GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on November 28, 2021, 11:56:49 PM

Title: Leinster Senior Football Championship 2022
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on November 28, 2021, 11:56:49 PM
Leinster SFC 2022

(https://www.laoistoday.ie/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/Optimized-17-06-17-Donie-Kingston-v-Wicklow-e1497774123533-640x501.jpg)

Round 1
Louth v Carlow
Laois v Wicklow
Offaly v Wexford

Quarter-finals
Dublin v Offaly/Wexford
Meath v Laois/Wicklow
Kildare v Louth/Carlow
Westmeath v Longford
Title: Re: Leinster Senior Football Championship 2022
Post by: Spiritof86 on November 30, 2021, 10:17:47 PM
Billy O'Loughlin taking over Longford Seniors for the year . Best of luck to him . Always good to see young  Laois coach's spread there wings .
Post by: thegreeenandgold on December 01, 2021, 12:05:04 AM
Would he get a Senior Club in Laois, man has a neck like a jockeys bollox.

Presume Sarsfields weren't rang for a reference.
Post by: town1980 on December 01, 2021, 09:04:36 AM
Im pretty sure Billy applied like everyone else so if he was picked he obviously did a super interview,,i dont think any club team in laois would pick him no,but why slate him for something he applied for and got,well done to him is my opinion
Post by: Ballybrittas Boy on December 07, 2021, 03:22:12 PM
I know there's little or no interest in the Leinster championship but that's as good a draw as Laois could have got. If they can't beat Wicklow, it's a very poor year and if they do it's Meath which is obviously better than Dublin, Kildare, who I'm sick of beating us and Westmeath who handed us our arses this year.
Post by: redsetanta on December 08, 2021, 10:48:00 AM
Draw is as good as they go however we're most likely looking at 1 win at best and then the Tailteann cup.
Post by: Give and Go on April 16, 2022, 07:35:19 AM
Groundhog Day approaches. Wickla in Aughrim. Any predictions?
Post by: The PRO on April 16, 2022, 10:21:44 AM
Quote from: Give and Go on April 16, 2022, 07:35:19 AM
Groundhog Day approaches. Wickla in Aughrim. Any predictions?
Heard we lost a challenge game to Carlow yesterday. Doesn't sound great but no idea of strength of team used.
A good few lads gone from panel I've heard. Corbet, Senior, Podge Dunne, Cian Doyle, Adam Campion. Wouldn't be surprised if Sean Greene was brought in as cover. James Kelly was in a foot boot  a week ago.
Post by: Jd on April 16, 2022, 05:49:16 PM
Seán Greene in tháinig with seniors this morning
Post by: The PRO on April 16, 2022, 05:54:55 PM
Quote from: Jd on April 16, 2022, 05:49:16 PM
Seán Greene in tháinig with seniors this morning
Good. He's a good lad.
Post by: redsetanta on April 19, 2022, 10:06:17 AM
Wicklow next week and get over that and it;s Meath in a double header in O'Moore Park on Sunday May 1st along with Laois v Wexford in the hurling
Post by: Spiritof86 on April 19, 2022, 10:22:42 AM
Can see Sunday been a struggle . We've beaten Wicklow twice this year rather comfortably but can't see this been the same .
Post by: SCFC on April 20, 2022, 12:20:41 PM
Lost by 7 points to Carlow. And were only missing Timmons and Lillis. Challenge games are notoriously bad guides to form but that is a worry. Dillon injured hamstring too.
Team could be something like;
Byron
Collins Timmons Mohan
O'Flynn O'Loughlin Kavanagh
Finn Lillis
Byrne Lowry O'Sullivan
Barry O'Carroll Walsh

I imagine Moore, Murphy and O'Reilly will be thereabouts too.
Post by: Spiritof86 on April 21, 2022, 12:10:11 PM
Would agree would most of the team. Alan Farrell will be challenging for the half back position with Kavanagh . Paul Kingston will also be involved at some stage I would imagine . Heard he's going well . Very wary of this match .
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on April 21, 2022, 08:43:07 PM
Is Donie anywhere near starting yet?
Post by: SCFC on April 22, 2022, 12:51:17 PM
Quote from: Spiritof86 on April 21, 2022, 12:10:11 PM
Would agree would most of the team. Alan Farrell will be challenging for the half back position with Kavanagh . Paul Kingston will also be involved at some stage I would imagine . Heard he's going well . Very wary of this match .

Indeed. I forgot Farrell and his clubmate Fennessy who both could do a job on the half back line. It would be brilliant if Paul Kingston could play a part. He looked really good in the early rounds of the O'Byrne Cup.
Post by: Robbo on April 23, 2022, 08:40:27 AM
Matthew Byron; Trevor Collins, Mark Timmons, Alex Mohan; Dylan Kavanagh, John O'Loughlin, Brian Byrne; Kieran Lillis, Sean O'Flynn; Danny O'Reilly, Eoin Lowry, Paddy O'Sullivan; Mark Barry, Evan O'Carroll, Gary Walsh.

Best of luck to everyone. Jesus we could do with some positivity.
Any kind of win would do.

Hope we have worked on a way of getting bodies back to defend but actually pressurise the ball. Dicey and Paddy on the wings will cover ground but don't want them sitting protecting space.

Hopefully we'll have James finn and Paul Kingston to call on late in the game. If we could start well and get ahead then there kick passing would open up a defence who might have to commit a few extra bodies back.

Imagine itll be a lowish scoring game. If any 2 of our inside forwards have a big game then we should get to 14/15 points. That might be enough if we can keep goals out at the other end.

Wicklow seem to have decent youngsters coming through. Probably too early for there to be expectations that they'll beat us but I'm sure they'll be confident
Post by: Andy06 on April 24, 2022, 04:19:59 PM
Jesus we have hit a new low. As bad as getting taught a lesson by Longford is we are now beat out the gate at half time by Wicklow.
Post by: Gmac on April 24, 2022, 04:25:22 PM
Quote from: Robbo on April 23, 2022, 08:40:27 AM
Matthew Byron; Trevor Collins, Mark Timmons, Alex Mohan; Dylan Kavanagh, John O'Loughlin, Brian Byrne; Kieran Lillis, Sean O'Flynn; Danny O'Reilly, Eoin Lowry, Paddy O'Sullivan; Mark Barry, Evan O'Carroll, Gary Walsh.

Best of luck to everyone. Jesus we could do with some positivity.
Any kind of win would do.

Hope we have worked on a way of getting bodies back to defend but actually pressurise the ball. Dicey and Paddy on the wings will cover ground but don't want them sitting protecting space.

Hopefully we'll have James finn and Paul Kingston to call on late in the game. If we could start well and get ahead then there kick passing would open up a defence who might have to commit a few extra bodies back.

Imagine itll be a lowish scoring game. If any 2 of our inside forwards have a big game then we should get to 14/15 points. That might be enough if we can keep goals out at the other end.

Wicklow seem to have decent youngsters coming through. Probably too early for there to be expectations that they'll beat us but I'm sure they'll be confident
Laois concede 3-11 in first half against Wicklow ,wow
Post by: Joeythelips on April 24, 2022, 04:37:23 PM
4-12 to 2-5 currently, no disrespect to Wicklow but this may be one of worst championship defeats (bar some kind of miracle comeback) that I can ever remember, and im in my forties. A sad day.
Post by: Gmac on April 24, 2022, 04:41:11 PM
Quote from: Joeythelips on April 24, 2022, 04:37:23 PM
4-12 to 2-5 currently, no disrespect to Wicklow but this may be one of worst championship defeats (bar some kind of miracle comeback) that I can ever remember, and im in my forties. A sad day.
same age myself and can't remember anything remotely this bad  other than last year's hammering by Westmeath.
Post by: Joeythelips on April 24, 2022, 04:49:03 PM
Quote from: Gmac on April 24, 2022, 04:41:11 PM
Quote from: Joeythelips on April 24, 2022, 04:37:23 PM
same age myself and can't remember anything remotely this bad  other than last year's hammering by Westmeath.

At least it was a good Westmeath side who competed in division 2, this is simply another level of embarrassment I'm afraid.
Post by: High Fielder on April 24, 2022, 05:10:43 PM
All time low. Shocking stuff. County Board please resign
Post by: bluespower on April 24, 2022, 05:12:16 PM
Laois 4 Sam

Laois peaked too early during the o'Byrne cup

Man oh man with things been this bad we are best to go out now and put everyone out of their misery.

Tough days to be a Laois GAA supporter.
Post by: SCFC on April 24, 2022, 06:43:41 PM
Let the lads back to their clubs for a few weeks please Billy. Anything else is a waste of their time.
Post by: High Fielder on April 24, 2022, 07:00:07 PM
This isn't Billy's fault. This has been years in the making and will take years to repair. There are a million and one things wrong in the county and we just can't swallow the truth. The next age group will be better. Maybe the one after that. Maybe if we get this lad in. Or yer man. None of it is working and the only constant is a stale county board with no ideas and no interest beyond serving their own egos. In the name of God, do the decent thing and clear off. It can't get any worse than this
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 24, 2022, 07:02:59 PM
I couldn't believe when I saw Billy Sheehan being appointed manager of a Senior county team and sadly, as I expected, it has not gone well. I didn't come here to heap misery on, it's not good to see a good football county like Laois languishing. I just hope the board have the balls up there to realise after 1 year they have made a colossal error and appoint some people who can sort it out.
Post by: High Fielder on April 24, 2022, 07:10:21 PM
Nobody can sort it out. No one person. Billy got the job because he wanted it. Simple as. We had a good coach and we fucked that up. Our players are just not good enough either. A different coach is not the difference between us being good or not. We have serious structural problems in the county and a complete overhaul is needed.

By the way, no disrespect to Wicklow whatsoever. They did what they had to do and fair play to them. They spotted our obvious weaknesses and exposed them
Post by: Chrimtain on April 24, 2022, 07:23:59 PM
It's not all his fault by any means, but Billy can't stay on.

I wish there was some way of clearing out the county board as well.
Post by: High Fielder on April 24, 2022, 07:37:02 PM
Everyone wanted Conway involved and he is. Do we get rid of him too? Let's face facts here. A lot of lads don't want to be involved and most that do aren't good enough. Changing the personnel on the sideline is not working and those who were doing a good job wanted more from the county board and were refused. If the county board resigned en masse, it would be a more positive move than sacking Billy in my opinion. We take a beating most years and Billy was nowhere near the place.
Post by: Andy06 on April 24, 2022, 08:34:28 PM
Billy has to take some of the blame here. Regardless of the quality of the players at his disposal he can still get them organised, motivated and be playing to some semblance of a game plan. At the moment we're not any of those things.

As High Fielder said though it's pointless changing him, the real issues are elsewhere in the county. We might aswell keep him on as what is really the point of changing at this stage.
Simple fact of the matter is our coaching at underage and schools level is not good enough.
Is this because of quality of coaches available? Not enough of them? Is it because clubs are struggling for numbers at school and underage level?
How many kids in primary schools around the county are actively involved with their local GAA club?

Basic enough questions but are the lads in the county board even bothering their hole to ask them? Until the powers that be (or someone new that is placed there) acknowledge the problems in our county, these results are going to be the norm whoever is the manager.
Post by: Joeythelips on April 24, 2022, 10:40:57 PM
I get the county board needs change, but we cannot avoid the fact the management have shown they are not up to the task. Again no disrespect to either Longford who relegated us to division 4 or Wicklow who sent us packing from the Leinster championship, these are teams a well managed Laois side should be beating. Not only have they beaten us, they have won comfortably.

This quote for RTE website sums it up, The home side's final tally of 5-15 (30 points) is the most the county has ever scored in a senior championship fixture, eclipsing the 2-22 they scored against London at the same venue 20 years ago.

Post by: Tier2 on April 24, 2022, 11:48:18 PM
it was the first time I sat near the Laois dug out today it looked and sounded a bit manic.
Some players did their own thing for a warm up no sign of direction
I'm no wall flower but the stuff I heard from the manager towards the players was repulsive at time's was this out of frustration or is it a recurring theme?
Post by: High Fielder on April 25, 2022, 08:58:50 AM
I've seen nothing this last few years to suggest we don't deserve to be where we are. I'm never going to get personal against lads who are putting the commitment in, but I'd relish setting a team up against Laois. So to sit here and say that Billy should have prevented this is blinkered. The fact remains that as a team, we have serious deficiencies that are capable of being exposed.

On top of the above, we are not preparing properly for the future. In so many ways. There is literally an ocean of work to be done with Laois GAA, and throwing a few Games Development Officers around simply isn't enough. We need to start doing things differently across everything we do. That starts at the top and not with Billy and Cheddar. Our games are in a mess and have been neglected for far too long.
Post by: Laois Rising on April 25, 2022, 10:53:25 AM
This forum is a copy and paste job of the 2021 Leinster championship forum. We are just unfortunately in a bad cycle at the moment. Our underage isn't as bad as what is made out. At u20 level the last 4 years our teams have been relatively competitive (outside of competing with Dublin) and have put in some impressive displays. It's time to rebuild in division four next year with a side predominantly 25 and under.

As a county we really do lack players who enjoy the physicality side of things and being touch tight, dogging with their opposition number. Aidan Fennelly and Cahir Healy were great examples of players who really made life difficult for the man they was marking and their opponents really had to fight to get on the ball. Those lads sacrificed a part of their own game for the good of the team.  Wicklow must have kicked half a dozen points where ball was simply handpassed on to one of the forwards who just swung the ball over with his marker half heartedly throwing his hands up in the air trying to block the ball. Pathetic stuff. Too many of our players love being in possession of the ball and going forward but don't really want to commit to the hard part of the game which is tackling and defending and making life difficult for your opponent. 
Post by: Butch Cassidy on April 25, 2022, 11:28:09 AM
You are right Laois Rising, same narrative every time. Laois football at an all time low. A review was done a few years ago to improve Laois football, how many of those items have been actioned?

Ideally we should look to youth next year and use division 4 to build a team. I believe Billy did ask likes of Saunders, Diarmuid Whelan, Coffey etc in but they turned him down. Does it need a Micko type to get everyone to commit? For me, I would rather the resources were pumped into underage to produce competitive teams.

On the game itself, how a team can concede that amount against a division 4 team is hard to fathom and that lies with Billy and how he had the team setup. I know they're injuries and lads not available but you've to play the cards you're dealt with to get a win.
Post by: Andy06 on April 25, 2022, 11:45:16 AM
Laois Rising, thats kinda what I was wondering with my above point in relation to coaching at schools and underage level.
I dont think we are coaching defenders to be actual defenders, the art of sticking to guys, tackling etc. Then of course by the time they get to minor or under 20 they dont have the basics at all.
Post by: Laoiseabu on April 25, 2022, 11:55:45 AM
Quote from: Andy06 on April 25, 2022, 11:45:16 AM
Laois Rising, thats kinda what I was wondering with my above point in relation to coaching at schools and underage level.
I dont think we are coaching defenders to be actual defenders, the art of sticking to guys, tackling etc. Then of course by the time they get to minor or under 20 they dont have the basics at all.

I agree with Andy here that we are lacking defenders who possess the art of stick to guys and tackle properly . Another thing I would say is that our players don't have the physicality to hold up opposition players or put in hits . Our defenders also don't have the pace to stay with nippy fast forwards when they run at us . It's fierce easy to just walk the ball straight through the middle of that Laois backline without a glove being layed on you . Wicklow were able to show up these deficiencies, what would the likes of Kerry do with us out in croke park ? It beggars belief.
Another thing I will say is how can you hold Wicklow to 0-8 in the league then a few weeks later let team hit you for 5-15 in the championship and it could of been more ? It's very hard to understand.
Post by: High Fielder on April 25, 2022, 01:43:44 PM
It's not that hard to understand . Unfortunately it would take a negative analysis of our players to point out individual and collective deficiencies and I can't bring myself to do that. Anyway, our problems run much deeper than what happened yesterday. Suffice to say, major changes are needed or this will keep happening.
Post by: Spiritof86 on April 26, 2022, 11:04:16 AM
Deflating weekend for Laois GAA particularly  Aughrim Sunday afternoon.
Everything that has been said mostly resembles the truth . It's clear to see there is a wider problem in the GAA community in Laois and until that's tackled the road is going to get bleaker .
Back training tomorrow night with a large u20 presence . A mini exodus expected from the current panel which mightn't altogether be a bad thing .
Post by: Oblivious on April 26, 2022, 11:41:39 AM
Its a massive task to get out of the current cycle, and not one that can be resolved within a 24month period. its not something that can be fixed by a task force or another off the shelf report on the future of football, Its a bit like sticking the finger in the dam and another leak appearing elsewhere. Its not the current players fault or commitment level, they are the best bunch of lads who are committed to laois end of. You can get hung up on club player versus county, club player versus manager. club player versus county board but it will not get you very far.

Only issues I would see at senior level would be the give back to the clubs at juvenile level, how many of the current crop of players or players over the last 10 years are involved in coaching juveniles. Some players would have obtained coaching at a high level for 10-12 years with no trickledown to the community or clubs.   

I know its a massive score put up against laois but its still a massive score that Laois put up against Wicklow. The art of defence is a major problem at all levels and very few county teams excel in defence or at club level, just look at the weekly scores at all levels to see the problems out there. Midfield is also a very challenging issue throughout clubs and at county level. Over the last 4 years both minors and under 20's have been relativley sucessful as in getting into semi -finals etc but there is no pathway into the next level. This could be player apathy or natural reluctance to advance through the county levels but something that should be addressed. I don't know how.

Its all a number game, population size, massive numbers playing at juvenile level up to age 14 and then opting out , major problem at age 14-17 of player participation, Poor senior championship with too many teams, poor coaching as most juvenile coaching is carried out by willing parents as opposed to qualified coaches, Strength and conditioning at younger levels.

over 350 players were initially on the Dublin Minor Panel , Laois probably had 60. Having said that as a comparison Meath lost all their Minor matches this year. Scoring is not an issue Laois Minors have scored 3-7 against Westmeath and 4-19 against Louth and the under 20's scored 3-11 against Kildare. Laois will only ever get a once in a generation squad or team that will push them into the next level and unfortunately no county board or manager will be able to resolve that in the short term,  if that's what people are relying upon. Probably the most important teams in Laois now are the under 8s-12s, teach them to kick with both feet, be able to block, be confident to do the adventerous in pocession of the ball, have pride in their club and county, be respectful of coaches and referees, enjoy, enjoy,enjoy, ignore the mad parents / supporters on the side line from home and away teams,

This is not the draw a line in the sand or watershed moment as there is probably another 3-4 years of poor results to come,                             

Post by: Laoiseabu on April 26, 2022, 12:58:30 PM
Quote from: Spiritof86 on April 26, 2022, 11:04:16 AM
Deflating weekend for Laois GAA particularly  Aughrim Sunday afternoon.
Everything that has been said mostly resembles the truth . It's clear to see there is a wider problem in the GAA community in Laois and until that's tackled the road is going to get bleaker .
Back training tomorrow night with a large u20 presence . A mini exodus expected from the current panel which mightn't altogether be a bad thing .

What u20s are involved ?
Post by: Spiritof86 on April 26, 2022, 03:42:46 PM
I don't know exactly but there are up to ten of them invited in tomorrow night .
I see the management team staying on for foreseeable anyway after meeting with County board last night .
Post by: High Fielder on April 27, 2022, 09:51:07 AM
If they had let Billy go, would anyone have done this job? I reckon the County Board thought about that.
Post by: Spiritof86 on April 27, 2022, 10:42:40 AM
Eddie Kinsella
Post by: Blow-in on April 30, 2022, 07:50:02 AM
It's a case of 'less said the better' I think.
Post by: Spiritof86 on April 30, 2022, 10:47:54 AM
Agreed . Absolutely makes no sense .Don't know who we are playing next or when .  Numbers reflected that .
Post by: Laois man on April 30, 2022, 02:58:18 PM
What are numbers like at training?
Post by: bluespower on April 30, 2022, 05:33:10 PM
I think training must be just an excuse to get out of the house for a few hours and socialise because after last Sunday there can't be much football going on.
Post by: Gmac on April 30, 2022, 05:58:34 PM
Laois football must be down  around 29/30 in the rankings , a sad situation for us to be in .
Post by: clonadmad on April 30, 2022, 07:37:39 PM
Quote from: Gmac on April 30, 2022, 05:58:34 PM
Laois football must be down  around 29/30 in the rankings , a sad situation for us to be in .

Is there anyone out there at this moment in time

You'd fancy us to beat

I don't
Post by: Laois man on April 30, 2022, 08:39:19 PM
Newyork😭
Post by: georgedoylesrightleg on April 30, 2022, 09:05:55 PM
Quote from: Laois man on April 30, 2022, 08:39:19 PM
Newyork😭
New York wood make shite of us
Post by: Robbo on April 30, 2022, 09:26:05 PM
Quote from: georgedoylesrightleg on April 30, 2022, 09:05:55 PM
Quote from: Laois man on April 30, 2022, 08:39:19 PM
Newyork😭
New York wood make shite of us

New York would be BY FAR the worst possible draw.
London wouldn't be a lot better.

If we want a win or two maybe carlow or waterford.
Post by: Laois man on April 30, 2022, 09:38:25 PM
For fsake if we can bet new York we should pullout of it😭
Post by: High Fielder on April 30, 2022, 09:55:48 PM
I wouldn't be confident about us facing anyone right now. We're shot to bits and we're better off away from it. We're doing more harm than good and killing interest on every level.
Post by: town1980 on May 01, 2022, 02:55:37 AM
No comment
Post by: Spiritof86 on May 04, 2022, 01:20:25 PM
A v B game last night . 9 U20 lads involved that were on u20 panel this year . Sean Moore  Corbett have left the panel . James Kelly back kicking which is good to see .
Post by: Laois Rising on May 05, 2022, 12:21:45 AM
That's disappointing to hear Sean Moore has stepped away. Billy gave him every chance in the O'Byrne Cup.

The Tailteann Cup is still there to be won-there isn't really anything much between any of the teams in the competition. If Westmeath were to beat Kildare in a Leinster semi-final that would take them out of contention as well-I would have them as favourites to win the T.C. if they do end up in the competition.

It's funny what a favourable couple of draws in the opening rounds of the competition can do for a team's morale and confidence. You'd be hopeful that with the likes of Kelly, the two Kingstons etc. back fully fit that it will provide a badly needed impetus to that Laois side. The likes of Lillis, O'Loughlin, Timmons, Finn and Munnelly are probably in their final year as inter-county footballers. Surely the opportunity to win a national title at the end of their careers with Laois will drive them to give this competition a right crack. You'd nearly hope that the senior players in that Laois side would take it on themselves to take control of what is currently a sinking ship and put some semblance of order on things.
Post by: Spiritof86 on May 05, 2022, 12:59:57 AM
Can't see Donie been involved that much . Way behind in fitness and hasn't played inter-county in a couple of years . Seemingly the draw will be regional based .
Post by: Laoiseabu on May 10, 2022, 11:45:37 AM
Any word on how the practice match against Clare went ?
Post by: Helix. on May 10, 2022, 12:42:21 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on May 10, 2022, 11:45:37 AM
Any word on how the practice match against Clare went ?

Won I heard. Didn't hear by how much
Post by: Giovanni on May 16, 2022, 01:50:43 PM
Overwhelming interest in the Tailteann cup draw on here I see!
Post by: Laoiseabu on May 16, 2022, 02:03:38 PM
Quote from: Giovanni on May 16, 2022, 01:50:43 PM
Overwhelming interest in the Tailteann cup draw on here I see!

We got a horrible draw . No point twisting it any other way
Post by: blueandwhite1 on May 16, 2022, 03:21:26 PM
Would have been nice to get a redemption shot against Wicklow!

Westmeath as good as any of the teams left in the competition. Could go on and win it.
Post by: Robbo on May 16, 2022, 10:29:12 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on May 16, 2022, 03:21:26 PM
Would have been nice to get a redemption shot against Wicklow!

Westmeath as good as any of the teams left in the competition. Could go on and win it.

I think Wesmeath are the best team In the competition.
Post by: Chrimtain on May 16, 2022, 10:35:13 PM
It looks like we have thrown in the towel without a ball being kicked. God, we are hopeless.  :(
Post by: SCFC on May 18, 2022, 12:01:36 PM
Worst team we could have drawn I'd say. I'd have preferred even a shot at Offaly.
Westmeath in Portlaoise might draw a very small crowd - hope I'm wrong.
Post by: Spiritof86 on May 18, 2022, 01:41:22 PM
The Tailteann Cup first round tie between @CLGLaois and @westmeath_gaa has been fixed for O'Moore Park at 2pm on Sunday May 29th