Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: rrhf on May 08, 2018, 10:10:34 PM

Title: Eurovision final here we come!!
Post by: rrhf on May 08, 2018, 10:10:34 PM
Won't be beat. Best chance in 30 years.
Title: Re: Eurovision final here we come!!
Post by: Rois on May 08, 2018, 10:11:31 PM
Marty's breaking out the Baileys early he says.
Post by: ONeill on May 08, 2018, 10:13:06 PM
Didnt see that coming.
Post by: rrhf on May 08, 2018, 10:17:02 PM
It's a good tune well song. Time for a ballad. Ireland always done well with ballads - not too rock not too pop. In fact I think they should enter next year with "The ballad of Johnny Logan"lovely tune.
Post by: Itchy on May 08, 2018, 10:36:15 PM
Hooorah
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 08, 2018, 10:44:17 PM
Quote from: rrhf on May 08, 2018, 10:17:02 PM
It's a good tune well song. Time for a ballad. Ireland always done well with ballads - not too rock not too pop. In fact I think they should enter next year with "The ballad of Johnny Logan"lovely tune.
Thought it was a shite song and was poorly sang. What was the two lads dancing around for? to win the gay vote from other countries? if so it worked.
Post by: Boycey on May 08, 2018, 10:46:19 PM
Oddschecker gives Ireland's odds as ranging from 50/1 out to 300/1...
Title: the ballad of Johnny Logan verse 1 and 2
Post by: rrhf on May 08, 2018, 10:59:31 PM
Before big jack took the country down Stuttgart way
And long Before the gpa cried about pay for play
After the pope came to Ireland and boy did we pray
There was one Johnny Logan a man of his day

With Haughey in charge and the country in disarray
There was no Brexit plans and no Theresa may
There was no prospect of a Taoiseach enlightened and gay
Yet there was one Jonny Logan a man of his day.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 08, 2018, 11:23:13 PM
My sister reckoned it would be a travesty if he didn't get through. Fair play to him.
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on May 09, 2018, 08:36:24 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 08, 2018, 10:44:17 PM
Quote from: rrhf on May 08, 2018, 10:17:02 PM
Thought it was a shite song and was poorly sang. What was the two lads dancing around for? to win the gay vote from other countries? if so it worked.

Only heard it for first time last night, not my bag but I thought a reasonable ballad and the lad is able to sing.  I think it shows that the trick is you send a decent song rather than gurning about regional voting.   It is the best we have sent in a long time.  Admittedly choosing gay dancers to tell the story is a tad cynical but it's not the worst thing in the world.

My kids are big into Eurovision and having some skin the game adds to the excitement for Saturday.  Irlande douze points!

/Jim.
Post by: AQMP on May 09, 2018, 10:53:42 AM
Not my type of music and I thought the pitch was a bit too high but best of luck to the lad.  Don't think it has much of a chance of winning.  My daughters are big into Eurovision and it's a bit of a novelty for them to have Ireland in the final.  God be with the days when we used to win it every other year!

What's all this "we can't vote for ourselves" bollocks??  Should RTE not be encouraging Northerners to vote for Ireland?? ;)  Both my girls did!  Oh yeah, and f**k the UK out of it after Brexit!
Post by: BennyCake on May 09, 2018, 10:55:18 AM
Was Dick Byrne shafted again?
Post by: Rois on May 09, 2018, 10:57:58 AM
We were in Lisbon at the weekend and visited the Eurovision Village, great craic - live music on the stage, beers and sangria in the sun, and a few sponsor stands to visit (including one with two Teslas that you could sit in).  Police absolutely everywhere. 
Post by: Asal Mor on May 11, 2018, 02:06:53 PM
Ireland have gone from no hopers in the betting to one of the favourites after the Chinese broadcasters didn't show the Irish performance because of the gay dancers. Eurovision have barred the Chinese channel from showing the event.

That gay dance routine was an absolute stroke of genius.
Post by: johnnycool on May 11, 2018, 02:30:39 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on May 11, 2018, 02:06:53 PM
Ireland have gone from no hopers in the betting to one of the favourites after the Chinese broadcasters didn't show the Irish performance because of the gay dancers. Eurovision have barred the Chinese channel from showing the event.

Imagine if the rainbow vote is enough to get Ireland over the line...

Catholic Ireland where have you gone?   ;D
Post by: An Watcher on May 11, 2018, 07:51:34 PM
Fair play to them.
Can't believe I'm saying this but the song is actually growing on me!
Post by: Capt Pat on May 11, 2018, 08:21:11 PM
We are 3rd favourites with the bookies now. It could happen.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 11, 2018, 09:46:31 PM
Quote from: An Watcher on May 11, 2018, 07:51:34 PM
Fair play to them.
Not growing on me anyway. Even Mickey Hartes song "We've Got the World" was more of a catchy tune.
Post by: armaghniac on May 11, 2018, 10:19:30 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on May 11, 2018, 08:21:11 PM

All the trendy folk who think Eurovision is naff are all turned on by a whiff of perversion.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 12, 2018, 12:14:55 AM
Fair play to them.

It's a grower not a show'er? I'll get my coat
Post by: longballin on May 12, 2018, 12:24:47 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 11, 2018, 10:19:30 PM

All the trendy folk who think Eurovision is naff are all turned on by a whiff of perversion.

Bring back fascism eh?
Post by: armaghniac on May 12, 2018, 01:48:39 AM
Quote from: longballin on May 12, 2018, 12:24:47 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 11, 2018, 10:19:30 PM

Bring back fascism eh?

Marching tunes were more their thing
Post by: macdanger2 on May 12, 2018, 01:53:06 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on May 11, 2018, 02:30:39 PM

Sure it takes all kinds of everything
Post by: rrhf on May 12, 2018, 08:18:24 AM
It's gonna take as big a pink vote as possible  macdanger so vote early and vote often and get your friends voting as well.
Post by: laoislad on May 12, 2018, 08:37:31 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on May 12, 2018, 01:53:06 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on May 11, 2018, 02:30:39 PM

Sure it takes all kinds of everything
And sure what's another year even if they don't win it.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on May 12, 2018, 09:05:28 AM
If we win, I can hear RTÉ executives scream "Why Me".
Post by: armaghniac on May 12, 2018, 12:41:02 PM
If we win it is because we are the Rock and Roll kids.
Post by: ONeill on May 12, 2018, 03:59:33 PM
He's definitely not The Voice.
Post by: armaghniac on May 12, 2018, 04:08:30 PM
He still deserves Congratulations for his Ceol an Ghrá.
Post by: laoislad on May 12, 2018, 10:02:36 PM
First time I heard the Irish song. Thought he did well fair play to him.
Post by: Asal Mor on May 12, 2018, 10:03:48 PM
Fair play to them.
Growing on me too.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 12, 2018, 10:17:45 PM
What happened on the UK song did some try to stop it?
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 12, 2018, 10:24:25 PM
Ireland were 5/1 before the song was sang tonight and now its 10/1..
Post by: Asal Mor on May 12, 2018, 10:28:45 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 12, 2018, 10:24:25 PM
The second Great Irish Famine to continue? Still think it could be our year.
Post by: An Watcher on May 12, 2018, 10:41:47 PM
Aye the stage invader has boosted the brits chances and pushed everyone else down the pecking order
Post by: sid waddell on May 12, 2018, 10:48:33 PM
We'll get top 10.

Cyprus should have it, but I'm not sure that sort of booty shaking appeals to the average Eurovision voter.

Certianly appealed to me though.
Post by: armaghniac on May 12, 2018, 10:55:45 PM
First three votes, null point hat trick.
Post by: Aaron Boone on May 12, 2018, 11:02:37 PM
RTE accountants can breath a sigh of relief.
Post by: Avondhu star on May 12, 2018, 11:05:09 PM
The main thing was that we showed how cool we are with a couple of gobshites dancing together
Post by: StGallsGAA on May 12, 2018, 11:12:10 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on May 12, 2018, 10:28:45 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 12, 2018, 10:24:25 PM
The second Great Irish Famine to continue? Still think it could be our year.

That's the sort of joke we've come to expect from Rangers fans.  The famine should never be a laughing matter dude.
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on May 12, 2018, 11:19:22 PM
No famine systematic starvation. Almost half of Britains 130 regiments 69 in total were stationed in Ireland and stole our food at gun point.
Post by: laoislad on May 12, 2018, 11:28:54 PM
Yer wan giving the Swiss results was some babe.
Post by: Avondhu star on May 12, 2018, 11:42:16 PM
Israel. Ha ha ha.  Happy night in Tel Aviv
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 12, 2018, 11:43:21 PM
The voting system is bigger joke than before. Poor song won it but then again most if not all songs were poor tonight.
Post by: Syferus on May 12, 2018, 11:44:32 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 12, 2018, 11:43:21 PM
The voting system is bigger joke than before. Poor song won it but then again most if not all songs were poor tonight.

You're seriously criticising song quaility at the Eurovision? Seriously?
Post by: Capt Pat on May 12, 2018, 11:45:29 PM
Ireland finished in the middle of the pack.

Stupid hostess gave away the final outcome before announcing the final vote.
Post by: BennyCake on May 12, 2018, 11:46:56 PM
Jesus, what is that shite that won?

Sounds like I've walked into a henhouse.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 12, 2018, 11:48:23 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 12, 2018, 11:46:56 PM
Jesus, what is that shite that won?

Sounds like I've walked into a henhouse.
Awful altogether.
Post by: mrdeeds on May 12, 2018, 11:48:52 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on May 12, 2018, 11:45:29 PM

No she didn't. Once the second last announced it was obvious who won.
Post by: mrdeeds on May 12, 2018, 11:49:57 PM
I can't believe I contributed to a forum about eurovision. Feck sake pre Cavan Donegal nerves.
Post by: Capt Pat on May 12, 2018, 11:54:05 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on May 12, 2018, 11:48:52 PM

No she didn't. Once the second last announced it was obvious who won.

She blew it. The aim was to build tension before the penultimate vote was announced. She said Cyprus were leading before announcing the actual vote. :'(
Post by: Itchy on May 12, 2018, 11:56:43 PM
Major congrats to Israel who achieved this key international victory without the need to murder any children. A first.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 13, 2018, 12:00:42 AM
Best song was from the UK!

Eurovision has had some decent winners in recent years despite the whining every year about block voting.

But the sh1te that won this year! Sh1te!
Post by: Avondhu star on May 13, 2018, 12:01:47 AM

She did have a couple of good points though
Post by: Windmill abu on May 13, 2018, 12:02:20 AM
Quote from: Itchy on May 12, 2018, 11:56:43 PM
Major congrats to Israel who achieved this key international victory without the need to murder any children. A first.

The singer looks like she may have ate a few (as long as they were kosher)
Post by: BennyCake on May 13, 2018, 12:04:02 AM
Quote from: Itchy on May 12, 2018, 11:56:43 PM

You never know with that shower.

A big lads weekend in Jerusalem next year so.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 13, 2018, 12:12:04 AM
Smile will be on the other side of Eurovision's face tomorrow when they discover every telephone vote cast for Israel reversed the charges
Post by: gallsman on May 13, 2018, 12:30:18 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on May 13, 2018, 12:12:04 AM
Smile will be on the other side of Eurovision's face tomorrow when they discover every telephone vote cast for Israel reversed the charges

Really? A jews are tight with money joke?
Post by: BennyCake on May 13, 2018, 12:33:21 AM

You never know with that shower.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 13, 2018, 12:33:53 AM
Yes. A bit of light humour. Have you some point to make?
Post by: ONeill on May 13, 2018, 12:34:52 AM
Best song won. Had a bit on Austria for top 5 too and public vote nearly jeopardised that.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 13, 2018, 12:35:06 AM
Quote from: gallsman on May 13, 2018, 12:30:18 AM

Post by: ONeill on May 13, 2018, 12:37:31 AM

Top quality songs this year. There were 8 worthy winners.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 13, 2018, 12:39:28 AM
Wouldn't disagree with that, but the song that won it was along the same lines as Dustins effort some years ago.
Post by: Esmarelda on May 13, 2018, 12:47:17 AM
Italy's anti-war song was no match for the might of the Israeli chicken song.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 13, 2018, 12:50:28 AM
Quote from: ONeill on May 13, 2018, 12:37:31 AM

Top quality songs this year. There were 8 worthy winners.
How much home brew were you knocking back while watching it?
Post by: Christmas Lights on May 13, 2018, 01:08:08 AM
Awful.song to win it. Rotten

Thought Ireland's song was the best without being biased.

Eurovision is so unbelievably sh1t tbh
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 13, 2018, 01:18:42 AM
What country did win?
Post by: Syferus on May 13, 2018, 01:54:02 AM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on May 13, 2018, 01:08:08 AM
Awful.song to win it. Rotten

Thought Ireland's song was the best without being biased.

Eurovision is so unbelievably sh1t tbh

It was just another sachrine ballad. It is total biased to say it was in any way remarkably better than the best.

The Eurovision so great if you have enough humour to take it in the right spirit. If you can't the question really is why were you watching it to begin with?
Post by: RedHand88 on May 13, 2018, 01:55:00 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 13, 2018, 01:18:42 AM
What country did win?

Don't ask...
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on May 13, 2018, 06:22:22 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on May 13, 2018, 12:39:28 AM
Wouldn't disagree with that, but the song that won it was along the same lines as Dustins effort some years ago.

No point trying better to send a joke entry seems to work every few years. Feel a bit sorry for the likes of Austria, Germany and Cyprus who made the effort and then some complete mess vomits up some random noises and wins. For the record Dustins tune was quite catchy.
Post by: An Watcher on May 13, 2018, 07:37:39 AM
Some of the songs this year were quite good with the German entrant being excellent in my opinion.  The winner though was very poor which says it all about Eurovision really
Post by: Esmarelda on May 13, 2018, 08:47:25 AM
I found that the majority of songs sounded exactly like somebody else. Germany = Ed Sheeran for example.

I though the Czech song was relatively original and quirky and would have been my pick. I thought Germany would win it. I thought the UK's was awful altogether. Ireland's was as bland a ballad as you could get. Marty Whelan is beyond unbearable.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 13, 2018, 08:51:56 AM
Quote from: Esmarelda on May 13, 2018, 08:47:25 AM
I found that the majority of songs sounded exactly like somebody else. Germany = Ed Sheeran for example.

I though the Czech song was relatively original and quirky and would have been my pick. I thought Germany would win it. I thought the UK's was awful altogether. Ireland's was as bland a ballad as you could get. Marty Whelan is beyond unbearable.

Marty is trying to much to be like Terry Wogan. Also he was totally lost in the scoring system!
Post by: Esmarelda on May 13, 2018, 09:05:38 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 13, 2018, 08:51:56 AM
Quote from: Esmarelda on May 13, 2018, 08:47:25 AM

Marty is trying to much to be like Terry Wogan. Also he was totally lost in the scoring system!
Noticed that alright. I think he was looking to the right of each entrant were their totals were rather than to the left where the current scores were shown. He mustn't have been expecting to be on  :P
Post by: gallsman on May 13, 2018, 10:51:34 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on May 13, 2018, 12:35:06 AM

Yes. It was a joke in poor taste that reinforces old antisemitic tropes.

That sort of thing is ok around here though.
Post by: grounded on May 13, 2018, 11:19:42 AM
Quote from: gallsman on May 13, 2018, 10:51:34 AM

Shi#te, thats me in trouble then. Told a similar joke at work last week but it was a scottish person instead.
         Come to think of it, someone else was slagging off Cavan(sorry anyone from Cavan on here) people for being tight during another discussion. I shall be reporting him first thing tomorrow.
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 13, 2018, 11:37:43 AM
I must say I found it compulsive viewing but for all the wrong reasons.   ;D
Mind you, I had to turn the sound off between acts as Marty and his non-stop drivel was wrecking my head. He's about as funny as Brendan O'Connor. 'Nuff said!

Our fella was bad enough with the two laddybucks leppin' all over the place. Their antics were synchronised with what yer man and his guitars was doing and to cap it all, the winner was a female Sumo wrestler, wearing a kimono, some cultural clash! That was funny enough but to cap it all, she thought she was a chicken!
I can't wait for next year. Mrs. Brown's Boys isn't nearly half as funny.
Post by: gallsman on May 13, 2018, 11:40:36 AM
Quote from: grounded on May 13, 2018, 11:19:42 AM

Shi#te, thats me in trouble then. Told a similar joke at work last week but it was a scottish person instead.
         Come to think of it, someone else was slagging off Cavan(sorry anyone from Cavan on here) people for being tight during another discussion. I shall be reporting him first thing tomorrow.

I forgot how much that stereotype has been used as an excuse to systematically persecute Cavan people over the centuries. Thanks for reminding me.
Post by: sid waddell on May 13, 2018, 11:52:19 AM

Has there been a genocide perpetrated against Scottish people or Cavan people, in which the portrayal of them as "money grabbers" was used to mobilise the widespread, systemic hatred and prejudice against them which enables genocide to happen?
Post by: bennydorano on May 13, 2018, 12:06:24 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 13, 2018, 11:40:36 AM

I forgot how much that stereotype has been used as an excuse to systematically persecute over the centuries. Thanks for reminding me.
Probably a bit ironic that your strapline reads "Never mind your why. Why ain't in your repetoire no more n***a" while making that point about persecution.
Post by: BennyCake on May 13, 2018, 12:07:31 PM

Is there an echo in here?  ;D
Post by: BennyCake on May 13, 2018, 12:09:40 PM
What country did win?

A country that doesn't even exist, and is not even in Europe.

Sums up Eurovision really.
Post by: gallsman on May 13, 2018, 12:11:54 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on May 13, 2018, 12:06:24 PM

I forgot how much that stereotype has been used as an excuse to systematically persecute over the centuries. Thanks for reminding me.
Probably a bit ironic that your strapline reads "Never mind your why. Why ain't in your repetoire no more n***a" while making that point about persecution.

I'm not sure you understand what irony means.
Post by: sid waddell on May 13, 2018, 12:15:48 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 13, 2018, 12:09:40 PM
What country did win?

Really?

What's your basis for stating such?

And what country do you come from?
Post by: bennydorano on May 13, 2018, 12:28:18 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 13, 2018, 12:11:54 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on May 13, 2018, 12:06:24 PM

I'm not sure you understand what irony means.
Zing
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 13, 2018, 12:45:16 PM

Jesus wept

Post by: gallsman on May 13, 2018, 12:52:26 PM
You disagree?
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 13, 2018, 12:59:13 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 13, 2018, 12:52:26 PM
You disagree?
Absolutely. Just a big if harmless fun. Just like 'Did you hear about the Jewish kamikazi pilot? He landed in his brother's scrapyard'
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 13, 2018, 01:00:58 PM
Jesus Christ lads it's the f**king Eurovision!!! 
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 13, 2018, 01:05:31 PM
Here there's a brave buzz around Cross today
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 13, 2018, 03:31:27 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on May 13, 2018, 01:05:31 PM
Here there's a brave buzz around Cross today

The sound of red diesel?
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 13, 2018, 04:10:32 PM
Actually you're not a million miles away there. There was a charity tractor run event taking place
Post by: armaghniac on May 13, 2018, 04:58:20 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on May 13, 2018, 04:10:32 PM
Actually you're not a million miles away there. There was a charity tractor run event taking place

Some nice yokes, although many of them are merely ordinary enough elderly machines.
Post by: longballin on May 13, 2018, 05:44:03 PM
A summer of this : (  missing club month already
Post by: grounded on May 13, 2018, 07:54:05 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on May 13, 2018, 11:52:19 AM

Has there been a genocide perpetrated against Scottish people or Cavan people, in which the portrayal of them as "money grabbers" was used to mobilise the widespread, systemic hatred and prejudice against them which enables genocide to happen?

Not sure about the scots but the Cavan wans have been given awful stick over the years.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 13, 2018, 10:04:10 PM
I don't see anything wrong with it.
Post by: BennyCake on May 13, 2018, 10:14:44 PM
Supposed anti-semitism isn't acceptable, but anti-catholic, anti-irish, anti-abortion seems very acceptable.
Post by: gallsman on May 13, 2018, 10:15:23 PM
That's without doubt one of the most pathetic comments I've seen on this site. Embarrassing stuff. Inability to distinguish between the state of Israel and "the Jews". Whinging about people playing the anti-Semitism card by being shockingly anti-Semitic.

Quote from: Dougal Maguire on May 13, 2018, 10:04:10 PM
I don't see anything wrong with it.

As for this, I'm not sure whether you're on the windup or genuinely see nothing wrong with that post.
Post by: gallsman on May 13, 2018, 10:15:50 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 13, 2018, 10:14:44 PM
Supposed anti-semitism isn't acceptable, but anti-catholic, anti-irish, anti-abortion seems very acceptable.

Lololol the absolute state of you trying to draw an equivalence there.
Post by: BennyCake on May 13, 2018, 10:19:09 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 13, 2018, 10:15:50 PM

The old saying of a tight arse Scot or Yorkshireman is laughed at, but when it's a jew... Oh, you can't say that!  ::)
Post by: sid waddell on May 13, 2018, 10:23:31 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 13, 2018, 10:19:09 PM

The old saying of a tight arse Scot or Yorkshireman is laughed at, but when it's a jew... Oh, you can't say that!  ::)

Watch this and realise what a dunce you are.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s_F27ejh3x4
Post by: gallsman on May 13, 2018, 10:24:20 PM

As stated above, I'm not very familiar with the stereotype of the "money grabbing Scotsman" being used to systematically persecute the Scots (up to and including genocide) over the centuries. Perhaps you could refresh my memory?
Post by: trileacman on May 13, 2018, 10:24:54 PM
Jesus the snowflakes have fcuked the euro-vision thread now too.

Is nowhere safe?
Post by: ONeill on May 13, 2018, 10:25:29 PM
Quote from: trileacman on May 13, 2018, 10:24:54 PM

Is nowhere safe?

Nowhere.
Post by: sid waddell on May 13, 2018, 10:28:54 PM
Quote from: trileacman on May 13, 2018, 10:24:54 PM

Is nowhere safe?
It's mad the way there's a cohort of posters who cry "bully" as soon as they're outpointed in a debate.

And then see nothing wrong with obvious naked anti-semitism, calling anybody who objects a snowflake.

Mad, I tells ya.

There's a rather obvious hypocrisy there, but sure, nah...why even bother...

Post by: ONeill on May 13, 2018, 10:33:04 PM
Snowdrops and daffodils
Butterflies and bees
Sailboats and fishermen
Things of the sea
Wishing-wells
Wedding bells
Early morning dew
All kinds of everything remind me of you
Seagulls and aeroplanes
Things of the sky
Winds that go howlin'
Breezes that sigh
City sights
Neon lights
Grey skies or blue
Summertime
Wintertime
Spring and autumn too
Monday
Tuesday every day
I think of you.
Dances
Romances
Things of the night
Sunshine and holidays
Postcards to write
Budding trees
Autumn leaves
A snowflake or two
All kinds of everything remind me of you.
Summertime
Wintertime
Spring and autumn too
Seasons will never change
The way that I love you.
Dances
Romances
Things of the night
Sunshine and holidays
Postcards to write
Budding trees
Autumn leaves
A snowflake or two
Post by: BennyCake on May 13, 2018, 10:36:49 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 13, 2018, 10:24:20 PM

As stated above, I'm not very familiar with the stereotype of the "money grabbing Scotsman" being used to systematically persecute the Scots (up to and including genocide) over the centuries. Perhaps you could refresh my memory?

It's not just the stuff the Israeli state has done, it's the stereotypes like the tight Scotsman that can't even be spoken of. All attempts of reference to the Jewish people is lumped into the big anti-semitism net.

A tight Jew or a drunken Irishman. Why is one an acceptable stereotype and one not?
Post by: trileacman on May 13, 2018, 10:40:29 PM
It was a joke and pretty f**king harmless for a bunch of white Irish people on a GAA forum.

Go write a strongly worded letter to Sacha Baron Cohen or Seth McFarlane who've spent the best part of 15 years telling the same kind of jokes to the mass market.
Post by: sid waddell on May 13, 2018, 10:47:10 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 13, 2018, 10:36:49 PM

It's not just the stuff the Israeli state has done, it's the stereotypes like the tight Scotsman that can't even be spoken of. All attempts of reference to the Jewish people is lumped into the big anti-semitism net.

A tight Jew or a drunken Irishman. Why is one an acceptable stereotype and one not?
Are you pretending to be stupid or are you genuinely stupid?

I think I know the answer to this one, actually, having had the misfortune to read a range of your infantile posts on different subjects.
Post by: Rois on May 13, 2018, 10:55:02 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on May 13, 2018, 10:47:10 PM

I think I know the answer to this one, actually, having had the misfortune to read a range of your infantile posts on different subjects.
As someone who earlier on this thread alluded to the ass-shaking of the females in the Cyprus act, i'd be careful when you try to link threads. What about treating women as second class citizens? Ok to objectify them when singing on the stage? Nothing to do with singing, lyrics etc. 
Post by: gallsman on May 13, 2018, 10:56:45 PM
Quote from: trileacman on May 13, 2018, 10:40:29 PM
It was a joke and pretty f**king harmless for a bunch of white Irish people on a GAA forum.

Go write a strongly worded letter to Sacha Baron Cohen or Seth McFarlane who've spent the best part of 15 years telling the same kind of jokes to the mass market.

Why would I go and contact some famous satirists about some moron posting anti-Semitic tripe on an Irish GAA discussion board?
Post by: StGallsGAA on May 13, 2018, 11:02:23 PM
Quote from: Windmill abu on May 13, 2018, 08:26:37 PM

The Halocaust was carried out by the Nazis but the Jews try to make everybody feel guilty for it. Anyone criticizing the Jews is accused of antisemitism to the point that they can carry out atrocities of their own with impunity.

As far as the money grabber title is concerned, it is well deserved

I've played Halo 5 and Halo Wars 2. Is this a new one in the series?
Post by: sid waddell on May 13, 2018, 11:06:39 PM

I'm not familiar with Seth MacFarlane, but I would assume he is Jewish given his first name.

Sacha Baron Cohen can tell all the jokes about Jews that he likes, because he is one.

The thing is, his humour is designed to not only to laugh at his own historically oppressed ethnic group, which is he is entitled to do by virtue of being a member of that group, but to ridicule anti-semitism and anti-semites. And you clearly don't even get that.

Amy Schumer and Sarah Silverman can tell jokes about Jews and rape jokes, because they are both Jewish and women, and thus can use dark, confrontational humour to challenge and ridicule anti-semitism and misogynism.

A Muslim comedian gets to make jokes about Muslims. A disabled comedian gets to tell jokes about disabled people.

It's very clear you fail to understand the difference betwen that type of humour, and, say, Bernard Manning. Or Kevin Myers. Or Ron Atkinson.

Or this.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BoLPLsQbdt0

Post by: sid waddell on May 13, 2018, 11:09:55 PM
Quote from: Rois on May 13, 2018, 10:55:02 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on May 13, 2018, 10:47:10 PM

As someone who earlier on this thread alluded to the ass-shaking of the females in the Cyprus act, i'd be careful when you try to link threads. What about treating women as second class citizens? Ok to objectify them when singing on the stage? Nothing to do with singing, lyrics etc.
Go on. Quote my post, there. Explain exactly what you found objectionable.
Post by: trileacman on May 14, 2018, 12:59:18 AM
Quote from: sid waddell on May 13, 2018, 11:06:39 PM

I'm not familiar with Seth MacFarlane, but I would assume he is Jewish given his first name.

Sacha Baron Cohen can tell all the jokes about Jews that he likes, because he is one.

The thing is, his humour is designed to not only to laugh at his own historically oppressed ethnic group, which is he is entitled to do by virtue of being a member of that group, but to ridicule anti-semitism and anti-semites. And you clearly don't even get that.

Amy Schumer and Sarah Silverman can tell jokes about Jews and rape jokes, because they are both Jewish and women, and thus can use dark, confrontational humour to challenge and ridicule anti-semitism and misogynism.

A Muslim comedian gets to make jokes about Muslims. A disabled comedian gets to tell jokes about disabled people.

It's very clear you fail to understand the difference betwen that type of humour, and, say, Bernard Manning. Or Kevin Myers. Or Ron Atkinson.

Or this.

Is Frankie Boyle on the racist list? What about Tommy Tiernan?
Post by: Taylor on May 14, 2018, 09:04:47 AM
Quote from: trileacman on May 14, 2018, 12:59:18 AM

Or this.

Yes and yes.
Anyone who says anything funny or witty about a person/country/race is on the list.

Jokes should all be like..........'Did you hear the joke about the bin........its rubbish' or maybe that is being offensive to bins?
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 14, 2018, 09:11:53 AM
What about the Muslims?
Post by: Taylor on May 14, 2018, 09:18:14 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 14, 2018, 09:11:53 AM
What about the Muslims?

Yeah - f**k them.
Stick them on the list as well
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 14, 2018, 09:24:51 AM
Quote from: ONeill on May 13, 2018, 10:33:04 PM
Snowdrops and daffodils
Butterflies and bees
Sailboats and fishermen
Things of the sea
Wishing-wells
Wedding bells
Early morning dew
Seagulls and aeroplanes
Things of the sky
Winds that go howlin'
Breezes that sigh
City sights
Neon lights
Grey skies or blue
Summertime
Wintertime
Spring and autumn too
Monday
Tuesday every day
I think of you.
Dances
Romances
Things of the night
Sunshine and holidays
Postcards to write
Budding trees
Autumn leaves
A snowflake or two
Summertime
Wintertime
Spring and autumn too
Seasons will never change
The way that I love you.
Dances
Romances
Things of the night
Sunshine and holidays
Postcards to write
Budding trees
Autumn leaves
A snowflake or two

Dana be trying to change the subject to Eurovision stuff ..... lads here are trying  to speed it up with their chat. Unfortunately we lost it this year but sure what's another year eh? Some of the kids on here should be more rock and roll and not take life too seriously.
Post by: tyrone girl on May 14, 2018, 09:33:40 AM
Thought the german song was the best. Rest were pure shite as usual.  ::)
Post by: Asal Mor on May 14, 2018, 09:48:59 AM

Or this.

Sid, if you heard such a joke from a comedian you're not familiar with, would you need to check his religious and ethnical background so you could accurately weigh up whether the joke is funny or offensive, before deciding whether to laugh heartily or write a thesis about racism in comedy?
Post by: Taylor on May 14, 2018, 09:58:56 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on May 14, 2018, 09:33:40 AM
Thought the german song was the best. Rest were pure shite as usual.  ::)

Was that the song about the Da who had passed away?
Post by: tyrone girl on May 14, 2018, 10:02:11 AM
Yeah thats the one as far as i recall.
Post by: tyrone girl on May 14, 2018, 10:03:46 AM
That israeli blade singing that winning song absolutely turned me no harm to her  :-[
Post by: sid waddell on May 14, 2018, 10:09:38 AM
Quote from: Taylor on May 14, 2018, 09:04:47 AM

Or this.

Yes and yes.
Anyone who says anything funny or witty about a person/country/race is on the list.

Jokes should all be like..........'Did you hear the joke about the bin........its rubbish' or maybe that is being offensive to bins?
Do Frankie Boyle and Tommy Tiernan deliberately vilify all people of certain ethnic groups merely because they are members of a certain ethnic group, in the way some posters on this site vilify Jews merely because they are Jews?

Sometimes on this forum one has to do a double take to make sure it's not a BNP forum.

Post by: Taylor on May 14, 2018, 10:47:07 AM
Quote from: sid waddell on May 14, 2018, 10:09:38 AM

Or this.

Yes and yes.

Do Frankie Boyle and Tommy Tiernan deliberately vilify all people of certain ethnic groups merely because they are members of a certain ethnic group, in the way some posters on this site vilify Jews merely because they are Jews?

Sometimes on this forum one has to do a double take to make sure it's not a BNP forum.

Hmmmm.....they tell jokes about certain ethnic groups in their routine absolutely.

Asking do they vilify them would be a matter of opinion
Post by: bennydorano on May 14, 2018, 11:55:34 AM
Quote from: Asal Mor on May 14, 2018, 09:48:59 AM

Or this.

Sid, if you heard such a joke from a comedian you're not familiar with, would you need to check his religious and ethnical background so you could accurately weigh up whether the joke is funny or offensive, before deciding whether to laugh heartily or write a thesis about racism in comedy?
Excellent point and shows up the absurdity of some of the positions here. Funny is funny end of - Dougal's original joke here that sprouted this bleeting match was just shit tho.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 14, 2018, 12:00:48 PM
Perhaps you might tell me who, if anyone, this joke would be offensive to:
Did you hear about the nun who fell asleep outside a synagogue ?
When she woke up next morning there was a heavy dew on her
Post by: sid waddell on May 14, 2018, 12:07:56 PM
Quote from: Taylor on May 14, 2018, 10:47:07 AM
Quote from: sid waddell on May 14, 2018, 10:09:38 AM

Or this.

Yes and yes.

Hmmmm.....they tell jokes about certain ethnic groups in their routine absolutely.

Asking do they vilify them would be a matter of opinion
Read back over the last couple of pages of this thread and tell me whether there has been outright anti-semitism on it.

Remember now, several posters have defended what was said.

Think carefully.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 14, 2018, 12:14:49 PM
Just clarify what you define as being anti Semitic
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 14, 2018, 12:17:45 PM
I dislike Israelis because they steal Palestinians land and shoot dead unarmed protesters. Is that anti Semitic?
Post by: sid waddell on May 14, 2018, 12:39:43 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on May 14, 2018, 12:14:49 PM
Just clarify what you define as being anti Semitic
You started it off.

But your trope, anti-semitic as it was, is actually pretty mild compared to the Oliver J. Flanagan-esque rant that followed.

Quote from: Windmill abu on May 13, 2018, 08:26:37 PM

The Halocaust was carried out by the Nazis but the Jews try to make everybody feel guilty for it. Anyone criticizing the Jews is accused of antisemitism to the point that they can carry out atrocities of their own with impunity.

As far as the money grabber title is concerned, it is well deserved

Quote from: BennyCake on May 13, 2018, 12:09:40 PM
What country did win?

Quote from: Dougal Maguire on May 14, 2018, 12:17:45 PM
I dislike Israelis because they steal Palestinians land and shoot dead unarmed protesters. Is that anti Semitic?

If you object to the behaviour of the Israeli government and armed forces, as I do, that's clearly not anti-semitism.

If vilify Jews in general because of the actions of the Israeli government, that's anti-semitism.

If you vilify Jews in general as being "money grabbers", yes, that is very definitely anti-semitic - because it's the exact same type of ethnic vilification that led to the Holocaust.

It really is a shame to have to explain this stuff.

Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 14, 2018, 01:10:13 PM
The nun outside the synagogue. Anti Semitic?
Post by: sid waddell on May 14, 2018, 01:22:33 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on May 14, 2018, 01:10:13 PM
Not particularly, because it doesn't use a negative stereotype to generalise about Jews as a group.

Now, can you tell me whether you believe that negative stereotypes about Jews being money grabbers are anti-semitic?

Like yours, and like the even more vile post of Windmill Abu's?

Can you tell me whether such negative stereotypes were widely used to vilify Jews in 1930s Germany, thus preparing the ground for the Holocaust?

I'll make a leap and presume you have knowledge of what the Holocaust was.
Post by: seafoid on May 14, 2018, 01:38:53 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on May 14, 2018, 01:22:33 PM
Not particularly, because it doesn't use a negative stereotype to generalise about Jews as a group.

Now, can you tell me whether you believe that negative stereotypes about Jews being money grabbers are anti-semitic?

Can you tell me whether such negative stereotypes were widely used to vilify Jews in 1930s Germany, thus preparing the ground for the Holocaust?

3 Jewish billionaires - Paul Singer, Sheldon Adelson and Bernard Marcus- funded the lobby that convinced Trump to pull out of the Iran deal.  They also heavily funded the lobby for the tax cuts that went 60% to the richest 1% of americans.

Is that antisemitic ?
It is very f**king dangerous.
When the US economy crashes along with the dollar, guess what will happen. The white elite will blame the Jews. And it will be easy. People in Indiana and Ohio will take the bait.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 14, 2018, 01:50:31 PM

Don't patronise me. I suggest you look back over your history books and try to address your selective memory. Contrary to popular myth the Jews weren't the only people killed in the holocaust. They were mainly killed because they were considered inferior.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 14, 2018, 01:52:38 PM
Did you hear about the 2 gay ghosts?
They put the willies up each other!
Offensive ?
Post by: Taylor on May 14, 2018, 01:56:48 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on May 14, 2018, 01:52:38 PM
Offensive ?

Very.

Disgusting in fact.

LGBT community will be after you
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 14, 2018, 02:03:16 PM
Did you hear about the Irish formula 1 driver?
He made 10 pit stops , 1 for tyres, 1 for fuel and 8 to ask for directions
Offensive?
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 14, 2018, 02:04:33 PM
Quote from: Taylor on May 14, 2018, 01:56:48 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on May 14, 2018, 01:52:38 PM
Offensive ?

Very.

Disgusting in fact.

LGBT community will be after you
Will ghosts start to haunt me?
Post by: trueblue1234 on May 14, 2018, 02:05:20 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on May 14, 2018, 11:55:34 AM

Or this.

Excellent point and shows up the absurdity of some of the positions here. Funny is funny end of - Dougal's original joke here that sprouted this bleeting match was just shit tho.

Was there an answer to this at all?
Post by: sid waddell on May 14, 2018, 02:08:43 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on May 14, 2018, 01:50:31 PM

Don't patronise me. I suggest you look back over your history books and try to address your selective memory. Contrary to popular myth the Jews weren't the only people killed in the holocaust. They were mainly killed because they were considered inferior.
They were killed because they were constantly vilified using negative stereotypes. When you vilify an entire ethnic group, you can justify anything.

You and the other fuckwits on this thread see no problem perpetuating the negative ethnic stereotypes which have been a contributing factor to genocide in the past, of course.

It's just "bantz", or something.

It'd be a very interesting thought experiment to set up a thread to ridicule Northern Catholics using every negative stereotype imaginable. Just for the craic, like. And to see what the reaction is.

Post by: Farrandeelin on May 14, 2018, 02:09:19 PM
Israel shouldn't be in the Eurovision. Neither should Australia.
Post by: seafoid on May 14, 2018, 02:11:11 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 14, 2018, 02:09:19 PM
Israel shouldn't be in UEFA either
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 14, 2018, 02:12:11 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 14, 2018, 02:11:11 PM

Nor Kazakhstan imo.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 14, 2018, 02:15:29 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on May 14, 2018, 02:08:43 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on May 14, 2018, 01:50:31 PM

They were killed because they were constantly vilified using negative stereotypes. When you vilify an entire ethnic group, you can justify anything.

You and the other fuckwits on this thread see no problem perpetuating the negative ethnic stereotypes which have been a contributing factor to genocide in the past, of course.

It's just "bantz", or something.

It'd be a very interesting thought experiment to set up a thread to ridicule Northern Catholics using every negative stereotype imaginable. Just for the craic, like. And to see what the reaction is.
Well if any Jews are subject to genocide as a result of my quip I'll remove it.
The NI Catholics joke thread is a great idea. Go ahead and set it up. Just one final point, when you resort to crude language to make an argument, you lose it.
Post by: sid waddell on May 14, 2018, 02:17:22 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on May 14, 2018, 02:05:20 PM

Or this.

I'll wait for all the the six county Catholics on this thread to finish up their bomb-making activities for the day before answering.

Hey, just #bantz, remember!?

Like Barry McElduff!

Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 14, 2018, 02:23:34 PM
You've lost me with that last bit Chief
Post by: sid waddell on May 14, 2018, 02:29:36 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on May 14, 2018, 02:23:34 PM
Being lost is no doubt a feeling you're well used to.
Post by: trueblue1234 on May 14, 2018, 02:30:03 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on May 14, 2018, 02:17:22 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on May 14, 2018, 02:05:20 PM

Or this.

I'll wait for all the the six county Catholics on this thread to finish up their bomb-making activities for the day before answering.

Hey, just #bantz, remember!?

Like Barry McElduff!

Seriously do I have to research jokes/ comedians before laughing at them? And lets be honest the Catholic Church rightfully get loads of abuse on here including stereotypical comments. In fact I don't think there's a grouping/ race that get as much.

Post by: BennyCake on May 14, 2018, 02:44:13 PM

No, but I'm just hoping they qualify for Qatar 2022. Then the fun will start.
Post by: trueblue1234 on May 14, 2018, 03:01:08 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 14, 2018, 02:59:14 PM
Why is Dougal Maguire twaddling on about jokes when it's obvious to everyone that Windmill Abu's literally anti-semetic post wasn't a joke? Sometimes people on this site (most times) don't realise how absolutely reprehensible the behaviour they're trying to defend is.

Windmill's post was out of line. No problem with someone taking issue with it. Dougal's however was harmless.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 14, 2018, 03:01:22 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on May 14, 2018, 02:29:36 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on May 14, 2018, 02:23:34 PM
Being lost is no doubt a feeling you're well used to.
What do you mean by a cryptic message like that?
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 14, 2018, 03:10:40 PM
I'm cut to the bone. I thought my initial comment was a piece of spontaneous comedy genius if truth be told.
Post by: seafoid on May 14, 2018, 04:18:41 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on May 14, 2018, 04:10:07 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 14, 2018, 02:44:13 PM

Before they even bribed won the right to host, Qatari officials said that if Israel qualified they would welcome the team into the country. In any case Qatar don't ban Israeli passport holders from entering the country outright compared to most Arab countries but they do require a visa application beforehand.
The problem with Israel is that it never integrated into the Middle East.
No country in the region needs an international aiport the way Israel does.
Post by: Taylor on May 14, 2018, 04:48:18 PM
The world has gone mad
Post by: BennyCake on May 14, 2018, 05:03:30 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on May 14, 2018, 04:10:07 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 14, 2018, 02:44:13 PM

Before they even bribed won the right to host, Qatari officials said that if Israel qualified they would welcome the team into the country. In any case Qatar don't ban Israeli passport holders from entering the country outright compared to most Arab countries but they do require a visa application beforehand.

Yes but then there's the Qatari people. That could be a different story.
Post by: BennyCake on May 15, 2018, 05:10:06 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on May 14, 2018, 08:35:29 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 14, 2018, 05:03:30 PMYes but then there's the Qatari people. That could be a different story.
Only 12% of Qatar's resident population are Qatari citizens, they have the highest GDP per head of any country in the world notwithstanding that many South Asian working there in construction, hospitality & as servants along with many other foreigners are effectively indentured slaves. So nah.
In the current geopolitical climate, it might be trickier if Saudi Arabia, Egypt or the UAE qualify for the 2022 World Cup.

Trouble has started before elsewhere with less ;)
Post by: Eamonnca1 on June 15, 2018, 10:12:06 PM
There's a poll going around on thejournal.ie asking if Ireland should boycott Eurovision in Israel. Initially, I thought yes, but if someone were to pen a good song about standing up to colonizing land-grabbing oppressors on the other hand...
Post by: balladmaker on June 17, 2018, 02:09:37 AM
QuoteThere's a poll going around on thejournal.ie asking if Ireland should boycott Eurovision in Israel. Initially, I thought yes, but if someone were to pen a good song about standing up to colonizing land-grabbing oppressors on the other hand...

I know just the group for that
Post by: Targetman on June 17, 2018, 09:51:43 PM
The Wolfe Tones in Eurovision!!
Post by: BennyCake on May 16, 2019, 10:14:29 PM
Ireland didn't make the final. So we are boycotting Israel in a round about way.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 16, 2019, 10:22:54 PM
It's becomes apparent that Eurosong competition has become too expensive to host.
Post by: Itchy on May 17, 2019, 08:56:05 AM
Didn't watch it, if you did you should be ashamed of yourselves.
Post by: BennyCake on May 17, 2019, 10:13:01 AM
Quote from: Itchy on May 17, 2019, 08:56:05 AM

I happened to flip it over just as they were showing a review of each song. I had to mute it. It hurt my ears. Terrible noise.
Post by: seafoid on May 17, 2019, 10:52:21 AM
Which is worse ?

1. Eurovision
2  Rose of Tralee
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 17, 2019, 12:14:59 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 17, 2019, 08:56:05 AM
Totally agree. Great to see we got what we deserved
Post by: mouview on May 17, 2019, 01:00:26 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 17, 2019, 10:52:21 AM
Which is worse ?

1. Eurovision
2  Rose of Tralee

At Your Service with the Brennan boys.
Post by: BennyCake on May 17, 2019, 01:00:46 PM
Which is worse ?

1. Eurovision
2  Rose of Tralee

Definitely Eurovision
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 17, 2019, 01:07:42 PM
Quote from: mouview on May 17, 2019, 01:00:26 PM
Which is worse ?

1. Eurovision
2  Rose of Tralee

At Your Service with the Brennan boys.

The Ray Darcy show.
Post by: weareros on May 17, 2019, 01:53:43 PM
Didn't watch. But when heard that song awhile back, it was a shocking attempt to ape crap American pop/country crossover. Irrespective of the political implications, the committee at RTE who foisted that on our eardrums should be named and shamed. Some wit on hearing that the Americans were using Westlife music to torture prisoners commented that RTE have been doing the very same thing to the Irish public for years.
Post by: Hardy on May 17, 2019, 02:19:28 PM
Which is worse ?

1. Eurovision
2  Rose of Tralee

The Israelis don't use the Rose of Tralee as a propaganda vehicle. So I suppose it's the Eurovision.
Post by: BennyCake on May 19, 2019, 12:01:47 AM
The Icelandic act held up Palestine flags after their vote was announced. It did not go down well in the arena. Fair play, Iceland.
Post by: Main Street on May 19, 2019, 12:11:08 AM
Turgid stuff, except for the Icelanders.
Post by: Capt Pat on May 19, 2019, 12:11:57 AM
The Icelanics were mad. Still did a good deed by holding up the Palestine flags.

Some finish to the voting with both North Macedonia and Sweden flopping in the public vote. The Netherlands winning out.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 19, 2019, 12:12:24 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 19, 2019, 12:01:47 AM
The Icelandic act held up Palestine flags after their vote was announced. It did not go down well in the arena. Fair play, Iceland.

Brilliant caught that there as I turn over from watching film, fair fcuks to them ! Went down like a lead balloon. Bookies favourite won. Brit's cane last as usual seems to be a farce all the same
Post by: BennyCake on May 19, 2019, 12:17:29 AM
It was very funny actually. The Iceland lads looked like they didn't give a feck what score they got. It was like they were only there to produce the Palestine flags.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 19, 2019, 12:48:54 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 19, 2019, 12:17:29 AM
It was very funny actually. The Iceland lads looked like they didn't give a feck what score they got. It was like they were only there to produce the Palestine flags.

I hope they had a fast car ready
Post by: From the Bunker on May 19, 2019, 01:14:50 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 19, 2019, 12:48:54 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 19, 2019, 12:17:29 AM

I hope they had a fast car ready

Yes, it takes balls to do what they did!
Post by: magpie seanie on May 21, 2019, 10:00:46 AM
Was in a pub at a function and the TV was on with no sound (why do they do this in pubs). Was ignoring it the best I could but was delighted to spot the Icelandic band sticking up for human rights. Iceland has a history of doing things correctly. Like with the economic crisis in 2008 - bankers and politicians got jailed, bondholders got burned. Fair play to them.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 21, 2019, 10:31:43 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 21, 2019, 10:00:46 AM
Was in a pub at a function and the TV was on with no sound (why do they do this in pubs). Was ignoring it the best I could but was delighted to spot the Icelandic band sticking up for human rights. Iceland has a history of doing things correctly. Like with the economic crisis in 2008 - bankers and politicians got jailed, bondholders got burned. Fair play to them.

The Palestinians were not happy at all, they actually gave off about their token gesture.
Post by: BennyCake on March 18, 2020, 01:55:05 PM
Apparently this years contest has been cancelled.

Not a fan of it, but why couldn't they had each act perform in their own country? They don't really need to be in the same place. People would still be able to vote. It would be a few hours distraction. For some, anyway.
Post by: BennyCake on May 22, 2021, 09:25:46 PM
Christ almighty, I mean it was always rubbish, but what the f**k has this turned into?!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 22, 2021, 09:31:29 PM
Iceland to win
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on May 22, 2021, 09:39:13 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 22, 2021, 09:31:29 PM
Iceland to win

Get my vote. Fell upon one their songs couple weeks back, quality and good video. Think about Things shes called
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 22, 2021, 09:40:24 PM
Some nice eye candy on display.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 22, 2021, 09:51:13 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 22, 2021, 09:40:24 PM

Fishnets?
Post by: RedHand88 on May 22, 2021, 09:55:09 PM
Ah here, lads.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on May 22, 2021, 10:05:19 PM
Flo Rida in da house!

Curveball!
Post by: Capt Pat on May 22, 2021, 10:18:23 PM
Why is one of the female presenters so big?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 22, 2021, 10:19:08 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on May 22, 2021, 10:18:23 PM
Why is one of the female presenters so big?

She wasnt born female
Post by: tiempo on May 22, 2021, 11:56:33 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 22, 2021, 09:51:13 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 22, 2021, 09:40:24 PM

Fishnets?

The battle of the bulge 🍆
Post by: Main Street on May 22, 2021, 11:58:54 PM
Commiserations to our dear Nordies, null points for the truly dismal UK entry.

I think Iceland would have won it last year. I watched their 1997 effort at Eurov in Dublin and it was an astonishing performance, though it  hardly got any points, way ahead of its time.
https://youtu.be/b9-Ld4bojTM?t=12 (https://youtu.be/b9-Ld4bojTM?t=12)
Post by: Helix. on May 22, 2021, 11:59:12 PM
UK scoring same as Ireland. Brexit didn't do any favours  8)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 23, 2021, 12:06:43 AM
Quote from: Main Street on May 22, 2021, 11:58:54 PM
Commiserations to our dear Nordies, null points for the truly dismal UK entry.

I think Iceland would have won it last year. I watched their 1997 effort at Eurov in Dublin and it was an astonishing performance, though it  hardly got any points, way ahead of its time.
https://youtu.be/b9-Ld4bojTM?t=12 (https://youtu.be/b9-Ld4bojTM?t=12)

Clutching for a a bite, I hope the UK continue to get shafted in this dismal show
Post by: Main Street on May 23, 2021, 12:20:45 AM
The UK song was totally crap  but can't help feeling that  the total boycott was also an Asterix inspired Euro 'Merde' to the British.
Post by: BennyCake on May 23, 2021, 12:29:17 AM
Quote from: Main Street on May 23, 2021, 12:20:45 AM
The UK song was totally crap  but can't help feeling that  the total boycott was also an Asterix inspired Euro 'Merde' to the British.

Same thing happened after the Iraq invasion.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 23, 2021, 12:53:28 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 23, 2021, 12:29:17 AM

They've been last or nearly last since the first invasion. I think it would be better if it was broke down to wales Scotland, then they wound really be last
Post by: BennyCake on May 23, 2021, 09:39:33 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 23, 2021, 12:53:28 AM

They've been last or nearly last since the first invasion. I think it would be better if it was broke down to wales Scotland, then they wound really be last

Won't be long until Scotland is in it anyway.

I thought Ireland had made it but obviously was wrong. I never understood why we don't enter a song showing off our traditional instruments and music. Europe goes mad for Irish  music, and even if you never win, at least you're showcasing your national music and sound, staying true to yourself. Instead of the bollix we send to it. Sure it's nothing more than a hideous karaoke nowadays.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 23, 2021, 10:00:08 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 23, 2021, 09:39:33 AM

I thought Ireland had made it but obviously was wrong. I never understood why we don't enter a song showing off our traditional instruments and music. Europe goes mad for Irish  music, and even if you never win, at least you're showcasing your national music and sound, staying true to yourself. Instead of the bollix we send to it. Sure it's nothing more than a hideous karaoke nowadays.

Said the same last night. In fact all nations should have to produce a song in their native language with traditional instruments. Ireland would give it a rare blast alright but let's face it, Ireland don't want to win it as it is too expensive to run!
Post by: BennyCake on May 23, 2021, 10:21:50 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 23, 2021, 10:00:08 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 23, 2021, 09:39:33 AM

Said the same last night. In fact all nations should have to produce a song in their native language with traditional instruments. Ireland would give it a rare blast alright but let's face it, Ireland don't want to win it as it is too expensive to run!

Is that you Dick Byrne?  ;D

The winners from 1995 and 1996, Europeans would lap that stuff right up

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=6qqOI04uo_c
(https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=6qqOI04uo_c)

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=TpdRtIM45ts
(https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=TpdRtIM45ts)
Post by: From the Bunker on May 23, 2021, 12:03:08 PM
Best song won. There is a snobbery that a rock/punk song can't be any good. That's it. Gimmicks and tricks will only get you so far. Ireland and UK are trying to hard to fit in. Be yourself, do the style you are best at. If the UK's foreign policy is not liked and affecting their Eurovision results, what the he'll is going on with Israel who do well annually and won the competition 3 years ago?
Post by: johnnycool on May 24, 2021, 02:32:14 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 23, 2021, 12:03:08 PM
Best song won. There is a snobbery that a rock/punk song can't be any good. That's it. Gimmicks and tricks will only get you so far. Ireland and UK are trying to hard to fit in. Be yourself, do the style you are best at. If the UK's foreign policy is not liked and affecting their Eurovision results, what the he'll is going on with Israel who do well annually and won the competition 3 years ago?

European guilt complex.

UK talking about doing a dustin the turkey type parody but I thought they'd been doing that for years.

Roll out Bucks Fizz I say.
Post by: BennyCake on May 24, 2021, 04:59:28 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on May 24, 2021, 02:32:14 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 23, 2021, 12:03:08 PM

European guilt complex.

UK talking about doing a dustin the turkey type parody but I thought they'd been doing that for years.

Roll out Bucks Fizz I say.

Didn't Israel win because they had the freak act?, ie. a big fat lesbian dressed like a clown. Usually the freakiest weirdo wins.

The skirt ripping would piss off the feminists/millennials/politically correct/whingy bastards these days though.

Even more reason to bring it back then!
Post by: Taylor on May 24, 2021, 06:14:56 PM
Looks like the Colombian marching powder worked for the Italians anyway!
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 11, 2022, 03:58:13 PM
Ukraine the clear favourites this year (no need to guess why) one lyric in the song "I'll always find my way home even if all the roads are destroyed"
Post by: Capt Pat on May 13, 2022, 10:28:32 PM
Well that didn't work out for Ireland. At least it looks like the Ukraine situation will stop what might have been a UK win.
Post by: ONeill on May 15, 2022, 12:48:45 AM
The countries that gave UK nahin in the public vote:

Croatia, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia and Slovenia.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 15, 2022, 12:53:02 AM
The Spain ass got plenty of the popular vote.
Post by: ONeill on May 15, 2022, 12:54:27 AM
From the jury too, the horny bastids.
Post by: RedHand88 on May 15, 2022, 07:46:27 AM
So Ukraine won.

I for one, am shocked.
Post by: Olly on February 03, 2023, 09:55:28 PM
Bad start. That girl didn't want to be there.
Post by: Olly on February 03, 2023, 10:04:54 PM
Jedward made a good point there about smashing it all the way home.
Post by: Olly on February 03, 2023, 10:09:01 PM
Don't want to go to Hawaii
Post by: Olly on February 03, 2023, 10:30:42 PM
Kate Bushy a bit.
Post by: Olly on February 03, 2023, 10:33:52 PM
Lidl Killers
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 03, 2023, 10:36:10 PM
Quote from: Olly on February 03, 2023, 10:04:54 PM
Jedward made a good point there about smashing it all the way home.
Best effort of panellists?
Post by: Olly on February 03, 2023, 10:39:49 PM
Wrap music has no place in Ireland
Post by: AustinPowers on February 03, 2023, 11:14:39 PM
Are  Jedward's 15  minutes of fame not  over yet?

Christ but the late late show sure   know how to keep  scraping  the bottom of  that barrel
Post by: Gold on February 03, 2023, 11:16:37 PM
Quote from: Olly on February 03, 2023, 10:09:01 PM
Don't want to go to Hawaii

Insane TV
Post by: Dougal Maguire on February 03, 2023, 11:31:57 PM
Tubridy reading the results is worse than Alan announcing the results of The Craggy Island Sheep of the Year award
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 03, 2023, 11:36:57 PM
The best of average group of songs won.
Post by: Olly on February 03, 2023, 11:38:04 PM
Lidl Killers win her.
Post by: weareros on February 04, 2023, 12:41:11 AM
That band Wild Youth had been lobbying RTE for Eurovision and they have a song by the same Swedish songwriter who wrote a precious crap effort for Ireland. The favourtism by RTE was clear. Scandalous waste of money and just utter torture inflicting that on viewers.
Post by: Blowitupref on February 04, 2023, 01:54:08 AM
Johnny Rotten would have been a interesting rep, never knew both of his parents was from Ireland. Written song called Hawaii was about his wifes diagnosis with Alzeimher’s
Post by: armaghniac on February 04, 2023, 02:07:54 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on February 04, 2023, 01:54:08 AM
Johnny Rotten would have been a interesting rep, never knew both of his parents was from Ireland. Written song called Hawaii was about his wifes diagnosis with Alzeimher's

If you want Trumpist Brexiteer as your rep, then perhaps interesting is one word.
Post by: Blowitupref on February 04, 2023, 02:12:38 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 04, 2023, 02:07:54 AM
Johnny Rotten would have been a interesting rep, never knew both of his parents was from Ireland. Written song called Hawaii was about his wifes diagnosis with Alzeimher's

If you want Trumpist Brexiteer as your rep, then perhaps interesting is one word.
Should be about the song quality than politics and I presume the former meant it was rubbish.
Post by: seafoid on February 04, 2023, 08:48:32 AM

His surname isn't actually Rotten. It's Lydon. His family were from Tuam.
Post by: Blowitupref on February 04, 2023, 02:08:34 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 04, 2023, 08:48:32 AM

His surname isn't actually Rotten. It's Lydon. His family were from Tuam.

He's known for his stage name. Next you will be telling me Lady Gaga, Snoop Dogg isn't their surnames.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 09, 2023, 08:36:05 PM
Irish song on now hoping to reach the final.
Post by: anportmorforjfc on May 09, 2023, 09:04:19 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 09, 2023, 08:36:05 PM
Irish song on now hoping to reach the final.

As much as I'd like to say it is a good song.....it really isn't. Anybody see Croatia  :o
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 09, 2023, 09:19:25 PM
Sweden was decent
Post by: Capt Pat on May 09, 2023, 10:10:10 PM
Failure again for Ireland as expected.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 09, 2023, 10:13:55 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 09, 2023, 09:19:25 PM
Sweden was decent

I think the singer for Sweden won it before.  Another semi final exit for the Irish, 5th year in a row?
Post by: Main Street on May 09, 2023, 10:20:18 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 09, 2023, 10:13:55 PM
Sweden was decent

I think the singer for Sweden won it before.  Another semi final exit for the Irish, 5th year in a row?
She certainly did the heavy lifting this evening.

The rest of the songs were absolute shite, but it's not about the songs.
Post by: weareros on May 09, 2023, 10:25:12 PM
The Irish song sounded very similar to Will Young's Joy. Outfits looked terrible - lead singer was carrying a few too many pounds to be wearing a tight sparkly outfit. also read it was written by a Swedish songwriter who wrote another turkey for us a few years ago. Surely RTE can find a decent local songwriter. Maybe a song as Gaeilge next year.
Post by: AustinPowers on May 09, 2023, 10:26:02 PM
I didn't  want to be in the final   anyway

(https://m.media-amazon.com/images/M/MV5BOGU0NzY4ODUtYmFiYS00ZWNhLThhM2EtMDcwMTc4NTAwMTA1XkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMTUyODMyMw@@._V1_.jpg)
Post by: From the Bunker on May 09, 2023, 10:26:24 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on May 09, 2023, 10:10:10 PM
Failure again for Ireland as expected.

We are poor. Been a long time since we sent a decent song. Between us not sending a entry for a couple of years to us entering novices from a talent show with a song shoved at them to sending a puppet Turkey in a shopping trolley. We have lost the whole purpose of what the Eurovision is about.
Post by: BrotherMore6592 on May 09, 2023, 10:59:25 PM
What is it about? As far as I can see it's turned into Pride on acid. LGBT fest with gothic / dark undertones in the performances. The weirder and more out there the better. Forget about the music or songs.

A pile of shite.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 09, 2023, 11:02:19 PM
Quote from: BrotherMore6592 on May 09, 2023, 10:59:25 PM
What is it about? As far as I can see it's turned into Pride on acid. LGBT fest with gothic / dark undertones in the performances. The weirder and more out there the better. Forget about the music or songs.

A pile of shite.

You weren't about during the 80's then?
Post by: Blowitupref on May 09, 2023, 11:03:39 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 09, 2023, 10:20:18 PM
Sweden was decent

It's not, Marketing and getting as much air play as possible in Europe before the voting. Are Ireland putting in the same effort as other countries in that regard?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 09, 2023, 11:12:46 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 09, 2023, 11:03:39 PM
Sweden was decent

It's not, Marketing and getting as much air play as possible in Europe before the voting. Are Ireland putting in the same effort as other countries in that regard?

Would it have mattered with that attempt?
Post by: AustinPowers on May 09, 2023, 11:16:28 PM

A pile of shite.

That's about  the height of it.  Women with  beards, and  Freaks and weirdos.  Reminds me of  Eurotrash back in the day

Up until  Dana international it wasn't   that bad. Yes it had  annoying songs and  neighbouring countries voting for each  other, and all that usual stuff , but  it was  more about the songs,  even if they weren't  that  great
Post by: Blowitupref on May 09, 2023, 11:31:02 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 09, 2023, 11:12:46 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 09, 2023, 11:03:39 PM
Sweden was decent

Would it have mattered with that attempt?

I think so, not a great song but still better than some that qualified instead.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 09, 2023, 11:34:32 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on May 09, 2023, 11:16:28 PM

A pile of shite.

That's about  the height of it.  Women with  beards, and  Freaks and weirdos.  Reminds me of  Eurotrash back in the day

Up until  Dana international it wasn't   that bad. Yes it had  annoying songs and  neighbouring countries voting for each  other, and all that usual stuff , but  it was  more about the songs,  even if they weren't  that  great

But you both took time out to watch it and comment on it
Post by: AustinPowers on May 10, 2023, 12:06:59 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 09, 2023, 11:34:32 PM

A pile of shite.

I happened to  turn the tv on  and  seen men in y fronts  prancing about  the stage. That was  enough for me.
Post by: Eire90 on May 10, 2023, 12:45:42 AM
i dont think i could be arsed with it this year.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on May 10, 2023, 02:23:42 AM

That sounds much better than usual.  Might watch it this year for a change.
Post by: BrotherMore6592 on May 10, 2023, 11:27:22 PM

A pile of shite.

Nope, incorrect assumption I'm afraid.

Was able to make that summary from a 30 second highlight reel here and there over the past few years of glancing at it on tv . Impossible to avoid on the news etc
Post by: ONeill on May 11, 2023, 12:00:53 AM

A pile of shite.

What's your problem with women with beards?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 11, 2023, 12:09:35 AM
Quote from: BrotherMore6592 on May 10, 2023, 11:27:22 PM

A pile of shite.

Nope, incorrect assumption I'm afraid.

Was able to make that summary from a 30 second highlight reel here and there over the past few years of glancing at it on tv . Impossible to avoid on the news etc

Aye, dead on ;D
Post by: Main Street on May 11, 2023, 01:52:43 AM
I only watched the last 10 mins of the first semi final, onward from where Norway went ballistic and where there was  a 10 second wrap of each of those performances  that made it to the final, mostly pure gunge.
In retrospect the Irish people were 15 years ahead of time in selecting Dustin to represent the nation at eurovision. The song doesn't matter now in 95%  of the performances, it's just a vehicle for other stuff.
Post by: Capt Pat on May 13, 2023, 11:26:53 PM
The eurovision voting which was always a strong point for me is going too fast. Don't fix what isn't broken.
Post by: Saffrongael on May 13, 2023, 11:30:49 PM
When did the Eurovision become trendy? I always thought it was a laughing stock
Post by: HiMucker on May 13, 2023, 11:47:06 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 11, 2023, 12:00:53 AM

A pile of shite.

What's your problem with women with beards?
Nothing wrong with Tyrone women
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 13, 2023, 11:49:44 PM
Loreen Sweden doing a Johnny Logan on it.
Post by: Capt Pat on May 14, 2023, 12:09:40 AM
The juries won it for Sweden.
Post by: armaghniac on May 14, 2023, 12:11:17 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 13, 2023, 11:49:44 PM
Loreen Sweden doing a Johnny Logan on it.

According to the juries anyway. I preferred Agnetha Fältskog, who sung standing up.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 14, 2023, 12:14:34 AM
Quote from: Capt Pat on May 14, 2023, 12:09:40 AM
The juries won it for Sweden.
Like the old days. 
Post by: ONeill on May 14, 2023, 12:16:49 AM
Most polished song won. Which was a pity.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 14, 2023, 12:18:22 AM
Quote from: ONeill on May 14, 2023, 12:16:49 AM
Most polished song won. Which was a pity.

I liked the Moldovan song
Post by: Blowitupref on May 14, 2023, 12:21:32 AM
Finland,Norway,Israel and the winner Sweden was all part of the semi final with Ireland bit of short straw there?
Post by: ONeill on May 14, 2023, 12:30:44 AM
I'd imagine Ireland finished last.
Post by: BrotherMore6592 on May 14, 2023, 02:08:12 AM
Well done to Sweden, just goes to show getting your camel toe out still works
Post by: seafoid on May 14, 2023, 09:15:55 AM
The Swedish song sounded like a trance song. Maybe that might work for Ireland in the future
Post by: Itchy on May 14, 2023, 12:36:40 PM
Russia Banned and Israel cheered on. f**king joke shop of a competition anyone supporting or watching should be ashamed of themselves.
Post by: Hound on May 14, 2023, 06:48:52 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 14, 2023, 12:36:40 PM
Russia Banned and Israel cheered on. f**king joke shop of a competition anyone supporting or watching should be ashamed of themselves.
They are two completely different things.

Agree re Israel, but why should we be ashamed that Russia was banned ?
Post by: Itchy on May 14, 2023, 09:59:59 PM
Quote from: Hound on May 14, 2023, 06:48:52 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 14, 2023, 12:36:40 PM
They are two completely different things.

Agree re Israel, but why should we be ashamed that Russia was banned ?

Be ashamed of the hypocrisy, both should be banned. Both breaking international law and murdering children. Yet a bunch of fuckwits will dance and jump around when Israel have their song and clap themselves on the back when they ban Russia. 
Post by: ONeill on May 14, 2023, 11:23:27 PM
I see Ireland didn't finish last in their semi final. 12th.

Was interesting that Swedish televote gave Finland 12 and Finland gave Sweden fcuk all.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 15, 2023, 05:18:14 PM
My lovely horse Part 2!

https://www.reddit.com/r/eurovision/comments/11c7rqp/that_funny_how_loreens_song_is_similar_to_the_old/ (https://www.reddit.com/r/eurovision/comments/11c7rqp/that_funny_how_loreens_song_is_similar_to_the_old/)