GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Trevor Hill on July 05, 2009, 06:14:04 PM

Title: Down v Laois
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 05, 2009, 06:14:04 PM
Happy days.
Repeat of last years game at the same stage of the qualifiers. Could go either way, but you would hope for a win and build a wee bit of momentum.
Will Clancy be in the running for an oscar after this one?
Title: Re: Down v Laois
Post by: thewobbler on July 05, 2009, 06:20:36 PM
If able to fix a draw for Down, it wouldn't have been far off the first pick.

Unbelieveably, we could see August football against at this rate.

Post by: Trevor Hill on July 05, 2009, 06:28:14 PM
Just glad we avoided Kerry, anyone else is beatable on the day. The media will have Monaghan v Derry as the tie of the round, but I reckon it will be a repeat of last nights game when Monaghan OutArmaghed Armagh.
The Down v Laois game should be an open entertaining game of football, neither team can defend, but they know where the posts are.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 05, 2009, 07:18:58 PM
Clancy will het a hostile reception thats for sure...

So the match is definitely in Newry next Sat night then??

£8 into the match last night was very reasonable.

No reason why Down can't win this game and push on for the next week...

Any updates on Liam Doyle?
Post by: Mourne Rover on July 05, 2009, 07:52:58 PM
Venues and times are to be confirmed tomorrow. Down were out of the hat first because they came through the round one qualifiers. Laois were in a different bowl as a beaten provincial semi finalist. It could be a neutral ground, although Down obviously had to go to Portlaoise at the same stage last year.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 07:59:32 PM
This will be some borefest, two of the poorest teams left. 
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 05, 2009, 07:59:45 PM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on July 05, 2009, 07:52:58 PM
Venues and times are to be confirmed tomorrow. Down were out of the hat first because they came through the round one qualifiers. Laois were in a different bowl as a beaten provincial semi finalist. It could be a neutral ground, although Down obviously had to go to Portlaoise at the same stage last year.

Would have thought that all the games will be neutral or there'll be a toss for home advantage if both teams agree. Don't think last year's venue would come into it.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 05, 2009, 08:04:23 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 07:59:32 PM

You really are a c**k sometimes.

At least these teams are still in the draw, take your bitterness elsewhere.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 08:07:02 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 05, 2009, 08:04:23 PM

Dont be so touchy.
Title: Down v Laois
Post by: 5 Sams on July 05, 2009, 08:15:54 PM

Oh how the mighty have fallen.... :D

All youse boys have left to do now is to complain about the standard of teams left in a competition that you aren't good enough to be in anymore :D :D

I love it....

The fox has been running for a long time

Away and watch your one in a a row video....

Post by: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 08:18:36 PM
True, we're not as good as we were a couple of years ago but I'd still like to think we could beat the mighty London!

QuoteAway and watch your one in a a row video....
It's on DVD actually, how are Down's All Ireland's recorded? Black and white photographs?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 05, 2009, 08:19:27 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 05, 2009, 08:15:54 PM

All youse boys have left to do now is to complain about the standard of teams left in a competition that you aren't good enough to be in anymore :D :D

I love it....

Actually we have new DVD about our encounters with Down since the late 90s. Its entitled "A decade of dominance".  ;)

Think Down might take this one actually. Nothing to suggest Laois have improved since Down beat them last year.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 08:21:16 PM
QuoteThink Down might take this one actually. Nothing to suggest Laois have improved since Down beat them last year.

God I hope so, I'd love for them to hang on to Ross and DJ.  Whatever they're doing, it's fantastic.   :D

(I actually do think Down will win)
Post by: 5 Sams on July 05, 2009, 08:27:18 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 08:18:36 PM
True, we're not as good as we were a couple of years ago but I'd still like to think we could beat the mighty London!

It's on DVD actually, how are Down's All Ireland's recorded? Black and white photographs?

Watch the door doesnt hit you on the arse on the way out :D :D :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 08:28:30 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 05, 2009, 08:27:18 PM

No, we'll hold it open for you. 
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 05, 2009, 08:29:39 PM

Heres a couple if you want them Pints...

http://www.dvdsales.ie/shop/1994_all_ireland_football_final_down_v_dublin.417.1.10063.sports.html

http://www.dvdsales.ie/shop/1991_all_ireland_football_final_down_v_meath.417.1.10066.sports.html

I would put up the other ones but I have already surpassed Armaghs totals with TWO links.  :-\
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 05, 2009, 08:30:27 PM
Pints will still find something to complain about, he always does.
Post by: 5 Sams on July 05, 2009, 08:33:38 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 05, 2009, 08:28:30 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 05, 2009, 08:27:18 PM

No, we'll hold it open for you. 

Dont get me wrong POG we'll not be far behind yiz but theres no need to come here with your sanctimonious head on when yiz were shown up for the poor team that yiz are yesterday.
Post by: mournerambler on July 05, 2009, 09:52:46 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 05, 2009, 08:19:27 PM

I love it....

Actually we have new DVD about our encounters with Down since the late 90s. Its entitled "A decade of dominance".  ;)

Think Down might take this one actually. Nothing to suggest Laois have improved since Down beat them last year.

Any team or player with the ambition to dominate would hardly class winning provincial titles 'dominance', winning All-Ireland's is how success is & should be measured!
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 05, 2009, 10:47:59 PM
Poor old pog, he has to post on the Down thread, its a pity there are no new Armagh threads for him to post on. Never mind there is always next year. Or in Armaghs case, theres always the scor.
Post by: redandblack4ever on July 05, 2009, 10:57:54 PM
No, Armagh didn't get to the finals in Scor either...... ::) ::) ::)
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 05, 2009, 11:00:15 PM
Quote from: mournerambler on July 05, 2009, 09:52:46 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 05, 2009, 08:19:27 PM

I love it....

Actually we have new DVD about our encounters with Down since the late 90s. Its entitled "A decade of dominance".  ;)

Any team or player with the ambition to dominate would hardly class winning provincial titles 'dominance', winning All-Ireland's is how success is & should be measured!

Ach would ya friggin read what I said!
Post by: downgirl on July 05, 2009, 11:31:15 PM
Hey, don't be slagging scór  >:(
Post by: Hound on July 06, 2009, 08:02:06 AM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on July 05, 2009, 07:52:58 PM
No, Down were drawn as the home team (coincidentally 7 of the 8 R1 qualfiers got home draws). Unless the GAA decide to do a double bill somewhere, this game will be in Newry.
Post by: supersub on July 06, 2009, 09:00:52 AM
Just good to be in the draw and have a chance of progressing further this year - even if things do need shaken up at the end of the season. Not the worst draw in the world as mentioned but still you never know what sort of performance this down team will produce!! Hopefully we will be at home and the lads can take us closer to an AI q/f, which, even if we get beat, will be at least something salvaged from the season!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 06, 2009, 10:48:02 AM
Two bad teams,could go either way..
I don't think Down are any better than Laois but I don't think the Laois lads care to much anymore so on that basis I think Down will win but sometimes the Laois fellas actually play to their potential and if they do I think we will win...
The last time we were hammered in a Leinster semi final (2006) we came out the next day and beat Tyrone in the qualifiers...guess I'm saying you just never know with this Laois team...
Last years qualifier was actually a decent game and one I felt we left behind us after we came back from 9 points down at half time,MJ Teriney missed a wide open goal with the last kick of the game to win it for Laois...
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 06, 2009, 02:09:17 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 06, 2009, 10:48:02 AM
Two bad teams,could go either way..

Exactly, but at lesat both teams will go out to play football.
Post by: guevara on July 06, 2009, 02:29:09 PM
POG,

Seriously dont even bother going into this argument, its a no brainer!!
"How are Down's All Ireland's recorded"? On the base of the Cup!!!! 5 times Kiddo !
First team to bring it back over the border!
Now away & knock us up a few copies on your Jonesborough DVD Burner of 91 & 94!!
Godd Lad!!
Post by: Brick Tamlin on July 06, 2009, 02:39:07 PM
Ok to get back to the proper topic of the actual match and less of the Armagh-bashing (ignore them and they will fade into the background) :P

last saturday's match wasnt a great spectacle and Down stumbled over the finishing line but what did we really expect. I like to think that we would be putting in a better effort aganist better opposition. Whats likely to be the starting 15, will it be the same again or what?

also, did anyone else notice how prominent Paddy Tally has become in the Down setup, seems to me that Ross is being somewhat ignored or not listened to by the players (and rightly so some would say), wasnt Tally out on the field giving the team final talking, just seemed that he was very vocal with the players.
Post by: The Worker on July 06, 2009, 05:11:54 PM
I would think there would have to be changes made for the Laois game. I really think Mc Kernan is wasted at full back, would much prefere to see him at CHF. or full forward,  with Garvey moving back to no3.! Fitzpatrick must be close to starting at midfield along side Dan. Is Aiden Carr available now?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 06, 2009, 05:21:44 PM
Quote from: The Worker on July 06, 2009, 05:11:54 PM
I would think there would have to be changes made for the Laois game. I really think Mc Kernan is wasted at full back, would much prefere to see him at CHF. or full forward,  with Garvey moving back to no3.! Fitzpatrick must be close to starting at midfield along side Dan. Is Aiden Carr available now?

Yeah deffo available.

Agree KMcK is wasted at full back, far more effective up the field... Garvey did well on Sat night though from half back, especially in the first half..
Post by: Mid Down Gael on July 06, 2009, 05:41:40 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 06, 2009, 05:21:44 PM

Yeah deffo available.

And you can be sure he will start even though he was terrible in Enniskillen.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 06, 2009, 05:42:39 PM
Quote from: Mid Down Gael on July 06, 2009, 05:41:40 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 06, 2009, 05:21:44 PM

Yeah deffo available.

And you can be sure he will start even though he was terrible in Enniskillen.

:-\

He isn't even sure himself if he will start.
Post by: Mourne Rover on July 06, 2009, 11:19:28 PM
Ross may not be planning too many changes for the Laois game, but we could certainly be doing with a few. While it is a winnable match, a repeat of the London performance will be the end of our season.

McKernan, even before his injury, never looked comfortable at full back and a switch to CHF would make much more sense. Turley did reasonably well against Fermanagh and should be given another chance at no 3.

Hanna was unlucky to be the first player replaced against London, but he is really one for next year.This would allow Carr to return to wing half back, rather than the half forward role in which he struggled against Fermanagh.

Fitzpatrick joining Dan at midfield should be a no-brainer, and it would be great if Ambrose is fit enough to came into the half forward line. If he is still out, Sexton made a decent impact when he came on against London and should get another run.

McArdle, Maginn and Boyle looked lightweight against London, while Kearney was disappointing. Magee might be worth a gamble, as, while he is very raw, he is a ball-winner who can take scores from both play and frees and is also left-footed. Hughes could switch to a free role, with Benny and McComiskey up front.

This would leave us with McVeigh; McGovern, Turley, Rafferty; Carr, Murphy, Duffin; Dan and Fitzpatrick; Ambrose, McKernan, Magee; Hughes, McComiskey, Benny.

However, it is likely to be much closer to the team which started against London.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on July 07, 2009, 11:49:18 AM
the time for testing out players or taking a gamble on them has passed i think. Whilst young Magee might be decent enough i dont think its the time to be blooding him or anyone else. i thought we were sluggish against London and only played in flashes, never really had to move up a gear to win. Thought Mc Kernan was far too loose as a full back and should be let play ball in the forward line, move him to 11 asap. defence was ok but again when we are run at the foul count goes through the roof. Think Timmy Hanna is a year too early maybe, hasnt physique for it yet, maybe same for Maginn, although both definitley have athleticism and skills. Dan was fighting lone battle at midfield and Kearney isnt a midfielder, he is best at wing half forward. Ambrose wont be risked just yet, as he still isnt fit for more than a cameo.
I thought forward line was disappointing as an attacking unit, as individuals they were good in their own wee parts but as a unit playing together didnt think they clicked (maybe apart from the goal which was a decent move). in truth Benny & Danny Hughes should have been racking up a big personal tally against London, disappointing that they didnt. Benny Mc Ardle gave a few loose passes and was sloppy once or twice but wasnt too prominent overall. Thought Boyle was decent enough and took scores well, distributed well and didnt do alot wrong, but definitley not a corner forward. Cumiskey was similar to Benny & Danny.

id expect a big improvement against better opposition this week, especially from the more established players.

Ross will go with a very similar team id say.

1 Brendy Mc Veigh
2 Ciaran Mc Govern
3 Pete Turley
4 Dee Rafferty
5 Conor Garvey
6 Paul Murphy
7 Aidan Carr

8 Dan Gordon
9 Stephen Kearney

10 Danny Hughes
11 Kevin Mc Kernan
12 Ronan Sexton/Ronan Murtagh
13 Paul Mc Comiskey
14 Benny Coulter
15 John Boyle
Post by: bcarrier on July 07, 2009, 12:18:46 PM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on July 06, 2009, 11:19:28 PM

This would leave us with McVeigh; McGovern, Turley, Rafferty; Carr, Murphy, Duffin; Dan and Fitzpatrick; Ambrose, McKernan, Magee; Hughes, McComiskey, Benny.

I like that team Mourne Rover. Dodgy enough full back line but nothing new there . Plenty of ball winners around middle.
Post by: western exile on July 07, 2009, 04:10:54 PM
Did anyone read the article on Laois in the Sunday Tribune by Ewan MacKenna?   If ever a press article should psyche up a team, this one will !!
(it was published on Sunday before they knew they would be playing against Down)

Laois kids' futures all in the past
They never built on their massive underage success and now there are too many egos and not enough honest effort to haul them to the top

Whitewash: Laois's 15-point defeat against Kildare in the Leinster SFC semi-final was one in a series of heavy losses they have suffered this year

Back in 2005, as Laois made their way to Croke Park for an All Ireland quarter-final against Armagh, the first enemy outpost they reached was Athy. There was no hiding the fact either. The south Kildare town was draped with election-style posters, each one reading "Ulster Says No To The Queen's County". They were the work of one local man who'd spent dawn on a rickety stepladder but they encapsulated the sentiments of many in Kildare. There was a jealousy and bitterness that came from not just how well their rivals were doing, but how successful they could be.

Just four years on and Laois should be in a stronger position still, yet all that's left is the wreckage from last Saturday's Leinster semi-final against Kildare and there is very little to salvage from that. As good as their one provincial title and handful of years challenging as a top-eight team were, this is an underage superpower now acting like an irritating rogue state. Since 1996 they have won three All Ireland minor titles. That's more than Dublin, Galway, Mayo, Cork, Kerry and Armagh combined and only Tyrone have achieved more. They've won six Leinster minor titles in that same period too and have won three provincial under-21 titles since 1998.

Yet 40 minutes into last Saturday's clash with Kildare, Laois fans were deserting O'Connor Park and with all that has gone on, the side are in danger of being known as the Queens' County.

It's not a new phenomenon either. In fact it's the fourth time Laois have been embarrassed this year. Bernard Flynn may have talked about the ferocity of a training session he witnessed in the build-up to the game but that masked a side packed with too many egos and that had already been blitzed by Kildare, Monaghan and Cork in the league by an average of 12 points.

The problem is rooted in the past and it's developed into a culture of arrogance that's gone on too long to change. Mick O'Dwyer recently said of the side in this confession box, "He [Fergal Byron] was speaking from his heart because he gave me a wonderful commitment while I was there. Others couldn't say that. There was marvellous material in Laois but they were never as willing to give the same commitment as I got in Kildare. They didn't have the commitment or the same drive." But others there during O'Dwyer's four-year stint put that down as an understatement.

"Micko didn't care after a while because there was nothing he could do about what was going on," says a source familiar with what went on at the time. "But in Kildare guys would run up mountains for that man just because he said so. In Laois they needed explanations. Now that wasn't all of them but there were boys there who would fake injury during laps just to get out of them. All the talent in the world and most of it wasted in that place."

During O'Dwyer's final year, the most successful manager of them all was questioned by a side with just a single provincial title to their name. They ridiculed his methods, demanded change and modernisation and got the beating of a lifetime against Dublin. They didn't learn from that either though because O'Dwyer was far from the only manager to suffer at their hands. When Liam Kearns came to the county in 2007, it was to move forward a career that had seen him take Limerick to the brink of a Munster title. But there was a stage when he couldn't even find a player able to captain Laois. Ross Munnelly was said to be too selfish on the ball, Joe Higgins and Tom Kelly didn't show up for the league and after that there was a void when it came to finding a leader.

And Kearns faced far more startling problems than finding a recipient for an armband. Two players in the side had tried to move towards professionalism, refusing to play for Laois until they were sponsored to do so. What had once been ripe and vibrant was rotten to the core. A member of the Laois set-up at the time who wishes to remain nameless takes it further.

"They were put on a pedestal in Laois after winning those minor titles. If you go in to a pub there are pictures on the wall, there's someone there to buy them a pint and remind them of when they won underage All Irelands. You get that respect for winning senior titles in other counties. And they are making the same mistakes. Before it was Beano and Munnelly, now it's Donie Kingston and Tierney who are elevated too high. Some young guys go into the dressing room and think they rule it. The older guys never put them in their place. No leadership. It's gone too far in Laois and there's no going back. Mentally it's frightening just how weak they are."

Even current manager Seán Dempsey has experienced it and he's only in his first year. A former under-21 manager who dropped Donie Brennan before a 2006 All Ireland semi-final, he was forced to do it again this season officially for alcohol-related breaches of discipline but unofficially for a lack of effort in training. Yet within days, Brennan's club manager Nicky McGrath wrote to a local paper. "If this is correct then I would suggest that at least 50 per cent of the panel should have been dropped," he said.

It's not a coincidence that the only times Laois managed to act as a normal group of footballers were in '03 and '05, the year they captured Leinster and the year they peaked. Since then things have been out of control.

Late last year the players were all given gym membership, as was the case in Kildare, but last Saturday it was clear which group had been pushing themselves to the limit eight months ago. On top of that, three nights training each week doesn't cover for three nights socialising in the same week and while such accusations are aimed at limited numbers on the panel, last Saturday also showed that you can't cover for a colleague at the highest level.

In truth Dempsey neither commanded nor demanded respect from this side but if they weren't willing to respect O'Dwyer, then who will they respect? And when Dempsey realises he'd be better off doing pretty much anything else, who will want to take over such a group? After all, you can't force heart and dedication on a team and it appears they aren't going to force it upon themselves.

Not until Friday did the panel get back into training after their mauling six days previous. In the intervening period many had seen their pictures on the walls and glimpsed back at better days. They might have realised then that their future is buried deeply in the past.

July 5, 2009

Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 07, 2009, 04:31:23 PM
Heard it all before,most of it true...
Will it psyche up the Laois players? Not a chance they don't give a f**k as far as I can see
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 07, 2009, 04:32:44 PM
Oh yeah meant to ask,can someone give me directions to the pitch in Newry,I'll be coming from Dublin
Thanks
Post by: D4S on July 07, 2009, 04:58:37 PM
Fairly straightforward...

-Follow M1 North until you come to the very end of it at Newry.

- When you come off the motorway at the roundabout take the last exit under the bridge heading down into Newry town centre. 

-Drive straight ahead down the hill for around a mile and drive straight on past the Quays shopping centre+buttercrane shopping centre until you come to the 2nd set of lights.

-Turn right signposted WARRENPOINT. Can't miss the ground just as you're heading out of Newry towards Warrenpoint.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 07, 2009, 05:00:42 PM
Quote from: D4S on July 07, 2009, 04:58:37 PM

- When you come off the motorway at the roundabout take the last exit under the bridge heading down into Newry town centre. 

-Drive straight ahead down the hill for around a mile and drive straight on past the Quays shopping centre+buttercrane shopping centre until you come to the 2nd set of lights.

-Turn right signposted WARRENPOINT. Can't miss the ground just as you're heading out of Newry towards Warrenpoint.

Cheers,whats parking like?
Post by: lob her in lad on July 07, 2009, 05:22:20 PM
Was at this fixture last year and it was a dire game. Only went up to it because we were on the beer since opening that morning and thought it would be a good idea to take a walk up to it. Just goes to show you should never make decisions under the influence.

This year Laois by 4.
Post by: 5 Sams on July 07, 2009, 05:25:23 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 07, 2009, 05:00:42 PM

Plenty all along the road from the town centre to the ground....if Down's support is anything like last Saturday you be able to park behind the goals :-\
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 07, 2009, 05:26:51 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 07, 2009, 05:25:23 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 07, 2009, 05:00:42 PM

Plenty all along the road from the town centre to the ground....if Down's support is anything like last Saturday you be able to park behind the goals :-\

Well I reckon I'll be the only one with a LS car reg at it too...
It might be just yourself and meself so...Keep us a seat will ya  :D
Post by: bcarrier on July 08, 2009, 11:19:59 AM
The problem is rooted in the past and it's developed into a culture of arrogance that's gone on too long to change. Mick O'Dwyer recently said of the side in this confession box, "He [Fergal Byron] was speaking from his heart because he gave me a wonderful commitment while I was there. Others couldn't say that. There was marvellous material in Laois but they were never as willing to give the same commitment as I got in Kildare. They didn't have the commitment or the same drive." But others there during O'Dwyer's four-year stint put that down as an understatement.

"Micko didn't care after a while because there was nothing he could do about what was going on," says a source familiar with what went on at the time. "But in Kildare guys would run up mountains for that man just because he said so. In Laois they needed explanations. Now that wasn't all of them but there were boys there who would fake injury during laps just to get out of them. All the talent in the world and most of it wasted in that place."

During O'Dwyer's final year, the most successful manager of them all was questioned by a side with just a single provincial title to their name. They ridiculed his methods, demanded change and modernisation and got the beating of a lifetime against Dublin. They didn't learn from that either though because O'Dwyer was far from the only manager to suffer at their hands. When Liam Kearns came to the county in 2007, it was to move forward a career that had seen him take Limerick to the brink of a Munster title. But there was a stage when he couldn't even find a player able to captain Laois. Ross Munnelly was said to be too selfish on the ball, Joe Higgins and Tom Kelly didn't show up for the league and after that there was a void when it came to finding a leader.

And Kearns faced far more startling problems than finding a recipient for an armband. Two players in the side had tried to move towards professionalism, refusing to play for Laois until they were sponsored to do so. What had once been ripe and vibrant was rotten to the core. A member of the Laois set-up at the time who wishes to remain nameless takes it further.

"They were put on a pedestal in Laois after winning those minor titles. If you go in to a pub there are pictures on the wall, there's someone there to buy them a pint and remind them of when they won underage All Irelands. You get that respect for winning senior titles in other counties. And they are making the same mistakes. Before it was Beano and Munnelly, now it's Donie Kingston and Tierney who are elevated too high. Some young guys go into the dressing room and think they rule it. The older guys never put them in their place. No leadership. It's gone too far in Laois and there's no going back. Mentally it's frightening just how weak they are."

How much of this also applies to Down set up ? Blaming the manager is easy way out.
Post by: behind the wire on July 08, 2009, 11:49:31 AM
where was that article from?

not sure how much it applies to the down set up because they do have a few on field leaders. some interesting points regaring the young players though, it is something which liam doyle has spoke of in the past i think (re attitudes after underage success).
Post by: lob her in lad on July 08, 2009, 11:51:10 AM
Quote from: bcarrier on July 08, 2009, 11:19:59 AM

I think this post sums up Laois football over the past ten years or so. Gone are the days of pride in playing for the blue and white and now it's done for what they can get out of it. It is not all of the players though just a small core that poison the atmosphere for the rest. I know a good few of the county panelists who are dedicated to the cause and would put the county ahead of all others but again it is the selfish spoilt element that wrecks it.
We as a county are to blame however. I remember when we won our first minor AI in the 90's. The county went wild and all these so called stars let it go to their heads and we let them and now we are sadly reaping the rewards of it.
Post by: western exile on July 08, 2009, 12:48:00 PM
Quote from: behind the wire on July 08, 2009, 11:49:31 AM
where was that article from?

Sunday Tribune
http://www.tribune.ie/sport/gaelic-football/article/2009/jul/05/laois-kids-futures-all-in-the-past/ (http://www.tribune.ie/sport/gaelic-football/article/2009/jul/05/laois-kids-futures-all-in-the-past/)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 08, 2009, 03:21:47 PM
Laois Senior Football Team v Down

Dempsey makes five changes

Laois Manager Sean Dempsey has taken a surgical blade to his side for Saturday's must win clash with Down in Newry.
In come team captain Aidan Fennelly, Niall Donoher, Craig Rogers, Colm Coss and Peter O'Leary.
Out go Darren Rooney, Ger Reddin, Brian McCormack, Billy Sheehan and Donal Kingston.

The team in full is:
Michael Nolan; Cathal Ryan, Mark Timmons, Rory Stapleton; Aidan Fennelly, John O'Loughlin, Niall Donoher; Padraig Clancy, Kevin Meaney; Brendan Quigley, Craig Rogers, Ross Munnelly; Michael J Tierney, Colm Coss, Peter O'Leary.

Delighted to see Fennelly back,but am surprised at Kingston being dropped,especially after the game he had against Down last year...
Good sub to bring on though
Post by: western exile on July 08, 2009, 04:38:48 PM
Mountmellick clubman Colm Coss has been named at full-forward in the Laois team to take on Down in Saturday's All-Ireland SFC second-round qualifier in Newry (throw-in 7.30pm).

Coss will make his Championship debut for the O'Moore men as they look to avenge last year's 2-14 to 1-15 qualifier defeat to the same opponents.

Back then, Donie Kingston helped himself to 1-5 but it was not enough to prevent Laois from bowing out of the Championship.

For this weekend's clash, Kingston has been dropped to the bench as Coss comes in for him.

In all, Laois manager Sean Dempsey has made five changes to the side he put out for the Leinster semi-final loss to Kildare.

There are two other new inclusions in the midlanders' attack, with Peter O'Leary and Craig Rogers replacing Billy Sheehan and Brian 'Bruno' McCormack.

Aidan Fennelly has been drafted in for Darren Rooney in the half-back line, where Niall Donoher has also replaced Ger Reddin.

LAOIS (SFC v Down): M Nolan; C Ryan, M Timmons, R Stapleton; A Fennelly, J O'Loughlin, N Donoher; P Clancy, K Meaney; B Quigley, C Rogers, R Munnelly; MJ Tierney, C Coss, P O'Leary.

http://breakingnews.ie/sport/coss-to-debut-for-laois-against-down-417898.html#ixzz0KgNwEcP2&D (http://breakingnews.ie/sport/coss-to-debut-for-laois-against-down-417898.html#ixzz0KgNwEcP2&D)
Post by: western exile on July 08, 2009, 05:02:28 PM
Belfast Telegraph
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/gaa/canny-carr-has-sights-on-bigger-picture-at-down-14387637.html  (http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/gaa/canny-carr-has-sights-on-bigger-picture-at-down-14387637.html) 

Canny Carr has sights on bigger picture at Down
Tuesday, 7 July 2009

Down manager Ross Carr is hoping that recent history will repeat itself when his side confront Laois in the second round of the All Ireland football qualifiers at Pairc Esler, Newry on Saturday (7pm).

When the sides met in the same competition last year, Down turned in a stunning first-half performance to lay the basis for an unexpected victory before going on to lose — equally unexpectedly — to Wexford.

Yet it is a measure of the transformation which the Down side has undergone in the interim that only five players who started in last Saturday's victory over London — Paul Murphy, Dan Gordon, Kevin McKernan, Daniel Hughes and Brendan Coulter — were on duty in last year's win over Laois.

It was earlier this year that Carr decided to show faith with a posse of new faces and although promotion to Division Two of the National League was achieved, defeat in the divisional final against Tipperary followed by a first round Ulster Championship loss to Fermanagh clearly impacted on morale.

If last weekend's win over London generated only a muted response, that's because the standard of the opposition was such that Down discovered little fresh about themselves.

They will certainly have their credentials examined much more closely by a Laois side who, even though they lost to Kildare in the Leinster semi-final, will still bring a considerable ration of experience and skill to the table, notably in attack where M J Tierney and Donie Kingston in particular could unhinge the Mourne rearguard.

Ambrose Rodgers, Aidan Carr and Colm Murney are expected to

be in the frame for places in the Down line-up while Under 21 ace Timmy Hanna may have to make way in the half-back line.

Manager Carr, who acknowledged prior to the London game that his team were in a no-win situation, is aware that victory over Laois would instil a greater level of buoyancy within the county.

"What happened last year counts for nothing," said Carr.

"Maybe we are lucky to be playing at home again for the second week in a row but Laois will be very difficult."

Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 08, 2009, 05:05:20 PM
Down 4/6
Laois 6/4
Draw 15/2

Post by: supersub on July 09, 2009, 08:58:26 AM
Some amount of 'articles' written regarding these two teams!
Post by: lob her in lad on July 09, 2009, 10:40:18 AM
Think i'll put a fiver on Laois. Will there be many lads travelling up to the game. A lot of my mates I have been talking to will be taking the trip to Oxygen instead. Shame really because Laois could do with some support over the border.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 09, 2009, 11:18:01 AM
4/6    Down   15/2   Laois           6/4   
3/1    Down -5   12/1   Laois +5   2/7   
23/10 Down -4   10/1   Laois +4   2/5   
7/4    Down -3   9/1   Laois +3   8/15
5/4    Down -2   17/2   Laois +2   4/5   
4/9    Down +1   17/2   Laois -1   9/4   
1/4    Down +2   11/1   Laois -2   10/3   
1/6    Down +3    13/1   Laois -3   9/2   
1/10    Down +4   17/1   Laois -4   6/1   
10/11 Down -1   8/1   Laois +1   11/10   
Post by: swagger on July 09, 2009, 06:11:52 PM
weather gives to be torrential downpours all day saturday, i dont remember the last time a down tema won a championship match in the rain!
Post by: charlie stubbs on July 09, 2009, 07:35:37 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 05, 2009, 08:04:23 PM

though i dont think either team is great, think has the makings of a really good game
Post by: Mourne Rover on July 09, 2009, 07:49:01 PM
Down's poor record in the rain has been frequently discussed on this site. I think there is general agreement that we have not won a championship game on a really wet day since the USC preliminary round against Donegal in Clones way back 1996. The  forecast indicates that our next opportunity to challenge the perception that we are a fair-weather team will come on Saturday.
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 09, 2009, 10:57:30 PM
Ambrose Rogers is back in the Down team for Saturdays All-Ireland Football second round qualifier against Laois at Newry (1930 BST).

Rogers takes over from Warrenpoints John Boyle in the only change from last weekends victory over London.

Right half-forward Rogers is back in the Mourne starting line-up after suffering a ruptured spleen in last summers defeat by Wexford.  Ambrose come in last weekend in the last few minutes of the game.

Laois make five changes from their Leinster SFC hammering by Kildare.

Colm Coss will make his championship debut while Aidan Fennelly, Craig Rogers, Michael John Tierney and Peter OLeary are also included.

Donie Kingston, Darren Rooney, captain Brian McCormack, Ger Reddin and Billy Sheehan drop out of the starting line-up.

Coss, a member of this years Laois under 21 side, was only added to the senior squad after the NFL campaign.

However, Coss now spearheads a new-look full-forward line which also features Tierney and OLeary.

Coss retains his place after replacing fellow under-21 Donie Kingston during the second half of the Kildare game.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Down: Brendan McVeigh, Ciaran McGovern, Kevin McKernan, Damian Rafferty, Timmy Hanna, Paul Murphy, Conor Garvey, Dan Gordon, Stephen Kearney, Ambrose Rogers, Conor Maginn, Brendan McArdle, Brendan Coulter, Paul McCumiskey, Daniel Hughes

Laois: M Nolan; C Ryan, M Timmons, R Stapleton; A Fennelly, J OLoughlin, N Donoher; P Clancy, K Meaney; B Quigley, C Rogers, R Munnelly; MJ Tierney, C Coss, P OLeary.
Post by: Mourne Rover on July 09, 2009, 11:11:56 PM
It's great to see Ambrose back, but there must be the usual suspicions of late chances to the line-up. McKernan is a fine player but he is not really a full back and he may be injured anyway. It will be something of a surprise if Carr does not return to the half back line, and Kearney did very little last week to justify his retention at midfield. Boyle was not great against London but he made more impact than either Maginn or McArdle. There must be a fair chance that Fitzpatrick will be in from the start, and if he and Dan can strike it off anything is possible. We have a reasonable record under the lights in Newry, but our last three competitive performances this summer have been sub-standard. While Laois's form is also very ordinary, they at least managed to survive in division two when Fermanagh, who saw us off in the USC, went down. It could be very tight.
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 09, 2009, 11:16:00 PM
Reckon it will be very close myself, the draw looks a good bet at 15/2.
I thought Aidan Carr would have been named in the starting team. I`d like to see a change at full back, with McKernan playing further out the field if he is fit. Good to see Ambi back.
Post by: Pangurban on July 10, 2009, 03:38:53 AM
Clearly Ross still does know what his best line out is and after two years in charge still feels the need to experiment. If this team takes the field on Saturday, i will be amazed and more than a little pessimistic.  We should win this one, we have the players to win it, but dont underrate the capacity of our management to screw it up, with some crazy defensive strategy that will allow Laios to come unto us . We need to go out attack minded and blow them away early
Post by: downredblack on July 10, 2009, 06:44:21 AM
Who's taking the free's / 45's ? Close in we have Hughes / McComiskey but anything out the field a bit and we are in unknown territory .Hanna is definitely one for the future but a bit light at the moment , Adian Carr has more to offer and I think will start . Mourne Rover mentioned that FizPatrick might have a fair chance of starting and I would hope that he does but what would  Ross's thinking be to name Kearney (no harm to him but unknown outside of Down) and then to start FitzPatrick (an u21 , more or less untried at senior) ? What would be gained by this ?
Can't see McKernan suddenly being moved up the field now , Ross has made his mind up on him rightly or wrongly and I can't see him playing anywhere other than full back .
If Ambrose is to start this week , why did he only get 5mins against London ? Surely the London game was ideal for him to get some game time and to at least break a sweat . Anyway great to have him back and best of luck to him .

I would expect Down to win this but it will take a major improvement on what we have seen so far , on the field and on the line .

Up Down .
Post by: bcarrier on July 10, 2009, 09:19:51 AM
Another fine for Down .
Post by: southdown on July 10, 2009, 10:59:47 AM
Is the game on TV?  Im in England at the minute, anyone have any web liks that might show the game?

Delighted to see Ambrose back on the starting 15.
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 10, 2009, 11:06:50 PM
The game isn't on TV, but you should get some commentary on Five FM.
This could be a tight game, but I think Down might just do enough to beat Laois, even if the weather forecast is correct. This team have something to prove and the time to prove it is tomorrow night. They are not going to win an All Ireland, but we all know they are better than they have shown over the past few months.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 10, 2009, 11:21:35 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on December 14, 1973, 02:12:41 PM
This could be a tight game, but I think Down might just do enough to beat Laois, even if the weather forecast is correct. This team have something to prove and the time to prove it is tomorrow night. They are not going to win an All Ireland, but we all know they are better than they have shown over the past few months.

Do ya know what,I feel exactly the same way about Laois and their chances..
Post by: ONeill on July 10, 2009, 11:30:55 PM
I think Down can edge this in Newry. There's great potential in that full forward line, surely some day they'll deliver on that.

A contender for extra time.
Post by: In the Onion Bag on July 10, 2009, 11:32:58 PM
I too am pleased to see Ambrose back, I hope he is fully fit.  
However, despite my hopes,  my instinct is that Laois are a stage beyond the current Down set up.   I hope I am wrong

Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 10, 2009, 11:39:59 PM
Quote from: In the Onion Bag on July 10, 2009, 11:32:58 PM
However, despite my hopes,  my instinct is that Laois are a stage beyond the current Down set up.   I hope I am wrong

I don't agree with you,but I hope you are right....
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 10, 2009, 11:55:16 PM
Does anyone have the team sheets from last years game?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 11, 2009, 12:07:19 AM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on July 10, 2009, 11:55:16 PM
Does anyone have the team sheets from last years game?

Down team v Laois 2008

1. Brendan McVeigh (An Ríocht),
2. Luke Howard (Ath Bhriain),
3. Martin Cole (Caisleán Ruairi),
4. Kevin mc guigan (Seamrogai An Iuir),
5. Aidan Carr (Cluain Daimh),
6. Colm murney (caislean ruairi)
7. Paul Murphy (Baile Cholmain),
8. Dan Gordon (Captain) (Loch An Oilean),
9. Ambrose Rodgers (An Cloch Fhada),
10. Kevin McKernan (Boireann),
11. Brendan Coulter (Droichead Mhaigh Eo),
12. Danny Hughes (Sabhall),
13. John Clarke (An Ríocht),
14. Ronan Murtagh (Baile Cholmain),
15. John Fegan (Cluain Daimh)

Laois team v Down 2008

1. Michael Nolan (Portlaoise)
2. Cahir Healy (Portlaoise)
3. Darren Rooney (Clonaslee St Manman's)
4. Joe Higgins (St Joseph's)
5. Peter O'Leary (O'Dempsey's)
6. Tom Kelly (St Joseph's)
7. Padraig McMahon (Ballyroan Abbey)
8. Padraig Clancy (Timahoe)
9. Brendan Quigley (Timahoe)
10. Barry Brennan (Graiguecullen)
11. Brian McCormack (Portlaoise)
12. Billy Sheehan (Emo)
13. Colm Parkinson (Portlaoise)
14. Colm Kelly (St Joseph's)
15. Donal Kingston (Barrowhouse)
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 11, 2009, 12:12:08 AM
Last years Down team was much stronger than the current team.

Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 11, 2009, 12:12:54 AM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on July 11, 2009, 12:12:08 AM
Last years Down team was much stronger than the current team.

Was thinking the same thing about Leix
Post by: ardmhachaabu on July 11, 2009, 12:26:59 AM
Quote from: In the Onion Bag on July 10, 2009, 11:32:58 PM

I hope you are wrong too

I cheered in 91 and 94 for Down.  I would love to see them beat the Queens County
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 11, 2009, 01:11:07 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 11, 2009, 12:32:45 AM
The President v The Queen.

The Queen to win by 5.

The Queens County v a team from the Queens Kingdom...

We should nearly have invited her over to the game
Post by: D4S on July 11, 2009, 03:40:08 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 11, 2009, 01:11:07 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 11, 2009, 12:32:45 AM
The President v The Queen.

The Queen to win by 5.

The Queens County v a team from the Queens Kingdom...

We should nearly have invited her over to the game

That's disgusting chat less of that craic!!! ::)

Anyone going they may wear their waterproofs im in newry and it's rainin and it's very dark with heavy rain forecast all evening!
Think we will just shade it Down 1-10 Laois 1-8.....I'll be in the stand!!!!!!!!
Post by: supersub on July 11, 2009, 05:34:44 PM
7.30 throw in tonight yeh?
Post by: Shortso79 on July 11, 2009, 06:44:28 PM
Yes - 7.30pm - leaving for the match soon - its lashing in Newry lashing
Post by: downman on July 11, 2009, 06:53:38 PM
will there be commentary on 5fm?
Post by: Superstar on July 11, 2009, 07:11:52 PM
I tried 5fm online there, its music live from Dormans in magherafelt apparently
Post by: bcarrier on July 11, 2009, 07:35:10 PM
2nd half probably on rte radio 1 . Marty Morrisey.
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 11, 2009, 09:45:59 PM
Good win for Down in terrible conditions. Laois took an early lead, scoring the first two points but then it was all Down and in truth they should have been much further ahead when Coulter finished the game as a contest with a well taken goal in the closing stages. Timmy Hanna had a great game, scoring two points, with Conor Garvey adding another point from wing half back. Kevin McKernan was very assured at full back, not only under the high ball, but his distribution was excellent as well. Dan was the pick of the midfielders on display.
I forgot to take a pen to the game, but from memory Coulter scored 1-1, McComiskey 1-0. Hanna 0-2, Garvey 0-1, with Hughes and Carr among the other scorers.
Good all round performance from Down, their best of the year to date. Though it must be said Laois were disappointing, barring the the third quarter of the game, they just didn't seem up to it. Credit to the Down management also who got things spot on tonight.
Who do we want in the next round? Did anyone mention a trip to Killarney ;)
Post by: orangeman on July 11, 2009, 09:48:47 PM
Ross is looking good for another crack at it next year !!!   ;)
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 11, 2009, 09:52:20 PM
One swallow doesn't make a summer  ;)
Post by: orangeman on July 11, 2009, 09:53:28 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on July 11, 2009, 09:52:20 PM
One swallow doesn't make a summer  ;)

Good win all the same.
Post by: Mid Down Gael on July 11, 2009, 09:57:57 PM
Laois where terrible. Down where that bit better. Conditions where wild and it was really poor stuff. Timmy Hanna, Kevin McKernan, Damian Rafferty, and the two Bennys where best in my opinion. Thought Benny McArdle was unlucky to be took off.
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 11, 2009, 10:00:06 PM
Yes a good win but I expected more from Laois. Much better performance than last week, though we let Laois back into the game at the beginning of the second half. Its all down to the luck of the draw now.
Post by: down6061689194 on July 11, 2009, 10:14:40 PM
Mcardle got his act together and played reasonably well.

Cant belive the umpires didnt have the guts to pull up clancey. They were talking and motioning about an elbow but did nothing.

Timmy Hannah had a super game and looked a real prospect along with McKernan.

But Down won this game partly due to great ball retention and then building on it. But the crowd managed to talk the team out of it most times. It seriously annoyed me when Down were drawing laois in and then switching the ball leaving acres of space but the crowd were raging because they didnt drill it down clanceys throat.
Post by: lob her in lad on July 11, 2009, 10:21:58 PM
ah well thats laois for ya, at least we won leinster 6 years ago that should do us for another 50 years or so.
Post by: downredblack on July 11, 2009, 10:22:37 PM
Just in the door , absolutely wild conditions there tonight but the lads worked hard and well deserved their win .The Gaelic Gear golf gear is now in the bin , not worth a fook .
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 11, 2009, 10:25:10 PM
Quote from: downredblack on July 11, 2009, 10:22:37 PM
Just in the door , absolutely wild conditions there tonight but the lads worked hard and well deserved their win .The Gaelic Gear golf gear is now in the bin , not worth a fook .

Please tell me that you werent standing on the terrace opposite the stand?
Post by: 5 Sams on July 11, 2009, 10:38:34 PM
Down's defence won this game for them tonight.....our much maligned full back line was excellent with D Raff the outstanding performer for Down tonight.

Benny Coulter worked his arse off all night...never stopped running, tackling, chasing, winning dirty oul ball and offloading it. He is rightly renowned for his scoring exploits but on a horrible night in the gutters he was a magnificent team player. The goal was a bonus.

I was disappointed with Laois....Clancy and Sheehan acting the bollix the whole way through didnt help them.

Credit where credit's due....well done to Ross, DJ and the lads.
Post by: downredblack on July 11, 2009, 10:38:59 PM
I was , can't sit in that stand . The only time I was in it was for the Cavan game and got soaked the skin that day as well  :(
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 11, 2009, 10:48:02 PM
Well done Down,to be honest I'm not all that upset we are out of the championship...serious changes needed in Laois a win tonight would have only papered over the cracks.
Can't see Down going much further to be honest but best of luck with whoever ye meet next and for the rest of the Championship.

Post by: downgirl on July 11, 2009, 10:51:40 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 11, 2009, 10:38:34 PM
Down's defence won this game for them tonight.....our much maligned full back line was excellent with D Raff the outstanding performer for Down tonight.

Benny Coulter worked his arse off all night...never stopped running, tackling, chasing, winning dirty oul ball and offloading it. He is rightly renowned for his scoring exploits but on a horrible night in the gutters he was a magnificent team player. The goal was a bonus.

I was disappointed with Laois....Clancy and Sheehan acting the bollix the whole way through didnt help them.

Credit where credit's due....well done to Ross, DJ and the lads.

I agree with that completely there was no need for it like!!

A much better game than last week, a pity about the surface being so slippy, if it had have been dry I'd say there was definitely a third goal there towards the end!

And Benny looked lovely as always  :D
Post by: Dubh driocht on July 11, 2009, 11:01:22 PM
Trevor's summary is about right and credit for complementing the management.
Hopefully all can see the DJ influence on the 2 wing half backs, Timmy Hanna scored 2 VG points and set up the excellent Mc Comiskey for his goal.Garvey also sound- however, the FB line was outstanding.Hope Murphy is OK, Aidan Carr slotted in well and scored a beaut.Dan back to his best, Kearney put in an honest shift and along with Ambrose ( almost back to last year's peak), controlled the middle third. Benny pure genius and Daniel had a shite 60 but a super last 10.Enjoyed good chat with Laois people, who like LL, weren't gutted but thought they restored some pride while playing second fiddle
Lads, the management won this in conditions you wouldn't put a dog or a bonfire in, so FTB.Rover, as the boss might have said on the night that's in it, no surrender !!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 11, 2009, 11:05:57 PM
Quote from: Dubh driocht on July 11, 2009, 11:01:22 PM
Trevor's summary is about right and credit for complementing the management.
Hopefully all can see the DJ influence on the 2 wing half backs, Timmy Hanna scored 2 VG points and set up the excellent Mc Comiskey for his goal.Garvey also sound- however, the FB line was outstanding.Hope Murphy is OK, Aidan Carr slotted in well and scored a beaut.Dan back to his best, Kearney put in an honest shift and along with Ambrose ( almost back to last year's peak), controlled the middle third. Benny pure genius and Daniel had a shite 60 but a super last 10.Enjoyed good chat with Laois people, who like LL, weren't gutted but thought they restored some pride while playing second fiddle
Lads, the management won this in conditions you wouldn't put a dog or a bonfire in, so FTB.Rover, as the boss might have said on the night that's in it, no surrender !!

Mmm I was also talking to a few Down lads,I wonder were we talking to each other?
I did think we were better and showed a bit of pride in the second half..
Post by: mournerambler on July 11, 2009, 11:24:43 PM
Well done to all concerned on a much needed win played in terrible conditions tonight, as a matter of interest did anyone else think Brendy McVeigh looked very unassured especially in the 2nd half?
Post by: 5 Sams on July 11, 2009, 11:26:50 PM
Sorry to nit pick lads and totally off subject....but tonight in Newry they had a Scor winner singing Amhran na bhFiann .....if you are going to get some lad to sing the national anthem would you not pick someone who knows the words..he was making it up as he went along :-[

Annoys the fcuk outta me...rant over.

Post by: Trevor Hill on July 11, 2009, 11:28:44 PM
Quote from: mournerambler on July 11, 2009, 11:24:43 PM
as a matter of interest did anyone else think Brendy McVeigh looked very unassured especially in the 2nd half?

He looked dubious enough tonight, he last one ball in the air, though you cold blame the conditions on that and then he let the ball bounce over him, luckily it went over the bar. McVeigh has been the most improved player under Ross Carr, so I wouldn't be too hard on him.
Post by: Dubh driocht on July 11, 2009, 11:33:49 PM
Again, I'm with Trevor.Mc Veigh now has a commanding presence whch can only help the most improved defence in the country ( based on one game !) and the swirly one aside, did well. LL , unless you had wife and daughter with you, don't think it was you- pity, would have liked to have discussed the Owen affair !
Post by: mournerambler on July 11, 2009, 11:34:24 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on July 11, 2009, 11:28:44 PM
Quote from: mournerambler on July 11, 2009, 11:24:43 PM
as a matter of interest did anyone else think Brendy McVeigh looked very unassured especially in the 2nd half?

He looked dubious enough tonight, he last one ball in the air, though you cold blame the conditions on that and then he let the ball bounce over him, luckily it went over the bar. McVeigh has been the most improved player under Ross Carr, so I wouldn't be too hard on him.

Pot, kettle, black, c'mon Trevor Hill your the one who has ripped the back out of the management team for weeks unend with numerous posts suggesting they should go & then you ask me not to be too hard on a player who I thought had a poor game ??? ;) ;D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 11, 2009, 11:35:59 PM
Quote from: Dubh driocht on July 11, 2009, 11:33:49 PM
Again, I'm with Trevor.Mc Veigh now has a commanding presence whch can only help the most improved defence in the country ( based on one game !) and the swirly one aside, did well. LL , unless you had wife and daughter with you, don't think it was you- pity, would have liked to have discussed the Owen affair !

Nah wasn't me so...
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 11, 2009, 11:41:14 PM
The keeper has had one dodgy game this year, if only we could say the same for the management, but lets give Down a bit of credit, they are in the next round after beating Laois, we would have taken that on the way home from Enniskillen.
My views on the management havent changed though and will not change no matter how well we do this year.
Post by: Dubh driocht on July 11, 2009, 11:47:19 PM
Neither have mine and neither will they.Right men in right job at right time.Pleasantly surprised at amount of supporters around me who said exactly the same.
Gave up a pint in the Shamrocks to rush to the car and heard Ross gave a very honest and clear assessment on radio of where we are and the pressures on players and management.Glad he's in charge.
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 11, 2009, 11:51:27 PM
Rush to the car? Park in the "official" car park and you`ll be in no rush. Traffic wasnt too bad on the way out though. Also heard that interview with Ross on Radio Ulster and I was actually pretty impressed with what he said, though it has to be said Thomas Kane dosent exactly ask the most searching questions.
Post by: Leo on July 11, 2009, 11:52:07 PM
Lads lets not get carried away, this was a dismal ill-disciplined Laois team.
We put them away as we surely should but at times we made a job of it.
What were we doing for the first 15 minutes of the second half with Benny & Danny Hughes playing in our own half back line with  a gale force wind and driving rain behind us?

A look at the players:
McVeigh - most uncertain performance seen from him although the conditions were tricky.
McGovern - best performance to date, managing for the first time to mark instead of fouloing.
Mckernan - my man of the match, didn't think he was a full back but maybe ...
Rafferty - super corner back performance
Hanna - really made his mark, close to man of the match, needs to bulk up a bit but some prospect
Murphy - I like this player but injury hampered him. We need a strong centre half like him.
Garvey - I also like this player but this was his poorest display in the shirt so far - lazy passes, conceding frees tool easily
Gordon - fits and starts but still a powerful force - McComiskey should have played him in for a sure goal in second half
Kearney - looks the part but somehow it doesn't all come together, too many dodgy passes in first half
Ambrose - clearly not fit but dont disagree with giving him 70 minutes to get on the pace
Maginn - a poor show tonight  but I still believe he is one for the long haul
McArdle - competent, good physical performer, unlucky to be called off
Coulter - invoved in everything, ran his socks off,  sometimes too deep, a few wayawrd passes, peach of a goal
McComiskey - maybe it was the condiditons but a lot of missed balls, misplaced passes, not his best
Hughes - enigmatic as ever but sometimes the lack of quick ball sees him foraging and running too far from goal
Carr - another player I rate although not at centre half, but played well
Fegan - simply  not a county player as his failure to take a gift from Benny illustrated
Murney, O'Reilly - another day will tell.

There is (and has been) the makings of a decent team therre - a team that should be buryinmg the likes of Laois and London.
So, up Down and hope we draw Kerry ( or failing that Derry).
Post by: Dubh driocht on July 12, 2009, 12:05:58 AM
Trevor, you're being much too reasonable ,makes me suspicious.
Leo, agree with most of your assessments but think you're too hard on Mc Veigh, Garvey and Mc Comiskey.Think the latter led the line well and , unlike Hughes, won clean ball and rarely wasted it - takes a lot of pressure off Benny.Took his goal well after great work by Hanna , these lads deserve every success after the Portlaoise disaster.
Post by: Leo on July 12, 2009, 12:14:25 AM
Dubh Drioct, I actually think Garvey can be a great asset to the team, a throw back to the old fashioned teak-tough wing back , but tonight was not good for him.
And while I think Alder of Carryduff is the best keeper in the county, McVeigh has acquitted himself very well and is sound - jus t thought that a couple of balls tonight had hail mary written all over them.
McComiskey is a pearl but didn't shine tonight.
That's all.
We're in the hat and the weather is sh**e but the summers' still here.
Post by: Pangurban on July 12, 2009, 12:30:11 AM
For the first time tonight we saw Benny Coulter fulfill  his potential as team player and play maker, he was the guiding hand behind so much that was good about Downs performance..The defence overall were generally more assured and competent, though the old failings of overholding and failing to clear their lines when good opportunities to do so were available, were still evident at times. Given the awful conditions and the poor quality of opposition, it would be foolish to form any sort of judgement, as to progress or lack of it. One facile win does not make a Summer, but the important thing is we are still in it, and will have another opportunity to develop and prove our worth.
Post by: wobbller on July 12, 2009, 01:20:36 AM
Quote from: Dubh driocht on July 11, 2009, 11:33:49 PM

Fill us in as to what this is about, please!
Post by: D4S on July 12, 2009, 10:54:59 AM
Have to say i was really encouraged by last nights performance! As mentioned the conditions were atrocious and you would have to forgive Brendan McVeigh for a few of his indecisive moments, 1 in particular where the swirling wind caught the ball, there was nothing else he could have done.  He's still the best keeper in the county so we'll allow him 1 dodgy match! I though we defended superbly on a night when it wasn't easy to defend with it being so slippy.  Thought Ambrose had a steady game and settled in well particularly in the 1st half where he saw a lot of the ball...he came so close with them 2 45s! 70 minutes was probably too much for him but great to see im back and he'll hold his place for next week i'm sure! Would be great to get Kerry in Newry next saturday evening...they were diabolical in the 2nd half last night!
Post by: bridgegael on July 12, 2009, 10:59:02 AM
are the games next week not at netural venue??  wat time is draw at anyway??
Post by: Mourne Rover on July 12, 2009, 12:27:25 PM
Having had to miss the game, I'm delighted and a little surprised by the outcome. I suppose we always knew the potential was there, but three poor performances on the bounce had drained away most of our optimism. However, it sounds as though the defence, at last, has finally started to come together. That can only be down to hard work on the training ground.

McKernan is a natural footballer, and, if full back really does turn out to be his best position, the management will deserve enormous credit. He will still need a run of games there to prove himself, so hopefully we will get another favourable draw tonight.
Post by: down6061689194 on July 12, 2009, 12:39:01 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 11, 2009, 11:26:50 PM
Sorry to nit pick lads and totally off subject....but tonight in Newry they had a Scor winner singing Amhran na bhFiann .....if you are going to get some lad to sing the national anthem would you not pick someone who knows the words..he was making it up as he went along :-[

Annoys the fcuk outta me...rant over.

Thought a few of the lines were suspect as I was going along...

The band is the best way forward, maybe not on a night like that, but for another day.
Post by: balladmaker on July 12, 2009, 12:44:15 PM
Any win for Down these days is a good win.  But I fear they are prolonging the agony, the longer they remain, the greater the chance they are going to get a stuffing, its all down to the draw now.
Post by: behind the wire on July 12, 2009, 12:55:33 PM
A win is a win. not particularly pretty but i dont think any of us sitting up in the stand realised just how bad conditions were until we all attempted to make our way back to the car.

Team looked a bit more assured last night with a number of players putting in good performances. Great to see ambrose back playing again.

At last we have what looks like a modern wing half back in Timmy Hanna, thought he had a great game. His style of play is similar to that of Jordan and Davy Harte. gives the team an extra dimension going forward. Was a bit disappointed that none of the more senior lads stepped in to have a quiet work with sheehan who was obviously sent on to give him a hard time.
I think the half back line looked comfortable and at home in their positions which is something down havent had for a lond time. however there may be some merit in switching murphy and garvey as murphy may be a better option going forward whereas garvey would be better defensively.

Coulter had a good game, displayed great work rate and hughes worked hard as ever.

some of the same problems still persist though. we need to find a quicker way of turning defence into attack. Down get men behind the ball which is great defensively but then leaves the forward department seriously understaffed. I lost count how many times Down won free kicks in defence but then had no one to kick the ball to as 8 players were within 20 yards of each other. The breakout needs to be much quicker.

while some poster have praised downs ability to keep the ball im not sure it is a great tactic to adopt. not only does it slow the play down alot but against a better team defenders will not get that much time on the ball. players like munnelly and tierney were only putting in half hearted tackles but against stronger opposition the keep ball tactic may lead to errors and easy scores conceded.

half forward line also appears to be a bit light. maginn is definitely a good player but like some of the other players doesnt seem to be able to break through the tackles. they could do with a playmaker who stamps authority on the game. too many time we saw down create great breaks out of defence only for a player to be forced to turn back when facing a tackle resulting in another bout of pass the parcel around the half back line.

All in all a decent display considering the terrible conditions and a definite improvement on the london game. however we must remember that laois looked completely disinterested for long periods.

As i have said before im no expert analyist but that is my penny's worth. the problems identified have been present in every game i have seen for a while now. sure it gets us another day out. if we get through the next round anything could happen.
Post by: balladmaker on July 12, 2009, 02:24:40 PM
As i have said before im no expert analyist but that is my penny's worth. the problems identified have been present in every game i have seen for a while now. sure it gets us another day out. if we get through the next round anything could happen.

What....win an All Ireland?
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 12, 2009, 02:32:00 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on July 12, 2009, 02:24:40 PM

What....win an All Ireland?

No, Armagh have to be favourites for this years All Ireland.  :D
Post by: balladmaker on July 12, 2009, 02:35:58 PM
QuoteNo, Armagh have to be favourites for this years All Ireland.

I would imagine Down's chances of winning an All Ireland this year are no better than those of a team which is already out of the competition  :) 
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 12, 2009, 02:39:53 PM
The bitterness of the orange men is still evident on the 12 of July.  ;)
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 12, 2009, 02:48:29 PM
Quote from: bridgegael on July 12, 2009, 10:59:02 AM
are the games next week not at netural venue??  wat time is draw at anyway??

I don't think the third round qualifier games at a neutral venue, is it not the next game, against the losing provincial finalist that are played at a neutral venue. The Down v Wexford game last year was our only game at a neutral venue in the qualifiers.
I presume the draw is on RTE2 this evening some time after the Munster final.
Post by: supersub on July 12, 2009, 10:52:44 PM
Only getting on now to post bout the game but theres been a fair bit of discussion and opinions. Thought the lads did well last night in the conditions and considering the tremendos amount of stick they have been getting the last while! Coulter and Hanna in particular were good and carr was back to doing what he does effectively - linking the play and finding runners all the time. Good enough draw for the next round too but not getting carried away at all because you dont know what to expect from Down these days at all!!