GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: brokencrossbar1 on January 09, 2012, 10:09:40 PM

Title: Niall McNamee's Gambling Problem
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 09, 2012, 10:09:40 PM
http://www.herald.ie/opinion/columnists/frank-roche/mcnamee-i-cant-handle-my-addiction-to-gambling-2983085.html//

I see he has a major gambling problem. Good to see he is addressing it.
Title: Re: Niall McNamee's Gambling Problem
Post by: gerry on January 09, 2012, 10:42:57 PM
with ail the technology we have now i expect to see more stories like this. Gone are the days when you had to go to the bookies to place a bet.
Post by: mylestheslasher on January 09, 2012, 11:51:12 PM
Best of luck to him, great player with a big fight on his hands. It's a very serious issue too and deserves some media attention.
Post by: Lone Shark on January 10, 2012, 07:06:28 AM
Due to my line of work I've seen the effect that this particular addiction can have on people and it is truly scary. The crucial difference between this and a drink/drug dependency is that you can be doing huge damage and yet show no physical signs to anyone, even those closest to you. If I was to start drinking to excess, I have friends and family who would undoubtedly notice the change in my behaviour and have a chance to step in. Of course life is littered with examples of alcoholics who ignored the advice of loved ones and gone on to do great harm to themselves and those around them, but unless you end up killing someone on the roads while driving drunk, or committing some other offence which leaves you behind bars, it's difficult to do too much damage in the space of 3-6 months. You can only physically drink so much in a short space of time after all.

Gambling is completely different, there have been people who have gone from never placing a bet in their lives to losing everything they've ever owned and piling debt on top of that, all in a few weeks.

Equally, Irish people in general know what they're dealing with when it comes to drink or drugs, while gambling addiction is an unknown affliction for a lot of people. I don't say this just because I'm in the sports betting industry, but a lot of Irish adults can't see the distinction between somebody spending a few bob every Saturday on a harmless pastime, and someone causing real problems for themselves by overdoing it. Drinking 50 units of alcohol a week on a regular basis is harmful drinking in any man's language and we'd all know it, but there is no equivalent for betting, everyone's situation is very different. The key issue is usually why you're doing it, rather than what you're doing. Somebody who has never crossed a bookies threshold in their lives except to put a fiver on the Grand National often doesn't appreciate the difference, and thus can't relate to the individual who bets frequently and may have a huge problem, or may just be a social gambler who has it completely under control. It's no good looking at the amount of money somebody places on a bet and deciding that this is a huge or a perfectly okay amount - all too often the guys in bother aren't the ones placing €500 on a single bet, they're the ones dropping €100 a day in a series of €5 and €10 bets, before quietly going home to a cold house with no food because they have no other money.

It's a horrible affliction which the proliferation of online betting opportunities hasn't helped, but ultimately it is one that if it gets hold of you, will be very tough to overcome even if you never log on - opportunities for gambling are everywhere, if you want to find them.

In this instance, Niall is a very friendly, likeable young man and he has a lot of good friends and family members around him, so he has a good start in that regard - but he has a long, arduous journey ahead of him and I truly hope he gets on top of this.

Post by: Denn Forever on January 10, 2012, 09:55:35 AM
Good post LS.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 10, 2012, 10:39:36 AM
I think slot machines are as bad as lads heading to the bookies. I only spend a tenner a week online, as i have been doing online betting i have not been at the bookie shop which i think has saved me money.

Betting online also means that the wife can see what is being spent, good in that it's easily visible that i only spend a tenner a week (I can afford that) and would keep me from betting more. In the past year i took money out 4 times (80 to 100 quid each time) so while I'm still down it's not hurting me.

For me betting online is better that heading to bookies, the shop have the slot machines were lads sit there and are doing both!! I have noticed a lot of my students are wile for the betting so i believe it's getting worse.

Post by: heffo on January 10, 2012, 11:18:26 AM
Hope he get's the support he needs to get himself sorted.

I worked in a Poker machine place from about 9 years old until I was 18 - some amount of degenerate gamblers in that place - fellas pleading with the staff at closing time on a Friday night that they'd literally spent their weeks wages.
Post by: HiMucker on January 10, 2012, 11:22:18 AM
IMO slot machines are the worst.  I seen boys in bars and bookies pouring a fortune into them.  Some of them I would know couldn't afford to do so.  A slot machine is an out and out gamble.  There is no skill, logic or reason.  By law a slot machine can even be programmed not to pay out at all, as it is classed as an "entertainment/arcade machine".  Also by law bookmakers is only allowed to have two slot machines operating on their premises (is that correct LoneShark), but when I looked at Coral Bookmakers finances they accounted for half of their profit!  I always feel that anyone playing these constantly has a problem or could be vulnerable to developing a problem.  I can understand the wee trip at the weekend to the amusements is just a bit of fun all the same.
Although sports betting is still gambling at least you apply your own knowledge and other peoples knowledge before making a bet, but obviously some people get carried away or become addicted to it.  Good Al Pacino film "2 for the money" shows the problems of sports betting.  But as LS said more times than enough its the guys and women spending the food and nappy money that's the big problem.
I think the US has a big rise in housewives becoming gambling addicts since the on-line boom of betting and poker sites.  The fact that in modern society more and more women control the finances of the family it caused a huge problem, as the men were unaware that it was happening.
Does anyone know of any research that has been done that shows different personalities etc. as being more likely to be affected?
Post by: ludermor on January 10, 2012, 11:43:54 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 10, 2012, 10:39:36 AM
I think slot machines are as bad as lads heading to the bookies. I only spend a tenner a week online, as i have been doing online betting i have not been at the bookie shop which i think has saved me money.

When i was in Australia i worked for a company who supplied the furniture and fitted out the shops for slot machines or 'Pokies'. it really was frightening to see some clubs which  had 1000's of pokie machine full every day with a crazy amount of old women tinkering away all their money every day. The state owns 51% of the bookies in New South Wales ( not sure about the rest of Australia) so it wasnt in their interest to reduce the reveue but i think this may be happening now.
Post by: LeoMc on January 10, 2012, 11:46:32 AM
Quote from: gerry on January 09, 2012, 10:42:57 PM
with ail the technology we have now i expect to see more stories like this. Gone are the days when you had to go to the bookies to place a bet.

I would have thought the reverse would be the case. Now you don't even have to go outdside your front door and you can keep it hidden better.
With a bookie you at least had to go out the door and physically hand over notes. When it is an electronic transfer it is just numbers, a meaningless game, until your account is empty or your card max'd out.
Post by: HiMucker on January 10, 2012, 11:51:55 AM
Quote from: LeoMc on January 10, 2012, 11:46:32 AM

I would have thought the reverse would be the case. Now you don't even have to go outdside your front door and you can keep it hidden better.
With a bookie you at least had to go out the door and physically hand over notes. When it is an electronic transfer it is just numbers, a meaningless game, until your account is empty or your card max'd out.
I think thats what Gerry means
Post by: LeoMc on January 10, 2012, 04:06:48 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on January 10, 2012, 11:51:55 AM
Quote from: LeoMc on January 10, 2012, 11:46:32 AM

I think thats what Gerry means

Read, comprehend, reply.
I think I may have missed one.
Post by: BennyCake on January 10, 2012, 08:28:03 PM
You'll see more of this, especially in the recession.

A few years ago they got rid of tobacco advertising. Gambling is ten times worse in my opinion, yet it's plastered everywhere you look, especially in sport.
Post by: sammymaguire on January 10, 2012, 08:59:31 PM
Sensible gambling is so so important to anyone placing a bet. When you have a bad day betting it can leave you feeling empty inside, knowing, as LS says that the £20 or £50 you had an hour previously would do a long way in Asda or Tesco and I have been there once or twice myself. It can be scary stuff, that drive to chase any loses as there will always be another match or race to "win your own money back" . As with most things in life, everything should be done in Moderation.
Post by: Square Ball on January 10, 2012, 09:08:09 PM
Used to play the poker machines a lot befor I got married. Used to cash my wage in the club and have 2 or 3 pints and come out skint more often than not, as most gamblers would tell you, I diddnt loose, I nearly won.

Still play them but in moderation, throw in no more than a fiver or so and thats that
Post by: LeoMc on January 10, 2012, 09:16:33 PM
 I would take the occasional notion of betting as a hobby, £5 or 10 on football or soccer, but the small wins that come with affordable betting make it a bit pointless. To win enough to make it worthwhile you have to gamble more than you can afford. The buzz of winning is more from relief.  than anything else.
Post by: intheknowhow on January 10, 2012, 10:55:59 PM
My full support goes out to him . On his day easily the best forward in the country!
Post by: screenexile on January 10, 2012, 10:59:13 PM
Quote from: intheknowhow on January 10, 2012, 10:55:59 PM
My full support goes out to him . On his day easily the best forward in the country!

He's going through a tough time and good luck to him getting over it.

Best forward in the Country?? He's not in the top 10!
Post by: bloodybreakball on January 10, 2012, 11:25:55 PM
i can see him as the  best forward in the country tbh
Post by: Gaabellting on January 10, 2012, 11:28:54 PM
Fair play to him for coming out with this and must be even hard on him due to fact hes still playing.

I know that there are many intercounty footballers around the country who are big into their betting and can guarantee you hes not alone but maybe not to the magnitude of niall's problem.

This raises the issue then of players betting on matches they play in and i feel bookmakers are dangling a huge carrott in front of players by offering betting on matches like O byrne cup,Fbd etc.

This has become an ever bigger issue in the last number of years where lots of guys are out of work and with less and less income available to them so the temptation is always there to let a league game slip for the sake of collecting on a bet.

It may not be as simple as throwing a game but there are also markets available now on the amount of points a player scores so a forward having an off day and not having his shooting boots may end in him earning a few quid by backing himself to score under 1.5 points etc at even money.

Obviously not all GAA players have the same gamblers mind which i have and wouldnt think of such a thing but i know that the gaa betting has grown hugely over the last number of years.

I think that its just a matter of time before we hear of an inquiry into unusual betting on a gaa game be it intercounty or club but i think that its something waiting to happen.

Watch the space.............................

Interesting to hear peoples thoughts on this.

PS. Niall Mc best of luck with your recovery and look forward to seeing you back in an Offaly jersey
Post by: The Boy Wonder on January 10, 2012, 11:36:30 PM
Quote from: screenexile on January 10, 2012, 10:59:13 PM

If he was on a top team and in the spotlight then people would be raving about him - he's got the gimp and languid style of Matt Connor. I'd find it hard to name 10 better forwards in the country at the moment.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 11, 2012, 12:15:32 AM

Go on kick a man when he's down.

Years ago a fella from up at home would get his wages changed into pound coins and he'd pour them into the poker machine. You always heard about the wins but more often than not he was skint for the next 6 days. I've even seen a fella win the jackpot on a poker machine and then put it back in again instead of walking away. Must be some grip to have on you.
Post by: JUst retired on January 11, 2012, 08:25:46 AM
A friend of mine did exactly what you said Tony, he lost his job,wife and family.All due to pulling strokes to fund his habit. Not a good place to be in.
Post by: LeoMc on January 11, 2012, 09:05:15 AM
Quote from: The Boy Wonder on January 10, 2012, 11:36:30 PM

If he was on a top team and in the spotlight then people would be raving about him - he's got the gimp and languid style of Matt Connor. I'd find it hard to name 10 better forwards in the country at the moment.

Is there another meaning for this word outside the one I learned from Pulp fiction?
Post by: AZOffaly on January 11, 2012, 09:59:54 AM
Yes :) In the midlands the 'gimp' of him means the way he carries himself. His gait. His demeanour.
Post by: LeoMc on January 11, 2012, 04:54:23 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 11, 2012, 09:59:54 AM
Yes :) In the midlands the 'gimp' of him means the way he carries himself. His gait. His demeanour.
Cheers. :)
Every day is a school day.
Post by: haranguerer on January 12, 2012, 01:20:45 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on January 10, 2012, 08:28:03 PM
You'll see more of this, especially in the recession.

A few years ago they got rid of tobacco advertising. Gambling is ten times worse in my opinion, yet it's plastered everywhere you look, especially in sport.

They reckon smoking causes about 6500 deaths a year in ireland alone
Post by: Offalylad on January 12, 2012, 07:27:42 PM

Lazy statement from someone who's probably never even seen him play. Easily one of the 10 best in the country when on form. Has almost single-handedly played Offaly's opponent every game in the last few years. Ask Monaghan, Down, Wexford fans... they've had experience against him at O'Connor Park in recent years....
Post by: screenexile on January 12, 2012, 07:47:01 PM
I've seen him play. Good footballer and probably a good lad too and these are really unfotunate circumstances he finds himself in as well and I hope he comes out the other end.

Let's not get carried away though, he's not making the top 10: 2 Bradleys, 2 Brogans, Gooch, Donaghy, McDonnell, Clarke, Murphy, O'Sullivan, Coulter, Doyle, Goulding, O'Connor, O'Neill, Galvin . . . take your pick
Post by: AZOffaly on January 12, 2012, 07:53:34 PM
In top form, Niall is up there with the best full forwards in the game. He's strong and can win his own ball, as well as score, with a great eye for a goal.

I woulodn't be comparing him with Declan O'Sullivan because he's a completely different type of player, but when Declan plays at 14, Niall McNamee is up there with him in terms of effectiveness.

I also would rate him as a better footballer than Kieran Donaghy. If Niall was from Kerry, he'd be on the starting 15.
Post by: ardtole on January 12, 2012, 07:55:24 PM
I think McNamee would be well worth a mention in that company se. How would the players you mention perform in the current offaly team.
Post by: Armaghgael on January 12, 2012, 08:05:18 PM
Quote from: screenexile on January 12, 2012, 07:47:01 PM
I've seen him play. Good footballer and probably a good lad too and these are really unfotunate circumstances he finds himself in as well and I hope he comes out the other end.

Let's not get carried away though, he's not making the top 10: 2 Bradleys, 2 Brogans, Gooch, Donaghy, McDonnell, Clarke, Murphy, O'Sullivan, Coulter, Doyle, Goulding, O'Connor, O'Neill, Galvin . . . take your pick

I seen Paddy Bradley 2 years ago in Celtic park and in fairness hes not all that hes made up to be

I feel McNamee is a better footballer than all these on his day, I know i would be grateful if Armagh had him
Post by: screenexile on January 12, 2012, 08:19:37 PM
Jees this is getting out of hand. Someone said that on his day he's the best forward in the Country. I personally don't think he is. All those I mentioned on their best day are better footballers. He is up there with the top forwards in the Country. Would that make everyone feel better?

Ps. If Armagh were offered Paddy Bradley would you not take him??
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 12, 2012, 08:30:29 PM
Soooo, this gambling problem....
Post by: Minder on January 12, 2012, 08:57:45 PM
I am in being no way critical, but just wondering why he has decided to go public with this? Part of the "healing process"? Different in Mc Convilles case as he had a book out at the time.
Post by: Armaghgael on January 12, 2012, 09:02:44 PM
Quote from: screenexile on January 12, 2012, 08:19:37 PM
Jees this is getting out of hand. Someone said that on his day he's the best forward in the Country. I personally don't think he is. All those I mentioned on their best day are better footballers. He is up there with the top forwards in the Country. Would that make everyone feel better?

Ps. If Armagh were offered Paddy Bradley would you not take him??

If i had the choice of him or McNamee it would be McNamee
Post by: bcarrier on January 12, 2012, 09:15:23 PM
Gambling AND alcohol are a bad combination.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 12, 2012, 09:17:15 PM
Quote from: bcarrier on January 12, 2012, 09:15:23 PM

I'll get my coat......
Post by: Minder on January 12, 2012, 09:18:40 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 12, 2012, 09:17:15 PM

I'll get my coat......

You sold it to pay for your habit.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 12, 2012, 09:21:42 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 12, 2012, 09:18:40 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 12, 2012, 09:17:15 PM

I'll get my coat......

You sold it to pay for your habit.

I've a book out soon.
Post by: Sea The Stars on January 12, 2012, 10:22:57 PM
A lot of posters don't appreciate how good McNameee is.....especially Ulster ones.....maybe because they haven't seen enough of him.

But he's a serious act. One of those virtuoso type players who can do anything and yet make it look easy. Wouldn't be many better than him.........Bernard and Alan Brogan, Colm Cooper.......wouldn't say there's many others better. And that's "on his day" which 99% of the time is every day he plays.

He's a lot better than most of the players Screenexile mentioned! The Bradleys? Bit of Derry bias going on there. Coulter, Clarke, Goulding, O'Connor, Galvin......good players, Galvin maybe even very good but.......please.

Stephen O'Neill, what a player, now he deserves to be mentioned in this debate. I'd put him ahead of McNamee and McDonnell, Declan O'Sullivan and Donaghy on a par.
Post by: INDIANA on January 12, 2012, 11:15:55 PM
Quote from: screenexile on January 12, 2012, 07:47:01 PM

you've obviously never seen him play. senior county championship debut at 17 and tore laois to shreds.

Miles better then Goulding. Miles better then  Coulter and O Connor At least as good as the Bradleys and definitely a classier player then Donaghy.

Not as good as Stephen O Neill, Gooch or the Brogans but few have the priviledge of that.

If you put at least half your list playing with Offaly thye wouldnt have done half as well.

Post by: Oak Leafer on January 13, 2012, 11:34:27 AM
Fella's,

I think the debate on how good a footballer Niall is considered to be, is irrelevant on this thread.

He has a genuinely serious personal issue to deal with and the reason for making it public is for him to put rumours and hear says to bed.

I just think the arguments about who he is better than or not better than are distasteful considering what he is probably going through at the minute.

Irrespective of how good a player he is, no doubt this has possibly restricted him in achieving his full potential.

Post by: NAG1 on January 13, 2012, 01:34:55 PM
Not in any way to comment on this case but I am just wondering about the wider implication of sports betting and Gaelic Footballers or Hurlers having the ability to bet on something that they can have an affect in the outcome. We can see the trouble that cricket find themselves in, are we just a step away from something similar?
Post by: Minder on January 13, 2012, 01:41:05 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on January 13, 2012, 01:34:55 PM
Not in any way to comment on this case but I am just wondering about the wider implication of sports betting and Gaelic Footballers or Hurlers having the ability to bet on something that they can have an affect in the outcome. We can see the trouble that cricket find themselves in, are we just a step away from something similar?

It has happened before, it just hasn't been uncovered. Anybody tha thinks it doesent happen is very naive. Not saying its widespread though.
Post by: heffo on January 13, 2012, 02:01:31 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 13, 2012, 01:41:05 PM

It has happened before, it just hasn't been uncovered. Anybody tha thinks it doesent happen is very naive. Not saying its widespread though.

There were deep suspicions surrounding a football league fixture in the last ten years and a county who had won the AI recently at the time. Large amounts of money were staked on a particular outcome, which happened in the end.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 13, 2012, 02:09:26 PM

MR2, you haven't have you?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 13, 2012, 03:36:29 PM
They never offered handicap odds!!! hopefully your club might get into a position were they are taking bets on the outcome Tony ;)
Post by: muppet on January 13, 2012, 05:13:30 PM
Quote from: heffo on January 13, 2012, 02:01:31 PM

There were deep suspicions surrounding a football league fixture in the last ten years and a county who had won the AI recently at the time. Large amounts of money were staked on a particular outcome, which happened in the end.

Was it a MOM issue?
Post by: Armaghgael on January 13, 2012, 05:18:21 PM
I have heard of supporters of a club paying a player not to score
Post by: heffo on January 13, 2012, 05:28:19 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 13, 2012, 05:13:30 PM

Was it a MOM issue?

No!
Post by: muppet on January 13, 2012, 05:35:38 PM
Quote from: heffo on January 13, 2012, 05:28:19 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 13, 2012, 05:13:30 PM

Was it a MOM issue?

No!

Different game then.

(I should have said MOTM btw).
Post by: galwayman on January 13, 2012, 06:02:43 PM
Hmmm Galway vs Wexford in the league in Tuam Stadium a good few years back is perhaps the game being hinted at?
Post by: heffo on January 13, 2012, 06:43:51 PM
Quote from: galwayman on January 13, 2012, 06:02:43 PM
Hmmm Galway vs Wexford in the league in Tuam Stadium a good few years back is perhaps the game being hinted at?

Why on earth would you think that?
Post by: imtommygunn on January 13, 2012, 08:41:43 PM

What are you basing this on?

Maybe it goes on and maybe it doesn't - I don't know. I find it hard to believe it goes on in championship. *Maybe* in smaller games.
Post by: LilySavage on January 16, 2012, 09:54:40 AM
I know of an O'Byrne Cup Shield game a couple of years ago that was fixed,one of the teams threw the game , they were favourites before the match.Think the team who won were 5/4.
Post by: The Worker on January 16, 2012, 10:42:24 AM
Quote from: LilySavage on January 16, 2012, 09:54:40 AM
I know of an O'Byrne Cup Shield game a couple of years ago that was fixed,one of the teams threw the game , they were favourites before the match.Think the team who won were 5/4.

much did u have on it then?