Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Orior on October 24, 2017, 09:24:00 PM

Title: Gender Neutral
Post by: Orior on October 24, 2017, 09:24:00 PM
I see that Paloma Faith is raising her child as gender neutral.

http://www.hellomagazine.com/healthandbeauty/mother-and-baby/2017102343384/paloma-faith-raising-child-gender-neutral/

Any GAABoarders raising their children as gender neutral?

Any GAABoarders wish they had been raised as gender neutral?

Any GAABoard posters that you wish had been raised as gender neutral?

Title: Re: Gender Neutral
Post by: BennyCake on October 24, 2017, 09:41:05 PM
Sweet Jesus and the Mary Chain.
Post by: StGallsGAA on October 24, 2017, 09:41:27 PM
This could be an interesting thread of you didn't open it with Hello magazine's definition of what rich gender neutral means.
Post by: foxcommander on October 24, 2017, 09:43:50 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 24, 2017, 09:24:00 PM
I see that Paloma Faith is raising her child as gender neutral.

http://www.hellomagazine.com/healthandbeauty/mother-and-baby/2017102343384/paloma-faith-raising-child-gender-neutral/

Any GAABoarders raising their children as gender neutral?

Any GAABoarders wish they had been raised as gender neutral?

Any GAABoard posters that you wish had been raised as gender neutral?

When parents say stuff like that the child welfare officers should keep a good eye them. Mental.
Post by: screenexile on October 24, 2017, 10:08:30 PM
What does raising your children gender neutral mean?

I have 2 daughters who have been in dresses since they were born but if when they're older they didn't like it or feel comfortable it wouldn't bother me.
Post by: theskull1 on October 24, 2017, 10:20:21 PM
Bret Weinstein is a good person to follow on twitter when it comes to these crackerjack gender pronoun debates

Post by: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2017, 11:19:47 PM
Quote from: screenexile on October 24, 2017, 10:08:30 PM

I have 2 daughters who have been in dresses since they were born but if when they're older they didn't like it or feel comfortable it wouldn't bother me.
Oppressor. You have 2 children.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on October 24, 2017, 11:46:52 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2017, 11:19:47 PM

Oppressor. You have 2 children.

Post by: theskull1 on October 24, 2017, 11:48:17 PM
I think they can decide now whether they're children or adults nowadays
Post by: trileacman on October 25, 2017, 12:45:49 AM

You mean you are not raising your children gender neutrally?

You're a f**king nazi man. Dinosaurs like you shouldn't have children.
Post by: Gmac on October 25, 2017, 01:35:34 AM
How does this help the kid ? she ultimately wants what's best for the child right ?
How does this help the child ? or is attention seeking from nutter parents .
Post by: J70 on October 25, 2017, 01:45:55 AM
No idea what raising a gender neutral child entails, apart from her stating that "her approach... involves not dressing her child in stereotypical 'boy/girl' colours, such as pink or blue."

Post by: Puckoon on October 25, 2017, 01:52:24 AM
https://youtu.be/adPXDTvADD0 (https://youtu.be/adPXDTvADD0)

We've gone 180 degrees, we will come back soon.

#woke
Post by: omaghjoe on October 25, 2017, 04:23:46 AM
Heard this floating around lately about gentrified toys and the like... think it comes from individuals working their ideas backwards and having no direct experience themselves on weans at all.

But as anyone who has kids will know boys prefer to play with cars and balls and thrown stuff alot, climb, never listen but are more chilled out but have worse tempers! Girls prefer to play with dolls, listen more, are more empathetic, more emotional and highly strung. My kids are all still pretty young, and all play together and that's what I see.
You actually wouldn't believe how sterotypical kids are until you start to raise you own.

Anyway I dare the nanny will be getting the blame for it when the child ends up being gender stereotypical.
Post by: HiMucker on October 25, 2017, 09:01:03 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on October 25, 2017, 04:23:46 AM
Heard this floating around lately about gentrified toys and the like... think it comes from individuals working their ideas backwards and having no direct experience themselves on weans at all.

But as anyone who has kids will know boys prefer to play with cars and balls and thrown stuff alot, climb, never listen but are more chilled out but have worse tempers! Girls prefer to play with dolls, listen more, are more empathetic, more emotional and highly strung. My kids are all still pretty young, and all play together and that's what I see.
You actually wouldn't believe how sterotypical kids are until you start to raise you own.

Anyway I dare the nanny will be getting the blame for it when the child ends up being gender stereotypical.
100% Joe.  There was a lot of stuff my own kids done at a very early age, without much, if any influence that you would associate with "boy/girl stuff".  The toy cars being a prime example.  The boys were mad on that stuff before they even seen it on tv.  The best part was that the toy cars belong to their big sister who got them as hand me downs and never ever played with them.
Post by: Tyrdub on October 25, 2017, 09:27:28 AM
In our workplace someone has come up with the idea of turning ALL the toilets into gender neutral toilets. If it comes off it'll cost the organisation a clean fortune.
Personally I think its  a load of non-balls
Post by: Fat Angry Motorist on October 25, 2017, 09:35:49 AM
Quote from: Tyrdub on October 25, 2017, 09:27:28 AM
In our workplace someone has come up with the idea of turning ALL the toilets into gender neutral toilets. If it comes off it'll cost the organisation a clean fortune.
Personally I think its  a load of non-balls

The night before they open have a half dozen pints of stout and a chilli kebab, then "christen" the new bogs first thing.  That should put the weemin off using them.
Post by: tiempo on October 25, 2017, 09:46:26 AM
http://standrewsstewton.co.uk/

Link at the top, our projects > toilet.

It was eventually commissioned at a cost of £30k to introduce this toilet..!

It has since been twinned with hundreds of toilets in Kenya to such an extent that the local PP who had never set foot outside of Engerland was invited to Kenya to survey the good work and visit many of the twinned toilets.

Not even joking.
Post by: screenexile on October 25, 2017, 09:58:29 AM
Quote from: trileacman on October 25, 2017, 12:45:49 AM

You see you say this as if people all over the world are going mad about it. . . it's a hot button issue in American right now but people are free to raise their kids how they like.

Sure there's a serious amount now not vaccinating their children which is way worse than bringing your kids up gender neutral!!
Post by: BennyCake on October 25, 2017, 10:05:09 AM
Quote from: screenexile on October 25, 2017, 09:58:29 AM

You see you say this as if people all over the world are going mad about it. . . it's a hot button issue in American right now but people are free to raise their kids how they like.

Sure there's a serious amount now not vaccinating their children which is way worse than bringing your kids up gender neutral!!

Well, that is a matter of opinion.
Post by: Stall the Bailer on October 25, 2017, 10:10:53 AM
Seen an interesting documentary on the BBC based around this topic.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/mediacentre/proginfo/2017/33/no-more-boys-and-girls
Well worth a watch.
Post by: tonto1888 on October 25, 2017, 10:13:17 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on October 25, 2017, 10:05:09 AM
Quote from: screenexile on October 25, 2017, 09:58:29 AM

Well, that is a matter of opinion.

bringing them up gender neutral wont do the children any harm. Not vaccinating them leaves them open to harm
Post by: ballinaman on October 25, 2017, 10:28:50 AM
If you pretend not to hear this lads annoying voice it's worth a watch....obviously a header but he's well able to talk.

https://youtu.be/gkONHNXGfaM
Post by: lurganblue on October 25, 2017, 11:39:02 AM
I dont really understand the whole gender non binary thing.  I can grasp where someone is one gender but feels that they should be another but how can you be neither. F*ck I must be getting old.
Post by: tiempo on October 25, 2017, 11:50:51 AM
I'm gonna spend the rest of my days as the Hotpoint WMSIF8437BC 8kg 1400rpm A+++ Washing Machine in White, I mean from day to day I will appear as same old me doing same old me things, but for the purposes of uniqueness as to my knowledge no-one has yet claimed that they are a washing machine at heart, therefore I aim to be the human manifestation of a washing machine, this has the added bonus as completely confirming my gender neutrality (kind of niche but not niche enough to be unique). I will in turn inform the world wide web and social media outlets of my significance which in turn will be attested to by a range of likes/trolling as other non unique non significant entities (probably pathetically gender specific) have their say, which in turn will affirm my significance.
Post by: The Iceman on October 25, 2017, 12:18:18 PM
raising children as gender neutral and transgender are too very different things. gender neutral is not pushing what we could consider typical behaviour, activity, clothes, colours, toys or haircuts on a child. Leaving them to make up their own mind. More hollywood attention seeking and people needing trophys than anything else. I think anyway.
In theory a lot of us do some of this. Loads of wee fellas have long hair now - its all in. Lots of girls play with boys toys.

I have 3 boys and two girls. The boys are all rough and tumble, take your shirt off and wrestle and theyve never seen WWE. They want to climb and shoot pretend guns. My eldest girl is 7 and refuses to wear any kind of trouser. Skirts and tights or dresses. She'll do crafts and arrange these shopkins toys all evening.  Boys and girls are different and will gravitate towards those differences.

The funny thing about these gender neural pushing parents is that they are doing the opposite of what they set out to do. A boy might want a truck to play with but there's none in the house. The parent is forcing their gender neutral toy on the boy.
Post by: screenexile on October 25, 2017, 12:24:31 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on October 25, 2017, 12:18:18 PM
raising children as gender neutral and transgender are too very different things. gender neutral is not pushing what we could consider typical behaviour, activity, clothes, colours, toys or haircuts on a child. Leaving them to make up their own mind. More hollywood attention seeking and people needing trophys than anything else. I think anyway.
In theory a lot of us do some of this. Loads of wee fellas have long hair now - its all in. Lots of girls play with boys toys.

I have 3 boys and two girls. The boys are all rough and tumble, take your shirt off and wrestle and theyve never seen WWE. They want to climb and shoot pretend guns. My eldest girl is 7 and refuses to wear any kind of trouser. Skirts and tights or dresses. She'll do crafts and arrange these shopkins toys all evening.  Boys and girls are different and will gravitate towards those differences.

The funny thing about these gender neural pushing parents is that they are doing the opposite of what they set out to do. A boy might want a truck to play with but there's none in the house. The parent is forcing their gender neutral toy on the boy.

Who says that a gender neutral parent wouldn't buy their child a truck if they want one? I think your original definition is fine. What's the problem with not pushing things on your kids? I don't really see it as a big deal personally I think the majority will still identify one way or the other and that's fine. If it makes those who don't a bit more comfortable then that's fine too. Really I think it's a big hullaballoo over nothing.

The amount of outrage there was the time a young lad wanted to wear a skirt to school was crazy. He's a young lad who wants to experiment with things so let him at it. As long as nobody is getting harmed then what's the big issue?
Post by: Solo_run on October 25, 2017, 12:43:39 PM
Next thing is people won't be defining themselves as human.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 25, 2017, 12:49:39 PM
Quote from: Solo_run on October 25, 2017, 12:43:39 PM

The Killers have raised that already....
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on October 25, 2017, 01:15:53 PM
Quote from: tiempo on October 25, 2017, 11:50:51 AM
I'm gonna spend the rest of my days as the Hotpoint WMSIF8437BC 8kg 1400rpm A+++ Washing Machine in White, I mean from day to day I will appear as same old me doing same old me things, but for the purposes of uniqueness as to my knowledge no-one has yet claimed that they are a washing machine at heart, therefore I aim to be the human manifestation of a washing machine, this has the added bonus as completely confirming my gender neutrality (kind of niche but not niche enough to be unique). I will in turn inform the world wide web and social media outlets of my significance which in turn will be attested to by a range of likes/trolling as other non unique non significant entities (probably pathetically gender specific) have their say, which in turn will affirm my significance.

theyre a basturt for new parts. just letting ye know
Post by: laoislad on October 25, 2017, 01:20:00 PM
Quote from: Solo_run on October 25, 2017, 12:43:39 PM
Transabled was one I saw the other day. People choosing to become disabled.

https://www.google.ie/amp/nationalpost.com/news/canada/becoming-disabled-by-choice-not-chance-transabled-people-feel-like-impostors-in-their-fully-working-bodies/amp
Post by: ziggysego on October 25, 2017, 02:21:36 PM
Quote from: laoislad on October 25, 2017, 01:20:00 PM

https://www.google.ie/amp/nationalpost.com/news/canada/becoming-disabled-by-choice-not-chance-transabled-people-feel-like-impostors-in-their-fully-working-bodies/amp

I've seen a bit about this in recent years, but admittedly know very little about it. Personally, I find it hurtful and insulting people are wanting to identify in this way. I've no problems with gender neutral upbringing of children (as long as it itself isn't pushed or forced upon the child), but this does my wick in. Don't understand it, don't know why anyone would want it, I certainly don't.

That been said, I define myself able-bodied, but with a disability. (I contradicted myself, didn't I)
Post by: trileacman on October 25, 2017, 06:31:05 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 25, 2017, 02:21:36 PM
Quote from: laoislad on October 25, 2017, 01:20:00 PM

I've seen a bit about this in recent years, but admittedly know very little about it. Personally, I find it hurtful and insulting people are wanting to identify in this way. I've no problems with gender neutral upbringing of children (as long as it itself isn't pushed or forced upon the child), but this does my wick in. Don't understand it, don't know why anyone would want it, I certainly don't.

That been said, I define myself able-bodied, but with a disability. (I contradicted myself, didn't I)

Yeah you did.
Post by: Orior on October 25, 2017, 07:41:22 PM
As an old fashioned earthling, i'd be worried that kids who have decided their own gender, will get bullied at school.
Post by: trileacman on October 26, 2017, 01:07:31 AM
Saying your going to raise your child "gender neutral" just means your not going to bother your hole raising them at all. Just let them spring up whatever the f**k way they want as if they're weeds in a garden.

All this free-spirited, non-conformant parenting is complete bollix and no way to raise a child. Ask davina Mc caul who's mother brought her to clubs as a child and helped fuel a drug problem that would lead to addiction in her mid 20's
Post by: J70 on October 26, 2017, 02:06:42 AM
Quote from: trileacman on October 26, 2017, 01:07:31 AM
Saying your going to raise your child "gender neutral" just means your not going to bother your hole raising them at all. Just let them spring up whatever the f**k way they want as if they're weeds in a garden.

All this free-spirited, non-conformant parenting is complete bollix and no way to raise a child. Ask davina Mc caul who's mother brought her to clubs as a child and helped fuel a drug problem that would lead to addiction in her mid 20's

That's quite a conflation.
Post by: seafoid on October 26, 2017, 08:26:50 AM
Gender is a social invention. Boys don't cry. Girls wear pink. Girls have long hair. Boys do STEM subjects. Girls don't.

You don't have to accept it. Everyone should understand their emotions. We need more women leading things
Post by: HiMucker on October 26, 2017, 09:06:32 AM
Quote from: seafoid on October 26, 2017, 08:26:50 AM
Gender is a social invention. Boys don't cry. Girls wear pink. Girls have long hair. Boys do STEM subjects. Girls don't.

You don't have to accept it. Everyone should understand their emotions. We need more women leading things
Your 1st statement is balls, pun intended  :).  Your last statement is spot on.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on October 26, 2017, 09:29:16 AM
Gender neutral. What the actual f**k.
These people need to be locked up in the same cell as mothers in-law, hippy fuckwit vegans etc.
Worlds cowped already without these eejits running amok.
Post by: Rossfan on October 26, 2017, 09:39:37 AM
We need more women leading things
Arlene Foster  Teresa May Michelle O'Neill  Thatcher........
Post by: Syferus on October 26, 2017, 09:43:23 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 26, 2017, 09:39:37 AM

Hitler, Stalin, Franco, Mao..
Post by: BennyCake on October 26, 2017, 10:13:01 AM

That's just what I was thinking...
Post by: tonto1888 on October 26, 2017, 10:19:41 AM
some ejits on this thread
Post by: seafoid on October 26, 2017, 10:21:17 AM
more at ground level.
Or even at Cabinet level

The 2008 decision to guarantee the banks was made by a group pf men who had no idea what they were doing. If a quarter  of them had been women and a few tinkers had been included the banks would not have been guaranteed.
Post by: seafoid on October 26, 2017, 12:45:25 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on October 26, 2017, 09:06:32 AM

Sex is a natural state found everywhere.
Gender is not.
Different societies see gender differently.  Most American tribes are matriarchies for example. Women call the shots.
Most Christian societies are patriarchies . Because God in Christianity is male.

I think pre Christian Ireland was a matriarchy  because the seasons were managed by 2 women. Brid and the Cailleach.

England has been a patriarchy for a long time. The word for the worst type of person is the word from where the babies come from. That would not happen in a matriarchy.

In Irish the word for where the babies come from is inoffensive.  It is on all the motorway signs.
But you could not have the word CUN* on motorway signs thall î Sasana. You must be joking.
Post by: The Iceman on October 26, 2017, 01:21:09 PM
all the myths and history of Ireland would point to a Patriarchy...Brian Boru, the High King, the Kings of the Provinces...women did not have a lesser role but I wouldn't say it was a matriarchy.... and this isn't what Gender neutral is about....

there's always a motive. why does one group of people who think a particular way want to normalize "gender-neutral" parenting and raising of kids?
because they want to normalize the free flowing choice of gender that they are pushing already on adults?
Playboy had it's first transgender bunny this past month and I've read online from many pro transgender people that if you don't find him attractive there's something wrong with you...in fact if you're not open to a relationship with a transgender man who thinks he is a woman then you are a bigot, a dinosaur and dont belong in this world...

the transabled argument is the best example to use to argue against transgenderism

someone with perfectly working legs wants to have them removed because they believe they should be disabled. we get these people psychological help.
a man with a penis wants to cut it off because he thinks he should be a woman and people crowdfund for the surgery...
Post by: sid waddell on October 26, 2017, 01:31:02 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on October 26, 2017, 01:21:09 PM

the transabled argument is the best example to use to argue against transgenderism

someone with perfectly working legs wants to have them removed because they believe they should be disabled. we get these people psychological help.
a man with a penis wants to cut it off because he thinks he should be a woman and people crowdfund for the surgery...
Yeah, and the argument that humans will soon want to marry their dog was the best example to use to argue against same sex marriage.

I think I remember that one being used seriously, actually.

Post by: seafoid on October 26, 2017, 01:32:36 PM
all the myths and history of Ireland would point to a Patriarchy...Brian Boru, the High King, the Kings of the Provinces...women did not have a lesser role but I wouldn't say it was a matriarchy.... and this isn't what Gender neutral is about....

there's always a motive. why does one group of people who think a particular way want to normalize "gender-neutral" parenting and raising of kids?
because they want to normalize the free flowing choice of gender that they are pushing already on adults?
Playboy had it's first transgender bunny this past month and I've read online from many pro transgender people that if you don't find him attractive there's something wrong with you...in fact if you're not open to a relationship with a transgender man who thinks he is a woman then you are a bigot, a dinosaur and dont belong in this world...

Brian Boru was 10th century
Post by: The Iceman on October 26, 2017, 01:40:14 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on October 26, 2017, 01:31:02 PM

Yeah, and the argument that humans will soon want to marry their dog was the best example to use to argue against same sex marriage.

and its happening but you're all ok with it. two men married their horse, a woman even married herself -whatever floats your boat as long as it doesnt hurt anyone...oh and they should be allowed to adopt kids too!
Post by: sid waddell on October 26, 2017, 01:46:55 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on October 26, 2017, 01:40:14 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on October 26, 2017, 01:31:02 PM

and its happening but you're all ok with it. two men married their horse, a woman even married herself -whatever floats your boat as long as it doesnt hurt anyone...oh and they should be allowed to adopt kids too!

Ah, brilliant. Paranoid mentalists like yourself are a constant source of amusement.
Post by: Orior on October 26, 2017, 02:12:23 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 26, 2017, 01:32:36 PM

Brian Boru was 10th century

But he dipped for the line in the 11th century.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on October 26, 2017, 02:14:28 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 26, 2017, 12:45:25 PM

Gender is not.
Different societies see gender differently.  Most American tribes are matriarchies for example. Women call the shots.
Most Christian societies are patriarchies . Because God in Christianity is male.

I think pre Christian Ireland was a matriarchy  because the seasons were managed by 2 women. Brid and the Cailleach.

England has been a patriarchy for a long time. The word for the worst type of person is the word from where the babies come from. That would not happen in a matriarchy.

In Irish the word for where the babies come from is inoffensive.  It is on all the motorway signs.
But you could not have the word CUN* on motorway signs thall î Sasana. You must be joking.

Seafoid what the hell do you actually do for a living.
You post some serious confusing nonsense on a regular basis its as if youre constantly drunk and just come out with non stop verbal diorhea.
Your posts make my head hurt
Post by: trileacman on October 26, 2017, 04:47:42 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on October 26, 2017, 02:14:28 PM

Gender is not.

You post some serious confusing nonsense on a regular basis its as if youre constantly drunk and just come out with non stop verbal diorhea.

It's a spambot account. Have had it on the ignore for months now.
Post by: seafoid on October 26, 2017, 06:37:28 PM
Quote from: trileacman on October 26, 2017, 04:47:42 PM

Gender is not.

Why don't you use your genius to plot a way forward for throne ? They need a lot of help.
Post by: imtommygunn on October 26, 2017, 08:52:13 PM
has to be a bot.
Post by: OgraAnDun on October 26, 2017, 09:27:32 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on October 26, 2017, 08:52:13 PM
has to be a bot.

I don't see how a bot would come out with the odd relevant post, and I doubt there's many that post regularly in Irish.
Post by: sid waddell on October 27, 2017, 12:40:24 AM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on October 26, 2017, 09:27:32 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on October 26, 2017, 08:52:13 PM
has to be a bot.

I don't see how a bot would come out with the odd relevant post, and I doubt there's many that post regularly in Irish.
A bot that has been posting here since at least 2000, when I first looked in!
Post by: seafoid on October 27, 2017, 01:44:00 AM
The bot is in Belfast. Very reasonable prices

http://thebotanicinn.com/food
Post by: tonto1888 on October 27, 2017, 10:06:45 AM

Gender is not.

the irony
Post by: seafoid on October 27, 2017, 10:43:19 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on October 27, 2017, 10:06:45 AM

Gender is not.

the irony
It's called projection afaik