(So called) Republicans attack Sinn Fein MLA

Started by ziggysego, July 31, 2008, 07:15:49 PM

Quote from: the green man on July 31, 2008, 11:32:05 PM
Maybe this bonfire is the only thing that they have to show their republican identity? I know that they had a band parade a few years ago which was confined to the estate (Wouldn't that be nice if the same applied to all OO marches). Attacking men isn't going to do them any favours whatsoever within the Catholic community, which can be seen here. Being a Catholic and living in Ballymena must be shite, not that I'm condoning them boys actions. Yer man in the brazil top needs a good pounding all the same. There weren't too many ones going in to stop the attack.

Somebody tell me WTF a bonfire has to do with Republican Identity. Unbelievable aping of the other side is all it is, just as these republican flute bands are doing the same

Theres a Gaelic Club a couple of miles out the road. I guarantee you none of them are involved. I would bet none of the speak Irish or play traditional music.

Tell what what positives their mindset brings to any community?

the green man

Dont shout at me. I dont live there. I know feck all about them. I'm only trying to second guess why they would react in such a way.

I didn't. Abbreviations are always capitalized.  :)

These people couldn't second guess themselves so there's no point in you trying to GM   

Baile an tuaigh

As a brother of Paudies I have to ask the question why do you bother? Busting  your hole off trying to improve the quality of peoples lives only to be attacked by people, who are just about smart enough to know not to eat themselves.       

On another note. The incident "greenman" refers to is why Paudie quit Hurling for Ballycastle. It is little wonder, that particular group of players failed miserably on the Hurling field. With such attitudes.

Baile an tuaigh

The main speaker Christopher Smiley had a relation in the old UDR. How ironic. Ignorance is dangerous. The hard man that was throwing a few boxes is called Ciaran Mc Gill. 

Quote from: Baile an tuaigh on August 01, 2008, 05:17:07 AM
The main speaker Christopher Smiley had a relation in the old UDR. How ironic. Ignorance is dangerous. The hard man that was throwing a few boxes is called Ciaran Mc Gill. 

Look Baile an tuaigh

Chris wears his hoops jersey every weekend and sings rebel songs all night with his beer drinking drug taking mates. Thats enough to make someone a republican these days doesn't it?

Must be terrible to be brought up being told there was a noble armed struggle going on and then at the age of ten they took it all away  :-\. Angry young men who never got their chance to play a part in the troubles

Quote from: theskull1 on August 01, 2008, 08:00:46 AM
Quote from: Baile an tuaigh on August 01, 2008, 05:17:07 AM

Look Baile an tuaigh

Chris wears his hoops jersey every weekend and sings rebel songs all night with his beer drinking drug taking mates. Thats enough to make someone a republican these days doesn't it?

Must be terrible to be brought up being told there was a noble armed struggle going on and then at the age of ten they took it all away  :-\. Angry young men who never got their chance to play a part in the troubles

Thanks fcuk they didn't get a chance to fight, whatever hope we had there would have been no hope if these dummies had anything to do with it.

This was a disgrace, but is symptomtic of the plastic republicans that are prevalent in that area.  I have spent too many nights out in pubs in the Glens and other North Antrim areas listening to dum asses roaring rebel songs, wearing their hooped jersies and fighting with their shadows.  As you said skull they want to fight now when the war is over and the rest of the people want to make the best of the situation.  It's a pity there were not a few of them around when they were really needed ::)

Quote from: stiff breeze on July 31, 2008, 10:56:42 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 31, 2008, 10:28:40 PM
There's also a bonfire starting in the Short Strand and they even have the "Dump Wood Here" sign.  :(

Its a shame to think that some of "our lot" are as low as "their lot". I suppose we're all the same really! (except for all the scummy things that loyalists do).

our lot are equally as bad as theirs. Its a sickening fact

people are people - good and bad.
I mainly dislike that so many are only prepared to see the bad in their counter groups.

Quote from: nifan on August 01, 2008, 09:07:19 AM
people are people - good and bad.
I mainly dislike that so many are only prepared to see the bad in their counter groups.

Thats the truth

With the right community structures though, scumbags like that never get to become the dominant males. The other thing is about good communities, is that more often than not, people who had the potential to be bad hoors can actually bring alot of positives to it when encouraged to. Looks like this area is another vacuum where scumbags like that feel top dog.

Point for Donagh....

Ballymena is not in the Glens and I'm sure most Glens people would not thank you for saying it.

Dunclug is developing into a scummy place. There's flags and all sorts round it. In the last ten or so years some of the younger people seem to have developed into "patriots". If you recall back a few years there were a number of ones done for RIRA membership and I think most of them would be from Dunclug. Shitehole of the highest order.

Quote from: imtommygunn on August 01, 2008, 09:47:28 AM
Point for Donagh....

Ballymena is not in the Glens and I'm sure most Glens people would not thank you for saying it.

Dunclug is developing into a scummy place. There's flags and all sorts round it. In the last ten or so years some of the younger people seem to have developed into "patriots". If you recall back a few years there were a number of ones done for RIRA membership and I think most of them would be from Dunclug. Shitehole of the highest order.

Apologies but it is very close to the Glens and I'd say master Smiley does a lot of his socialising there. I believe he was one of those being charged for RIRA membership and had the charges dropped when it turned out that their leader in the estate and the person fermenting a lot of the trouble (Paddy Murray) was an MI5 agent provocateur. Knowing the history of how they work, I'd say there's a very good chance that he was not the only one.

Donagh these boys live a good way off the Glens and there are very few , if any, in the Glens who behave like them so tarring them with the Glens brush is crap.

You apologised and then basically retracted it.

We all know they're scumbags - that's not my point. They're scumbags from Dunclug Ballymena and not from the Glens.

Quote from: imtommygunn on August 01, 2008, 10:17:26 AM
Donagh these boys live a good way off the Glens and there are very few , if any, in the Glens who behave like them so tarring them with the Glens brush is crap.

We all know they're scumbags - that's not my point. They're scumbags from Dunclug Ballymena and not from the Glens.

Okay, point taken I apologise for dragging the Glensmen into it.

On another point, unless he does something quick it's looking like the end of the line for Daithí McKay. He's had a few years to sort out that estate but it's as bad as ever. What's needed up there is a veteran in the Martin Meehan mould who can command a bit of respect and won't stand for any shite from the scumbags.

Quote from: Donagh on August 01, 2008, 10:25:26 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 01, 2008, 10:17:26 AM

Okay, point taken I apologise for dragging the Glensmen into it.

On another point, unless he does something quick it's looking like the end of the line for Daithí McKay. He's had a few years to sort out that estate but it's as bad as ever. What's needed up there is a veteran in the Martin Meehan mould who can command a bit of respect and won't stand for any shite from the scumbags.

Thats a wee bit unfair Donagh, these people have no repsect for authority of any kind, it would not matter who was there, they would behave the same way.  As far as I can see Daithi has worked hard for his constituents and gets roughed up by some twat full of steroids.
Looking at their Bebo it is fair to say these 'patriots' are dissident hoods with nothing to offer.  Let them stand for election at next council/assembly elections and see how much support they garner.  They are bullies holding an already neglected community to ransom.