Holidays

Started by Oakleafer93, June 03, 2009, 01:17:25 PM

Quote from: AZOffaly on June 09, 2015, 01:59:26 PM
Quote from: 50fiftyball on June 08, 2015, 01:14:38 AM
Booked MGM queen room for 7 nights in July, happen to be there during mcgregor fight. Unreal stuff.

Jammy b**tard.Going to Vegas I mean, not the McGregor fight.

Seven nights in Vegas is four or five nights too many, unless you have incredible discipline.

I go there for work two or three times a year and was there last week, decide to take a third night in, five days later, still recovering. throws body off more than any place I ever go to.

50fiftyball

Signed up to that Mlife AZOffaly and booked it through there! Got it cheaper than any of those booking sites by the looks of things.. Even from looking at the website tough can't seem to understand what Mlife actually entitles you to or how it works!

Now to decide what factor sunscreen to wear, she's gonna be a hot one  ;D ;D

Not going to the fight tickets ridiculous, start at $450, prob just watch it somewhere, we're staying in same hotel as it I suppose.

If you go down towards the back of the MGM main casino floor, more or less straight ahead from the front door, you might see some of the 'entourage' down there. I was in MGM for a Tyson fight, didn't even know it was on until we arrived in Vegas. Didn't go to the fight, but we saw him walking through the casino after the fight. He looked grand, I doubt the other lad was so healthy looking!.

As regards that M Life thing, it wasn't me that mentioned that. I don't know what it gets you :)

Quote from: 50fiftyball on June 11, 2015, 10:45:07 AM
Signed up to that Mlife AZOffaly and booked it through there! Got it cheaper than any of those booking sites by the looks of things.. Even from looking at the website tough can't seem to understand what Mlife actually entitles you to or how it works!

What kind of coin were you looking at for 7 nights?? €800?

I thought this site entitled me to a MILF to bring to Vegas, but seemingly not.

50fiftyball

Quote from: macdanger2 on June 11, 2015, 12:03:51 PM

889 dollars! and i do believe that includes resort fees, although those websites confusing as hell with their tricks, telling you they are included but yet when you check in they will be added to the debit card you booked with.

foxcommander

Quote from: 50fiftyball on June 11, 2015, 02:31:53 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on June 11, 2015, 12:03:51 PM

If you like texas hold 'em there is are some fixed price tournaments daily over in Excalibur across from the MGM. Buy in at $40
bit of fun and you won't lose your shirt

http://www.excalibur.com/casino/daily_poker_tournaments.aspx

You'll still find the a-holes with shades and visors who think they are on the big tables :D

889 dollars! and i do believe that includes resort fees, although those websites confusing as hell with their tricks, telling you they are included but yet when you check in they will be added to the debit card you booked with.
Every second of the day there's a Democrat telling a lie

Just back from 2.5 weeks in Cuba. Fascinating and, at times, incredibly difficult country. Would highly recommend it for a "different" type of trip.

oakleafer

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 01, 2015, 08:10:04 PM
Quote from: extra time on June 01, 2015, 03:16:30 PM
Try Cala Dor on the East side of the island. Lovely resort with some great little beachs and fairly quiet. Would suit families with young children.

Yeah would back that up also.. Lovely spot

Thanks lads. Took your advice and was not disappointed. Great spot, exactly what I was after.

Quote from: gallsman on June 22, 2015, 11:11:45 AM
Just back from 2.5 weeks in Cuba. Fascinating and, at times, incredibly difficult country. Would highly recommend it for a "different" type of trip.
Will be back to you for more info on this as it doesn't figure in 2015 plans but maybe next year.  Did you book your own trip or use an agent?

Quote from: Rois on June 22, 2015, 01:21:15 PM
Will be back to you for more info on this as it doesn't figure in 2015 plans but maybe next year.  Did you book your own trip or use an agent?

Did it ourselves. Two weeks travelling around Havana, Cienfuegos, Trinidad and Santa Clara, before a few days at the beach at Varadero. We missed Viñales which everyone we bumped into seemed to have on their route and said it was exceptional.

Best accommodation option by miles are the casas particulares. If you've a bit of Spanish, very easy to drop them an email and organise yourself.

Quote from: gallsman on June 22, 2015, 02:05:29 PM

Did it ourselves. Two weeks travelling around Havana, Cienfuegos, Trinidad and Santa Clara, before a few days at the beach at Varadero. We missed Viñales which everyone we bumped into seemed to have on their route and said it was exceptional.

Best accommodation option by miles are the casas particulares. If you've a bit of Spanish, very easy to drop them an email and organise yourself.

Sounds great gallsman! Travel by public transport or rent a car? What where the highlights? Barato/expensive? What about la gente? Musica? Comida? Boxing? Beisbol? Fidel?

FFS dont leave us hanging without some decent details!

Did you need much Spanish Im working on mine but not that confident with it

The Subbie

Quote from: omaghjoe on June 23, 2015, 06:47:20 AM
Quote from: gallsman on June 22, 2015, 02:05:29 PM

Sounds great gallsman! Travel by public transport or rent a car? What where the highlights? Barato/expensive? What about la gente? Musica? Comida? Boxing? Beisbol? Fidel?

FFS dont leave us hanging without some decent details!

Did you need much Spanish Im working on mine but not that confident with it

Not sure about Cuba , not been there yet, but I travelled through Central America and only had about 10 phrases apart from hello, goodbye/goodnight and do you sell grass.

What is important is learning the numbers and saying at every opportunity muy cara (too expensive)
Once you crack 1-50 you are sorted, very repetitive, also if you've done French at school it's a big help, similar languages in a lot of ways.

Public transport by a mile - car hire is very expensive, the cars are shit and the roads are awful.

Havana - beautiful colonial buildings and the old town in particular is magnificent. A lot of restoration going on at the minute, but much more needed. A lot of cold war, Soviet style grey concrete blocks about the place. Favourite part by far was walking the length of the Malecón, an 8km seafront boulevard that is teeming with life. You have to watch your step everywhere you go though. Health and safety ideas and legislation haven't quite reached the Caribbean so you could easily end up in a 6 feet pot hole. We stayed in a casa particular between Centro Havana and Vedado when we first got there and a hotel in Havana Vieja before we came home.

Cienfuegos - Not much to see in the town but worth a day. We used it as a base to go to El Nicho in Topes de Collantes National Park and then to go to to the Bay of Pigs towns - Playa Girón and Playa Larga. The museum in Playa Girón is great.

Trinidad - incredible, time warped and very, very touristy.

Santa Clara - the town is a pretty much a living memorial to Che. You can barely escape his (or Camilo Cienfuegos') face anywhere in the country but he dominates Santa Clara. His mausoleum is very haunting.

Varadero - a few days all inclusive luxury at the beach. Stayed in a nice hotel but were bored after a couple of days. I'm generally not a fan of the beach but this one is beautiful. Too many Brits and Canadians around.

Cost - it can be as cheap or as expensive as you want. The difference is in the value. Anything particularly expensive (meals, hotels etc) is almost certainly not worth it, and completely unnecessary. Decent Spanish will allow  you to negotiate a bit. Music and dancing - incredible, everywhere. You can simply walk down a street and a couple of lads might have a guitar and be singing away. Especially true on the Malecón. Stopped off for a look in Rafael Trejo's gym in Havana Vieja. There was some training going on but unfortunately no fights. Baseball season was over. I was shocked at the popularity of soccer and subsequently soccer tops, primarily Barcelona ones. Almost omnipresent. Not too much of Fidel about the place at. A few billboards of he and Chavez together but most of the propaganda is revoution/socialism speak or of Che or Camilo. Food was alright, but can be expensive and very plain. The best food we had by miles was in the casas particulares. A lot of pork and (quite bland) fish. And lots, and lots of rice and beans!

Gread read thanks Gallsman sounds like ye had a blast, was it just you and herself? Aye resorts aint my cup of tea either, I find no pleasure in them at all apart from the showers. Sterile is how I would describe them.

Was thinking of going this year but with young weans maybe not that doo-able ATM. But then again worried I'll miss "Old Cuba" with the impending mass influx of tourists and Starbucks that will inevitably come with the improving American relations.

Yeah there's a Cuban place down the street from me, actually love it, seems to be alot of stew type stuff and of course frijoles with everything, by jaysus I wouldn't be long getting sick o them tho.