GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: magickingdom on November 23, 2006, 10:00:04 PM

Title: GPA and AFLPA back International Rules
Post by: magickingdom on November 23, 2006, 10:00:04 PM
the gpa and the afl players association today came out in favour of the ir series. they said that the series has the overwhelming support of both codes players and that the refereeing of the series is an area that needs attention. just looking at the start of the ashes series in cricket it would be an awful shame if the gaa (ie nicky) were to let our own series go down the tube....
Title: Re: GPA and AFLPA back International Rules
Post by: ziggysego on November 23, 2006, 10:02:20 PM
Just when the GAA and the GPA were about to become bedfellows, the GPA put a thorn in the GAA's side.
Post by: theskull1 on November 23, 2006, 11:44:44 PM
Quote from: highking on November 23, 2006, 10:57:32 PM
It would be very easy for the GPA to organise a strike at any moment. It could happen next year.

Let them try it. They probably possess the good sense to know that this would be suicide for themselves from a grass roots perspective. I do think its time for this membership to let itself be known to the general public. I'm sure it is not a clandestine association for nothing. They are a cancer within the GAA (along with a few others I might add) and the sooner they do their business in public the better, but I think we all know that is not going to happen >:(
Post by: highking on November 23, 2006, 11:52:06 PM
Membership to the GPA is open to all current intercounty players and all former intercounty players, so once your on it, you dont come off unless you wish to come off. So Peter the great is probably still a member, but youll have to ask him that. Rumour has it that membership will be opened to all club players in the coming years.

So skull what county board are you an officer of.
Post by: 2gdias on November 24, 2006, 02:35:17 AM
there was an article in Melb Sun Thursday with Demetriou suggesting that banning the tackle and suspending players from home & away games are options to be considered in a bid to continue the series..

Article on a different matters tells of the AFL receiving their first payment of the $780 MILION for the next 5 years broadcsting rights.
Post by: Turfsmoke on November 24, 2006, 08:59:31 AM
If the Gaelic Prats Association want an AFL link, let them set it up and manage it. They could use their Opel millions to help pay for it, ie weekends in Toulouse, "expenses" and so on. Anybody know of a stadium for hire? Is Sean "I'll Sell Anything" Kelly still in business anywhere?

No doubt there'll be a role in there somewhere for Dessie's mum and PTG and the Smileless One will also be permanently involved.

Meanwhile the remaining 99.999% of us could get on with that thing called the GAA. It might even then become a Gaelic Prat-free zone!
Post by: bottlethrower7 on November 24, 2006, 09:04:41 AM
Quote from: highking on November 23, 2006, 10:57:32 PM
It would be very easy for the GPA to organise a strike at any moment. It could happen next year.

Let them. Who will it affect? The Cork hurlers and about 4 or 5 football teams? There'll still be plenty of players willing to wear their county's jersey.
Post by: Tubberman on November 24, 2006, 09:21:46 AM
Lads, the GPA said they support the continuation of the International Rules - what's the problem???
You don't have to deride EVERY statement the GPA comes out with. The GAA hierarchy are going to recognise them as the official players representatives, so they're here to stay.
Post by: bottlethrower7 on November 24, 2006, 09:32:00 AM
They support the continuation of the international rules because it puts them in the headlines every year due to the comparisons between amateur GAA players and their professional opposition. Then with shitehawks like Stynes coming over and mouthing off about the poor old GAA player, it serves their cause, hence they'll back it.

Theres an agenda at play with everything the GPA do. This one is just too bloody obvious.
Post by: Hound on November 24, 2006, 10:27:09 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on November 23, 2006, 11:44:44 PM
I do think its time for this membership to let itself be known to the general public. I'm sure it is not a clandestine association for nothing. They are a cancer within the GAA (along with a few others I might add) and the sooner they do their business in public the better, but I think we all know that is not going to happen >:(
Its the like of you who actually created the GPA. And you're too ignorant to figure out how or why
Post by: Uladh on November 24, 2006, 10:35:07 AM
Everything with the GPA has to be a conspiracy. It's getting worse than the vatican. bt - do you not think for a second that its possible that the gpa have supported the retention of the series because they have been mandated to do so by their membership?

every time that organisation makes a statement on behalf of their membership, the usual suspects announce carte blanche that it can't be representative of their members, how many pf their members voted and sure they've feck all of the intercounty players on board.

Is it so unrealistic to think that intercounty players support the continuation of a outlet which lets them aspire to representing their country?

It's also worth noting that the relationship with the afl was there from the beginning as the gpa was based on the australian model as the structures and ethos of their game were closest to ireland and the gaa.

mid - i'm not sure you ever think through your views on all things gpa. you see those three letters and the red mist descends! it might be worth remembering that all gpa members are club footballers and their mates represent every corner of the association.. you might also note that louth are one of the biggest represented counties in the gpa and one of the more militant strands.

Post by: Uladh on November 24, 2006, 10:37:12 AM

For the record - i don't like the international rules thingy and would scrap it in the morning
Post by: theskull1 on November 24, 2006, 10:44:29 AM
Quote from: Hound on November 24, 2006, 10:27:09 AM
Its the like of you who actually created the GPA. And you're too ignorant to figure out how or why

Well mabye you would like to enlighten me Hound instead of leaving me hanging. Tell me why I'm to blame?

Post by: bottlethrower7 on November 24, 2006, 10:49:53 AM
Quote from: Uladh on November 24, 2006, 10:35:07 AM
bt - do you not think for a second that its possible that the gpa have supported the retention of the series because they have been mandated to do so by their membership?

No, I don't get the impression that anything with the GPA is as a result of a mandate from their members. Dessie and Donal Og say whats-what and you sign up for that.

Give me an example of one single thing that the GPA have ever done as a result of something a member (or section of members) asked for.
Post by: magpie seanie on November 24, 2006, 10:57:45 AM
I find the defending of the GPA quite alarming here. Where were you guys when I pointed out in the immediate aftermath of the second test this year (and last year) that the so-called champions of player welfare were so silent about "their members" being physically attacked on the field? The GPA didn't care more about Graham Geraghty ending up in hospital than they crave professionalism. QED. The GPA have consistently lied about this matter. They are ONLY about pay for play and I will vehemently oppose them and it while I am living and breathing.

Why don't we form a GAA officials association and go on strike ourselves? Many of us put in incredible amounts of time and effort for much less reward than even an average county player. The reason why is we love the games. Maybe Desmond and the shop steward should try to remember that.
Title: Example
Post by: Uladh on November 24, 2006, 10:58:52 AM
Text vote - members were asked if they supported the retention of the international rules series.

the members voted in the majority for the retention of the series.

Gpa releases statement on behalf of the membership asking for the retention of the series.

As a matter of interest, do you doubt the credability of all unions on the basis of not sharing their aims? for example, when firemen demand better working conditions, do you automatically assume that their full time administrators must have thought this position up on their own unmandated?
Post by: theskull1 on November 24, 2006, 11:00:25 AM
Can we not call a spade a spade...while the rest of us were concerned about player welfare and wanted the IR series scrapped, the GPA who cliam to represent the players taking the hammering, think that it should be maintained.

We all know why this is their stance, because it bolsters there argument for professionalism....black and white

It is ALL about the money making potential and nothing to do with representing your country.
Title: Re: Example
Post by: bottlethrower7 on November 24, 2006, 11:03:44 AM
Quote from: Uladh on November 24, 2006, 10:58:52 AM
As a matter of interest, do you doubt the credability of all unions on the basis of not sharing their aims? for example, when firemen demand better working conditions, do you automatically assume that their full time administrators must have thought this position up on their own unmandated?

how is that question relevant? No one forces GAA players to play for their county. They're not playing for their livelihood, unlike firemen.

The GPA will never get any respect from me as long as they remain as sly and covert about their true aims. They are all about looking after the elite. They are all about pay for play. Yet they claim not to be about either. I'd have more respect for them if they came out and said as much (though would still disagree with everything they stand for).

Going on strike. Who ever heard the likes of it. Christy Ring (Donal Og's hero) would turn in his grave.
Post by: magpie seanie on November 24, 2006, 11:04:20 AM
Uladh - if the membership had got the "wrong" result would the result have been published? I have my doubts. Is the result of every text poll made public?

As for the unions comparison you give I'd be more inclined to believe the unions. They're more honest. The GPA deny they are about pay for play for heavens sake!
Post by: Uladh on November 24, 2006, 11:05:50 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on November 24, 2006, 10:57:45 AM
I find the defending of the GPA quite alarming here.

The GPA announced the result of a membership vote, that is all. It is the job of their leadership to express the majority opinions of their members.

Whats wrong with that?

The hysterical attacks on the "perceived" real agenda of the GPA on a litany of other issues as a result reminds me of the US & UK administration's constant reminder that we are all in great imminent danger from the great bogeyman.

The GPA have the capacity and the will to call a strike within 45 minutes....
Post by: magpie seanie on November 24, 2006, 11:08:13 AM
Read your post back Uladh. Can you not see the irony.
Post by: theskull1 on November 24, 2006, 11:12:57 AM
Why don't we form a GAA officials association and go on strike ourselves? Many of us put in incredible amounts of time and effort for much less reward than even an average county player. The reason why is we love the games. Maybe Desmond and the shop steward should try to remember that.
I think it could come to this seanie. IMO the administration is not dealing with these guys effectively (unless work is being done in the background). HQ are not representing the feelings of 95% of the GAA population which wants this group smoked out of their hidouts. Its like the bloody masons have infiltrated the GAA, such is the cloaked silence from the GPA membership. I know a few and have NEVER heard one defend the GPA whenever someone has ridiculed them. Deathly silence is all you get. Now you can't tell me they haven't been told "keep stum". Now why would they be told that if the didn't have a secret agenda? >:(
Post by: Uladh on November 24, 2006, 11:16:13 AM
Skull

"while the rest of us were concerned about player welfare and wanted the IR series scrapped, the GPA who cliam to represent the players taking the hammering, think that it should be maintained."

The GPA have expressed the view of the intercounty players. Now, if you're gonna tell the players they are wrong in wanting to continue the series by all means fire away but these are the fellas playing the game so while you're concern for them is admirable, they don't seem to share it.

The scare mongering about the GPA never changes.

Everyone knows what the GPA really want, but as usual there is no substance to the perception

bt - the point is you are prepared to accept the word of a union so long as you agree with them.
Post by: Uladh on November 24, 2006, 11:21:44 AM
The point is Seanie its a total fabrication

"you can't tell me they haven't been told "keep stum". Now why would they be told that if the didn't have a secret agenda? >:(

Skull, that is the biggest crock of shite posted on this board in weeks.... bear in mind Fearon and o'neill post every day."

You honestly believe and can post on a gaa discussion board with all sincerity, that the gpa have told their members to "say nothin" in order to protect some clandestine secret? is it the secret to rule all secrets?
Post by: Maximus Marillius on November 24, 2006, 11:29:24 AM
Is there anyone on this thread or board who can explain to me how this game, which we all agree is not gaelic football, helps gaelic football. Dont tell it is great for the players, if its graet for the players, lets have Irealnds gaa team play the EU in a series of gaelic football matches to meet the players needs. NO EXPLAIN TO ME HOW THIS HELPS THE GAELIC FOOTBALL AND THE GAELIC ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION
Post by: Uladh on November 24, 2006, 11:36:23 AM

I don't think anyone on this thread wants international rules to continue max
Post by: The Claw on November 24, 2006, 11:48:52 AM
I find the defending of the GPA quite alarming here. Where were you guys when I pointed out in the immediate aftermath of the second test this year (and last year) that the so-called champions of player welfare were so silent about "their members" being physically attacked on the field? The GPA didn't care more about Graham Geraghty ending up in hospital than they crave professionalism. QED. The GPA have consistently lied about this matter. They are ONLY about pay for play and I will vehemently oppose them and it while I am living and breathing.

My candidate for post of the week.
BTW I would like to see the series continue, so that is not the reason for my agreement.
Post by: bottlethrower7 on November 24, 2006, 11:54:30 AM
Quote from: Uladh on November 24, 2006, 11:16:13 AM
bt - the point is you are prepared to accept the word of a union so long as you agree with them.

nope, stop twisting things. Its about transparency. Just because I disagree with something doesn't make it wrong. I never claimed otherwise. I hate hidden agendas, hence the GPA.

now, if you wish to put so much faith into a text poll. How about telling us how many people were texted. How many replied. And what proportion of the total playing population (inter-county only of course) does that represent.
Post by: theskull1 on November 24, 2006, 11:59:03 AM
Quote from: Uladh on November 24, 2006, 11:21:44 AM
Skull, that is the biggest crock of shite posted on this board in weeks.... bear in mind Fearon and o'neill post every day."
Your opinion is not strengthened by the use of profanities Uladh

You honestly believe and can post on a gaa discussion board with all sincerity, that the gpa have told their members to "say nothin" in order to protect some clandestine secret?

I do have that suspicion yes. If not why are they not more open about it?  Hopefully you'll be able to explain that for me?
Post by: 2gdias on November 24, 2006, 12:01:07 PM
Quote from: Maximus Marillius on November 24, 2006, 11:29:24 AM
Is there anyone on this thread or board who can explain to me how this game, which we all agree is not Gaelic football, helps Gaelic football. Don't tell it is great for the players, if its great for the players, lets have Ireland's gaa team play the EU in a series of Gaelic football matches to meet the players needs. NO EXPLAIN TO ME HOW THIS HELPS THE GAELIC FOOTBALL AND THE GAELIC ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION

Well it does help the spread of both games I guess, but the AFL originally thought it would be a vehicle for THEIR expansionist aims and they instigated the series even way back when it was the Harry Beitzal concept. ( He was an ex broadcaster, VFL Umpire, and entrepreneur who alas ran foul of the L.A.W.  :: )

As it is turning out the GAA may well get more out of it as a promotion than the AFL for the AFL love the dollars it spins and, given that they feel the series is on aknife edge, they may well accept the rule changes to simply be "All the way with the GAA", plus home and away match suspensions.

On the physical side it is a mismatch, not from lack of heart but from lack of full time training.

If the AFL played full GAA rules, including the spirit of the game and with harsh penalties for misdemeanour's, who would begrudge the winners doing a lap of honour.

If the AFL want to play Ireland at the GAA game, go for it.

I'd be a fan of that.
Post by: Uladh on November 24, 2006, 12:09:43 PM
Quote from: bottlethrower7 on November 24, 2006, 11:54:30 AM
Quote from: Uladh on November 24, 2006, 11:16:13 AM

now, if you wish to put so much faith into a text poll. How about telling us how many people were texted. How many replied. And what proportion of the total playing population (inter-county only of course) does that represent.

I have no idea about any of that bt... but the point is if the leadership of a union express this as the view of their members, then i'll take them at their word.... even if i disagree with them.

skull:

"I do have that suspicion yes. If not why are they not more open about it?  Hopefully you'll be able to explain that for me?"

explain what? open about what? there's only an "it" if you have a dan brown view of the organisation
Post by: theskull1 on November 24, 2006, 12:19:48 PM
Quote from: 2gdias on November 24, 2006, 12:01:07 PM
On the physical side it is a mismatch, not from lack of heart but from lack of full time training.

This is the main reason as amateurs, Ireland cannot compete with the AFL players. Whenever the aussies get a hang of the game, they will destroy Ireland every time whatever the rules. It's only a matter of time (I would say just after a new TV deal is struck) before the GPA highlight this. They will use this argument to help bolster their pay for play agenda.
Post by: believebelive on November 24, 2006, 12:21:42 PM
I dont think there is any hidden agenda by the GPA - well certainly nothing that the ordinary members would be privy to. Do you really think Skull that over 1000 people could keep a secret agenda secret! Come on we are talking about young gaelic players here not the CIA and the cover up when the JFK was shot.
But on the other hand there is no doubt that, like any organisation, the direction they take is driven from the top. I actually think that the majority of GAA intercounty players are pretty apathetic towards the GPA - they take the attitude that of they get them grants then great but if not then they will just continue to play
Post by: Michael Schmeichal on November 24, 2006, 12:50:59 PM

Your mistaken there Magpie Seanie. A couple of days after the second test there was an interview with Dessie Farrell in the Indo. He blamed the violent scenes on the referees not implementing the rules properly. I thnk he was right.

Why do you find it alarming when people have a different opinion to you?
Post by: bottlethrower7 on November 24, 2006, 12:52:05 PM
Quote from: believebelive on November 24, 2006, 12:21:42 PM
I dont think there is any hidden agenda by the GPA - well certainly nothing that the ordinary members would be privy to. Do you really think Skull that over 1000 people could keep a secret agenda secret! Come on we are talking about young gaelic players here not the CIA and the cover up when the JFK was shot.

exactly, which is precisely why you can be sure the 'leadership' are not even going to divulge half of what is going on to their members, the exact same young gaelic players.
Post by: magpie seanie on November 24, 2006, 02:04:36 PM
QuoteA couple of days after the second test there was an interview with Dessie Farrell in the Indo. He blamed the violent scenes on the referees not implementing the rules properly. I thnk he was right.

That's not really the point. The fact that only yourself can remember any comment by Farrell (and at that one skirting the subject as per your report) proves my point.

QuoteWhy do you find it alarming when people have a different opinion to you?

Did I say that?
Post by: Michael Schmeichal on November 24, 2006, 02:22:27 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on November 24, 2006, 02:04:36 PM

That's not really the point. The fact that only yourself can remember any comment by Farrell (and at that one skirting the subject as per your report) proves my point.

See below article Magpie Seanie. Do you believe me now?

'Failure to apply sanctions the problem' - Farrell

ADVERTISEMENT

THE failure to apply meaningful sanctions that punish serious offenders lies at the heart of the current International Rules crisis according to GPA chief executive, Dessie Farrell.

He blames administrators from both codes for not practising what they preach regarding discipline and punishment for those who offend.

"The reality is that the sanctions don't really hurt so they're not a real deterrent. We were told that it would be different this year and that players who stepped out of line would be sent off and no replacement allowed, yet not one red card was handed out on Sunday.

"The refereeing was disgracefully bad. We all saw what happened in the first quarter, yet neither referee sent off a player on a straight red card, which was amazing. And then you have a goal scored while a large group of players are tearing into each other quite close by. It was bizarre stuff," he said.

He pointed to the specific example of where Irish forwards tried to make a run, only to have their jerseys pulled.

"It was happening in full view of officials, yet no action was taken. Some of the Australian tackling was way out of order but with no real sanctions in place, they didn't really care. It would be different if they feared being sent off and suspended or fined when they went back home."

Farrell said that he wasn't remotely surprised to see the Australians raising the stakes to unacceptable levels last Sunday.

"They were trailing after the first game and were determined to do whatever it took to win the second test.

"A bigger than usual media representation travelled from Australia this year so it meant an awful lot to the camp to win the series and with the sanctions so weak, they knew they could get away with anything. The line was crossed with the Graham Geraghty incident. There's something wrong when an amateur player is knocked unconscious by a professional in full view of 82,000 people. GAA administrators have to be very aware of their responsibilities in this regard," he said.

However, Farrell reckons that the series will survive in the longer term, not least because it's a valuable commercial enterprise. "It puts an awful lot of bums on seats. There are also the TV and sponsorship dimensions. Neither the GAA nor the AFL want to lose out on that."

Example

Farrell believes that the general consensus among GAA players is that the series should continue but they need to be guaranteed that they be protected by stringent rules.

"There's also the whole amateur v professional issue. You have full-time, well-paid Australian players taking on amateurs who are expected to work on the week of the game while their opponents are in full-time training. There's something wrong about that."

While he was sickened by the Aussies' approach in the first quarter, he said the GAA would need to be very careful before they climbed too high up the moral ground.

"There's a certain level of hypocrisy regarding violence because it's not exactly unknown in our own games either. But then there's a fair degree of hypocrisy when it comes to legitimate payments for players too," Farrell added.

Martin Breheny

See below article Magpie Seanie. Do you believe me now?

Taken from Indo on November 7
'Failure to apply sanctions the problem' - Farrell

ADVERTISEMENT

THE failure to apply meaningful sanctions that punish serious offenders lies at the heart of the current International Rules crisis according to GPA chief executive, Dessie Farrell.

He blames administrators from both codes for not practising what they preach regarding discipline and punishment for those who offend.

"The reality is that the sanctions don't really hurt so they're not a real deterrent. We were told that it would be different this year and that players who stepped out of line would be sent off and no replacement allowed, yet not one red card was handed out on Sunday.

"The refereeing was disgracefully bad. We all saw what happened in the first quarter, yet neither referee sent off a player on a straight red card, which was amazing. And then you have a goal scored while a large group of players are tearing into each other quite close by. It was bizarre stuff," he said.

He pointed to the specific example of where Irish forwards tried to make a run, only to have their jerseys pulled.

"It was happening in full view of officials, yet no action was taken. Some of the Australian tackling was way out of order but with no real sanctions in place, they didn't really care. It would be different if they feared being sent off and suspended or fined when they went back home."

Farrell said that he wasn't remotely surprised to see the Australians raising the stakes to unacceptable levels last Sunday.

"They were trailing after the first game and were determined to do whatever it took to win the second test.

"A bigger than usual media representation travelled from Australia this year so it meant an awful lot to the camp to win the series and with the sanctions so weak, they knew they could get away with anything. The line was crossed with the Graham Geraghty incident. There's something wrong when an amateur player is knocked unconscious by a professional in full view of 82,000 people. GAA administrators have to be very aware of their responsibilities in this regard," he said.

However, Farrell reckons that the series will survive in the longer term, not least because it's a valuable commercial enterprise. "It puts an awful lot of bums on seats. There are also the TV and sponsorship dimensions. Neither the GAA nor the AFL want to lose out on that."

Example

Farrell believes that the general consensus among GAA players is that the series should continue but they need to be guaranteed that they be protected by stringent rules.

"There's also the whole amateur v professional issue. You have full-time, well-paid Australian players taking on amateurs who are expected to work on the week of the game while their opponents are in full-time training. There's something wrong about that."

While he was sickened by the Aussies' approach in the first quarter, he said the GAA would need to be very careful before they climbed too high up the moral ground.

"There's a certain level of hypocrisy regarding violence because it's not exactly unknown in our own games either. But then there's a fair degree of hypocrisy when it comes to legitimate payments for players too," Farrell added.

Martin Breheny

Post by: Uladh on November 24, 2006, 02:23:26 PM

"How do you know this? Just curious."

I have a few friends in the GPA, two of them hurlers. i certainly don't agree with all of what they do but on the whole they are a good organisation in my opinion.

"What have they done for the players in the last number of years? Though Dessie did have time to pen a book, organise a ten minute strike, make a few press releases and turn up at the GPA awards."

that really is a very naive statement. Simply the gpa's existence has created more movement on player welfare issues in the last 5 years than in all of the rest of the organisation's existence.

from initially (misguidedly) creating a player's delegate, then submitting to expenses and training gear benchmarks, right through to singlehandedly manipulating the government into addressing players issues to the point where Bertie is further down the road to funding player grants than the GAA.

This is not to even cover grants for third level students and the funding of the past player benevolent fund, particularly for players abandoned by the association after injury.
Post by: magpie seanie on November 24, 2006, 02:28:43 PM
You really need lessons in arguing. Did I say I didn't believe you about the existence of the article?

Also, I hope you weren't using that article to defend your position! Dessie tries comedy....

Quote"There's a certain level of hypocrisy regarding violence because it's not exactly unknown in our own games either. But then there's a fair degree of hypocrisy when it comes to legitimate payments for players too," Farrell added.
Post by: magickingdom on November 24, 2006, 02:39:55 PM
"I don't think anyone on this thread wants international rules to continue max"

hello, you manage to read the opening contribution uladh? i most certainly do and most of the stuff here isn't worth a reply..
Post by: Uladh on November 24, 2006, 02:40:32 PM
Given that this thread has once again deteriorated into an hysterical attack on the great bogeyman, can someone point out what the original issue was with the GPA announcing that their members had expressed a desire for the International Rules Series to continue?

EDIT

I was rather thinking magic kingdom that the players weren't actually on this thread....
Post by: Michael Schmeichal on November 24, 2006, 02:41:56 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on November 24, 2006, 02:28:43 PM
You really need lessons in arguing. Did I say I didn't believe you about the existence of the article?

First of all you complain that the GPA made no comment. Then when you were proved to be spoofing you try and wriggle out of it by claiming that no one knew they commented. They commented in a large article in the biggest selling newspaper in the country. What do you want? A pigeon to deliver all GPA statements to your doorstep. Your emabarrassing yourself.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on November 24, 2006, 02:55:47 PM
f**k them both and their international Rules...They wont stop until they get one of our players paralyzed or killed in that abomination of a game.
Post by: Turfsmoke on November 24, 2006, 03:10:53 PM
Someone asked for a definition of Prat (as in Gaelic Prats Association).

I looked it up in the dictionary and got:

"Prat -  noun; someone who believes that other people should provide him and all belonging to him with with the world's best games from the cradle to the grave; should give him a profile and an earning capacity he otherwise couldn't dream of; throw in a free world class holiday, with spending money at least every second year; give him facilities, travel, support and audiences that most professional sports don't even come close to; allow him to rip them off by stealing their image rights for his own personal commercial benefit; pay for all of these out of their own pockets and effort; and then pay him (the Prat) to compensate him for all the burdens and demands involved

Other definitions: biter of hands that feed; me me me;  selfish b*****d; dessie; D.og;
Post by: cavanmaniac on November 24, 2006, 03:51:52 PM
Arrah turfsmoke will ye get off the feckin' fence and tell us what ye really think for God's sake...
Post by: Turfsmoke on November 24, 2006, 04:17:49 PM
"Fence"?????

What's that?

We only have turf banks here.
Post by: Uladh on November 24, 2006, 04:53:58 PM

Ho hum . . . and why was there all of a sudden a player welfare officer appointed out of the blue?

"Was it not the GAA and Nickey Brennan who announced plans for a benevolent fund."

The GPA have established, funded and administered this fund in the last couple of years.

i get that you don't agree with the GPA's aims, nor do i with some of them, but for god's sake are you serious in thinking they they have achieved nothing?
Post by: Michael Schmeichal on November 24, 2006, 05:06:03 PM
Lads like it or not player welfare has improved considerably since the inception of the GPA. You can argue that it may have happened anyway but seen as very little improvements had been made before they arrived I don't think that arguements stand up. Below are some areas that have improved. If anyone thinks any of the below are a bad thing I give up.

Improved mileage rates
Requirement for players to get a hot meal after training
All inter County players get 2 tickets for ALL ireland finals
Requirement for certain amount of gear to be given to players each season
Grants for third level players
Setting up of benevolent players fund.

Post by: ONeill on November 24, 2006, 09:04:28 PM
Quote from: Michael Schmeichal on November 24, 2006, 05:06:03 PM

Totally discriminatory against salad lovers.
Post by: Bogball XV on November 24, 2006, 09:55:56 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on November 24, 2006, 02:55:47 PM
f**k them both and their international Rules...They wont stop until they get one of our players paralyzed or killed in that abomination of a game.
But as they are the people who are willing to risk such an eventuality, surely they should have a say!  Or are we the great paternalists here on gaaboard.com/board the people who should tell them exactly what risks they should be allowed to take??  Let's face it, if they were going to play a hurling match down in Laois they'd run as great a risk of being permanently incapacitated.
Post by: 2gdias on November 25, 2006, 12:08:57 AM
There is a certain inevitability about the leading exponents of your game being paid , then paid more, then much more, then something like 25% of receipts from media and attendances.

This seems to have been the way in most other sports be it baseball (the strike word comes to mind) in America or AFL in Aus.

With games pulling 25 & 30,000 the players eventually compare themselves with other countries and i would ask this question

(http://www.usgennet.org/usa/mo/county/stlouis/ww1-music/downonthefarm2.jpg)

Post by: the green man on November 25, 2006, 12:22:27 AM
Perhaps a little of topic. If we continue to glorify or county stars what will happen? Since the introduction of the back door, we have beaten Australia once. When will people see that we are dressing up the shop window, and when ye get inside theres f all there. Is not about time that the GAA got back to roots. The Club. After all it's here that the intercounty player will come from. This is not a rant about he Rules series, more against the back door. It may bring in more money, but it's killing our game. Do you not think?
Post by: Turfsmoke on November 25, 2006, 11:52:03 AM
Michael Schmeichel,

Everything on your list is great, each of them intrinsically good, i.e

Improved mileage rates
All inter County players get 2 tickets for ALL ireland finals
Requirement for certain amount of gear to be given to players each season
Grants for third level players
Setting up of benevolent players fund.

Where I have the problem is that the Gaelic Prats Association (and unfortunately others) seem to think it's only elite County players that have some God-given right to these.

If someone can tell me why it's just the word "players"  (meaning county players) and not for instance county and club committee members, referees, managers, coaches, groundsmen, officers, ticket sellers, grass cutters, lotto organisers, Scor participants, linesmen, umpires, players at all levels, fund raisers, jersey washers, sponsors, car drivers, gofers, voluntary workers, those who face the frontline child protection risks and those who guarantee bank loans to list but a few,  that appears in this list of goodies, then I'd like to hear it.

Now that they've got the above list the Prats have pocketed them and want to move on to compensation, grants etc.

Core GAA principles among others  are equity and amateurism. Lose them and what's left isn't GAA.

Post by: magickingdom on December 08, 2006, 01:26:14 PM
paddy collins is the latest county board official to launch into a mindless rant about international rules. doesn't really matter what the players think they should have no say in it. not content with that he then takes a swipe at all Australian sport saying "they take great pride in their various sporting success around the world but show a blantant disregard for even the most basic of sporting principles"  really? someone should call the Austrialian ambassador, the gaa would be better off without muppets like him....
Post by: magpie seanie on December 08, 2006, 01:41:38 PM
I bet he does more for the GAA than the likes of yourself. He is entitled to his opinion. Did he say that it didn't matter what the players thought? Of course not.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on December 08, 2006, 03:13:42 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on December 08, 2006, 01:26:14 PM
the gaa would be better off without muppets like him....
U obviously know nothing about the man, take a redner. From the hoganstand...

QuoteMore calls for end to series
08 December 2006

Two more counties have joined the clamour to have the International Rules series scrapped.

Westmeath secretary Paddy Collins and Tipperary chairman John Costigan have slammed the "thuggery" which marred last month's second test in Croke Park.

"What happened in Croke Park was premeditated thuggery by a group of professional athletes who clearly signposted their intention in the days leading up to the game," Collins said.

The former All-Ireland referee pointed out that his county has repeatedly supported the International Rules concept in the past because it gives players a chance to represent their country but now concludes "that support should no longer be forthcoming."

Collins hits out at the Australians by saying: "It takes great pride in its many sporting achievements in various team sports but many of these are achieved by showing a blatant disregard for even the most basic of sporting principles. Nowhere is this more evident than in their unsporting approach to the Rules series."

Costigan describes the series as "a platform for thuggery and an embarrassment to the GAA."

He added: "It is time the association called a halt. I hope I never again witness scenes like those in the second game in the series."