Recent posts

GAA Discussion / Re: Connacht U20 and U17 champ...
Last post by SLIGONIAN - April 18, 2024, 06:14:48 PM
I'm sure we are all still here lurking. Delighted with our 2nd half against Mayo. 3 years in a row beating them. I think the group format hugely benefitted us. Team should be stronger than last time we played Galway and I felt we handed them 2 goals the last day whilst missing a few more of our own. I also feel psychologically Galway having to face us instead of being in the final would be annoying for them.

When Letrim went 1-13 to 1-7 up against us, it would hard to see where we are now.

Fair play to our lads for finding a way.
GAA Discussion / Re: Ulster Senior football cha...
Last post by Itchy - April 18, 2024, 06:07:56 PM
It's gets worse for Tyrone as it now transpires that in the history of Ulster GAA, Tyrone have NEVER beaten Cavan in Breffni Park.

Can't see the record being broken this weekend as Tyrone misery continues.
GAA Discussion / Re: GAA crowds
Last post by Truthsayer - April 18, 2024, 06:06:49 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 18, 2024, 04:45:47 PMDoes that mean they can't do anything in an Ireland with 2 different jurisdictions operating?

It means a united Ireland is a central tenet of GAA aspiration and should remain that way.
General discussion / Re: European Leagues.
Last post by jcpen - April 18, 2024, 05:21:10 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on April 18, 2024, 04:23:15 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 18, 2024, 04:08:40 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 18, 2024, 03:18:07 PMKeane right about Haaland ;)

A stopped clock is right twice in the day. He also said Liverpool would win the League!

They might yet. I fancy Chelsea to beat City this weekend in the cup and trigger a pep implosion. 2 points behind with 18 to play for. It's still on.
A shame for Liverpool that it's an FA Cup game and not a Premier League game City have this weekend.
It may be still on for you but City have been there and done it, i'd expect them to win all remaining League games once they get last night out of their system and as I said lucky for them they are playing in the Cup this weekend rather than Premier League.
Last post by jcpen - April 18, 2024, 05:18:05 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on April 18, 2024, 04:05:43 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on April 18, 2024, 11:21:34 AMI know it's easy to say the best team lost but the concentration levels from Madrid were amazing. And then when it was needed they had lads like Nacho and especially Rudiger jumping in.

City tried to pull them around but it's not like Palace and their low block, these boys were not for turning. Also in the extra time Real did fire a few warning shots to keep City honest.

Truth be told I don't like Pep as he just seems like a flase hoor.

Real Madrid somewhat reminded me last night of Inter Milan from 2010. Top level concentration when they didn't have the ball. The penalty shootout a case of Pep over thinking things again in Europe? Having players that never took penalties before and it's rare you see the goalkeeper picked as one of the first five takers or be it it was a good penalty. Of course he subbed off two possible penalty takers De Bruyne,Haaland.  City supporters holding on to the ball played their part in Silva missing his but had they no extra balls instead of waiting for the crowd to return it?

That was the 6th time Real Madrid have knocked out the holders, their 33rd time to reach the last 4, 12 more appearances than the next Bayern Munich. Tradition is still strong in the European cup.
And yet you wrote them off after the first leg....
Last post by AustinPowers - April 18, 2024, 05:06:01 PM
Quote from: befair on April 18, 2024, 04:48:43 PMDoku should have started instead of Grealish; so predictable, always cuts back inside and takes the pace off the attack. BTW this is the same Rudiger who couldn't get a place in Lampard's Chelsea team

That says more about  Lampard than it does Rudiger

I have hoped  Ynited would go for Rudiger when Chelsea let him go .
General discussion / Re: The Offical Glasgow Celtic...
Last post by illdecide - April 18, 2024, 05:05:17 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on April 18, 2024, 01:54:32 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 17, 2024, 10:03:39 PMDundee away will be the big test, win that and Celtic are on the home run

Lads, this is Celtic! It won't be straight forward!

Settle yourself ;)
Hurling Discussion / Re: Hurling 2024
Last post by marty34 - April 18, 2024, 04:59:16 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 18, 2024, 04:45:00 PM"It's not just the removal of the helmet though, it's if you've to stop the play to allow a physio on at all."

If I have to stop play.

Though if a physio comes on and can administer a spray while play continues I'm happy with that, should I have to blow the whistle and the player requires assistance they have to go off, now seeing as it was my first real go at it, I waved the player on rather than waiting for a break, he was genuinely hurt from a tackle from the other team, its a bit unfair surely to disadvantage them twice? 

But is that not wrong, going by them new rules?
Last post by Armagh18 - April 18, 2024, 04:55:44 PM
Quote from: befair on April 18, 2024, 04:48:43 PMDoku should have started instead of Grealish; so predictable, always cuts back inside and takes the pace off the attack. BTW this is the same Rudiger who couldn't get a place in Lampard's Chelsea team
Thought Carvajal did brilliantly on Doku in fairness.