GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: thejuice on April 08, 2015, 06:42:08 PM

Title: Meed agin Wickla; 14th Juun, Navan. Champship fupple
Post by: thejuice on April 08, 2015, 06:42:08 PM
We need to talk about this.
Title: Re: Meed agin Wickla; 14th Juun, Navan. Champship fupple
Post by: BennyCake on April 08, 2015, 07:10:08 PM
Is this a new Ulster-Scots championship you're referring to?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 08, 2015, 09:08:38 PM
Have we the time to give this the in depth discussion it deserves?

I'd say Meath will scrape it by about 35-40 points.
Post by: Jinxy on April 08, 2015, 11:50:14 PM
Does Tommy Gill still play for Wicklow?
Post by: Rossfan on April 08, 2015, 11:59:58 PM
Are they going ahead with a Leinster Championship this year?
Post by: Thewildcat on April 09, 2015, 12:50:00 AM
have Mayo pulled out of connacht  :D
Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 09, 2015, 02:01:00 AM
If there isn't a full on brawl or a ref stuck in a boot I want my money back.

Ireland expects Meed/wickla...you had better deliver.
Post by: thejuice on April 09, 2015, 10:00:00 AM
Sure this game is in navan. The Wickla lads will have to be on their best behaviour and be observant of our customs and laws.
Post by: seafoid on April 09, 2015, 10:50:11 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 08, 2015, 11:59:58 PM
What is the point? Wicklow won't get within 20 points of the Dubs but neither will anyone else

It's like the Wizard of Oz. Meath have no heart. Kildare have no brain. Offaly have no players coming through.
Westmeath have no self  belief. Etc.

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 09, 2015, 11:23:10 AM
Quote from: seafoid on April 09, 2015, 10:50:11 AM
What is the point? Wicklow won't get within 20 points of the Dubs but neither will anyone else

It's like the Wizard of Oz. Meath have no heart. Kildare have no brain. Offaly have no players coming through.

To see where the rest of us enter the qualifiers.
Post by: Jinxy on April 09, 2015, 12:20:24 PM

So does that mean we have a brain?
Post by: seafoid on April 09, 2015, 12:26:40 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 09, 2015, 12:20:24 PM

Still. But not the  defence or something
Post by: Crete Boom on April 09, 2015, 02:13:51 PM
Quote from: thejuice on April 09, 2015, 10:00:00 AM
Sure this game is in navan. The Wickla lads will have to be on their best behaviour and be observant of our customs and laws.

What no fighting allowed during the National Anthem then?
Post by: AZOffaly on April 09, 2015, 02:16:33 PM

What do you mean Offaly have no players coming through? How would you know that? Our underage is slowly but surely starting to gather momentum, and we can always produce the odd 'player'. Willie Mulhall and Bernard Allen are two useful forwards coming through this year for example. You make these blanket, blasé statements with no grounding in reality.

And I'll let the Meath and Kildare lads respond to the no heart/no brain comment.
Post by: deiseach on April 09, 2015, 02:26:48 PM
Who let this guy in here?

(http://wiw.org/~jess/wp-content/uploads/2007/07/cletus.gif)
Post by: Jinxy on April 09, 2015, 03:10:37 PM
Imagine some fancy dan from Galway accusing us of having no heart!
Post by: seafoid on April 09, 2015, 04:03:11 PM
The Dubs have won 15  of the last 10 Leinster finals and have enough points left over to buy everything in Argos.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 09, 2015, 04:05:17 PM
Fair play to them if they've won 15 of the last 10.
Post by: Jinxy on April 09, 2015, 04:43:50 PM
Serious dominance.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 12, 2015, 06:41:20 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 09, 2015, 12:20:24 PM

Ye hoors always had brawn.
Post by: thejuice on June 09, 2015, 12:47:56 AM
Here we go, only 4 days till we get to spill some blood in the 2015 championship.  :D

Early summer excitement already there, looking forward to it.

A few injuries means Gillespie, Menton, K Reilly, Newman and both O'Rourkes are likely to be sitting out this one which to be fair are all probably among the most talented players we have. So with those guys out, I get the feeling we'll make hard work of it but hopefully come through in the end.

But it's early days in the competition and we could be ripe for an ambush at home.
Post by: Ard-Rí on June 09, 2015, 02:54:22 AM
Presumably O'Dowd will be expected to win something soon or make way. We've had the exact same campaign the last three years running, and it's getting a little dull. Obviously it's next to impossible for him to do any better with the players available but you wouldn't expect that to dissuade people from calling for his head if we go out in the same fashion again. Despite our injury concerns, I don't think Wicklow are in any position to beat us in a championship match at the minute. I could be wrong, but I anticipate a reasonably comfortable victory.
Post by: Jinxy on June 09, 2015, 10:22:30 AM
When was the last time we had all our best players fit going into a championship match?
Post by: Hardy on June 09, 2015, 10:51:40 AM
Quote from: thejuice on June 09, 2015, 12:47:56 AM
Here we go, only 4 days till we get to spill some blood in the 2015 championship.  :D

Early summer excitement already there, looking forward to it.

A few injuries means Gillespie, Menton, K Reilly, Newman and both O'Rourkes are likely to be sitting out this one which to be fair are all probably among the most talented players we have. So with those guys out, I get the feeling we'll make hard work of it but hopefully come through in the end.

But it's early days in the competition and we could be ripe for an ambush at home.

It's a serious injury list. They'd be six of the first seven names on the teamsheet.

Bloody Wicklow thugs targetting our best players. Even before the game.
Post by: thejuice on June 09, 2015, 11:44:07 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 09, 2015, 10:22:30 AM
When was the last time we had all our best players fit going into a championship match?

Problem is I think some of them lads were born injured, particularly SOR and Kevin Reilly.
Post by: Jinxy on June 09, 2015, 12:32:09 PM
I think they had to use a calving jack on Kevin Reilly.
Post by: Ard-Rí on June 12, 2015, 03:43:39 PM
I don't recall Meath ever starting a weaker team in the championship. Much as Wicklow are not generally considered to be at our level, get this wrong and it will be a very short summer.

QuotePatrick O'Rourke

James McEntee - Donncha Tobin - David Dalton

Nicky Judge - Donal Keogan - Brian Power

Harry Rooney - Adam Flanagan

Graham Reilly - Padraic Harnan - Andrew Tormey

Joseph Wallace - Stephen Bray - Brian McMahon.
Post by: thejuice on June 13, 2015, 12:23:41 AM
To be fair they've all been blooded in the league and lads like Dalton, Joey Wallace, Judge and McMahon have been on the panel for long enough now, so it's not before their due time to get a championship start.

There's a bit of inexperience in the half back line which might be a worry. Rooney has shown a lot of early promise so hopefully championship football doesn't phase him.
Post by: Old yeller on June 13, 2015, 01:11:51 AM
Probably the most annoying thread title ever. Other than that, nothing to see here.
Post by: Catch and Kick on June 14, 2015, 07:43:31 PM
Good Wicklow performance. For a team that had a poor run in Div 4 they gave the Royals a tough day in Navan. Now they face Armagh - who they won't fear from previous encounters.
Post by: giveballaghback on June 14, 2015, 09:19:23 PM
Not a meath man in sight, silence is golden, that head scratching is hard work!
Post by: thejuice on June 14, 2015, 10:07:58 PM
Not really. The game went almost exactly as anticipated. We got through it with a weakened side and that's enough to be said.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 14, 2015, 11:37:07 PM
Nice to see the Meath players acknowledge the young fans at the wire coming out onto the field, i don't seen that too much in football any more!