Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

The Rossie's wouldn't have their strongest team on paper out tomorrow. Of the two away games we would need to get a result in at least one of them and win at home in our final game. Would be some lift for the lads to win tomorrow. Both teams will have strong subs to come on and this game will be tight. One or two points in it in the end.

Big game. Quietly confident but if Ros get a start on us we could be in trouble.

Anyone goin? Bit of a trek but contemplating it

Sportacus

Oh yeah I forgot - CBGS. Must be great to be in the senior A colleges final year after year - NOT. 

stibhan

The logistics of putting in a team made of up of disparate players from St Mary's, St Malachy's, Rathmore et al would be far too complex to consider this, and the time and effort would be better invested in Club Coaching Development and County Development squads. Would, for example, there be a quota of players from individual schools on each team? What would happen to the rest of the players who aren't good enough to get on that panel?

Also, amalgamation is all well and good for the players selected but as a county and island whose participation levels at senior level are falling - partly due migration to other sports, or permanent emigration after school/university altogether - I can't see how alienating upwards of 70 players each year is an option. Improve coaching levels across the board rather than trying to select already polished players; encourage a schools training program that caters for players of all ability and doesn't give up on those who haven't (yet) progressed.

MacRory Cup also often gets the glamour that its history and prestige deserves, whereas it could be argued that plenty of All-Irelands at minor, U-21 and Senior levels have been built on the back of Vocational Schools titles also (Antrim won the All-Ireland VS in 1968; Won the All-Ireland U21 Football Championship in 1969). Tyrone's success in recent years hasn't necessarily been on the back of continued MacRory Cup winning teams, though obviously the minor team of 1997-8 and its successful transition to other levels might suggest otherwise.

Schools are important but clubs, in my opinion, have a far greater bearing on the individual player. I would suggest that a comprehensive re-evaluation of club training methods at all youth levels in both codes, and indeed both men and women's football, would reap serious dividends. Not that we should ignore the fact that we have two fairly decent teams at senior level in Football and Hurling at the minute.

Quote from: stibhan on March 10, 2012, 04:00:53 PM
The logistics of putting in a team made of up of disparate players from St Mary's, St Malachy's, Rathmore et al would be far too complex to consider this, and the time and effort would be better invested in Club Coaching Development and County Development squads. Would, for example, there be a quota of players from individual schools on each team? What would happen to the rest of the players who aren't good enough to get on that panel?

Also, amalgamation is all well and good for the players selected but as a county and island whose participation levels at senior level are falling - partly due migration to other sports, or permanent emigration after school/university altogether - I can't see how alienating upwards of 70 players each year is an option. Improve coaching levels across the board rather than trying to select already polished players; encourage a schools training program that caters for players of all ability and doesn't give up on those who haven't (yet) progressed.

MacRory Cup also often gets the glamour that its history and prestige deserves, whereas it could be argued that plenty of All-Irelands at minor, U-21 and Senior levels have been built on the back of Vocational Schools titles also (Antrim won the All-Ireland VS in 1968; Won the All-Ireland U21 Football Championship in 1969). Tyrone's success in recent years hasn't necessarily been on the back of continued MacRory Cup winning teams, though obviously the minor team of 1997-8 and its successful transition to other levels might suggest otherwise.

Schools are important but clubs, in my opinion, have a far greater bearing on the individual player. I would suggest that a comprehensive re-evaluation of club training methods at all youth levels in both codes, and indeed both men and women's football, would reap serious dividends. Not that we should ignore the fact that we have two fairly decent teams at senior level in Football and Hurling at the minute.

Well said Stevo

Coaching is poor enough in alot of clubs, especially underage. I've seen some underage coaches who havent a clue. It's so important that ex players and people who think about the game get involved in coaching (like in Kilkenny) to teach kids good, smart, habits and skills that will be useful and benefit the county in years to come.

An amalgamation of schools at McCrory would be a logistical nightmare.

What we need is forwards, buckets of them. Teach kid dummies, when to dummy, how to flick balls on, how to finish, when to go for goal. We've never had a Michael Murphy, Ronan Clarke, Star Donaghy, Mattie Forde at FF.  Even one of those, combined with the rest of the workers we have now, would rocket us up the ratings.

Magill should be given a go at 14 --if doesnt work but Aidso in midfield beside Kelly and put Mick McCann edge of square.

Or put Loughrey in edge of square, isolate him one on one with a full back, kick the ball in in front of him and sit back and enjoy what would follow (with Tomas flying off his shoulder from half forward #partytime

Seamroga in exile

latest score:

Ros 0-03 antrim 1-01
"What we've got here is failure to communicate"

subterranean saffron

Latest Score:

Ros Comáin  1-8 Aontroim 1-3

M. McCann scored goal inside first minute   ???

Poor, flat performance today.

Goal within a minute following good move up the right putting Sweeney in, who drew the full back and hand passed it over his head to Magill who palmed it over the keepers head for a goal.

Went downhill from then on. Ros tagged a few scores back and it was 1-1 to 0-3 when Ross's Cathel Cregg shot for a point from the 40 dropped short to the full forward who was lurking in behind P  Gallagher and finished calmly past Kerr with a side foot finish. It was really our first time behind all year and we didnt respond well.

We were leggy and didnt get the ball from half back/midfield to our forwards. Grass was long and didnt suit us. Didnt suit our pace and the ball wouldnt bounce, catching us out a fair few times.

Mick McCann caught some amount of ball in the first half but couldnt get the ball to the FF line and we were done for overcarrying on numerous occasions. Most ball going to Magill and Neeson came straight back out. Magill nearly got a second similar goal when 2 points down soon after the Ros goal but the keeper got a finger to it to slow the ball down and a full back cleared it off the line.

Cunningham scored good point from play and Mick scored a class point from distance with outside of boot following great run but it was all against the run of play. We had to work so hard for our 1-3 in the first half whilst Ros scored with ease and should have been further that 4 ahead at half time if it wasnt for their 8 or 9 first half wides.

C Kelly came off for Aidso G just before half time.

HT was 1-7 to 1-3

We'd chances to score first in 2nd half but didnt take them including a free from the right from PC and an easy free from the left from Tomas--bad bad miss and not like him this year.

Ross tagged on a few more scores in a 2nd half that was awful, characterized by an awful ref who was as bad for both teams and gave bizarre call after bizarre call. Twice in 2nd half he got in the way of our move on the break around midfield, one time almost forcing Tomas to pick the ball off the deck and the 2nd giving a hop ball even though the desired pass ended up in our mans hands (after hitting the ref in the head). Of course Ros got the ball and scored. He blew Mick up for taking 3 seconds to hit a free at midfield but let Ros have 60 seconds to bring their keeper up to hit a long range free 2 mins later. (Is there a different rule that you're allowed to take longer to hit a free if it's scoreable but not if it's not a shot on goal>?

It took us 22mins to score in 2nd half--awful, fragmented display. When Bam got it he tried hard but forced it when it wasnt on, shooting when leaning back and off balance--ballooning it up in the air a right few times and finished scoreless. Magill is still a way off full pace.

O'Hagan and P Gallagher were taken off at half time for Kev O Boyle and M Johnstone. O'Hagan was doing rightly on the ball but in defence we were 2nd to every ball all day.

Loughrey didnt have his usual good game, he was beaten to the ball by his nippy, fast man and he checked his normally surging forward runs instead of driving on. HE was then injured and came off with about 10 to go with what looked like a pull, tear. Hopefully not serious.

Kerr saved a one on one and blocked another. A further one on one was blasted against the bar. Ros could have been out of sight.

Unbeleiveably we had a chance to remain in with a chance of getting something out of this match when we got a penalty for a pull on Magill with 10 to go with 5 in it. PC hit it to the keepers left who dived to that side and saved it easily at a nice height. Think penalties should be hit by people who strike frees off the deck. I'd have had Tomas striking it but it was never our day.

A minute later a second penalty should have been given when Magill was again clearly pulled when a high ball came in but the ref didnt have the balls to give another.

We only showed any fight in the last 10 mins and when i say us it was really only the driving Tony Scullion.

We seemed to freeze after the Ros goal early on and were hesitant in everything we did , constantly handpassing the ball away, not moving at pace, getting turned over and over-carrying.

The game petered out really and the 4 point loss of 1-10 to 1-6 flattered us.

Hopefully it was just a blip as we're much better than that and i fancy us to step up and turn Ros over next week. Hope Loughrey is ok though as we could do with his pace.

When we play with pace we are dangerous. When we're hesitant we are less than average.

Hopefully longford cut the grass

subterranean saffron

Could have sworn your man on the radio said McCann scored the goal. Anyone listening in? He was some craic and couldn't name an Antrim player for love nor money. Fair play to him though he seemed to be having a great time.

As for the us I don't think its a case of getting too negative, away games in this league will be tough and we have tougher ones coming up. Huge game versus Longford, hope to still hear positive things from the camp going into next week. Important that the injury to Loughrey isn't too bad as we struggle without him.

Cheers for the report Gold and fair play to you for making the jaunt.

Magicsponge

Just took a look at the club fixtures there and I noticed in division 4 the teams who played each other today play each other again next week e.g. st comgalls beat st malachy's today and they are playing each other again next week. Any reason for this?

Quagmire

Apparently nobody got booked or sent off for St Malachy's and the only names the Ref took were from Antrim!! There's reverberations through the refereeing fraternity and they want to see does lightning strike twice.... the day after St Patrick's Day... talk about loading the dice!!!  :P

aontroim

Quote from: Magicsponge on March 12, 2012, 01:05:16 AM
Just took a look at the club fixtures there and I noticed in division 4 the teams who played each other today play each other again next week e.g. st comgalls beat st malachy's today and they are playing each other again next week. Any reason for this?

This was done last year also in some lower leagues - at the request of the 'A' teams in those leagues - not wanting to play 'B' teams until the higher divisions get started.

Magicsponge

Quote from: aontroim on March 12, 2012, 12:26:08 PM
Quote from: Magicsponge on March 12, 2012, 01:05:16 AM

This was done last year also in some lower leagues - at the request of the 'A' teams in those leagues - not wanting to play 'B' teams until the higher divisions get started.

That explains it. Fair enough, the reserve teams probably have a handful of senior players playing early on and it might be unfair to ask a junior team to play a "reserve" team with players who wouldn't be there once div 1 and 2 start.

playwiththewind1st

Quote from: Quagmire on March 12, 2012, 02:08:39 AM
Apparently nobody got booked or sent off for St Malachy's and the only names the Ref took were from Antrim!!

Now - that is something to write home about!!!

Tipplad

Quote from: playwiththewind1st on March 12, 2012, 08:27:31 PM
Quote from: Quagmire on March 12, 2012, 02:08:39 AM
Apparently nobody got booked or sent off for St Malachy's and the only names the Ref took were from Antrim!!

In fact two very dangerous tackles form the Antrim men and not retaliated by st Malls. New man in charge of the Malls and setting about changing attitudes as well