Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: BennyCake on November 04, 2016, 05:24:12 PM

Title: Singers/Vocalists you hate
Post by: BennyCake on November 04, 2016, 05:24:12 PM
We've had great voices, so it's only right we have a thread of singers you can't stand. I'll start...

Adele
Ellie Goulding
Leann Rimes
Celine Dion
Title: Re: Singers/Vocalists you hate
Post by: Denn Forever on November 04, 2016, 05:32:06 PM
Brian Johnson.
Post by: Orior on November 04, 2016, 05:43:01 PM
Bono - I think a very unnatural singer but has trained his voice
Suggs - never heard him sing - he just talks
Kevin Rowland - lyrics are a complete mystery
Post by: stew on November 04, 2016, 05:57:13 PM
Quote from: Orior on November 04, 2016, 05:43:01 PM
Suggs - never heard him sing - he just talks
Kevin Rowland - lyrics are a complete mystery

He sings he is just shite at it!
Post by: stew on November 04, 2016, 06:00:31 PM
Cher, extremely limited talent but that warbling shite in 'do you believe in,life after love' makes me want to bash my head in against a wall.

Maradona is shite too.
Post by: seafoid on November 04, 2016, 06:03:01 PM
The boy bands
Mariah Carey
Post by: foxcommander on November 04, 2016, 06:17:04 PM
Bruce Springsteen
Beyonce
Kayne
Adele
All rappers

Post by: BarryBreensBandage on November 04, 2016, 06:20:05 PM
Will Young
Cliff Richard
Post by: laoislad on November 04, 2016, 06:25:56 PM
Adele
Sam Smith
Post by: stew on November 04, 2016, 06:30:22 PM
Adele is hauntingly brilliant!

Maybe it is popular to hate a world class talent, or she is too heavy for her haters? I dont know!
Post by: foxcommander on November 04, 2016, 06:32:13 PM
Quote from: stew on November 04, 2016, 06:30:22 PM

Maybe it is popular to hate a world class talent, or she is too heavy for her haters? I dont know!

She just sounds like some woman whinging. A bit like Muppet, Eamon and J70 in here ;)
Post by: BennyCake on November 04, 2016, 07:12:46 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on November 04, 2016, 06:32:13 PM
Quote from: stew on November 04, 2016, 06:30:22 PM

She just sounds like some woman whinging. A bit like Muppet, Eamon and J70 in here ;)

A whingy cow. Can't stand her voice. I physically can't listen to it. I have to switch her off if I ever hear her voice. Ellie Goulding, the same.
Post by: mouview on November 04, 2016, 07:24:06 PM
Quote from: stew on November 04, 2016, 06:00:31 PM
Cher, extremely limited talent but that warbling shite in 'do you believe in,life after love' makes me want to bash my head in against a wall.

Maradona is shite too.

Cher didn't sing, she shouted.
Couldn't pass judgement on Maradona, never heard him sing, quite good at footie though.
Post by: laoislad on November 04, 2016, 07:26:06 PM
Quote from: mouview on November 04, 2016, 07:24:06 PM
Quote from: stew on November 04, 2016, 06:00:31 PM

Maradona is shite too.

Cher didn't sing, she shouted.
Couldn't pass judgement on Maradona, never heard him sing, quite good at footie though.

Post by: 5 Sams on November 04, 2016, 08:02:18 PM
"Puts the tin hat and flak jacket on"

(http://ajournalofmusicalthings.com/wp-content/uploads/Shane-McGowan-1.jpg)

Post by: ONeill on November 04, 2016, 08:21:55 PM
Mick Hucknall
Post by: Captain Obvious on November 04, 2016, 09:15:32 PM
Justin Bieber
Nicki Minaj
Shakira
Post by: Orior on November 04, 2016, 09:18:47 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on November 04, 2016, 09:15:32 PM
Justin Bieber
Nicki Minaj
Shakira

She is a singer? Geez, never realised as I was distracted.
Post by: JoG2 on November 04, 2016, 10:04:12 PM

I know ireland as a nation has an irrational hatred towards u2,  but Orior,  seriously,  that line is absolutely ridiculous.  Why not just say " Bono,  as I think he's a cnut".  He's a brilliant singer imo and I've zero gra for U2
Post by: 5 Sams on November 04, 2016, 10:17:50 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on November 04, 2016, 10:04:12 PM

I know ireland as a nation has an irrational hatred towards u2,  but Orior,  seriously,  that line is absolutely ridiculous.  Why not just say " Bono,  as I think he's a cnut".  He's a brilliant singer imo and I've zero gra for U2

Agree 100% about Bono's voice JOG2..while there are other examples this is brilliant imho...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ytRekLUX3GE
Post by: BennyCake on November 04, 2016, 11:21:24 PM
Bono is a tit. Can't stand the bollix. But he can hold a note. That's about it. He's no Pavarotti like.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on November 04, 2016, 11:26:01 PM
For me, it's not about holding a note.  Mariah Carey can do that, and she's complete shite (as is everyone who thinks singing is about producing every note known to man in the one word).  For me, it's about inducing a feeling, raising the hairs on the back of the neck and that's always going to be subjective. Bono doesn't do it for me, but he's certainly not a terrrible singer. 
Post by: ONeill on November 04, 2016, 11:27:10 PM
Mariah Carey is not complete shite.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on November 04, 2016, 11:27:30 PM
Yes, she is.
Post by: BennyCake on November 04, 2016, 11:29:14 PM
I suppose for this thread it's singers you can't listen to and have to turn off. Repulsed by their voice.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on November 04, 2016, 11:30:01 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on November 04, 2016, 11:29:14 PM
I suppose for this thread it's singers you can't listen to and have to turn off. Repulsed by their voice.

Yeah, that's it exactly for me.  Mariah came on in the supermarket the other day and I had to leave. 
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on November 04, 2016, 11:35:32 PM
Jarvis Cocker
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on November 04, 2016, 11:40:16 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on November 04, 2016, 10:17:50 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on November 04, 2016, 10:04:12 PM

Agree 100% about Bono's voice JOG2..while there are other examples this is brilliant imho...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ytRekLUX3GE

+1 - great example as well

On the other threads I have agreed that the Edge and Larry Mullen are good but not great (you could also put Adam Clayton in this bracket), the standout part of U2's music is Bono's voice.
Especially live, was always amazed at how good he, and the band, sounded live - always loved this performance:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tqh1pPS5vQU

Post by: armaghniac on November 04, 2016, 11:44:22 PM
BBC 4 midnight, Top of the Pops 1982 Mike Read presents the edition from July 29, featuring Dexy's Midnight Runners, Hot Chocolate, Elkie Brooks, David Essex, Yazoo, Paul McCartney, Irene Cara and Cliff Richard.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on November 04, 2016, 11:47:18 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on November 04, 2016, 11:21:24 PM
Bono is a tit. Can't stand the bollix. But he can hold a note. That's about it. He's no Pavarotti like.

I bet Kurt Cobain was called that in his lifetime - and Bowie, Morrison, Hendrix - only thing Bono did wrong was survive.
If he had have died from a drug overdose, wasting all that God given talent, twenty years ago, we would be flying into Dublin Bono airport by now, and no Irishman would be calling him a tit.
Post by: longballin on November 04, 2016, 11:49:04 PM
Wouldn't use the word 'hate'... seems a decent aul skin but Brian Kennedy's voice really grates with me... like scraping your fingernails on a black board
Post by: 5 Sams on November 04, 2016, 11:49:50 PM
Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on November 04, 2016, 11:47:18 PM

I bet Kurt Cobain was called that in his lifetime - and Bowie, Morrison, Hendrix - only thing Bono did wrong was survive.
If he had have died from a drug overdose, wasting all that God given talent, twenty years ago, we would be flying into Dublin Bono airport by now, and no Irishman would be calling him a tit.

;D ;D ;D ;D Excellent.
Post by: BennyCake on November 04, 2016, 11:57:42 PM

Alright alright, you're not on Miss World, BBB  ;)

Bonzo's voice doesn't repulse me, but hes still a tit.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on November 05, 2016, 12:12:28 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on November 04, 2016, 11:57:42 PM

Alright alright, you're not on Miss World, BBB  ;)

Bonzo's voice doesn't repulse me, but hes still a tit.

I am a fairy, my name is nuff - fair enough