GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 21, 2020, 06:03:51 PM

Title: 2021 National Football League
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 21, 2020, 06:03:51 PM
Gaelic Football. National Leagues.

It is believed that the National Gaelic football leagues will start from Saturday February 27th and run until the league finals on Sunday April 4th. The four divisions will be split into two, North and South.

Division 1 North
Donegal, Tyrone, Monaghan, Armagh

Division 1 South
Kerry, Dublin, Roscommon, Galway

Division 2 North
Meath, Down, Mayo, Westmeath

Division 2 South
Clare, Cork, Laois, Kildare

Division 3 North
Derry, Fermanagh, Longford, Cavan

Division 3 South
Limerick, Wicklow, Offaly, Tipperary

Division 4 North
Leitrim, Louth, Antrim, Sligo

Division 4 South
Wexford, Carlow, Waterford, London*
-------------------------------------------

Each team will play three group games, with a draw deciding which counties get two home games. The top two in each group progress to their respective league semi-finals. This will then be followed by a league final.

The bottom two teams in Division 1-3 will go into the relegation semi-finals with both losers moving down a division for 2022.

Bottom two teams in Division 4 will play a Shield semi-final and then final.

*London's participation will be decided based on restrictions in 2021.

The 2021 inter-county senior football championship is scheduled start on 17-18 April.

Provincial championships followed by qualifiers will take place with no Super 8s, replaced instead by the old quarter-final knockout format.

Any team in Division 3 or 4 (outside Cavan and Tipperary) that do not reach their provincial finals will take part in the Tailteann Cup.

It is believed that the games will be knockout with semi-finals taking place as a double header in Croke Park on Sunday June 6th. The final will be curtain raiser to the All-Ireland Hurling Semi-Final on June 26/27.

Hurling.
Hurling is believed to be following a similar format to normal years in the National Leagues with the counties split into Division 1a, 1b, 2a, 2b, 3a and 3b. The only difference being that there will be no quarter or semi-finals.

Championship will stay as a knock-out format with back-door qualifiers.

Club Championships.
The main club championship window will take place from July 25th to October 24th..
Title: Re: 2021 National Football League
Post by: recyclebin on December 21, 2020, 10:25:52 PM
So Cavan and Tipperary get an exemption  ::) Mayo too if they get relegated presumably  ::)

Why do the GAA always have to over complicate things. I thought they only did that kind of thing in the Hurling i.e. change the format every year to prevent some of the big counties getting knocked out early or relegated to lower division. It makes a mockery of the second tier.

Why can't they be more like the ladies and call the second tier championship what is too, Tailteann cup is the Junior championship and Sam Maguire is the Senior. It should not be linked to the league or provinces after the first season, and it should have promotion and relegation.

The inter county hurling grades are even worse with about five different grades with obscure names instead of Senior, Intermediate, Junior A, B & C.

We are almost as bad in Laois with our Senior A hurling which as far as I can tell should be called intermediate!
Post by: clonadmad on December 21, 2020, 11:34:01 PM
Quote from: recyclebin on December 21, 2020, 10:25:52 PM
So Cavan and Tipperary get an exemption  ::) Mayo too if they get relegated presumably  ::)

Why do the GAA always have to over complicate things. I thought they only did that kind of thing in the Hurling i.e. change the format every year to prevent some of the big counties getting knocked out early or relegated to lower division. It makes a mockery of the second tier.

Why can't they be more like the ladies and call the second tier championship what is too, Tailteann cup is the Junior championship and Sam Maguire is the Senior. It should not be linked to the league or provinces after the first season, and it should have promotion and relegation.

The inter county hurling grades are even worse with about five different grades with obscure names instead of Senior, Intermediate, Junior A, B & C.

We are almost as bad in Laois with our Senior A hurling which as far as I can tell should be called intermediate!

Senior A hurling championship in laois is changed nearly a year at this stage

Do Keep up
Post by: recyclebin on December 22, 2020, 12:39:41 PM
Sorry, don't follow the hurling too much. Can someone explain what Premier Intermediate is?
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 19, 2021, 12:54:39 AM
                                                           **Return of the King**

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2021/01/14/return-of-the-king-boost-for-laois-footballers-as-donie-commits-for-2021-season/ (https://www.laoistoday.ie/2021/01/14/return-of-the-king-boost-for-laois-footballers-as-donie-commits-for-2021-season/)

(https://www.laoistoday.ie/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/pjimage-2021-01-13T215546.629-640x360.jpg)
Post by: High Fielder on January 19, 2021, 10:13:30 AM
Good to see him back. Disappointing to see others leave. Just the way it is and always will be in Laois.
Post by: South Laois man on January 19, 2021, 12:41:41 PM
Who's left the panel high fielder? On another note the start of leagues are being pushed out till the end of March at least.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on April 22, 2021, 11:46:40 PM
At Last... The League Fixtures for 2021

National Football League Division 2 South

Round 1 – Clare v Laois   -   Sunday May 16 (Ennis) 3.45pm
Round 2 – Laois v Cork    -   Saturday May 22 (O'Moore Park) 7pm
Round 3 – Laois v Kildare -   Sunday May 30 (O'Moore Park) 1.45pm
Post by: Laoiseabu on April 23, 2021, 03:37:16 PM
Any word on the make up of the panel ? They were back training the other night . Staying up in division 2 will obviously be the priority this year .
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on April 26, 2021, 08:14:19 PM
A few pics of the lads at training last week..

https://www.leinsterexpress.ie/news/gaa/627820/in-pictures-laois-footballers-bask-in-evening-sunshine-on-first-night-back.html (https://www.leinsterexpress.ie/news/gaa/627820/in-pictures-laois-footballers-bask-in-evening-sunshine-on-first-night-back.html)
Post by: Brandon on May 13, 2021, 01:56:51 AM
anyone know how laois got on in their challenge match against limerick ? any score ?
Post by: Laoiseabu on May 13, 2021, 11:46:02 AM
Quote from: Brandon on May 13, 2021, 01:56:51 AM
anyone know how laois got on in their challenge match against limerick ? any score ?

Two separate games against limerick were played . Not sure on how they went . Between the two games I'm sure everyone got a run out though
Post by: Brandon on May 13, 2021, 02:28:07 PM
they probably won anyway limerick arent that great
Post by: Brandon on May 14, 2021, 06:12:02 PM
Any team news yet lads ?
Post by: on the hop on May 14, 2021, 09:31:38 PM
just announced

Corbett, Collins, Timmons, Piggott, o Sullivan, Begley, Dillon, lillis, o loughlin, barry, o carroll, o reilly, Kingston p, d Kingston, lowry
Post by: Brandon on May 15, 2021, 11:21:59 PM
Great team
Post by: macker15 on May 16, 2021, 08:38:18 AM
Laois should win well. Clare missing 7/8 bodies from last year. Were hammered by Offaly and Limerick in recent weeks.
Post by: Laoiseabu on May 16, 2021, 12:07:54 PM
Quote from: macker15 on May 16, 2021, 08:38:18 AM
Laois should win well. Clare missing 7/8 bodies from last year. Were hammered by Offaly and Limerick in recent weeks.

You are only blowing smoke up our arses. The only big losses that Clare have since last year are Gary Brennan and Gordon Kelly . They have a strong half foward line with Pearse Lillis , Eoin Cleary and the returning Jamie Malone who missed the game last year . I'm predicting Laois to win by 3 or 4 points if we keep OCarroll and Donie Kingston fed with a good supply of ball .
Post by: SCFC on May 16, 2021, 01:23:53 PM

Who are the 7 or 8? Two retired. Who else?
Post by: Helix. on May 16, 2021, 05:20:52 PM
Quote from: macker15 on May 16, 2021, 05:00:43 PM
Laois 9/2 and with the wind. Have stuck a sneaker 20 on it.
Looks like a wasted 20quid. Absolutely awful so far.
Post by: macker15 on May 16, 2021, 05:52:12 PM
Quote from: SCFC on May 16, 2021, 01:23:53 PM

Who are the 7 or 8? Two retired. Who else?

Eamon Tubridy,  Dean Ryan, sean O'Donoghue,  Eimhin Courtney and Aaron Fitzgerald
Post by: vetoldthe on May 16, 2021, 06:51:38 PM
All the good vibes coming out of the camp all week
yet we were clueless today questions need to be
asked about this management team do they know
how to coach and improve this team we were in
div.2 for the last few years and we should be getting
better we looked like a div.3 team today
its just not good enough.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on May 16, 2021, 07:25:24 PM
Quote from: vetoldthe on May 16, 2021, 06:51:38 PM
Have looked like a Div.3 at best for years. Same players, same results. No pace and no emerging talent. Old servants doing their best but not able to compete with younger athletic teams. Poxed to stay in Div.2 last year and almost certainly in trouble this year. Need to start replacing players with younger faster lads soon but rebuilding will be painful for a number of years.
Post by: Laoiseabu on May 16, 2021, 07:33:11 PM

Why should we be getting any better ? The likes of Timmons, Begley, Dillon, Lillis , OLoughlin, Donie Kingston, Walsh , Munnelly are not actually going to improve the age they are at now . I bought the GAA Go season pass yesterday so I got a good look at a few of the football matches over the weekend and I can safely say we were the slowest and most labored team I seen on show.
Before the game today I was tipping us to nick a win against Clare especially with Donie back but I was a bit shaken at how wrong I was . There was way more pace , way more physicality , way more hunger and organization in that Clare team compared to ours and that's without their best foward Jamie Malone going off injury at the start and two more key fowards Keelan Sexton and David Tubridy only playing a half each .
We were beaten all over the pitch . We were swamped at midfield and on breaks , their fowards had the beating of our backs but their Backs were able to hold our fowards and get numbers In around to turn over the ball . Some of the older lads don't have the legs anymore and none of the younger lads are putting their hand up . I'm not over at the centre of excellence every night looking at what's going on but we are physically not at the level needed to compete at intercounty against the teams that are in anyway above average .
Getting relegated back to division 3 is a matter of when not if . Laois have always produced nice footballers and we always will produce nice footballers but the way the modern game is gone you have to be more than just a nice footballer . Pace , athleticism and size are needed to compete at the highest level nowadays and we just simply don't have it now BUT it can be developed with the right Strength and conditioning training structures in place not to mention a team that is set up tactically well and hard to beat . That can all be developed. In Laois we urgently need to get these structures in place and start developing teams and players that can compete again before we fall off the cliff as a county altogether. When we got relegated to division 4 it should of been an eye opener that we needed to pull the finger and get our house in order again .
Two tough games up next against Cork and Kildare but all the players can do is do their best which I'm sure they will . Hopefully we can nick a win or two but it does look unlikely judging by today .
Post by: macker15 on May 16, 2021, 07:37:38 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on May 16, 2021, 07:33:11 PM

Why did John Sugrue step away years ago? Though ye were going well under him. He is based in Portlaoise too?

Why should we be getting any better ? The likes of Timmons, Begley, Dillon, Lillis , OLoughlin, Donie Kingston, Walsh , Munnelly are not actually going to improve the age they are at now . I bought the GAA Go season pass yesterday so I got a good look at a few of the football matches over the weekend and I can safely say we were the slowest and most labored team I seen on show.
Before the game today I was tipping us to nick a win against Clare especially with Donie back but I was a bit shaken at how wrong I was . There was way more pace , way more physicality , way more hunger and organization in that Clare team compared to ours and that's without their best foward Jamie Malone going off injury at the start and two more key fowards Keelan Sexton and David Tubridy only playing a half each .
We were beaten all over the pitch . We were swamped at midfield and on breaks , their fowards had the beating of our backs but their Backs were able to hold our fowards and get numbers In around to turn over the ball . Some of the older lads don't have the legs anymore and none of the younger lads are putting their hand up . I'm not over at the centre of excellence every night looking at what's going on but we are physically not at the level needed to compete at intercounty against the teams that are in anyway above average .
Getting relegated back to division 3 is a matter of when not if . Laois have always produced nice footballers and we always will produce nice footballers but the way the modern game is gone you have to be more than just a nice footballer . Pace , athleticism and size are needed to compete at the highest level nowadays and we just simply don't have it now BUT it can be developed with the right Strength and conditioning training structures in place not to mention a team that is set up tactically well and hard to beat . That can all be developed. In Laois we urgently need to get these structures in place and start developing teams and players that can compete again before we fall off the cliff as a county altogether. When we got relegated to division 4 it should of been an eye opener that we needed to pull the finger and get our house in order again .
Two tough games up next against Cork and Kildare but all the players can do is do their best which I'm sure they will . Hopefully we can nick a win or two but it does look unlikely judging by today .
Post by: Laoiseabu on May 16, 2021, 07:47:31 PM
Quote from: macker15 on May 16, 2021, 07:37:38 PM

Why did John Sugrue step away years ago? Though ye were going well under him. He is based in Portlaoise too?

Yeah John Sugrue is based in Ratheniska a rural country club outside Portlaoise . When John was the manager we were in division 4 and division 3 . In these divisions we were playing weaker teams . If John was with us now In division 2 he would have the same problems as we do currently as we are playing against stronger teams as well as having an ageing team ourselves.
Post by: town1980 on May 16, 2021, 10:23:35 PM
Am I wrong in stating as to why we are paying a load of lads outside Laois to deliver the same result as inside men costing half the amount challenge me if I'm wrong i can name 3/4 lads that could deliver the same result as today ,, one  selector from inside our county enough said
Post by: Keyser Söze on May 16, 2021, 11:48:44 PM
Feel harshly treated Town1980?
Post by: Giovanni on May 17, 2021, 09:37:24 AM

I would agree with laoisabu here. But the first priority has to be midfield. We have two warriors playing there who will always give everything for the jersey. But their physical characteristics - especially speed and mobility - just aren't there. The problem is, of course, that they are probably the best that we've got although you would like to see some alternatives being tried.

The other thing was that I thought the workrate of several of the forwards was really poor. Of course Clare will look like Brazil if you don't bother chasing with the runners. I can't understand how fellas are allowed by the management team to get away with that at this level.

Really disappointing effort.
Post by: Butch Cassidy on May 17, 2021, 11:56:49 AM
I would agree with Giovanni, the work rate and tackling from the forwards was non existent. Do they do tackling drills? Evan and Donie are big men but only put a hand out and the defenders inevitably get fouled or waltz by, hard to watch. They aren't the only 2.

John and Kieran have been great servants to Laois and still have a big role to play but we badly need to some pace and power around the middle. Any suggestions? Sean Byrne maybe? I've been watching the club scene and unfortunately there doesn't look to be many alternatives which is for another day.

The next 2 games will be tough but I just hope the see the work rate increased big time, lot more movement in the forward line, quick ball and some more intensity. They are easy enough things to work on if the mindset is right.
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on May 17, 2021, 01:39:05 PM
Midfield definitely needs a shake up, it's been the same duo for years now. Robert Tyrell from Camross should get an opportunity in there. Not sure if he's in the current squad for not?
Post by: blueandwhite1 on May 17, 2021, 02:01:16 PM
More big lads with no pace is not going to help this team, we have a tonne of them already. Athletic, fast players needed urgently.
Post by: Laois Rising on May 17, 2021, 02:57:15 PM
Lillis and O'Loughlin's strengths lie in their ability on the ball. However, neither of them would be fantastic fielders of the ball around the middle or great to win the 'dirty' ball compared to other intercounty sides. With both of them into their 30s now-pace to keep with the 20 somethings will also be more of an issue for an entire 70minutes. It has been a problem of Laois for last 15 years that we don't have those kind of footballers around the middle (from numbers 5-12) who win the 50/50 or even 40/60 duels when the ball is there to be won. Every good team needs a balance in type of players they have on the field. I think Laois are too lob sided towards an abundance of nice, ball playing half backs and half forwards. 
Post by: Jd on May 17, 2021, 04:31:16 PM
Midfield definitely needs a shake up, it's been the same duo for years now. Robert Tyrell from Camross should get an opportunity in there. Not sure if he's in the current squad for not?

Tyrrell is with courtwood now so playing senior club should help him. Young Dunne from out there looked a good prospect too but got injured and i dont know if hes back yet. Is the other Dunne lad from Rosenallis in with the seniors
Post by: BallyroanAbu on May 17, 2021, 09:13:03 PM
I fear the worst is yet to come,  constant short-term thinking from the County Board.  Appointing Managers who are interested in only their own career ( who can blame them).  Nearly 15 years of  mis-managed underage system,  it's all our own fault.  Too many of the starting team on the wrong side of 30.  Quirke has introduced nothing, and looks completely out of his depth.  The signs were there last year fluking a victory against Roscommon & Fermanagh.  I really think we could end up in Div 4 again this time with a team that may not get out as quickly. 
Post by: Laoiseabu on May 17, 2021, 09:36:14 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on May 17, 2021, 09:13:03 PM
I fear the worst is yet to come,  constant short-term thinking from the County Board.  Appointing Managers who are interested in only their own career ( who can blame them).  Nearly 15 years of  mis-managed underage system,  it's all our own fault.  Too many of the starting team on the wrong side of 30.  Quirke has introduced nothing, and looks completely out of his depth.  The signs were there last year fluking a victory against Roscommon & Fermanagh.  I really think we could end up in Div 4 again this time with a team that may not get out as quickly.
I was thinking the same myself ballyroan abu. Was it not a draw with an under strength Roscommon? You mentioned dropping back to division 4 which is an interesting point . When we were in division 4 a few years ago the likes of Timmons, Begley, Meaney, Booth , Dillon , Lillis , OLoughlin, Munnelly, Kingston, Walsh , Donoher , Strong , Davy Conway etc were all still just about young enough to pull us back out of division 4 . They were moving on a bit some of them but they still had a bit in the tank age wise . This time if we went to division 4 NONE of those players would be around to pull us out of it nor would they have the legs anymore even if they did stay for another few years . Would we come out of division 4 next time ? I'm not so sure either ballyroan abu . A big rebuild would be needed but I'm not sure we have the answers to a rebuild playerwise at the moment
Post by: BallyroanAbu on May 17, 2021, 09:51:27 PM
Your problably right on Roscommon game,  I just remember a last minute goal.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 22, 2021, 01:42:10 PM
Here's hoping for much better today. Good luck lads.
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2021/05/22/laois-footballers-name-unchanged-starting-15-for-must-win-cork-clash/
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on May 22, 2021, 08:45:13 PM
Much of the same as last week really. Not enough pace and athleticism in this team to compete at the top level unfortunately. Hopefully a few more of that U-20 team that reached back to back Leinster finals are introuduced next year.
Post by: recyclebin on May 22, 2021, 10:25:41 PM
Two soft goals. Second one resulted from very poor passing from Dillon to Timmons coming out of defence. Lillis looked to be gasping after 10 minutes. I don't think it's fair to expect the older lads to win games for Laois. Many are well into their 30s and have given their all for the Laois jersey over a long period of time but intercounty football is now a young mans game. Quirke needs to be blooding younger players and getting them experience which will be better for Laois in the long run. Division 3 football and a lot of retirements down the spine of the team is inevitable next year unfortunately.
Post by: Giovanni on May 22, 2021, 10:50:53 PM
I thought it was better than last week. Thought there was better work rate amongst the forwards. Paul Kingston was much better in that regard today. Thought the midfield was better today too. The goals were soft but I thought the overall performance was better
Post by: Pugwash on May 22, 2021, 11:24:36 PM
In Laois over the last decade at least it's been very much a case of "it's harder to get off the county panel, than to get on to it" and a trend that has continued again going into this year.

Are we at the stage now where a championship season is build around looking to finish best of the rest in Leinster after Dublin? Moving up and down between Division 2, Division 3 and Division 4.

When is the lightbulb moment going to come in regards to Laois football, where a complete rebuild takes place? An overhaul of our youth structures right upto the senior intercounty team. The increase in put from the county board in hiring more development officers who are all actually going into every club in the county and seeing what help they need to best prepare their players who are deemed good enough to play for Laois at underage level?

I would happily take a couple of years in the doldrums, strip the whole set up back from top to bottom and rebuild. This is the only way Laois football is going to move forward, starting with the senior team. What is to be gained now playing countless players in the their early to mid 30s?

For what it's worth having a mediocre Laois Senior Championship standard wise is doing the county no favours either. I could count 6 maybe 7 teams maximum who could be deemed senior standard, those sides need more games against eachother regularly with possibly the inclusion of amalgamations making up 3 or 4 sides in a revamped 10 team Senior Championship.

Post by: BallyroanAbu on May 23, 2021, 09:04:02 AM
Look Laois Football needs it's senior team to be a relative success,  but what we need to do is set out a strategy for going forward with targets(which are assessed and checked) for going forward.  Mike Hency is in as games administrator and that helps,  but the idea of putting all our eggs in that basket is wrong.  We need to promote coaching in Laois,  figure out why our older lads won't get involved,  educate them when they do and promote when deserving.  For far too long Laois Football is being ran like a club.  These GDA's need to be hired by the clubs regardless of cost and the biggest issue we need to promote GAA among the non-national community in Portlaoise/Laois.  If the County Board had to go in and do this I think that's a gamble worth trying.  It's a very large community and completely untapped.   I genuinely don't believe there has been a major talent problem in Laois for the last 15 years more like poor coaching.  All the teams that qualified for the U17/U20 Leinster Finals were hammered so I am not so sure they are the solution.  We could be decent inside 10 years at Senior with some success at Juvenile if we take the bull by the horns.

I am still extremely sore about Mark Bates and the way he was hired at Minor over Killian Fitzpatrick and Noel Coss this was short-sighted  stupid.   We should never be hiring outside the County for Juvenile teams and only in extreme cases for Senior Teams. 
Post by: Brandon on May 23, 2021, 05:05:35 PM
The best player in the county is probably Sean Moore for ballyfin can someone please explain why isn't on the senior team? I've been asking this now for the last 3 years and still nothing. I think maybe he doesn't want to commit.
Post by: clonadmad on May 23, 2021, 06:21:27 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on May 23, 2021, 09:04:02 AM
Look Laois Football needs it's senior team to be a relative success,  but what we need to do is set out a strategy for going forward with targets(which are assessed and checked) for going forward.  Mike Hency is in as games administrator and that helps,  but the idea of putting all our eggs in that basket is wrong.  We need to promote coaching in Laois,  figure out why our older lads won't get involved,  educate them when they do and promote when deserving.  For far too long Laois Football is being ran like a club.  These GDA's need to be hired by the clubs regardless of cost and the biggest issue we need to promote GAA among the non-national community in Portlaoise/Laois.  If the County Board had to go in and do this I think that's a gamble worth trying.  It's a very large community and completely untapped.   I genuinely don't believe there has been a major talent problem in Laois for the last 15 years more like poor coaching.  All the teams that qualified for the U17/U20 Leinster Finals were hammered so I am not so sure they are the solution.  We could be decent inside 10 years at Senior with some success at Juvenile if we take the bull by the horns.

I am still extremely sore about Mark Bates and the way he was hired at Minor over Killian Fitzpatrick and Noel Coss this was short-sighted  stupid.   We should never be hiring outside the County for Juvenile teams and only in extreme cases for Senior Teams.

Portlaoise are getting in their own Gpo and Borris and Ballacolla I think are going to share one

Offaly a smaller county in terms of both clubs and population hope to have 12 in place in the next month
Post by: BallyroanAbu on May 23, 2021, 10:11:24 PM
We're hoping to go with Abbeyleix on one pending Commitee approval, Portlaoise need more than 1 but it's a start.
Post by: Helix. on May 23, 2021, 10:33:50 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on May 23, 2021, 10:11:24 PM
We're hoping to go with Abbeyleix on one pending Commitee approval, Portlaoise need more than 1 but it's a start.
Clonad I hear possibly sharing one eventually. Good to see clubs taking this on board.