GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: illdecide on July 17, 2017, 08:43:36 AM

Title: Armagh v Kildare 29.07.2017
Post by: illdecide on July 17, 2017, 08:43:36 AM
Real toughie here for Armagh, they're improving with every game but this Kildare team looks a serious outfit and will be big favourites to beat Armagh. Armagh have a big game in them and hopefully they'll use it to get over Kildare.
Title: Re: Armagh v Kildare 29.07.2017
Post by: tonto1888 on July 17, 2017, 08:47:16 AM
Not the draw I would have preferred but looking forward to it. Will it be Croke Park
Post by: naka on July 17, 2017, 08:47:22 AM
This is the biggie for Armagh
We beat Kildare
Then the season has been a relative success
They are a serious physical side but will have a couple of players out( the captain and one of their players received a third black card yesterday)
For me Armagh can win this.
Post by: illdecide on July 17, 2017, 08:51:38 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 17, 2017, 08:47:16 AM
Not the draw I would have preferred but looking forward to it. Will it be Croke Park

The talk is it'll be a double header in Crok Park but CCCC will confirm this later today
Post by: seafoid on July 17, 2017, 08:53:23 AM
This is very interesting . It took Kildare a few years to recover from McGeeney.
Post by: balladmaker on July 17, 2017, 09:09:49 AM
Kildare look to be a big, physical team with loads of talent.  Big game for Armagh, and will hopefully be in Croke Park, Armagh have nothing to lose and still have a big performance in them. 
Post by: punt kick on July 17, 2017, 09:13:07 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 17, 2017, 08:53:23 AM
This is very interesting . It took Kildare a few years to recover from McGeeney.

(http://www.personal.psu.edu/afr3/blogs/siowfa12/yawn2.jpg)
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 17, 2017, 09:13:49 AM
Quote from: illdecide on July 17, 2017, 08:51:38 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 17, 2017, 08:47:16 AM

The talk is it'll be a double header in Crok Park but CCCC will confirm this later today

Armagh v Kildare more likely in Breffini Park as Croke Park pitch didn't recover well from Coldplay and will have to deal with U2 this weekend.  Jim Gavin complained that a fifth of the pitch had to be replaced for yesterday's game after the last concert and the ground was particularly hard and slippery.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/jim-gavin-unhappy-with-the-state-of-croke-park-surface-after-coldplay-gig-35936826.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/jim-gavin-unhappy-with-the-state-of-croke-park-surface-after-coldplay-gig-35936826.html)
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 17, 2017, 09:27:16 AM
Wonder will the media recall McGeeney managed Kildare.

That Kildare squad would be mostly fond of McGeeney.

Watched the Tipp game expecting see the dirtiest flithiest football team in history so I was surprised to see a decent team with good physicality. Armagh are improving, I haven't had time to process the draw but it's a good draw for Kildare, thanks to Geezer really.

Looking forward to it.
Post by: haveaharp on July 17, 2017, 09:39:14 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 17, 2017, 09:27:16 AM
Wonder will the media recall McGeeney managed Kildare.

That Kildare squad would be mostly fond of McGeeney.

Watched the Tipp game expecting see the dirtiest flithiest football team in history so I was surprised to see a decent team with good physicality. Armagh are improving, I haven't had time to process the draw but it's a good draw for Kildare, thanks to Geezer really.

Looking forward to it.

Tip aren't that dirty
Post by: Ethan Tremblay on July 17, 2017, 09:45:05 AM
The toughest draw Armagh could have got but will be good to see them up against a team with serious talent and potential. 

Kildare will fancy themselves but if Armagh can keep the goals out they shouldn't be too far away. 
Post by: Orior on July 17, 2017, 09:46:51 AM
Armagh have nothing to lose, except of course a place in the quarterfinals, which I don't want to lose.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 17, 2017, 10:22:17 AM
If we had our full team available to us I'd be fairly confident of winning this. I'm nervous about it with Feely and Doyle out.

I'd go with:

Donnellan
O'Grady Hyland Lyons
Byrne Conway K Cribbin
P Cribbin Moolick
McNally Kelly Slattery
Brophy Flynn McCormack

Conway wasn't at the races yesterday which was surprising. He's normally reliable and I don't see many other options at no6 with Doyle likely to miss out. It's too big an ask to pitch Shea Ryan in with so little experience behind him and bringing Peter Kelly or O'Donoghue in would mean having to move Johnny Byrne into the centre. Dowling is likely to come into consideration for midfield but I think we need Cribbin out there for his mobility. I'd say it's likely Dowling will be accommodated somewhere and put on the frees with no Feely or Neil Flynn on the team. Possibly ahead of McCormack with Niall Kelly moving closer to goal.
Post by: tonto1888 on July 17, 2017, 10:56:23 AM
Is Feely the midfielder who got a third black card? What is Doyle out for?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 17, 2017, 11:03:18 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 17, 2017, 10:56:23 AM
Is Feely the midfielder who got a third black card?

Yes.

Quote from: tonto1888 on July 17, 2017, 10:56:23 AM
What is Doyle out for?

Played with a broken thumb yesterday. He's having it operated on today.
Post by: bennydorano on July 17, 2017, 11:14:53 AM
Big step up in class for Armagh, I'd imagine a step too far but our qualifier run has been progressive and we will hopefully give a good account of ourselves. Kildare's physicality and direct running will be giving Armagh plenty to think about. We've a settled team at the minute and hard to see any changes but could do with the physical presence of the likes of Ethan Rafferty for this one.

Is Findon injured?? No getting a sniff.
Post by: illdecide on July 17, 2017, 11:27:50 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on July 17, 2017, 11:14:53 AM
Big step up in class for Armagh, I'd imagine a step too far but our qualifier run has been progressive and we will hopefully give a good account of ourselves. Kildare's physicality and direct running will be giving Armagh plenty to think about. We've a settled team at the minute and hard to see any changes but could do with the physical presence of the likes of Ethan Rafferty for this one.

No not injured just well down the pecking order, think the current midfield partnership will be hard to shift now (esp this season for how long it lasts...lol) I was surprised Ethan Rafferty and Oisin O'Neill were not introduced on Sat (i know Ethan got a few seconds) but like with 15-20 mins to go.
Kildare do look a bigger stronger team than Armagh but Armagh are as fit as any team out there atm and have good runners. For the first time in a long time Armagh have a strong bench, just hope this time it's all over before we get to use the bench. Should be a good game all the same.

DH how big a miss will those two lads Feely & Doyle be for Kildare
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 17, 2017, 11:30:58 AM
Quote from: illdecide on July 17, 2017, 11:27:50 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on July 17, 2017, 11:14:53 AM

No not injured just well down the pecking order, think the current midfield partnership will be hard to shift now (esp this season for how long it lasts...lol) I was surprised Ethan Rafferty and Oisin O'Neill were not introduced on Sat (i know Ethan got a few seconds) but like with 15-20 mins to go.
Kildare do look a bigger stronger team than Armagh but Armagh are as fit as any team out there atm and have good runners. For the first time in a long time Armagh have a strong bench, just hope this time it's all over before we get to use the bench. Should be a good game all the same.

DH how big a miss will those two lads Feely & Doyle be for Kildare

Think Armagh 2002 without McGrane and McGeeney.
Post by: tonto1888 on July 17, 2017, 11:48:51 AM
Big misses then. Good for us. A shame for Kildare
Post by: illdecide on July 17, 2017, 12:17:56 PM
Thats a big miss alright...Give us an extra few % i suppose.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 17, 2017, 12:39:53 PM
I'd expect both of those Kildare lads to play. Kildare are going to appeal the ban and we know that cast iron bans in GAA rarely stick. Very probable the other lad could play if it's only thumb surgery and he was already playing with it broken.

Big test for Armagh but I think they are building a good young side at present.
Post by: naka on July 17, 2017, 12:44:13 PM
bomber
can`t see the black card ban being over ruled, which one would they be appealing?

with regard to the lad with the broken thumb, from experience after an operation if it is damaged  again then he MAY have problems for the rest of his life( its an amatur game different if he was getting paid to play )
Post by: naka on July 17, 2017, 02:46:23 PM
match in croke park I am hearing
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 17, 2017, 02:48:39 PM
If Feely and Doyle were available I'd be a lot more confident, that other players will have to step up.
Realistic selection options:
------------------------Donnellan

Hyland/MO'G------O'Grady/Hyland------Lyons

Byrne/P Kelly---P Kelly/Conway/Byrne-----KC

-----------------Moolick---------Dowling

Conway/Slats-------N Kelly----------------PC

Brophy----------------Flynn--------------Slats/Ben/McNally

Plenty of options still but plenty to work on, the biggest complaint apart from the defending for the goals yesterday was the poor movement of the ball forward from the half forward line. Conway was moved to LHF for the first time this season and failed to fire at all, Kelly was well man marked, while Slattery put in a phenomenal shift he is still limited when it comes to kick passing the ball in quick. That needs improvement.
I wouldn't be unhappy to see Peter Kelly get a start as he looks in very good shape this season and did nothing wrong when he came on.
Fionn in midfield is a no brainer as he has settled into the team a bit more this season and is finding a bit of consistency for the 1st time in his career.

Armagh set up very much the same way as Kildare did under McGeeney, attacking wing backs, target man full forward, good mixture of running and kick passing. Their tackiling is poor and they kick too many wides. If Kildare play well we should beat them but they are fit, motivated and developing momentum so it should be a good game.
Post by: tonto1888 on July 17, 2017, 03:11:13 PM
Croke Park then
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 17, 2017, 03:16:39 PM
I hate the place.
Post by: Orior on July 17, 2017, 03:18:13 PM
7pm throw-in suits me, but there could be a few drunks in the stadium, lol
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 17, 2017, 03:20:53 PM
That would be a decent call for the team, but the talk could be Conway at 6. The HB line is his most natural position and he has plenty of game time under his belt.
Then Dowling at MF or P Cribbin even. We would need to keep the free count down as Grimley was looking very good the other day.
Jamie Clarke is roaming around whereever he wants and some of his passing was top class on Saturday. He really is a class act. Thankfully he is not reliant on power to get space so our defenders tend to be better at sticking to a guy like that. Another thing was that he also put in some defensive work v Tipp so no harm giving him a runner like Cribbin or Lyons to force him to run backwards.

Massive game for both teams in that a 1/4 final place is very acceptable for both outfits.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 17, 2017, 03:53:21 PM
A game that Armagh can win. Kildare will likely be without their best midfielder Feely and were wide open in defence against Dublin making it all too easy to score. Armagh have the forwards to exploit wide open defences and Armagh are improving in defence, held C Sweeney, M Quinlivan to one score from play last Saturday.
Post by: seafoid on July 17, 2017, 04:16:23 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 17, 2017, 03:53:21 PM
A game that Armagh can win. Kildare will likely be without their best midfielder Feely and were wide open in defence against Dublin making it all too easy to score. Armagh have the forwards to exploit wide open defences and Armagh are improving in defence, held C Sweeney, M Quinlivan to one score from play last Saturday.
It's a bit of a leap from Dublin to Armagh in terms of opening defences, with all due respect
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 17, 2017, 04:20:57 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 17, 2017, 04:16:23 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 17, 2017, 03:53:21 PM
It's a bit of a leap from Dublin to Armagh in terms of opening defences, with all due respect
Dublin hadn't much opening to do. The defending for both goals was shocking. The likes of Brogan,O'Callaghan had all the time and space on the ball to kick scores for fun. Give Jamie Clarke the same time and space on the ball and he will cause serious damage also.
Post by: Armamike on July 17, 2017, 04:33:54 PM
Tough game. Haven't seen much of Kildare but if they don't tend to sit back too much it may actually suit Armagh.  Would expect both sides to be up for this one and it to be pretty open.  Would be worried about Kildare's ability to run through us down the middle. We still tend to let teams get through too easily.  We could be more cynical in this regard  ;)  Should be a good game for the neutral.   
Post by: omagh_gael on July 17, 2017, 05:10:09 PM
What happened Peter Kelly? He's a sub now but I remember him coming on to the scene with some deadly performances. Did he get an all star/nomination? I think I remember him getting an injury thpugh.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 17, 2017, 05:14:42 PM
All Star in 2010. Did his cruciate playing for UCD in 2011. He has been fairly injury prone since then.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 17, 2017, 07:04:16 PM
I think in reality Dublin would put 15 on Armagh so judging kildare on that game would not be the mark on which to judge Armagh beating kildare!
Post by: illdecide on July 17, 2017, 09:09:54 PM
The bookies are seldom wrong and PP have Kildare currently as 4/7 favourites, earlier this morning the betting was 4/6 then 8/13 and now 4/7. So obviously people have lumped on so odds have been cut, I would kinda agree with them on the prices.
Kildare will give Armagh their fill of it and more but it certainly wouldn't be the shock of the Championship should Armagh win and they do have a big chance but Kildare are rightly favourites. (Thats not being the soft fella either...playing down our chances, just being realistic)
Post by: ONeill on July 17, 2017, 09:12:51 PM
Jaysus there'll be some collecting done outside the ground for this game, by both sides, to pay the same man. £300 a ticket to win a bag of apples or a horse.
Post by: armaghniac on July 17, 2017, 10:12:35 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 17, 2017, 09:12:51 PM
Jaysus there'll be some collecting done outside the ground for this game, by both sides, to pay the same man. £300 a ticket to win a bag of apples or a horse.

A bit of horse with apple sauce is grand.
Post by: haveaharp on July 17, 2017, 11:23:24 PM
Quote from: illdecide on July 17, 2017, 09:09:54 PM
The bookies are seldom wrong and PP have Kildare currently as 4/7 favourites, earlier this morning the betting was 4/6 then 8/13 and now 4/7. So obviously people have lumped on so odds have been cut, I would kinda agree with them on the prices.
Kildare will give Armagh their fill of it and more but it certainly wouldn't be the shock of the Championship should Armagh win and they do have a big chance but Kildare are rightly favourites. (Thats not being the soft fella either...playing down our chances, just being realistic)

All bull aside I would be making Kildare something like 1/4.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 18, 2017, 12:12:36 AM
I think Armagh have every chance in this.

A lot has been said about Kildare so far but they have proven very little, Armagh have a talented bunch of players coming through now and as maligned as McGeeney has been he is clearly a manager who players are very loyal and committed to. Armagh remind a little bit of 2014. I think they have got real quality in that forward line, McParland was very sharp at the weekend, Murnin is a serious ball winner and reminds me a little bit of Enda Muldoon. Clarke and Grugan are two very classy players and if you add in the likes of Campbell, O'Neill, Rafferty etc off the bench then you can have good options there.

I'd worry a little for them defensively but I think they're heading in the right direction.

Is there any hope Dyas will play some football this year?
Post by: Targetman on July 18, 2017, 12:12:47 AM
I wouldn't be lumping on Kildare at them odds, I would give Armagh a good chance of winning this game , it's wonderful what a bit of momentum can do, Kildare have lost one of their best players through suspension so it'll be close, Down and Armagh double,   nice little earner!!
Post by: LilySavage on July 18, 2017, 12:22:49 AM
Kildare have lost to Louth at 1/6, Wicklow at 1/8 and Westmeath at 2/7 just to name a few in recent memory. Wouldn't read too much into a slight nod from the odds compilers. Feely and Doyle out swings this in Armagh favour. Armagh were comfortable enough in Thurles despite the poor call on goal in first half and Quinlivan goal at crucial time didn't stop them either. 50/50 game.
Post by: lurganblue on July 18, 2017, 10:13:38 AM
I expect this to be a bit of a shootout.  Both teams capable of putting up a decent score.  Goals chances will be crucial.

Armagh turn over a fierce amount of ball with high intensity tackling.  Hopefully this continues and is a platform for victory.
Post by: stew on July 18, 2017, 10:24:06 AM
We have no chance here, I saw the trouble Kildare gave Dublin despite back to back sucker punches, they are an exceptional outfit who score a ton and who fight for every ball, we are progressing nicely and will put it up to them for a while but I see them beating us by seven points or so.

I was praying for a tie with Down, get them we are in the QF, now we can hopefully give a good account of ourselves and with the squad we have and the experience we have gained, I expect us to dominate D3 next season and get promotion.

McGeeney will keep his job after this run, he will also be very motivated going up against Kildare for obvious reasons, interesting draws make for great games.
Post by: punt kick on July 18, 2017, 10:40:53 AM
It is a great draw for Armagh, win or lose it will show where they are, another match against Down would have showed nothing, no point in getting to a quarter to be tanked by Tyrone or Dublin.
Post by: Orior on July 18, 2017, 12:37:09 PM
Quote from: punt kick on July 18, 2017, 10:40:53 AM
It is a great draw for Armagh, win or lose it will show where they are, another match against Down would have showed nothing, no point in getting to a quarter to be tanked by Tyrone or Dublin.

Correct!
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 18, 2017, 01:55:08 PM
As I predicted it looks like Feely will have his ban overturned. He can appeal any of his three black cards this year and knowing the GAA appeals process, it's hard not to see him succeed.
Post by: Low and Hard on July 18, 2017, 02:58:39 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on July 18, 2017, 12:12:36 AM

A lot has been said about Kildare so far but they have proven very little, Armagh have a talented bunch of players coming through now and as maligned as McGeeney has been he is clearly a manager who players are very loyal and committed to. Armagh remind a little bit of 2014. I think they have got real quality in that forward line, McParland was very sharp at the weekend, Murnin is a serious ball winner and reminds me a little bit of Enda Muldoon. Clarke and Grugan are two very classy players and if you add in the likes of Campbell, O'Neill, Rafferty etc off the bench then you can have good options there.

I'd worry a little for them defensively but I think they're heading in the right direction.

Please don't compare Murnin to Enda Muldoon again.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 18, 2017, 03:21:12 PM
Quote from: Low and Hard on July 18, 2017, 02:58:39 PM

Murnin reminds me of Enda Muldoon.
Post by: Low and Hard on July 18, 2017, 03:35:59 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on July 18, 2017, 03:21:12 PM
Quote from: Low and Hard on July 18, 2017, 02:58:39 PM

Murnin reminds me of Enda Muldoon.

Enda this conversation.
Post by: Orior on July 18, 2017, 04:09:25 PM
Dyas was a great player, but plagued with injury. Sadly I cannot see him getting back into the current team.
Post by: TheGreatest on July 18, 2017, 04:27:51 PM
Should be a couple of red cards in this one with Armagh playing.

Post by: tonto1888 on July 18, 2017, 04:58:19 PM
Quote from: TheGreatest on July 18, 2017, 04:27:51 PM

None in the last game. None v Fermanagh. Not sure what this post is about to be honest
Post by: Orior on July 18, 2017, 05:11:59 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 18, 2017, 04:58:19 PM
Quote from: TheGreatest on July 18, 2017, 04:27:51 PM

None in the last game. None v Fermanagh. Not sure what this post is about to be honest

Well I suppose we had a run of red cards in the league. We've tightened all that up for our run in the championship.
Post by: seafoid on July 18, 2017, 06:22:51 PM
It's great to see Jamie Clarke enjoying his football again and scoring regularly. He got an awful lot of abuse not so long ago from arseholes who call themselves fans. Cough cough
Post by: mcklatchee on July 18, 2017, 06:54:19 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on July 18, 2017, 01:55:08 PM
As I predicted it looks like Feely will have his ban overturned. He can appeal any of his three black cards this year and knowing the GAA appeals process, it's hard not to see him succeed.

Why is it likely that he will get the ban overturned?

He clearly stepped into the space of ongoing player. Classic black card. The degree of contact is relevant only to how good he is to taking out a runner. It's not relevant as to whether taking a player out is a black card
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 18, 2017, 07:00:19 PM
Quote from: mcklatchee on July 18, 2017, 06:54:19 PM

He clearly stepped into the space of ongoing player. Classic black card. The degree of contact is relevant only to how good he is to taking out a runner. It's not relevant as to whether taking a player out is a black card

Seemingly the Cork one is the one they expect to be rescinded.
Post by: Main Street on July 18, 2017, 07:21:03 PM
Does no one from Armagh consider that this Kildare team are being overpraised for their performance against the Dubs?
How about the Dubs are not that good yet? ;)
I mean they struggled badly against Carlow and only really began to get the upper hand when Carlow's best player got sent off early in the 2nd half.
Armagh went down to Tipp and showed real mettle, came from behind to beat a highly motivated organised team who had just easily beaten Cavan in Breffini the week before. This Kildare team are the new white hype after just one game.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 18, 2017, 07:25:02 PM

It's the GAA, bans rarely stick no matter how appropriate they are. Throw in the fact there are 3 cards they can appeal, it will be overturned, deserved or not deserved.
Post by: ONeill on July 18, 2017, 07:29:32 PM
Up Armagh. I love apples.
Post by: mcklatchee on July 18, 2017, 07:46:57 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 18, 2017, 07:00:19 PM

Fair enough. I don't recall that one. Is there no time limit on these appeals?
Post by: mcklatchee on July 18, 2017, 07:48:08 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on July 18, 2017, 07:25:02 PM

It's the GAA, bans regularly stick no matter how appropriate they are. Throw in the fact there are 3 cards they can appeal, it will be overturned, deserved or not deserved.

On that basis all cards would be appealed and overturned
Post by: tonto1888 on July 18, 2017, 07:53:06 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 18, 2017, 07:21:03 PM
Does no one from Armagh consider that this Kildare team are being overpraised for their performance against the Dubs?
How about the Dubs are not that good yet? ;)
I mean they struggled badly against Carlow and only really began to get the upper hand when Carlow's best player got sent off early in the 2nd half.
Armagh went down to Tipp and showed real mettle, came from behind to beat a highly motivated organised team who had just easily beaten Cavan in Breffini the week before. This Kildare team are the new white hype after just one game.

I think they've been overpraised to be honest. They lost by 9 points afterall and I reckon Dublin were pulling up. That said they are a good team and will probably have too much for us
Post by: Jinxy on July 18, 2017, 08:20:12 PM
I believe Armagh are very rough this year.
Post by: mcklatchee on July 18, 2017, 08:25:47 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 18, 2017, 08:20:12 PM

Define rough?
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 18, 2017, 08:28:10 PM
Quote from: mcklatchee on July 18, 2017, 08:25:47 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 18, 2017, 08:20:12 PM

Define rough?

I believe it would be the opposite to post Celtic Tiger era Meath.
Post by: Jinxy on July 18, 2017, 08:32:43 PM
A lot you'd know about the Celtic Tiger.
Post by: Main Street on July 18, 2017, 09:56:07 PM
Rough in apple county terms is a strong cider, strong but dry. lacking that apple juice flavour but effective where it matters.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 18, 2017, 10:17:58 PM
The Cirk one happened in 72nd minute accirding to reports and is the source of appeal. If they get Feely back it would be a massive boost and there could be a great battle with Grimley.
Also it would mean Feely can be left on frees as that is an issue if ge is missing along with Neil Flynn.
Post by: tonto1888 on July 18, 2017, 11:02:37 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on July 18, 2017, 10:17:58 PM
The Cirk one happened in 72nd minute accirding to reports and is the source of appeal. If they get Feely back it would be a massive boost and there could be a great battle with Grimley.
Also it would mean Feely can be left on frees as that is an issue if ge is missing along with Neil Flynn.

Surely they can't appeal based on it being on the 72nd minute
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 18, 2017, 11:38:46 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 18, 2017, 11:02:37 PM

Cormac Reilly was referee. That's surely evidence enough for it to be overturned.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 18, 2017, 11:41:34 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 18, 2017, 08:32:43 PM
A lot you'd know about the Celtic Tiger.

Colm O'Rourke defaulted the state for millions?
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 18, 2017, 11:45:29 PM

No that's not a reason to appeal but it seems to be very hazy so I thonk even lads I know at the game can't remember it.
Were cameras at it? Or will GAA accept in house footage?
Post by: macdanger2 on July 18, 2017, 11:56:51 PM
Quote from: mcklatchee on July 18, 2017, 07:46:57 PM

There definitely should be a statute of limitations on these things
Post by: Rossfan on July 19, 2017, 01:04:41 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 18, 2017, 11:38:46 PM

Cormac Reilly was referee. That's surely evidence enough for it to be overturned.

:D ;D :D
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 19, 2017, 07:20:17 AM
Armagh will be Kildare's 29th SFC opponent and will complete the 'Ulster set' for them and are 18-8 v Ulster teams. That's from GAASTATS on Twitter.

When we do lose to Ulster teams it tends to be in tight affairs, thinking Tyrone 2*2pts Monaghan & Donegal after extra time and Down by the width of a cross bar.

Kildare are very much over hyped and a lot of non Kildare journalists and pundits are reaching but here's the thing so are Armagh they are a Division 3 side who can't get out of Division 3.

Kildare will allow teams a run, we are not experienced enough yet to shut teams down when that happens, Meath didn't tale theirs Dublin did, Armagh aren't Dublin though and we will run up a big score it's what we do.

Armagh might need to score 20pts+, have they the armoury for that as I don't expect they will shut us down defensively, too sloppy in the tackle.
Post by: punt kick on July 19, 2017, 08:16:51 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 19, 2017, 07:20:17 AM
Armagh will be Kildare's 29th SFC opponent and will complete the 'Ulster set' for them and are 18-8 v Ulster teams. That's from GAASTATS on Twitter.

When we do lose to Ulster teams it tends to be in tight affairs, thinking Tyrone 2*2pts Monaghan & Donegal after extra time and Down by the width of a cross bar.

Kildare are very much over hyped and a lot of non Kildare journalists and pundits are reaching but here's the thing so are Armagh they are a Division 3 side who can't get out of Division 3.

Kildare will allow teams a run, we are not experienced enough yet to shut teams down when that happens, Meath didn't tale theirs Dublin did, Armagh aren't Dublin though and we will run up a big score it's what we do.

Armagh might need to score 20pts+, have they the armoury for that as I don't expect they will shut us down defensively, too sloppy in the tackle.

Who exactly is over hyping Armagh?  This is a big ask for Armagh and most Armagh fans are seeing it as a measure of were we are, there is no expectation on Armagh here.  P.S. you can ignore the Tyronies trying to build Armagh up whilst laughing behind their keyboard.  ;)
Post by: westbound on July 19, 2017, 10:22:54 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on July 18, 2017, 11:56:51 PM

The crazy thing is, you are not allowed appeal a black card, unless you get 3 of them and are in line for a suspension. Only then can you appeal a black card (even if it was months ago!)

In theory Feely could appeal any of the 3 black cards at this stage, but he couldn't have appealed the first two before he got the 3rd one on Sunday.

Seems a bit crazy to me, but that's the GAA for ya!
Post by: Main Street on July 19, 2017, 11:29:59 AM
Quote from: punt kick on July 19, 2017, 08:16:51 AM

Who exactly is over hyping Armagh?  This is a big ask for Armagh and most Armagh fans are seeing it as a measure of were we are, there is no expectation on Armagh here.  P.S. you can ignore the Tyronies trying to build Armagh up whilst laughing behind their keyboard.  ;)
Dinny was probably trying to message while his Range Rover was negotiating the maze around the stable yards. Is it not so that he meant to write that Armagh are also hyping up Kildare, because Armagh are of the lower class?
Post by: Solo_run on July 19, 2017, 11:41:48 AM
Quote from: westbound on July 19, 2017, 10:22:54 AM

The crazy thing is, you are not allowed appeal a black card, unless you get 3 of them and are in line for a suspension. Only then can you appeal a black card (even if it was months ago!)

In theory Feely could appeal any of the 3 black cards at this stage, but he couldn't have appealed the first two before he got the 3rd one on Sunday.

This is further evidence that the black card should be done away with
Post by: westbound on July 19, 2017, 11:47:45 AM
Quote from: Solo_run on July 19, 2017, 11:41:48 AM
Quote from: westbound on July 19, 2017, 10:22:54 AM

This is further evidence that the black card should be done away with

I wouldn't agree that a 'flawed' appeals process is evidence that the black card should be gotten rid of.
Post by: Rossfan on July 19, 2017, 12:28:22 PM
Evidence no less!!
I believe the reason for not having appeals earlier is to avoid clogging up the system with appeals which have no effect.
However when a suspension looms ... then there's effect.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 19, 2017, 12:41:19 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 19, 2017, 12:28:22 PM
Evidence no less!!
I believe the reason for not having appeals earlier is to avoid clogging up the system with appeals which have no effect.

That actually makes a lot of sense....but sure why not give the doom mongers a reason to complain about the black card. I honestly believe it is a good thing when implemented correctly and understood fully.
Post by: westbound on July 19, 2017, 12:58:32 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 19, 2017, 12:41:19 PM
Evidence no less!!

That actually makes a lot of sense....but sure why not give the doom mongers a reason to complain about the black card. I honestly believe it is a good thing when implemented correctly and understood fully.

Just to be clear, I wasn't being critical of the black card. I agree with you that I think it is a good thing.

But despite Rossfan's valid points, I think cards should be appealed (or not) earlier (say within 2 weeks). Otherwise, it is possible that you might get two black cards in January and then a third in August. So 7 months have passed before you can appeal the ones in January.

Post by: Taylor on July 19, 2017, 01:08:56 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 19, 2017, 12:41:19 PM
Evidence no less!!

This being the crux of the problem because some commentators, supporters, players and referees dont seem to have a clue
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 19, 2017, 01:37:00 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 19, 2017, 11:29:59 AM
Quote from: punt kick on July 19, 2017, 08:16:51 AM

Dinny was probably trying to message while his Range Rover was negotiating the maze around the stable yards. Is it not so that he meant to write that Armagh are also hyping up Kildare, because Armagh are of the lower class?

I have a chauffeur for that.

Stevie Mc always bigging up Armagh.
Post by: maddog on July 19, 2017, 01:55:53 PM
My issue with the black card is whether its that much of a punishment. Eg Dean rock blacked carded Brogan comes on and kicks 5 points. Think 10 min sin bin would be better. Obviously the lack of understanding in implementing the rule is a big problem as mentioned by other posters.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 19, 2017, 01:58:27 PM
Quote from: maddog on July 19, 2017, 01:55:53 PM
My issue with the black card is whether its that much of a punishment. Eg Dean rock blacked carded Brogan comes on and kicks 5 points. Think 10 min sin bin would be better. Obviously the lack of understanding in implementing the rule is a big problem as mentioned by other posters.

I would prefer that too. It is a better way to punish teams in my opinion and should not have been done away with.
Post by: you take er! on July 19, 2017, 03:19:41 PM
I'm not a fan of the black card in anyway, shape or form but I agree with the last few posters it is the sheer inability of referees to understand it. Far too often refs and officials spend time stopping the game to speak to, book or black card players for the most innocuous of things. A Kildare player got booked on Sunday for a textbook shoulder - IT WASN'T EVEN A FOUL! yet the ref feels he has to book the player - honestly I was shouting at the TV it's typical of the way the game is going sanitising on field things as well as off field stuff (whatever clown felt putting a screen up to stop fans expressing their emotions at a final win needs their head examined) Refs are getting too caught up in the 'rules' and trying to be centre of attention, the best refs are those we hardly notice. How often are refs praised on TSG?? There is a reason for it generally because they are becoming obstructive in games ruining them as a spectacle and being far too card-happy. I will give a little bit of slack though in that they need to be helped by players & players squealing, falling and diving when there is no need ruin it for others. Tyrone players have more than played their part in this Phillip Jordan, Sean Cavanagh and Tiarnan McCann to name but a few.
Post by: armaghniac on July 19, 2017, 03:28:31 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 19, 2017, 01:58:27 PM

I would prefer that too. It is a better way to punish teams in my opinion and should not have been done away with.

It wouldn't stop the typical black card situation in the last 10 mins though.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 19, 2017, 03:36:22 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 19, 2017, 03:28:31 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 19, 2017, 01:58:27 PM

It wouldn't stop the typical black card situation in the last 10 mins though.

But if a team had 1 or 2 less players for the last 10 minutes they'd be less inclined to cause the foul to protect a 2-3 point lead.
Post by: Oraisteach on July 19, 2017, 03:46:54 PM
Think I'd prefer the sin bin idea as well.  A black card to a team with a limited squad is a serious loss, but to a deep panel like Dublin's, it means nothing.  The sin bin punishes each team equally. 
Post by: del_carroll on July 19, 2017, 03:52:06 PM
Wit Doyle out, and feely doubtful, I'd be thinking neil Flynn comes in either on the 40, with Conway dropping to cb, or to FF, with Brophy going to half forward....is he fit? Automatic starter for me if he is... Lovely footballer
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 19, 2017, 03:57:43 PM
Quote from: del_carroll on July 19, 2017, 03:52:06 PM
Wit Doyle out, and feely doubtful, I'd be thinking neil Flynn comes in either on the 40, with Conway dropping to cb, or to FF, with Brophy going to half forward....is he fit? Automatic starter for me if he is... Lovely footballer

Wasn't togged out on Sunday. Hamstring injury.
Post by: seafoid on July 19, 2017, 04:08:11 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on July 19, 2017, 03:46:54 PM
Think I'd prefer the sin bin idea as well.  A black card to a team with a limited squad is a serious loss, but to a deep panel like Dublin's, it means nothing.  The sin bin punishes each team equally.
I would too.
Post by: Orior on July 19, 2017, 04:59:57 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on July 19, 2017, 03:46:54 PM

Good idea
Post by: smelmoth on July 19, 2017, 06:46:58 PM
Black card is not just a punishment. It's a deterrent.

Players slog their guts out all winter and spring to play in the big games. When faced with the will I/ won't i decision in a game the 10 mins breather is not the same deterrent as the black card. Keep it. Work on the standard of refs and politely remind journalists and broadcasters that pundits that are incapable of understanding a rule or too lazy to find out what it does or how it is supposed to work do nothing positive for the game
Post by: illdecide on July 20, 2017, 10:25:22 AM
Whatever team lines out both teams will give their all and it should be a good game of football, Kildare did impress against Dublin and that will give them confidence (if losing can give you confidence but it was the Dubs). Armagh having won 3 games on the bounce and the games have gradually been getting tougher and likewise Kildare will be another step up again but it's a game that Armagh can win but Kildare will start as favourites and rightly so.
As i stated earlier in thread this game will let us know exactly where Armagh are in terms of development and i would love to win this game to go head to head with Tyrone in Croke Park, should Kildare win this i believe they'll give Tyrone all they want too. (is that draw in stone...winners of this tie to play Tyrone?)
Post by: armaghniac on July 20, 2017, 10:29:00 AM
Quote from: illdecide on July 20, 2017, 10:25:22 AM
Whatever team lines out both teams will give their all and it should be a good game of football, Kildare did impress against Dublin and that will give them confidence (if losing can give you confidence but it was the Dubs). Armagh having won 3 games on the bounce and the games have gradually been getting tougher and likewise Kildare will be another step up again but it's a game that Armagh can win but Kildare will start as favourites and rightly so.
As i stated earlier in thread this game will let us know exactly where Armagh are in terms of development and i would love to win this game to go head to head with Tyrone in Croke Park, should Kildare win this i believe they'll give Tyrone all they want too. (is that draw in stone...winners of this tie to play Tyrone?)

Presumably, if Armagh and Monaghan win they will be a draw for the QF pairing. If Kildare or Down win then there will be no draw as they will not play the same team as in the provincial final.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 21, 2017, 06:25:06 AM
Feeley's black card against Clare in the League has been rescinded he's record has been amended. That's a big plus for Kildare.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 21, 2017, 07:48:27 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 21, 2017, 06:25:06 AM
Feeley's black card against Clare in the League has been rescinded he's record has been amended. That's a big plus for Kildare.

As I predicted, a cast iron ban in the GAA never sticks.

Quelle surprise.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 21, 2017, 07:53:09 AM

Do you know on what basis?

What was Feeley's black card for in the Clare match?
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 21, 2017, 07:58:26 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 21, 2017, 07:53:09 AM

Do you know on what basis?

What was Feeley's black card for in the Clare match?

The GAA twitted it last night
https://twitter.com/officialgaa/status/888179624894746624 (https://twitter.com/officialgaa/status/888179624894746624)

No detailed explanation just said not proven
Post by: tonto1888 on July 21, 2017, 09:33:04 AM
I think it's fair enough. Would be harsh to be banned for three when two of them came in a different competition. Plus you can no excuses when we beat ye 😉
I see McKernan is allowed to play against Monaghan. Am I right in thinking he got theee black cards in three championship games
Post by: illdecide on July 21, 2017, 10:23:48 AM
The GAA are a joke in their rules, is there anything that actually sticks. This is not having a go at Feely or any Kildare player just over the years the amount of players who have got off with their suspensions or bans is a joke. In fact any player who actually takes their ban is silly as it will almost certainly be over turned...Why is this?

Look at the soccer...try getting a suspension over turned by UEFA for example, not a chance. There is not even a process for an appeal, so why can the GAA be simply make a moclery of their rules. Surely the Refs are thinking what's the point?

I wonder why KmcG didn't appeal his touch line ban earlier? 
Post by: stew on July 21, 2017, 11:24:44 AM
Quote from: illdecide on July 21, 2017, 10:23:48 AM
The GAA are a joke in their rules, is there anything that actually sticks. This is not having a go at Feely or any Kildare player just over the years the amount of players who have got off with their suspensions or bans is a joke. In fact any player who actually takes their ban is silly as it will almost certainly be over turned...Why is this?

Look at the soccer...try getting a suspension over turned by UEFA for example, not a chance. There is not even a process for an appeal, so why can the GAA be simply make a moclery of their rules. Surely the Refs are thinking what's the point?

They hired Mickey Harte as a consultant and he threatened to sue, the gaa shat themselves collectively and caved, that's how it works.

Disgraceful decision but true to form for the GAA, I expect nothing less and to be honest, it hardly matters, it means than instead of being beaten by 7-10 points, we get beaten by 12, no big deal just another bending over by the GAA brass.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 21, 2017, 12:09:27 PM

Simplifies the team selection anyway. Paul Cribbin for Doyle with Conway moving to the backs. Everyone else as you were.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 21, 2017, 12:12:30 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 21, 2017, 12:09:27 PM

Simplifies the team selection anyway. Paul Cribbin for Doyle with Conway moving to the backs. Everyone else as you were.

Any word on Neil Flynn DH? Kildare camp is tighter than John Costello with GAA money.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 21, 2017, 12:20:50 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 21, 2017, 12:12:30 PM

Any word on Neil Flynn DH? Kildare camp is tighter than John Costello with GAA money.

Hamstring trouble. Lack of football will probably cost him at this stage of the year.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 21, 2017, 12:42:18 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 21, 2017, 12:20:50 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 21, 2017, 12:12:30 PM

Hamstring trouble. Lack of football will probably cost him at this stage of the year.

Pity hopefully it won't impact his development as I believe he has a lot to offer, McCormack as well.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 21, 2017, 03:53:15 PM
I know many didn´t fire against the Dubs, but Ben McCormack is another man who might be pushing to get back in.
Paul Cribbin will definitely come in now with Conway at 6. That leaves one big move for Conway and Cribbin goes to where he started the campaign.
I was at the Clare match and remember him getting the black along the stand side I think? I think there were cameras at that too so there must have been some video evidence. Either way massive boost.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 21, 2017, 04:13:12 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on July 21, 2017, 03:53:15 PM
I know many didn´t fire against the Dubs, but Ben McCormack is another man who might be pushing to get back in.
Paul Cribbin will definitely come in now with Conway at 6. That leaves one big move for Conway and Cribbin goes to where he started the campaign.
I was at the Clare match and remember him getting the black along the stand side I think? I think there were cameras at that too so there must have been some video evidence. Either way massive boost.

Yeah we picked up two in the space of a minute. Slattery was black carded in the play before Feely went.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 21, 2017, 05:00:49 PM
No matter how it happened, it's huge for Kildare. He is such a focal point for Kildare now in terms of pulling the strings and the obvious high fielding. Armagh now need to stop him and in turn hopefully that will give others a chance to shine.
Also it settles concerns over free kicks.

Armagh folk!
A - What will Jamie Clarke do the next day? Kildare don't exactly do smothering defence, so will he go back closer to goals, or will he float around spraying ball around...
I know he is in opposition next day but he is a joy to watch.

B - How will midfield pan out with Feely back?
Post by: Main Street on July 21, 2017, 05:28:11 PM
Such overconfidence from Kildare fans, it's spilling over onto this thread since ye paid up for Feely's bail. You guys are chomping at the bit.
Post by: seafoid on July 21, 2017, 06:30:32 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 21, 2017, 04:13:12 PM

Yeah we picked up two in the space of a minute. Slattery was black carded in the play before Feely went.
Was he black carded or blackguarded ?
Post by: armaghniac on July 21, 2017, 06:35:26 PM

Yous must be very rough. I fear for Armagh against such ruffians.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 21, 2017, 06:55:42 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 21, 2017, 06:35:26 PM

Yous must be very rough. I fear for Armagh against such ruffians.

Your boy Hughes was referee that day. He obviously had a premonition that Armagh would face Kildare this summer and tried to get as many of our players into disciplinary trouble as possible. That's just typical of the northern win at all costs mentality.
Post by: armaghniac on July 21, 2017, 07:08:35 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 21, 2017, 06:55:42 PM
Your boy Hughes was referee that day. He obviously had a premonition that Armagh would face Kildare this summer and tried to get as many of our players into disciplinary trouble as possible.

I'm sure identifying disciplinary lapses by Kildare was one of the easier tasks he has undertaken.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 21, 2017, 07:59:11 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 21, 2017, 07:08:35 PM
Your boy Hughes was referee that day. He obviously had a premonition that Armagh would face Kildare this summer and tried to get as many of our players into disciplinary trouble as possible.

I'm sure identifying disciplinary lapses by Kildare was one of the easier tasks he has undertaken.

To be fair the discipline of the Kildare players this season has been in general excellent. There is very little handbags in our games, no abusing or soving of officials and no brainless sending offs. Keith Cribben did catch a Meath man with an elbow but that is fair enough considering he lives in JTB.
Hopefully McQuillan is refereeing (never thought I'd say that).

Post by: Orior on July 21, 2017, 10:00:13 PM
Bring it.
Post by: Throw ball on July 21, 2017, 10:52:09 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 21, 2017, 07:59:11 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 21, 2017, 07:08:35 PM

To be fair the discipline of the Kildare players this season has been in general excellent. There is very little handbags in our games, no abusing or soving of officials and no brainless sending offs. Keith Cribben did catch a Meath man with an elbow but that is fair enough considering he lives in JTB.
Hopefully McQuillan is refereeing (never thought I'd say that).

Joe McQuillan and refereeing should never appear in the same sentence! ;D

Seriously though I would expect a Munster of Connaught ref.
Post by: balladmaker on July 22, 2017, 12:24:19 AM
Speaking of refs, has it been announced yet?
Post by: smelmoth on July 22, 2017, 09:21:03 AM
Quote from: stew on July 21, 2017, 11:24:44 AM
Quote from: illdecide on July 21, 2017, 10:23:48 AM

They hired Mickey Harte as a consultant and he threatened to sue, the gaa shat themselves collectively and caved, that's how it works.

Disgraceful decision but true to form for the GAA, I expect nothing less and to be honest, it hardly matters, it means than instead of being beaten by 7-10 points, we get beaten by 12, no big deal just another bending over by the GAA brass.

It's only a disgraceful decision if the black card was merited and should have stood.

The general ability of the gaa to implement their rules during the game and enforce them afterwards is genuinely laughable though
Post by: stew on July 22, 2017, 10:01:42 AM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on July 21, 2017, 05:00:49 PM
No matter how it happened, it's huge for Kildare. He is such a focal point for Kildare now in terms of pulling the strings and the obvious high fielding. Armagh now need to stop him and in turn hopefully that will give others a chance to shine.

Armagh folk!
A - What will Jamie Clarke do the next day? Kildare don't exactly do smothering defence, so will he go back closer to goals, or will he float around spraying ball around...

Jamie Clarke will keep us somewhat afloat if given a free role, his movement both off and on the ball is second to none and his work rate was tremendous last day out. Clarke will do both,he will distribute AND he will hunt for opportunities in front of goal.

Midfield should be alright, Grimley is having a great season for us in the middle and he is going to be  one of the best MF players in the country for the next decade and Sheridan seems to be everywhere supporting him and runs his socks off, if. and its a big if, we can win the majority of our own kickouts we can keep this from being a blowout, heres hoping.

I desperately wanted Down and believe we would have taken them to the woodshed, it did not work out that way but I have no doubt the Armagh lads will give their all, especially since McGeeney is their former no 1. )
Post by: PW Nally on July 22, 2017, 10:50:28 AM
Niall Grimley any relation to Paul?
Post by: smelmoth on July 22, 2017, 10:54:25 AM
Quote from: stew on July 22, 2017, 10:01:42 AM

Armagh folk!

Jamie Clarke will keep us somewhat afloat if given a free role, his movement both off and on the ball is second to none and his work rate was tremendous last day out. Clarke will do both,he will distribute AND he will hunt for opportunities in front of goal.

Midfield should be alright, Grimley is having a great season for us in the middle and he is going to be  one of the best MF players in the country for the next decade and Sheridan seems to be everywhere supporting him and runs his socks off, if. and its a big if, we can win the majority of our own kickouts we can keep this from being a blowout, heres hoping.

I desperately wanted Down and believe we would have taken them to the woodshed, it did not work out that way but I have no doubt the Armagh lads will give their all, especially since McGeeney is their former no 1. )

I think grimley and Sheridan's main role will be on Kildare's kick outs. On our own the key will be to keep the ball away from those 2. Big role for boys like Forker and grugan and even a retreating inside forward. I'm hoping we don't take the easy option and stick O'Hanlon and Duffy in there. We will need to post a decent score. We need score takers who will hold their position
Post by: smelmoth on July 22, 2017, 10:55:12 AM
Quote from: PW Nally on July 22, 2017, 10:50:28 AM

None that anybody knows about
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 22, 2017, 11:48:21 AM
Quote from: smelmoth on July 22, 2017, 10:55:12 AM

Not related to John or Mark either.
Post by: joemamas on July 22, 2017, 02:33:56 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on July 22, 2017, 11:48:21 AM

I thought you had a game to referee today
Post by: stew on July 22, 2017, 02:41:02 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on July 22, 2017, 10:54:25 AM

Armagh folk!

I think grimley and Sheridan's main role will be on Kildare's kick outs. On our own the key will be to keep the ball away from those 2. Big role for boys like Forker and grugan and even a retreating inside forward. I'm hoping we don't take the easy option and stick O'Hanlon and Duffy in there. We will need to post a decent score. We need score takers who will hold their position

The biggest thing we have going for us is that Kildare squander more chances than anyone else in the country, if we can force them into bad shots all day and keep the net from bulging we will at least make a game out of this, as of now, we are looking at a tanking.
Post by: tonto1888 on July 22, 2017, 02:53:52 PM
Quote from: stew on July 22, 2017, 02:41:02 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on July 22, 2017, 10:54:25 AM

Armagh folk!

The biggest thing we have going for us is that Kildare squander more chances than anyone else in the country, if we can force them into bad shots all day and keep the net from bulging we will at least make a game out of this, as of now, we are looking at a tanking.

With the exception of ourselves.
Post by: naka on July 22, 2017, 03:33:00 PM
Stew
We are not getting tanked
We will be fine.
For me I think we are winning this.
Post by: mcklatchee on July 22, 2017, 03:50:53 PM
Quote from: naka on July 22, 2017, 03:33:00 PM
Stew
We are not getting tanked
We will be fine.
For me I think we are winning this.

I can see why they are favourites. They did better than us at a higher level than us. But there is no head to head and I wouldn't read anything into games against Dublin. Genuinely think we have the players to compete. Tankings either should not and will not be on the cards
Post by: omochain on July 22, 2017, 05:26:56 PM
Armagh have nothing to fear here. Their improvement week over week has been outstanding. Murnin has been exceptional under high balls and if we get someone to play closer to him we could make hay in and around the goal. Our defense is tightening and Brendan Donaghy is back to his best. I am nervous about our restarts but they are improving and our midfield is playing way above my expectations. Tackling which is our Achilles heel is improving but could still burn us, depending upon the Referee. If we focus on winning dirty ball in the middle of the field and get Jamie on the ball regularly and often we have a 50/50 chance here.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 22, 2017, 05:59:28 PM
So Clarke roams where he wants to is the most likely? It worked a treat the last day.
It should be a good battle either way.
Post by: Armamike on July 22, 2017, 10:03:34 PM
I don't think Armagh will get tanked. That's not to say we won't do something daft and find a way of losing the game, but the players will give this one a good rattle and it will be competitive. 

Post by: seafoid on July 22, 2017, 11:04:27 PM

What about Matthew and Luke?
Post by: anportmorforjfc on July 24, 2017, 06:18:11 PM
Derek O'Mahoney down to referee.
Post by: Orior on July 24, 2017, 09:45:49 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 22, 2017, 11:04:27 PM

What about Matthew and Luke?

Not even Simon and Peter.
Post by: illdecide on July 24, 2017, 11:28:15 PM
Quote from: anportmorforjfc on July 24, 2017, 06:18:11 PM

Where's he from? Has he done Armagh recently?
Great read today in Irish News regarding KMcG's time with Kldare...Jonny Doyle def thought he was the bee's knees
Post by: Solo_run on July 24, 2017, 11:59:46 PM
Quote from: illdecide on July 24, 2017, 11:28:15 PM
Quote from: anportmorforjfc on July 24, 2017, 06:18:11 PM

Where's he from? Has he done Armagh recently?
Great read today in Irish News regarding KMcG's time with Kldare...Jonny Doyle def thought he was the bee's knees

From Tipperary.

Refereed Monaghan vs Fermanagh this year in ulster, Kildare vs Galway league final and Donegal vs Meath I think.

He was escorted of the pitch after the Cavan vs Dublin U21s match in 2014.

Think he sent Moriarity off against fermanagh in the league final a few years ago
Post by: seafoid on July 25, 2017, 12:53:32 AM
This is the drink ahead of the big match :

https://www.wine-searcher.com/wine-50269-0001-jim-barry-the-armagh-shiraz-clare-valley-australia

You'll never go back to Buckfast
Post by: illdecide on July 25, 2017, 10:54:31 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 25, 2017, 12:53:32 AM
This is the drink ahead of the big match :

https://www.wine-searcher.com/wine-50269-0001-jim-barry-the-armagh-shiraz-clare-valley-australia

You'll never go back to Buckfast

Nothing will ever replace the Buckie ;)
Post by: illdecide on July 25, 2017, 11:39:27 AM
I see Liam Kearns in today's Irish News saying Armagh will be hard to stop...WTF has he been watching, they're only now playing a Div 1 team. Yes they have momentum from winning three games in a row but once Kildare match them for intensity then the quality will come into it and then we'll see where Armagh are really at...
Post by: LilySavage on July 25, 2017, 04:14:32 PM
Kildare have only played one Division 1 team this year too. Lost by 9 points.
Post by: Oraisteach on July 25, 2017, 04:34:36 PM
True, Lily, but I thought Kildare looked very good against the Dubs.  The score differential doesn't properly reflect the talent and system that Kildare displayed.  I'm hoping that the Lilywhite fast incisive play doesn't cause panic in the Orange midfield and defense, causing us to resort to the chaotic fouling to which we are prone.  That said, I've been pleased with Armagh's run so far.  As the cliche goes, this match will be the litmus test.  Whether we like it or not, we are a Div 3 team, and everything will be ratcheted up significantly against a war-tested outfit.
Post by: seafoid on July 25, 2017, 05:54:58 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on July 25, 2017, 04:34:36 PM
True, Lily, but I thought Kildare looked very good against the Dubs.  The score differential doesn't properly reflect the talent and system that Kildare displayed.  I'm hoping that the Lilywhite fast incisive play doesn't cause panic in the Orange midfield and defense, causing us to resort to the chaotic fouling to which we are prone.  That said, I've been pleased with Armagh's run so far.  As the cliche goes, this match will be the litmus test.  Whether we like it or not, we are a Div 3 team, and everything will be ratcheted up significantly against a war-tested outfit.
Kildare have good forwards. I would be concerned about that if I was managing Armagh
Post by: armaghniac on July 25, 2017, 05:57:33 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 25, 2017, 05:54:58 PM
Kildare have good forwards. I would be concerned about that if I was managing Armagh

I wonder does the Armagh manager have any sources of information about Kildare, other than posts here?
That said, knowing something and being able to do anything about it are not the same thing.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 25, 2017, 08:13:45 PM
Quote from: illdecide on July 25, 2017, 11:39:27 AM
I see Liam Kearns in today's Irish News saying Armagh will be hard to stop...WTF has he been watching, they're only now playing a Div 1 team. Yes they have momentum from winning three games in a row but once Kildare match them for intensity then the quality will come into it and then we'll see where Armagh are really at...

I was confident enough when this draw was made that Armagh would win this round four tie however I'm not so sure anymore after watching the tanking Galway gave to Donegal and i would consider Galway and Kildare to be around the same level.
Post by: Solo_run on July 25, 2017, 08:15:05 PM
 Kildare 3-19 Armagh 0-14
Post by: Oraisteach on July 25, 2017, 08:23:07 PM
All right, Kildare 2-15  Armagh 1-14
Post by: naka on July 25, 2017, 09:21:06 PM
Armagh by 4
3-9 to1-11 :D
Post by: seafoid on July 25, 2017, 09:42:56 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 25, 2017, 05:57:33 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 25, 2017, 05:54:58 PM

I wonder does the Armagh manager have any sources of information about Kildare, other than posts here?
That said, knowing something and being able to do anything about it are not the same thing.
If he wins this it'll be a good year for him
Post by: Orior on July 25, 2017, 10:17:13 PM
Quote from: Solo_run on July 25, 2017, 08:15:05 PM
Kildare 3-19 Armagh 0-14

Don't be ridiculous.

Kildare 3-18 Armagh 0-13
Post by: omochain on July 25, 2017, 10:30:25 PM
Armagh 1 - 12
Kildare 0 - 14
Post by: illdecide on July 25, 2017, 11:15:09 PM
Kildare 1-14 Armagh 2-13

Thats more hoping than anything but sure...bring it on. It's time to shite or get of the toilet
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 26, 2017, 12:58:20 AM
I think Kildare by four if both teams are really going at it...
2-14 to 1-13.
Kildare are after coming on a sight in terms of goals this year. Still worry without the captain Doyle we might be more open than usual.
I think it should be a good one no matter. Kildare have shown they have strike runners too and there is fear over Armagh fouling so that should see us getting a few frees.
That being said Kildare leave gaps down the middle to attack so Armagh will get some joy there too.
Post by: armaghniac on July 26, 2017, 01:21:26 AM
Quote from: illdecide on July 25, 2017, 11:15:09 PM
Kildare 1-14 Armagh 2-13

Thats more hoping than anything but sure...bring it on. It's time to shite or get of the toilet

Let's hope we do not exit through the toilet.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 26, 2017, 10:02:00 AM
A lot will depend on Armagh discipline and the attitude of the referee to having a good manly game and not being influenced by previous refereeing nonsense. This will probably be the refs biggest and final inter county game of the season and will have an eye to retaining place in the so called elite panel. Not a great situation.
Post by: balladmaker on July 26, 2017, 11:16:09 AM
Unfortunately the man who wil have the biggest say in the winning or losing of this game will be the ref.  If he allows Gaelic Football to be a contact sport as it was intended to be, then we'll see a good, physical encounter that is fairly ref'ed.  On the other hand, if he decides to blow for the slightest of contact, it will be a shambles as other games have been this year.  If I was having a word with the ref., I'd ask him to be invisible and let both teams go for it.

Too many unknowns to stick the house on either Kildare or Armagh this weekend.  If going by form, Kildare should win it pulling up ... but at the same time, Armagh cannot be written off so easily.  It's exactly the game that Armagh need so we can see where they are at currently ... so long as the ref. doesn't spoil the game.
Post by: Rossfan on July 26, 2017, 11:19:26 AM
So a ref giving frees for fouls by Armagh players is "spoiling the game"....... :o
Post by: stew on July 26, 2017, 11:56:59 AM
Kildare 2-20 Armagh 1-14.

If they can score 20 like they did against the Dubs we cannot expect to hold them under 25.

We are doomed to get our asses kicked, we needed Down, sadly not to be, thanks for the memories Kieran!
Post by: balladmaker on July 26, 2017, 12:00:26 PM
QuoteSo a ref giving frees for fouls by Armagh players is "spoiling the game"

Yes, if the alleged fouls are not actually fouls, then it would spoil the game, should they be against either team.
Post by: mup on July 26, 2017, 12:41:10 PM
Quote from: stew on July 26, 2017, 11:56:59 AM
Kildare 2-20 Armagh 1-14.

If they can score 20 like they did against the Dubs we cannot expect to hold them under 25.

We are doomed to get our asses kicked, we needed Down, sadly not to be, thanks for the memories Kieran!

Have you got Kerry blood?

McGeeney teams (as we should know) are always very well prepared. While it's a Div 1 team v a Div 3 team McGeeney never places much emphasis on the league. I expect this to be a tight affair with hopefully Kildare coming out on top with 2/3 points to spare.
Post by: illdecide on July 27, 2017, 10:50:03 AM
John Mac doesn't have much expectation for Armagh according to today's Irish News, he says he's going down to watch the match more hoping than any expectations...I know John you're hyping Kildare up and trying to play down Armagh's hopes but really on their day Kildare are only marginally better so a result for Armagh is not beyond them.
Post by: yellowcard on July 27, 2017, 11:08:11 AM
Quote from: illdecide on July 27, 2017, 10:50:03 AM
John Mac doesn't have much expectation for Armagh according to today's Irish News, he says he's going down to watch the match more hoping than any expectations...I know John you're hyping Kildare up and trying to play down Armagh's hopes but really on their day Kildare are only marginally better so a result for Armagh is not beyond them.

I think that is only a fair reflection of how most Armagh supporters feel. We are playing a top 8 side for a place in the last 8, when our league form suggests we are outside the top 16. Why should we be travelling with expectation, if we get a decent performance most supporters would be happy overall with the championship campaign. I think we need to produce a performance above what we've shown at any stage this year to win this match. It is possible but not probable. 
Post by: armaghniac on July 27, 2017, 11:28:23 AM
Quote from: illdecide on July 27, 2017, 10:50:03 AM

Armagh has shown some promise in the last game against Tipp. However, they have a long record of good games being followed by bad ones and the present system just isn't bedded town enough to be sure that it will work next time. We were fortunate enough to beat Westmeath, who scored 0-10 against Dublin, half of what Kildare achieved.
Post by: illdecide on July 27, 2017, 11:55:34 AM
Fair enough, when you put it like that...Anyone wanna buy a ticket? :P
Post by: Main Street on July 27, 2017, 11:58:20 AM
I see there are disturbing reports of Westmeath supporters and players being brutalised by their malicious Armagh counterparts (the shadow of McGeeney).
Perhaps a more subtle approach will suffice against Kildare as in "I know where you park your Range Rover"?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 27, 2017, 12:39:19 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 27, 2017, 11:58:20 AM
I see there are disturbing reports of Westmeath supporters and players being brutalised by their malicious Armagh counterparts (the shadow of McGeeney).
Perhaps a more subtle approach will suffice against Kildare as in "I know where you park your Range Rover"?

Post this under the dressing room door with the message 'next horse is yours!'

(http://www.zerohedge.com/sites/default/files/images/user5/imageroot/2013/03/horsehead.png)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 27, 2017, 12:47:48 PM
(http://www.handleystockphotos.com/image.php?mediaID=OTY0MjA0ZWQ4ZDE3YWQ=&type=thumb&folderID=NjEwNGVkOGQxN2Fk&seo=Horse-eating-apple-)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 27, 2017, 01:24:48 PM
That's nasty DH....I held off the Shergar jibe but....oh you're nasty  ;D
Post by: Main Street on July 27, 2017, 02:17:28 PM
Shergar?

(https://doggiedogcoats.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/dog-sitting-in-front-of-empty-dog-bowl.jpg?w=200&h=300)
Post by: Orior on July 27, 2017, 03:22:03 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 27, 2017, 02:17:28 PM
Shergar?

(https://doggiedogcoats.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/dog-sitting-in-front-of-empty-dog-bowl.jpg?w=200&h=300)

My labrador wants to be a magician, and has changed its name to Labracadabrador.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 27, 2017, 03:34:41 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 27, 2017, 02:17:28 PM
Shergar?

Him and Nairac😂
Post by: illdecide on July 27, 2017, 11:01:50 PM
Kildare team anyone?
Armagh team announced 9:00am tomorrow morning. Always named on a Thurs nite but now Fri mornings...Whats that all about.
Post by: illdecide on July 28, 2017, 09:10:36 AM
1 (GK)   Blaine Hughes   Blaine O'hAodha   Carraig an Chrupain
2   James Morgan   Sean O Muireagain   Raonaithe na Croise
3   Charlie Vernon   Cathal Mac Mhearnáin   Cláirsigh Ard Mhacha
4   Paul Hughes   Pól Ó hAodha   Raonaithe na Croise
5   Mark Shields   Marcas O' Siail   An Chrois Bhan
6   Brendan Donaghy   Brendan O'Donnchaidh   Cluain Mhor
7   Aidan Forker   Aodhán Mac Fhearchair   An Machaire
8   Stephen Sheridan   Stiofán Ó Sireadáin   Foirceal
9   Niall Grimley   Niall Ó Garmaile   Na Madáin
10   Ethan Rafferty   Éatán Ó Raifeartaigh   An Ghráinseach
11   Anthony Duffy   Antóin Ó Dufaigh   Na Piarsaigh Óga
12   Rory Grugan ( C )   Ruairí Ó Gruagáin   Baile Mhic an Aba
13   Jamie Clarke   Séimí Mac Cléirigh   Raonaithe na Croise
14   Andrew Murnin   Aindriu O'Murnain   Naomh Pol
15   Gavin McParland   Gabhán Mac Parthaláin   Baile Mhic an Aba
Post by: armaghniac on July 28, 2017, 10:33:07 AM
I suppose Campbell is the obvious absence. Ethan Rafferty adds a lot, including a fielding ability for kickouts and so on, I imagine he may roam about a bit.
Post by: illdecide on July 28, 2017, 10:50:48 AM
Did the young lad McKay from Dromintee get injured or was he dropped? Other than that the defense is as good as we can get and midfield is holding their own. Having a few options up front is priceless and i suppose we almost at full strength and can't complain. We'll know very soon where our real level is and if we can compete with the better teams in the Country.
Post by: tonto1888 on July 28, 2017, 10:51:48 AM
Quote from: illdecide on July 28, 2017, 10:50:48 AM
Did the young lad McKay from Dromintee get injured or was he dropped? Other than that the defense is as good as we can get and midfield is holding their own. Having a few options up front is priceless and i suppose we almost at full strength and can't complain. We'll know very soon where our real level is and if we can compete with the better teams in the Country.

didn't he come off injured against westmeath
Post by: you take er! on July 28, 2017, 11:06:11 AM
McKay did have a hamstring injury picked up v Westmeath, I hear he is ok now though. Wouldn't be surprised to see him at some stage tomorrow. Big and mobile which could be invaluable v Kildare.
Post by: LCohen on July 28, 2017, 06:58:27 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 28, 2017, 10:33:07 AM
I suppose Campbell is the obvious absence. Ethan Rafferty adds a lot, including a fielding ability for kickouts and so on, I imagine he may roam about a bit.

Rafferty could spend some time at FF. Alternating with Murnin. Murnin can offer plenty in the middle.

We have a bit of depth now and can make changes without weakening the side
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 28, 2017, 07:30:56 PM
It's still the defence that's a worry especially when Kildare run at them.
Post by: LCohen on July 28, 2017, 08:20:44 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on July 28, 2017, 07:30:56 PM
It's still the defence that's a worry especially when Kildare run at them.

We have had long enough to prepare for that and there are better teams than Kildare to test it. I would expect us to have 8 at the back marking a maximum of 5. Even with Donaghy as an out and out sweeper that still leaves 2 men lying deep to pick up runners and to support any of the forwards that track their men back. Its all doable.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 28, 2017, 10:46:09 PM
Kildare team named:
Donnellan
O'Grady Hyland Lyons
P Kelly J Byrne K Cribbin
K Feely
Moolick
Conway N Kelly Slattery
Brophy D Flynn McNally

I would reckon they might switch a bit at the back but Peter Kelly in for Eoin Doyle is the only change to the Dubs match.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 29, 2017, 12:16:27 AM
I admire the Armagh confidence but you have to believe it's misplaced, this year beaten by Down Laois and Tipperary and drew with Sligo, 3 of those 4 teams have had awful championships and Tipp while on paper looks like a good scalp,  they are not the same side this year. Ulster football is on a downward spiral, 4 of the 6 teams in the league relegated were Ulster, none of the teams promoted were Ulster.

There is no hype around this Kildare team but Flynn, Feeley, N Kelly and Brophy are just damn fine players and I am expecting a big game from Niall Kelly. Kildare are use to playing at a higher pitch, it will be close but Kildare by 4 for me, 2-17 3-10. Ben Mcormack rumoured to be flying in training, if he comes off the bench keep on eye him, our best bit of coding yet...

I always like McGeeney so will firmly be in the Orange corner if we lose tomorrow.

Enjoy the game folks, hopefully football is the winner...
Post by: Main Street on July 29, 2017, 01:07:42 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 29, 2017, 12:16:27 AM
I admire the Armagh confidence but you have to believe it's misplaced, this year beaten by Down Laois and Tipperary and drew with Sligo, 3 of those 4 teams have had awful championships and Tipp while on paper looks like a good scalp,  they are not the same side this year. Ulster football is on a downward spiral, 4 of the 6 teams in the league relegated were Ulster, none of the teams promoted were Ulster.

There is no hype around this Kildare team but Flynn, Feeley, N Kelly and Brophy are just damn fine players and I am expecting a big game from Niall Kelly. Kildare are use to playing at a higher pitch, it will be close but Kildare by 4 for me, 2-17 3-10. Ben Mcormack rumoured to be flying in training, if he comes off the bench keep on eye him, our best bit of coding yet...

I always like McGeeney so will firmly be in the Orange corner if we lose tomorrow.
Enjoy the game folks, hopefully football is the winner...
A stat attack against Ulster  :o      that's the stuff of desperation Dinny.

And of course there's no hype about Kildare, because ..............it's all true ;D

Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 29, 2017, 01:36:52 AM
I think Kildare by 4/5. Interesting that P Kelly comes in. He is a man marker at heart so he could sit on Clarke with others shuffling.
Also as Dinny mentioned Ben McCormack is a serious talent pushing for a start. He might not be well known nationally but he coukd be sprung.
Post by: you take er! on July 29, 2017, 04:39:37 AM
Kildare are maybe 6-18 months further on in their development as a team. Definitely the best team we'll have met in the championship to date. Hopeful, but we will see. If not this year then soon, but certainly feel we will be in this come the latter stages of the game. Good luck lads.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 29, 2017, 07:06:57 AM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on July 28, 2017, 10:46:09 PM
Kildare team named:
Donnellan
O'Grady Hyland Lyons
P Kelly J Byrne K Cribbin
K Feely
Moolick
Conway N Kelly Slattery
Brophy D Flynn McNally

I would reckon they might switch a bit at the back but Peter Kelly in for Eoin Doyle is the only change to the Dubs match.

Surprised we haven't tried to accommodate Paul Cribbin somewhere. I think he's too good to be left on the bench.

I would have my concerns about the backs without Eoin Doyle but I trust the management's judgement on Peter Kelly. He must be doing the business in training. I suspect Hyland will move to the wing with Byrne holding the centre. Ollie shadowing Clarke and either O'Grady or Kelly trying to break the ball away from Murnin.

I hope you're right re Niall Kelly Dinny. If he fires it will take a good team to stop Kildare.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 29, 2017, 08:27:23 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 29, 2017, 07:06:57 AM

If he fires it will take a good team to stop.......

If I had a pound every time an Armagh supporter said or thought that over the last 15 years.
Post by: on the sideline on July 29, 2017, 12:29:01 PM
What TV station is showing the games today lads?
Post by: tonto1888 on July 29, 2017, 12:52:56 PM
Quote from: on the sideline on July 29, 2017, 12:29:01 PM
What TV station is showing the games today lads?

Sky
Post by: stew on July 29, 2017, 01:35:02 PM
Quote from: you take er! on July 29, 2017, 04:39:37 AM
Kildare are maybe 6-18 months further on in their development as a team. Definitely the best team we'll have met in the championship to date. Hopeful, but we will see. If not this year then soon, but certainly feel we will be in this come the latter stages of the game. Good luck lads.

We are going to get spanked, if ee are beaten by less than ten i will be impressed.

Kildare are one hell of a team, we are improving but we have to be realistic, we are a d3 team playing against a D1 outfit on tge rise.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on July 29, 2017, 06:39:00 PM
Any links for the match?
Post by: omagh_gael on July 29, 2017, 06:46:04 PM
Who found that youtube link for Monaghan match? It was deadly.
Post by: heffo on July 29, 2017, 07:01:15 PM
Fooking huddled
Post by: twohands!!! on July 29, 2017, 07:08:36 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wUEObzO7_lk
Post by: DrinkingHarp on July 29, 2017, 07:12:17 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on July 29, 2017, 07:08:36 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wUEObzO7_lk

Thanks!!
Post by: Moortown Spuds on July 29, 2017, 07:17:57 PM
What a ridiculous dove by the Armagh forward
Post by: Blowitupref on July 29, 2017, 07:18:11 PM
Kildare keeper lucky he didn't see black there. 17 mins gone Kildare 0-3 Armagh 0-6
Post by: Rossfan on July 29, 2017, 07:19:03 PM
Kildare very poor
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 29, 2017, 07:19:35 PM
geezer has a new haircut
Post by: Buttofthehill on July 29, 2017, 07:20:18 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 29, 2017, 07:19:22 PM
How's that not a black? Cynically Blocked/tripped the runner.

Definite black
Post by: square_ball on July 29, 2017, 07:24:45 PM
Quote from: Buttofthehill on July 29, 2017, 07:20:18 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 29, 2017, 07:19:22 PM
How's that not a black? Cynically Blocked/tripped the runner.

Definite black

As clear a black as you'd see.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 29, 2017, 07:24:57 PM
is a McGeeney team ever coached in how to tackle properly?
Post by: twohands!!! on July 29, 2017, 07:25:51 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 29, 2017, 07:24:57 PM

No - never - it's utterly ridiculous.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 29, 2017, 07:29:11 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 29, 2017, 07:19:03 PM
Kildare very poor
They have improved since. 28 mins gone Kildare 0-7 Armagh 0-6
Post by: Buttofthehill on July 29, 2017, 07:29:17 PM
Was that for steps?
Post by: Blowitupref on July 29, 2017, 07:31:59 PM
Goal for Armagh! Armagh 1-7 Kildare 0-7
Post by: tyroneman on July 29, 2017, 07:33:05 PM
All the luck with Armagh so far....
Post by: tyroneman on July 29, 2017, 07:36:44 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on July 29, 2017, 07:25:51 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 29, 2017, 07:24:57 PM

No - never - it's utterly ridiculous.

Someone should advise the man in black how to referee the tackle as well....
Post by: Zulu on July 29, 2017, 07:37:18 PM
Kildare missing a lot at the moment. They need to recalibrate if they're to win this.
Post by: clarshack on July 29, 2017, 07:38:40 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on July 29, 2017, 07:33:05 PM
All the luck with Armagh so far....

Incredible, luck hanging out of them. Shades of 2002.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 29, 2017, 07:39:41 PM
Kildare 0-8 Armagh 1-8 at HT. Armagh in there with a real chance of causing an upset, kildare simply have not improved themselves at the back from the Leinster final.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 29, 2017, 07:42:23 PM
Fair fucks to Armagh, making a real go at it. Yes their tackling is terrible, however, he's set them up very well and he's Kildare stumped.
Post by: Zulu on July 29, 2017, 07:42:52 PM
I think Kildare have done very well at the back after a poor enough start. Their problems are upfront IMO. Unlucky with a few efforts but also a lot of bad wides and most of their forwards are not doing well.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 29, 2017, 07:44:16 PM
So far so good for Armagh, winning midfield which Dublin couldn't do against Kildare. Dublin scored 2-8 in the first half against Kildare while Armagh have scored 1-8.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 29, 2017, 07:47:29 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 29, 2017, 07:42:52 PM
I think Kildare have done very well at the back after a poor enough start. Their problems are upfront IMO. Unlucky with a few efforts but also a lot of bad wides and most of their forwards are not doing well.
Are you watching the same game as the rest of us? Armagh defended well in that 1st half Kildare did not and which is why they find themselves behind..
Post by: Zulu on July 29, 2017, 07:50:53 PM
Armagh hardly defended well. They got lots of bodies back but Kildare hit the post twice, missed a few sitters and the charging decision was borderline to say the least. Armagh's goal was a bit fortunate and Kildare won plenty of 1 v 1's in that half. How anyone can say a team who conceded 0-8 defended well while their opponents who conceded 1-8 defended badly is strange.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 29, 2017, 07:52:53 PM
They have really shut clarke out at least but their defense has been very good in parts and poor in other parts.

To win they probably need flynn to get inti the game who has been poor.

I still think kildare slightly better and will win out in the end but hope i'm wrong...

Massive difference between this armagh team now and the down game. They actually look half decent which they certainly didn't that day.
Post by: Zulu on July 29, 2017, 07:56:25 PM
Think Armagh are in a good place and Kildare will need to up it a good bit if they are to win. A lot of their main players have been disappointing so far.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 29, 2017, 08:00:34 PM
40 mins gone Armagh 1-10 Kildare 0-10.  1-9 from play for Armagh
Post by: Zulu on July 29, 2017, 08:01:27 PM
Soft free for Kildare there.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 29, 2017, 08:03:06 PM
seriously

I've seen U12 teams who are better at tackling than Armagh
Post by: Blowitupref on July 29, 2017, 08:08:11 PM
48 mins gone and the sides are level. Kildare 0-13 Armagh 1-11. The team with the better fitness to be the telling difference in this game now?
Post by: seafoid on July 29, 2017, 08:15:12 PM
According to RTE one of the Kildare players is called Feral Conway. He must be wild.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2017/0729/893862-down-v-monaghan-build-up/
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 29, 2017, 08:15:50 PM
any Armagh supporters fighting yet?
Post by: Rossfan on July 29, 2017, 08:17:26 PM
Getting exciting now...
Post by: Zulu on July 29, 2017, 08:18:01 PM
This is a cracking game now.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 29, 2017, 08:19:47 PM
60 mins gone. Armagh 1-14 Kildare 0-16. Jamie Clarke really enjoying this game because given the time and room to cause damage.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 29, 2017, 08:26:04 PM
65 mins gone still all to play for. Armagh 1-15 Kildare 0-17.
Post by: seafoid on July 29, 2017, 08:27:36 PM
Kildare GAA @KildareGAA
·
Jul 29
All Ireland SFC - Round 4B
Kildare 0-17
Armagh 1-16
Post by: omochain on July 29, 2017, 08:27:50 PM
I'm getting too old for this. Armagh tackling keeping Kildare in the game.
What a point from Rafferty
Post by: Blowitupref on July 29, 2017, 08:31:46 PM
3  mins of injury time to be played. Kildare 0-17 Armagh 1-17
Post by: Blowitupref on July 29, 2017, 08:34:52 PM
FT Armagh 1-17 Kildare 0-17. Deserving winners. After failing to get out of Div 3  the Down defeat in Ulster, its a fantastic achievement for Armagh to reach the last 8.
Post by: clarshack on July 29, 2017, 08:35:33 PM
Kildare have done a lot of stupid things in this game. In the end it was the jammiest of goals that proved to be the difference.
Post by: seafoid on July 29, 2017, 08:37:57 PM
Well done Armagh. Jamie Clarke should be in contention for an all star. Kildare will be very disappointed with that performance.  The curse of the losing provincial finalist.
Post by: Main Street on July 29, 2017, 08:38:22 PM
Kildare were munched.
Post by: ashman on July 29, 2017, 08:40:54 PM
Congrats to Ard Mhaca .  Hard luck to the Lilllies .
Post by: omagh_gael on July 29, 2017, 08:42:13 PM
Have to say i got a great kick out of that game. Even found myself roaring for the apple munchers! Been a long time since i heard the Armagh,Armagh chant going round Croker, brought back some memories.

God i hope we draw you tomorrow morning, it'll make for some game!
Post by: macdanger2 on July 29, 2017, 08:43:23 PM
Very enjoyable second half. It looked on TV like both teams were very lax on the opposition kick outs
Post by: dublin7 on July 29, 2017, 08:44:01 PM
That was a great game. Experience won it for Armagh. Bar the black card not given to the Kildare keeper I thought the ref had a great game. Let it flow and allowed players get stuck in unlike that useless clown Maurice Deegan was giving frees for nothing tackles in the 1st game.

That point by the Armagh 10 45m out at the end was inspirational and deserved to win the game.
Post by: Aughafad on July 29, 2017, 08:44:15 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 29, 2017, 08:37:57 PM
Well done Armagh. Jamie Clarke should be in contention for an all star. Kildare will be very disappointed with that performance.  The curse of the losing provincial finalist.
Have a word with yourself!
One game does not get you an allstar at this stage, especially against Kildare.
Post by: Zulu on July 29, 2017, 08:44:28 PM
Congratulations Armagh. Deserved the win even if Kildare can point to a few things that went against them. Two counties I'd like to see do well so hopefully both can kick on. If Armagh avoid Dublin they can make a semi final, Monaghan too.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 29, 2017, 08:44:33 PM
I've been a verybopen critic of the set up and still have my reservations about some of it but well done to the whole team and management for a superb performance. To think where this team was not too long ago after the Tipp game in the league and then defeat to Down it is testimony to the players and management that they put in such a performance. Well done and hopefully we'll get the midgets from the bushes!!
Post by: dublin7 on July 29, 2017, 08:48:01 PM
Quote from: Aughafad on July 29, 2017, 08:44:15 PM

The farcical way the All Stars are picked means if he a good semi final he will probably get one based only on the 2 games
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 29, 2017, 08:54:52 PM
Super stuff from Armagh i knew Kildare were there for the taking having watched them in the Leinster final and Armagh would have the forwards to serious cause damage to their ropey defence.
Post by: highorlow on July 29, 2017, 08:59:24 PM
Fair play to Geezer, couldn't believe the in depth interview he gave earlier today (obviously pre recorded) on news talk.

You have to feel a bit for O'Neill, that free from the number 8 was vital to get it back to 1, missed and Armagh get a point to make it 3 and game over.

Small margins.

It begs the question on how good the Duds really are this year. Sam could be heading north I think.
Post by: Oraisteach on July 29, 2017, 09:02:44 PM
That was as much joy as I've had in a long, long time watching Armagh play. 1-14 from play.  For old time's sake, I hope we draw Tyrone.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 29, 2017, 09:05:24 PM
Donaghy had some game, really made the difference in the last quarter. Clarke MOTM but is was shared with Donaghy.

Campbell was given his chance to start but showed he is best off the bench for impact.

Even Canavan was full of praise for Armagh after he picked Kildare to win.

McGeeney got his tactics right and his players did the job for him.

Strength and conditioning carried them at full rate to the end.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 29, 2017, 09:08:39 PM
Fair play to Armagh, great performance! Tyrone v Armagh next weekend would be great craic!
Post by: belfastkev on July 29, 2017, 09:11:41 PM
What a game! As a Tyrone man, to find myself cheering on Armagh was surreal! Great to see 3 Ulster teams in the quarters. And they say that Ulster is past it now...
Post by: Itchy on July 29, 2017, 09:14:07 PM
Enjoyable game. Great to see Clarke play like that but surprised he didn't get closer attention from Kildare. Only 1 Leinster team in the quarter finals again. Sad state of affairs for Leinster gaa.
Post by: omochain on July 29, 2017, 09:18:18 PM
I hope it's an Armagh v Tyrone match up next week.  I think both of them would prefer to avoid the Dubs at this stage.. it would bring back lots of good and bad memories and a wonderful opportunity for a wee bit of payback.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 29, 2017, 09:19:00 PM
So much for Kildare doing very well at the back after a poor enough start. Ended up conceding 1-17 with 1-14 from play to a side that couldn't get out of Div 3. Fair play to Armagh though thats the 2nd time in 4 seasons that they have reached the last 8 of the championship from disappointing league campaigns.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 29, 2017, 09:20:14 PM
There were too many small margins and easy shots missed in the first and second half. The worse thing is that not all were under huge pressure.
Ethan Rafferty´s monster point came directly after we hit one into the keeper´s arms from 21 yards out.
I am sickened to be honest. I think Kildare are one of the few teams who really seem to synchronize bad individual performances. I know you need to give credit to Armagh for that, but some of the basic stupid shit was ridiculous. When that happens everything to do with form can be thrown out.

Fair play to Armagh and I will look forward to watching Clarke with my neutrals hat on going forward.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 29, 2017, 09:21:49 PM
Well done Armagh, no quibbles here. We made us look like what we are an inexperienced side. Disappointing end to a good season for Kildare.

Post by: Zulu on July 29, 2017, 09:23:17 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on July 29, 2017, 09:19:00 PM
So much for Kildare doing very well at the back after a poor enough start. Ended up conceding 1-17 with 1-14 from play to a side that couldn't get out of Div 3. Fair play to Armagh though thats the 2nd time in 4 seasons that they have reached the last 8 of the championship from disappointing league campaigns.

Remind me what the Armagh defence that did so well conceded?
Post by: balladmaker on July 29, 2017, 09:28:39 PM
Absolutely delighted with that performance.  Congrats to Armagh's team & management!  Bring on next week, we Armagh shouldn't fear anyone and just go for it, fair play Ard Mhacha!!
Post by: T Fearon on July 29, 2017, 09:31:33 PM
Brilliant show.In the past I have been critical of both Jamie Clarke and McGeeney.But I could not hold them in higher esteem after the last two games.Brilliant the pair of them.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 29, 2017, 09:32:24 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 29, 2017, 09:23:17 PM

Kildare scored more against Dublins defence than Armaghs enough said.
Post by: naka on July 29, 2017, 09:34:50 PM
Loving it
The atmosphere in the train back home is as good as it gets
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 29, 2017, 09:39:30 PM
I am scratching the head here wondering how the fook Clarke wasn´t sat on?! He is not some bolter. Everyone knew coming into the game he would float and cause havoc...
We put Ollie Lyons on him and he tormented him. He never had another shadow. That also meant Lyons didn't have his usual darts up field.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 29, 2017, 09:43:10 PM
Welcome back Armagh.
Post by: rrhf on July 29, 2017, 09:44:05 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 29, 2017, 09:31:33 PM
Brilliant show.In the past I have been critical of both Jamie Clarke and McGeeney.But I could not hold them in higher esteem after the last two games.Brilliant the pair of them.
Oh ye of little faith...
Post by: highorlow on July 29, 2017, 09:44:41 PM
Worthwhile reading the 1st three pages of this thread. Fairly accurate punditry from the board here.
Post by: Zulu on July 29, 2017, 09:47:31 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on July 29, 2017, 09:32:24 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 29, 2017, 09:23:17 PM

Kildare scored more against Dublins defence than Armaghs enough said.

Right, so Armagh's defence is better than Dublin's?
Post by: reddgnhand on July 29, 2017, 09:47:35 PM
Quote from: rrhf on July 29, 2017, 09:44:05 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 29, 2017, 09:31:33 PM
Oh ye of little faith...

He's a two faced git. Done the same with BR on the Celtic thread. Hope its Tyrone v Armagh will create a bit of excitement.  Well done Armagh and Geezer.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 29, 2017, 09:50:42 PM
Quote from: highorlow on July 29, 2017, 09:44:41 PM
Worthwhile reading the 1st three pages of this thread. Fairly accurate punditry from the board here.
Thanks. Pages 2 and 3 i was fairly spot on with my punditry.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 29, 2017, 09:54:30 PM
The space inside the Kikdare defence was unreal. The Armagh forwards will find s world of difference next week in rgst regard, whether it's Tyrone or Dublin.

Btw, Rafferty's point will get all the headlines but Jamie Clarke's last (may have beem second last) was my pick. Not for the finish but for the work of O'Hanlon dispossessing Conway and steaming up the Cusack side before setting up the score. Deadly stuff.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 29, 2017, 09:56:59 PM
 critical of both Jamie Clarke and McGeeney.But I could not hold them in higher esteem

Ha right Tony , you practical had a vendetta against Clarke taking a year out, a few years back
too late to take it back now.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 29, 2017, 10:05:11 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 29, 2017, 09:56:59 PM
critical of both Jamie Clarke and McGeeney.But I could not hold them in higher esteem

Ha right Tony , you practical had a vendetta against Clarke taking a year out, a few years back

It's taken Jamie the year back to start to deliver on his talent. The funny thing is I reckon he can seriously deliver now as he hasn't had the abuse of his body at a younger age when it isn't hardened. He won't get the space next time I reckon but he's more patient and experienced now so his game is more rounded.

As for Tony...  ;D
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 29, 2017, 10:05:57 PM
Suspected the defence would struggle without Eoin Doyle covering and so it proved. Add to that this group of players inability to ever perform in Croke Park. A disappointing end to what up until today had been a fairly positive year.

Well done to Armagh and McGeeney.
Post by: T Fearon on July 29, 2017, 10:07:21 PM
I believe simply criticise when its merited and similarly credit when its due.
Post by: thebar on July 29, 2017, 10:22:58 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 29, 2017, 10:07:21 PM
I believe simply criticise when its merited and similarly credit when its due.

I believe your an embarrassment myself.
Post by: tonto1888 on July 29, 2017, 10:33:33 PM
On way home. Absolutely buzzing. Great game of football if not for the ticker. Clarke was unreal. But McParland deserves a lot of praise too
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 29, 2017, 10:34:51 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 29, 2017, 10:33:33 PM
On way home. Absolutely buzzing. Great game of football if not for the ticker. Clarke was unreal. But McParland deserves a lot of praise too

Yeah apart from Jamie i thought McParland and Donaghynwere outstanding.
Post by: Armamike on July 29, 2017, 11:15:36 PM
Bloody brilliant. Told you we wouldn't get tanked Stew.
Post by: Armamike on July 29, 2017, 11:21:27 PM
Quote from: clarshack on July 29, 2017, 08:35:33 PM
Kildare have done a lot of stupid things in this game. In the end it was the jammiest of goals that proved to be the difference.

Ah come on.
Post by: Gael85 on July 29, 2017, 11:21:52 PM
McGeeney has some record winning Qualifiers between Armagh/Kildare, That 20 wins in 25 games. 1 of the defeats was the game against Laois which had to be replayed when Laois used too many subs.
Post by: LCohen on July 29, 2017, 11:52:06 PM
Fantastic result and in the most part a cracking display. I know Charlie got MOTM but I thought Donaghy, Clarke and McParland were the stars. Morgan was given a lot of responsibility and did very well. Blaine Hughes had a wobble on kick outs but recovered to his accomplished self.

We are enjoying the benefits of a strong bench and the right switches are being made. Forker was 1 foul from a red card and that could easily been the losing of the game. Hopefully McKay can make it for next weekend but would be very surprised if Murnin makes it.

Big positive for us was that our heads did not go down. There were a couple of spells when we were being destroyed but we dug in. On the second of these Kildare took the lead for the first time and doubt could have set in. The very thing that was missing in the league has been found from somewhere
Post by: Orior on July 30, 2017, 12:08:51 AM
That's four wins in a row for Armagh. A great summer and lots of miles.

Sat beside a very entertaining Monaghan man. No water thrown.
Post by: armaghniac on July 30, 2017, 12:09:58 AM
Quote from: LCohen on July 29, 2017, 11:52:06 PM
Big positive for us was that our heads did not go down. There were a couple of spells when we were being destroyed but we dug in. On the second of these Kildare took the lead for the first time and doubt could have set in. The very thing that was missing in the league has been found from somewhere

That's the key point. People from other counties probably were a bit tired of Armagh posters going on in here about how they should be doing better, but the building blocks were there and people were a bit frustrated that the overall construction was not yet taking shape. Now it has and well done to all concerned.
Post by: Orior on July 30, 2017, 12:23:34 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 30, 2017, 12:09:58 AM
Quote from: LCohen on July 29, 2017, 11:52:06 PM

That's the key point. People from other counties probably were a bit tired of Armagh posters going on in here about how they should be doing better, but the building blocks were there and people were a bit frustrated that the overall construction was not yet taking shape. Now it has and well done to all concerned.

I'm also pleased to see so many forwards and backs able to take scores.
Post by: orangeman on July 30, 2017, 12:33:39 AM
Well done Armagh.

Great to see them turn over Kildare in a proper old fashioned contest. One of the best games of the championship so far. Yes there were mistakes a plenty on both sides but Armagh I felt deserved the win for bravery and everything else.
Post by: Gold on July 30, 2017, 12:38:47 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 29, 2017, 09:54:30 PM
The space inside the Kikdare defence was unreal. The Armagh forwards will find s world of difference next week in rgst regard, whether it's Tyrone or Dublin.

Btw, Rafferty's point will get all the headlines but Jamie Clarke's last (may have beem second last) was my pick. Not for the finish but for the work of O'Hanlon dispossessing Conway and steaming up the Cusack side before setting up the score. Deadly stuff.

Agree re that score
Post by: balladmaker on July 30, 2017, 12:50:35 AM
How word how Armagh fared on the injury front from the game, any serious concerns going into next weekend?
Post by: LilySavage on July 30, 2017, 01:05:54 AM
Better team won. No complaints. Mcgeeney mite get some credit yet .
Post by: armaghniac on July 30, 2017, 02:00:07 AM
Discussion of the black card that wasn't
https://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/kildare-goalkeepers-sneaky-indiscretion-another-farce-black-card-shambles-131975

(https://m0.sportsjoe.ie/wp-content/uploads/2017/07/29194305/IMG_3320.jpg)
Post by: LilySavage on July 30, 2017, 02:04:28 AM
Saw that . Fairly irrelevant. First half running back from a 45. Yellow card right call.
Post by: Solo_run on July 30, 2017, 03:04:40 AM
Have to say,  fair play to the Kildare posters, gracious in defeat and a good bunch when winning....
.it really is a shame one team had to lose
Post by: LCohen on July 30, 2017, 07:43:56 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 30, 2017, 02:00:07 AM
https://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/kildare-goalkeepers-sneaky-indiscretion-another-farce-black-card-shambles-131975

TBH I'm not clear on this one. Does the fact that the ball was dead count?
Post by: LCohen on July 30, 2017, 07:52:07 AM
Did Sky or the radio make much of the foul count? As well as Armagh played the foul count is still way too high. Discipline in the tackle is still an issue. Its infuriating to watch a player hit an opponent in the back and then protest to the ref that he hit him with the shoulder. There needs to be zero tolerance on backchat and FFS take the free from the right place. We are into the serious games now. Giving away frivolous scores cannot be an option
Post by: omagh_gael on July 30, 2017, 07:55:30 AM
I think that's what swayed the ref, LCohen. Although I'm not sure if the ball being in play is in the rule book re the black card.

I know it's been discussed to death but Aiden Forker is a total liability. Great player and scored a beautiful point but surely the biggest foul merchant going.
Post by: stew on July 30, 2017, 08:10:37 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 29, 2017, 09:56:59 PM

Right so we are, none of us allowed to ever change our opinion on any matter!  :-[

Catch yourself on man dear.
Post by: LCohen on July 30, 2017, 08:13:03 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 30, 2017, 07:55:30 AM
I think that's what swayed the ref, LCohen. Although I'm not sure if the ball being in play is in the rule book re the black card.

I know it's been discussed to death but Aiden Forker is a total liability. Great player and scored a beautiful point but surely the biggest foul merchant going.

Forker's discipline had been improving. He does a bit of mouth and react to a bit of mouth. But yes it is his general foul rate that normally does for him though.

On the mouth - what is actually saying that warrants a yellow card? If it's abuse of opponent or official its a black card. We are back to the disgraceful decision not to give Morgan a black card in the Ulster final. Officials need to take the black card and verbals serious. What is the point of the rule otherwise?
Post by: stew on July 30, 2017, 08:13:50 AM
incredible performance by Armagh, fifty minutes in I thought it was over, I knew the one things these lads are is that they are incredibly fit, that and the fact we were destroying them down the flanks gave me confidence, to be honest I thought we would be buried by halftime, I held Kildare in too high a regard.
Post by: LCohen on July 30, 2017, 10:26:07 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 29, 2017, 08:44:33 PM
I've been a verybopen critic of the set up and still have my reservations about some of it but well done to the whole team and management for a superb performance. To think where this team was not too long ago after the Tipp game in the league and then defeat to Down it is testimony to the players and management that they put in such a performance. Well done and hopefully we'll get the midgets from the bushes!!

Fully agree. I had and still have reservations. Admittedly less now.

There is more of a plan in virtually every aspect of the game. Players are more confident and more assertive. Selection has played a role. Blaine hughes being a case in point. Hindsight is great but him being in there at the start of the league and the kick outs sorted earlier in the season might have us in Division 2.

Width in the front line gives us the options. I would rather hear the crowd jeer at a couple of diagonal balls intercepted by their sweeper than watch us dispossessed after endless pointless recycled hand passes. The penny seems to have dropped.

I hope we get Tyrone.

All throughout the mcGeeney and Grimley era we have heard our chances and players talked down. I'm fed up listening to it. This morning the position of the fans seems to have tilted the other way. One fan on the armagh forum describing it as the best performance in 15 years. We need to be beating better teams than Kildare for that to be true.

The thought of Dublin is where my confidence runs out. I can't see us winning that one. An annihilation by the Dubs would be easy to brush over.

Tyrone are different. Mickey Harte and brand Tyrone are at the top table. The current bunch of players might get there and excel. But they are not proven yet. That gives us a chance. The other side of that particular sword is that if Tyrone do click and wipe the floor with us it will hurt and fester. Especially if Tyrone don't go on to do something
Post by: sam03/05 on July 30, 2017, 11:25:28 AM
Jamie Clarke now on mouthing that Armagh have the best players in Ireland.
Aye right you play in Division 3 and we're beat by a woeful Down team!
Good one.
Post by: Solo_run on July 30, 2017, 11:32:49 AM
Quote from: sam03/05 on July 30, 2017, 11:25:28 AM
Jamie Clarke now on mouthing that Armagh have the best players in Ireland.
Aye right you play in Division 3 and we're beat by a woeful Down team!
Good one.

Catch yourself on, what else is he going to say?

We have the poorest team in the whole of Ireland
Post by: Orior on July 30, 2017, 11:37:31 AM
Did Kildare hit the upright 2 or 3 times in the second half. If the latter, then it could well have been a draw.
Post by: tonto1888 on July 30, 2017, 11:44:22 AM
Quote from: LCohen on July 30, 2017, 07:43:56 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 30, 2017, 02:00:07 AM

TBH I'm not clear on this one. Does the fact that the ball was dead count?

I thought it should have been a black card as I think Murnin was making a run for the keepers kick out and was blocked off. Glad I'm not a ref tob e honest
Post by: bennydorano on July 30, 2017, 11:46:23 AM
Great to be there and witness a fantastic performance. The most striking thing for me was our composure in the last 10 minutes - especially after watching how some of our League games panned out with Laois,  Sligo & Tipp. That league campaign had to be seen to be believed.

Some great performances, Clarke given room to show what he can do, Donaghy was my MOTM, just fantastic, pity we couldn't take 10 years off him. James Morgan is one of the Top defenders in the country, he must be an absolute nightmare to play against. Great overall team performance and great tactical gameplan by the management.

We're in bonus territory now and hard to see a win whoever we get in the QF but you'd imagine we'd give Tyrone more of a game because of the rivalry.

Whatever happens next week it's a great platform to push on to another level. Pity we will be stuck in Division 3.
Post by: Main Street on July 30, 2017, 12:07:47 PM
Quote from: stew on July 30, 2017, 08:13:50 AM
incredible performance by Armagh, fifty minutes in I thought it was over, I knew the one things these lads are is that they are incredibly fit, that and the fact we were destroying them down the flanks gave me confidence, to be honest I thought we would be buried by halftime, I held Kildare in too high a regard.
I had thought Armagh were good enough to beat Kildare.
Kildare were hyped to the gills before the game, mainly on the basis of one profile game where at times they looked like the team of old.
Armagh learned much more as a team in Tipp where they experienced a real probing of their spirit and endurance.
And then add the sublimely talented Jamie Clarke on top of that.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 30, 2017, 12:14:06 PM
James Morgan is one of the Top defenders in the country, he must be an absolute nightmare to play against.

A less lenient ref would have sent him off for multiple fouling yesterday. Fair play to him though, he took full advantage of the ref letting things go.

Btw, your man Fergal Conway is a beast of a man. He fairly flattened Brendan Donaghy (i think) when he was pulled back for charging.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 30, 2017, 12:19:53 PM
Before last night's match Armagh were 80/1 to win the All-Ireland with Paddypower - this morning their odds to win it are out to 100/1

Post by: LCohen on July 30, 2017, 12:29:02 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on July 30, 2017, 12:19:53 PM
Before last night's match Armagh were 80/1 to win the All-Ireland with Paddypower - this morning their odds to win it are out to 100/1

But from a bookie's perspective that makes sense
Post by: seafoid on July 30, 2017, 12:49:14 PM
At least one forward allstar should be reserved for qualifier excellence
Post by: bennydorano on July 30, 2017, 01:00:23 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 30, 2017, 12:14:06 PM
James Morgan is one of the Top defenders in the country, he must be an absolute nightmare to play against.

A less lenient ref would have sent him off for multiple fouling yesterday. Fair play to him though, he took full advantage of the ref letting things go.

Btw, your man Fergal Conway is a beast of a man. He fairly flattened Brendan Donaghy (i think) when he was pulled back for charging.
Morgan is a knave of the highest order alrite, just glad he's an Armagh knave but not so happy he's a Crossmaglen knave.
Post by: tonto1888 on July 30, 2017, 01:02:22 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 30, 2017, 12:49:14 PM

Agreed. You almost have to get to the semi final to be considered
Post by: shark on July 30, 2017, 01:10:55 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 30, 2017, 01:02:22 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 30, 2017, 12:49:14 PM

Agreed. You almost have to get to the semi final to be considered

It used not to be the case. Westmeath got 2 in 2008. Lost in Leinster semi and didnt make All-Ireland 1/4.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 30, 2017, 01:35:59 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on July 30, 2017, 01:00:23 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 30, 2017, 12:14:06 PM

Morgan is a knave of the highest order alrite, just glad he's an Armagh knave but not so happy he's a Crossmaglen knave.

Ah c'mon Benny....like the rest of us he's just misunderstood 😂.... he learned to play on the edge very early on...but he's a lovely guy off the field😂
Post by: Applesisapples on July 30, 2017, 02:07:43 PM
I have to admit I have been openly doubting Geezer for a while now, boy hasn't he shown me and all the other key board warriors. That was a match won playing a decent brand of football. Fair play to all. Talking of lenient refs, Maurice Deegan who had a good game in the down match let the Down number 3, McGovern I believe off with a couple of outright assaults. In fairness he probably didn't see the first, good job no video ref. I would actually say that both Deegan and the ref in Armagh vs Kildare had good games. In the Armagh game he applied the Black card rule as it should be though I'm not sure it was exactly as per the letter of the rule. The only cynical tackle which denied a scoring opportunity was by a Kildare player and was rightly black carded the two other incidents involving Rafferty (I think) and the Kildare goalie were in my view correctly yellow. Any way goonnnnn Armagh!
Post by: illdecide on July 30, 2017, 03:54:03 PM
Yeah good game yesterday, really enjoyed it but i tell u following Armagh should have a health warning espicially if you had a weak heart...lol. I didn't know TBH how yesterday's games was going to pan out but i did say it would give us a fair reflection of the standard we're operating at, but we are still improving.

TBH I wouldn't fear Tyrone too much (just heard the draw) they got a very easy Ulster this year and haven't got really tested yet, they will be hard to break down though but the pressure is on Tyrone and we're in bonus territory.
Post by: tyroneman on July 30, 2017, 03:59:03 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on July 30, 2017, 02:07:43 PM
I have to admit I have been openly doubting Geezer for a while now, boy hasn't he shown me and all the other key board warriors. That was a match won playing a decent brand of football. Fair play to all. Talking of lenient refs, Maurice Deegan who had a good game in the down match let the Down number 3, McGovern I believe off with a couple of outright assaults. In fairness he probably didn't see the first, good job no video ref. I would actually say that both Deegan and the ref in Armagh vs Kildare had good games. In the Armagh game he applied the Black card rule as it should be though I'm not sure it was exactly as per the letter of the rule. The only cynical tackle which denied a scoring opportunity was by a Kildare player and was rightly black carded the two other incidents involving Rafferty (I think) and the Kildare goalie were in my view correctly yellow. Any way goonnnnn Armagh!

Kildale keeper clearly a black card.
Post by: 5 Sams on July 30, 2017, 05:05:32 PM
I'll whisper this quietly but Armagh were very good yesterday...I was very impressed with them and I really enjoyed the game....apart from the drunkard in Orange behind me roaring in my ear about "Jamie", "Jamie, "Jamie"....only player he knew.
Post by: armaghniac on July 30, 2017, 05:41:08 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 30, 2017, 05:05:32 PM
I'll whisper this quietly but Armagh were very good yesterday...I was very impressed with them and I really enjoyed the game....apart from the drunkard in Orange behind me roaring in my ear about "Jamie", "Jamie, "Jamie"....only player he knew.

Fixed that for you.

Armagh were very good yesterday
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 30, 2017, 06:34:10 PM

Good man Sams...nice to see you appreciate quality!!
Post by: Sportacus on July 30, 2017, 08:12:56 PM
Good stuff from Armagh and fair play to their supporters who brought a great atmosphere to Croke Park (although there was one woman not far from me who'd be better staying away from the drink at a big match).  They were the best team I've seen all weekend.  It was great to see their forwards play with confidence and Clarke was loving it in the second half.  Their bench made a big impact.  Can't see why they couldn't give it a good cut against Tyrone.

I think football is moving on a bit from the completely negative tactics which McGuinness and Co brought to the table.  Both of yesterdays games were entertaining, yes there were extra men at the back but not to the point of ruining it.
Post by: balladmaker on July 30, 2017, 08:21:27 PM
QuoteI think football is moving on a bit from the completely negative tactics which McGuinness and Co brought to the table.  Both of yesterdays games were entertaining, yes there were extra men at the back but not to the point of ruining it.

Wait till we see the Tyrone blanket in full flow next Saturday, they'll try to strangle each Armagh attack into submission and break at pace to pick off the required scores to win.  Clarke won't get the space to do what he did against Kildare unfortunately, will be interesting to see what tactic the Armagh management come up with to break down the Tyrone defence.  Yes, Tyrone will be hot favourites, but Armagh will give it a great go I think.

Yesterday was as an impressive performance by an Armagh team that I've seen in a long time, and they could have held their own against most teams playing this weekend.
Post by: Hectic on July 30, 2017, 08:32:13 PM
Armagh were good but I did not understand what merited thehot favourites tag for Kildare before the game started. I think Tyrone will come through handy enough.
Post by: stew on July 30, 2017, 09:00:05 PM
Quote from: Hectic on July 30, 2017, 08:32:13 PM
Armagh were good but I did not understand what merited thehot favourites tag for Kildare before the game started. I think Tyrone will come through handy enough.

Good man.
Post by: Hectic on July 30, 2017, 10:23:40 PM
Quote from: stew on July 30, 2017, 09:00:05 PM
Quote from: Hectic on July 30, 2017, 08:32:13 PM

Good man.

Hope I am wrong though. Would be good to see Armagh get back in the mix
Post by: punt kick on July 31, 2017, 08:08:55 AM

You had only the one, my Son and I sat beside 3 drunken down men, late 50's and the pricks just watched the screen, probably too pished to see the match on the field so I had one of the feckers smelly drunken face in mine when I was watching down the canal end and they were watching the screen, p.s. Down weren't very good!
Post by: mup on July 31, 2017, 08:37:25 AM
Well done Armagh and Kieran McGeeney.

I thought we might just get over the line but alas it wasn't to be. I hate admitting it but there is a serious lack of balls in Kildare football. When McGeeney had us people were blaming him for  losing tight games. Last Saturday proved that maybe its Kildare football that has something wrong with it.
Post by: Taylor on July 31, 2017, 08:59:14 AM
Took in both games to see what our opponents were like and to be honest learned v little.

Armagh are an average outfit but how naive are Kildare? Clarke was really the only quality outlet Armagh had and Kildare didnt bother their arses marking him. Crazy stuff. We wont make the same mistake.

Rafferty point and Mc Parland (think it was him) point in first half were both wonder scores but you only get one in every 10 of them.

Enjoyable game of football.

The new breed of Apple muncher supporters are louder than their predecessors were in the 00's and dare I say it seem to be even more drunk at games.

At least they had supporters though. Kildare wans must not have known there was a game on
Post by: Ethan Tremblay on July 31, 2017, 09:31:40 AM
Went to the match with more hope than expectation, one of Armagh's finest games this season. 

My observations:
Clarke won the majority of kick passes into him, makes sense he was the outlet and some of his point taking was of the highest standard. 

McParland is showing great form at the moment and shows what a run of games can do for a player.  Ethan Rafferty is a great option from the bench as is ONeil. 

Hughes in nets is a gem of a goalkeeper, the top level teams have a keeps who's kicking game is pivotal and his is up there.

Brophy for Kildare is a top baller and he will be pushing Kildare football on over the next ten years. 
Post by: omochain on July 31, 2017, 10:03:58 AM
Quote from: Taylor on July 31, 2017, 08:59:14 AM
Took in both games to see what our opponents were like and to be honest learned v little.

Armagh are an average outfit but how naive are Kildare? Clarke was really the only quality outlet Armagh had and Kildare didnt bother their arses marking him. Crazy stuff. We wont make the same mistake.

Rafferty point and Mc Parland (think it was him) point in first half were both wonder scores but you only get one in every 10 of them.

The new breed of Apple muncher supporters are louder than their predecessors were in the 00's and dare I say it seem to be even more drunk at games.

At least they had supporters though. Kildare wans must not have known there was a game on

What magnificent condescension!!!
Post by: Armamike on July 31, 2017, 10:21:36 AM
Quote from: Taylor on July 31, 2017, 08:59:14 AM

StGalls, Overthebar, and now your goodself.  Are you guys produced from the same cloning factory as your footballers?
Post by: Applesisapples on July 31, 2017, 11:43:07 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on July 30, 2017, 03:59:03 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on July 30, 2017, 02:07:43 PM

Kildale keeper clearly a black card.
Read what I wrote, as it should be though not to the letter of the law.