Kerry 0-14 Sligo 1-10 - Heartache for Sligo

Started by SLIGONIAN, July 12, 2009, 06:54:28 PM

QuoteThe only slapping you'll be a part of ye big girl is some lad's sack and yer hole
yeah, thats a real classy response  ::)  idiot

Jees lads, took an age to get to sleep last night, the misses the chances only really hit me when I put my head on the pillow, left it behind us big time. I felt kinda haunted by them last night, can only imagine what the players felt. It is heart wrenching, painful stuff thinking back. Id agree with seanie, yday was left behind more so than galway.

Quote from: mckieran on July 18, 2009, 09:09:28 PM
Sligo really should have won. If they could kick a point....

They seemed to be a team made up of fairly poor players but are very well organised and committed. Kevin Walsh seems to be a good manager, hopefully he will take over Galway some day.

Ya give all the credit to KW and not the players,  ::), IDIOT, you must be from Galway. We have some players that are class act and as needed stepped up to the plate yday, there is serious potential there and our lads are within a stones throw of realising it.

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 19, 2009, 03:45:43 AM
QuoteThe only slapping you'll be a part of ye big girl is some lad's sack and yer hole
yeah, thats a real classy response  ::)  idiot

:D Coming from you..  get out of my pocket FFS, are you not fed up being owned :-[
Do us all a favor and take your limited repetitive WUM abilities to the Hogan Stand where it belongs..
You're more to be pitied than laughed at at this point :'(

Is there any chance of this thread not turning into a Kerry and Tyrone slagging match??????..........give it a rest.

a picture sure is worth a 1000 words  :(

Quote from: ross4life on July 19, 2009, 07:42:35 AM
a picture sure is worth a 1000 words  :(

Chin up young Kelly, chin up, one of the greatest performances by a Sligo man in a Sligo Jersey, chin up. Have to say got a bit emotional seeing that.

SuperDooperCooper

First up all credit to Sligo especially for the second half performance.
Looked like ye may be overran but ye stuck with it and deserved something out of the game.
For us as Shakespear said - there is something wrong in the state of Denmark!!
Darragh is not a 70 minute player, very ineffective yesterday should have walked for the slap on O'Hara as well.
Mike Mac looked like he was never away.
Can't help wondering was Marc problem that he played last 5 weeks at chb was then got thrown into the corner yesterday?
Third game where we failed to score in the final 10 minutes - is fitness a problem.
Finally the full forward line - Gooch is simply playing with no confidence, he is not enjoying his football at all, this is his 8th season and he is only 26.
Take a break Colm find the enjoyment again and come back the player we know you are.
Tommy Walsh was poor, limited vision and like Gooch must show more for the ball.
We are so one dimentional it is scary.

Quote from: SuperDooperCooper on July 19, 2009, 08:39:09 AM
First up all credit to Sligo especially for the second half performance.
Looked like ye may be overran but ye stuck with it and deserved something out of the game.
For us as Shakespear said - there is something wrong in the state of Denmark!!
Darragh is not a 70 minute player, very ineffective yesterday should have walked for the slap on O'Hara as well.
Mike Mac looked like he was never away.
Can't help wondering was Marc problem that he played last 5 weeks at chb was then got thrown into the corner yesterday?
Third game where we failed to score in the final 10 minutes - is fitness a problem.
Finally the full forward line - Gooch is simply playing with no confidence, he is not enjoying his football at all, this is his 8th season and he is only 26.
Take a break Colm find the enjoyment again and come back the player we know you are.
Tommy Walsh was poor, limited vision and like Gooch must show more for the ball.
We are so one dimentional it is scary.

Didnt see that, did the ref see it?

Someone said KW spoke well after the game, what did he say?

SuperDooperCooper

No linesman saw it, Darragh got a yellow card.
Lucky really.

southsidejohnny

Well done Sligo yesterday. Sadly they will never get a better chance, a poor and tired kerry team were there for the taking. Alas Sligo lacked the class and confidence to finish them off. They took of the one man who was winning ball for them, mayo man Alan Costelloe. Anyway Kerry did what they had to...get to the next round. Poor sligo all they can do is dream. Hopefully Sligonian will get time to pursue his hobby...moaning about the bigger counties in Connacht i.e Mayo and Galway.

I thought it was a poor enough scrappy game but more than compensated by the real battling excitement of the big tree/small axe possibility.
A bit more ball to Kelly on the right in the 3rd quarter might have reaped a few dividends.

Murphy is one cute hoor of a goalie, he jumps out a few steps leaving the bottom corner the only spot to score.
Some lovely foot passes from Galvin.

Where do I start?

I suppose I'll go through the game as I saw it. Early on it was interesting the shape of the two teams defences. Tomas Ó Sé switched wings, obviously detailed to man mark Costello. McCarthy held his ground in the first quarter at centre back, playing partially as a sweeper in front of his FB line. I think Sligo erred with putting McNamara on Galvin from the start. As it happened Jonny Davey also struggled with him when switched - Galvin is a superb player. With McGovern also having difficulty with Declan O'Sullivan our HB line was in trouble early. Thankfully, our FB line was back to its very best - all 3 were superb throughout. A semi shaky opening was settled when a good pass in by Costello set up a score. We were in big trouble on the kickouts and occasionally the sweeper was making it hard to hit the inside men when we had the ball. However, when we did get it inside we were causing big problems. I have a lot of sympathy for Marc Ó Sé - there's not a back in the country who would hold Kelly at the moment. Despite the dearth of possession Sligo worked hard andthough living on scraps and turnovers by the defence we stayed in touch. Then a good positive switch was mae, putting EOH in onto the square. This was necessary as it meant theball going in didn't have to be a precise and predictable. This tactic yielded the goal and a narrow HT lead which could have beengreater but for some missed chances and wrong options. It was obvious to me at HT that we would have a hard 10-15 mins to weather after HT and so it proved. Kerry kicked over a few scores to only one reply for us but still we were in contact. Our HB line stepped up and we started to gain more and more possession. Unfortunately we did waste a good few chances. I was a bit disappointed at Costello being withdrawn so soon - I thought one or two others could have gone at that point. Cos was one who could kick a quick ball into Kelly - something that didn't happen often in the second period. S. Davey, who I would often have criticised really put himself about and did excellent work in MF. OK - he did lose a few balls too easily and what was he doing with that free but when his attitude is right and he's hungry for work he's an addition. I just think his head is hard to get right. Anyway, all in all he did well yesterday. Bodies were going in and great heart being shown by our lads as Kerry seemed to wilt a little (Galvin lost his influence which was crucial). If felt a goal chance would come and it did. Kelly always hits his penalties low so I couldn't believe it when it went high and was saved. Outside of the penalty we had loads of other chances though. Feel bad for Kelly - his play didn't deserve that misfortune. Felt gutted at the final whistle and to be honest it has got worse. People can say what they like about Kerry's state of affairs but this would have been a big win for us, should have been I mean.

All the players gave their all and the management got most things right. I've alluded to one or two of the things above. Delighted that Costello showed up well. There's more in him but his performance makes a mockery of the rubbish being spouted on the radio especially as well as elsewhere. He's not without flaws but he will improve with more games at this level. Only his 3rd intercounty SFC game.

So when the disappointment eases we must look to next year. Some of the U-21's of last year need to step up and edge into contention but the basis of a good team is there. Might be accused of club bias here but its an awful shame that Johnny Mac didn't get a look in, still think he has loads to offer. Injuries etc held him back and he as always fighting and uphill battle I suppose. Hopefully he can hit the ground running next season.

Quote from: magpie seanie on July 19, 2009, 02:32:36 PM
Where do I start?

I suppose I'll go through the game as I saw it. Early on it was interesting the shape of the two teams defences. Tomas Ó Sé switched wings, obviously detailed to man mark Costello. McCarthy held his ground in the first quarter at centre back, playing partially as a sweeper in front of his FB line. I think Sligo erred with putting McNamara on Galvin from the start. As it happened Jonny Davey also struggled with him when switched - Galvin is a superb player. With McGovern also having difficulty with Declan O'Sullivan our HB line was in trouble early. Thankfully, our FB line was back to its very best - all 3 were superb throughout. A semi shaky opening was settled when a good pass in by Costello set up a score. We were in big trouble on the kickouts and occasionally the sweeper was making it hard to hit the inside men when we had the ball. However, when we did get it inside we were causing big problems. I have a lot of sympathy for Marc Ó Sé - there's not a back in the country who would hold Kelly at the moment. Despite the dearth of possession Sligo worked hard andthough living on scraps and turnovers by the defence we stayed in touch. Then a good positive switch was mae, putting EOH in onto the square. This was necessary as it meant theball going in didn't have to be a precise and predictable. This tactic yielded the goal and a narrow HT lead which could have beengreater but for some missed chances and wrong options. It was obvious to me at HT that we would have a hard 10-15 mins to weather after HT and so it proved. Kerry kicked over a few scores to only one reply for us but still we were in contact. Our HB line stepped up and we started to gain more and more possession. Unfortunately we did waste a good few chances. I was a bit disappointed at Costello being withdrawn so soon - I thought one or two others could have gone at that point. Cos was one who could kick a quick ball into Kelly - something that didn't happen often in the second period. S. Davey, who I would often have criticised really put himself about and did excellent work in MF. OK - he did lose a few balls too easily and what was he doing with that free but when his attitude is right and he's hungry for work he's an addition. I just think his head is hard to get right. Anyway, all in all he did well yesterday. Bodies were going in and great heart being shown by our lads as Kerry seemed to wilt a little (Galvin lost his influence which was crucial). If felt a goal chance would come and it did. Kelly always hits his penalties low so I couldn't believe it when it went high and was saved. Outside of the penalty we had loads of other chances though. Feel bad for Kelly - his play didn't deserve that misfortune. Felt gutted at the final whistle and to be honest it has got worse. People can say what they like about Kerry's state of affairs but this would have been a big win for us, should have been I mean.

All the players gave their all and the management got most things right. I've alluded to one or two of the things above. Delighted that Costello showed up well. There's more in him but his performance makes a mockery of the rubbish being spouted on the radio especially as well as elsewhere. He's not without flaws but he will improve with more games at this level. Only his 3rd intercounty SFC game.

So when the disappointment eases we must look to next year. Some of the U-21's of last year need to step up and edge into contention but the basis of a good team is there. Might be accused of club bias here but its an awful shame that Johnny Mac didn't get a look in, still think he has loads to offer. Injuries etc held him back and he as always fighting and uphill battle I suppose. Hopefully he can hit the ground running next season.

Taking the radio criticism out of the equation, Costello still has a way more to prove than your suggesting, way more, theres no way he made a mockery of anyones doubts IMO. What age is Costello? Can he get fitter? Seriously if he lost a couple of stone then we'd be in business. I would of brought john mac on instead of gaughan, guaghan confidence is low and just didnt have the confidence to get involved to any great extent.