GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: IolarCoisCuain on July 07, 2017, 09:01:42 PM

Poll
Question: What do you think of Colm "Woolly" Parkinson?
Option 1: Flute votes: 15
Option 2: Breath of fresh air votes: 20
Option 3: Who's Colm Parkinson? votes: 9
Title: Colm "Woolly" Parkinson
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on July 07, 2017, 09:01:42 PM
Well. What do ye think?
Title: Re: Colm "Woolly" Parkinson
Post by: Syferus on July 07, 2017, 09:07:54 PM
Laois people don't care about football and the rest of us don't care to listen to Laois people talk about football.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 07, 2017, 09:26:38 PM
He sometimes comes across as a bit of a dick but I know from lads he played with at club level that he really gave football everything when he was at it. One mate of mine who's even more old school than myself is fulsome in his praise for him and that's enough for me.
Post by: Itchy on July 07, 2017, 09:32:41 PM
Not a fan. Full of auld shite
Post by: omagh_gael on July 07, 2017, 09:46:50 PM
I think he's good at what he does, his Monday podcast with Cian Ward is the best football one out there at the minute, IMO.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on July 07, 2017, 09:52:06 PM
Years ago, some young lad had a Twitter account called @banterpanther which he used to take the piss out of the great and the good. Fair enough. He had a pop at Parkinson though, and Parkinson didn't care for it. So Parkinson doxed him – that is to say, he found out who the young lad was and tweeted his name and details.

Now, as it turns out, I believe the young lad did ok out of all of this. Twitter was (relatively) new at the time, and he was able to "sell" his account to some entrepreneur who thought a ready-built list of followers was worth whatever he paid for it.

But the thing is, it mightn't have worked out well for the young lad. It might have worked out badly, and I don't know how much that was taken into consideration. It was relatively easy for Parkinson to find out who he was because this a small country, the GAA runs through it and Parkinson's GAA network is huge. But, for a guy trying to make his way in media I thought he was being very precious about being criticised. I don't think he's any too shy about dishing out criticism himself; I don't know. Maybe he's toughened up. But at the time I thought it was a really shitty thing to do.
Post by: randomusername on July 07, 2017, 09:53:54 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on July 07, 2017, 09:52:06 PM
Years ago, some young lad had a Twitter account called @banterpanther which he used to take the piss out of the great and the good. Fair enough. He had a pop at Parkinson though, and Parkinson didn't care for it. So Parkinson doxed him – that is to say, he found out who the young lad was and tweeted his name and details.

Now, as it turns out, I believe the young lad did ok out of all of this. Twitter was (relatively) new at the time, and he was able to "sell" his account to some entrepreneur who thought a ready-built list of followers was worth whatever he paid for it.

But the thing is, it mightn't have worked out well for the young lad. It might have worked out badly, and I don't know how much that was taken into consideration. It was relatively easy for Parkinson to find out who he was because this a small country, the GAA runs through it and Parkinson's GAA network is huge. But, for a guy trying to make his way in media I thought he was being very precious about being criticised. I don't think he's any too shy about dishing out criticism himself; I don't know. Maybe he's toughened up. But at the time I thought it was a really shitty thing to do.

He named some anonymous Irish lad behind an anti-doping account on twitter a few weeks back as well.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 07, 2017, 11:05:02 PM
none of the above, his podcast is good and he called out Brolly on his webcast and Brolly admitted to being on the wind up. He's different.
Post by: laoislad on July 07, 2017, 11:05:24 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 07, 2017, 09:07:54 PM
Laois people don't care about football and the rest of us don't care to listen to Laois people talk about football.
I'm sure he knows more than a sheep shagger from some shitehole of a town in Roscommon all the same.

For the record I wouldn't be that keen on Parkinson myself. He was a pretty good footballer though.
Post by: galwayman on July 07, 2017, 11:06:49 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 07, 2017, 09:46:50 PM
I think he's good at what he does, his Monday podcast with Cian Ward is the best football one out there at the minute, IMO.
Yeah I like the Monday podcast.
Cian Ward is actually really good on that.
Post by: Seany on July 07, 2017, 11:25:31 PM
His podcast is excellent. He is a brilliant interviewer who knows how to get information from players beyond the usual sound bite nonsense. He knows his stuff. Really has a proper in depth knowledge of both hurling and football. The podcast makes up its own mind about issues, is not agenda driven and is peopled by lads who know about the game and care about the GAA. They are enthusiastic. Boyish enthusiasm. No Sunday Game cynicism or lads looking attention. Willy has grown up. He shouldn't be judged on his previous younger days. He's now an outstanding broadcaster and his podcast is the future of GAA journalism.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 07, 2017, 11:34:35 PM
Quote from: Seany on July 07, 2017, 11:25:31 PM
His podcast is excellent. He is a brilliant interviewer who knows how to get information from players beyond the usual sound bite nonsense. He knows his stuff. Really has a proper in depth knowledge of both hurling and football. The podcast makes up its own mind about issues, is not agenda driven and is peopled by lads who know about the game and care about the GAA. They are enthusiastic. Boyish enthusiasm. No Sunday Game cynicism or lads looking attention. Willy has grown up. He shouldn't be judged on his previous younger days. He's now an outstanding broadcaster and his podcast is the future of GAA journalism.

Bit of a Freudian slip there!
Post by: macdanger2 on July 07, 2017, 11:36:42 PM
I think he's good enough, doesn't take himself too seriously and isn't a cliché merchant like most of the RTÉ pundits/presenters
Post by: tonto1888 on July 07, 2017, 11:36:58 PM
I enjoy his podcasts. Keeps ignoring me on twitter though
Post by: INDIANA on July 08, 2017, 12:06:55 AM

His podcasts are banal , un-interesting, Un-informed and full of cliches.

He'll be due a stint on the Sunday Game soon.

There is more respect for pondweed in Dublin then Parkinson.

Post by: Syferus on July 08, 2017, 12:12:55 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 08, 2017, 12:06:55 AM

So you've remembered the password to the account Zulu - good to have you back.
Post by: mrdeeds on July 08, 2017, 12:19:36 AM
Wasn't he on the Sunday Game few years ago talking about Seanie Johnson situation. He was anti his move with the arguement it's all about where your from. The irony was him playing club football in Dublin.
Post by: weareros on July 08, 2017, 12:27:33 AM
When you compare to say Second Captains, he and his presenters have a far better understanding on how to do audio journalism. Predictions tend to be a little formulaic but overall the best of the GAA podcasts and they keep it entertaining.  Even though not GAA (although he had Sean Boylan on recently) think Dunphy's The Stand sets the standard.
Post by: The Subbie on July 08, 2017, 12:42:39 AM
I like his podcast's , no nonsense and plenty of valid discussion, Cain Ward and Conan Dotherty are 2 knowledgeable boys as well so it's a good mix.
If woolly could get thru a single podcast without mentioning that he used to play for Laois it would be an even better podcast. Practically every time he is on he mentions it
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 08, 2017, 01:10:24 AM
Hid podcasts (including the hurling one) are good in fairness and he doesn't take himself too seriously. His interview with Peter Creedon last week was deliciously uncomfortable.

Actually think he's been missed on Off the Ball on Newstalk since he left as the rest are so ultra PC. Parkinson was like the uninvited guest at a wedding.
Post by: J70 on July 08, 2017, 02:20:16 AM
Listened to his podcast the other week. Thought it was interesting.

Its weird, having lived in the states for a number of years now, to hear someone casually using words like "shit" on a sports radio programme though!
Post by: omagh_gael on July 08, 2017, 09:34:42 AM
Indiana, what podcast is the standard bearer then?

Post by: illdecide on July 08, 2017, 09:48:26 AM
I clicked on "who is colm parkinson" but should have read a bit first as i now remember him...Is that the lad with the big mop of hair who was one of Laois better players, tricky we bollix who could play rightly. Don't know one thing about him on podcasts or twitter so can't comment on that, dunno if a player/ex player like this deserves his own thread though?
Post by: dublin7 on July 08, 2017, 10:42:23 AM
Quote from: mrdeeds on July 08, 2017, 12:19:36 AM
Wasn't he on the Sunday Game few years ago talking about Seanie Johnson situation. He was anti his move with the arguement it's all about where your from. The irony was him playing club football in Dublin.

I think his podcasts are excellent. Not a fan of damien Hayes on the hurling but that's not a big issue. Parkinson has admitted himself on the podcasts he was horrible to manage and he did himself no favour s with his conduct at times when playing for Laois. Avoids cliches and waffle that is the sunday game and gives proper interesting analysis of games
Post by: Tubberman on July 08, 2017, 10:54:27 AM
Excellent podcasts - no bullshit, proper analysis. Gets carried away from time to time, but admits that himself.
Conan is a bit of a dose though
Post by: JimStynes on July 08, 2017, 11:02:16 AM
Can't stand Conan's accent and constant 'I remember Derry were playing ....'
Post by: thefont on July 08, 2017, 11:56:12 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 08, 2017, 10:54:27 AM
Excellent podcasts - no bullshit, proper analysis. Gets carried away from time to time, but admits that himself.

Agreed, he is up against his own personality a bit but seems to realise it. Still it is by far the best GAA podcast. No accident that is so well produced if you look at who is behind it.

I really like the second captains in general but I have always found their GAA and American sports coverage to be quite weak. Can't see the appeal in McConville...repetitive, not cogent, contradictory. They would be better just going with Ciaran Murphy or maybe hiring someone like Parkinson. You wouldn't be paying for it anyway. The soccer coverage is sensational though and hugely entertaining even though I'm not really a soccer fan.

Off the ball is similar to the Sunday game, conservative, outdated, frequent cringe moments, terrible interviewers and presenters. What you would expect from the mainstream I suppose. But through sheer quantity you will get some good moments so I do check out their podcasts.

In general (I know this is often said) but there is a massive gulf in class between the hurling media and the football media. Being from a football county myself I have no axe to grind against it I may add.

On the one hand you have genuinely eccentric characters like Ger Loughnane who I would say is a passionate contrarian against Brolly's tiresome affectations, egregious leg fondling (before the watershed c'mon rte) and needless cruelty to usually easy targets.

Even a babbling lunatic like Cyril Farrell can make the odd good point and his out of control enthusiasm is infectious and endearing. Contrast the sheer unadulterated dourness of the schoolmasterly O'Rouke and his googlisms.

What can you say about Pat Spillane that hasn't been said. His canned, sorry scripted (thanks Dessie!) speeches are father-of-the-bride bad.

Compare that to Daly's quips, vignettes and the maniacal delivery. Even the serious analysts are way outgunned in football, Wheelo v Jamsie O'Connor, Dessie v JJ Delaney? No contest there.

Maybe we need Clare to win a football All Ireland to bring the standard of punditry up, c'mon football get your sht together!

Post by: Jinxy on July 08, 2017, 02:06:15 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 08, 2017, 09:34:42 AM

Does Senan Connell have a podcast?
Post by: Hardy on July 08, 2017, 02:38:26 PM
I think he drives a Hyundai.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on July 08, 2017, 11:33:17 PM
Quote from: thefont on July 08, 2017, 11:56:12 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 08, 2017, 10:54:27 AM

Agreed, he is up against his own personality a bit but seems to realise it. Still it is by far the best GAA podcast. No accident that is so well produced if you look at who is behind it.

I really like the second captains in general but I have always found their GAA and American sports coverage to be quite weak. Can't see the appeal in McConville...repetitive, not cogent, contradictory. They would be better just going with Ciaran Murphy or maybe hiring someone like Parkinson. You wouldn't be paying for it anyway. The soccer coverage is sensational though and hugely entertaining even though I'm not really a soccer fan.

Off the ball is similar to the Sunday game, conservative, outdated, frequent cringe moments, terrible interviewers and presenters. What you would expect from the mainstream I suppose. But through sheer quantity you will get some good moments so I do check out their podcasts.

In general (I know this is often said) but there is a massive gulf in class between the hurling media and the football media. Being from a football county myself I have no axe to grind against it I may add.

On the one hand you have genuinely eccentric characters like Ger Loughnane who I would say is a passionate contrarian against Brolly's tiresome affectations, egregious leg fondling (before the watershed c'mon rte) and needless cruelty to usually easy targets.

Even a babbling lunatic like Cyril Farrell can make the odd good point and his out of control enthusiasm is infectious and endearing. Contrast the sheer unadulterated dourness of the schoolmasterly O'Rouke and his googlisms.

What can you say about Pat Spillane that hasn't been said. His canned, sorry scripted (thanks Dessie!) speeches are father-of-the-bride bad.

Compare that to Daly's quips, vignettes and the maniacal delivery. Even the serious analysts are way outgunned in football, Wheelo v Jamsie O'Connor, Dessie v JJ Delaney? No contest there.

Maybe we need Clare to win a football All Ireland to bring the standard of punditry up, c'mon football get your sht together!

Agree and disagree on the Second Captains GAA Font. I like McConville; I've learned a lot listening to him. But the Second Captains GAA coverage is token, whether they want to admit it or not, and I find that annoying. I don't like their coverage of US sports, not least as it's so achingly politically correct. They're also very weak on rugby but that seems to be a general thing in the Irish media. I love rugby myself but I can fully understand why people get turned off it by the way it's covered.
Post by: screenexile on July 09, 2017, 01:40:40 AM
Wooly's an eejit! An average player at the time he gets access because he's a bit of a character and used to play for Laois.

Brolly wiped the floor with him the other evening and Wooly is not immune to grandstanding himself when he feels like it. Comparing himself to Diarmuid Connolly was one of the funniest things I've heard in a while!
Post by: Syferus on July 09, 2017, 02:28:08 AM
Quote from: screenexile on July 09, 2017, 01:40:40 AM
Wooly's an eejit! An average player at the time he gets access because he's a bit of a character and used to play for Laois.

Neilly wipes the floor with him the other evening and Wooly is not immune to grandstanding himself when he feels like it. Comparing himself to Diarmuid Connolly was one of the funniest things I've heard in a while!

There's very few players who look bad when compared to Connolly, unless your only barometer for him is YouTube highlights of fancy kicks.
Post by: hectorsheroes on July 09, 2017, 02:58:51 AM
Good luck to him - i don't know his opinions but it seems there are plenty - seemingly controversial - from what I have seen there is no coherent argument - ala Galloway - all about the media it seems - I don't mean to have a cut but it's an easy thing to criticise - anyway what about a guardiolla gaa = all attacking
Post by: DJGaliv on July 09, 2017, 10:11:47 AM

Brolly wiped the floor with him the other evening and Wooly is not immune to grandstanding himself when he feels like it. Comparing himself to Diarmuid Connolly was one of the funniest things I've heard in a while!

He compared himself to Connolly as in they're both a bit hot headed and can be eejits at times. Absolutely no comparison football talent related.

I like Wooly, think he brings a nice bit of fresh analysis from the footballers perspective. You'd think with all the newly retired footballers in the media that lifting the lid on what it's like in a county panel wouldn't be unique but it really is.

I do think he got it wrong with the doping story and was arguing over a total different thing and very protectionist rather than accepting no sport is immune.

But he really is good for gaa. Too many Canice Pilkingtons pretending to give us insight out there. Wooly isn't everyone's cup of tea but that's what makes him unafraid to offend. And unlike brolly he doesn't offend people for othe spectacle of it he actually would believe it. Also when he gets things wrong he readily admits he may have lost the run of himself.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on July 09, 2017, 06:20:44 PM
Quote from: DJGaliv on July 09, 2017, 10:11:47 AM

He compared himself to Connolly as in they're both a bit hot headed and can be eejits at times. Absolutely no comparison football talent related.

I like Wooly, think he brings a nice bit of fresh analysis from the footballers perspective. You'd think with all the newly retired footballers in the media that lifting the lid on what it's like in a county panel wouldn't be unique but it really is.

I do think he got it wrong with the doping story and was arguing over a total different thing and very protectionist rather than accepting no sport is immune.

But he really is good for gaa. Too many Canice Pilkingtons pretending to give us insight out there. Wooly isn't everyone's cup of tea but that's what makes him unafraid to offend. And unlike brolly he doesn't offend people for othe spectacle of it he actually would believe it. Also when he gets things wrong he readily admits he may have lost the run of himself.

They're some interesting points DJ. One of the things that really gets on my wick about Brolly is that a man of his intellect and ability should be above the sort of trolling he does. Instead, it seems to be his guiding star, and there's something tragic about that. That said, saying someone is good because they admit being wrong and losing the run of themselves makes me wonder what a show would be like presented by someone more insightful, and less inclined to lose the run of him- or herself?
Post by: INDIANA on July 09, 2017, 06:44:08 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 08, 2017, 09:34:42 AM

One that's minus that twat.

Post by: INDIANA on July 09, 2017, 06:47:01 PM

Precisely- listening to Colm you'd swear he was a top player.

He wasn't - he was talented and wasted his talent

Trying to pass himself off as being comparable in any facet of Gaelic Football to Diarmuid Connolly was the funniest thing I've heard in years.

Self-delusion is a wonderful thing and he lives in Never Never Land.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 09, 2017, 07:37:53 PM
Did he go off with your missus some night, Indiana?

Not being twisted here but I think he is very reasonable when it comes to analysing his own career. He acknowledges all the time that he was an eejit, bad trainer and shit stirer etc.
Post by: INDIANA on July 09, 2017, 07:48:30 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 09, 2017, 07:37:53 PM

Not being twisted here but I think he is very reasonable when it comes to analysing his own career. He acknowledges all the time that he was an eejit, bad trainer and shit stirer etc.

And money grabber. and sailed off into the sunset when things went bad. You missed that bit as well.
Post by: Tubberman on July 09, 2017, 08:32:45 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 09, 2017, 07:48:30 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 09, 2017, 07:37:53 PM

And money grabber. and sailed off into the sunset when things went bad. You missed that bit as well.

We're discussing him as a pundit/analyst - not as a player or person.
Post by: east down gael on July 09, 2017, 08:40:22 PM
I'm not sure he compared himself to connolly talent wise at all. I can't remember exactly how the conversation went,but was he not referring to the fact he was in a spot of bother,non football related,similar to connolly?
   His podcasts are the best about in my opinion.not afraid to call it,see his interview with dick clerkin,generally a good bit of humour,and covers the hot topics.
Post by: OgraAnDun on July 09, 2017, 08:43:04 PM
Quote from: east down gael on July 09, 2017, 08:40:22 PM
I'm not sure he compared himself to connolly talent wise at all. I can't remember exactly how the conversation went,but was he not referring to the fact he was in a spot of bother,non football related,similar to connolly?
   His podcasts are the best about in my opinion.not afraid to call it,see his interview with dick clerkin,generally a good bit of humour,and covers the hot topics.

He basically said he couldn't be criticising Connolly too much as he was 'no shrinking violet' himself. I'm fairly sure they were the words he said.
Post by: east down gael on July 09, 2017, 08:53:38 PM
I'd say that was a wink in the direction of his own misbehaviour on a night out.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 09, 2017, 09:03:51 PM
I've known him on a personal level, twat, eijit, notions.
Having said that his podcast is very good
Post by: Newbridge Exile on July 09, 2017, 09:10:09 PM
Really enjoy both the Football and Hurling Podcasts, Cian Ward is an excellent analyst
Post by: DJGaliv on July 09, 2017, 09:25:35 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on July 09, 2017, 06:20:44 PM
Quote from: DJGaliv on July 09, 2017, 10:11:47 AM

They're some interesting points DJ. One of the things that really gets on my wick about Brolly is that a man of his intellect and ability should be above the sort of trolling he does. Instead, it seems to be his guiding star, and there's something tragic about that. That said, saying someone is good because they admit being wrong and losing the run of themselves makes me wonder what a show would be like presented by someone more insightful, and less inclined to lose the run of him- or herself?

You're right on Brolly, but that's the nature of being a barrister. You become the master of creating arguments for both sides of a story. There's nothing worse than listening to a guy argue cogently on something he himself doesn't even agree with. An intelligent man, but I wouldn't waste my time listening to him.

Re: Wooly, if lads listened to the podcast rather than hearing second hand Parkinson did not compare himself talent wise to Connolly. He just said Connolly like me can be guilty of being an amadán at times.
The other lads in studio would have ripped into him if he tried to compare the talent.
Maybe the Dubs aren't fond of him ever since he did that interview saying Dublin were overrated bar Alan Brogan.
Post by: MoChara on July 10, 2017, 08:44:37 AM
I enjoy the podcasts, I wish they'd update there jingles though there's only so many times I want to hear Davy fitz sing Chill the beans
Post by: rosnarun on July 10, 2017, 03:45:33 PM
a very interesting pod cast but he needs a fil to call him on His bullshit when he goes  on a rant .
excellent depth of knowlege of teams not just top 2 or 3 player
I love scond captain as well aprt from Ken early's 10 min questions that lead no where and their habit at time to turn most GAA slots into a comedy routine.
Murph know his stuff and would love if they gave hime one GAA podcast a week
OTB is now pure dribble and the last thing the country need is another avenue to listen to Joe 'I gave up a kidney' Brollys brand of self promotion
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2017, 04:06:47 PM
I still like Off the Ball, miss their live GAA coverage and it was in that environment that Parkinson excelled.

I am off to his Webcast on Thursday, some good guests Willie McCreery, Glenn Ryan, Pillar Caffrey, Johnny Magee and Eamonn Fennell. Looking forward to it.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 10, 2017, 06:26:29 PM
There should be an option to say that he is a flute and a breath of fresh air. the thing is with him he doesn´t get bogged down in his own pre-prepared stuff and if a pundit gives him a solid counter argument then he admits he is talking crap.
Also the style of the show leaves the lads who come on knowing that the cliches are left at the door. Overall I enjoy the show and Cian Ward is as good a lad there is in terms of making good points that are often not given airtime.
Post by: Jinxy on July 10, 2017, 09:09:57 PM
I like Parkinson.
Doesn't take himself too seriously and knows his football.
Was great as a sideline reporter on OTB and always asked interesting questions.
Post by: LilySavage on July 10, 2017, 11:36:54 PM
His Webcast on Wednesday is also very good. Bounces well off likes of Ronan O Gara, Andy Reid and others from non Gaa backgrounds. Not sure why he left Off The Ball as he was becoming the main man there. But he has done well with the online stuff since. Off the Ball becoming increasingly middle of the road since he left.
Post by: Beffs on July 11, 2017, 01:19:41 PM
His podcast is excellent. There is a refreshing lack of bullshit and cliches. Was v surprised at his hardline stance at the recent doping controversy. It is that very thing (that the powers that be, wish remained brushed under the carpet) that he is usually good at giving a  good airing to. He may not be everyones cup of tea, but Off The Ball is definitely poorer for his absence imo. Kevin Kilbane is a poor choice of co host. He knows a lot about soccer, but that is about it. He can't really hold his own if they are talking about GAA, rugby, golf, doping or whatever, which all the other hosts can slip comfortably between discussing.

Cian Ward is particularly good, but the Conan dude is hard to listen to. It's strange that someone with such a odd voice, was given a job in a soley audio format. It's great that they often get the really big guests on, for an indepth interview, the very day after they were involved in a big game, when the game is still fresh in peoples heads. Off The Ball and Game On can be a bit hit and miss there. Maybe it's because they have to dedicate so much time to other sports.

I have no time for the snobbery that exists in some GAA circles, that if you don't have an arseful of AI medals, or you didn't play for a leading county, you can't be any good as a pundit or a journalist. That is nonsense. Pat Spillane has more AI medals than anyone else and we all know how rubbish he is is as a pundit.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 11, 2017, 01:42:08 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2017, 04:06:47 PM
I still like Off the Ball, miss their live GAA coverage and it was in that environment that Parkinson excelled.

I am off to his Webcast on Thursday, some good guests Willie McCreery, Glenn Ryan, Pillar Caffrey, Johnny Magee and Eamonn Fennell. Looking forward to it.

Kildare polo shirt pressed and ironed?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 11, 2017, 01:50:24 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dtO-uGhmeY0 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dtO-uGhmeY0)
Post by: omagh_gael on July 11, 2017, 02:00:53 PM
Quote from: Beffs on July 11, 2017, 01:19:41 PM
His podcast is excellent. There is a refreshing lack of bullshit and cliches. Was v surprised at his hardline stance at the recent doping controversy. It is that very thing (that the powers that be, wish remained brushed under the carpet) that he is usually good at giving a  good airing to. He may not be everyones cup of tea, but Off The Ball is definitely poorer for his absence imo. Kevin Kilbane is a poor choice of co host. He knows a lot about soccer, but that is about it. He can't really hold his own if they are talking about GAA, rugby, golf, doping or whatever, which all the other hosts can slip comfortably between discussing.

Cian Ward is particularly good, but the Conan dude is hard to listen to. It's strange that someone with such a odd voice, was given a job in a soley audio format. It's great that they often get the really big guests on, for an indepth interview, the very day after they were involved in a big game, when the game is still fresh in peoples heads. Off The Ball and Game On can be a bit hit and miss there. Maybe it's because they have to dedicate so much time to other sports.

I have no time for the snobbery that exists in some GAA circles, that if you don't have an arseful of AI medals, or you didn't play for a leading county, you can't be any good as a pundit or a journalist. That is nonsense. Pat Spillane has more AI medals than anyone else and we all know how rubbish he is is as a pundit.

Being from Derry really does inhibit the chances of being vocally appealing!

The GAA hour is great as it's analysis is much more in-depth and covers far more games. For example, OTB only had 16 mins of football review on their GAA football podcast last night
Post by: Beffs on July 11, 2017, 02:15:38 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 11, 2017, 02:00:53 PM

The GAA hour is great as it's analysis is much more in-depth and covers far more games. For example, OTB only had 16 mins of football review on their GAA football podcast last night

It's not a Derry thing, or even an Ulster thing. (Stevie O'Neill is v good too.) There is just something about his voice. It often comes across as muffled too, as if his microphone is not working properly, or the phone line he is on is not clear.

Post by: Jayop on July 11, 2017, 04:57:47 PM
Quote from: Beffs on July 11, 2017, 02:15:38 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 11, 2017, 02:00:53 PM

It's not a Derry thing, or even an Ulster thing. (Stevie O'Neill is v good too.) There is just something about his voice. It often comes across as muffled too, as if his microphone is not working properly, or the phone line he is on is not clear.

Young Conan does indeed have a strange voice, but I think he's excellent on the podcast.
Post by: TheGreatest on July 12, 2017, 09:20:19 AM
He has a lack of respect when interviewing now and in the past to amateur players and managers, tries to get more out of them than they are willing, GAA players don't have to give interviews if they don't want to and don't want to discuss bullshit. He can also be a hypocrite i.e the cash he took of Parnell's and then did a Bunsen burner.

His nickname is not Woolly, its Scruff!
Post by: Taylor on July 12, 2017, 10:05:04 AM
5 pages on him.
Why?
Irrelevant
Post by: gallsman on July 12, 2017, 11:43:11 AM
Haven't listen to his podcast, refuse to give anything connected to Joe.ie any of my attention, so can't comment on whether it's good or bad.

He's an arsehole on Twitter though
Post by: iorras on July 12, 2017, 11:54:19 AM

Parkinson has just massively improved in my estimation given that statement :)
Post by: weareros on July 12, 2017, 11:54:49 AM
He was not on Tuesday. Must be still drowning his sorrows in Salthill. Or maybe the car is still impounded.
Post by: Beffs on July 12, 2017, 01:11:56 PM
Quote from: TheGreatest on July 12, 2017, 09:20:19 AM
He has a lack of respect when interviewing now and in the past to amateur players and managers, tries to get more out of them than they are willing, GAA players don't have to give interviews if they don't want to and don't want to discuss bullshit. He can also be a hypocrite i.e the cash he took of Parnell's and then did a Bunsen burner.

His nickname is not Woolly, its Scruff!

No one is putting a gun to players heads and making them do interviews on his podcast. If they are doing them, then it's because they want to. So am not sure what point you are trying to make there.
Post by: Duine Eile on July 12, 2017, 02:32:24 PM
Quote from: weareros on July 12, 2017, 11:54:49 AM
He was not on Tuesday. Must be still drowning his sorrows in Salthill. Or maybe the car is still impounded.

Podcast was out on Monday and he had an interview with Enda Smith.
Post by: Tubberman on July 12, 2017, 03:02:12 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on July 12, 2017, 02:32:24 PM

Wooly wasn't on it - it was yer man Conan doing it
Post by: Duine Eile on July 12, 2017, 03:15:42 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 12, 2017, 03:02:12 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on July 12, 2017, 02:32:24 PM

Wooly wasn't on it - it was yer man Conan doing it

Oh really, fair enough, couldn't bring myself to listen to it!  :-[
Post by: Jayop on July 12, 2017, 05:27:56 PM
2 good interviews actually this week. Enda Smith was very good about the win and how they felt with all the critique all year, then Darren Hughes was on and he was just funny. Big broad farmer talking about loving life.