GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: The Hill is Blue on May 25, 2019, 11:23:01 AM

Title: Come on you Boys in Blue .....
Post by: The Hill is Blue on May 25, 2019, 11:23:01 AM
For the fourth successive year Dublin will tonight kick off their summer campaign as All Ireland Champions. That's a phenomenal achievement. And no matter how this summer might end this Dublin team will be remembered as one of the greatest ever. They have given Dublin GAA supporters many proud moments and the fruits of their achievements can be seen every weekend across the city when many hundreds of young boys and girls tog out in club grounds across the county.

Good luck tonight lads.

Come on you Boys in Blue
Title: Re: Come on you Boys in Blue .....
Post by: priceyreilly on May 25, 2019, 11:47:34 AM
A picture of the Dublin squad taken from training:

(http://i68.tinypic.com/f03qkh.jpg)

They're looking strong again this year.

Post by: BennyCake on May 25, 2019, 12:58:57 PM
I can't see them. All that moneys in the way.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 25, 2019, 01:07:10 PM
Dublin play in the championship and priceywicey comes along to remind everyone that Dublin's success isn't down to good players and a good manager but money and money alone
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 25, 2019, 02:15:27 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on May 25, 2019, 01:07:10 PM
Dublin play in the championship and priceywicey comes along to remind everyone that Dublin's success isn't down to good players and a good manager but money and money alone

Well it does help.
Post by: Crete Boom on May 25, 2019, 03:06:11 PM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on May 25, 2019, 11:23:01 AM
For the fourth successive year Dublin will tonight kick off their summer campaign as All Ireland Champions. That's a phenomenal achievement. And no matter how this summer might end this Dublin team will be remembered as one of the greatest ever. They have given Dublin GAA supporters many proud moments and the fruits of their achievements can be seen every weekend across the city when many hundreds of young boys and girls tog out in club grounds across the county.

Good luck tonight lads.

Come on you Boys in Blue

Good luck today Hill and good luck in trying to make history this year. Hopefully we might scramble out of Connacht for another scrap with ye in the super 8's at least!!
Post by: Tubberman on May 25, 2019, 03:23:33 PM

Good luck tonight lads.

Come on you Boys in Blue

You'd thik they'd get a bit of support in that case, rather than being one of 4 teams who's supporters can't fill Portlaoise between them.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on May 25, 2019, 05:38:12 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on May 25, 2019, 03:23:33 PM

Good luck tonight lads.

Come on you Boys in Blue

You'd thik they'd get a bit of support in that case, rather than being one of 4 teams who's supporters can't fill Portlaoise between them.
in fairness, Celtic are in action today
Plus, it's way past the M50
Post by: The Hill is Blue on May 25, 2019, 09:21:41 PM
Well done lads — but there'll be tougher days ahead.  ;)
Post by: From the Bunker on May 25, 2019, 09:57:41 PM
Looking forward to seeing this one in a generation group of players winning their 14th Leinster in 15 years and doing the 5 in a row of Sams!

They are some one in a generation group!
Post by: Armagh18 on May 26, 2019, 08:36:02 AM
On the game Dub's- do yous reckon Costello has done enough to start when yous meet the big boys? What will that mean for Rock?
Post by: Hound on May 26, 2019, 11:40:01 AM
 >:(
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 26, 2019, 08:36:02 AM
On the game Dub's- do yous reckon Costello has done enough to start when yous meet the big boys? What will that mean for Rock?
Makes for an interesting selection headache. Rock's never let us down, so would be harsh on him, but Gavin tends to give weight to whoever is in possession of the jersey
Post by: The Hill is Blue on May 26, 2019, 07:48:20 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 26, 2019, 08:36:02 AM

Two years ago in the final against Mayo Dean Rock showed nerves of steel in nailing that late free (despite the best efforts of Lee Keegan). But in a previous final Costello come on very late and killed off Mayo with three points from play. So it could be a very difficult choice.
Post by: thejuice on May 26, 2019, 11:58:03 PM
I'd have Costello ahead of Rock. Just seems to offer more from play than Rock. I don't think there that much between them as free takers. Rock looked off the pace and subdued in the league games that Dublin lost so a bit of competition for him is no harm at all. That said Dublin can easily carry someone who isn't delivering from play.
Post by: SCFC on May 27, 2019, 09:11:17 AM
Am I missing something? Is there some reason both Costello and Rock can't start?
Post by: From the Bunker on May 27, 2019, 09:20:51 AM
Quote from: SCFC on May 27, 2019, 09:11:17 AM
Am I missing something? Is there some reason both Costello and Rock can't start?

The Dublin system is set up in a way that all players are pigeon holed into a certain position. Once that position is lost you cannot play anywhere else.
Post by: TheGreatest on May 27, 2019, 10:22:16 AM

Think Rock is injured. Just have to wait and see.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on May 27, 2019, 11:16:24 AM
strained himself getting out of his sponsored car
Post by: tonto1888 on May 27, 2019, 08:20:54 PM
I see the idiots are out
Post by: priceyreilly on May 27, 2019, 11:00:21 PM
How many Dubs bothered their holes going to Portlaoise? 10,000 tops? This after they only brought a little bit more to their other games outside Croke Park. Remember, they still have only played one away game since 2006. They're not living up to their part of the deal. The GAA bankrolled Dublin, Dublin are meant to make profits for the GAA in return. They can't even do that the ungrateful whores.
Post by: kerryforsam19 on May 27, 2019, 11:17:53 PM
Quote from: priceyreilly on May 27, 2019, 11:00:21 PM
How many Dubs bothered their holes going to Portlaoise? 10,000 tops? This after they only brought a little bit more to their other games outside Croke Park. Remember, they still have only played one away game since 2006. They're not living up to their part of the deal. The GAA bankrolled Dublin, Dublin are meant to make profits for the GAA in return. They can't even do that the ungrateful whores.

Post by: From the Bunker on May 27, 2019, 11:26:30 PM

To be fair it is about an hour and fifteen minutes by train to Portlaoise. Full credit to the 10k who made the long journey.
Post by: shantygael on May 27, 2019, 11:56:42 PM

At least try and get the facts right before  you post your cow pat on the board,Dublin have played away  games in the Leinster  championship 4 years in a row.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 28, 2019, 12:02:36 AM

Quote from: shantygael on May 27, 2019, 11:56:42 PM

At least try and get the facts right before  you post your cow pat on the board,Dublin have played away  games in the Leinster  championship 4 years in a row.

If you want a fact, the fact is that Dublin have played 4 Leinster games in a Neutral venue, 4 years in a row. To play away you have to be playing against a team that are playing at home, none of the 4 teams Dublin played were at home!

and please learn how to use the Quote option properly!
Post by: shantygael on May 28, 2019, 08:33:50 AM
Why ,does it annoy  you
Post by: From the Bunker on May 28, 2019, 08:42:23 AM
Quote from: shantygael on May 28, 2019, 08:33:50 AM
Why ,does it annoy  you

Not as much as people who state facts that are incorrect.
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 28, 2019, 09:31:14 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 28, 2019, 08:42:23 AM
Quote from: shantygael on May 28, 2019, 08:33:50 AM
Why ,does it annoy  you

Not as much as people who state facts that are incorrect.
Calm down, FTB you are into oxymoron territory here.  ;D Ya know what I mean?  Incorrect facts are like Microsoft Works; a contradiction in terms..
Okay, I'm just messing here; I know what you mean but you are wasting your time.
Post by: priceyreilly on May 28, 2019, 09:51:23 AM

Dublin haven't played an away game in the Leinster championship since 2006. You don't even know what an away game is, that's how spoilt you are. Every other county in Ireland knows the difference between an away game and a neutral game. You've bought 54 titles since 2005 which were funded by all of us, will you at least show up to matches to pay some of it back? Thieving bastards.
Post by: kerryforsam19 on May 28, 2019, 10:43:34 AM
Quote from: priceyreilly on May 28, 2019, 09:51:23 AM

Dublin haven't played an away game in the Leinster championship since 2006. You don't even know what an away game is, that's how spoilt you are. Every other county in Ireland knows the difference between an away game and a neutral game. You've bought 54 titles since 2005 which were funded by all of us, will you at least show up to matches to pay some of it back? Thieving b**tards.

Post by: Hound on May 28, 2019, 12:53:43 PM
Well it's 3 from Costello, Rock, O'Callaghan and Mannion. And possibly add in Paddy Andrews to the mix who is just back from the injury suffered v Tyrone in the league and should be back in contention for the Leinster semi.
Howard, Kilkenny and Scully seemed to have locked down the half forward positions.

Rock contributes the least from general play, although continues to improve in that regard year-on-year. And if he gets a bit of space he is the most reliable point taker from play in pressure situations.
Post by: shantygael on May 28, 2019, 06:04:18 PM
 Some angry people about😠
Post by: From the Bunker on May 28, 2019, 06:06:04 PM
Quote from: shantygael on May 28, 2019, 06:04:18 PM
Some angry people about😠

Some ill informed People about too  ::)