Terrorist Glorification versus Honouring Fallen Heroes

Started by Orior, November 22, 2017, 08:13:55 PM

Quote from: Syferus on November 24, 2017, 02:52:22 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 24, 2017, 11:23:23 AM
He's not alone in vomiting nonsense here.
He's bought into the narrative of SF/IRA/ Republicans/Nationalist bad -everyone else good. Also only those Bad crowd did anything wrong and only people killed or injured by them can be victims .

Then we have those who are the direct opposite - IRA heroes everyone else awful Free State blah blah.
The truth as usual lies in between.

Everyone else isn't good, but they damn well are better than an organisation that terrorised, murdered and robbed people. SF was/is just the political wing of the PIRA. This is not hyperbole but simply unavoidable fact. You don't find much love for the IRA around Shannon's Cross, Rossfan.

Funny I would see murder carried out by the security forces who were meant to be there for the protection of the people as worse given the position of power they were in.

foxcommander

Quote from: Syferus on November 24, 2017, 03:04:07 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on November 24, 2017, 03:02:50 PM
He's bought into the narrative of SF/IRA/ Republicans/Nationalist bad -everyone else good. Also only those Bad crowd did anything wrong and only people killed or injured by them can be victims .

Then we have those who are the direct opposite - IRA heroes everyone else awful Free State blah blah.

Everyone else isn't good, but they damn well are better than an organisation that terrorised, murdered and robbed people. SF was/is just the political wing of the PIRA. This is not hyperbole but simply unavoidable fact. You don't find much love for the IRA around Shannon's Cross, Rossfan.

Gone please stop writing about something you've zero experience of, you've a serious want for attention that isn't healthy. Felt like eating my own face after reading this thread. Just be content you were born a safe distance from us cast a drift up north and leave it at that.

If that's your attempt to dismiss a perfectly valid viewpoint it was very, very weak.

With no first hand experience to back it up your "valid viewpoint" doesn't have any basis.

Yet again you're making a total fool of yourself.

Trolls like yourself need to be banned from this site. Perhaps a moderator is watching this thread and can take action.
Every second of the day there's a Democrat telling a lie

Quote from: trueblue1234 on November 24, 2017, 03:08:29 PM

Funny I would see murder carried out by the security forces who were meant to be there for the protection of the people as worse given the position of power they were in.

It's amazing you think a bout of whatsboutry isn't disgusting when talking about the senseless murder of Gardai. It's fair to say that approach is emblematic of a lot of the discourse in the north. No one wants to look inwards for the problem.

Quote from: Syferus on November 24, 2017, 03:34:41 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on November 24, 2017, 03:08:29 PM

It's amazing you think a bout of whatsboutry isn't disgusting when talking about the senseless murder of Gardai. It's fair to say that approach is emblematic of a lot of the discourse in the north. No one wants to look inwards for the problem.

Just highlighting your complete lack of understanding in this discussion. It was you that took the approach of grading the violence that occurred in the North by claiming that IRA violence was worse than any other. So don't come back with the "Disgusting" nonsense. If you can't engage like an adult, then do us all a favour and don't post.

Orchard park

No IRA involvement in the Shannons Cross killing of John Morley and Henry Byrne  Syferus, the 2 who were charged and found guilty were  if anything members of the INLA and its debatable whether it was a personal or INLA robbery, the IRSP denied any involvement in the time. Meanwhile the 3rd man arrested, charged and jailed in another spectacular Free State miscarriage of justice was Peter Pringle ( father of Thomas Pringle TD) who was on the sauce in galway at the time and eventually got his miscarriage of justice 14 years later.

if you want to debate do deal in actual facts...... and i can go back and recall several roscommon republicans pulled from their beds and arrested after the killing in spite by special branch men. The branch if they got away with it would have been as bad as M15 and the UDR

Quote from: Orchard park on November 24, 2017, 03:55:41 PM

No IRA involvement in the Shannons Cross killing of John Morley and Henry Byrne  Syferus, the 2 who were charged and found guilty were  if anything members of the INLA and its debatable whether it was a personal or INLA robbery, the IRSP denied any involvement in the time. Meanwhile the 3rd man arrested, charged and jailed in another spectacular Free State miscarriage of justice was Peter Pringle ( father of Thomas Pringle TD) who was on the sauce in galway at the time and eventually got his miscarriage of justice 14 years later.

if you want to debate do deal in actual facts...... and i can go back and recall several roscommon republicans pulled from their beds and arrested after the killing in spite by special branch men. The branch if they got away with it would have been as bad as M15 and the UDR

That you'd think trying to semantically split hairs between the umpteen republican paramilitary groups was a good tact to take is surprising - if you think there's any respect for the IRA or any republican thugs and their 'struggle' after they shot dead two guards, well more's the fool you.

Quote from: Syferus on November 24, 2017, 04:02:50 PM
Quote from: Orchard park on November 24, 2017, 03:55:41 PM

That you'd think trying to semantically split hairs between the umpteen republican paramilitary groups was a good tact to take is surprising - if you think there's any respect for the IRA or any republican thugs and their 'struggle' after they shot dead two guards, well more's the fool you.

backtracking if ever I saw it

Orchard park

if you don't know the history and origins and differences in make up of the INLA and PIRA in either the 26 or 6 counties there is no point in engaging in debate.

Given there was only 2 active military republican groupings in 1980, not umpteen, it shouldn't have been that hard to differentiate when trying to so authoratively debate.

any views on how Peter Pringle was wrongly convicted

Quote from: Orchard park on November 24, 2017, 04:08:16 PM

if you don't know the history and origins and differences in make up of the INLA and PIRA in either the 26 or 6 counties there is no point in engaging in debate.

Given there was only 2 active military republican groupings in 1980, not umpteen, it shouldn't have been that hard to differentiate when trying to so authoratively debate.

Unfortunately lack of knowledge does not seem like a deterrent for Syferus on this or any topic. His usual stance is to stick his head in the sand when presented with information he doesn't like.

Syfín People vote for Mulligan and that Clare Kerrane don't they?
Your simple minded nerdy geeky Daily Express view of a majorly complicated 76 years of the conflict from the inception of the "Statelet" to the GFA referendums shows you up as an eejit if the highest order.
I don't support or vote for SF but I know and have read enough to know that the whole thing was a very complicated situation and many nasty things were done by many incl our Authorities.
Sallin train robbery trials,  sacrificing of a tout to save a bigger one off the top of my head as well as the Pringle chap.
Also the total lack of effort to investigate the Dublin and Monaghan mass murders.
There are 2 sides to every story but in the sad sorry story of the "Northern troubles" there are 4 or 5.

Therealdonald

Quote from: Orchard park on November 24, 2017, 04:08:16 PM

There's nothing quite like someone who knows FA about what they're talking about (Syferus) but just buys into the narrative,meeting someone (Orchard Park) who knows a a lot about what they're talking about.

Orchard park

Quote from: Rossfan on November 24, 2017, 04:14:30 PM
Syfín People vote for Mulligan and that Clare Kerrane don't they?
Your simple minded nerdy geeky Daily Express view of a majorly complicated 76 years of the conflict from the inception of the "Statelet" to the GFA referendums shows you up as an eejit if the highest order.
I don't support or vote for SF but I know and have read enough to know that the whole thing was a very complicated situation and many nasty things were done by many incl our Authorities.
Sallin train robbery trials,  sacrificing of a tout to save a bigger one off the top of my head as well as the Pringle chap.
Also the total lack of effort to investigate the Dublin and Monaghan mass murders.
There are 2 sides to every story but in the sad sorry story of the "Northern troubles" there are 4 or 5.

Syferus voted for Michael Mulligan !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Michael is a decent man and doesn't need to be tarnished with this though

How do you explain SF's rise in the polls over the last 10 years?

Il Bomber Destro

Quote from: Syferus on November 24, 2017, 03:04:07 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on November 24, 2017, 03:02:50 PM

Gone please stop writing about something you've zero experience of, you've a serious want for attention that isn't healthy. Felt like eating my own face after reading this thread. Just be content you were born a safe distance from us cast a drift up north and leave it at that.

If that's your attempt to dismiss a perfectly valid viewpoint it was very, very weak.

You must refrain from voting for any political party in the country given how entwined with the gun they all are. Voting FG must be a vote for tying lads to a tree and blowing them up with a landmine, voting FF must be a vote for shooting a government minister on his way to mass, voting Labour must be a vote for murdering Gardai after a botched robbery etc. If you can't deal with your own hypocricies you should refrain from commenting on matters.

I think Eamon Dunphy had his finest moment a number of years back when he called out the Free State establishment on their double standards.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rcvGYTFrNgE