GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Applesisapples on June 13, 2011, 05:21:27 PM

Title: Abuse of GAA people on Discussion Boards
Post by: Applesisapples on June 13, 2011, 05:21:27 PM
Forgive me if this thread has been started before, but in light of the recent press focus on people hiding behind lap tops and dishing out abuse I thought I'd give my tu'ppence.

I read with dismay some of the personal abuse dished out to a couple of named football refs in Armagh on the Armagh Forum. Some very nasty stuff went unchallenged. This in my opinion is wrong and defeats the purpose of forums such as these which is to generate debate. It is in my opinion legimate to debate who or what went well for your team in a particular match or who should or shouldn't start in the run up. I didn't see anything abusive on this site about John Clarke other than some Down fans saying that in there opinion he was a good club footballer but lacked a little for the county. Is this unfair? I don't think so.
Title: Re: Abuse of GAA people on Discussion Boards
Post by: haranguerer on June 13, 2011, 08:06:43 PM
f**k up
Post by: Orior on June 13, 2011, 08:56:54 PM
A fair point Apples.

I like to think I dont criticise anyone personally, particularly as they would always be 100 times better fottballer than I ever was. When it comes to picking teams and being the "amateur manager" we're always gonna pick one player over another, and often give reasons why.

The key difference between us amateurs and real managers is that real managers dont publish their reasons. That can be difficult for some players but no different from the abuse players get from their opponents or the fans in the stand.

I like the story of the corner forward who hits the back of the net and then jogs back to his marker and taunts "I thought you were marking me?"
Post by: Applesisapples on June 14, 2011, 09:54:35 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on June 13, 2011, 08:06:43 PM
f**k up
This constitutes abuse, if you don't like the thread stay off it. ;)
Post by: DuffleKing on June 14, 2011, 11:18:59 AM
Irony my dear fellow
Post by: micka the dub on June 14, 2011, 06:37:15 PM
im all for it.how else would i tell martin mchugh he is a complete spacer
Post by: ck on June 14, 2011, 07:47:27 PM
Personally I believe that if you are a manager or player of a certain profile then you are up there to be shot at. If someone thinks they arent good enough or their decisions are questioned, SO WHAT? It's freedom of speech. Stop being so bloody over sensitive. Sport is all about discussion, talking points, errors, mistakes, moments of greatness. It's what makes it sport.

Jim McGuinness replied directly to his critics on Sunday night on the Sunday game. Fair play to him. Right to reply an all that. But what I didnt like was his view that pundits showed his team and players no respect by slagging them off. He missed the fact that he had not earned any respect in the first place by playing puke football. Once he/Donegal start playing positively and actually beat a team of note then maybe he will get respect.

Long live freedom of speech and debate. It's what makes life/sport interesting!
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on June 14, 2011, 09:06:21 PM
Don't mind gaa boards abusing players, did anyone hear Michael Duignan on Radio 1 this eveinnig talking about Offaly footballers.  :D
Post by: ziggysego on June 14, 2011, 10:53:54 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on June 14, 2011, 11:18:59 AM
Irony my dear fellow

How ironic.
Post by: mackers on June 15, 2011, 10:22:21 AM
What about the abuse of discussion boards by GAA people?
I see the discussion boards got another touch in this morning's Irish News with Benny Tierney having a go. I am a big fan of Benny's who brings an excellent sense of humour to everything he does whether that be his weekly article in the Irish News or his after dinner speeches, but after reading his article this morning I'm wondering which discussion boards he is referring to. He states that nobody on these discussion boards has anything positive to say. That's a huge generalisation and unfair to posters on this board in particluar (I don't really read any other GAA discussion boards).
Yes there are a few negative comments made by numpties on here but to suggest that there are NO postive comments on here is unfair. I presume Benny doesn't read this board or else he is talking about other boards.
Post by: rrhf on June 15, 2011, 10:43:04 AM
Bear in mind all media is competing at the moment.  Message boards are reducing paper sales
Post by: Radda bout yeee on June 15, 2011, 01:36:33 PM
Quote from: rrhf on June 15, 2011, 10:43:04 AM
Bear in mind all media is competing at the moment.  Message boards are reducing paper sales

Agreed! I think there's a collective effort by media to combat this and Benny is just another media monkey doing what he's told!
Post by: Applesisapples on June 15, 2011, 02:12:52 PM
I don't think thats the case. Some posts do cross the line and some posters resort to abuse of players, officials and other posters when stuck for a reply.
Post by: mackers on June 15, 2011, 03:29:28 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on June 15, 2011, 02:12:52 PM
I don't think thats the case. Some posts do cross the line and some posters resort to abuse of players, officials and other posters when stuck for a reply.
Nobody would really argue with that apples but it's unfair of Benny Tierney to state that there are NO positive things posted on these boards. He finished his article off by congratulating Paul McCormack on getting to an Ulster SHC final and said that you wouldn't find that on a discussion board because it was too positive!!
Post by: Applesisapples on June 15, 2011, 03:56:55 PM
Quote from: mackers on June 15, 2011, 03:29:28 PM
Nobody would really argue with that apples but it's unfair of Benny Tierney to state that there are NO positive things posted on these boards. He finished his article off by congratulating Paul McCormack on getting to an Ulster SHC final and said that you wouldn't find that on a discussion board because it was too positive!!
I don't take Benny too seriously, and he will be pro player given his history. Where I would take him to task though is on his assertion that posters don't contribute to the GAA. I will have given 4 nights this week to my club and would have been 5 only the wife threaten me with divorce. I have no doubt that there are some on here who don't give anything back but that's not everyone.
Post by: ck on June 15, 2011, 03:57:18 PM
I think its fair to say that discussion boards do promote views that sail close to the wind but I can honestly say that I have never read a really negative personal attack on any player. There are threads which questions managers but as I said before, SO WHAT! You get that in all sports. The day that people stop discussing these points is the same day there will be no supporters in the stands!!

Wise up Benny! Debate and freedom of speech is a good thing. The fact that there are these pages means that the GAA is thriving. See it as a positive and not see it in a negative light... the same negative light you are saying you don't like!
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 15, 2011, 07:07:04 PM
Quote from: mackers on June 15, 2011, 03:29:28 PM
Wasn't it Benny who kicked up a fuss a couple of years ago over orchard county having a poll on whether mcdonnell should be dropped. 

What these boys need to realise is that what is being said on boards like this is the same thing being said in pubs or clubs, on the way home in the car or on the way out the gate etc. (and probably much worse being said) No, some of them mighten like what's being said about them but the only difference is that it is available to them. If everyone here was privy to every conversation about them they wouldn't be happy with some of the stuff being said either. That's life. This mad oul teacher we had at school use to say "it's none of your business what anyone else thinks of you" - she was right!

Btw, as someone else alluded to these boys yapping are only concerned with the fact that boards like this are replacing their articles and reports. I know I don't look at a paper for a match report any more I will read what's on here and there's others who have said the same in the past.
Post by: ONeill on June 15, 2011, 07:15:42 PM
Let me ask you boys this. Would you be prepared to put your name after posts which criticise others? If not, why not? I've had 2 phonecalls over posts I've put up here in the last 2 years and I've been happy to defend them.
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 15, 2011, 07:37:44 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 15, 2011, 07:15:42 PM
Let me ask you boys this. Would you be prepared to put your name after posts which criticise others? If not, why not? I've had 2 phonecalls over posts I've put up here in the last 2 years and I've been happy to defend them.
If you're asking would you put your name on here then no I wouldn't because there's a lot of unstable weirdos out there.
Would I have an issue saying to someone what I've said on here about them, generally not and my only reservations would be that I'd insult them although for a good while now I keep in mind that the person I'm posting about might be reading.
For instance in the past I might come on and say so and so was f**king shit today, useless, should have been taken off after 20 minutes. Would I want to say that to the players face, no, not because I'm hiding behind a keyboard but because I'm sure they'd feel shit enough about their performance without me adding to it.
Post by: ck on June 15, 2011, 07:47:06 PM

No I wouldnt be prepared to leave my name but am happy to defend anything I say on here. Any comment I leave on here is exactly what I think. If I had to put my name to it then I would automatically hold back in case of offending.Thats why I enjoy this forum, cos you get 100% honesty and no diluted waffle that you see in the papers. Surely thats the attraction of boards?
As for Bennys assertions that people on these threads dont contribute to their clubs. How the hell does he know that. Pure sh*t talk! I for one coach and manage under age teams and am presently a club minor manager. Put that in you cake hole Benny.
Granted, there is plenty of sh*te talk ON these pages but there is a whole lot more sh*te talk ABOUT these pages.. mainly in the Irish News.
ps: I know of at least one journalist who is a regular on here. He says that its how he keeps in touch with the hearts and minds of fans.
Post by: Minder on June 15, 2011, 08:17:08 PM
As regards posting anonymously, well who would put their name for public consumption when you see what somebody did to Fearon a few years ago, when they posted a photo of his wife, or sister, same person anyway. Especially with the amount of information people unwittingly share on platforms such as Facebook, it wouldnt be hard for people to plaster all sorts about you on here. I cant see why anyone wouldnt stand over what they say here as i would imagine it is their opinion, so they are entitled to it no matter what someone like Benny Tierney thinks.

How exactly does Tierney think that posters here do not contribute anything to their club? Has he unmasked a load of posters and followed the good for nothing wastrels about? I think Pints wasnt too far from the mark when he said about forums such as this replacing the inane nonsense that these columnists serve up on a daily basis. Oh and as for Benny Tierney being funny, people should get out more.
Post by: ogshead on June 15, 2011, 08:25:10 PM
I have always thought Benny was a bit of a dick...  ;D
Post by: ONeill on June 15, 2011, 08:42:37 PM
Don't buy that anonymous stuff atall. Fearon would've received abuse through his letter writing alone. As for the photo, Tony actually directed people to the photo in a paper initially.

The reason why pseudonyms are used is because it allows people to criticise behind a cloak. Personally I don't mind that but I think people should be man enough to use their own names if called to task over a comment. Discussion boards allow people to be the person they would like to be instead of who they are.

If people are honest about themselves they'll admit to being slightly afraid of what others would think of them in their own locality etc for posting on a board or for being vocal about certain issues. It's a form of cowardice but I suppose it's what makes these boards tick.
Post by: heganboy on June 15, 2011, 08:43:45 PM
i would like to take this opportunity to say that not only is Benny a very smart guy, but also great craic, particularly if you can involve cigars and mullaghbawn club bar in any discussion.

that's pretty positive right?

also I contribute to my club, though whether the rest of the members think that is positive i'm not sure- there were definitely positive  comments when I was playing. Well mostly positive, actually maybe just a few positive - thanks QZ, Flappy, Charlie and Jonah, love ya. And Mum, Dad not so much...
Post by: Minder on June 15, 2011, 08:48:33 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 15, 2011, 08:42:37 PM
Don't buy that anonymous stuff atall. Fearon would've received abuse through his letter writing alone. As for the photo, Tony actually directed people to the photo in a paper initially.

The reason why pseudonyms are used is because it allows people to criticise behind a cloak. Personally I don't mind that but I think people should be man enough to use their own names if called to task over a comment. Discussion boards allow people to be the person they would like to be instead of who they are.

If people are honest about themselves they'll admit to being slightly afraid of what others would think of them in their own locality etc for posting on a board or for being vocal about certain issues. It's a form of cowardice but I suppose it's what makes these boards tick.

So would you be happy with some headbanger on here posting something about your family members or children if they took a twisted dislike to you?
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 15, 2011, 08:53:19 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 15, 2011, 08:48:33 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 15, 2011, 08:42:37 PM

So would you be happy with some headbanger on here posting something about your family members or children if they took a twisted dislike to you?
Or turning up at your place of work to challenge you about something you posted?
Post by: ONeill on June 15, 2011, 09:08:39 PM
Someone managed to get my mobile number (still don't know how) over an issue about the GPA. I was happy to defend my position. They don't post on here. I'm sure there are others who bear grudges but again I'm happy to defend myself or hold my hands up. There are a good few on here who are well known in terms of facebook or twitter accounts. If others wanted to post photos from these etc well then the mods are active.   

I'm not calling for people to use their names. I just hope people post things they're prepared to say in person.
Post by: thewobbler on June 15, 2011, 09:25:41 PM
Agree fully with you O'Neill.

I don't hide my identity on here, and never post anything I wouldn't say openly in
the real world. The two things do seem to be related in most cases. I'm sure you'd find that the most slanderous of our brethren are the ones hiding the most.
Post by: ck on June 15, 2011, 09:41:42 PM
Then why don't you? Why don't you put your names up instead of anonymous names?
My anonymous name "ck" are my initials. But thats as far as I am prepared to go. Take away the anonimity from this site and you will hear the tumbleweed.
Don't let a bubbly brilliant but overfed Armagh keeper convince you that anonymous views are bad.
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 15, 2011, 09:57:26 PM

How many usernames do you have though?
Post by: ONeill on June 15, 2011, 10:02:04 PM
Any other username is non-confrontational and deals with the surreal. And pretty obvious. If I had any others.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 15, 2011, 10:08:13 PM
Benny is having a laugh!! he criticises people or has views, good or bad on things every week!!

As some have said already, I've no problem (and most know who I am) telling people what I think, rightly or wrongly (sam ;)).

If they keep giving off about this then they will only give it more attention and more people will join discussion boards to see what the craic is!! daft or what??

Post by: Tony Baloney on June 15, 2011, 11:01:15 PM
O'Neill why on earth would someone call you about your opinion on the GPA? You aren't the type to overtly insult someone so surely you are entitled to express an opinion.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion but there is a line between opinion and insult, calling someone a cheat etc.

Edit: Benny is a ballbag. ;D
Post by: ONeill on June 15, 2011, 11:26:32 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 15, 2011, 11:01:15 PM
O'Neill why on earth would someone call you about your opinion on the GPA? You aren't the type to overtly insult someone so surely you are entitled to express an opinion.

It was calmly argued by the offended that I had deliberately misinterpreted their article that appeared in the press. I wasn't over perturbed and didn't ask how my mobile number was obtained.

Benny's article is littered with flaws but what would you expect from an overweight Mullaghbawn ginger master.
Post by: ziggysego on June 16, 2011, 12:30:20 AM
Well everyone knows who I am. I was spotted in Team Talk once and someone on here put 2 and 2 together and guessed it was me. Haven't really hid who I was since that.

ONeill actually has a point, people are who they want to be here. I'm actually much much shyer and timid mate face-to-face.

Guess my point is, I stand everything I say here. Not that I say a lot (that is of any interest anyway).
Post by: tyssam5 on June 16, 2011, 12:48:44 AM
I am tired of the abuse of discussion boards by 'GAA people'.
Post by: heganboy on June 16, 2011, 01:19:16 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 16, 2011, 12:30:20 AM
I'm actually much much shyer and timid mate face-to-face.

Aye- with men maybe....

schmoozer!
Post by: oakleafgael on June 16, 2011, 09:01:31 AM

I post regularly on another forum where all posters have to post under their real name. It works fine and hasnt cut back on the level of debate at all.
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 16, 2011, 10:29:56 AM
So, thusfar on this thread, we have one poster playing the surreal / I wasn't being serious card and another who has form for playing the bard of dunclug card (someone hacked into my account).

This is one reason why anonymity is important and negates their "I can stand over everything I posted" crap.

Another reason (and people have alluded to it already) is the issue of posting during work time. The owc visit to Fearon's workplace (coupled with numerous postcards being sent) may be the extreme ( I don't particularly want them to know mine), but posters could get into trouble at work for the amount of time they spend on here. There are some small people who post on discussion boards, who lack both the intellectual and emotional maturity to survive in this unforgiving environment; when they reveal personal information about other posters, they forfeit any standing they have on the board.

Anyone who posts or lurks on this board is a valid target for acerbic comment.

The problem is not with the more prolific posters on the board - most operate within well understood boundaries. Indeed there are very few major issues with this board that I can see.

John Clark, a reasonable player, but there are many better than him.

I have never found Benny Tierney in anyway funny.

Another class over, I'm away for a coffee.
Post by: mackers on June 16, 2011, 10:44:22 AM
And it continues...........
Donal Murtagh condemns the internet discussion boards in today's Irish News......he is giving off about the criticism of POR on these boards.  Suppose in some ways it is a valid point but it also misses a very important one. Yes there were negative comments put on the board about POR but a good number also supported POR..........you'd swear we did NOTHING but slag GAA people off on here. We are GAA people DISCUSSING GAA........the majority of whom spend a lot of their time giving up their voluntary time for the GAA......
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 16, 2011, 10:46:47 AM
Benny's a hoot, how would he know what's posted on d'internet, they don't have it up his road yet :D 

But seriously, I am with O'Neill and the wobbly man to a point.  I am happy to stand over anything I say and have been challenged/approached by numerous people over the years in a positive and not so positive fashion about stuff that has been posted on here.  I still though believe that people should stay anonymous but be careful in what they post.  They can post on here something that they would only say with 10 pints in them, that doesn't mean they should.

Anyway, if it wasn't for discussion boards many journalists would be scrambling for stories!
Post by: Fuzzman on June 16, 2011, 11:02:36 AM
A few very interested and well made points on this topic.

I've never tried to hide my identity on here and most people who know me know I post on here.
However, I have to agree with O'Neill's point that maybe I'm comfortable with that because I live in Dublin and not at home in my own little parish with my fellow club mates. I notice this when I PM other Tyrone lads on here that some are very reluctant to say who they are even though I wouldn't know them from Adam mainly cos they are still an active club member at home.

Personally I try to always post fairly and not get to personal about stuff. The odd time I get pissed off how overly loyal a certain manager is to his "favourite" players but I think we're all entitled to have our view.
As someone said I find the board enjoyable as its like a larger version of pre & post match analysis in the pub but the main difference is that the person or persons that are the subject of our chat can, if they wish, come online and read what's being said of them.
Whereas if you were slating someone in the pub for having a poor game and that player then came into the pub, you'd probably shut up and not be so rude as to tell it to his face.

I think most players & managers etc have the sense not to come on boards and read what's being said about them. Of course some will do that and some will get very upset about what's written.
I can see why players & managers etc would get defensive about the whole thing and want it all banned but to me if its regulated correctly then there is more good to be had from discussion boards than bad.

Did any of ye see the chat last week on that great Committee room program between the lads about Twitter. MJ Tierney says he was amazed by the reaction his statement got but he would continue to tweet. I think the other lads thought he was mad.

Is there an element of people who don't use the internet that much are a bit put off by its power.
Its one thing for a player to have a nightmare game and suspect everyone in the pub is chatting about him afterwards. But for him to be able to read it or what's happening lately, read in the paper what was said on the discussion boards. Maybe if it wasn't for the papers and TV programmes, half the players wouldn't even know they were being discussed.
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 16, 2011, 11:30:24 AM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on June 16, 2011, 10:29:56 AM
So, thusfar on this thread, we have one poster playing the surreal / I wasn't being serious card and another who has form for playing the bard of dunclug card (someone hacked into my account).
This is one reason why anonymity is important and negates their "I can stand over everything I posted" crap.
Another reason (and people have alluded to it already) is the issue of posting during work time. The owc visit to Fearon's workplace (coupled with numerous postcards being sent) may be the extreme ( I don't particularly want them to know mine), but posters could get into trouble at work for the amount of time they spend on here. There are some small people who post on discussion boards, who lack both the intellectual and emotional maturity to survive in this unforgiving environment; when they reveal personal information about other posters, they forfeit any standing they have on the board.
The problem is not with the more prolific posters on the board - most operate within well understood boundaries. Indeed there are very few major issues with this board that I can see.
John Clark, a reasonable player, but there are many better than him.
I have never found Benny Tierney in anyway funny.
Another class over, I'm away for a coffee.
its back to the old 'manners' problem again. Too may people abuse the internet and dont observe normal propper maners when writing stuff on internet forums (and email).
In real life, I'm actually prob even worse than onhere. I have spoke my mind to several players/managers who I thought were doing something wrong/ringing the GAA into disrepute (eg a former Dublin player was managing a club team and when unhappy with a result, had brought the matter to the courts - I told him that I felt this was disgraceful behavour and not within GAA ethos - he didnt know what to say, I still see him and say hello to him as he lives in the same area).
If you wouldnt say it to someones face, you shouldnt write it on here.
This is not the same as a couple of lads having a half drunken bitching session about some player 'who is useless' - but in terms of ability would be better than the few detractors put together ! No player goes ou to play badly, most players are better than most of us on here.
Post by: Sandino on June 16, 2011, 01:07:18 PM
I have read the entire thread and there have been some well made points right across the discussion. For what it's worth here are my own thoughts.
I feel that the main reasons why these negative articles are appearing in newspapers is as others have said, because many people now use discussion boards to obtain the latest news. This is hurting newspapers, the Irish News in particular. I would never consider buying a newspaper to read about the GAA. I use discussion boards and the Teamtalk website.
I don't agree for one moment that discussions on here are like idle chats in the pub after a match. Seldom do the family of a player be privy to the ridicule the player may receive after a game. However what I really think is wrong, is when the criticism is of the person and not the player. Some high profile GAA members are subjected to some fierce personal ridicule. I seriously doubt that the main offenders would repeat some of the personal insults to the victims' faces and not because of the 'fear of offending them' either.
The people who post most the most vitriol of a personal nature would be least likely to post under their own name IMHO.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 16, 2011, 04:07:18 PM
I was out last saturday night in Sligo and 2 men i dont know called me Sligonian, one shook my hand, the other was just shouting not aggresively but pointing. Ive known for a few yrs and accepted that everyone in Sligo knows my identity. So tbh i always say things on here that i would stand by, i have made mistakes too and apologised but 98% of my posts i believe are sound.

Last yr a parent of Sligo county footbaler called to the door, didnt want to speak to me but my Dad, Im 29 btw, but he wanted to shut me up, i came to the door anyway, and this man was angry very angry and threatening all sorts, i said to his face what i thought, i said imo your son isnt intercounty standard and that i never said anything personal about him. He said i did. I told him to why if i affect your son so much does he read what i say. He said he doesnt, but his friends do and wind him up. Now i dont know what this fellas friends were saying to him, could of been exagerrating my words. He told me not to mention his son ever again and that his son nearly lost his mind. I said if it affects him that much i wont say anything about him. My Dad agreed with what i said and we both were angered by this approach especially as this man didnt want to talk to me and involved my Dad.

I felt bad after the encounter, but first thing i did was check back on all the things i said about this lad, none of it was personal, all football related, and i even blamed the management for picking and said its not his fault hes not good enough. I dunno what his firends said to him nor do i feel responsible.. This lad is obviously very sensitive and cant handle criticism at all so he needs protection, im not sure intercounty is for him though as i suspect in future someone else may criticise him. It was never my intention to have such a negative impact on a player.

Its a tricky issue, i work in construction so i developed a thick skin early on, and criticism and pointing out my mistakes made me better at my job, i bring the same approach to football but its not all criticism there plenty of encouragement aswell, i feel however too many county players are wrapped in cotton wool by the people around them and it does them no favours. You only have to look at the mentality of Sligo footballers at present, not near tough enough mentally imo.. Too many yes men is never a good thing, and i was never one of these people, it does isolate you but i think deep down you get more respect from people. I agree that no player goes out to lose, but some players are lazy and workrate imo is fair game to criticise but you better be right.

Ive stopped posting on Hoganstand last 6 months, my post regarding Sligo on here are fewer by the day and i will eventually stop. I have aspirations of coaching and i know i wont get roles if im on here or anywhere.

Everyone is watching, parents, players, coaches, managers, County Board etc.. they all read my posts and everyone knows me so it leaves me vunerable. The other side of the coin too is our posts or opinions arent 100% reflection on us as poeple and certainly a few mistaken words shouldnt be held against you for eternity. Players coming on here for ego graitification only to find criticism maybe hit hardest but i have little sympathy tbh. Our opinions change aswell and i hope any Sligo player proves me wrong aswell if i dont rate them. But definitly after last yrs incident i would be more aware of how it affect some players and ive stopped my analysis of games in public more to with my future involvement in coaching than anything else. No man can say i hide behing my keyboard, no man. But its clear all the above dont want to be talked about or people to have opinions (UNLESS YOUR SAYING HOW GREAT THEY ARE), they obviously want yes men and to wrapped in cotton wool all there live which i find sad. Someone once said to me that your honesty will get you nowhere, and hes right, if i tell people what they want to hear for the rest of life i'll go places, how sad that is though. Deep down i hope Most respect Honesty.

Isnt ironic though that based on my opinion on football matters i get personal abuse but thats ok. Im a sc**bag, rat, weasal, evil, becuase i dont think so and so is good enough for Sligo.
Post by: Minder on June 16, 2011, 04:14:03 PM
What's this bastards name Sligonian and we will start a famous  Gaa Board campaign against him
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 16, 2011, 04:17:23 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 16, 2011, 04:14:03 PM
What's this b**tards name Sligonian and we will start a famous  Gaa Board campaign against him
Thanks Minder but I dont want another knock on my door... ;)
Post by: Groucho on June 16, 2011, 04:49:02 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 16, 2011, 04:17:23 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 16, 2011, 04:14:03 PM
What's this b**tards name Sligonian and we will start a famous  Gaa Board campaign against him
Thanks Minder but I dont want another knock on my door... ;)

Not be too long now till you take over from Kevin Walsh :D
Post by: redandblack4ever on June 16, 2011, 05:00:21 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 16, 2011, 04:07:18 PM
I was out last saturday night in Sligo and 2 men i dont know called me Sligonian, one shook my hand, the other was just shouting not aggresively but pointing. Ive known for a few yrs and accepted that everyone in Sligo knows my identity. So tbh i always say things on here that i would stand by, i have made mistakes too and apologised but 98% of my posts i believe are sound.

Last yr a parent of Sligo county footbaler called to the door, didnt want to speak to me but my Dad, Im 29 btw, but he wanted to shut me up, i came to the door anyway, and this man was angry very angry and threatening all sorts, i said to his face what i thought, i said imo your son isnt intercounty standard and that i never said anything personal about him. He said i did. I told him to why if i affect your son so much does he read what i say. He said he doesnt, but his friends do and wind him up. Now i dont know what this fellas friends were saying to him, could of been exagerrating my words. He told me not to mention his son ever again and that his son nearly lost his mind. I said if it affects him that much i wont say anything about him. My Dad agreed with what i said and we both were angered by this approach especially as this man didnt want to talk to me and involved my Dad.

I felt bad after the encounter, but first thing i did was check back on all the things i said about this lad, none of it was personal, all football related, and i even blamed the management for picking and said its not his fault hes not good enough. I dunno what his firends said to him nor do i feel responsible.. This lad is obviously very sensitive and cant handle criticism at all so he needs protection, im not sure intercounty is for him though as i suspect in future someone else may criticise him. It was never my intention to have such a negative impact on a player.

Its a tricky issue, i work in construction so i developed a thick skin early on, and criticism and pointing out my mistakes made me better at my job, i bring the same approach to football but its not all criticism there plenty of encouragement aswell, i feel however too many county players are wrapped in cotton wool by the people around them and it does them no favours. You only have to look at the mentality of Sligo footballers at present, not near tough enough mentally imo.. Too many yes men is never a good thing, and i was never one of these people, it does isolate you but i think deep down you get more respect from people. I agree that no player goes out to lose, but some players are lazy and workrate imo is fair game to criticise but you better be right.

Ive stopped posting on Hoganstand last 6 months, my post regarding Sligo on here are fewer by the day and i will eventually stop. I have aspirations of coaching and i know i wont get roles if im on here or anywhere.

Everyone is watching, parents, players, coaches, managers, County Board etc.. they all read my posts and everyone knows me so it leaves me vunerable. The other side of the coin too is our posts or opinions arent 100% reflection on us as poeple and certainly a few mistaken words shouldnt be held against you for eternity. Players coming on here for ego graitification only to find criticism maybe hit hardest but i have little sympathy tbh. Our opinions change aswell and i hope any Sligo player proves me wrong aswell if i dont rate them. But definitly after last yrs incident i would be more aware of how it affect some players and ive stopped my analysis of games in public more to with my future involvement in coaching than anything else. No man can say i hide behing my keyboard, no man. But its clear all the above dont want to be talked about or people to have opinions (UNLESS YOUR SAYING HOW GREAT THEY ARE), they obviously want yes men and to wrapped in cotton wool all there live which i find sad. Someone once said to me that your honesty will get you nowhere, and hes right, if i tell people what they want to hear for the rest of life i'll go places, how sad that is though. Deep down i hope Most respect Honesty.

Isnt ironic though that based on my opinion on football matters i get personal abuse but thats ok. Im a sc**bag, rat, weasal, evil, becuase i dont think so and so is good enough for Sligo.

Well said Sligonian. It's the truth, honesty will get you nowhere. Been there, done that.

I think most of the posters on this board are pretty much right on the money when it comes to their opinions, with a few exceptions. The bottom line is that if you play hurling or football for your respective county, grow up and develop a thick skin. If someone makes a comment that bothers you don't go blaming the discussion board it came from whether it be this one or that joke of a one on Hoganstand. Take a honest look at your performance in question and then make up your mind if it was warranted or not. We're paying supporters of the GAA and we are entitled to our opinions, negative or positive.

Mrs. redandblack4ever
Post by: Overthebar! on June 16, 2011, 05:30:52 PM
Seems to be a real agenda in the Irish News against internet forums at the minute. when they are talking about discussion boards do you think they are predominately talking about on here or hoganstand etc? Would agree that most of them would be stuck for stories without the board and some of the sweeping generalisations made are ludicrous.   
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 16, 2011, 06:03:22 PM
Quote from: Overthebar! on June 16, 2011, 05:30:52 PM
Seems to be a real agenda in the Irish News against internet forums at the minute. when they are talking about discussion boards do you think they are predominately talking about on here or hoganstand etc? Would agree that most of them would be stuck for stories without the board and some of the sweeping generalisations made are ludicrous.

Ther irony of that is that there are 2 journalists who do a lot of work with the Irish News have been regular posters on here and on other boards over the years and have made many good contacts as a result which has helped them significantly in their career development.  One is staff there I think and one is a free lancer who does a lot of southern games.  We all suspect that the likes of Heaney and Archer look in here and probably are posters but they can't have it both ways. 

The other thing is in regards to people who are giving out about the criticism, if they don't like it why read it or pay any attention to it!!!  If there is something on the TV you switch channel, the thing about all discussion boards is you have to bother your arse to actually follow up what is written.  People must love seeing their name in print or something for them to keep going back to the chat room!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 16, 2011, 10:19:05 PM
Again, the board seems to be giving them something to write in their papers.

Besides the Hogan Stand what other sites would be as general as this?

I've been on the Cork forum (Rebels) and the Kilkenny Cats site (which is very good) I would rate the Rebel one to a bit over the top and can get a bit nasty.

On another note

If I worked for the public sector and was hooked up to the internet on discussion boards all day I'd expect tax payers to be up in arms about how their hard earned money was being wasted  ;D ;D
Post by: ross matt on June 16, 2011, 10:35:49 PM
First of all I think that this discussion board is extremely well moderated in the sense that strong opinions on players/managers/officals/matches are allowed without it straying in to personal abuse. On top of that there are alot of interesting posts from intelligent gaa people who have a great passion and respect for the games. I sense that most that contribute here have or still do play/coach/manage/officiate/support etc so their opinions are well earned.

However its important to remember that a significant number of inter county gaa players are either still in or not long left college. Others hold down demanding jobs and an ever decreasing few are married with young families. (For instance I'm almost certain that when Kevin Walsh won his 3rd allstar with Galway he had 4 if not 5 young kids which made his achievement even more worthy).

The point is they make huge sacrificies in their social, family and work lives. Yes its their choice but at the same time it must be remembered that they wouldnt be denying themselves lifestyle and career opportunities plus unless they intended giving of their best when they pull on  a county jersey and take to the pitch. I think that should be remembered when their performances are criticised. Many of them do read these boards or are informed of them via friends and relatives. So if they're already lacking confidence and playing badly then the criiticism doesnt help.

That being said (to echo Sligonian) if the criticism is valid and not personalised then if they play badly and someone comments on it here its probably tough to take but fair at the same time. Personally what I cant stand is if the info posted comments on their social or personal life or reports on rumours of business troubles or hassle with the law or whatever. That should be removed immediately if posted but again it rarely occurs on this site.

HS is a different matter altogether. Juvenile and poor quality posting with no credibility. No intercounty player should pay a blind bit of heed to it.

I assume the recent increase in flak towards these boards are a result of John Clarke's reasons for retiring. But many have jumped on the bandwagon. With the greatest display ever of irony unawareness David Brady (newstalk last week) blasted players who are obsessed with the media in general. He never bothered with any of it he said because he was too busy playing ::)!
Post by: Lar Naparka on June 17, 2011, 11:09:18 AM

Well put, Sligonian; it's obvious that you are both sincere in your beliefs and 100% dedicated to the Sligo cause. But then, most on here know that anyway and have known this since you first started posting here.
I've no doubt that you have the potential to become a great coach and motivator somewhere, sometime.
However, on aspect of the above post puzzles me.
As you put it:
No man can say i hide behing my keyboard, no man
To me, that means you want people to know who you are and are ready to defend your opinions against all comers.
So why then do you bother to use your screen name and not post under your own name?
It certainly seems to me that you want people to know who you are and at the same time, you object to people giving their objective opinions about what you post.

As saffron sam 2 succinctly puts it:

Now, you know I'm not being personal here when I say that you don't seem to realise that you are seeking to deny to others the rights you claim for yourself.
Put it this way; you post something that is critical of some player  and feel you are entitled to do so because you are expressing your personal opinions and should be entitled to do so.
Someone else either reads you post or, worse still, hears about it from somebody who probably adds to it in passing it on.
So:
Don't forget that many people won't see what you post as objective and valid criticism. It will come across to them as personal attacks on the players in question. Once you  put them up, your views become public property  and many people don't really understand the nature of Internet forums. You might as well have posted it in the Sligo Champion as they will see it.
If you really, really want to epress your personal opinions, you might consider posting under a different pseudonym and this time don't pass your identity about. Either that or post under your real name.
Right now, you have seem to have the worst of both worlds.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 17, 2011, 12:14:56 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on June 17, 2011, 11:09:18 AM

Well put, Sligonian; it's obvious that you are both sincere in your beliefs and 100% dedicated to the Sligo cause. But then, most on here know that anyway and have known this since you first started posting here.
I've no doubt that you have the potential to become a great coach and motivator somewhere, sometime.
However, on aspect of the above post puzzles me.
As you put it:
No man can say i hide behing my keyboard, no man
To me, that means you want people to know who you are and are ready to defend your opinions against all comers.
So why then do you bother to use your screen name and not post under your own name?
It certainly seems to me that you want people to know who you are and at the same time, you object to people giving their objective opinions about what you post.

As saffron sam 2 succinctly puts it:

Now, you know I'm not being personal here when I say that you don't seem to realise that you are seeking to deny to others the rights you claim for yourself.
Put it this way; you post something that is critical of some player  and feel you are entitled to do so because you are expressing your personal opinions and should be entitled to do so.
Someone else either reads you post or, worse still, hears about it from somebody who probably adds to it in passing it on.
So:
Don't forget that many people won't see what you post as objective and valid criticism. It will come across to them as personal attacks on the players in question. Once you  put them up, your views become public property  and many people don't really understand the nature of Internet forums. You might as well have posted it in the Sligo Champion as they will see it.
If you really, really want to epress your personal opinions, you might consider posting under a different pseudonym and this time don't pass your identity about. Either that or post under your real name.
Right now, you have seem to have the worst of both worlds.
Im not sure thats where im coming from, i started posting 10 yrs ago on Hoganstand, i was anonymous for most of the first few yrs and then most people started posting we know who you are, but i hadnt a clue who anyone else was. I have thought about posting under my own name in the past but im heading in the direction of stopping posting altogether for my own best interests. Your kinda right about me having worst of both worlds but ive made some good friends on forums. On HS i never passed my identity about and most of the Sligo lads on here knew my identity long before i ever pm'ed them so i dont think i wanted everyone to know who i am, its just a fact now and i now accept it.

I dont object to anyone coming in against my opinion at all, i welcome a good debate, my point is that the comebacks to my football opinion are usually personal attacks on my character, nothing to do with my football opinion and the persons dont even argue the points i make, just that im a clown, lowlife etc....

I am not withholding anyones right to judge my footballing knowledge or footballing opinions but I AM withholding people thinking im some sort of evil person because i think so and so is poor footballer. As i said above my days are coming to an end on here, but i have no problem with my identity being known, i just wish i knew everyone elses identity aswell.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 18, 2011, 07:02:20 PM
I'm sure there're lots of Mayo posters who know who I am. Don't care to be honest if they do or not.
Post by: ziggysego on June 18, 2011, 08:19:05 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 18, 2011, 07:02:20 PM
I'm sure there're lots of Mayo posters who know who I am. Don't care to be honest if they do or not.

I know who you are too. I do, I do!!
Post by: Lar Naparka on June 18, 2011, 09:22:02 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 18, 2011, 07:02:20 PM

Well, I'm mighty glad not too many Mayo people know who I am- especially one John O'Mahony!  ;D
Post by: supersarsfields on June 18, 2011, 09:36:14 PM

But he's not really. There is nothing to stop someone Who disagrees with him doing exactly what he does and challange him on here on any of his opinions rather than calling round to his house.   
Post by: Lar Naparka on June 19, 2011, 03:12:38 AM
Quote from: supersarsfields on June 18, 2011, 09:36:14 PM

But he's not really. There is nothing to stop someone Who disagrees with him doing exactly what he does and challange him on here on any of his opinions rather than calling round to his house.

Yeah but the problem is that you don't know who is going to read what you post and you can't tell them how they are go about responding to you.
Remember Tony Fearon and the fuss about his personal details being published on OWC?
Tony made a big laugh out of some OWC lads calling around to his place of work for a chat. Now, I wouldn't be too worried about those who called openly. I'd be more worried, if I were Tony, about some f**ker who might be lying in wait for me some night with a baseball bat.
Now, as I see it, poor Sligonian is having a rough time of it with people who know his identity giving him abuse. I do know the man and I take him to be an honest individual who wouldn't dream of posting anything he doesn't believe to be true.
However, his identity is well-known at this stage and he really should know what to expect if others object to what he posts. I don't see any point in using a screen name when your cover is blown and you know you will meet people who are going to abuse you over what you have posted.
I agree that there is nothing to stop people who disagree with him coming on here to challenge him and anybody else on any of their opinions but nobody has to do that. Why should they?  As long as they stay within the law, they have the freedom to react in any way they choose. There isn't much to stop them coming on here but there is nothing to force them to do it either.

I'm certainly not saying that he deserves the abuse he gets but he has to expect it if he keeps posting under his present alias and continues to give outspoken opinions when he does.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 19, 2011, 11:42:11 AM
Colm Bradley has also written about the 'boards' and has given decent spin on it, basically saying that in the main the posters are knowledgeable and mainly contribute to the GAA within their clubs or county. Obviously there are some posts that are over the top but he said if he were involved with management or playing he had the simple solution, DON'T READ THEM
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 19, 2011, 11:13:25 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on June 19, 2011, 03:12:38 AM

Yeah but the problem is that you don't know who is going to read what you post and you can't tell them how they are go about responding to you.
Remember Tony Fearon and the fuss about his personal details being published on OWC?
Tony made a big laugh out of some OWC lads calling around to his place of work for a chat. Now, I wouldn't be too worried about those who called openly. I'd be more worried, if I were Tony, about some f**ker who might be lying in wait for me some night with a baseball bat.
Now, as I see it, poor Sligonian is having a rough time of it with people who know his identity giving him abuse. I do know the man and I take him to be an honest individual who wouldn't dream of posting anything he doesn't believe to be true.
However, his identity is well-known at this stage and he really should know what to expect if others object to what he posts. I don't see any point in using a screen name when your cover is blown and you know you will meet people who are going to abuse you over what you have posted.
I agree that there is nothing to stop people who disagree with him coming on here to challenge him and anybody else on any of their opinions but nobody has to do that. Why should they?  As long as they stay within the law, they have the freedom to react in any way they choose. There isn't much to stop them coming on here but there is nothing to force them to do it either.

I'm certainly not saying that he deserves the abuse he gets but he has to expect it if he keeps posting under his present alias and continues to give outspoken opinions when he does.
Ya but Lar jees ive improved on here over the yrs, and no ones perfect and that goes for people who react negatively to me. But fight fire with fire, when that person threatened me at my door after my intial upset it turned to anger on my part, is it within the law to go threatening people on there doorstep for saying your son aint good enough for intercounty, imo no but i let it go due to hassle. Of course i know theres probably a handful of people in Sligo who if they had a chance to get a box at me id expect them to take it. But the funny thing is in this last 6 months i havent posted once on HS and on here i dont mention players names anymore but yet the Sligonian comments in the niteclubs are way more frequent than before. As i said previously i will stopping and move on, hopefully the same will happen off the board.

Recently i should add a fake facebook profile was set up with "Sligonian "my surname"" and pictures from my real profile copyed over, again funnigly enough most of the Sligo players were this fellas friends so either they were in on it or im not as hated as i thought. I got it deleted but it was 6 months on the go.

I think it will all die down though, longer i dont post, people will eventually lose interest and HS sligo is a dead duck since i left. All my detractors will be happy though and its a win for them. I still disclose my opinion regarding players privately ;).
Post by: Lar Naparka on June 20, 2011, 01:01:07 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 19, 2011, 11:13:25 PM

Ya but Lar jees ive improved on here over the yrs, and no ones perfect and that goes for people who react negatively to me. But fight fire with fire, when that person threatened me at my door after my intial upset it turned to anger on my part, is it within the law to go threatening people on there doorstep for saying your son aint good enough for intercounty, imo no but i let it go due to hassle. Of course i know theres probably a handful of people in Sligo who if they had a chance to get a box at me id expect them to take it. But the funny thing is in this last 6 months i havent posted once on HS and on here i dont mention players names anymore but yet the Sligonian comments in the niteclubs are way more frequent than before. As i said previously i will stopping and move on, hopefully the same will happen off the board.

Recently i should add a fake facebook profile was set up with "Sligonian "my surname"" and pictures from my real profile copyed over, again funnigly enough most of the Sligo players were this fellas friends so either they were in on it or im not as hated as i thought. I got it deleted but it was 6 months on the go.

I think it will all die down though, longer i dont post, people will eventually lose interest and HS sligo is a dead duck since i left. All my detractors will be happy though and its a win for them. I still disclose my opinion regarding players privately ;).

Okay, my real worry about you is that some bastard, some night, will let fly at you in a pub or clubhouse or whatever.
I don't doubt your sincerity in any way and I'm glad you are toning your posts down. 

It isn't the man who called to your door that worries me. It's the guy with a bellyful of porter, who hasn't read what you posted but who is going by what somebody else may have told him, that's the real danger.

When you give your honest opinion there is no guarantee that someone won't go berserk and blame you for a lot of things you never even say.
I learned this lesson many years ago:
Padraig Flynn had made a total jackass of himself one day in a RTE radio interview when Brian Lenihan Snr. was running for the Presidency. Flynn blew Lenihan's chances that night and Lenihan had been well ahead of Mary Robinson in the polls.
So,, one night in my local pub I said to an old friend that Flynn shouldn't be let out without a minder. This gent was an out and out FF supporter. Jaysus, he blew his fuse and invited me out to fight.
Thjat was bad enough but worse was to follow.
I was feeling a bit hurt and I  told another rold guy what had happened. He was a Blue Shirt and surely to God, he'd agree with me.
Did he f**k!
As soon as I said that Lenihan could do without the likes of Long Paddy Flynn in his corner, he too was up on his feet and calling me all sorts of names. Like the other bollix, he didn't listen to anything I had said but went for me straightaway. What I had said to either of those buckos wasn't listened to at all.
The fact that I was fairly fit back then and was about five inches taller and a few stone heavier than either of them didn't bother them at all.
I decided that night that I'd keep my opinions to myself in future unless I was prepared to stand up and fight for them.
Unless, of course, I was posting them on an anonymous internet board.  ;D
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 20, 2011, 11:53:33 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on June 20, 2011, 01:01:07 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 19, 2011, 11:13:25 PM

Okay, my real worry about you is that some b**tard, some night, will let fly at you in a pub or clubhouse or whatever.
I don't doubt your sincerity in any way and I'm glad you are toning your posts down. 

It isn't the man who called to your door that worries me. It's the guy with a bellyful of porter, who hasn't read what you posted but who is going by what somebody else may have told him, that's the real danger.

When you give your honest opinion there is no guarantee that someone won't go berserk and blame you for a lot of things you never even say.
I learned this lesson many years ago:
Padraig Flynn had made a total jackass of himself one day in a RTE radio interview when Brian Lenihan Snr. was running for the Presidency. Flynn blew Lenihan's chances that night and Lenihan had been well ahead of Mary Robinson in the polls.
So,, one night in my local pub I said to an old friend that Flynn shouldn't be let out without a minder. This gent was an out and out FF supporter. Jaysus, he blew his fuse and invited me out to fight.
Thjat was bad enough but worse was to follow.
I was feeling a bit hurt and I  told another rold guy what had happened. He was a Blue Shirt and surely to God, he'd agree with me.
Did he f**k!
As soon as I said that Lenihan could do without the likes of Long Paddy Flynn in his corner, he too was up on his feet and calling me all sorts of names. Like the other bollix, he didn't listen to anything I had said but went for me straightaway. What I had said to either of those buckos wasn't listened to at all.
The fact that I was fairly fit back then and was about five inches taller and a few stone heavier than either of them didn't bother them at all.
I decided that night that I'd keep my opinions to myself in future unless I was prepared to stand up and fight for them.
Unless, of course, I was posting them on an anonymous internet board.  ;D
For sure i agree but i wouldnt fight tbh as id lose, but i have plenty of protection when im out and rarely on my own. Ive never been in a fight in my life or assualted and im pretty fast and fit so i'll outrun them :D But all joking aside i appreciate your comments and i do heed your warnings, if someone wants to be sneaky there probably not much i can do about it and i wont be worrying about it either. Hopefully the fact im not commenting on it anymore should lessen the chances of it happening imo and its all i can do..
Post by: Hardy on June 20, 2011, 12:50:08 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on June 20, 2011, 01:01:07 AM

I think you took the wrong lesson from your experience, Lar. I'd have decided to stop drinking with violent political yokels.
Post by: bcarrier on August 22, 2011, 08:22:18 PM
I listened to the worse verbal abuse of players I have ever heard in the " family " section of Croker yesterday. It went well beyond the usual . The individual in question had a Mayo jersey on but as is the way with this type of thug he started on the Kerry ones but eventually turned on his own.

The officials spoke to him a few times and I eventually pulled him up myself to be greeted by "who was talking to you" . I suspect the officials did not remove him as he was clearly angling for a fight and was from a " minority" . The kids with him were going down the same path , standing on seats and with no concept of others personal space.

All very sad/shameful and maybe I am being harsh but I was a bit disappointed that there wasnt a bigger effort by Mayo supporters in the vicinity to pull him up. We need to police our own.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 22, 2011, 08:52:57 PM
It wasnt David Brady was it.........................great fella for putting manners on people, chuck norris hasnt a patch on him

(http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/8f/e5/0d/6c3a5e3a4b11dffffd68cc3c1d/INPHO_00020278.jpg)

(http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/c6/73/f1/625c396bfc5a1a6ee8b3d9eace/INPHO_00020279.jpg)
Post by: AZOffaly on August 22, 2011, 09:04:22 PM
Quote from: bcarrier on August 22, 2011, 08:22:18 PM
I listened to the worse verbal abuse of players I have ever heard in the " family " section of Croker yesterday. It went well beyond the usual . The individual in question had a Mayo jersey on but as is the way with this type of thug he started on the Kerry ones but eventually turned on his own.

The officials spoke to him a few times and I eventually pulled him up myself to be greeted by "who was talking to you" . I suspect the officials did not remove him as he was clearly angling for a fight and was from a " minority" . The kids with him were going down the same path , standing on seats and with no concept of others personal space.

All very sad/shameful and maybe I am being harsh but I was a bit disappointed that there wasnt a bigger effort by Mayo supporters in the vicinity to pull him up. We need to police our own.

I had a bit of an unpleasant experience with a lad there too yesterday. Unfortunately this lad was actually on duty in some capacity at the game. A load of lads about 16 or 17, dressed in the royal blue GAA wind breakers. They came up to sit behind us just before the start of the second half. I think they were involved with the Go Games or something.

Anyhow, when Galvin came on, and got an elbow in a tangle immediately, they started at him. 'Give it him, kn**ker'. etc. I turned around and gave the chief fella a glare. Of course that egged them on, so the next thing was 'Galvin's a f**king sc**bag'. There were kids around me as well, so I tried to be calm enough. I told the lad that he should be ashamed to wear the GAA top he had on him, and if he didn't have manners I'd make sure he never wore it again.

Of course all his mates started slagging him then, and they left about 5 minutes later, but I thought it was so sad that young lads obviously getting a free gig at Croke Park would behave like that towards our own players. These were neutrals as well, not supporters of Mayo, I should make that clear. Made it even sadder for me.
Post by: Frank Casey on August 22, 2011, 09:08:36 PM
I know we're all guilty of pushing our own opinions on this board and we've all let it rip at a game or two. There is however a line. I'm not sure which of these two incidents annoy me more but the las in the GAA bibs should be seen but never heard.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 22, 2011, 09:11:06 PM
Quote from: Frank Casey on August 22, 2011, 09:08:36 PM
I know we're all guilty of pushing our own opinions on this board and we've all let it rip at a game or two. There is however a line. I'm not sure which of these two incidents annoy me more but the las in the GAA bibs should be seen but never heard.

See we've all lost the rag at games where we/our teams are involved. On mature reflection we all say things we don't like, but I've never really heard neutrals having a go like it. It wasn't even emotional, just pure abuse.
Post by: heffo on August 22, 2011, 09:36:13 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 22, 2011, 08:52:57 PM
It wasnt David Brady was it.........................great fella for putting manners on people, chuck norris hasnt a patch on him

(http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/8f/e5/0d/6c3a5e3a4b11dffffd68cc3c1d/INPHO_00020278.jpg)

(http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/c6/73/f1/625c396bfc5a1a6ee8b3d9eace/INPHO_00020279.jpg)

Give it a rest Squire, cmon on.
Post by: Offalylad on August 22, 2011, 09:51:30 PM
Strange example of this on the uibhfhaili website today, player in question created a profile to defend himself, very unusual.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 22, 2011, 09:52:58 PM
I saw that. Unusual, but maybe a sign of things to come?
Post by: Offalylad on August 22, 2011, 10:11:36 PM
Perhaps, it should be a positive thing, but it does make for a strange atmosphere on the thread.
Post by: mylestheslasher on August 23, 2011, 12:25:22 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 22, 2011, 09:04:22 PM

I had a bit of an unpleasant experience with a lad there too yesterday. Unfortunately this lad was actually on duty in some capacity at the game. A load of lads about 16 or 17, dressed in the royal blue GAA wind breakers. They came up to sit behind us just before the start of the second half. I think they were involved with the Go Games or something.

Anyhow, when Galvin came on, and got an elbow in a tangle immediately, they started at him. 'Give it him, kn**ker'. etc. I turned around and gave the chief fella a glare. Of course that egged them on, so the next thing was 'Galvin's a f**king sc**bag'. There were kids around me as well, so I tried to be calm enough. I told the lad that he should be ashamed to wear the GAA top he had on him, and if he didn't have manners I'd make sure he never wore it again.

Of course all his mates started slagging him then, and they left about 5 minutes later, but I thought it was so sad that young lads obviously getting a free gig at Croke Park would behave like that towards our own players. These were neutrals as well, not supporters of Mayo, I should make that clear. Made it even sadder for me.

I was at a game in croker when Dublin and Tyrone played the day Owen Mulligan got that famous goal. A lad in front of me from Dubiln was wearing a liverpool jersey, had his wee daughter sitting on his knee (from memory i'd say she was 8 or 9 years old) and he spent the game calling Tyrones players "Orange bastards". What can you do about people like that - not a lot i'd imagine.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 23, 2011, 01:05:41 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 22, 2011, 09:04:22 PM

Coming up Clonliffe road after the match there was a group of about 6 Kerry girls in their early 20's singing some abusive crap and shouting jibes towards the Mayofans. Bad winners if I ever saw them, the Mayo crowd looked quite angry and the Kerry crowd looked mortified.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 23, 2011, 08:38:23 PM
QuoteComing up Clonliffe road after the match there was a group of about 6 Kerry girls in their early 20's singing some abusive crap and shouting jibes towards the Mayofans. Bad winners if I ever saw them, the Mayo crowd looked quite angry and the Kerry crowd looked mortified.

A jaysus mayogodhelpus, did you even think before you posted that. You'll get a slap from the other Mayo fans.
Basically you are saying a bunch of Kerry girls made the Mayo lads cry  :D
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 23, 2011, 09:00:30 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 23, 2011, 08:38:23 PM
QuoteComing up Clonliffe road after the match there was a group of about 6 Kerry girls in their early 20's singing some abusive crap and shouting jibes towards the Mayofans. Bad winners if I ever saw them, the Mayo crowd looked quite angry and the Kerry crowd looked mortified.

A jaysus mayogodhelpus, did you even think before you posted that. You'll get a slap from the other Mayo fans.

A well Mike there wasn't any crying just alot of disgusted faces, Mayo, Kerry, Roscommon and Tip alike. They have firmly put me in the Donegal or Dubs for Sam camp. To be honest they looked drunk, haven't seen the likes since I saw some fans from a county we won't mention who play and black and white chanting soccer insults at Cork a few years back.
Post by: ross4life on August 23, 2011, 10:05:34 PM
Are those the same Kerry girls that were singing sam maguire coming home to Mayo as i was coming out of Croke park?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 24, 2011, 12:28:20 AM
Quote from: ross4life on August 23, 2011, 10:05:34 PM
Are those the same Kerry girls that were singing sam maguire coming home to Mayo as i was coming out of Croke park?
:D :D :D

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 23, 2011, 09:00:30 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 23, 2011, 08:38:23 PM

A well Mike there wasn't any crying just alot of disgusted faces, Mayo, Kerry, Roscommon and Tip alike. They have firmly put me in the Donegal or Dubs for Sam camp. To be honest they looked drunk, haven't seen the likes since I saw some fans from a county we won't mention who play and black and white chanting soccer insults at Cork a few years back.
It wasnt Sligo by any chance,  :D
Post by: Hardy on August 24, 2011, 10:20:25 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 23, 2011, 01:05:41 PMa group of about 6 Kerry girls in their early 20's ...

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 23, 2011, 09:00:30 PM... have firmly put me in the Donegal or Dubs for Sam camp.

I hope you never, ever have to make an important decision.
Post by: ONeill on August 24, 2011, 10:25:19 AM
Yep, the increasing amount of people whose preferences are swayed by some yokel shouting a couple of mad things never fails to amuse me.