Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: seafoid on October 26, 2022, 06:13:45 PM

Title: What's your earliest soccer World Cup memory?
Post by: seafoid on October 26, 2022, 06:13:45 PM
Go on, go on
Title: Re: What's your earliest soccer World Cup memory?
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on October 26, 2022, 06:36:20 PM
Norman Whiteside scoring for norn iron against Algeria and then Algeria to score almost an identical goal in the second half. Funny how WC 86 is very hazy yet WC90 I can remember  nearly every kick
Post by: An Watcher on October 26, 2022, 06:40:43 PM
Mexico 86 and I think it was Diego Maradonas Argentina playing South Korea in the group stages. 
Post by: SaffronSports on October 26, 2022, 06:49:26 PM
Italia 90, Ireland drawing 1-1 vs England.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 26, 2022, 06:53:33 PM
Getting a 1982 t-shirt with an Orange in it. Gerry Armstrong's goal against Spain. Other wonder is it a real memory or a memory of having seen it so often on the TV....definitely saw the game though
Post by: clarshack on October 26, 2022, 07:30:33 PM
Mexico 86 opening game
Post by: seafoid on October 26, 2022, 07:31:24 PM
Eder's goal in 82 was part of the RTE intro later in the tournament after the evil Italians beat Brazil.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jx9KMhX4lzo
A total banger

Rossi, Altobelli and Tardelli scored the goals in the final. Tardelli turned up in the Trap entourage years later.
Armstrong's goal was unbelievable. We wondered if we would ever get there. 

Rossi was unstoppable.
The World Cup made the summer interesting because both the hurlers and the footballers were shite.
Post by: Nanderson on October 26, 2022, 07:58:50 PM
Not sure which came first Keanes goal v Germany or Ronaldinhos lob v England. 2002 was my earliest world cup i can remember
Post by: Orior on October 26, 2022, 08:04:52 PM
1970 Mexico. First time I had heard of altitude training.

Armaghniac probably has older memories
Post by: Harold Disgracey on October 26, 2022, 08:19:08 PM
1978 Mario Kempes and ticker tape, the Van de Kerkhofs and Archie Gemmill's goal against Brazil.
Post by: AustinPowers on October 26, 2022, 08:21:22 PM
The Brazilian fella sticking one  in the top corner past Pat Jennings in Mexico

Or Gary Lineker's  hat trick v Poland or Paraguay,

can't remember which happened first though
Post by: Gmac on October 26, 2022, 08:33:04 PM
Bryan Robson Hat-rick  against portugal ? 1982
Post by: clarshack on October 26, 2022, 08:45:40 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 26, 2022, 08:21:22 PM

Josimar?
Post by: AustinPowers on October 26, 2022, 08:52:53 PM
Quote from: clarshack on October 26, 2022, 08:45:40 PM

Josimar?

That's him
Post by: Gmac on October 26, 2022, 08:56:08 PM
Quote from: dec on October 26, 2022, 08:42:34 PM
Quote from: Gmac on October 26, 2022, 08:33:04 PM

Gary Lineker scored a hat-trick against Portugal in 1986.
looked it up he got 2 against France , remember one was a great header
Post by: An Watcher on October 26, 2022, 08:58:02 PM
Quote from: Nanderson on October 26, 2022, 07:58:50 PM
Not sure which came first Keanes goal v Germany or Ronaldinhos lob v England. 2002 was my earliest world cup i can remember

Keanes goal was the second match of the group, the Brazil England game was second round or quarters
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 26, 2022, 08:59:40 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 26, 2022, 08:52:53 PM

Josimar?

That's him

Some movement on that ball. 1986 was first real proper WC memory though I have flakey ones of '82. Maradona was unreal. His goal v Belgium was unreal 
Post by: An Watcher on October 26, 2022, 09:00:24 PM

Trickier one, both were group games.  England played Paraguay in second round I believe but it was the Poland game where Lineker got the hat trick. 
Post by: An Watcher on October 26, 2022, 09:01:31 PM
Great thread
Post by: Dougal Maguire on October 26, 2022, 09:20:17 PM
1970. Remember all the press coverage of Bobby Moore and the stolen bracelet allegation before it. Collected the Esso World Cup coins 
Post by: seafoid on October 26, 2022, 09:22:46 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 26, 2022, 08:59:40 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 26, 2022, 08:52:53 PM

Josimar?

That's him

Some movement on that ball. 1986 was first real proper WC memory though I have flakey ones of '82. Maradona was unreal. His goal v Belgium was unreal

I think there was another Josimar playing in 86 . Jimmy Magee commentating. I thought he was talking about a Tipperary hurler.
Kerry had a player called Willie Maher at the time.
https://terracetalk.com/kerry-football/player/179/Willie-Maher
Post by: Ghost on October 26, 2022, 09:24:27 PM
Matt Holland's equaliser against Cameroon in 2002. Mind getting up early on a Saturday morning to watch it.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 26, 2022, 09:24:32 PM
Manuel Negrete's bicycle kick goal in 1986 - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jV92Cp4Qmkg
Post by: RedHand88 on October 26, 2022, 09:25:24 PM
USA 94. I was 6 years of age. Brazil at the peak of their powers, like Down that year.
Ireland beating Italy and the country going buck mad.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on October 26, 2022, 09:27:59 PM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on October 26, 2022, 08:19:08 PM
1978 Mario Kempes and ticker tape, the Van de Kerkhofs and Archie Gemmill's goal against Brazil.

Snap
Post by: dec on October 26, 2022, 10:14:02 PM
Quote from: Gmac on October 26, 2022, 08:56:08 PM
Quote from: dec on October 26, 2022, 08:42:34 PM
Quote from: Gmac on October 26, 2022, 08:33:04 PM

Gary Lineker scored a hat-trick against Portugal in 1986.
looked it up he got 2 against France , remember one was a great header

and i think the first one was after about 30 seconds, the Lineker hatrick was actually against Poland
Post by: snoopdog on October 26, 2022, 10:18:29 PM
My earliest memory Is having Espana 82  stickers on my bike.  I only started watching during Mexico 86
Post by: Silver hill on October 26, 2022, 10:21:08 PM
Boniek, polish striker in 78. The adidas ball. Argentina beating Peru 6-0. Ardilles and Villa. And yes, Archie Gemill's goal
Post by: Capt Pat on October 26, 2022, 10:55:59 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on October 26, 2022, 10:18:29 PM
My earliest memory Is having Espana 82  stickers on my bike.  I only started watching during Mexico 86

Same here I remember the mascot orange stickers but nothing of the games in 82.

I remember pretty much the whole of the 86 tournament. Josimar against Northern Ireland, Maradonna against England, Belgium, West Germany,. Lineker top scorer, Ray Wilkins getting sent off.
Post by: ONeill on October 26, 2022, 10:57:59 PM
Vague is Gerry Armstrong v Spain 82.

More vivid was France v Spain in 84 final, especially Platini's goal. (Sorry, Euros)

There was something magical about players outside of the English league back then.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on October 26, 2022, 11:01:09 PM
I've vivid memories of the 78 world cup Mario Kempes, Archie Gemill and ticker tape in particular
Post by: An Watcher on October 26, 2022, 11:05:12 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on October 26, 2022, 10:55:59 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on October 26, 2022, 10:18:29 PM

Same here I remember the mascot orange stickers but nothing of the games in 82.

I remember pretty much the whole of the 86 tournament. Josimar against Northern Ireland, Maradonna against England, Belgium, West Germany,. Lineker top scorer, Ray Wilkins getting sent off.

Remember Scotlands Group of Death from 86, West Germany, Uruguay and Denmark I think
Post by: gawa316 on October 26, 2022, 11:28:36 PM
Cameroon beating Argentina at Italia 90
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on October 26, 2022, 11:33:55 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 26, 2022, 10:57:59 PM
Vague is Gerry Armstrong v Spain 82.

More vivid was France v Spain in 84 final, especially Platini's goal. (Sorry, Euros)

There was something magical about players outside of the English league back then.

N Ire v Spain here. Something special about the satelitte pics and fuzzy commentary from the time.
Main memory was Germany France in the semi. As a young lad it seemed to go on about 3hrs. Such drama. A German fan from then on, never knew when they were bate. Although in later years you respected the brilliance of that French team

Platini in the 84 Euros was peerless ONeill. Quality.

Good thread
Post by: ONeill on October 26, 2022, 11:53:06 PM
I'll add to that and remember the class of that Danish team 84-86.
Post by: screenexile on October 27, 2022, 12:13:30 AM
Has to be Schillachi Italia 90. Also Milla. There were some amount of boys in school doing the Milla shuffle after that 😂😂
Post by: SaffronSports on October 27, 2022, 12:17:19 AM
One of the best things about lockdown was the classic World Cup games thing they showed on TV as there was no live sport.
Post by: thewobbler on October 27, 2022, 12:27:23 AM
For me it was the NI v England qualifier in 85, the Alan McDonald game. Was only getting into football at that stage. Remember staying up to watch it. By the time Mexico 86 came along I was obsessed with the game. And then Maradona. Wow.

Watched every game, seemingly most of them on a black and white tv in my room at silly o clock.

One of the earlier games of that tournament was Argentina v Italy. My mother made me go to confession that night when the game was on. I was fuming, and still was a day later. That was my last confession at 10 years old.

Was absolutely livid when my new hero Elkjaer got tamed by Spain. And I was fascinated with England; the TV cameras at training sessions, the non-stop coverage. But Diego made everything right in the end. Not by beating England. But by just being exceptional. Nobody passed the ball in school for a year after that. It was all about being maradona. Genius.
Post by: Gmac on October 27, 2022, 02:25:36 AM
Remember a young maradonna getting sent off against Brazil I think in 82
Post by: An Watcher on October 27, 2022, 07:25:40 AM
Anyone remember Rats in 86?
Post by: johnnycool on October 27, 2022, 08:16:46 AM
Brazil in 82.

Zico, Junior and the lads, got beat by Italy in the semi-final by Paulo Rossi.

Everyone wanted to be Zico in the playground that summer.
Post by: grounded on October 27, 2022, 08:22:31 AM
Trading stickers in 82 and 86. There was war in the playground.
Post by: seafoid on October 27, 2022, 08:23:46 AM
Spain had a player called Ufarte in 82. It was hilarious.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 27, 2022, 08:27:43 AM
Quote from: An Watcher on October 27, 2022, 07:25:40 AM
Anyone remember Rats in 86?

Vasyl Rats scored a worldie past Joel Bats....it was like the Rodent World Cup!!!
Post by: bigarsedkeeper on October 27, 2022, 08:45:40 AM
Mine is Italia 90. First time really paying any attention to sport on the TV. Brother was in Rome during it too so brought home some of the merchandise.

The Ireland England game started it off and I remember watching nearly every game once it got going. Idolised Paul McGrath after that. And Bonner for that penalty save - not so much after 94.
Post by: grounded on October 27, 2022, 08:55:12 AM
I vaguely remember Tudor crisps?  running a promotion for sabutteo for Italia 90. 
Post by: imtommygunn on October 27, 2022, 09:00:30 AM
Gammon and pineapple - they were great.
Post by: imtommygunn on October 27, 2022, 09:10:16 AM
Oops wrong thread. Italia 90 first memory but also remember Euro 88 well. 86 was a bit too early though I may have vague memories of the hand of god.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 27, 2022, 09:10:49 AM
No memory of the football to be fair but remember the ticker tape final in Argentina 78... That I suppose set me up for the 82 finals

Not sure how I'm going to take to these finals, as I've got older the interest has waned somewhat, I'll watch a club final before any soccer match tbh
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on October 27, 2022, 09:15:25 AM
Quote from: bigarsedkeeper on October 27, 2022, 08:45:40 AM
Mine is Italia 90. First time really paying any attention to sport on the TV. Brother was in Rome during it too so brought home some of the merchandise.

The Ireland England game started it off and I remember watching nearly every game once it got going. Idolised Paul McGrath after that. And Bonner for that penalty save - not so much after 94.

Baker Bradley marked Packie Bonner for Derry Minors back in the day. Has no relevance here i know but its another piece of useless trivia for you boys to carry on your way.

Now, as you were 😉😃
Post by: bennydorano on October 27, 2022, 09:29:42 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 27, 2022, 09:10:49 AM
No memory of the football to be fair but remember the ticker tape final in Argentina 78... That I suppose set me up for the 82 finals

Not sure how I'm going to take to these finals, as I've got older the interest has waned somewhat, I'll watch a club final before any soccer match tbh
A TV godsend for the most depressing month of the year
Post by: WT4E on October 27, 2022, 12:16:10 PM
O'Leary Penalty

The the next thing was Italy Ireland if my memory is right that game was played in the evening during the week. Came home from football traing I went to with my father to the news that Schillaci had scored. Proper days when you didnt put Gaelic off in favour of soccer. :D
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on October 27, 2022, 12:37:09 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 27, 2022, 09:10:49 AM

I said earlier my memory of Mexico 86 was a bit hazy but I still remember more of it than the last 4 world cups. Funny how when you have no team to follow it all becomes a bit of a bore. Defo lost a lot of its magic with so many pub teams in it and FIFA the wankers want more crap teams in and to host it every 2 yrs ffs. Get back to 24 or 32 teams and have the best in the world there, seriously nobody wants to see Saudi Arabia play Panama
Post by: pbat on October 27, 2022, 12:46:43 PM
86 got the panini sticker book, could never get Maradon's sticker. The father had a wealthy cousin in England used to come home every few years. He came home in the middle of Mexico 86 and bought me 50 packets of stickers and Maradona was among them. Wish I had of kept that sticker album.
Post by: J70 on October 27, 2022, 12:51:21 PM
'82 for me. Gerry Armstrong, Falcao's celebration after scoring in their classic loss against Italy, the semi between W Germany and France (and Schumacher the ****!), Maradona getting kicked off the field by the Italians, then sealing a disappointing first WC by getting the line against Brazil (setting him up for the ultimate triumph four years later).
Post by: J70 on October 27, 2022, 12:53:35 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on October 27, 2022, 09:15:25 AM

Baker Bradley marked Packie Bonner for Derry Minors back in the day. Has no relevance here i know but its another piece of useless trivia for you boys to carry on your way.

Now, as you were 😉😃

I didn't know that.

That's awesome!
Post by: J70 on October 27, 2022, 01:01:49 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on October 26, 2022, 11:28:36 PM
Cameroon beating Argentina at Italia 90

Stand out image from that game for me was the three man operation to clean Claudio Canniggia out of it in the last minute.

First man goes in, Canniggia effortlessly sidesteps it. Second goes flying in, Claudio rides it and stumbles but somehow manages to stay on his feet and keep going. Third guy comes in knee-high and just launches him into the air! Red card.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on October 27, 2022, 01:07:31 PM
Quote from: J70 on October 27, 2022, 12:51:21 PM
'82 for me. Gerry Armstrong, Falcao's celebration after scoring in their classic loss against Italy, the semi between W Germany and France (and Schumacher the ****!), Maradona getting kicked off the field by the Italians, then sealing a disappointing first WC by getting the line against Brazil (setting him up for the ultimate triumph four years later).

All this for me. I remember watching Gerry Armstrong scoring on my great aunts house in Castlefinn.

When they showed the replay all the older ladies celebrated again. 🙂

The muffled commentary at 82 and older World Cups gave a real sense of a far off land the you just don't get anymore. Also, as stated, far too many countries in it these days.

82 my first memory, but still have a clear memory of Manuel Negrete scoring a clinker for Mexico in 86.
Post by: bigarsedkeeper on October 27, 2022, 01:48:26 PM

Now, as you were 😉😃

That's a future quiz question in the making there. Brilliant to find stuff like that.

Cork v Dublin vocational hurling final/semi with Cork nr 6 named as D Irwin marking nr 11 N Quinn is always one that stands out.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on October 27, 2022, 01:55:41 PM
Quote from: J70 on October 27, 2022, 12:53:35 PM

Now, as you were 😉😃

I didn't know that.

That's awesome!

Told to me by the man himself. Baker not Packie lolol.
Twas league not champo tbf but still. Some trivia to impress the ladies 😉😃
Post by: naka on October 27, 2022, 01:58:35 PM
1978 loved the tune and the ticker tape welcomes.
archie gemmil`s goall,
remember my older brother waking me up to say argentina had scored 6 against Peru .
loved the final, the disputes about the dutch alleging stalling tactic, the issue over  van de kerkofs wrist and indeed Mario Kempes
still think it was up there with the best although 1982 was brilliant
Post by: keep her low this half on October 27, 2022, 02:10:18 PM
Quote from: naka on October 27, 2022, 01:58:35 PM
1978 loved the tune and the ticker tape welcomes.
archie gemmil`s goall,
remember my older brother waking me up to say argentina had scored 6 against Peru .
loved the final, the disputes about the dutch alleging stalling tactic, the issue over  van de kerkofs wrist and indeed Mario Kempes
still think it was up there with the best although 1982 was brilliant
First one I remember as well, the ticker tape was fabulous if a little annoying at times.
Post by: mrdeeds on October 27, 2022, 02:46:39 PM
World Cup 94. The Kellogs pop ups of Irish players
Then Germany South Korea after school tour. Saturday night Ireland Italy.
Post by: DownFanatic on October 27, 2022, 02:52:23 PM
The opening game of the 94 tournament - Germany v Bolivia. Marco Etcheverry getting a red card.
Post by: JBM on the 21 on October 27, 2022, 03:19:35 PM
Brazil V Italy 1982.  It is because of that match/ Brazilian team, I fell for the game and as much as I try to get out of it ever since, it has failed me.
The colour that day in Barcelona was like from an alien planet.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RfIvpCgIUU0
Post by: An Watcher on October 27, 2022, 04:55:53 PM
94 was fantastic in that Ireland were there and England were not.  No Scotland, Wales or Billy boys for that matter.  Was funny how the bbc and itv jumped on the bandwagon
Post by: seafoid on October 27, 2022, 06:16:02 PM
https://www.behance.net/gallery/17180121/Naranjito-Espana-82-by-Alejandro-Mila
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on October 27, 2022, 06:18:45 PM
78. The Peru rig
Post by: AustinPowers on October 27, 2022, 07:09:20 PM
I remember being absolutely  gutted when Brazil lost to France on penalties in Mexico 86

Even as a youngster I knew the  admiration for the Brazil team and  I couldn't comprehend how  they could be beaten

Around that time too  Pat Jennings was regarded as the best goalkeeper in the world  and I couldn't figure out how  the worlds best goalkeeper could let in  3 goals

Life was simpler then
Post by: weareros on October 27, 2022, 07:22:46 PM
Earliest was watching Scotland and Peru in 1978 as a young lad in a pub with my uncle. Remembered the distinctive Peru jersey. Loved the 1982 World Cup and a Cameroon player Roger Milla really caught my attention. Never heard of him again until he starred in the 1990 World Cup at the ripe old age of 38. The 1978 final remains with me for one reason. We had got our living room wallpapered that very day, and when my parents went out for a drink that night, I got a football and thought I was Mario Kempes only to trip over myself, grab the wall to break my fall, and I ripped a huge gash in the new wallpaper.
Post by: Substandard on October 28, 2022, 12:53:55 AM
Earliest that I think I can remember,  although I could have it arseways,  was 86- I have it in my head that Dancing in the Dark was the RTE theme or continuity music, or if not, then it was something similar.
I remember having a poster of Maradona kissing the trophy up on the wall, I think it was out of the Sunday World.
Post by: An Astrail on October 28, 2022, 01:32:43 AM
1982 - I remember Gerry Armstrong's goal vs Spain and Bryan Robson's goal in the first few seconds against France. But it's the Italy - Brazil game with Rossi's hat trick that really sticks in the mind after all these years.
Post by: Armamike on October 28, 2022, 09:47:51 AM
78.  Great spectacle with the ticker tape.  The theme tune.  Kempes' long hair and the tightness of the Argentinian shorts.  The talk around Cruyff not playing - he had fallen out with the Dutch FA i think and that was his last chance at a tournament.  Archie Gemmill's goal and how Scotland were so close to pulling off a great escape act.  The talk before the tournament from Ally McCloud about how Scotland were going to win it.  The images of him with his head in his hands.  Willy Johnson being sent home for failing a drugs test.
Post by: north_antrim_hound on October 28, 2022, 10:20:22 AM
Gerry Armstrong, Archie Gemmell and the genius of Maradona.
Post by: weareros on October 28, 2022, 11:32:22 AM
Forgot to mention 82 was first memories of World Cup songs. NI had Dana. But Scotland had a classic:
https://youtu.be/gmzDOqUdu8A
Post by: naka on October 28, 2022, 02:42:27 PM
Quote from: Armamike on October 28, 2022, 09:47:51 AM
78.  Great spectacle with the ticker tape.  The theme tune.  Kempes' long hair and the tightness of the Argentinian shorts.  The talk around Cruyff not playing - he had fallen out with the Dutch FA i think and that was his last chance at a tournament.  Archie Gemmill's goal and how Scotland were so close to pulling off a great escape act.  The talk before the tournament from Ally McCloud about how Scotland were going to win it.  The images of him with his head in his hands.  Willy Johnson being sent home for failing a drugs test.
thought cruyff refused to go because of the military junta?
Post by: Gold on October 28, 2022, 05:54:27 PM
1990 Opening Ceremony. Maradona doing keep ups before kick off then Cameroon trying to murder Cannagia and stealing the win with a header

Heaven
Post by: redzone on October 28, 2022, 06:52:28 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/m0019rjr

Hopefully that link works. Pat Nevin on Cruyff
Post by: Wildweasel74 on October 28, 2022, 08:43:57 PM
82, seem to remember N Ireland beating Spain, The Brazilian samba fball, Oscar, Zico, Socrates, Falco, Junior, Rossi the bollacks, the steel faced Dino, and, Karl Heniz hitting the crossbar. Best Memory Maradona goal. Saddest a few, Hillsborough, the game against Juventus,
Post by: Hoof Hearted on October 28, 2022, 08:47:24 PM
Question of sport tonight was a WC special
Few of these moments mentioned were shown

Class
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 28, 2022, 09:01:51 PM
Nice thread.

Getting some sort of wall chart for España 82. Helped me to understand what was going on and kept me interested in all the matches. Was glued to it every night. In NI v Spain I seem to remember being outraged at the dirty play by the Spaniards.
Post by: Hound on October 28, 2022, 09:50:05 PM
1982 was my first World Cup, and still 82 and 86 are my favourite World Cups.

Brazil 1982 is definitely the most entertaining team I ever saw, and probably the best. No team can win every game they play, especially in soccer, and Italy did beat them, but it was a bit of a freak. Brazil would have beaten them 9 times out of 10. And France were the second best team in the tournament, I was delighted they went on to win Euro 84. Thankfully the Germans were eventually beaten in the final - you couldn't have watched that tournament and not hated them!

England were a very interesting team in 82. Only conceded 1 goal in 5 games, and should really have knocked out the Germans in the ridiculous round robin quarter-finals. Keegan and Brooking were top class players coming to the end of their careers, both picked in the squad despite being injured, and both made their first appearance for the last 25 minutes of their final game v Spain, where they needed to win and dominated, but only drew 0-0, allowing the Germans to progress to a semi final v Poland. It was a top quality England team, who could easily have made the final and would have had at least a 50-50 chance v the Italians.

1986 had some absolute worldie goals, and was a really great tournament, but in the end it was all about Diego. The greatest individual display ever in a World Cup.
Post by: tonto1888 on October 29, 2022, 10:44:44 AM
Italia 90. Argentina getting beat by Cameroon, Ireland v England, pens v Romania, Schillaci, England losing on pens and an awful final.
Post by: seafoid on October 30, 2022, 07:29:04 AM
I remember the name Gaetano Scirea. He was one ofvthe best Italian defenders in the catenaccio system that beat Brazil

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gaetano_ScireaDeathEdit

In summer 1989, Scirea visited Poland as an observer to watch Górnik Zabrze, against which Juventus was to play in the UEFA Cup. On 3 September 1989 a car carrying him collided head-on with a truck near Babsk. The car carried four canisters of gasoline in the trunk (a common practice in Poland at that time due to frequent gas shortages), which exploded upon impact, killing Scirea along with two fellow passengers.[9]

Post by: ziggy90 on October 30, 2022, 09:05:05 AM
North Korea v Portugal 1966 WC Q/F .The Koreans went 3-0 up before a Eusebio inspired Portugal beat them 5- 3.
I think it was played at Goodison Park.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on October 30, 2022, 10:22:28 AM
This thread has secretly become a "how old are you thread" 😃😃😉
Post by: shark on October 30, 2022, 10:40:01 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on October 30, 2022, 10:22:28 AM

Was thinking the same. I've been coming to this board for what must be close to 20 years , and I'm still one of the youngest here judging by this thread. Too young to remember Italia 90
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on October 30, 2022, 10:51:55 AM
Quote from: shark on October 30, 2022, 10:40:01 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on October 30, 2022, 10:22:28 AM

Was thinking the same. I've been coming to this board for what must be close to 20 years , and I'm still one of the youngest here judging by this thread. Too young to remember Italia 90

Damm you to hell shark!!!!
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 31, 2022, 04:15:04 AM
Some great memories here.

ITV's 1986 theme (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f1NwRvA1jGw)

Reminds me of going outside to kick the ball around the yard with my brothers after every match.

ITV nailed it again with their 1990 theme (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lJZ2VdiGpFo)

And of course, there's Put em under pressure (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tKKEbJNwjO4). There was a lot of World Cup tunes in the charts at the time, but this is the one that sticks.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 31, 2022, 09:44:31 AM
Italian 90: When football changed forever tonight on C4 @ 9pm (albeit about England but looks good)
Post by: AustinPowers on October 31, 2022, 10:11:41 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on October 31, 2022, 04:15:04 AM
Some great memories here.

ITV's 1986 theme (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f1NwRvA1jGw)

Reminds me of going outside to kick the ball around the yard with my brothers after every match.

ITV nailed it again with their 1990 theme (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lJZ2VdiGpFo)

And of course, there's Put em under pressure (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tKKEbJNwjO4). There was a lot of World Cup tunes in the charts at the time, but this is the one that sticks.

That 86 World Cup theme brings  me back . Great  tune.  Didn't saint and greavsie adopt that  tune after 86?

I remember the sticker  book from 86 as well.  Great memories
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 31, 2022, 04:46:02 PM
Here's one that didn't age as well.

I'm yer man (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mjwiox_ISIA)
Post by: Armamike on October 31, 2022, 05:02:07 PM
Quote from: naka on October 28, 2022, 02:42:27 PM
Quote from: Armamike on October 28, 2022, 09:47:51 AM
thought cruyff refused to go because of the military junta?

Must have been because of the Dutch FA's stance on the military junta then  ;D  I remember feeling pissed off him missing it - i was too young to remember him in 74. 
Post by: ONeill on October 31, 2022, 08:56:36 PM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on October 31, 2022, 09:44:31 AM
Italian 90: When football changed forever tonight on C4 @ 9pm (albeit about England but looks good)

Italy 90 was a weird one I thought. I just remember it being narky and full of boring low-scoring draws. The stats will probably suggest otherwise. Is it fair to say 86 was the last of the samba-style football from the Brazilians?
Post by: An Watcher on October 31, 2022, 09:17:52 PM
Not 100% but don't think Brazil were great in 86
Post by: ONeill on October 31, 2022, 09:27:57 PM
You're probably right. I remember them blitzing Poland and the NI game but didn't really get going.
Post by: clarshack on October 31, 2022, 10:04:19 PM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on October 31, 2022, 09:44:31 AM

Was worth watching.
Post by: ONeill on October 31, 2022, 10:13:50 PM
If you have Netflix, the 'Becoming Champions' series is worth watching. Loved the Italy episode.
Post by: seafoid on November 04, 2022, 01:43:44 PM
https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/podcasts/the-beltel/the-beltel-1982-world-cup-anniversary-special-oneill-knew-northern-ireland-were-on-verge-of-greatness-41788873.html
Post by: Dire Ear on November 04, 2022, 06:30:32 PM
Zico, Socrates...not sure of the year,  but a majestic outfit
Post by: SHEEDY on November 04, 2022, 07:59:39 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on November 04, 2022, 06:30:32 PM
Zico, Socrates...not sure of the year,  but a majestic outfit
1982. Zico, Socrates, Falcao, Eder something magical about that team at the time, damn you Paulo Rossi
Post by: Wildweasel74 on November 04, 2022, 09:15:07 PM
Your forgetting Oscar and Junior there too, remember the final with Karl Heize hitting the crossbar and a impressive Dion Zoff.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on November 04, 2022, 09:29:23 PM
When playing in the yard at lunchtime I was Junior. My mates were Zico, Maradona, etc.. Oh to be ten years old again!
Post by: ONeill on November 04, 2022, 10:13:59 PM
I was Sammy McIlroy.
Post by: Gmac on November 04, 2022, 10:36:14 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 04, 2022, 10:13:59 PM
I was Sammy McIlroy.
now you can be Rory
Post by: red hander on November 04, 2022, 10:43:29 PM
Old enough to remember 1974 on the TV. For some reason Holland v Brazil sticks in memory, I think because it was bucketing rain, Cruyff was biggest name in football and, as far as I recall, Brazil wore blue, which was shock. I also distinctly remember final. Dutch underestimated West Germany big time.

Best ever game IMO, Italy 3-2 Brazil. That 1982 Brazil team greatest never to win World Cup.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on November 05, 2022, 03:15:18 AM
They were better than many a team to win the world cup.
Post by: lurganblue on November 05, 2022, 11:23:45 AM
1990 is my first world cup memory although I was still pretty young. I remember kicking football on the streets and running into the house and asking what the score was. My da had backed Germany to win it and was delighted after the final.

1994 was my 1st proper one though, as in sitting down to watch the matches. Everyone seemed to have a knock off ireland USA 94 top that fell off the back of a lorry. I remember going to our club to watch Ireland v Holland. For fear of an attack, the big gates were closed at the club and people had to come in through the turnstiles. Awful.
Post by: From the Bunker on November 05, 2022, 03:21:15 PM
World Cup 1982.

There is a cluster of memories from that tournament.

Rossi being allowed to play for Italy and being their talisman.
Brazil being so strong.
West Germany and Austria playing out the last 20 minutes of their 1-0 so both would go through.
The talk of Maradona and him just getting kicked every time he touched the ball.
Scotland fecking up their group (again).
Northern Ireland beating Spain and us cheering them on.
Finding it hard to believe Norman Whiteside was only 17 and playing in the WC.
Tardelli's Final goal celebration.
Kuwaiti leader calling his players off the field for a referee decision that went against his team.
A silly second round round-robin of games.

In those days the World Cup was when you got to see most of the big players.

African players were not scouted like today and most played in France.
Eastern block players could not go to foreign clubs until they were 28.
The Premier league had not yet been formed.
Coverage of the European Cup, Uefa Cup and Cup winners Cup was limited.
Coverage/exposure to La Liga, Serie A, Bundesliga, Ligue 1 and the old English Division 1 was limited.

Now we get to see most of the Big players play annually in the Champions League.

But as a show case competition. The World Cup is still one of the best.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on November 05, 2022, 03:30:47 PM
some knowledge there Bunker good man. Few titbits i didnt know.

Its deffo an age thing (hence the thread lol) but the first couple of WCs are definitely the most memorable and also the fact we see all the stars regularly has lessened it all
Post by: seafoid on November 05, 2022, 08:07:13 PM
I think Falcao was the only Brazilian playing in Europe. He is a legend at Roma
Post by: ziggy90 on November 06, 2022, 12:34:55 PM
Quote from: red hander on November 04, 2022, 10:43:29 PM
Old enough to remember 1974 on the TV. For some reason Holland v Brazil sticks in memory, I think because it was bucketing rain, Cruyff was biggest name in football and, as far as I recall, Brazil wore blue, which was shock. I also distinctly remember final. Dutch underestimated West Germany big time.

Best ever game IMO, Italy 3-2 Brazil. That 1982 Brazil team greatest never to win World Cup.

Nope, that was Holland in '74. Imo.
Post by: seafoid on November 11, 2022, 12:01:41 PM
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/63568753
Post by: Eire90 on November 11, 2022, 12:22:40 PM
France 98
Post by: rodney trotter on November 11, 2022, 03:00:43 PM
It doesn't feel like a World Cup year with the time of year and playing it in Qatar. Not even a build up it, 1 week break from the regular season.

The English League Cup should have been put aside for the year. Packing  games into a short period. The next round of the league Cup is a few days after the World Cup final
Post by: red hander on November 11, 2022, 03:10:22 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on November 06, 2022, 12:34:55 PM

Had it in their grasp, went 1-0 up in final, but got cocky. Brilliant team, all right. Funny how memory plays tricks. Was convinced Holland v Brazil was played in a downpour, watched highlights again on YouTube other night and it was dry. Weird. Will say, under modern refereeing, there would have been at least four straight red cards, they kicked shit out of each other, there was even a rugby tackle by one Brazilian  ;D
Post by: seafoid on November 11, 2022, 03:34:44 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on November 11, 2022, 03:00:43 PM
It doesn't feel like a World Cup year with the time of year and playing it in Qatar. Not even a build up it, 1 week break from the regular season.

The English League Cup should have been put aside for the year. Packing  games into a short period. The next round of the league Cup is a few days after the World Cup final
Before the World Cup always felt like an event but this year is weird
Post by: rodney trotter on November 11, 2022, 04:16:07 PM
Quote from: seafoid on November 11, 2022, 03:34:44 PM

Blatter regrets the World Cup going to Qatar. A bit late now

https://news.sky.com/story/qatar-world-cup-a-mistake-and-a-bad-choice-says-ex-fifa-boss-sepp-blatter-12742447
Post by: ziggy90 on November 11, 2022, 07:45:44 PM
Quote from: red hander on November 11, 2022, 03:10:22 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on November 06, 2022, 12:34:55 PM

Had it in their grasp, went 1-0 up in final, but got cocky. Brilliant team, all right. Funny how memory plays tricks. Was convinced Holland v Brazil was played in a downpour, watched highlights again on YouTube other night and it was dry. Weird. Will say, under modern refereeing, there would have been at least four straight red cards, they kicked shit out of each other, there was even a rugby tackle by one Brazilian  ;D

There was arrogance about that Dutch team and the German's knew how to exploit it.
Thirty years after WW2 and there was still an underlying if unspoken bitterness between those two nations.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on November 11, 2022, 07:53:07 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on November 11, 2022, 04:16:07 PM
Quote from: seafoid on November 11, 2022, 03:34:44 PM

Blatter regrets the World Cup going to Qatar. A bit late now

https://news.sky.com/story/qatar-world-cup-a-mistake-and-a-bad-choice-says-ex-fifa-boss-sepp-blatter-12742447

Ever see the clip of the day it was announced ?
Blatter handing the cup over to some Quatari
Dodgy looking as f**k