Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Orior on February 19, 2017, 04:09:07 PM

Title: Trump's Disasters
Post by: Orior on February 19, 2017, 04:09:07 PM
I think we need a new thread to record Donald Trump's disasters.

Last week, he accused the press of reporting fake news. Then yesterday he mentions an incident in Sweden.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-39020962 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-39020962)
Title: Re: Trump's Disasters
Post by: Denn Forever on February 19, 2017, 04:27:48 PM
How long is a piece of sring?
Post by: seafoid on February 19, 2017, 05:17:04 PM
The bowling green massacre
The biggest inauguration crowd ever.
3 million illegal voters

But I think his bullshit may be a distraction from the administration''s real work of destroying environmental protection and enabling the 3 million ultra ultra rich to increase their share of wealth to 60% of everything.

Myron Ebell.is the climate denying Koch man in charge of the EPA. He is straight out of Scooby do.
Post by: Oraisteach on February 19, 2017, 05:28:14 PM
His inability to compose a complete sentence is staggering.  He is a linguistic horror show whose vocabulary is equal to a foreigner's who's in his first month of learning English. Sad. Weak. Loser. Failing.
Post by: No wides on February 19, 2017, 05:36:34 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on February 19, 2017, 04:27:48 PM
How long is a piece of sring?

Twice the distance from the centre to either end
Post by: seafoid on February 19, 2017, 05:39:56 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on February 19, 2017, 05:28:14 PM
His inability to compose a complete sentence is staggering.  He is a linguistic horror show whose vocabulary is equal to a foreigner's who's in his first month of learning English. Sad. Weak. Loser. Failing.
Some doctors suspect early stages of dementia. They compared recent speeches to a 1988 speech.
Post by: never kickt a ball on February 19, 2017, 05:48:40 PM
FAKE NEWS
Post by: No wides on February 19, 2017, 05:57:57 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 19, 2017, 05:39:56 PM
Some doctors suspect early stages of dementia. They compared recent speeches to a 1988 speech.

Which doctor was that. Dr Fox! You post the most ridiculous crap here fake news sums you up.

Post by: Take Your Points on February 19, 2017, 07:01:52 PM
Already campaigning in Florida for 2020 election.
Post by: Rossfan on February 19, 2017, 07:13:23 PM
Biggest disaster was the vile evil racist fascist cnut getting chosen as President.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on February 19, 2017, 07:17:49 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 19, 2017, 07:13:23 PM
Biggest disaster was the vile evil racist fascist cnut getting chosen as President.
Kinda sums up a lot of Americans

So many have a distrust of the outside world and people who are in any way different
Post by: seafoid on February 19, 2017, 08:27:49 PM
https://www.ft.com/content/bc99e5d8-f526-11e6-95ee-f14e55513608

If something cannot go on forever, it will stop. The question is how long that will take with Donald Trump. It is little use speculating about the next four years. Just multiply Mr Trump's first four weeks and ask how long America's system can take the strain. In his first month Mr Trump has declared war on the intelligence agencies and the media. It looks like the judicial branch is next on his list of enemies. There is no middle ground in Mr Trump's Washington. Either the forces that are against the president will bring him down or he will destroy the system. My bet is on the first. But I would not stake my life on it.Do not be reassured by Mr Trump's cabinet. Many of them are experienced individuals. James Mattis, the secretary of defence, Rex Tillerson, secretary of state, and Steven Mnuchin, the nominee for Treasury secretary, are professionals. We may dispute their priorities but we have no basis to contest their hold on reality. Even Kellyanne Conway, and Sean Spicer — Mr Trump's controversial adviser and press secretary — would probably look fine if they were working for a different president. Mr Trump could populate his administration with America's most diligent public servants and it would not change the most important thing. They would still be required to execute the orders of a man who divides the world into friends and enemies — and nothing in between.Robert Harward, the ex-navy Seal who turned down the job to serve as Mr Trump's national security adviser, is a harbinger of things to come. In any normal circumstance, someone of Mr Harward's background would have leapt at the honour of such a high position. But Mr Harward could not stomach the prospect. It would have meant serving a president who thinks he knows more than his generals about war, more than his spies do about intelligence and more than his diplomats do about the world. The only people with whom Mr Trump agrees are those who agree with him. It is an open question how long it will take for Mr Trump's existing appointees to reach the same conclusion. There is a thin line between doing your duty and being humiliated.The US intelligence agencies already appear to have crossed that line. No fewer than nine intelligence sources leaked details of Michael Flynn's phone call with the Russian ambassador to the Washington Post. Some of this was surely revenge for the contempt Mr Flynn dealt out to intelligence agents, who coined the term "Flynn facts" when he was head of the Defense Intelligence Agency.

But some of it was motivated by deep alarm about a president who is so cavalier with US national security. Mr Trump has likened the Central Intelligence Agency to Nazi Germany and accused it of working for Hillary Clinton. In contrast, he has nothing but praise for James Comey, head of the Federal Bureau of Investigation, whose last minute intervention helped to tip the election Mr Trump's way. The message is clear: be like Mr Comey or be treated as the enemy. It is hard to imagine there are many public servants who see Mr Comey as a role model. Some of them risk their lives at relatively low pay to serve their country. Mr Trump is not their country.Then there is the lying media — or the "Lügenpresse" as Mr Trump's alt-right supporters say in echo of the Nazi slur. On Thursday Mr Trump subjected the media to an 80-minute diatribe disguised as a press conference in which he accused them of dishonesty, peddling "very fake news" and conspiracy to undermine his presidency. His next logical step is to accuse the media of treason. In a tweet he later deleted Mr Trump called the media an "enemy of the American people". This cannot end well. Anonymous death threats have become a normal way of life for many journalists in Washington. I fear it is only a matter of time before this results in violence. The same applies to the judiciary. The judges who shot down Mr Trump's "Muslim ban" earlier this month are also receiving death threats.Where does this end? Panglossian types cling to the hope that Mr Trump will make a course correction. In this happy development, he would clear the White House of firebrands, such as his close advisers Stephen Bannon and Stephen Miller, and replace them with seasoned operators. Such a purge is possible at some point. It may even be likely. Few advisers can long survive proximity to the white heat of a demagogue. Unless Mr Trump replaced himself, the siege would go on.Nor can we bank on a personality transplant. Mr Trump could spend 95 per cent of his time taking the advice of experts and 5 per cent going against it. That 5 per cent would still drive the agenda. But Mr Trump is not a reformable character. The more besieged he becomes, the more he lashes out. He is now vowing an investigation into leaks and an implied purge of disloyal officers. It is hard to predict how long it would take to resolve the battle between Mr Trump and the so-called deep state. It is also hard to say how long a Republican Congress could stand the heat. As I say, multiply the past four weeks by three, or six, or nine. The neutral ground will vanish. At some point this will boil down to a choice between Mr Trump and the US constitution.
Post by: Hardy on February 19, 2017, 08:58:23 PM

Reminds me - a bit of light relief from the horror show (https://juliesjokers.wordpress.com/2014/05/07/bertie-ahern-quotes/).
Post by: Puckoon on February 20, 2017, 12:13:53 AM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on February 19, 2017, 07:17:49 PM
Kinda sums up a lot of Americans

So many have a distrust of the outside world and people who are in any way different

Do you see the irony with your grand assessment? Catch yourself on. Disgraceful post.
Post by: ONeill on February 20, 2017, 12:45:36 AM
60-odd million voted for Trump. They should get 8 years out of him for punishment.
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 20, 2017, 12:55:56 AM
Quote from: ONeill on February 20, 2017, 12:45:36 AM
60-odd million voted for Trump. They should get 8 years out of him for punishment.
What about the 60-odd million that didn't vote for Trump should they be punished also?
Post by: Puckoon on February 20, 2017, 12:59:11 AM
I understand. I know and respect many of them, even if I disagree with their politics and rationale for doing so. To label them as vile, evil, fascist, and cnuts is idiotic.

I'll not argue that many are still somewhat racist. America isn't alone in that particular prejudice.
Post by: ONeill on February 20, 2017, 01:07:56 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on February 20, 2017, 12:55:56 AM
What about the 60-odd million that didn't vote for Trump should they be punished also?

They already are. That's warped democracy. Hopefully it won't take 8 years for his supporters to wake up but if it's 5/6/7 so be it.
Post by: heganboy on February 20, 2017, 03:45:10 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on February 20, 2017, 12:55:56 AM

I think about 250 million didn't vote for him
Post by: seafoid on February 20, 2017, 05:11:00 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 20, 2017, 12:59:11 AM
I understand. I know and respect many of them, even if I disagree with their politics and rationale for doing so. To label them as vile, evil, fascist, and cnuts is idiotic.

I'll not argue that many are still somewhat racist. America isn't alone in that particular prejudice.
The Evangelicals are special. There isn't a group like them anywhere else. Nobody in Europe believes the dinosaurs were walking around 6000 years ago. Not even in Albania.
Post by: stew on February 20, 2017, 09:24:20 AM

Deal with it kid, I have to, so should you )
Post by: stew on February 20, 2017, 09:35:51 AM
WHY did they vote for him, after all Clinton was running on four more years of Obama, at some point the liberals need to own their complete and utter stupidity at losing this election, to this point they throw stones at Trump, he is loving it, as long as they do that they are unable to focus on actually fighting him, the best part though, is that he is in essence, one of them. )

I hate liberal America with a passion, I despise the far right, I would love for a leader to emerge in the center that could unite the people.

Post by: seafoid on February 20, 2017, 09:49:36 AM

The complete list of Trump lies during the first month
https://www.thestar.com/news/world/2017/02/03/daniel-dales-donald-trump-fact-check-updates.html
Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 20, 2017, 10:14:02 AM
Now seafoid thats not true; you just have to go to northern ireland to find people think dinosaurs roamed about 6000yrs ago
Post by: seafoid on February 20, 2017, 10:33:00 AM

https://www.ft.com/content/ead72e56-f6a7-11e6-bd4e-68d53499ed71

Could Donald Trump be tripped up by a constitutional codicil?

Members of the president's own party think the unthinkable, writes Philip Stephens

yesterday
                        by: Philip Stephens

Type "the 25th amendment" into a search engine and the results throw up a lot of stories about Donald Trump. This hitherto fairly obscure codicil to the work of America's founding fathers was among the hot topics of conversation among leading Republicans at the Munich Security Conference. Perhaps, the chatter had it, it provides the route to unseat the president. Such is the surreal nature of the conversation within the Washington political establishment about Mr Trump's steadily more surreal presidency.First the amendment. Passed 50 years ago and intended to address ambiguities in the body of the constitution, the amending clause offers an alternative to impeachment as a way to change the commander-in-chief. Specifically it says: "Whenever the vice-president and a majority of either the principal officers of the executive departments or of such other body as Congress may by law provide, transmit to the president pro tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives their written declaration that the president is unable to discharge the powers and duties of his office, the vice-president shall immediately assume the powers and duties of the office as acting president."

Put simply, the vice-president and the cabinet could mount a coup against a sitting president seen as unfit to carry out his or her duties. The intent of the amendment was to deal with a situation when the president was incapacitated by, say, ill health. But the wording looks sufficiently open to allow a broad interpretation of such incapacity. That anyway is what was being said by members of Mr Trump's own party in the bars of Munich.There is a catch — or rather a safety net. The removed president could appeal to the Congress. And for the sacking to stand, the vice-president and cabinet would need to marshall a two-thirds majority in both the House of Representatives and the Senate. That is a pretty high bar — and one that nobody seems ready to risk any time soon. Nor does Mike Pence, who offered a self-consciously loyal speech at the conference, carry the air of a vice-president with a dagger concealed in his sleeve.But if the thought of deposing Mr Trump only weeks into his term of office seems excitable, the simple fact of the many conversations in Munich about the 25th amendment was a measure of the mounting alarm within his own party about the president's fitness for office.

Beyond Mr Trump's alternative facts, downright falsehoods and increasingly hysterical attacks on the media, and the separate concerns about contacts with Vladimir Putin's Russian regime, stories abound about his chaotic and eccentric working habits.Oval Office meetings are conducted with the television still blaring and the president frequently distracted, Mr Trump's attention span rarely extends beyond a few minutes, and briefing papers are restricted to a few bullet points (preferably illustrated).The president is also said to be in direct conflict with James Mattis, the defence secretary, and Rex Tillerson, the secretary of state, about appointments to their departments. Stephen Bannon, the extreme nationalist who serves as Mr Trump's head of strategy, is accused of building an alternative network of loyalists to undermine decisions taken by the cabinet.So is it plausible to think of a cabinet coup. No one that I spoke to in Munich was making any firm predictions. But few were prepared to say with confidence that Mr Trump will serve a full four-year term.
Post by: Rossfan on February 20, 2017, 11:37:45 AM
Quote from: stew on February 20, 2017, 09:24:20 AM

I have no control over what sort of yoke Yanks choose as President.  I don't "have to deal with it".
Trump is still a vile evil racist fascist cnut though.
Post by: J70 on February 20, 2017, 01:52:14 PM
Quote from: stew on February 20, 2017, 09:35:51 AM
WHY did they vote for him, after all Clinton was running on four more years of Obama, at some point the liberals need to own their complete and utter stupidity at losing this election, to this point they throw stones at Trump, he is loving it, as long as they do that they are unable to focus on actually fighting him, the best part though, is that he is in essence, one of them. )

I hate liberal America with a passion, I despise the far right, I would love for a leader to emerge in the center that could unite the people.

You seem to think that if you keep repeating this that that will make it true.

What exactly do you hate about liberal America?
Post by: stew on February 20, 2017, 02:09:13 PM
Quote from: J70 on February 20, 2017, 01:52:14 PM

It is true, he said he was a democrat on tv, words from the mans own mouth, you keep refusing to accept it does not make it any less true.

Hmm, what do I hate about liberal America, where to start, I hate the ten trillion that clown Obama added to the national debt, more than the rest of the Presidents combined, I hate that they rigged the democratic process to stop Saunders getting a fair shake at the convention and the fact he was cheated out of getting to run against Trump, a man he would have destroyed!

I hate Obamacare because it has been a disaster, people are getting fined for not having insurance when they cannot afford the insurance, I hate the way they have traditionally over promised and under delivered to the working class and middle class people, you know, the lifeblood of the country.

Sanctuary cities, they are a disgrace and need to be made stop this practice!

Illegal Aliens, they want the poor from anywhere in for no other reason than votes!

Their stance on Abortion.

Their corruption, their unions and their hatred of the police/military, not to mention the way they fawn over dead gangsters and invite them to the White house whilst practically ignoring the families of dead cops who died trying to arrest said Gangsters.

Their lack of respect for the law, their lack of accountability, their scandals, their disdain for the military, the list is endless, hope that answers your question.

Post by: Syferus on February 20, 2017, 02:15:43 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 20, 2017, 11:37:45 AM

I have no control over what sort of yoke Yanks choose as President.  I don't "have to deal with it".

In fairness he's just your average egotistical showbiz figure.

The error was by the American electorate giving him power. Let them live with their choice. Doesn't look as though the left has or will learn their lessons.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on February 20, 2017, 02:24:06 PM
Right now Trump is like the corner back at the throw in, jabbing his marker in the ribs and throwing down an early marker.
He'll settle down soon enough and get on with doing nothing of any substance.
Post by: J70 on February 20, 2017, 02:57:43 PM
Quote from: stew on February 20, 2017, 02:09:13 PM
Quote from: J70 on February 20, 2017, 01:52:14 PM

It is true, he said he was a democrat on tv, words from the mans own mouth, you keep refusing to accept it does not make it any less true.

Can you not be honest for a second?

He said that years ago. Moreover, for at least the past seven years, he has waged an appalling, blatantly false, conspiracy-based, personal campaign against Obama and the Democrats. And right now he is trying to implement the dream platform of the far right, complete with bans of muslims, round-ups of illegal immigrants, tearing families apart in the process. He has installed an oil industry/big polluter shill as head of the EPA and pledged to gut the agency which is the only thing protecting the air, water and ecology of the US from destruction. That's about as far from liberal or Democrat as you can get.

But go ahead and give us some details to support your repeated nonsense that he is really a Democrat.

Hmm, what do I hate about liberal America, where to start, I hate the ten trillion that clown Obama added to the national debt, more than the rest of the Presidents combined,

We've been through this before, probably several times, and you couldn't name a single realistic thing that Obama could have done differently in terms of the economic catastrophe he inherited.

Maybe you've learned something in the meantime. Go ahead and list it.

I hate that they rigged the democratic process to stop Saunders getting a fair shake at the convention and the fact he was cheated out of getting to run against Trump, a man he would have destroyed!

I'm sorry, are you talking about the DNC or liberals?

Bernie is about as liberal as you can get.

I hate Obamacare because it has been a disaster, people are getting fined for not having insurance when they cannot afford the insurance,

No it hasn't been a disaster. And it would have been a bigger success if the GOP hadn't adopted the scorched earth tactics they did in opposition to what was, up until then, their own policies. Even now, nine years later, they still don't have an alternate solution. But, out of interest, what do YOU think should have been done to address the long standing problems with American health care?

I hate the way they have traditionally over promised and under delivered to the working class and middle class people, you know, the lifeblood of the country.

Again, the Democratic party or liberals?

And what have conservatives OR the GOP offered those groups?

Sanctuary cities, they are a disgrace and need to be made stop this practice!

No they're not a disgrace. They're an attempt to engage the communities in which these people live with the police and justice system. You know, allow them to report crime and cooperate with the authorities without fear of being swept up and deported.

Illegal Aliens, they want the poor from anywhere in for no other reason than votes!

And what evidence do you have to support that statement? Especially given that illegal aliens CAN'T VOTE!!!

Their stance on Abortion.

I'm personally opposed to abortion, but what is the alternative stew? Drive it back into the back alley butcher shops? Go the hypocritical Irish solution and keep it illegal, safe in the knowledge that our close neighbours will take care of the problem?

Their corruption, their unions and their hatred of the police/military, not to mention the way they fawn over dead gangsters and invite them to the White house whilst practically ignoring the families of dead cops who died trying to arrest said Gangsters.

Again, let's see some evidence of this "hatred". Or Obama supposedly ignoring dead cops and fawning over dead gangsters in the White House.

Let's see some evidence that liberals/Democrats are more corrupt than conservatives?/the GOP.

Their lack of respect for the law, their lack of accountability, their scandals, their disdain for the military, the list is endless, hope that answers your question.

No it doesn't stew.

You're just reeling off a list of bullshit that is either untrue or could equally be applied to the GOP.

And most of your complaints seem to be about your "perception" of the Democratic party, not liberalism as a political philosophy.
Post by: foxcommander on February 20, 2017, 03:07:40 PM

So if you don't have to deal with it why are you getting your knickers in a twist? Shouldn't you just worry about Enda instead?
The faux outrage about President Trump is unreal.
Post by: foxcommander on February 20, 2017, 03:12:49 PM
Quote from: J70 on February 20, 2017, 02:57:43 PM
And right now he is trying to implement the dream platform of the far right, complete with bans of muslims, round-ups of illegal immigrants, tearing families apart in the process.

What part of illegal don't you understand. How can you tear a family apart if they shouldn't actually be there in the first place.

Post by: J70 on February 20, 2017, 03:19:07 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on February 20, 2017, 03:12:49 PM
And right now he is trying to implement the dream platform of the far right, complete with bans of muslims, round-ups of illegal immigrants, tearing families apart in the process.

What part of illegal don't you understand. How can you tear a family apart if they shouldn't actually be there in the first place.

What part of deporting parents of American-born children, leaving the rest of the family behind, do you think is defensible and consistent with the supposed party of family values? Is deporting a woman in the states since her teens and leaving her American-born teenage kids without a mother not tearing a family apart?
Post by: Take Your Points on February 20, 2017, 03:42:32 PM
At least someone from these shores has time for Trump

http://www.independent.ie/sport/golf/rory-mcilroy-played-a-round-of-golf-with-us-president-donald-trump-over-the-weekend-35466177.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/golf/rory-mcilroy-played-a-round-of-golf-with-us-president-donald-trump-over-the-weekend-35466177.html)
Post by: Keyser soze on February 20, 2017, 04:03:55 PM
Stew, you must have a real shitty life, hope things improve for you fella.
Post by: stew on February 20, 2017, 05:40:20 PM

s he a fascist or a Nazi? Make your minds up fellahs.
Post by: Orior on February 20, 2017, 05:42:06 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on February 20, 2017, 03:42:32 PM

http://www.independent.ie/sport/golf/rory-mcilroy-played-a-round-of-golf-with-us-president-donald-trump-over-the-weekend-35466177.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/golf/rory-mcilroy-played-a-round-of-golf-with-us-president-donald-trump-over-the-weekend-35466177.html)

Probably would have been difficult for McIlroy to refuse. Maybe Trump will build a course around the Giant's Causeway after all.
Post by: laoislad on February 20, 2017, 05:51:15 PM
Quote from: Orior on February 20, 2017, 05:42:06 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on February 20, 2017, 03:42:32 PM

Probably would have been difficult for McIlroy to refuse. Maybe Trump will build a course around the Giant's Causeway after all.
He had no problem turning down playing for Ireland,I'm sure he could have got out of playing with Trump if he so wished.
Post by: foxcommander on February 20, 2017, 06:04:10 PM
Quote from: J70 on February 20, 2017, 03:19:07 PM

What part of deporting parents of American-born children, leaving the rest of the family behind, do you think is defensible and consistent with the supposed party of family values? Is deporting a woman in the states since her teens and leaving her American-born teenage kids without a mother not tearing a family apart?

Just because a loophole has been used doesn't mean they all get to stay. Granting passports to children of parents who are illegally in a country is madness.
No reason the kids can't go back with them. They can always return when they are older.

Post by: Denn Forever on February 20, 2017, 06:17:01 PM
For what reason can you deprive a "citizen" of their passport?
Post by: whitey on February 20, 2017, 06:26:22 PM
Maybe if some of you experts on US Politics actually lived her for 20 or 30 years you might actually have some fvcking clue what you're talking about. Trump won fair and square.  The Democrats no longer represent the working class and will get a hammering in 2018 if they're not careful.The main stream media are a fvckin joke and are becoming less relevant by the day

I didn't vote for Trump and I think his candidacy was a fuckin joke, but it just shows how bad Hillary was if he beat her....even though she outspent him 2:1 and had a huge Electoral College advantage to begin with

I will make a prediction:  Trump is going to do just fine

Post by: Puckoon on February 20, 2017, 06:30:26 PM
Quote from: whitey on February 20, 2017, 06:26:22 PM
Maybe if some of you experts on US Politics actually lived her for 20 or 30 years you might actually have some fvcking clue what you're talking about.
Not necessarily true

Trump won fair and square. 
True - but at what cost?

The Democrats no longer represent the working class and will get a hammering in 2018 if they're not careful.

They need to take a long hard look at how they lost this election - and they will.

The main stream media are a fvckin joke and are becoming less relevant by the day

Biggest f**king lie being peddled and lapped up by the dumb, and the smart alike. This is the most dangerous element of Trump so far. It's absolutely disgraceful.

Post by: omochain on February 20, 2017, 06:30:47 PM
Quote from: stew on February 20, 2017, 05:40:20 PM

Don't believe there's a lot of difference between Fascism and Nazism. Both are far right political ideologies. The differentiator appears to be racism. Race is central to the Nazi ideology.
So, not much of the choice there for the fellahs, me thinks. From a lot of his stances and looking at many of his cabinet picks plus his inner circle, he might qualify on both counts. On second thoughts he has fascist and racist tendencies so he might qualify as a fully fledged Nazi.
Post by: stew on February 20, 2017, 06:34:54 PM
Quote from: omochain on February 20, 2017, 06:30:47 PM

Don't believe there's a lot of difference between Fascism and Nazism. Both are far right political ideologies. The differentiator appears to be racism. Race is central to the Nazi ideology.
So, not much of the choice there for the fellahs, me thinks. From a lot of his stances and looking at many of his cabinet picks plus his inner circle, he might qualify on both counts.

Right on, the vile **** bate a vile **** thanks to the democrats rigging the primaries, they can blame no one but themselves the stupid bastards!
Post by: seafoid on February 20, 2017, 06:38:15 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 20, 2017, 06:30:26 PM
Maybe if some of you experts on US Politics actually lived her for 20 or 30 years you might actually have some fvcking clue what you're talking about.
Not necessarily true

Trump won fair and square. 
True - but at what cost?

The Democrats no longer represent the working class and will get a hammering in 2018 if they're not careful.

They need to take a long hard look at how they lost this election - and they will.

The main stream media are a fvckin joke and are becoming less relevant by the day

Biggest f**king lie being peddled and lapped up by the dumb, and the smart alike. This is the most dangerous element of Trump so far. It's absolutely disgraceful.

If the US economy crashes again between now and 2020 - and $9tn of tax cuts for the rich more or less guarantee it- the GOP will be out of power for a good while
Post by: stew on February 20, 2017, 06:54:33 PM
Quote from: omochain on February 20, 2017, 06:30:47 PM

So, not much of the choice there for the fellahs, me thinks. From a lot of his stances and looking at many of his cabinet picks plus his inner circle, he might qualify on both counts.

Right on, the vile **** bate a vile **** thanks to the democrats rigging the primaries, they can blame no one but themselves the stupid bastards!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 20, 2017, 06:59:40 PM
Have to laugh at some of u irish guys living in America for years! How u start out, on a holiday or work visa? Your the immigrants too; hell unless u native american you all a bunch of blow ins
Post by: thewobbler on February 20, 2017, 07:12:55 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on February 20, 2017, 02:24:06 PM
Right now Trump is like the corner back at the throw in, jabbing his marker in the ribs and throwing down an early marker.

In fairness you could say the same about the media.

After 8 years of mr nice but boring, they've been handed manna from heaven in the form of someone who has little interest in protocols, manners or formalities. Throw into the bargain that he's from the end of the political spectrum that the media largely despises, and it's jackpot time.

But if the media have any professional pride at all they will soon have to revert to reporting his administration's performance in a largely objective way. Which won't fill anywhere near as many column inches.
Post by: seafoid on February 20, 2017, 07:13:16 PM
Milo is in trouble. The poor snowflake

https://twitter.com/ReaganBattalion/status/833485040944156673
Post by: foxcommander on February 20, 2017, 07:16:42 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on February 20, 2017, 07:12:55 PM
But if the media have any professional pride at all they will soon have to revert to reporting his administration's performance in a largely objective way. Which won't fill anywhere near as many column inches.

Have you watched CNN? :D
Post by: thewobbler on February 20, 2017, 07:20:17 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on February 20, 2017, 07:16:42 PM

True - but the worrying thing recently is that almost every media outlet covering Trump has donned a CNN style agenda first, facts arenot that interesting, kind of approach.
Post by: foxcommander on February 20, 2017, 07:30:45 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on February 20, 2017, 07:20:17 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on February 20, 2017, 07:16:42 PM

True - but the worrying thing recently is that almost every media outlet covering Trump has donned a CNN style agenda first, facts arenot that interesting, kind of approach.

Sensational stories get ratings. That's all that seems to matter anymore. Collective anger and rage fill the tiny minds of the protesters.
Watch the democrats pit Kim Kardashian vs Trump in 2020.

Post by: Captain Obvious on February 20, 2017, 07:34:21 PM
I will make another predicton: Once his term is done and no matter how bad Trump does, guys like you will say he did just fine.
Post by: J70 on February 20, 2017, 09:01:40 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on February 20, 2017, 06:04:10 PM

Just because a loophole has been used doesn't mean they all get to stay. Granting passports to children of parents who are illegally in a country is madness.
No reason the kids can't go back with them. They can always return when they are older.

Its ok to rip kids suddenly from the only lives and society they've known and send them off to live in, what is for them, a foreign country, where who knows what kind of work their parents will get or if the kids even know the language?

Sorry, but THAT is madness.

There's no reason why Trump couldn't have continued the Obama administration practice of returning those who'd just entered as well as the serious criminals. As it was, the whole system was bursting at the seams anyway and they were scrambling around for places to put all these people. On top of that, the court system dealing with them has a massive backlog and not enough judges, without piling on people who got caught years ago with some minor misdemeanor.
Post by: J70 on February 20, 2017, 09:03:23 PM

After 8 years of mr nice but boring, they've been handed manna from heaven in the form of someone who has little interest in protocols, manners or formalities. Throw into the bargain that he's from the end of the political spectrum that the media largely despises, and it's jackpot time.

Just what should this "objective" reporting look like, based on what we've seen in the first month from Trump?
Post by: seafoid on February 20, 2017, 09:03:59 PM
Milo is in serious shit. CPAC have cancelled his speech and Breitbart are discussing what to do with him
Nazis don't like paedophilia.
Post by: J70 on February 20, 2017, 09:05:02 PM
Maybe if some of you experts on US Politics actually lived her for 20 or 30 years you might actually have some fvcking clue what you're talking about. Trump won fair and square.  The Democrats no longer represent the working class and will get a hammering in 2018 if they're not careful.The main stream media are a fvckin joke and are becoming less relevant by the day

I didn't vote for Trump and I think his candidacy was a fuckin joke, but it just shows how bad Hillary was if he beat her....even though she outspent him 2:1 and had a huge Electoral College advantage to begin with

Define "fine".
Post by: whitey on February 20, 2017, 09:16:39 PM
Quote from: J70 on February 20, 2017, 09:03:23 PM

Just what should this "objective" reporting look like, based on what we've seen in the first month from Trump?

Well for a start a NY Times reporter shouldn't be spreading false rumours that the First Lady was a prostitute. And a Time reporter shouldn't be claiming that Trump had removed a bust of MLK from the Oval Office on his first day in power......NEITHER of these arseholes got fired
Post by: foxcommander on February 20, 2017, 09:18:49 PM
Quote from: J70 on February 20, 2017, 09:01:40 PM

Its ok to rip kids suddenly from the only lives and society they've known and send them off to live in, what is for them, a foreign country, where who knows what kind of work their parents will get or if the kids even know the language?

Then that's on the parents to prepare them for their real life. Tough titty. You keep making excuses for people who have broken the law.
Post by: seafoid on February 20, 2017, 09:26:31 PM
Quote from: J70 on February 20, 2017, 09:05:02 PM

Define "fine".
I think she's a prostitute
Post by: J70 on February 20, 2017, 09:34:43 PM
Quote from: whitey on February 20, 2017, 09:16:39 PM
Quote from: J70 on February 20, 2017, 09:03:23 PM

Well for a start a NY Times reporter shouldn't be spreading false rumours that the First Lady was a prostitute. And a Time reporter shouldn't be claiming that Trump had removed a bust of MLK from the Oval Office on his first day in power......NEITHER of these arseholes got fired

THAT'S all you have?

Was it not the Daily Mail that spread that story? You know, the paper she sued THREE TIMES?

The paper that is far closer to YOU, politically, than any liberal?

The Time reporter corrected the story very quickly and set the record straight.

And seriously, that you would single out, again and again, the MLK bust story, as one of the problems with the press coverage, when the real source of the "problem" is the continuous doubling down on blatant lies and made-up bullshit by Trump and his stooges says more about your personal biases than it does about any press bias.
Post by: J70 on February 20, 2017, 09:39:48 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on February 20, 2017, 09:18:49 PM
Quote from: J70 on February 20, 2017, 09:01:40 PM

Then that's on the parents to prepare them for their real life. Tough titty. You keep making excuses for people who have broken the law.

God forbid we look at them as people with "real lives" rather than as vacuous statistics who are not real people, just "criminals".

And I haven't "made excuses". I'm saying that sending jackbooted thugs, to use a favourite term of the right when it comes to government agents, out to round up busboys and cleaning ladies, ripping them away from their families, is NOT an appropriate response to the problem.

Post by: Boycey on February 20, 2017, 09:41:36 PM
Could we not just keep the squabbling about Trump to the one thread please?
Post by: Taylor on January 03, 2020, 07:35:47 AM
Potential the beginning of WW3.

One would nearly think there was an election this year
Post by: under the bar on January 03, 2020, 08:47:41 AM
Act of war without the authorisation of the UN or the Iraqi government.  Absolute ass-holes.
Post by: GetOverTheBar on January 03, 2020, 09:29:08 AM
Quote from: Taylor on January 03, 2020, 07:35:47 AM
Potential the beginning of WW3.

One would nearly think there was an election this year

No.
Post by: Square Ball on January 03, 2020, 10:13:46 AM
Be interesting to see what Putin says about it. Wonder how many innocents will suffer because of these actions.
Post by: whitey on January 03, 2020, 01:26:54 PM
Well the problem is that no Democrat will be publicly supportive (or neutral) even if it is proven to be the correct decision. On top of that, the media will be far from neutral commentators on the incident
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on January 03, 2020, 01:31:15 PM
Quote from: whitey on January 03, 2020, 01:26:54 PM
Well the problem is that no Democrat will be publicly supportive (or neutral) even if it is proven to be the correct decision. On top of that, the media will be far from neutral commentators on the incident

Why was the decision taken to kill this man?
Post by: dec on January 03, 2020, 01:36:13 PM
https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/255784560904773633

@realDonaldTrump
Now that Obama's poll numbers are in tailspin – watch for him to launch a strike in Libya or Iran.  He is desperate.
5:39 PM · Oct 9, 2012

https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/379717298296086529

@realDonaldTrump
I predict that President Obama will at some point attack Iran in order to save face!
5:23 PM · Sep 16, 2013
Post by: balladmaker on January 03, 2020, 01:52:50 PM
Quote from: dec on January 03, 2020, 01:36:13 PM
https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/255784560904773633

@realDonaldTrump
Now that Obama's poll numbers are in tailspin – watch for him to launch a strike in Libya or Iran.  He is desperate.
5:39 PM · Oct 9, 2012

https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/379717298296086529

@realDonaldTrump
I predict that President Obama will at some point attack Iran in order to save face!
5:23 PM · Sep 16, 2013

It's frightening stuff ..... when there's an election on the horizon let's bang the war drum
Post by: tbrick18 on January 03, 2020, 01:58:01 PM
If another country did this to an American general, it would be an act of terrorism.
When America does it, its protecting American interests (usually this means oil, money or political control).
IMO, America are one of the worst purveyors of terrorism this planet has seen. Yet, they will portray themselves as the victims when Iran retaliate in some way.

I'm not for a second supporting Iran in this, but the United States of Assh*les really do not give a fook about anyone anywhere unless it lines their pockets or gives them more power.
Post by: Taylor on January 03, 2020, 01:59:50 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on January 03, 2020, 01:58:01 PM
If another country did this to an American general, it would be an act of terrorism.
When America does it, its protecting American interests (usually this means oil, money or political control).
IMO, America are one of the worst purveyors of terrorism this planet has seen. Yet, they will portray themselves as the victims when Iran retaliate in some way.

I'm not for a second supporting Iran in this, but the United States of Assh*les really do not give a fook about anyone anywhere unless it lines their pockets or gives them more power.

And it is not like it is only Trump who is responsible.
A long list of Presidents before him have been responsible for a lot worse
Post by: five points on January 03, 2020, 02:00:37 PM
IMO, America are one of the worst purveyors of terrorism this planet has seen. 

You're clearly neither an Iranian woman nor gay man.
Post by: whitey on January 03, 2020, 02:38:08 PM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on January 03, 2020, 01:31:15 PM

Why was the decision taken to kill this man?

I don't know but if I were to guess I'd say he was very much involved in the recent fracas at the embassy. I also read but can't confirm a report that they had intelligence he was going to launch an attack at the airport. (At this stage, I believe absolutely nothing the administration, the President, the Democrats, the Republicans or the media have to say about anything)
Post by: magpie seanie on January 03, 2020, 02:39:29 PM
Quote from: five points on January 03, 2020, 02:00:37 PM

So this is about womens and gay rights? Do us a favour mate.....
Post by: J70 on January 03, 2020, 02:45:53 PM

The Democrats and the media are "the problem" here?
Post by: whitey on January 03, 2020, 03:16:23 PM
Quote from: J70 on January 03, 2020, 02:45:53 PM

You must have missed my follow up comment

" (At this stage, I believe absolutely nothing the administration, the President, the Democrats, the Republicans or the media have to say about anything)"
Post by: J70 on January 03, 2020, 04:15:56 PM
Quote from: whitey on January 03, 2020, 03:16:23 PM

" (At this stage, I believe absolutely nothing the administration, the President, the Democrats, the Republicans or the media have to say about anything)"

No, I saw that, but your first reaction/contribution, no matter what the issue, always seems to be to deflect blame or claim that the bigger problem or scandal is the Democrats and the media.
Post by: whitey on January 03, 2020, 04:46:43 PM
Quote from: J70 on January 03, 2020, 04:15:56 PM

No, I saw that, but your first reaction/contribution, no matter what the issue, always seems to be to deflect blame or claim that the bigger problem or scandal is the Democrats and the media.

Eh....no.   The Republicans and Fox News would act in a similar manner had Obama/Clinton done something similar. And they actually did-with Benghazi/Kosovo

Post by: under the bar on January 03, 2020, 04:59:43 PM
Quote from: whitey on January 03, 2020, 04:46:43 PM

Eh....no.   The Republicans and Fox News would act in a similar manner had Obama/Clinton done something similar. And they actually did-with Benghazi/Kosovo

Libya and Kosovo were UN-backed operations.  Trump had the backing of no-one to kill Iranian and Iraqi officials in Iraq.
Post by: five points on January 03, 2020, 05:06:18 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 03, 2020, 02:39:29 PM

No, it's about "purveyors of terrorism". And the Iranian regime is up there with the worst of them, with their own people at the receiving end of most of it.
Post by: under the bar on January 03, 2020, 05:23:49 PM
Yeah like Iran starts wars all across the world right?  ::)
Post by: five points on January 03, 2020, 05:30:37 PM
Quote from: under the bar on January 03, 2020, 05:23:49 PM
Yeah like Iran starts wars all across the world right?  ::)
No, it's terrorism we're talking about. But keep deflecting.
Post by: whitey on January 03, 2020, 05:45:09 PM
Quote from: under the bar on January 03, 2020, 04:59:43 PM

Libya and Kosovo were UN-backed operations.  Trump had the backing of no-one to kill Iranian and Iraqi officials in Iraq.

Thank you for backing up the point I was making

Whether it's justified/UN backed or not the "other side" will always attempt to use these incidents for political advantage.
Post by: Gmac on January 03, 2020, 05:49:21 PM
What was he doing in Iraq ?
Post by: under the bar on January 03, 2020, 05:55:07 PM
Quote from: Gmac on January 03, 2020, 05:49:21 PM

Cos Iraq can invite who they like to their country? The Iranian and Iraqi governments are now allies as both Shia controlled.  All thanks to Bush who overthrew the Sunni Iraqi secular government which had created a balance or sorts in the region.
Post by: J70 on January 03, 2020, 06:06:07 PM

I was more talking about you personally.

If Obama had assassinated an Iranian general, my first thought would not be that the GOP and right wing media exploiting it/misrepresenting it for political gain would be "the problem".

Post by: J70 on January 03, 2020, 06:22:30 PM
Anyway, partisan bullshit aside, one would hope that Trump and the Pentagon have thought this through.
Post by: lenny on January 03, 2020, 06:32:55 PM
Quote from: J70 on January 03, 2020, 06:22:30 PM
Anyway, partisan bullshit aside, one would hope that Trump and the Pentagon have thought this through.

Yes, they've thought it through and think this should win him another election. He's not worried about any other consequences.
Post by: whitey on January 03, 2020, 07:23:45 PM
Quote from: J70 on January 03, 2020, 06:06:07 PM

If Obama had assassinated an Iranian general, my first thought would not be that the GOP and right wing media exploiting it/misrepresenting it for political gain would be "the problem".

No......If Obama had assassinated an Iranian general and a bunch of Right wingers were up in arms about it, I would have assumed they were getting their information from Breitbart/Fox News etc and were only hearing one side of the story from Republican talking heads on right leaning media.

I think you are over analyzing or mis-interpreting my use of the word "problem". Maybe a better word for me to have used would be "challenge". It would be "challenging" to find a Democratic politician who would give an honest assessment given the current political environment. It would be challenging for CNN/MSNBC to report on this strike without letting their hatred of Trump impact their reporting. Republican politicians and Fox News would have similar "challenges" were the shoe on the other foot
Post by: J70 on January 03, 2020, 07:59:24 PM
Quote from: whitey on January 03, 2020, 07:23:45 PM

No......If Obama had assassinated an Iranian general and a bunch of Right wingers were up in arms about it, I would have assumed they were getting their information from Breitbart/Fox News etc and were only hearing one side of the story from Republican talking heads on right leaning media.

I think you are over analyzing or mis-interpreting my use of the word "problem". Maybe a better word for me to have used would be "challenge". It would be "challenging" to find a Democratic politician who would give an honest assessment given the current political environment. It would be challenging for CNN/MSNBC to report on this strike without letting their hatred of Trump impact their reporting. Republican politicians and Fox News would have similar "challenges" were the shoe on the other foot

That's fair.
Post by: Gmac on January 03, 2020, 08:42:22 PM
Quote from: under the bar on January 03, 2020, 05:55:07 PM

Cos Iraq can invite who they like to their country? The Iranian and Iraqi governments are now allies as both Shia controlled.  All thanks to Bush who overthrew the Sunni Iraqi secular government which had created a balance or sorts in the region.
u mean the Saddam Hussein  dictatorship
Post by: Rossfan on January 03, 2020, 09:02:57 PM
When are the Yanks going to overthrow the Saudi theocratic dictatorship with its denial of human rights to half the population?
Post by: Main Street on January 03, 2020, 10:54:42 PM
Quote from: J70 on January 03, 2020, 06:22:30 PM
Not Trump, I'd say it's a Pentagon strategy which Trump claims, it sounds good to the dumber Trump voters, 'take out bad guy who kills our troops'. Though it's also a convenient strategy for Trump as with Clinton during impeachment.   Iran has been weakened due to sanctions, foreign reserves must be diminished. As it stands now there is no way they can start an actual war unless supplied ad infinitum by Russia on the HP. THis is the US sticking another knife into the weakening bull.
Although it's the Iranian people who suffer most under the sanctions, they are also seriously affecting Iran's ability to support the various Hezbollah factions to previous levels.
Post by: under the bar on January 04, 2020, 12:34:09 AM
Quote from: Gmac on January 03, 2020, 08:42:22 PM
Quote from: under the bar on January 03, 2020, 05:55:07 PM

u mean the Saddam Hussein  dictatorship

Yes.  Iraq, Syria and Jordan were the only secular states in the region that allowed women equal access to education and jobs, as well as protecting the rights of Muslims and Christians to worship.  Funny how you never read that in the media?  The US past  f**k-ups have now provided the platform for religious fundamentalism to take over the entire region.   They invaded Iraq thinking it was easy pickings and today shows the learned nothing from past disasters.
Post by: Capt Pat on January 04, 2020, 03:40:44 AM
I always thought the US should have assassinated Saddam Hussein as a way of avoiding war in Iraq. Now it seems this assassination of the iranian general is going to cause a war.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 04, 2020, 07:19:54 PM
Quote from: five points on January 03, 2020, 05:06:18 PM

No, it's about "purveyors of terrorism". And the Iranian regime is up there with the worst of them, with their own people at the receiving end of most of it.

What is terrorism? Killing innocent civilians? Are the US and UK terrorists?
Post by: From the Bunker on January 04, 2020, 07:37:25 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 04, 2020, 07:19:54 PM
Quote from: five points on January 03, 2020, 05:06:18 PM

What is terrorism? Killing innocent civilians? Are the US and UK terrorists?

They are the protectors of the Free world!
Post by: under the bar on January 04, 2020, 08:58:39 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on January 04, 2020, 03:40:44 AM
I always thought the US should have assassinated Saddam Hussein as a way of avoiding war in Iraq. Now it seems this assassination of the iranian general is going to cause a war.

Doubtful if assassinating Saddam would have given the US control of the oil fields though?
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on January 05, 2020, 03:48:04 AM
Quote from: J70 on January 03, 2020, 07:59:24 PM
Quote from: whitey on January 03, 2020, 07:23:45 PM

That's fair.

;D at least be a wee bit subtle when you post
Post by: johnnycool on January 06, 2020, 10:19:00 AM
Quote from: under the bar on January 04, 2020, 08:58:39 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on January 04, 2020, 03:40:44 AM

Doubtful if assassinating Saddam would have given the US control of the oil fields though?

It gave Haliburton and Bechtel a free run in Iraq with the US tax payer picking up the tab.

Iraq paid for the war in oil just like Kuwait before them.

Freedom is never free.

If Iran and Iraq merge in the region that'll cause issues for ISIS/Saudi's and potentially Israel which seems to have been in the background on this murder/execution.

Post by: Orior on January 08, 2020, 10:13:56 AM
Here's Donald....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S06nIz4scvI

His latest "all is okay" is quite sickening.

I wish it was true that Iran said "we'll stop bombing you if you don't retaliate"