldn't be on anything hot. That's just sick.

Completly agree.

I'm either ham or pepperoni--simple but great--i like to taste the pizza rather than a myriad of toppings
Post by: muppet on November 23, 2011, 07:14:30 PM
Hardy I think you will like this on twitter:

http://twitter.com/#!/search/%23TodayImWearing (http://twitter.com/#!/search/%23TodayImWearing)

Everyone tells you what they are wearing.
Post by: Hardy on November 23, 2011, 07:37:39 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 23, 2011, 06:48:28 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 23, 2011, 04:48:11 PM

- Right.

- Oh sorry. What?

Sugar?
- Yes, Honey?

Here.

Stop it. Please. Now.

Jaysus you're one miserable b**tard.

If you're leading up to telling me how you like your eggs, forget it.
Post by: Tyrones own on November 23, 2011, 07:39:09 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 23, 2011, 07:14:30 PM

http://twitter.com/#!/search/%23TodayImWearing (http://twitter.com/#!/search/%23TodayImWearing)

As opposed to here with you lads telling me what I'm thinking :D
Post by: Hardy on November 23, 2011, 07:42:36 PM

That's it! Twitter is the logical outcome of all this wanting to tell other people things they don't care about. It's a great name too because it's just like a school of sparrows in a hedge - all twitter and shit.
Post by: leaveherinsir on November 23, 2011, 07:45:52 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 23, 2011, 07:42:36 PM

That's it! Twitter is the logical outcome of all this wanting to tell other people things they don't care about. It's a great name too because it's just like a school of sparrows in a hedge - all twitter and shit.
#leaveherinsir likes this  ;). P.s. liver, pineapple and banana!!
Post by: muppet on November 23, 2011, 07:47:10 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on November 23, 2011, 07:39:09 PM

You misunderstand.

We don't believe you do any thinking at all.  ;D
Post by: Tyrones own on November 23, 2011, 07:53:57 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 23, 2011, 07:47:10 PM

You misunderstand. Mis-underestimate ( you're slipping )

Just not for everyone else  :P
Post by: muppet on November 23, 2011, 07:55:47 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on November 23, 2011, 07:53:57 PM

Strangely enough I had tried to concoct a combination of that word and the word 'understand' but it looked too ridiculous, even for Dubya.
Post by: Tyrones own on November 23, 2011, 08:00:29 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 23, 2011, 07:55:47 PM

Strangely enough I had tried to concoct a combination of that word and the word 'understand' but it looked too ridiculous, even for Dubya.
You didn't think of it...admit it!
Post by: muppet on November 24, 2011, 02:29:26 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on November 23, 2011, 08:00:29 PM

Now look who's telling who what they are thinking.

Hypocrisy proved in just 5 lines.  ;D
Post by: Tyrones own on November 24, 2011, 03:51:16 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 24, 2011, 02:29:26 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on November 23, 2011, 08:00:29 PM

Now look whose telling who what they are thinking.

Hypocrisy proved in just 5 lines.  ;D

Well you did say you tried...its not like
you to fail  :-X
Fear must have been busy...its ok! 
Post by: muppet on November 24, 2011, 04:00:46 PM
"Fear must have been busy"?
Post by: ziggy90 on November 24, 2011, 06:55:36 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on November 23, 2011, 03:53:55 PM
Pepperoni, ham, bacon, pineapple, chorizo, chicken & peppers

Actually double pepperoni
Replace the pineapple with chilli and it'd be my favourite. Funnily enough I can't stand the smell of heated cheese.