Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Forever Green on May 26, 2011, 02:00:17 AM

Poll
Question: Are they real?
Option 1: yes votes: 18
Option 2: no votes: 23
Title: Ghosts
Post by: Forever Green on May 26, 2011, 02:00:17 AM
How many posters believe in ghosts and have ever had an encounter with something that could be described as paranormal?
Title: Re: Ghosts
Post by: mannix on May 26, 2011, 04:01:35 AM
Steven hawkings reckon that we will die and rot away, no afterlife.
Post by: Hardy on May 26, 2011, 08:19:51 AM
FFS. This is 2011. The Enlightement has been underway for three centuries.
Post by: ziggysego on May 26, 2011, 08:40:34 AM
I've had experiences of the paranormal type. As a result of one, I've a terrible fear of mirrors.
Post by: haveaharp on May 26, 2011, 08:55:08 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 26, 2011, 08:40:34 AM
I've had experiences of the paranormal type. As a result of one, I've a terrible fear of mirrors.

Do tell Ziggy
Post by: HiMucker on May 26, 2011, 09:43:49 AM
Quote from: haveaharp on May 26, 2011, 08:55:08 AM

Do tell Ziggy
Its just your reflection lad, dont be afraid
Post by: Orior on May 26, 2011, 10:08:54 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on May 26, 2011, 09:43:49 AM

Do tell Ziggy

No reflection on you of course.
Post by: Nally Stand on May 26, 2011, 11:33:59 AM
Quote from: Orior on May 26, 2011, 10:08:54 AM

Do tell Ziggy

My view would mirror Orior's statement
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on May 26, 2011, 11:35:49 AM

Was it that film the other night with Kiefer Sutherland?
Post by: ziggysego on May 26, 2011, 11:46:52 AM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on May 26, 2011, 11:35:49 AM

I avoided the film, specifically because it was a horror about mirrors.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on May 26, 2011, 11:48:47 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 26, 2011, 11:46:52 AM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on May 26, 2011, 11:35:49 AM

I avoided the film, specifically because it was a horror about mirrors.

You were probably right.  There were bad people in those mirrors
Post by: Galwaybhoy on May 26, 2011, 02:53:23 PM
I have an interest in the Paranormal.  I did the ghost tour in Q Station in Manly in Australia which was good.  I'm a huge horror film fan, (not so much the slasher type films though) but its hard to find any good ones now.
Post by: HiMucker on May 26, 2011, 03:56:27 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on May 26, 2011, 11:33:59 AM
Quote from: Orior on May 26, 2011, 10:08:54 AM

Do tell Ziggy

My view would mirror Orior's statement
You boys should be put in prism for them puns  :-X  :-\
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on May 26, 2011, 04:52:22 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on May 26, 2011, 02:53:23 PM
I have an interest in the Paranormal.  I did the ghost tour in Q Station in Manly in Australia which was good.  I'm a huge horror film fan, (not so much the slasher type films though) but its hard to find any good ones now.

I thought "The Last Exorcism" wasn't too bad
Post by: Galwaybhoy on May 26, 2011, 05:03:03 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on May 26, 2011, 04:52:22 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on May 26, 2011, 02:53:23 PM

I thought "The Last Exorcism" wasn't too bad

I wasn't too gone on it..  I did enjoy The Exercism of Emily Rose and Paranormal Activity was OK.  But nothing really stands out over the last few years.  There probably is one or two very good ones I can't think of off the top of my head though.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 26, 2011, 06:01:24 PM
So Ziggy, Snow White is another film you avoid? Mirror mirror on the wall.......
Post by: ziggysego on May 26, 2011, 06:44:42 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 26, 2011, 06:01:24 PM
So Ziggy, Snow White is another film you avoid? Mirror mirror on the wall.......

Snow White gives me hope. Maybe someday I'll find a woman like that in my house.
Post by: the green man on May 26, 2011, 09:06:04 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 26, 2011, 06:44:42 PM
Snow White gives me hope. Maybe someday I'll find a woman like that in my house.

Tidying up?
Post by: ONeill on May 26, 2011, 09:19:25 PM
I've heard talk of Holy Ghosts around Ardboe.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 26, 2011, 09:27:42 PM
Quote from: Forever Green on May 26, 2011, 02:00:17 AM
How many posters believe in ghosts and have ever had an encounter with something that could be described as paranormal?

If someone believes in ghosts does that mean one has religious beliefs?
Post by: ONeill on May 26, 2011, 09:31:05 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 26, 2011, 09:27:42 PM

Not atall. Some people believe in some form of non-physical presence left over after a death for a short period of time. I'm veering towards reincarnation at the minute.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 26, 2011, 09:36:22 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 26, 2011, 09:31:05 PM

Not atall. Some people believe in some form of non-physical presence left over after a death for a short period of time. I'm veering towards reincarnation at the minute.
432 to go.
Post by: ONeill on May 26, 2011, 09:45:52 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 26, 2011, 09:36:22 PM

432 to go.

You're right. Board banned til June20. Sorta.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 26, 2011, 09:56:58 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 26, 2011, 09:45:52 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 26, 2011, 09:36:22 PM

432 to go.

You're right. Board banned til June20. Sorta.
All work and no play. That's a serious amount.
Post by: ONeill on May 26, 2011, 10:22:01 PM
Greed.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 26, 2011, 10:27:20 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 26, 2011, 10:22:01 PM
Greed.
Board GCSE papers?
Post by: ONeill on May 26, 2011, 10:45:50 PM
Indeed.

Back to ghosts. It's always a friend of a friend. I've never met anyone who can say they are 95% sure they saw/met a ghost.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 26, 2011, 10:50:32 PM
The sister-in-law and mother-in-law both maintain they saw the ghost of a small child in the wife's homestead on separate occasions. Neither would be the type to make this up.
Post by: ONeill on May 26, 2011, 11:05:55 PM
Some advice:

The following article has been copied (with the owners permission) from Donald Tyson's Supernatural World Website. I found it a very interesting read, which I though our members would enjoy. The original source can be found at Donald Tyson's Website along with many other facinating subjects.

Do ghosts exist? Of course they do. Why else would tens of thousands of people from all nations around the world and all periods in human history report seeing them under more or less similar circumstances? The question you should be asking yourself is, granted that ghosts exist -- what are they?

The most important thing to know about ghosts is that they are not the souls of dead people returned to communicate with the living. Dead is dead. Unless you believe in the reincarnation of the lower soul with the memories of its past lives intact, there is no coming back (I do not believe in the reincarnation of the personality and memory).

Neither are ghosts physically present when you see them. They are present in the astral world which always overlaps the physical world. You see a ghost when, for various reasons, the separation between the two levels of reality becomes very thin.

From historical accounts, it appears that the perception of ghosts occurs most often at night, in relative or complete darkness, or at least in some shadowed place, usually when the air is still. Certain localities are favorable for the appearance of ghosts -- why is difficult to determine. One theory has it that a ghost is a kind of psychic recording of an event in the past that took place at that locality, and that the locality acts as some sort of recording medium, and periodically replays the event under the right conditions.

Ghosts are often described as shadowy or translucent. Only portions of their body may appear -- a relative of mine once saw a ghostly hand project itself upward through the surface of a school desk that was stored in a dark school basement. Sometimes ghosts walk out of or into walls, or through furniture. They can do this because, to them, our physical reality is no more than a projected three-dimensional image.

There are many exceptions to this general description, of course. Some ghosts appear as real and as solid as a person of flesh and blood. Some appear in full daylight, and are seen by numerous persons at the same time, or on numerous occasions. More rarely they interact with others, talking and even laughing with them, or touching them. However, as a broad rule of thumb, ghosts appear in haunted places, at night when the light is poor, when the air is quiet, to individuals who are frequently (but not always by any means) going to bed or waking from sleep. Usually they do not speak, or take the least notice of their observer. They perform the same set of actions on successive occasions, as though performing a play, or in a trance state, or as though they were themselves projections of a cinema image.

You may ask how a projected astral image can touch you? The answer is a bit difficult to grasp at first consideration, because it challenges your normal concept of reality. You need to realize that what you see in the world around you is being created by your brain from raw sensory data. Your world exists inside your head, even though it appears to exist outside your body. Because your world is really a mental construction, it is possible for an astral being to appear completely solid and real to your perceptions. When this happens, you may find yourself unable to differentiate between a physical object and an astral object, or a physical person and a ghost.

Usually there is a difference between our perception of a physical object and an astral object, which is why ghosts appear incomplete, dim, shadowy, pale, translucent, and so on. My point is, at times there is no difference in perception between the physical and astral realities. This rarely occurs for the average person, but it does occur. Under this circumstance, any entity or thing in the astral realm can interact with you with all the solidity and reality of a physical entity or thing.

If ghosts are merely astral recordings of past events, how do they interact and communicate with human beings? Usually, they don't. When they do take notice of a human observer, it indicates that they are not a pure ghost, but an astral entity that has assumed the physical appearance of a dead person. On rare occasions, it is indeed possible to talk with ghosts, or communicate with them through gestures, but when this happens, the ghost is really a spirit of the astral world in disguise.

Astral spirits can assume different shapes and features more or less at will. They enjoy the company of and interaction with living human beings. When the emotions of a human being are very strong -- for example, just after the death of a loved one -- an astral spirit may put on the body of the departed and appear to his or her lover or family. If you have ever had anyone close to you die, you will probably have experienced extremely vivid dreams in which you are talking with that person. The being in these dreams is not your departed friend or relative, but an astral spirit. Such spirits can appear both in dreams and in our waking reality when the proper conditions exist.

Are ghosts dangerous? Usually not. In their most common manifestation they are merely shadows or images without physical substance. On the other hand, if an astral spirit decides to haunt an individual person rather than a particular place, they can become very distracting. This is especially true if the pseudo-ghost takes on physical substance and is able to touch the person being haunted.

The touch of a ghost is chilly. It draws heat from the surface of the body, and if it persists, this cold gradually penetrates into the muscle and fat. I have had the experience of being embraced for prolonged periods of time by ghostly spirits. It takes a little getting used to. I enjoy it most on hot summer nights. In the wintertime, it makes me shiver and put another blanket on the bed. These astral ghosts are lonely beings, and they like to sleep in the beds of those who do not reject them, in the same way stray dogs or cats like to rub up against friendly persons.

I should mention here that animals sometimes appear as ghosts. One night while lying in bed I had a litter of drowned kittens snuggle up under my armpit for warmth and go to sleep. I didn't mind, although their attempts to suckle on my armpit tickled like crazy! The poor things still had their eyes closed, they were so young. Their fur was wet, which is how I knew they had been drowned.

From personal experience, many times repeated, I can state categorically that the touch of such a spirit may feel complete physical. At these times there is no way to differentiate the hand of a ghost laid on your shoulder from the hand of a person, except that the ghost's hand will (usually) be somewhat cool.

I have had so many interactions with spirits over the years, they do not trouble me in the least, but I can understand how being touched by a ghost in the darkness, alone in bed, might startle, or even frighten, some individuals. If this happens to you, relax. You are very unlikely to be harmed, since most spirits mean no harm. If you are really troubled, turn on a light or get up from your bed or chair and walk into another room. This should dispel the astral presence.

The most important thing I can say about ghosts is, never mistake a ghost for the human being it resembles. Not even if the ghost talks to you, and declares itself to be the departed human being. Astral spirits who imitate dead people are seeking attention and love. If you wish to give them this love (as I often do), fine; but if you do not wish to be deceived and bothered by them, turn your mind away from them and focus it firmly on some other task, such as reading a book or washing your hair. They may persist for a time, but eventually they will give up in disappointment and go away.
Post by: leaveherinsir on May 26, 2011, 11:39:51 PM
Think yer man has been smoking something stronger than Marlboro Lites!!  ;) :P
Post by: haveaharp on May 27, 2011, 11:45:38 AM
Quote from: ONeill on May 26, 2011, 11:05:55 PM
Their fur was wet, which is how I knew they had been drowned.

In reality this guy had probably just pissed the bed.
Post by: AbbeySider on May 27, 2011, 11:59:45 AM
I dont know about the above article, but myself and a friend heard the banshee one day while we were playing in a fairy fort that was also a children's grave yard (before they were allowed to be burried in consecrated ground).

Scarred the sh!t out of me...
Post by: Hardy on May 27, 2011, 12:06:34 PM
No you didn't hear "the banshee". You see, there is no banshee.
Post by: haveaharp on May 27, 2011, 12:08:26 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 27, 2011, 12:06:34 PM

A fox crying maybe.
Post by: Hardy on May 27, 2011, 12:33:54 PM
That's probably the most common explanation.
Post by: AbbeySider on May 27, 2011, 01:01:18 PM
So foxes can talk now, and change the weather instantly?
She screamed "Dont come back!!! " twice.

Impressive if it was a fox
Post by: stephenite on May 27, 2011, 01:19:11 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on May 27, 2011, 01:01:18 PM

Assuming it was the west of Ireland, weather changing instantly is hardly that uncommon.

There was a fox down our way that could speak French and German, but only saw it in the summers. She showed me her tits one night down at the Ice house
Post by: davegaasportsdesk on May 27, 2011, 01:51:25 PM
I reckon ghosts are real, I have never seen one but so many people have or at least claim to have, they cant all be lying!
Post by: Hardy on May 27, 2011, 02:11:05 PM
Quote from: davegaasportsdesk on May 27, 2011, 01:51:25 PM
I reckon ghosts are real, I have never seen one but so many people have or at least claim to have, they cant all be lying!

Why didn't you tell us this before? Now I have to change my mind after all these years of relying on Newton, Galileo, Einstein, Darwin and all those other frauds, who must all have been lying about how the world works. And all I had to do was ask someone like yourself (who has never seen one) about what so many people have said they saw.

Will I ever learn?
Post by: nifan on May 27, 2011, 02:30:20 PM
they cant all be lying? Maybe but they could be fooling themselves
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 27, 2011, 02:34:16 PM
I don't believe in ghoulies and ghosities and long-legged beasties and trhat sort of stuff.
However, I think that there are phenomena that can't be explained due to our present state of understanding.
That's logical enough, I suppose; things that were considered  as 'magic' in times gone by are commonplace now.  Sooner or later, much of what we consider inexplicable today will be understood.
That outa the way, I once heard of an incident for qwhich there is no logical explanation.
The revd. rector of the secondary school I went to was not a man given to wind ups or exaggerations of any sort.
One day in class, the talk switched to belief in the afterlife and that sort of stuff. I forget what we were supposed  to be studying but everyone present was more than willing to get him of the subject in question.
Anyway, he told us about an incident for which he had no explanation;
Back in Black & Tan times, a doctor in the Sligo town area was an IRA sympathiser and he got shot by the Tans when he was called out to tend the injuries of an IRA man. This man  had been injured in a gunfight with the same buckos.
The doctor had a daughter who was a boarder at  Kiltimagh  convent and a neighbour who had a car went to take her home. She was told nothing about her father's death; just that he was unwell and her mother wanted her to come home.
Things were going grand until the car came to a narrow railway bridge outside Collooney, which was the spot  where her father had been shot. As thery crosssed the bridge, the girl got hysterical and cried out that her father was dead and he had died at this very spot. She was inconsolabel and the driver had a hard job to get her home where the wake was in progress.
Years later, I did a bit of research and found that a doctor had indeed been shot by the Tans at that bridge.
My informant told me that he had heard of the incident concerniong the daughter'e experience at the bridge but he couldn't vouch for its truthfulness as he hadn't been present at the wke.
However, the Revd. Sean O'Neill was from the area and was about the same age as the girl in question.
The same gentleman was as humourless as can be imagined. I don't know if the girl's premonition was fact or fiction but I know Jack O'Neill believed it did.
Post by: AbbeySider on May 27, 2011, 03:50:31 PM
Quote from: stephenite on May 27, 2011, 01:19:11 PM

Assuming it was the west of Ireland, weather changing instantly is hardly that uncommon.

There was a fox down our way that could speak French and German, but only saw it in the summers. She showed me her tits one night down at the Ice house

:D :D :D
Post by: AbbeySider on May 27, 2011, 03:52:01 PM
Ill post my full banshee story and another ouija board story on Tuesday... will freeze ye in your seat.  :o  ;)
Post by: leaveherinsir on May 27, 2011, 07:49:41 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on May 27, 2011, 03:50:31 PM
Quote from: stephenite on May 27, 2011, 01:19:11 PM

:D :D :D
See that post made me laugh and cry at the same time. Laugh cos it was very funny, but cry at the fact we didnt have those type of foxes round our way back in the day!
Post by: Forever Green on May 27, 2011, 10:22:13 PM
This is some weird shit right here.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QfZItov1BUo (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QfZItov1BUo)
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 27, 2011, 10:54:10 PM
Quote from: nifan on May 27, 2011, 02:30:20 PM
I wouldn't say I was a firm believer, I suppose I'm open to the possibility but how do you explain two, three or larger groups of people seeing/hearing the same things? They can't all be fooling themselves in the very same way.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on May 28, 2011, 08:53:57 AM
Quote from: Forever Green on May 27, 2011, 10:22:13 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QfZItov1BUo (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QfZItov1BUo)

I learnt my lesson years ago.  When I watch these videos I sit well back from the screen and expect something like that to happen.  Good try though.  ;D
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 28, 2011, 10:54:38 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on May 27, 2011, 10:54:10 PM
I wouldn't say I was a firm believer, I suppose I'm open to the possibility but how do you explain two, three or larger groups of people seeing/hearing the same things? They can't all be fooling themselves in the very same way.

I'm not a total sceptic but I'd treat a lot of those claims with a bit of caution.
Remember the moving statues episode in the 1980?
Tens of thousands of otherwise sane, logical individuals swore they could see statues of the BV moving about the country. Busloads would descend on some location or other because they heard a 'miracle' had happened there and sure enough,  the statue would oblige.
The craic was mighty for about a year or so until things returned to normal.
The conditions where there to spook some into believing that miracles were taking place and it was a case of Chinese whispering after that—somebody swore he/she saw something and told others who believed because they wanted to believe and  you soon had a snowballing effect.
I don't think there ever was an apparition at Knock or anywhere else for that matter.
But ESP is another matter.
I think human science and logic still hasn't reached the point where the full potential of the mind will have been discovered. I don't think progress will ever stop at a certain point where one can be confident that science can go no further.
Post by: mylestheslasher on May 28, 2011, 12:43:12 PM
I'm not religious but I do believe there is something in the idea of ghosts. Don't know what they are or why they are here but there is something in it. I have a good friend whose house was haunted. Transparent figures standing in rooms, child running around corridors etc. Mad stuff. I know some will scoff but I am certain this friend would not make it up - in fact it is hard to get him to even talk about it (any story of ghosts comes up here would leave the room). An exorcism or some sort of religious prayer was carried out on the house and it all stopped which is something I don't understand either. Maybe its a trick of the mind but it seems strange that everyone in that house had a paranormal experience while in it.
Post by: ziggysego on May 28, 2011, 02:08:04 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 27, 2011, 12:06:34 PM

Banshee is real. One of my experiences.
Post by: ONeill on May 28, 2011, 11:03:50 PM
Fcuk sake Ziggy. It was a cat in heat.
Post by: Forever Green on May 29, 2011, 12:29:07 AM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on May 28, 2011, 08:53:57 AM
Quote from: Forever Green on May 27, 2011, 10:22:13 PM

I learnt my lesson years ago.  When I watch these videos I sit well back from the screen and expect something like that to happen.  Good try though.  ;D

Good man for ruining it.
Post by: ziggysego on May 29, 2011, 12:39:57 AM
Quote from: ONeill on May 28, 2011, 11:03:50 PM

She shoved me in the back and I fell over. (This was back in the time I could walk)
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 29, 2011, 11:11:54 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 28, 2011, 10:54:38 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on May 27, 2011, 10:54:10 PM

I'm not a total sceptic but I'd treat a lot of those claims with a bit of caution.
Remember the moving statues episode in the 1980?
Tens of thousands of otherwise sane, logical individuals swore they could see statues of the BV moving about the country. Busloads would descend on some location or other because they heard a 'miracle' had happened there and sure enough,  the statue would oblige.
The craic was mighty for about a year or so until things returned to normal.
The conditions where there to spook some into believing that miracles were taking place and it was a case of Chinese whispering after that—somebody swore he/she saw something and told others who believed because they wanted to believe and  you soon had a snowballing effect.
I don't think there ever was an apparition at Knock or anywhere else for that matter.
But ESP is another matter.
I think human science and logic still hasn't reached the point where the full potential of the mind will have been discovered. I don't think progress will ever stop at a certain point where one can be confident that science can go no further.
yeah, I'd be sceptical of that type of thing, I think it'd be a mixture of people wanting to see something/wanting to part of the group/just mad in the head.
Like Myles though I know someone and their house was haunted and they'd also see and hear the same things, evening sitting together in the room they'd see/hear things going on that couldn't be explained and I'd have no reason to doubt them. 
Post by: ONeill on May 29, 2011, 11:14:28 AM
Again, I know a friend....

Can some hoor come on here and convince me they saw something they reckon had ghostly attributes?
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 29, 2011, 11:15:45 AM
Quote from: ONeill on May 29, 2011, 11:14:28 AM
Again, I know a friend....

Can some hoor come on here and convince me they saw something they reckon had ghostly attributes?
How could they convince you? What evidence from them would you require?
Post by: ONeill on May 29, 2011, 11:20:00 AM
"They reckon" - rather easy - just tell the tale.

Post by: pintsofguinness on May 29, 2011, 01:57:51 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 29, 2011, 11:20:00 AM
"They reckon" - rather easy - just tell the tale.
Ziggy has and you've ignored him.
Post by: Tubberman on May 29, 2011, 02:31:13 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on May 27, 2011, 11:59:45 AM
I dont know about the above article, but myself and a friend heard the banshee one day while we were playing in a fairy fort that was also a children's grave yard (before they were allowed to be burried in consecrated ground).

I heard 'something' that scared the life out of me.
Our house is pretty isolated, lot of large trees and a river beside it.
One night (I was still in school at the time), I was out the back having a sneaky smoke, and then there was this spine-chilling scream/roar from over the wall - back towards the woods/river.
I have no idea what it was - the only thing I could think it mightbe would be an animal being killed. That or a banshee  ;)
Whatever it was, I dropped the fag and sprinted into the house as fast as I could.

Another night, I was walking home from a local pub with a gang of lads. We had been telling ghost stories all along the walk (about half a mile), and then I had to turn off at the crossroads and walk the rest of the way on my own (bout 1/4 mile).
The road I was walking along had no street lights and there was no traffic so it was pitch black apart from a small bit of light when the moon came out from behind the clouds.
As I was walking I could hear something walking beside me but I couldn't see anything. When I stopped, it stopped. Then I could hear this heavy breathing  :'( After the ghost stories I heard only a few mins earlier, this had me completely freaked out.
Then the moon came out, and I saw it was a friendly cow in the field that was just over the wall and walking alongside me. Never so glad to see a cow  :D

And our house at home is meant to be haunted - the old people used to say it was, before our family bought it.
By a headless horseman apparently - not very original really!
Post by: J70 on May 29, 2011, 03:38:43 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on May 29, 2011, 02:31:13 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on May 27, 2011, 11:59:45 AM

I heard 'something' that scared the life out of me.
Our house is pretty isolated, lot of large trees and a river beside it.
One night (I was still in school at the time), I was out the back having a sneaky smoke, and then there was this spine-chilling scream/roar from over the wall - back towards the woods/river.
I have no idea what it was - the only thing I could think it mightbe would be an animal being killed. That or a banshee  ;)
Whatever it was, I dropped the fag and sprinted into the house as fast as I could.

Another night, I was walking home from a local pub with a gang of lads. We had been telling ghost stories all along the walk (about half a mile), and then I had to turn off at the crossroads and walk the rest of the way on my own (bout 1/4 mile).
The road I was walking along had no street lights and there was no traffic so it was pitch black apart from a small bit of light when the moon came out from behind the clouds.
As I was walking I could hear something walking beside me but I couldn't see anything. When I stopped, it stopped. Then I could hear this heavy breathing  :'( After the ghost stories I heard only a few mins earlier, this had me completely freaked out.
Then the moon came out, and I saw it was a friendly cow in the field that was just over the wall and walking alongside me. Never so glad to see a cow  :D

And our house at home is meant to be haunted - the old people used to say it was, before our family bought it.
By a headless horseman apparently - not very original really!

And if the moon hadn't come out you'd be telling us another story to go with the rest of the ones on this thread that "can't/couldn't be explained"!!
Post by: 118cmal on May 29, 2011, 06:44:30 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 29, 2011, 12:39:57 AM
Quote from: ONeill on May 28, 2011, 11:03:50 PM

She shoved me in the back and I fell over. (This was back in the time I could walk)

Can you elaborate a wee bit Ziggy if you don't mind?

I find all this stuff fascinating.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 30, 2011, 10:31:05 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=02-BXlepE38
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 31, 2011, 11:51:14 AM
I had a chat with a few individuals  recently who have a deep interest in all matters paranormal and the subject of ghosts came up.
We chatted about a number of well-know sites around the country where there is much  controversy over eyewitness accounts of what may or may not have happened there. Unlike my companions, I have no set views one way or the other where any of them is concerned.
But there is one place in particular that intrigues me and I was reminded of a visit I paid there over twenty years ago.
I am talking about the Rhetoric House in Maynooth College. I saw or heard nothing while there to convinve me that there was a paranormal presence in the area but many otherwise sane people are convinced otherwise.
Mind you, the clerical authorities there try to play it down and don't encourage outside interest in the supposed extraordinary happenings there. I got in because I was accompanied by a priest who is recogniised by the Church as an excorcist.
He's supposed to be fairly good at the job and has told me of many times when he has in conflict with malign, preternatural entities.  As for me; I accept that he believes he has been and I leave it at that.
Anyway, he brought me along to a corridor in the Rhetoric House that oce was a dormitory for junior students.
There's a number of small identical bedrooms on either side of this corridor.

However, there  an alcove where the front wall and door of a room have been removed and the window has been bricked up. There was (and probably still is) a statue of St Joseph there.

The story goes that back in the 1840s a student appeared to have committed suicide in this room after a number of others claimed they heard an almighty commotion going on there. Some other student was given this room and he too appeared to have died in the same manner and there was evidence of him meeting a violent end.  Eventually a priedt tried his luck there and he wound uo a 'jibbering wreck' the following morning.
The authorities decided that enough was enough and turned the room into an orotary for the said St Joseph.
My companion told me that a renowned physiic examined the room and reported that he found a very powerful malign energy there.
I just don'r know. I experienced nothing out of the ordinary while in this oratory  but those at the very centre of Catholic power and influence in the country appear to think otherwise
Post by: laoislad on May 31, 2011, 01:32:12 PM
I have heard that same story about Maynooth Lar. There is also a house near me back home in Laois where the owners also had to block up the windows and doors of one room because of similar reasons to Maynooth.
Post by: ross4life on June 02, 2011, 10:00:41 PM
http://www.herald.ie/national-news/city-news/have-you-caught-the-ghost-train-at-connolly-station-2664015.html
Post by: Eamonnca1 on June 02, 2011, 10:32:31 PM
Saw a show one time about paranormal stuff. They investigated the catacombs under Edinburgh and did controlled experiments to see which rooms people found most unsettling. The most unsettling rooms (the ones which were allegedly "haunted") all had certain features in common in terms of lighting, temperature, size, height of the ceiling etc.

Bottom line: It's all in yer heads!
Post by: Forever Green on October 01, 2011, 01:01:03 AM
(http://mysterial.org.uk/portal/images/uploads3/zghost2NNP_468x308.jpg)

(http://www.ghostsandstories.com/images/ghost-caught-on-my-friends-camera-21330900.jpg)

(http://ghostsnstuff.org/wp-content/uploads/2010/05/ghost-sneaking-up-behind-family-caught-on-camera.jpg)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 01, 2011, 06:43:34 AM
Anyone who believes in ghosts is a complete idiot.
Post by: ONeill on October 30, 2011, 09:11:55 AM
Spooky in Coalisland.

Watch from 40 mins on, especially around 56 mins on.

Nutters or go-betweens?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dtoz5Ve1EyA&feature=youtu.be#t=25m18s
Post by: haveaharp on October 31, 2011, 12:36:40 AM
Quote from: ONeill on October 30, 2011, 09:11:55 AM
Spooky in Coalisland.

Watch from 40 mins on, especially around 56 mins on.

Nutters or go-betweens?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dtoz5Ve1EyA&feature=youtu.be#t=25m18s

Around the island id say Derek Acora has nothing to fear.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 31, 2011, 04:30:46 PM
There's  perfectly logical explanation for all of these things. I can't believe educated people are still believing this superstitious nonsense in this day and age. Derren Brown is a great one for debunking this crap:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B_hQvWsIMYs (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B_hQvWsIMYs)
Post by: southdown on October 31, 2011, 04:56:28 PM
What is it with mirrors that scares the crap out of people?
Post by: haveaharp on October 31, 2011, 04:57:53 PM
Quote from: southdown on October 31, 2011, 04:56:28 PM
What is it with mirrors that scares the crap out of people?

I suppose it depends on who is looking into it
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 31, 2011, 05:37:16 PM
For those that are skeptical its fairly simple they have to see it for themselves which is fair enough, others believe without seeing which again is fair enough and then are those who have seen and obviously believe which again is fair enough. There is absolutely no point arguing with skeptics or with seers. Most people are just not capable of seeing or sensing. Opened minded people tend to be the ones that believe without seeing. I dont understand the attachment we all have to our beliefs though, like some people get greatly offended by people believeing in ghosts and those who see get greatly offended by skeptics. I dont see the point as we all different capabilities and life experience and base our beliefs accordingly.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 31, 2011, 07:25:59 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on October 31, 2011, 05:37:16 PM
Opened minded people tend to be the ones that believe without seeing

"Gullible" is the word you're looking for there.
Post by: omagh_gael on October 31, 2011, 10:10:56 PM
You never told your stories abbeysider...
Post by: ziggysego on October 31, 2011, 10:43:11 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on October 31, 2011, 07:25:59 PM

Don't be so closed minded.
Post by: NetNitrate on November 01, 2011, 01:43:25 AM
It must be some craic to come back as a ghost and start rattling people's china. I suppose you could raid their liquor cabinet or drive off in their car. But where's the fun in that? To take two cups and start tapping one against the other is great gas altogether.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on November 01, 2011, 04:22:33 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 31, 2011, 10:43:11 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on October 31, 2011, 07:25:59 PM

Don't be so closed minded.

Don't be so gullible.