GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: tonto1888 on July 10, 2017, 08:50:33 AM

Title: Armagh v Tipperary 15/7/17??
Post by: tonto1888 on July 10, 2017, 08:50:33 AM
Where abouts is the game likely to be played? Will we get revenge? Will our indiscipline cost us?
Title: Re: Armagh v Tipperary 15/7/17??
Post by: armaghniac on July 10, 2017, 08:59:47 AM
Armagh would need to significantly up their game, or the trip to Tipp would be a trip.
Post by: T Fearon on July 10, 2017, 09:13:27 AM
It's a long way,anyway
Post by: naka on July 10, 2017, 09:24:20 AM
Interesting to see how far Armagh have progressed since the league game.
Tipp seem to have moved up a few gears, can't say the same about us.
Post by: tippabu on July 10, 2017, 09:26:34 AM
Here we go again.....#nipthetipp and revenge for a week again;)

Decent draw, carlow would've been ideal, monaghan to avoid....home against Armagh middle of the road. Last 3 games have been in Armagh in the league I think and draw, two point Armagh win and one point tipp win.....both teams who lost should've won them games!!!
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 10, 2017, 09:26:54 AM
Quote from: naka on July 10, 2017, 09:24:20 AM

Have they?

Tipp have beaten Cavan by 3 points and lost to Cork by 1 point.

Armagh lost to Down by 2 and beat Fermanagh and Westmeath by 5 and 9 points respectively.

It's pretty much a 50/50 game.
Post by: tippabu on July 10, 2017, 09:28:36 AM
Quote from: naka on July 10, 2017, 09:24:20 AM
Interesting to see how far Armagh have progressed since the league game.

We were awful up there against ye, we were awful against cork and we had one stunning half of football following a terrible first half against cavan.....hopefully we've turned the corner but Armagh will show if we have stepped it up or not.
Post by: yellowcard on July 10, 2017, 09:30:43 AM
I think it is the best draw possible considering there is unfinished business from the league. Carlow would have taught us nothing and Tipperary will be a step up from Westmeath. Tough game but winnable and if we come through we will be better set for a last 12 than we would be if we beat Carlow. 
Post by: T Fearon on July 10, 2017, 09:41:41 AM
If we couldn't beat Tipp at home,in a game we needed to win to secure promotion,with a four point lead going into injury time,I don't see how we'll beat them away in the Championship,given our struggle and luck with Westmeath.
Post by: bennydorano on July 10, 2017, 09:42:38 AM
Yip, ideal draw, mightn't win but it's time to shite or get off the pot at this stage.
Post by: Orior on July 10, 2017, 10:29:54 AM
When will we know the throw in time?

I'm assuming it will be in Thurles on Saturday.
Post by: illdecide on July 10, 2017, 11:38:50 AM
There is talk of a 5:00 throw in at Thurles but think that'll be confirmed today/tomorrow. Think it's a 50/50 game alright and i actually prefer Armagh playing away from home, they'll feel the world is against them and will feel the owe Tipp one from previous meeting. The Ref in this will be vital, if he's as bad as that clown O'Sullivan from Kerry then Tipp will beat us but if we've a Ref who does the thing fair and within the rules Armagh could well sneak this one...

If Jamie can last longer than 15 seconds (sounds like Tony's sex life) then we're in with a better shout, he may well feel he owe's us a big performance too
Post by: Orior on July 10, 2017, 12:04:47 PM
Quote from: illdecide on July 10, 2017, 11:38:50 AM
There is talk of a 5:00 throw in at Thurles but think that'll be confirmed today/tomorrow. Think it's a 50/50 game alright and i actually prefer Armagh playing away from home, they'll feel the world is against them and will feel the owe Tipp one from previous meeting. The Ref in this will be vital, if he's as bad as that clown O'Sullivan from Kerry then Tipp will beat us but if we've a Ref who does the thing fair and within the rules Armagh could well sneak this one...

If Jamie can last longer than 15 seconds (sounds like Tony's sex life) then we're in with a better shout, he may well feel he owe's us a big performance too

How do you know so much about Tony's sex life?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 10, 2017, 12:15:44 PM

If that was Tony's sex life he'd have a congratulatory thread on here😂
Post by: LCohen on July 10, 2017, 01:27:01 PM

50/50 sounds about right. I thought we would beat Fermanagh and Westmeath and in the end we did so without being particularly impressive and were at times downright unimpressive. Tipp for me are a step up because their key players are a cut above previous opponents. Think we are a better balanced side. If the midfield and full back lines break even or better the rest should see us home
Post by: naka on July 10, 2017, 03:23:18 PM
Think this is a step up for Armagh but funnily enough believe we have it in us to win the game with a couple to spare.
Hopefully I am right.
Post by: armaghniac on July 10, 2017, 05:16:12 PM
All-Ireland SFC Round 3B qualifiers
Tipperary v Armagh, Semple Stadium, Saturday, 5pm
Carlow v Monaghan, Netwatch Cullen Park, Saturday, 7pm

There should be room for all of us in Semple Stadium, looking forward to going there, less confident about the result.
Post by: Oraisteach on July 10, 2017, 05:28:23 PM
Armaghniac, GAAGO indicates that the Armagh match will be televised but that the throw-in will be at 7:00 pm, not 5:00 pm. How sure are you that the match will start at 5:00 pm?
Post by: tonto1888 on July 10, 2017, 05:45:30 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on July 10, 2017, 05:28:23 PM
Armaghniac, GAAGO indicates that the Armagh match will be televised but that the throw-in will be at 7:00 pm, not 5:00 pm. How sure are you that the match will start at 5:00 pm?

Armagh official site said 5pm
Post by: tonto1888 on July 10, 2017, 05:48:21 PM
I'm guessing they got it from here

http://www.gaa.ie/football/news/gaa-football-senior-championship-round-and-fixtures/
Post by: Horse Box on July 10, 2017, 08:16:28 PM
Paddy Power has a 14:00 start ??? !
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 10, 2017, 08:55:05 PM
SKY is showing both games and has the times the opposite way around to the GAA.ie site.
Post by: armaghniac on July 10, 2017, 09:01:24 PM
Well those who attend will see it and those rich people who put on Sky at 7pm will miss it.
Post by: Orior on July 10, 2017, 09:44:44 PM
So, are there no tickets available online for this match?
Post by: ziggysego on July 10, 2017, 10:06:48 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 10, 2017, 09:13:27 AM
It's a long way,anyway

To Sean Treacy Park?
Post by: LCohen on July 10, 2017, 10:48:52 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 10, 2017, 08:50:33 AM
Where abouts is the game likely to be played? Will we get revenge? Will our indiscipline cost us?

Revenge?
Post by: tippabu on July 10, 2017, 11:08:44 PM
Quote from: LCohen on July 10, 2017, 10:48:52 PM

Revenge?

sure twas only the league and anyway we are even now, sure we owed ye one ;)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bjOV9O3NEUk (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bjOV9O3NEUk)
Post by: armaghniac on July 10, 2017, 11:14:37 PM
Quote from: tippabu on July 10, 2017, 11:08:44 PM

Revenge?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bjOV9O3NEUk (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bjOV9O3NEUk)

Perhaps Armagh got the wrong instruction at the weekend, they should have told them that it may be appropriate to get a black card in the last 30 seconds of a game, not the first 30 seconds.
Post by: tippabu on July 10, 2017, 11:18:39 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 10, 2017, 11:14:37 PM
Quote from: tippabu on July 10, 2017, 11:08:44 PM

Revenge?

Perhaps Armagh got the wrong instruction at the weekend, they should have told them that it may be appropriate to get a black card in the last 30 seconds of a game, not the first 30 seconds.

nah, stick with getting them the first 30 seconds, itll completely throw us off our gameplan and we wont know what to do then
Post by: joemamas on July 12, 2017, 01:39:49 PM
How much different is the Tipperary team in terms of personnel a year on from their great run to the semi-final. I vaguely remember the talk about all the injuries and players taking a year out and that they still managed to progress as far as they did.
Post by: tippabu on July 12, 2017, 01:46:31 PM
Quote from: joemamas on July 12, 2017, 01:39:49 PM
How much different is the Tipperary team in terms of personnel a year on from their great run to the semi-final. I vaguely remember the talk about all the injuries and players taking a year out and that they still managed to progress as far as they did.

We have two massive losses in comerford and Acheson both nominated and unlucky to miss out on all stars, our corner backs MacDonald and shaughnessey from last year are injured (shaughnessey played 1st half against Cavan but went off injured and has been struggling all year) Austin has been out a long time and is just coming back as is quinlivan.....things are clearing up abit but we are still down important bodies. Wouldn't be using it as an excuse if we do lose Saturday though
Post by: Oraisteach on July 12, 2017, 04:06:11 PM
Quilivan and 14 plastic cones would be hard to beat.
Post by: illdecide on July 12, 2017, 07:55:40 PM
Looking forward to the match, never been to Thurles before and should be a good game. Armagh will go into this game knowing they had the measure of Tipp before and Tipp will go in knowing the beat us playing poorly.
I still believe Armagh play better away from home and will prob have the siege mentality here, match will be nip and tuck and again like last week I'm going for a 2-3 pt win for the men in Orange.
Post by: mcklatchee on July 12, 2017, 08:38:25 PM
Quote from: illdecide on July 12, 2017, 07:55:40 PM
Looking forward to the match, never been to Thurles before and should be a good game. Armagh will go into this game knowing they had the measure of Tipp before and Tipp will go in knowing the beat us playing poorly.
I still believe Armagh play better away from home and will prob have the siege mentality here, match will be nip and tuck and again like last week I'm going for a 2-3 pt win for the men in Orange.

What siege?
Post by: illdecide on July 12, 2017, 10:06:53 PM
There is none, just a siege mentality that some managers tell their players that the world is against them to fire them up...Ohh maybe there could be a seige in Thurles ;)
Post by: smelmoth on July 12, 2017, 10:13:41 PM
Quote from: illdecide on July 12, 2017, 10:06:53 PM
There is none, just a siege mentality that some managers tell their players that the world is against them to fire them up...Ohh maybe there could be a seige in Thurles ;)

Hopefully Geezer doesn't tell the lads their tackling and discipline is fine, it's just that the officials are against them. That way lies avoidable disaster
Post by: BennyCake on July 12, 2017, 10:22:23 PM
Houl on, is that siege or seige?  ;D
Post by: illdecide on July 12, 2017, 11:55:20 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on July 12, 2017, 10:22:23 PM

Ahh FFS :)
Post by: seafoid on July 13, 2017, 01:34:10 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on July 12, 2017, 10:22:23 PM
It''s Gráinne Seoighe
Post by: Orior on July 13, 2017, 11:21:45 AM
Armagh reached their high water mark last Saturday. I'm travelling with no expectation of a win. Tipp to win by 7 or 8. Hope I am wrong of course.
Post by: armaghniac on July 13, 2017, 11:35:39 AM
Quote from: Orior on July 13, 2017, 11:21:45 AM
Armagh reached their high water mark last Saturday. I'm travelling with no expectation of a win. Tipp to win by 7 or 8. Hope I am wrong of course.

Armagh were lucky that Westmeath's shooting meant that they did not put them away. However, I think Armagh can play better than they did against Westmeath, whether they will or not is another point.
Post by: you take er! on July 13, 2017, 12:57:35 PM
Can't understand someone travelling half the length of the country expecting to get beaten by 7/8 points  :o A better team than Westmeath might well have sent us home last week, that said, they didn't. We came out on top of a tight game using our bench to good effect. Hopefully gives confidence and moves us on a little more. I'm hopeful if not confident.
Post by: smelmoth on July 13, 2017, 01:56:28 PM
Quote from: you take er! on July 13, 2017, 12:57:35 PM
Can't understand someone travelling half the length of the country expecting to get beaten by 7/8 points  :o A better team than Westmeath might well have sent us home last week, that said, they didn't. We came out on top of a tight game using our bench to good effect. Hopefully gives confidence and moves us on a little more. I'm hopeful if not confident.

Hopeful is the right word. Winning this is well within our capability. Expectant would be over doing it as Tipperary are probably "hopeful" also.

Player for player we are better. We just seem to struggle to get all aspects of our game plan going at the same time
Post by: tonto1888 on July 13, 2017, 01:58:28 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on July 13, 2017, 01:56:28 PM

Hopeful is the right word. Winning this is well within our capability. Expectant would be over doing it as Tipperary are probably "hopeful" also.

Player for player we are better. We just seem to struggle to get all aspects of our game plan going at the same time

Are we better player for player though?
Post by: tippabu on July 13, 2017, 02:32:13 PM

We travelled to Cavan thinking we'd lose, delighted we travelled in the end because you never know. This game is a 50/50, should only be a point or two either way but equally one of us could win handy. Player for player who knows, let's be honest I wouldn't be overly familiar with the Armagh team and doubtful most up there would have seen our lads often.
Post by: LCohen on July 13, 2017, 03:08:01 PM
Can only judge Tipperary by the games against Armagh and TVs coverage of last years run.

They didn't impress me in the league and missing key men from last year.

Armagh have plenty of good midfielders - still to find a dominant player or partnership. A fit McKay closes the other key gap- a lack of height at the back if Vernon is taken for a walk . McBrearty killed us a couple of years back. Otherwise we have the talent and the numbers. If we can get a performance that is at least equal to the sum of the parts we should be ok
Post by: illdecide on July 13, 2017, 03:40:42 PM
Quote from: tippabu on July 13, 2017, 02:32:13 PM

We travelled to Cavan thinking we'd lose, delighted we travelled in the end because you never know. This game is a 50/50, should only be a point or two either way but equally one of us could win handy. Player for player who knows, let's be honest I wouldn't be overly familiar with the Armagh team and doubtful most up there would have seen our lads often.

We seen enough last season to know what you're a capable off, I think Tipp are down a few players from last season and as you said earlier one or two struggling to get 100% fit. We niggly injuries and not peaking like last year at the right times to key players could de-rail ya.
Armagh are kinda of unknown to a certain degree even to their own fans as we're not really sure what they're capable off, we've seen we flashes of what they can do but in Championship games this is as far as we've got in 3 years and our team compared to 3 years ago has changed a lot.
It's going to be squaeky bum time until the end (be surprised if someone wins easy) and i'm getting excited about it, as i said previosuly  the winner will gain some confidence and momentum from this game.
Post by: LCohen on July 13, 2017, 10:28:01 PM
No armagh team announced until the morning. Not the end of the world. A first world problem if ever there was. We all know that the team announced on a Thursday will not always start on a Saturday. But the team announced on the Thursday is the team submitted for the programme on Wednesday. Why not release it? Odd
Post by: BennyCake on July 13, 2017, 11:05:32 PM
Programmes are pointless anyway.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 13, 2017, 11:11:55 PM
Quote from: LCohen on July 13, 2017, 10:28:01 PM
No armagh team announced until the morning. Not the end of the world. A first world problem if ever there was. We all know that the team announced on a Thursday will not always start on a Saturday. But the team announced on the Thursday is the team submitted for the programme on Wednesday. Why not release it? Odd

Armagh lined out on last Saturday as named on the previous Thursday evening.
Post by: armaghniac on July 13, 2017, 11:41:42 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on July 13, 2017, 11:11:55 PM

at least for the first 30 secs.
Post by: BennyCake on July 14, 2017, 12:15:16 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 13, 2017, 11:41:42 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on July 13, 2017, 11:11:55 PM

at least for the first 30 secs.

Was Seanie Johnston being substituted again?
Post by: naka on July 14, 2017, 09:01:11 AM
 (One change in Armagh team as started last Saturday
Shields in for Mc Kay ( believe he is injured).
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 14, 2017, 09:36:41 AM
1    Blaine Hughes   Blaine O'hAodha   Carraig an Chrupain
2   James Morgan   Sean O Muireagain   Raonaithe na Croise
3   Charlie Vernon   Cathal Mac Mhearnáin   Cláirsigh Ard Mhacha
4   Mark Shields   Marcas O' Siail   An Chrois Bhan
5   Paul Hughes   Pól Ó hAodha   Raonaithe na Croise
6   Brendan Donaghy   Brendan O'Donnchaidh   Cluain Mhor
7   Aidan Forker   Aodhán Mac Fhearchair   An Machaire
8   Stephen Sheridan   Stiofán Ó Sireadáin   Foirceal
9   Niall Grimley   Niall Ó Garmaile   Na Madáin
10   Ciaran O'Hanlon   Ciaran O'hAnluain   Cill Shleibhe
11   Anthony Duffy   Antóin Ó Dufaigh   Na Piarsaigh Óga
12   Rory Grugan ( C )   Ruairí Ó Gruagáin   Baile Mhic an Aba
13   Jamie Clarke   Séimí Mac Cléirigh   Raonaithe na Croise
14   Andrew Murnin   Aindriu O'Murnain   Naomh Pol
15   Gavin McParland   Gabhán Mac Parthaláin   Baile Mhic an Aba
Post by: lurganblue on July 14, 2017, 11:32:58 AM
McKay is a loss. Been excellent all year.

Surprised to see none of Soup, Rafferty or O'Neill named to start but good options to be introduced.
Post by: bennydorano on July 14, 2017, 11:52:54 AM
Finishing with a stronger team seems to be part of the plan.
Post by: tippabu on July 14, 2017, 12:01:09 PM
The Tipperary team to play Armagh in Round 3B of the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship in Semple Stadium, tomorrow afternoon, July 15th at 5pm, has been announced by manager Liam Kearns.

There are two changes to the side that lined out last weekend with championship debutant Willie Connors (Kiladangan) coming into the back line while up front there is a welcome return to the starting fifteen for Philip Austin (Borrisokane) following his hugely impressive second half introduction last Saturday.

The Tipperary starting XV therefore lines out as follows;

Ciarán Kenrick – Moyle Rovers
Willie Connors – Kiladangan
Alan Campbell – Moyle Rovers
Emmet Moloney – Drom & Inch
Bill Maher – Kilsheelan-Kilcash
Robbie Kiely – Carbery Rangers
Jimmy Feehan – Killenaule
Liam Casey – Cahir
George Hannigan – Shannon Rovers
Josh Keane – Golden-Kilfeacle
Kevin O'Halloran – Portroe
Brian Fox (Capt.) – Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill
Conor Sweeney – Ballyporeen
Jack Kennedy – Clonmel Commercials
Philip Austin – Borrisokane
Post by: tippabu on July 14, 2017, 12:02:06 PM
Still no 70 mins in quinlivan, impacts off the bench changed things for us last week
Post by: LCohen on July 14, 2017, 01:54:57 PM
Quinlivan is such a threat that there will be a plan for him when he comes on. McKay is a miss. Morgan and Donaghy are alternatives in the back 2. McKeever might have a bigger role in this game in his old half back role.

O'Hanlon and Duffy will get through a lot of work but more potent attackers standing by for later in the game
Post by: naka on July 14, 2017, 02:24:30 PM
Having seen the teams
Think we are in a great position to send out a statement
For me Armagh by 4/5
Post by: seafoid on July 14, 2017, 02:42:15 PM
Quote from: tippabu on July 14, 2017, 12:01:09 PM
The Tipperary team to play Armagh in Round 3B of the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship in Semple Stadium, tomorrow afternoon, July 15th at 5pm, has been announced by manager Liam Kearns.

There are two changes to the side that lined out last weekend with championship debutant Willie Connors (Kiladangan) coming into the back line while up front there is a welcome return to the starting fifteen for Philip Austin (Borrisokane) following his hugely impressive second half introduction last Saturday.

Liam Casey – Cahir

Is borrisokane not in hurling country? 
Post by: BennyCake on July 14, 2017, 03:22:55 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 14, 2017, 02:42:15 PM

Liam Casey – Cahir

I think he plays hurling for Derry.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 14, 2017, 03:45:58 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on July 14, 2017, 03:22:55 PM

Liam Casey – Cahir

I think he plays hurling for Derry.
(https://i.ytimg.com/vi/bcYppAs6ZdI/hqdefault.jpg)
Post by: Blowitupref on July 14, 2017, 06:01:34 PM
Canavan has tipped Armagh to win.

http://www.skysports.com/gaa/pundits/news/30543/10946848/gaa-armaghs-momentum-to-carry-them-past-tipperary-says-peter-canavan
Post by: armaghniac on July 14, 2017, 06:10:13 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 14, 2017, 06:01:34 PM

http://www.skysports.com/gaa/pundits/news/30543/10946848/gaa-armaghs-momentum-to-carry-them-past-tipperary-says-peter-canavan

How does Armagh  beating Westmeath give them momentum, without Tipp having similar momentum having beaten Cavan, as Cavan are a better team than Westmeath?
Post by: tonto1888 on July 14, 2017, 07:35:48 PM
Maybe it's because we are on the back of two wins???
Post by: illdecide on July 14, 2017, 08:42:20 PM
I think Pete the Great :P talks a bit of sense and i tend to listen to what he say's. Of course it doesn't always come true but he generally talks sense. I believe Armagh will have the measure of them and as much as Quinlivan will have an impact I think Armagh's bench will counteract anything Tipp throw at us. C'mon ARMAGH...
Post by: Orior on July 14, 2017, 09:04:37 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 14, 2017, 06:10:13 PM

How does Armagh  beating Westmeath give them momentum, without Tipp having similar momentum having beaten Cavan, as Cavan are a better team than Westmeath?

That's what I thought too!
Post by: tippabu on July 14, 2017, 09:32:27 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 14, 2017, 09:04:37 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 14, 2017, 06:10:13 PM

That's what I thought too!

anyway you look at it, even without quinlivan starting tomorrows game is 50/50. tipp have shown as much as armagh in the last few years and there has been nothing between the two sides anytime theyve met. hopefully its a good competitive game and the best team wins and goes on even further in the championship. really looking forward to it and from the sounds of things there will be a massive armagh support down and i hope our lads get the support the do deserve
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 14, 2017, 09:55:23 PM
The league promotion decider in April was a real sickner for Armagh, if the Armagh players and management aren't up for this game then they will never will be and clear out will be needed. Quinlivan scored hat trick that day and i would expect him to start tomorrow.
Post by: Horse Box on July 15, 2017, 12:18:20 AM

Liam Casey – Cahir

It is as is Shannon Rovers , Kiladangan and Portroe ! The Borrisokane Player is also a Protestant ( genuinely ) so go easy on him :D . 
Post by: seafoid on July 15, 2017, 01:17:49 AM
Quote from: Horse Box on July 15, 2017, 12:18:20 AM

Liam Casey – Cahir

It is as is Shannon Rovers , Kiladangan and Portroe ! The Borrisokane Player is also a Protestant ( genuinely ) so go easy on him :D .
Is Mullinahone mostly football? Who can forget J Leahy ?
Post by: tippabu on July 15, 2017, 08:10:14 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 14, 2017, 09:55:23 PM
The league promotion decider in April was a real sickner for Armagh, if the Armagh players and management aren't up for this game then they will never will be and clear out will be needed. Quinlivan scored hat trick that day and i would expect him to start tomorrow.

Having a think about this, which game would ye rate more important, the promotion decider or this one? Realistically neither of us have a hope of winning the all ireland and 1/4 final look as good as we'll go but still id have this game over the league game between us
Post by: punt kick on July 15, 2017, 10:52:54 AM
Would disagree tippabu would rather be tested in a higher division next year than get one more game in this years championship.
Post by: Horse Box on July 15, 2017, 12:20:02 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 15, 2017, 01:17:49 AM
Quote from: Horse Box on July 15, 2017, 12:18:20 AM

Liam Casey – Cahir

Is Mullinahone mostly football? Who can forget J Leahy ?

Was mainly Football until his era then if became more Hurley . Football is secondary now unfortunately !
Post by: stiffler on July 15, 2017, 01:58:13 PM
Where in Belfast city centre would show the game ?
Post by: belfastkev on July 15, 2017, 02:12:47 PM
The Garrick would probably be your best bet. They seem to show most of the football.
Post by: StGallsGAA on July 15, 2017, 02:14:23 PM
Quote from: stiffler on July 15, 2017, 01:58:13 PM

You could try the SRRSC! :)

Seriously tho the Hatfield on Ormeau Road or Botantic Inn on Malone Road would be your best bet.
Post by: Taylor on July 15, 2017, 03:16:53 PM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on July 15, 2017, 02:14:23 PM
Quote from: stiffler on July 15, 2017, 01:58:13 PM

You could try the SRRSC! :)

Seriously tho the Hatfield on Ormeau Road or Botantic Inn on Malone Road would be your best bet.

Auntie Annie's & Garrick have been showing all the games over the last few weeks so imagine no different today
Post by: Buttofthehill on July 15, 2017, 04:44:13 PM
I'm sure it's been mentioned elsewhere but Canavan's analysis are top notch.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 15, 2017, 04:49:48 PM
Quote from: tippabu on July 15, 2017, 08:10:14 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 14, 2017, 09:55:23 PM

Having a think about this, which game would ye rate more important, the promotion decider or this one? Realistically neither of us have a hope of winning the all ireland and 1/4 final look as good as we'll go but still id have this game over the league game between us

A championship knock out game is more important IMO. Avoid Dublin in the quarter final and upset is possible. Quinlivan starting as I expected.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on July 15, 2017, 05:20:58 PM
Where was the advantage in that? Terrible refereeing.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 15, 2017, 05:22:19 PM
Inexperienced Roscommon referee takes certain goal from Armagh.  Bad when a better referee with real experience running the line.
Post by: joemamas on July 15, 2017, 05:26:33 PM
Worst call I have seen so far this year by a referee
Post by: punt kick on July 15, 2017, 05:32:10 PM
Shocking decision.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 15, 2017, 05:33:19 PM
Gamble playing Quinlivan not paying off as he gingerly moves around with an injury.
Post by: Zulu on July 15, 2017, 05:34:06 PM
Some great scores in the game but no real bite. Referee not helping as he has blown for very little contact and failed to use the advantage numerous times, the goal chance being the most glaring but far from the only one.
Post by: Zulu on July 15, 2017, 05:36:27 PM
Armagh are playing some lovely football too.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 15, 2017, 05:40:16 PM
10 - 8 for Tipp at HT
Post by: Blowitupref on July 15, 2017, 05:41:55 PM
Tipperary 0-10 Armagh 0-8 at half time a decent game of football with some top scores, a deserved lead for Tipperary however can their supporters not come up with a better chant than Tipp,Tipp,Tipp...?
Post by: joemamas on July 15, 2017, 05:42:18 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 15, 2017, 05:34:06 PM
Some great scores in the game but no real bite. Referee not helping as he has blown for very little contact and failed to use the advantage numerous times, the goal chance being the most glaring but far from the only one.

This ref had what I thought was a great game reffing the league final
He let the game flow.
Today he is doing the opposite pulling for every simple contact, how can refs be so inconsistent
Post by: clarshack on July 15, 2017, 05:42:49 PM
Tipp messing about in front of goal ffs. Should be 4 ahead at h/t instead of 2.
Post by: armaghniac on July 15, 2017, 05:46:16 PM
At least Armagh are trying to pass the ball to the forwards. They haven't all worked, but the idea is good.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on July 15, 2017, 05:48:36 PM
Quote from: Buttofthehill on July 15, 2017, 04:44:13 PM

Except when he chooses to chase a personal agenda and mentions McGeeney telling him that he couldn't tackle and then highlighting Armagh's poor tackling.

"Kieran McGeeney once said I couldn't tackle, well he needs to teach his team how to tackle".

Good grief! How long was he holding that one?
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 15, 2017, 05:51:08 PM
Quote from: joemamas on July 15, 2017, 05:42:18 PM

He let the game flow.
Today he is doing the opposite pulling for every simple contact, how can refs be so inconsistent

He was poor enough in the league final and hasn't shown anything in the championship to prove he is good enough to be called in at that level.  The lost goal showed he can't read the game even when 20 yards from the incident he immediately blew his whistle because he was bursted having had to run a fair part of the pitch to reach that point. Surprised he had enough in him to blow the whistle.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 15, 2017, 05:54:08 PM
Skill of the day, Jamie Clarke flicking up the ball while running at full pelt and then delivering the ball into McParland for what should have been a goal.

Clarke really showing his talent today as the play maker.
Post by: smelmoth on July 15, 2017, 05:56:54 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on July 15, 2017, 05:48:36 PM

Except when he chooses to chase a personal agenda and mentions McGeeney telling him that he couldn't tackle and then highlighting Armagh's poor tackling.

"Kieran McGeeney once said I couldn't tackle, well he needs to teach his team how to tackle".

Hardly a big issue.

Winning our own kick out and changing our attacking plan in the second half would be more concerning
Post by: Buttofthehill on July 15, 2017, 05:57:17 PM

Yeah noticed that.
Post by: Buttofthehill on July 15, 2017, 05:58:17 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on July 15, 2017, 05:51:08 PM

He let the game flow.

He was poor enough in the league final and hasn't shown anything in the championship to prove he is good enough to be called in at that level.  The lost goal showed he can't read the game even when 20 yards from the incident he immediately blew his whistle because he was bursted having had to run a fair part of the pitch to reach that point. Surprised he had enough in him to blow the whistle.

He missed a Dublin penalty in the league final too!
Post by: Main Street on July 15, 2017, 05:59:27 PM
Quote from: Buttofthehill on July 15, 2017, 05:58:17 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on July 15, 2017, 05:51:08 PM

He let the game flow.

He missed a Dublin penalty in the league final too!
Generally we don't lose any sweat over a ref missing a Dublin penalty.
Post by: Buttofthehill on July 15, 2017, 06:00:22 PM
Post by: Buttofthehill on July 15, 2017, 06:01:06 PM
Even on one leg!
Post by: Blowitupref on July 15, 2017, 06:01:35 PM
Goal for Tipp! Quinlivan with a great finish. Armagh moments later almost get a goal themselves.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 15, 2017, 06:02:35 PM
One legged man beats the defence - very poor.  Have Armagh learned nothing?
Post by: Buttofthehill on July 15, 2017, 06:03:51 PM
Keeper beaten at near post too.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 15, 2017, 06:08:14 PM
Commentary from Sky quite one sided.
Post by: PMG1 on July 15, 2017, 06:10:32 PM
Question for anyone in the north,if I subscribe to gaago season pass can I watch this game or does it not show those on sky?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 15, 2017, 06:12:42 PM
Armagh to grind it out ;)
Post by: Blowitupref on July 15, 2017, 06:13:15 PM
50 mins gone Tipperary 1-10 Armagh 0-12 some bad wides in this half but its a game that is still all to play for.
Post by: joemamas on July 15, 2017, 06:15:09 PM
I hope Armagh win
They are at least trying to play football
Post by: Buttofthehill on July 15, 2017, 06:15:43 PM
Tipp are running out of gas
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 15, 2017, 06:16:16 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 15, 2017, 06:13:15 PM
50 mins gone Tipperary 1-10 Armagh 0-12 some bad wides in this half but its a game that is still all to play for.

Has Hawkeye been recalibrated for the big ball?
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 15, 2017, 06:19:29 PM
Quote from: Buttofthehill on July 15, 2017, 06:15:43 PM
Tipp are running out of gas
Looks that way and have lost both midfielders. Armaghs game to lose now it seems.
Post by: clarshack on July 15, 2017, 06:19:44 PM
No. 11 for Tipp having a shocker
Post by: Zulu on July 15, 2017, 06:22:20 PM
Christ but Earley is brutal in co-commentary. Armagh looking the better bet now but Tipp are still very much in this and should have a dominant period themselves.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 15, 2017, 06:23:46 PM
Armagh in front! 61 mins gone Tipp 1-11 Armagh 0-15
Post by: tyroneman on July 15, 2017, 06:25:11 PM
Tipp's basic handling of the ball is awful. Ye would be giving out if yr u10s were making those elementary mistakes.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 15, 2017, 06:27:36 PM
Level again, 65 mins gone Tipp 1-12 Armagh 0-15.
Post by: tyroneman on July 15, 2017, 06:29:31 PM
That referee is brutal
Post by: on the sideline on July 15, 2017, 06:30:41 PM
Any streams or links to watch this on?
Post by: StGallsGAA on July 15, 2017, 06:31:19 PM
Any buckfast bottles thrown yet?
Post by: Blowitupref on July 15, 2017, 06:32:27 PM
A little bit of class from Clarke to surely seal the win for Armagh.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 15, 2017, 06:33:24 PM
about 20 steps coming out of defence there
Post by: Buttofthehill on July 15, 2017, 06:36:37 PM
Did the 15 foul the ball on the advantage?
Post by: Crete Boom on July 15, 2017, 06:36:49 PM
Jesus ref having a mare in this game!!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 15, 2017, 06:38:09 PM
Not sure this ref understands the concept of advantage.
Post by: StGallsGAA on July 15, 2017, 06:44:40 PM
Mc geeney in?  Out??  Shake it all about?
Post by: Blowitupref on July 15, 2017, 06:44:53 PM
FT Tipperary 1-15 Armagh 1-17. Ref was bad for both teams and over the course of the game the best team won.
Post by: joemamas on July 15, 2017, 06:45:06 PM
Best team won
Not sure why Tipp crowd are annoyed
One point from play in second half
Post by: ashman on July 15, 2017, 06:46:01 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 15, 2017, 06:44:53 PM
FT Tipperary 1-15 Armagh 1-17. Ref was bad for both teams and over the course of the game the best team won.

To be fair Liam Kearns was very gracious in defeat . 
Post by: smelmoth on July 15, 2017, 06:47:09 PM
Fitness told

Better individual skills told

Roll on next round and presumably Down or Kildare
Post by: Gael85 on July 15, 2017, 06:49:19 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 15, 2017, 06:44:53 PM

Agree. Tipp didn't have the bench and Quinlivan clearly not match fit. He usually give a dig out around the middle. His presence was missed there in Cork game and today. Niall Grimley hit some nice scores. Is he a son of John Grimley?
Post by: smelmoth on July 15, 2017, 06:49:50 PM
Quote from: joemamas on July 15, 2017, 06:45:06 PM
Best team won

Ref got enough calls wrong. At times weirdly wrong that the losing support were going to feel aggrieved. But he wasn't the winning or the losing of the game. Better team won. Quite clearly
Post by: thewobbler on July 15, 2017, 06:49:53 PM
Best team won

In the last 10 minutes when Tipp ran at armagh there was only 3 things happened, and none in Tipp's favour:

1. Cynical direct fouls were met with yellow instead of black.
2. Cynical off the ball fouls were ignored.
3. When no foul was made, the ref invented one in case an overlap formed.

Fair play to armagh for creating the lead. But the referee is the reason they protected it.
Post by: smelmoth on July 15, 2017, 06:51:17 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on July 15, 2017, 06:49:53 PM
Best team won

In the last 10 minutes when Tipp ran at armagh there was only 3 things happened, and none in Tipp's favour:

Fair play to armagh for creating the lead. But the referee is the reason they protected it.

Who should have got a black card?
Post by: T Fearon on July 15, 2017, 06:53:03 PM
Best performance in Mc Geeney's reign.Am sure he would relish a crack at Kildare
Post by: Gael85 on July 15, 2017, 06:53:36 PM
Best team won

He's a poor referee. Why do Croke Park reward him with more games? He seems to be on televised games every week.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 15, 2017, 06:53:58 PM
Ref completely lost the plot with the advantage rule. Let them play on when he should have awarded the free and vice versa. Think he had confused himself by the end.
Post by: naka on July 15, 2017, 06:54:22 PM
Best team won

Wobbler concern yourself with tomorrow
We defended a lead
Just like down did with mc Kiernan in newry
We weren't cynical in the league and look what happened
Post by: StGallsGAA on July 15, 2017, 06:55:03 PM
Diabolical refereeing. Should have been 3-4 black cards in last 10 mins alone.
Post by: The Trap on July 15, 2017, 06:55:29 PM
If that is the best I would hate to see the worst.....thought armagh struggled to put away a poor, tired tipp team with their best player on one leg.....
Post by: Esmarelda on July 15, 2017, 06:55:49 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on July 15, 2017, 06:51:17 PM
Best team won

Co-commentator actually said there was a pull on the jersey and couldn't understand why it wasn't a black card. Is it that hard to read a couple of lines?
Post by: BluestackBoy on July 15, 2017, 06:57:26 PM
Quote from: Esmarelda on July 15, 2017, 06:55:49 PM
Best team won

Co-commentator actually said there was a pull on the jersey and couldn't understand why it wasn't a black card. Is it that hard to read a couple of lines?
Pulling a jersey isn't a black card offence.
Post by: thewobbler on July 15, 2017, 06:57:52 PM
Quote from: naka on July 15, 2017, 06:54:22 PM
Best team won

We defended a lead
Best team won

We defended a lead

Honestly I say absolutely fair play to Armagh for doing it.

My point remains that they only can do it because the ref doesn't really understand what football is about. Systematic, cynical fouling should be met with appropriate punishment.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 15, 2017, 06:58:32 PM
A small measure of revenge for that sickner of a league defeat. Armagh dominated that 2nd and really should have won by more. It's looking like Kildare next maybe in Croke park?
Post by: balladmaker on July 15, 2017, 07:02:44 PM
Fair play Armagh, best team won and should have had a few more to spare.

Great to see the players reaction at the end, more to come from this Armagh team with Q/Finals just one game away.
Post by: JP on July 15, 2017, 07:02:59 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on July 15, 2017, 06:57:26 PM
Best team won

It's been a few years now since the black card have been introduced! a pull down is a black card! pulling the jersey is not! whether its cynical play are not does not matter! only decisions the ref got wrong were regarding the advantage rule! and that was for both teams! best team won!
Post by: tonto1888 on July 15, 2017, 07:05:56 PM
Delighted with that win. Played some good football and done what was needed to get over the line
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 15, 2017, 07:07:41 PM
Quote from: JP on July 15, 2017, 07:02:59 PM
Best team won

It's been a few years now since the black card have been introduced! a pull down is a black card! pulling the jersey is not! whether its cynical play are not does not matter! only decisions the ref got wrong were regarding the advantage rule! and that was for both teams! best team won!

Not really surprising that as soon as McKeever pulled the jersey the crap commentating team immediately shouted black card.
Post by: tonto1888 on July 15, 2017, 07:08:30 PM
The ref cost us a goal with the advantage not being applied properly. We don't know what would have happened with the Tipp one
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 15, 2017, 07:08:47 PM
Yet another poor performance from the Roscommon referee and you can be sure he will be back for more championship games.

Doesn't have the capacity to deal with a multi incident game, trying to balance one bad decision with another.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 15, 2017, 07:10:55 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on July 15, 2017, 07:08:47 PM
Yet another poor performance from the Roscommon referee and you can be sure he will be back for more championship games.
fussy, then lets an awful lot of stuff go - like steps
Post by: Esmarelda on July 15, 2017, 07:16:14 PM
Best team won

I know. That's my point.
Post by: dublin7 on July 15, 2017, 07:16:28 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on July 15, 2017, 07:08:47 PM

Doesn't have the capacity to deal with a multi incident game, trying to balance one bad decision with another.

Clearly has no idea how the advantage rule works or what a black card is. Got so many easy decisions wrong it was a joke
Post by: Oraisteach on July 15, 2017, 07:17:00 PM
Apart from a few dismal advantage calls, I thought the ref did OK.  Glad to see Armagh with a free-taker who doesn't give me palpitations. And pleased too that after a brief lapse following the Quinlivan goal, Armagh regained its composure. 
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 15, 2017, 07:17:39 PM
good to see another McGeeney team who clearly don't know how to tackle
Post by: thewobbler on July 15, 2017, 07:18:14 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on July 15, 2017, 07:07:41 PM
Best team won

Not really surprising that as soon as McKeever pulled the jersey the crap commentating team immediately shouted black card.

So just to clear something up here.

Are you telling us that a pull down involving a shirt pull is not a not a black card? Or is it only such case when Armagh are involved?

McKeever should have walked. It is exactly the sort of tackle that the black card was introduced to remove from the game.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 15, 2017, 07:19:17 PM
Paddy Neilan from what i seen of him is a inconsistent ref, for example good in the Div one final this April while bad in todays game but at least the best team won that game today. Other refs are bad in every game yet keep getting high profile games.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on July 15, 2017, 07:26:23 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on July 15, 2017, 05:56:54 PM

Hardly a big issue.

Winning our own kick out and changing our attacking plan in the second half would be more concerning

Big enough for me to feel the need to reply, thanks. You don't like it, put me on ignore.
Post by: JP on July 15, 2017, 07:28:00 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on July 15, 2017, 07:18:14 PM
Best team won

Are you telling us that a pull down involving a shirt pull is not a not a black card? Or is it only such case when Armagh are involved?

McKeever should have walked. It is exactly the sort of tackle that the black card was introduced to remove from the game.
I'm saying you don't know the rules! pulling the shirt has never been a black card! there are 5 fouls were a black card is issued! The mckeever incident didn't fall under any of them! it was a yellow card and the ref made the correct decision
Post by: Zulu on July 15, 2017, 07:30:06 PM
Best team won

The ref got a good bit wrong today but that wasn't one of them. He pulled the jersey and the Tipp player went to ground. To be a black he would have to have pulled him to the ground and he didn't so a yellow was correct.
Post by: nrico2006 on July 15, 2017, 08:08:20 PM
Usual incompetent GAA, put a rule out with loads of loopholes and still haven't amended it since it's introduction. A pull should be a black card but currently by the letter of the law it's not a black card offence.
Post by: Zulu on July 15, 2017, 08:09:41 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on July 15, 2017, 08:08:20 PM
Usual incompetent GAA, put a rule out with loads of loopholes and still haven't amended it since it's introduction. A pull should be a black card but currently by the letter of the law it's not a black card offence.

No it shouldn't, a black card for a pull would mean nobody ever playing a full 70 minutes.
Post by: T Fearon on July 15, 2017, 08:12:16 PM
Is Liam Kearns the first Munster manager to lose two Championship games to Armagh
Post by: Esmarelda on July 15, 2017, 08:13:00 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 15, 2017, 08:09:41 PM

No it shouldn't, a black card for a pull would mean nobody ever playing a full 70 minutes.
We're still talking about the bloody black card rules. They didn't put the jersey pull in because they feared they wouldn't get it through congress.
Post by: tonto1888 on July 15, 2017, 09:02:04 PM
Rewatched the last ten mins again. I understand Tipp fans frustration regarding the advantage. However, there was no guarentee he'd have scored unlike McParland
Post by: yellowcard on July 15, 2017, 09:25:32 PM
Neilan from what I've seen of him is a rulebook referee. Referees to the letter of the law and fails to apply common sense, looks like a man that never played much himself because his failure to apply the advantage rule is one that infuriates players and spectators. Doesn't trust his ability to control a match so blows for minimal physical contact. You only had to watch the Monaghan v Down match for an example of the difference in refereeing style after he replaced Coldrick at half time.
Post by: yellowcard on July 15, 2017, 09:27:17 PM
Is Geezer on a media ban, he hasn't spoke to the press since the sideline ban but no mention of it anywhere in the media.
Post by: Rossfan on July 15, 2017, 09:38:21 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 15, 2017, 09:25:32 PM
Neilan from what I've seen of him is a rulebook referee.
Errr isn't the Ref there to see the game is played in accordance with the Rules?
Apart from the total fck up over the Armagh "goal" and not giving Tipp a number of frees when their players were fouled what did he do wrong?

Post by: Armamike on July 15, 2017, 09:45:40 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on July 15, 2017, 06:57:52 PM
Best team won

We defended a lead
Best team won

We defended a lead

My point remains that they only can do it because the ref doesn't really understand what football is about. Systematic, cynical fouling should be met with appropriate punishment.

What was it that Armagh did in the last 5 or 7 minutes was so cynical and that went unpunished?  Even if McKeever had been blackcarded (when it wasn't a black card offence), in all likelihood it wouldn't have changed the result.  Were there any other yellows or reds that should have been dished out?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 15, 2017, 09:46:08 PM
Well done to armagh.  Disappointing day for Tipp but overall the year is still one of progress with the promotion. It would have been a very damp squib if they only had a win over Cavan. The work continues. Best of luck to Armagh in the next round.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 15, 2017, 09:51:11 PM
McGeeney shows the way, great away win.
Post by: yellowcard on July 15, 2017, 09:52:39 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 15, 2017, 09:38:21 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 15, 2017, 09:25:32 PM
Neilan from what I've seen of him is a rulebook referee.
Errr isn't the Ref there to see the game is played in accordance with the Rules?
Apart from the total fck up over the Armagh "goal" and not giving Tipp a number of frees when their players were fouled what did he do wrong?

Being from Roscommon you must know him better than most. In the games I've seen him he is overly fussy and allows minimal contact which doesn't help as a spectator if you're looking for a free flowing game. Due to the tackle not being clearly defined in Gaelic football, the referee often has a degree of discretion he can use before deciding whether to award free kicks or not.
Post by: Armamike on July 15, 2017, 09:57:23 PM
Nice to get out of Tipp with the win and the team started to show a bit of resolve and tenacity to see games out.  Niall Grimley is developing very well into a very good player from frees and play. Hit some sweet ones today.  Also good to see Gavin McParland put in a really gutsy performance.  Cool finish from Jamie for the goal.  Tipp can have no complaints.  When you don't score for most of the second half and get outplayed. 

Post by: DuffleKing on July 15, 2017, 10:02:29 PM
Best team won

Dear me. Nothing more infuriating than this half assed approach to uunderstanding the rules of the game.

This was not a black card by any definition. Cynical? Certainly.
Post by: Main Street on July 15, 2017, 10:06:26 PM
Overall Armagh clearly deserved the victory. The game was a slow burner but got very interesting in the last 1/4.

I thought McKeever was going to get a black, he had no interest in the tackle just cynically drag back and impede the player. I didn't realise that a player had to be dragged to the ground before the ref would consider it to be a black card offence.
Post by: armaghniac on July 15, 2017, 10:32:59 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 15, 2017, 10:06:26 PM
Overall Armagh clearly deserved the victory. The game was a slow burner but got very interesting in the last 1/4.

I thought McKeever was going to get a black, he had no interest in the tackle just cynically drag back and impede the player. I didn't realise that a player had to be dragged to the ground before the ref would consider it to be a black card offence.

The ref wouldn't consider it black card because it would not be a black card. I suspect McKeever knows the rule better than some here or most spectators.

(http://img2.thejournal.ie/inline/1246843/original/?width=343&version=1246843)

Watched the goal replayed on the news, we need to get not allow people walk in like that.
Post by: Solo_run on July 15, 2017, 10:41:27 PM
Never got to watch the game but looking forward to seeing it.

Balls.ie put up a few of the scores and there was some fine scoring from both teams

https://www.balls.ie/gaa/jamie-clarke-goal-369283
Post by: smelmoth on July 15, 2017, 10:58:20 PM
Best team won

Rte get a lot of criticism. A lot of it deserved. But Sky sent a team to analyse that game that don't know the rules of the game they are being paid to analyse

What McKeever did should be a black card. But the rule makers didn't possess the fortitude to deliver that. Don't blame Neiland
Post by: smelmoth on July 15, 2017, 11:00:20 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on July 15, 2017, 06:57:52 PM
Best team won

We defended a lead
Best team won

We defended a lead

Appropriate to the rules or to the fan outlook?
Post by: smelmoth on July 15, 2017, 11:05:05 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 15, 2017, 07:05:56 PM
Delighted with that win. Played some good football and done what was needed to get over the line

Our football was ok. Not better. But it was the only football played. Especially in the second half
Post by: smelmoth on July 15, 2017, 11:05:53 PM
Best team won

Wrong
Post by: smelmoth on July 15, 2017, 11:06:53 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on July 15, 2017, 07:17:00 PM
Apart from a few dismal advantage calls, I thought the ref did OK.  Glad to see Armagh with a free-taker who doesn't give me palpitations. And pleased too that after a brief lapse following the Quinlivan goal, Armagh regained its composure.

100%
Post by: smelmoth on July 15, 2017, 11:08:19 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on July 15, 2017, 07:26:23 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on July 15, 2017, 05:56:54 PM

Hardly a big issue.

Big enough for me to feel the need to reply, thanks. You don't like it, put me on ignore.

Big enough for you

Run of the mill comment. No more
Post by: smelmoth on July 15, 2017, 11:10:17 PM

The powers that be want the change. But that power ain't sufficient. Direct your ire at the blockers
Post by: smelmoth on July 15, 2017, 11:11:15 PM

Or discipline and an improved game
Post by: Zulu on July 15, 2017, 11:18:23 PM
So you want a guy sent off for a tug of the jersey? There's too much physicality taken out of the game already, lads getting sent off of a jersey pull would make the bloody thing entirely non-contact.
Post by: tonto1888 on July 15, 2017, 11:23:46 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on July 15, 2017, 11:05:05 PM

Our football was ok. Not better. But it was the only football played. Especially in the second half

Don't understand this. Are you saying we didn't play any good football?
Post by: Orior on July 15, 2017, 11:23:59 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 15, 2017, 05:41:55 PM
Tipperary 0-10 Armagh 0-8 at half time a decent game of football with some top scores, a deserved lead for Tipperary however can their supporters not come up with a better chant than Tipp,Tipp,Tipp...?

I first heard that chant in Croke Park about 10 years ago. It's great!
Post by: smelmoth on July 15, 2017, 11:26:32 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 15, 2017, 11:18:23 PM
So you want a guy sent off for a tug of the jersey? There's too much physicality taken out of the game already, lads getting sent off of a jersey pull would make the bloody thing entirely non-contact.

What Ciaran did was not a run of the mill jersey pull
Post by: smelmoth on July 15, 2017, 11:27:08 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 15, 2017, 11:21:48 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on July 15, 2017, 11:11:15 PM

Or discipline and an improved game
Ballix. Every foul isn't a sending off.

Nobody said it was
Post by: Rossfan on July 15, 2017, 11:27:42 PM
Jersey pulls are fouls Zulu and therefore illegal contact.
Post by: smelmoth on July 15, 2017, 11:30:32 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 15, 2017, 11:23:46 PM

We certainly exploited the frailties in Tipperary's fitness and tactical shitness. What was displayed today won't win the next round.

This team can play better. They will need to and they can
Post by: Zulu on July 15, 2017, 11:35:31 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on July 15, 2017, 11:26:32 PM

But you said a jersey pull should be a black card, are you saying only some should?
Post by: smelmoth on July 15, 2017, 11:36:30 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 15, 2017, 11:32:26 PM

Are you expecting it to be left to referee interpretation, what is a bad jersey tug and what is run of the mill? Good luck.

If a team needs a goal. Their player is moving in on goal inside the 20. A defender grabs the back of the jersey nowhere near the ball. Pure cynicism? Absolutely.

Look at the trip on Sheridan. Not a black card because there was no intent. Ref can be left to adjudicate on these things
Post by: Zulu on July 15, 2017, 11:38:28 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 15, 2017, 11:27:42 PM
Jersey pulls are fouls Zulu and therefore illegal contact.

I know Rossfan but there's loads of jersey tugs that are nothing so they all can't be worthy of a sending off.
Post by: smelmoth on July 15, 2017, 11:39:01 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 15, 2017, 11:35:31 PM

But you said a jersey pull should be a black card, are you saying only some should?

I will openly equivocate on this one. I think it was absolutely possible to include some jersey pulls in the black card as it was possible to include some trips and late contacts
Post by: tonto1888 on July 15, 2017, 11:44:49 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on July 15, 2017, 11:30:32 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 15, 2017, 11:23:46 PM

We certainly exploited the frailties in Tipperary's fitness and tactical shitness. What was displayed today won't win the next round.

This team can play better. They will need to and they can
I agree with that. Still think we played some good football today though
Post by: Orior on July 15, 2017, 11:47:44 PM
I was not expecting a win, but after 5 mins of the first half I thought we had a chance.

The ref made a few mistakes - but guess what - he is human. So give the man some slack.

Great performances all over the pitch from Armagh, and areas we can improve on too.

Positives:
- nearly always a couple of passing options
- always looking up for the long ball
- great points from play
- lots of good catches in the midfield
- kept possession until an opening appeared (despite all around me hollering for a hoof pass)
- ability to change tactics - sometimes we had a sweeper, and at other time we were all man marking
- a good bench

Room for improvement
- some indecision by the keeper on the kick-outs (but to be fair he did find men in the clear too, and was comfortable catching the ball)
- could we get more scores out of Jamie?

I also enjoyed the players staying on the pitch afterwards for photos.

Finally, I don't like the seats in Semple. I need support for my back! Otherwise, a good stadium.
Post by: illdecide on July 16, 2017, 12:11:08 AM
First time visiting Semple and it could do with a major facelift, for such a prestigious stadium the GAA needs to invest in it and modernise it a bit but great to finally visit this famous ground.

On the match, the Ref was poor enough for both teams, no one could really complain and say that Armagh didn't deserve the result. Thats two weeks in a row where Armagh have had me on the edge of my (half) seat, they are progressing and getting better with each game they play and no matter who they play next (bar Dublin, which is highly unlikely) they are in with a shout of reaching the quarter finals.

Personally i would like to meet Down again as i believe we'd beat them and it would be a good tight affair in Croke Park, assuming results go the way they're forecasted to go (Monaghan can't meet Down) then we'll play Down and Monaghan will play Kildare.

There were many incidents in the game and can't single them all out but the major ones were the advantage rule for Armagh's disallowed goal, C McKeever's tug of a jersey, not allowing Tipp advantage when fouled and an Armagh player taking too many steps. The ref made a mistake and the Armagh goal should have stood.
C McKeever pulled a jersey and Ref dealt with it (TBH the rules are just confusing and must be a nightmare for a Ref to call)
Tipp should have had advantage rule played when they were through (we'll never know what would have come of it)
The Armagh player whilst breaking out with the ball did take too many steps but there were 2 Tipp men hanging out of him and thats why the Ref let him run on.

All in all an enjoyable day and get's us another day out (and in HQ too)
Post by: Zulu on July 16, 2017, 12:16:03 AM
Quote from: smelmoth on July 15, 2017, 11:39:01 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 15, 2017, 11:35:31 PM

I will openly equivocate on this one. I think it was absolutely possible to include some jersey pulls in the black card as it was possible to include some trips and late contacts

But it's not. Was the McKeever a definite goal chance? A referee has a very difficult job as it is and if he now had to decide what jersey tugs were black cards and what weren't then all you're doing is making more sticks to beat referees with.
Post by: David McKeown on July 16, 2017, 12:24:56 AM
Quote from: illdecide on July 16, 2017, 12:11:08 AM
First time visiting Semple and it could do with a major facelift, for such a prestigious stadium the GAA needs to invest in it and modernise it a bit but great to finally visit this famous ground.

On the match, the Ref was poor enough for both teams, no one could really complain and say that Armagh didn't deserve the result. Thats two weeks in a row where Armagh have had me on the edge of my (half) seat, they are progressing and getting better with each game they play and no matter who they play next (bar Dublin, which is highly unlikely) they are in with a shout of reaching the quarter finals.

Personally i would like to meet Down again as i believe we'd beat them and it would be a good tight affair in Croke Park, assuming results go the way they're forecasted to go (Monaghan can't meet Down) then we'll play Down and Monaghan will play Kildare.

There were many incidents in the game and can't single them all out but the major ones were the advantage rule for Armagh's disallowed goal, C McKeever's tug of a jersey, not allowing Tipp advantage when fouled and an Armagh player taking too many steps. The ref made a mistake and the Armagh goal should have stood.
C McKeever pulled a jersey and Ref dealt with it (TBH the rules are just confusing and must be a nightmare for a Ref to call)
Tipp should have had advantage rule played when they were through (we'll never know what would have come of it)
The Armagh player whilst breaking out with the ball did take too many steps but there were 2 Tipp men hanging out of him and thats why the Ref let him run on.

All in all an enjoyable day and get's us another day out (and in HQ too)

I understood the rule was that as long as it was possible a team could not meet a team the had previously eliminated As that will not be possible if Down lose tomorrow a draw will be required.

In rounds 1-3 of the qualifiers if a team is required to play against someone they've already beaten then they get home advantage, not sure if that rule continues to round 4. So may not be in Croke Park (or against Down yet)
Post by: Rossfan on July 16, 2017, 12:35:29 AM
As Armagh and Monaghan won there will be a draw for pairings.
Round 4 is neutral venues.
I'd suspect Croke Park will be the venue (to make up for Dublin's 1st game in Leinster being not being there).
Post by: nrico2006 on July 16, 2017, 12:39:01 AM
Any cynical jersey pulls should be black cards, but they currently aren't within the scope of the rule/sanction. If it was, instead of worrying about the number of culprits it may lead to a cleaner game and eradicate one form of cheating. Why pull a jersey in the first place?
Post by: David McKeown on July 16, 2017, 12:43:29 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 16, 2017, 12:35:29 AM
As Armagh and Monaghan won there will be a draw for pairings.
Round 4 is neutral venues.
I'd suspect Croke Park will be the venue (to make up for Dublin's 1st game in Leinster being not being there).

Cheers, at the start of the year if you had said to Armagh fans they would play in Croke Park in the championship this year most would have been ecstatic.
Post by: Zulu on July 16, 2017, 01:03:31 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on July 16, 2017, 12:39:01 AM
Any cynical jersey pulls should be black cards, but they currently aren't within the scope of the rule/sanction. If it was, instead of worrying about the number of culprits it may lead to a cleaner game and eradicate one form of cheating. Why pull a jersey in the first place?

Have you ever played any contact sport?
Post by: nrico2006 on July 16, 2017, 01:17:33 AM
Quote from: Zulu on July 16, 2017, 01:03:31 AM

Aye, probably more than yourself but never found the need to pull a jersey. Are you a jersey puller? It's the most obvious case of cynical play in the GAA and the black card was brought in to get rid of cynical play therefore a jersey pull should be a black card offence.
Post by: Solo_run on July 16, 2017, 01:43:12 AM
The black card rule is a disgrace....it's constantly being argued over. 

Personally,  I think a pull on the jersey should be a yellow card offence. I would consider pulling a players arm back as more of an infringement then tugging at a shirt.

Post by: Zulu on July 16, 2017, 01:54:43 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on July 16, 2017, 01:17:33 AM

Aye, probably more than yourself but never found the need to pull a jersey. Are you a jersey puller? It's the most obvious case of cynical play in the GAA and the black card was brought in to get rid of cynical play therefore a jersey pull should be a black card offence.

If you've played any contact team sport and never pulled a jersey you were either on the bench for every game or so far off your opponent you may as well have been. Look, I'd love to see cynical play punished as much as any man but pulling a jersey can be a minor interference that is as much instinctual as anything else so arguing a guy should be sent off for it is daft. The black card is a good effort at tackling the worst excesses of teams but it isn't perfect.
Post by: Main Street on July 16, 2017, 02:00:25 AM
Quote from: illdecide on July 16, 2017, 12:11:08 AM

Despite all that has been written in the qualifier thread, why do still think Monaghan can't play Down again but Armagh can?
Who was that mystery team that Down beat before they beat Monaghan?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 16, 2017, 02:25:49 AM

What McKeever did was pretty much why the black card was introduced in the first place. Totally cynical. He just got away with because he didn't actually drag the player to ground but the result is still the same.
Post by: armaghniac on July 16, 2017, 02:29:18 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 16, 2017, 02:25:49 AM

What McKeever did was pretty much why the black card was introduced in the first place. Totally cynical. He just got away with because he didn't actually drag the player to ground but the result is still the same.

Quite apart from the nature of the offence, the Black card is not an effective deterrent in injury time in any case.
Post by: stew on July 16, 2017, 02:40:38 AM

If McKeever had dome that at the death in the NL game against Tipp we would be a D2 team, lesson learned and he was right to do what he did.
Post by: Throw ball on July 16, 2017, 02:44:44 AM
For whoever previously asked Niall Grimley is not a son of John. He is from the Madden Grimley clan and not the Armagh city clan.

Referee getting some stick. I do not like his way of refereeing and he did make a number of mistakes but he was far from the worst referee I saw this year. Room for improvement but OK I would say.

First time in Semple. The pitch is great but a bit of an upgrade needed in the stands. The Tipp fans were very welcoming. Special mention to Michael Quinlivan who gave up some time after match to get pictures with young Armagh fans. Lovely gesture after defeat.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on July 16, 2017, 05:20:10 AM
Just saw highlight videos online and it looked like it was easier for Armagh than what I am reading on here, is that a fair statement?

The one clip that made me cringe is where Stephen Sheridan scored a point. Without seeing the match and knowing what the situation was at the time it seems he missed a great/easy opportunity for a goal. He was
coming in on the left side by the goal and could have easily passed it to his support on his right for a easy tap in goal. That type of awareness makes champions.

Overall a great result for Armagh!!
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 16, 2017, 07:51:21 AM
Well done Armagh.

Post by: Orior on July 16, 2017, 08:11:24 AM
Hope the Down men are not reading this thread. Lots of assumptions that they will get beat by Tyrone
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 16, 2017, 08:24:58 AM

I would have been disappointed if it had been.
Post by: stew on July 16, 2017, 08:36:48 AM
Quote from: Orior on July 16, 2017, 08:11:24 AM
Hope the Down men are not reading this thread. Lots of assumptions that they will get beat by Tyrone

Not beaten, hammered  ;D
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 16, 2017, 08:44:06 AM
Qualifiers Round 4   
In the fourth round of the qualifiers, the four winning teams from round 3 play the four beaten provincial finalists. Round 4 draw rules do not allow two teams that have played each other in a provincial match to meet again if such a pairing can be avoided. The matches are normally held in neutral venues. The four winners of these matches play the provincial champions in the All-Ireland quarter-finals.

Round 4B draw takes place Monday July 17th.

If Down in this round, they have played both Armagh and Monaghan so a draw will be necessary. Venues to be decided by CCCC.
Post by: JP on July 16, 2017, 10:11:17 AM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on July 16, 2017, 05:20:10 AM
Just saw highlight videos online and it looked like it was easier for Armagh than what I am reading on here, is that a fair statement?

The one clip that made me cringe is where Stephen Sheridan scored a point. Without seeing the match and knowing what the situation was at the time it seems he missed a great/easy opportunity for a goal. He was
coming in on the left side by the goal and could have easily passed it to his support on his right for a easy tap in goal. That type of awareness makes champions.

Overall a great result for Armagh!!

He made the right decision in my opinion! That was right at the end of the game and put us 4 points up! Nearly as good as a goal at that stage! It's great to have two midfielders that can run up and down the pitch all day! A far way from the days of toner/lavery etc.
Post by: blast05 on July 16, 2017, 10:31:03 AM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on July 16, 2017, 08:44:06 AM
Qualifiers Round 4   
In the fourth round of the qualifiers, the four winning teams from round 3 play the four beaten provincial finalists. Round 4 draw rules do not allow two teams that have played each other in a provincial match to meet again if such a pairing can be avoided. The matches are normally held in neutral venues. The four winners of these matches play the provincial champions in the All-Ireland quarter-finals.

Round 4B draw takes place Monday July 17th.

If Down in this round, they have played both Armagh and Monaghan so a draw will be necessary. Venues to be decided by CCCC.

They should have added another layer into this rule in that which ever pairing happened later in the relevant provisional championship should the first one to try and be avoided in situations like this, i.e.: because Down v Monaghan happened in a semi final as opposed to Down v Armagh in a quarter final, then the semi final pairing should get priority in terms of trying to avoid a repeat of that fixture ...... so assuming bookies favourites win today, then Down v Armagh and Kildare v Monaghan should have been the default fixtures imo
Post by: tippabu on July 16, 2017, 11:01:18 AM
I haven't read anything posted yet but ref came in for alot of stick and it did appear he completely lost the run of things and had a shocker.....that said I've no complaints over the result and Armagh fully deserved their win. We were completely flat the second half and never got going. Quinlivan everyone could see he was massively hamstrung and was nowhere near fit but he popped up with a cracking goal and that's why he had to play. All the best to Armagh in the rest of the championship.
Post by: David McKeown on July 16, 2017, 11:44:00 AM
I know the referee has come in for a lot of criticism for his interpretation of the advantage rule but I think this is more to do with the rule itself than his performance. What exactly constitutes an advantage?  I mean in the first half Tipp had an advantage about 30m out straight in front of the posts the player retained the ball after being fouled made a few yards and shot, the shot went wide so it was brought back for a free to Tipp which they scored. Now I'd argue the shot from closer in was the advantage and not the outcome of the shot but I understand I'm in the minority on that so I think we have to assume that a score must have resulted within 5 seconds for their to have been an advantage when a player is fouled in the scoring zone. I wonder therefore if 5 seconds had elapsed between the start of the fouls and the frees being awarded for the Armagh goal and the Tipp chance at the end. If there was then technically the referee was just being consistent in applying a poorly drafted rule.
Post by: theticklemister on July 16, 2017, 11:53:40 AM
I got a bit of abuse when reffing a game recently for the advantage rule.

-A man was flying down the endline towards goal, when the opposition man pulled him back.
-I let the play go and the attacker passed the ball back to his teammate on the 13m line, he got the shot away but was under pressure from 3 defenders and pulled his shot wide.
-I brought this back for a 13m free for the earlier foul.
-My reasoning was that although he did take a shot and went wide he was under pressure, whilst his team mate was bearing down on goal before getting pulled back - no fair advantage.

Thoughts?
Post by: tippabu on July 16, 2017, 12:03:58 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on July 16, 2017, 11:53:40 AM

-A man was flying down the endline towards goal, when the opposition man pulled him back.
-I let the play go and the attacker passed the ball back to his teammate on the 13m line, he got the shot away but was under pressure from 3 defenders and pulled his shot wide.
-My reasoning was that although he did take a shot and went wide he was under pressure, whilst his team mate was bearing down on goal before getting pulled back - no fair advantage.

Thoughts?

Quick question....ive noticed this alot, is there a specific rule with advantage? nearly everytime advantage is being played and theres a foul during the advantage its brought back for the original foul even if the foul during advantage is a penalty or free in a better position?
Post by: theticklemister on July 16, 2017, 12:08:58 PM
Quote from: tippabu on July 16, 2017, 12:03:58 PM

Thoughts?

Quick question....ive noticed this alot, is there a specific rule with advantage? nearly everytime advantage is being played and theres a foul during the advantage its brought back for the original foul even if the foul during advantage is a penalty or free in a better position?

there is suppose to be a 5 second advantage
Post by: tippabu on July 16, 2017, 12:12:39 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on July 16, 2017, 12:08:58 PM

Thoughts?

I know, im just saying surely a free in a more adventitious position or on 4/5 occasions ive seen a penalty should have been given but its called back for original free seems like it goes completely against the rule.
Post by: David McKeown on July 16, 2017, 12:13:55 PM

Thoughts?

In that circumstance I don't see how a shot under pressure is an advantage over a 13m free so I don't think you should wait for the outcome of the shot and should award the free as soon as it's clear that the attacker was going to be under extreme pressure but at the same time and again I'm in the minority here I think if you are clearly indicating advantage and the attacker is aware of the advantage they shouldn't get two bites at the cherry. If they choose to take the shot and miss then that's on them, they've had their advantage, their lack of ability shouldn't be rewarded.  All they had to do was stop playing.
Post by: tippabu on July 16, 2017, 12:14:28 PM
and on your original comment, id say your call is spot on.
Post by: Main Street on July 16, 2017, 12:16:47 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 16, 2017, 02:29:18 AM

Quite apart from the nature of the offence, the Black card is not an effective deterrent in injury time in any case.
Naturally the black card won't deter (by much) cynical play at the very end of a game, but it had a big  effect on players queuing up to take their yellow card in the last 10 /15 mins, to slow down the game.
It has also had a big effect during the game in deterring the cynical deliberate fouling to slow down the counter attack, in fact it has changed to some degree the way teams are set up to play.

I'd agree that what McKeever did is the stuff of a black card.
Post by: David McKeown on July 16, 2017, 12:17:44 PM
Quote from: tippabu on July 16, 2017, 12:12:39 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on July 16, 2017, 12:08:58 PM

Thoughts?

I know, im just saying surely a free in a more adventitious position or on 4/5 occasions ive seen a penalty should have been given but its called back for original free seems like it goes completely against the rule.

That's what I mean. What constitutes an advantage?  A free in a better position is surely an advantage but similarly so is a shot. In association football it's maybe easier to establish because it's harder to score. Similarly in rugby there's no time restraint. The rule as it stands for me is poorly defined.
Post by: tonto1888 on July 16, 2017, 01:34:29 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 16, 2017, 12:16:47 PM

Naturally the black card won't deter (by much) cynical play at the very end of a game, but it had a big  effect on players queuing up to take their yellow card in the last 10 /15 mins, to slow down the game.
It has also had a big effect during the game in deterring the cynical deliberate fouling to slow down the counter attack, in fact it has changed to some degree the way teams are set up to play.

What black card offence did it fall under?

Also, how many got yellow cards in the last ten mins?
Post by: Armamike on July 16, 2017, 02:42:35 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on July 16, 2017, 01:17:33 AM

Seriously?  You played football and you never tugged a jersey?
Post by: LCohen on July 16, 2017, 02:50:34 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on July 16, 2017, 08:24:58 AM

I would have been disappointed if it had been.

Was the Tyrone keeper doing what needed done to O'Hanlon there?
Post by: Main Street on July 16, 2017, 02:53:01 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 16, 2017, 01:34:29 PM

It didn't fall under a black card offence, it was a yellow card, the ref got it right.
QuoteAlso, how many got yellow cards in the last ten mins?
I don't know.
Post by: tonto1888 on July 16, 2017, 04:19:41 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 16, 2017, 02:53:01 PM

It didn't fall under a black card offence, it was a yellow card, the ref got it right.
I don't know.

I think I misread you. Are you saying that what McKeever done, that type of foul should be a black card?
Post by: Main Street on July 16, 2017, 05:08:49 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 16, 2017, 04:19:41 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 16, 2017, 02:53:01 PM

I don't know.

I think I misread you. Are you saying that what McKeever done, that type of foul should be a black card?
Yep, 100% it should be a black card offence, but I recognise that it's a yellow under current rules.
Post by: bennydorano on July 16, 2017, 05:30:13 PM
Wouldn't fancy Armagh's chances v Kildare
Post by: Armamike on July 16, 2017, 06:04:16 PM
Hoping for Down. 
Post by: Orior on July 16, 2017, 06:59:08 PM
I think we could beat either.
Post by: Targetman on July 16, 2017, 07:00:08 PM
Quote from: Armamike on July 16, 2017, 06:04:16 PM
Hoping for Down. 
Bring it on
Post by: armaghniac on July 16, 2017, 07:12:10 PM
Brolly said that Kildare were better than Down and I agree. Armagh could gave beaten Down the last day, I'm not sure we can beat Kildare.
Post by: Solo_run on July 16, 2017, 07:15:54 PM
Want Down...think there would be much more motivation to play than if it was against Kildare. Thats not to say Kildare wouldn't be on McGeeney's radar
Post by: Seamus on July 16, 2017, 07:33:56 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 16, 2017, 12:16:03 AM

But it's not. Was the McKeever a definite goal chance? A referee has a very difficult job as it is and if he now had to decide what jersey tugs were black cards and what weren't then all you're doing is making more sticks to beat referees with.

Zulu, I'm in agreement with 99% of your posts so what is your opinion on Anthony Maher's black card at the end of the league final? He pulled the Dublin player down by the jersey, never touching the player in the process. Everybody seemed to be of the opinion that it was the correct call AFAIK.
Post by: Smurfy123 on July 16, 2017, 07:50:15 PM
Could have but didn't beat us.We will hammer use this time.Down have improved since that game where as Armagh have not.Ok talking about wanting Down
We will soon see
Post by: armaghniac on July 16, 2017, 08:04:14 PM

Quote from: Smurfy123 on July 16, 2017, 07:50:15 PM
Down have improved since that game where as Armagh have not.

You look much improved alright.

Fair play to Down, they've had an important role in the Ulster championship, being the only team beaten by double digits by 3 different teams in the last 20 years, leaving aside today's 8 point defeat, itself among the wider margins in an Ulster final.

Post by: Smurfy123 on July 16, 2017, 08:08:53 PM
Doesn't say much for use this year
As forker said the sleeping giants on the GAA
That must be the stupidest statement ever ?
Post by: armaghniac on July 16, 2017, 08:16:48 PM
Quote from: Smurfy123 on July 16, 2017, 08:08:53 PM
Doesn't say much for use this year
As forker said the sleeping giants on the GAA
That must be the stupidest statement ever ?

No, Down are better at the stupid statements, your earlier "We will hammer use this time" wins this competition, we cannot compete with the likes of that.
Post by: tonto1888 on July 16, 2017, 08:36:39 PM
Quote from: Smurfy123 on July 16, 2017, 07:50:15 PM
Could have but didn't beat us.We will hammer use this time.Down have improved since that game where as Armagh have not.Ok talking about wanting Down
We will soon see

Down have improved but Armagh haven't? OK then
Post by: Targetman on July 16, 2017, 09:40:10 PM
Ok then every Armagh one wants Down in the next round, it'll probably happen so I only hope Down regroup and sort this out once and for all.
Post by: Throw ball on July 16, 2017, 10:34:00 PM
Maybe some just want Down because they think Kildare are better than them?
Post by: naka on July 16, 2017, 11:03:27 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on July 16, 2017, 10:34:00 PM
That's the truth of it
Post by: armaghniac on July 16, 2017, 11:06:05 PM
Quote from: naka on July 16, 2017, 11:03:27 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on July 16, 2017, 10:34:00 PM
That's the truth of it

Down are comparable to Armagh, they might have ended up in Div 3 while Armagh should have been promoted. Kildare are on a higher level, Down couldn't give Tyrone a game, while Kildare did as well against Dublin.
Post by: PAULD123 on July 16, 2017, 11:37:04 PM
I really hope we get Armagh. Not becuase I think it is an easier game (or any other stupid arrogant statements like that) but becuase it would be a bit of craic being the second meeting in a single season. Something to get excited about becuase lets face it at the end of this game both teams have effectively finished their championship runs. One team goes home and the other will defo be out next round to Dublin. So this would be a tasty derby to enjoy.
Post by: seafoid on July 16, 2017, 11:42:22 PM
Armagh v Down would have to be played in Newry. 
Post by: Over the Bar on July 16, 2017, 11:44:52 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 16, 2017, 11:42:22 PM

It would be a great draw for both counties as it guarantees that one of Ulster's lesser teams would make the quarters.
Post by: tonto1888 on July 17, 2017, 12:41:36 AM

Why?
Post by: Applesisapples on July 17, 2017, 11:25:06 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 17, 2017, 12:41:36 AM

Why?
Because Down won the first game, though that would have applied in the last round, I think this round is neutral venues.
Post by: Applesisapples on July 17, 2017, 11:26:30 AM
Good win on Saturday, though trying to defend the lead in the last few minutes was a bit stupid, better to play ball in the opponents half.