Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Longfordian on February 12, 2007, 10:31:33 PM

Title: Rome
Post by: Longfordian on February 12, 2007, 10:31:33 PM
Lads looking for a few pointers with regard to Rome .....bringing herself to there this weekend

Flying with Ryanair into Campino ....whats the best way to get into city centre from there .......?

Looking for a reasonably priced hotel close enough to the major attractions ...any recommendations?.....

Title: Re: Rome
Post by: armaghniac on February 12, 2007, 11:35:20 PM
When in Rome do as the Romans do......

One observation about Rome is that the market economy is broken, perhaps owing to Mafia or suchlike. if you go to a vendor near a major site you will pay ridiculous amounts for things, €6 for a can of coke or a €8 ice cream. Walk one block away and you get regular prices. This may be true to some extent in other cities, but in Paris or Madrid you pay 25% more outside the museum, in Rome you'll pay 300% more.

www.venere.it is a good site for Italian hotels.
Post by: Billys Boots on February 13, 2007, 09:37:55 AM
Longfordian, get as central a hotel as possible and walk everywhere.  Pick and choose what you want to see in advance, because you haven't a prayer of seeing nearly everything in a weekend.  Eating out is much cheaper across the river in Trastavere, and easily walkable.  Fantastic city, enjoy! 

I stayed in Hotel fortyseven, Via Luigi Petroselli (http://www.summithotels.com/hotel_horizontal.cfm?id=FCOFS (http://www.summithotels.com/hotel_horizontal.cfm?id=FCOFS)), pricy enough but very close to everything.
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 13, 2007, 10:13:56 AM
someone told me that to get a great restaurant in Rome, you walked a block away from the main thoroughfare and any wee place you see then should be good.
I tried this twice and got better food at half nothing prices in comparison to the mad exp glitzy restaurant we went to one night where the food was no better than the wee side street places.
Trastavere area defo good for cheaper food and drink
Post by: gerrykeegan on February 13, 2007, 10:32:59 AM
As Billy's says pick what you want to see. We stayed in Rome for 5 days last year, and struggled to see it all. Be mindful that the Vatican City museum, where the Sistine Chapel etc is will have long queues. Go very early or very late if you want to save time. (if you see long queues, as in, back to the side of St Peters, then you could be looking at 90 minutes, it requires a minimum of half a day to see it. Climb the Basicilla at St Peters, and also go down to the Popes tomb, JP2's grave is there. I don't think the bus trip is needed, you can walk pretty much everywhere. Kiosks sell public transport bus tickets, You should validate them when you get on, no one does (only the tourists) Its very cheap.
Post by: Tony Fearon on February 13, 2007, 11:20:48 AM
Longfordian.

You could easily walk round the main sights in half a day. Try the Hotel Diplomatic (just across the Tiber, from the Via Del Corso). Its ten minutes either way to the Vatican or Spanish Steps (opposite directions) and is within easy walking distance of the Trevi Fountain, Colisseum etc, Pantheon, Piazza Navona. I was married in the Basilica di San Silvestro in Piazza Di San Silvestro (just of the Via Del Corso, Rome's main street) last September and took the wife to the Hotel Diplomatic on New Years Eve, was amazed at its convenience for all the sights.

You can get a bus from Campiano to Rome's termini for about 14 euro return (journey time about 30 - 40 minutes, and there 2 or 3 every hour) and the tickets can be bought on line or at the airport. The Termini serves both lines on Rome's underground metro which is very easy to use, and also very handy for all the main sights.
Post by: gerrykeegan on February 13, 2007, 12:00:06 PM
Longfordian

Please ignore Mr Fearon. Most of the sites require an entrance fee to be paid, hence he was able to see Rome in half a day.
Post by: Tony Fearon on February 13, 2007, 12:04:26 PM
To see the sights (I never paid to see the Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps etc) would take half a day maximum, to explore them would, I concede, take a while longer. FFS On New Years Eve evening I walked round the lot. ;)
Post by: The Iceman on February 13, 2007, 01:06:49 PM
if you went to see every church in rome it would take you over a year!
The main sights to catch are the Colleseum (sp) Trevi Fountain, Vatican (definitely climb the dome) The holy steps, the relics of the cross.  Now this might sound weird but I promise it will earn you serious brownie points - take your MRS to Assisi by train for the day - its an amazing little town that hasnt changed in years - its well worth the trip!
Post by: Tony Fearon on February 13, 2007, 01:52:35 PM
After tramping round Rome all day and maybe queueing for half an hour to get into St Peter's itself, there's not too many who would have the energy to climb the dome (and maybe having to queue to do so). I last climbed it in 1980 as a young lithe fresh faced student ;D

The Irish College is worth a look.Near St John Lateran's (which is also the Pope's own Cathedral Church as he is also Bishop of Rome) and you can wander in and roam round the gardens and pool. Tony Blair and Cherie actually stayed here once a few years back, and the priest told me when he went up to their room at breakfast time (it was specially rigged at Blairs request with tv sets) Blair as standing admiring himself on the various sets from a range of broadcasters (Sky etc). True story.It was where I stayed on my first ever visit to Rome in 1980, the only downside is that you'r e bound to meet a crowd of aul wans from North or South, and more often than not, you'll meet someone you know.

Post by: Star Spangler on February 13, 2007, 01:58:07 PM
Rome - Ballymun with architecture.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 13, 2007, 02:00:50 PM
Rome is a beautiful city. Well worth doing the Coliseum tour and all that. The Trevi Fountain and Spanish steps, the Sistine Chapel, St. Peter's,

I love Rome, and plan to make many trips there, God willing :D
Post by: gerrykeegan on February 13, 2007, 03:56:05 PM
I climbed that dome last summer. I think the heat and the number of steps took it out of me. I proposed to the future Mrs Keegan! If your single stay away from it.
Post by: believebelive on February 13, 2007, 04:06:46 PM
Some of the lesser known churches are well worth a visit. Santa Maria De Popolo is beautiful.
Me and the missus spent four days there and it was not enough to see all we wanted. Colleseum is staggering and the pantheon is very impressive, both inside and out. To me though St Peters is just unbelievable. The sculpture and art work is amazing, read up on some of the history if you can it will make the whole trip more enjoyable. Plus if you can go and visit JPII grave - I found it very spiritual and I would not be what you would describe a dyed in the wool catholic boy.

Best european city I have ever been too and will def go back lots in the future.
Post by: Star Spangler on February 13, 2007, 04:53:33 PM
While in Rome, you should take the opportunity to view the resting place of the last Earls of Ulster and Gaelic Chiefs of Ireland.  Hugh O'Neill, his son and Rory O'Donnell are buried in the Franciscan church of San Pietro on the Janiculum.
Post by: Longfordian on February 13, 2007, 09:08:15 PM
Lads ...appreciate the tips ..... was talking to a friend tonight .....and he basically told me exactly what you all did .....
not a religious nut by any means ...but really looking forward to St Peters and the Vatican ......
Billy ....had a look at the hotel ....it looks the business ..... a bit pricey ....but you only live once !!!....think i'll book it in the morning ....

Thanks again ....much appreciated ......
Post by: Bogball XV on February 13, 2007, 09:47:29 PM
try www.hotelclub.net, it's great for specifying exactly where in Rome you want to stay.  I'd recommend somewhere near Spanish Steps, as for seeing Rome in half a day, I know somebody who lived there for 6 months and still hadn't done the half of it - without doubt my favourite city in the world - depends what you're into of course, but the sense of history when walking around the forum, colloseum etc gets me every time.  Trastevere is indeed pretty good for a reasonably priced dinner, also for lunch there are chains of italian restaurants such as brek, ciao etc which are very reasonable and the italians themselves all use them (although they use McDonalds more, but would never admit it!!).
Post by: ardal on February 14, 2007, 02:14:55 AM
I think it's already been mentioned, but apparently the Irish college has a ton of interesting stuff (ref TP Coogan)
Post by: Pietas on February 14, 2007, 10:50:16 AM
Quote from: Longfordian on February 12, 2007, 10:31:33 PM
Lads looking for a few pointers with regard to Rome .....bringing herself to there this weekend

Flying with Ryanair into Campino ....whats the best way to get into city centre from there .......?

Looking for a reasonably priced hotel close enough to the major attractions ...any recommendations?.....

I flew into Campino and was very badly ripped off by a taxi driver into the city. Take the train into town.

Make sure you give St Peter's a whole day and also allow a day for the Vatican Museum + Sistine Chapel.

I also did the Colleseum, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain.  Trip was four days and manged to pack a lot in. 

Stayed in the Napoleon, near the Colleseum.  Make sure you also have a look at the Roman Ruins and the big monumnt built by Mussolini near-by.  Cant think what it is called.

Did a couple of other churches too (St John the Latern and Mary Maji).

Excellent trip, winter is best time to go to Rome, not too hot and easy to get around.  Good shopping around Ottoviano.
Post by: Billys Boots on February 14, 2007, 01:16:15 PM
QuoteI flew into Campino and was very badly ripped off by a taxi driver into the city.

So did I, by the way.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 14, 2007, 01:18:02 PM
I think it was Campino I flew into as well. We took the train, and then I think we got a metro to the Coliseum stop.
Post by: gerrykeegan on February 14, 2007, 03:13:50 PM
We flew into DaVinci and got ripped off also.
Post by: maddog on December 06, 2007, 11:26:54 AM
bump

cheers gerry
Post by: The Iceman on December 06, 2007, 02:50:07 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on February 14, 2007, 01:16:15 PM
QuoteI flew into Campino and was very badly ripped off by a taxi driver into the city.

So did I, by the way.

If you fly into Campino go outside the airport and there is a bus for about 3yoyos that takes you to the start of the metro system, from there you can ride anywhere in Rome for about 2 euros.

Ask people when you get there - its simple enough.
Post by: MW on December 06, 2007, 03:03:08 PM
Quote from: Longfordian on February 13, 2007, 09:08:15 PM
not a religious nut by any means ...but really looking forward to St Peters and the Vatican ......

The Vatican museum is fantastic - you could spend days looking at all the artifacts and artwork including many classical an Renaissance masterpieces. Though eventually you may want to go through a bit quicker to get to the Sistine Chapel.

St Peter's basilica is awesome in its scale and beauty. Make sure you go into the crypt where various popes are buried too.

Like Pietas I stayed in Hotel Napoleon, which was within about 15 minutes walking distance of the Colosseum and the Forum. I'd recommend getting a tour of the Colosseum so you know what you're looking at, also means you beat the queues. The Forum is great to walk round if you're into history and imagining everything that took place on that spot.

The Trevi Fountain is worth going to around sunset - it's beautiful and looks very different in daylight and lit up at night.
Post by: maddog on January 14, 2008, 11:22:33 AM
Going on the first of feb for the weekend. The way the flights work out i've effectively 2 whole days to see as much as possible. Looking forward to it all the same. Wonder how bad the crowds would be this time of the year at the Vatican, don't want to waste any time queueing for anything.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 14, 2008, 02:16:41 PM
Quote from: maddog on January 14, 2008, 11:22:33 AM
Going on the first of feb for the weekend. The way the flights work out i've effectively 2 whole days to see as much as possible. Looking forward to it all the same. Wonder how bad the crowds would be this time of the year at the Vatican, don't want to waste any time queueing for anything.

Go early. Did de Vatican on de 2nd, queue to get in, queue to go up the top of the dome, queue to get into de museums, body was wrecked after all that standing...
Post by: heineken_on_tap on April 21, 2008, 06:02:45 PM
Just wondering has anyone else been to Rome and have recommendations for a nice hotel in Rome? Looking for one in a good location i.e. near the main attractions and not too pricey. What area would be best to stay in?
Post by: AN other on April 21, 2008, 07:29:43 PM
I'd easily recommend Hotel Galatea. It's just off Via Nazionale and good value for money. Not exactly a 4 star hotel but it does the job just fine and is in a good central location with the Collsseum, Forum and Palatine hill to the south and everything else to the north. Everywhere is walkable, just make sure you bring sturdy shoes the cobbles are a killer.....
Post by: sail_in on April 22, 2008, 08:48:55 AM
myself and my mate stayed in the Hotel Trilussa Palace during a long weekend in Rome a couple of years ago.  It was billed as a 4* hotel and while there wasn't a thing wrong with it, the room was small and the whole place was basic enough.  I think generally though, hotels in Rome aren't that great (they're in Rome and people are going to go there anyway so they don't really have to be).

It was in a very nice area though - Trastevere which, as mentioned, seems to be where the locals go and you can get some very reasonably priced restaurants.  It's on the same side of the river as the Vatican and on the opposite side from almost everything else, but Rome is a place where you really don't mind walking.  If you walk from there up to the river and across the bridge, shortly on your left hand side is the Campo di Fiori (sp?) which is just a square of bars and restaurants with tables out the front and there's a great atmosphere on weekend nights.  Beware though that the prives can vary dramatically on the square - our round was 2 pints of heineken and we payed everything from E6 to E15. 

There are tourist pub crawls which run on weekend nights too which I would recommend.  One leaves at 9 from the Collesseum Metro stop and it's good enough craic, but the better one gathers at the Spanish Steps at 9 as well.  We went the Saturday night we were there must have been over a hundred people on it.  Great atmosphere - deadly full of yanks though, and that sort of goes for the whole place.

Post by: heineken_on_tap on April 22, 2008, 12:56:09 PM
Cheers lads, will look at them. Thanks.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on December 04, 2017, 03:15:25 PM
This thread is nearly 10 years old, so maybe the old posts are not relevant.

Taking the missus here in April for a few nights. Can anyone recommend  a good hotel? I seen a few near Vatican City that look reasonable. Is that a good location?
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on December 04, 2017, 03:20:28 PM
The greatest city in the world.
Post by: Boycey on December 04, 2017, 03:25:17 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on December 04, 2017, 03:15:25 PM

Taking the missus here in April for a few nights. Can anyone recommend  a good hotel? I seen a few near Vatican City that look reasonable. Is that a good location?

The Vatican City is a little out of the way as regards the sights, restaurants, etc, bar the Vatican obviously :-) but you can walk to central Rome in 20/30 mins and there is a metro station that does the trick either. I can put you in touch with a woman who owns apartments in the centre, they're nothing fancy but cheap, clean and fairly well located.

I'd echo Il Bomber, its a wonderful place I've been 4 times and would go back in the morning..
Post by: Norf Tyrone on December 04, 2017, 03:35:46 PM
Quote from: Boycey on December 04, 2017, 03:25:17 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on December 04, 2017, 03:15:25 PM

The Vatican City is a little out of the way as regards the sights, restaurants, etc, bar the Vatican obviously :-) but you can walk to central Rome in 20/30 mins and there is a metro station that does the trick either. I can put you in touch with a woman who owns apartments in the centre, they're nothing fancy but cheap, clean and fairly well located.

I'd echo Il Bomber, its a wonderful place I've been 4 times and would go back in the morning..

Cheers Boycey. Can you send me a link to that place.
Post by: bannside on December 04, 2017, 04:09:11 PM
Rome is a fantastic city...best place I've ever been to! Been there four times as well.

The last time I just booked with secret escapes. They always have a Rome deal, and you'll get a four star hotel, not too far away from the action, for very reasonable circa €120 euro a night per room.

Rome has busy times and quieter times (seasonal) so that can be a factor. If you can avoid Easter week  the rest of April would be very reasonable.
Post by: T Fearon on December 04, 2017, 04:19:05 PM
Heading to Rome next week,on what is my forty something'th visit (my first was in 1980).Only have time for a one night/two day stay this time.Return flights and overnight hotel with breakfast for the two of us,£160 or £80 each.Once went just for a few hours,back home on the same day,for my birthday a few years ago

Special place for us, as we were married there.Never get tired of it.
Post by: T Fearon on December 04, 2017, 04:24:01 PM
Vatican is walkable as regards the main sights.Cross the river on way back,at bridge overlooked by Castel San't Angelo,its no great walking  distance from there to Piazza Navona, and another short walk to the Pantheon,and from there on up to Via Corso,from which you can easily access the Trevi,Colosseum etc.Suppose it does help if you know your way around.
Post by: AhNowRef on December 04, 2017, 04:33:04 PM
One of the most, if not "the most" jaw dropping places Ive ever been is St Peters Basilica ... incredible altogether,,  definitely dont miss it whatever you do...

Rome is just fantastic, as are the people... ....  watch the roads though, the feckers would drive over you and then stick her in reverse just to make sure  :-\ ...
Post by: manfromdelmonte on December 04, 2017, 05:29:31 PM
Quote from: AhNowRef on December 04, 2017, 04:33:04 PM
One of the most, if not "the most" jaw dropping places Ive ever been is St Peters Basilica ... incredible altogether,,  definitely dont miss it whatever you do...

Rome is just fantastic, as are the people... ....  watch the roads though, the feckers would drive over you and then stick her in reverse just to make sure  :-\ ...

Dougael: an audience with the Pope? I love those programs
Post by: T Fearon on December 13, 2017, 11:49:03 AM
Hugely privileged to attend mass celebrated by Pope Francis in St.Peter's Basilica last night.Not quite the million strong congregation at my previous Papal Mass in Phoenix Park in 1979.