GAA Response to Coronavirus

Started by screenexile, March 12, 2020, 12:10:51 AM

O'Rourke is great at moaning and giving out about things.
Yet never seems to offer solutions.

6th sam

Quote from: five points on May 26, 2020, 11:33:49 AM
Quote from: hardstation on May 26, 2020, 11:28:16 AM
Quote from: five points on May 26, 2020, 11:18:05 AM
Quote from: hardstation on May 26, 2020, 11:08:57 AM
Quote from: five points on May 26, 2020, 10:53:45 AM
Quote from: supersub on May 25, 2020, 11:17:57 PM
With all due respect, the view of Colm O'Rourke or any other pundit for that matter is worth as much as you or I. It's the medical and scientific views that are most important. Commentary like this does little to help the situation only create speculation in my opinion.

That might be fine if the GAA were a medical or scientific organisation but it's not. The Medical & Scientific Committee in Croke Park never before had a veto on how the GAA runs its business and organises its games. Why should it or any other vested interest, especially one outside the organisation, have a veto now?
Dunno but it might have something to do with the global pandemic and the fear that returning to games too soon could put lives at risk. However, if Colm O'Rourke knows as much about it as medical and scientific experts, then yeah, you're right.

We all know that but there's also a fear that if we go too long without games, players clubs and communities will suffer. There will always be a health risk to returning to games and that risk won't be going away anytime soon. Every possible decision has its downsides.
Yes, and we should let the experts weigh that up and make their decision, which was supersub's point originally, I believe.

There we disagree. The GAA will be going down a dangerous road if it ever allows  outside vested interest to dictate fundamental policy. It would be like allowing banks to liquidate clubs for an unpaid debts.

By all means be guided by appropriate expert opinion but don't be a hostage to it.

Vested interests?
Their vested interest is giving the very best advice backed up
By medical and scientific evidence, to minimise the effects of this virus and it's aftermath. Whatever way governments and governing bodies interpret and act on that advice , it's an insult to question the integrity of those on the committee(mainly volunteers presumably)  including medics who are ethically bound to protect life.
That medical/scientific advice will include analysing the effects of "lockdown" and balancing that against  the effects of the virus.
I'm in favour of getting back to the new normal as soon as safely possible, but if this virus has taught us anything it's that being complacent is dangerous. cf UK.
Most of recent news is good. I think ill-informed hype has been unhelpful, and I'm hoping that relaxation with safeguards will come even quicker than predicted. The exciting thing is that we are learning more about this virus daily and there are signs that we may be getting on top of it. If we continue to stick to evidence based advice , It's our best chance of getting out of this without setbacks

five points

Quote from: 6th sam on May 26, 2020, 07:55:33 PM

Vested interests?
Their vested interest is giving the very best advice backed up
By medical and scientific evidence, to minimise the effects of this virus and it's aftermath. Whatever way governments and governing bodies interpret and act on that advice , it's an insult to question the integrity of those on the committee(mainly volunteers presumably)  including medics who are ethically bound to protect life.
That medical/scientific advice will include analysing the effects of "lockdown" and balancing that against  the effects of the virus.
I'm in favour of getting back to the new normal as soon as safely possible, but if this virus has taught us anything it's that being complacent is dangerous. cf UK.
Most of recent news is good. I think ill-informed hype has been unhelpful, and I'm hoping that relaxation with safeguards will come even quicker than predicted. The exciting thing is that we are learning more about this virus daily and there are signs that we may be getting on top of it. If we continue to stick to evidence based advice , It's our best chance of getting out of this without setbacks

Yes, vested interests.

Do you not see that Tony Holohan for example has no specialist skills to enable him to analyse the effects of lockdown? Nor any responsibility for jobs, welfare or the public finances?

But that doesn't impinge one bit on his integrity as CMO.

supersub

Quote from: five points on May 26, 2020, 10:53:45 AM
Quote from: supersub on May 25, 2020, 11:17:57 PM
With all due respect, the view of Colm O'Rourke or any other pundit for that matter is worth as much as you or I. It's the medical and scientific views that are most important. Commentary like this does little to help the situation only create speculation in my opinion.

That might be fine if the GAA were a medical or scientific organisation but it's not. The Medical & Scientific Committee in Croke Park never before had a veto on how the GAA runs its business and organises its games. Why should it or any other vested interest, especially one outside the organisation, have a veto now?

I had to read this a couple of times to make sure I got the tone and sentiments correct. On further reading of your posts following I believe I have. A wholly patriotic and idealistic view which is to be admired in one sense, but is blinding your rational judgement and quite frankly farcical. We are in the midst of a global pandemic, the world as we know it has changed drastically and there is a distinct possibility it won't go back to the way it was. All walks of life are having to adapt in ways they never would have thought needed or possible in some cases. The government are politicians, they run the country, they set the rules - they are not doctors or scientists. Ergo they need to take advice from these people who are better placed to inform than the government themselves. They then decide what to do. Unfortunately whether we like it or not the safest way of life for us all has been the way we have been for the last two months, and until the medical and scientific professionals advise the government differently, the GAA will tow the line. The same as any other organisation across the land. This idea that we are the GAA we set our own rules and constitution and no one or thing will disrupt this is absolutely mental. Do you remember a mere few weeks ago the special congress to agree in principle to make changes to competition formats, an unprecedented move? Do you think they shouldn't have done this either? Keep the competitions the same, horse her on? Ludicrous.

To the poster who said the medical and scientific opinions are bollox...maybe you would like to explain to the whole board what that actually means? As it is baffling. Nearly as baffling as saying there is no reason an u16 downwards can't start...are you serious? Who is going to manage these teams? Paul who is 50 and who's son has an immune suppressing disease? Aye sure he'll just go along to training with 20 other households, a couple of other adults and take the risk. While we're at it, Jim the caretaker who is 75 and been around the club his whole life will open and close for them 3 nights a week. Don't forget about Billy and Mick who do the gate and stewarding around the club for matches, both severely asthmatic but here the medical and scientific stuff is bollox so we'll head down the field to make sure the car park is in order for the game, the changing rooms are clean for the 40 odd people about to embrace and the litter has been picked up around the pitch for the 100 odd spectators due in for the u16 match. Absolutely mental. Catch yourself on, seriously.

sid waddell

Quote from: joemamas on May 26, 2020, 06:32:16 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on May 26, 2020, 11:37:19 AM
Colm O'Rourke is the GAA's answer to Dominic Cummings. With all the same arrogance and entitlement dripping off him.

Why because he disagrees with your thought process.

I think he generally makes a lot of sense.
No, because Colm knows SFA about virology or epidemiology and yet he's telling everybody we need "less caution".

I don't think I need to explain any further why Colm is an idiot, it's self-evident on the basis of those comments, and indeed the entirety of what he has said during this entire crisis.

The pure selfishness and rejection of expertise on his part is exactly what you hope not to see from an educator.

Super sub . It's commentary like yours that really irritates, what makes you use such language as "a distinct possibility it wont go back to the way it was " throw in the drastic and all that jazz too.

If you asked me a month or two weeks ago , I'd be certainly weary of how long it would take to go back to normal because of predictions we were reading .

Now here in the 26 we are down to under 100 new cases daily , if that trajectory remains we could possibly be down to daily increase of single digit cases in two weeks time . If this continues further and we don't have any further spikes along the way into the summer I cannot for the life of me understand why there would be any restrictions bar foreign travel in and out .

GetOverTheBar

Quote from: larryin89 on May 27, 2020, 10:38:10 AM
Super sub . It's commentary like yours that really irritates, what makes you use such language as "a distinct possibility it wont go back to the way it was " throw in the drastic and all that jazz too.

If you asked me a month or two weeks ago , I'd be certainly weary of how long it would take to go back to normal because of predictions we were reading .

Now here in the 26 we are down to under 100 new cases daily , if that trajectory remains we could possibly be down to daily increase of single digit cases in two weeks time . If this continues further and we don't have any further spikes along the way into the summer I cannot for the life of me understand why there would be any restrictions bar foreign travel in and out .

Some people don't want life to return to what it was. Which for the life of me, I can't comprehend but here we are.

Who are these "some people"?
Why do they not want "life to return to what it was"?
Supersub is as entitled to his opinion as Larryin even if it irritates the latter and he may even be correct in his "distinct possibility" .
For the record I would love if all Covid restrictions were gone along with the Covid itself.

sid waddell

Accusing people who take restrictions on movement to stop a pandemic seriously of "wanting millions to die" or "wanting society to burn to the ground" or "not wanting life to return to what it was" are classic right-wing culture war "talking points".

Such "talking points" are a construction of fake victimhood, a substitute for thinking, and an admission of intellectual bankruptcy.

GetOverTheBar

Quote from: Rossfan on May 27, 2020, 11:45:28 AM
Who are these "some people"?
Why do they not want "life to return to what it was"?
Supersub is as entitled to his opinion as Larryin even if it irritates the latter and he may even be correct in his "distinct possibility" .
For the record I would love if all Covid restrictions were gone along with the Covid itself.

We as a whole country, just went a day yesterday of no Covid deaths. Something that we should be excited about, something that probably seemed massively unlikely even up as far as a fortnight ago. Not to say there won't be more in the future, of course there will. A virus that attacks the weak will always have success, this is something that we should always be aware of moreso than ever, going forward.

But I find it staggering that people cannot begin to look to future now, I'm not saying get the All Ireland started next week. But it's time to start the conversation of how we return to normal, starting at clubs, starting with kids. They cannot live life at home, stuck to TV or whatever like this going forward and people must accept that you cannot live any kind of life, without any kind of risk.

five points

Quote from: GetOverTheBar on May 27, 2020, 12:05:31 PM
But I find it staggering that people cannot begin to look to future now, I'm not saying get the All Ireland started next week. But it's time to start the conversation of how we return to normal, starting at clubs, starting with kids. They cannot live life at home, stuck to TV or whatever like this going forward and people must accept that you cannot live any kind of life, without any kind of risk.

Me too. If anyone makes even a modest suggestion here about things returning to normal, for example that walking tracks open, they end up being attacked with all sorts of bitter personalised abuse, like being accused of wanting people to die. As does anyone who makes a similar case in the media, Colm O'Rourke being a case in point.

Some people seem hell-bent in destroying this forum and on current form they will succeed.

Cluborcountywhynotboth

Quote from: five points on May 27, 2020, 12:19:41 PM

Me too. If anyone makes even a modest suggestion here about things returning to normal, for example that walking tracks open, they end up being attacked with all sorts of bitter personalised abuse, like being accused of wanting people to die. As does anyone who makes a similar case in the media, Colm O'Rourke being a case in point.

Some people seem hell-bent in destroying this forum and on current form they will succeed.

Its not just this forum, its social media as a whole; people don't want to debate anymore, they just want to make their point and steadfastly stick to it and abuse anyone who disagrees. I would argue that its even wider and societal as well, the world is becoming more split and entrenched in many aspects, just look at politics in UK and US, where no matter what someone does they will be blindly backed simply because they represent a certain party.
People should realise Its ok to disagree and everyone is entitled to their opinion (unless someone is being obviously out of order i.e. racist etc...).

Jeepers Creepers

Quote from: Cluborcountywhynotboth on May 27, 2020, 12:36:56 PM
Quote from: five points on May 27, 2020, 12:19:41 PM

Its not just this forum, its social media as a whole; people don't want to debate anymore, they just want to make their point and steadfastly stick to it and abuse anyone who disagrees. I would argue that its even wider and societal as well, the world is becoming more split and entrenched in many aspects, just look at politics in UK and US, where no matter what someone does they will be blindly backed simply because they represent a certain party.
People should realise Its ok to disagree and everyone is entitled to their opinion (unless someone is being obviously out of order i.e. racist etc...).

Agree

Smurfy123

Well said lads. At the beginning we were told to slow the curve save nhs
That's clearly been done
Now my thoughts moving forward
I believe the hospitals have now all the equipment and experience to deal with further Covid cases no problem. They know how to deal with it straight away compared to 12 weeks ago.
We will still have cases but many won't even need hospital treatment
Yes we will still have deaths unfortunately and I say this with total respect but we are going to have deaths anyway.
I would like to see things open up slowly. Week on week as opposed to every 3 weeks
Club grounds should reopen on the 8th with a rota lied out for teams to train non contact maybe twice a week. Say under 16s from 6-7 them under 12s 7-15 to 8-15
No hanging about the pitch after training
Cue the backlash

Ed Ricketts

Weird shit fit happening in this thread today. A stream of boys not liking any critique of their entitled opinions.

If your opinion is worth a shite you should have no issue with others challenging and dissecting its merits. Then come back and defend it with solid rationale and evidence (hi, Smurfy). That's a discussion, a debate.

Don't just have a wee cry about what you think you're 'entitled' to.
Doc would listen to any kind of nonsense and change it for you to a kind of wisdom.