Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: saffron on November 16, 2007, 08:53:40 AM

Title: M50
Post by: saffron on November 16, 2007, 08:53:40 AM
Apparently the NRA want to increase the toll on the M50 by 60% next year when they get rid of the toll bridge - how is this fair?? Thats over 3 euro or over 30 euro a week if you use it to get to and from work.

And if you get on before the toll bridge you pay full whack but if you get on a Red Cow, Tallaght etc you pay nothing just doesnt seem right..

I've never hated a road so much in my entire life.
Title: Re: M50
Post by: Bogball XV on November 16, 2007, 08:57:58 AM
Quote from: saffron on November 16, 2007, 08:53:40 AM
Apparently the NRA want to increase the toll on the M50 by 60% next year when they get rid of the toll bridge - how is this fair?? Thats over 3 euro or over 30 euro a week if you use it to get to and from work.

And if you get on before the toll bridge you pay full whack but if you get on a Red Cow, Tallaght etc you pay nothing just doesnt seem right..

I've never hated a road so much in my entire life.
In a democracy how is it possible for public servants to implement such changes?  Surely, their bosses should ensure that they implement the will of the people - it's simple, we elect politicians, let them do their job for once (of course they'll claim that there's nothing they can do, a study carried out by an independent review commission has discovered that €3 per journey is the only way that the M50 can remain open, and thus they've no choice).
Post by: Hardy on November 16, 2007, 09:22:40 AM
It's worse than that. We've been screwed not once, not twice, but three times.

1. We've been paying tolls to NTR for years for the privilege of sitting in a traffic jam waiting to pay.
2. The government decided to "fix" this and now we the taxpayers are paying NTR €600M to buy back the toll bridge. So that we don't have to pay tolls anymore? Sorry - we STILL pay he tolls. Now we've paid twice for the same thing.
3. Now we get to pay 60% on top because there's no regulation any more. I remember saying here when we talked about this before "watch the tolls go up now when it's not a private company having to apply for increases". It's depressing to be right.

We are a nation of sheep. Imagine what would happen if the French government tried to pull a stunt like that.
Post by: mannix on November 16, 2007, 09:38:56 AM
The fact that its impossible to get around dublin is one thing. Being raped by the government is another, tolls on the m50 are ridiculous, pay if it gets you there quicker for sure but how often does that happen?

The killer is its going to get worse.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 16, 2007, 09:41:41 AM
Its even worse when you drive a van..it costs me €3.30 as it is that means i'll have to pay over €5 if this hike is brought in  >:(
Post by: Bogball XV on November 16, 2007, 10:52:31 AM
Quote from: Hardy on November 16, 2007, 09:22:40 AM
It's worse than that. We've been screwed not once, not twice, but three times.

1. We've been paying tolls to NTR for years for the privilege of sitting in a traffic jam waiting to pay.
2. The government decided to "fix" this and now we the taxpayers are paying NTR €600M to buy back the toll bridge. So that we don't have to pay tolls anymore? Sorry - we STILL pay he tolls. Now we've paid twice for the same thing.
3. Now we get to pay 60% on top because there's no regulation any more. I remember saying here when we talked about this before "watch the tolls go up now when it's not a private company having to apply for increases". It's depressing to be right.

We are a nation of sheep. Imagine what would happen if the French government tried to pull a stunt like that.
Of the current 1.90 per (car) journey, 1.20 goes to the govt and that's before corporation tax on NTR profits.  
Imagine the outrage if it turned out that there were question marks over how NTR got the contract for the toll bridge in the first place?  But those payments to Lawlor, Redmond and Flynn were most likely for genuine consultancy!!
Post by: Billys Boots on November 16, 2007, 11:02:58 AM
QuoteWe are a nation of sheep. Imagine what would happen if the French government tried to pull a stunt like that.

There'd be a pile of sheep on the toll bridge.

Quotehow NTR got the contract

NTR, at its foundation, was composed of members of the board of CRH, remember, the same CRH board who composed of most of the significant Ansbacher accounts, and who all had Guinness & Mahon private bank accounts.  Ah no, we'd rather read about the McCanns.   ::)
Post by: Declan on November 16, 2007, 11:07:38 AM
QuoteWe are a nation of sheep. Imagine what would happen if the French government tried to pull a stunt like that.

Wait till you want to get from Kells on the M3 to Bray and you'll be paying 3 tolls - 

QuoteNTR, at its foundation, was composed of members of the board of CRH, remember, the same CRH board who composed of most of the significant Ansbacher accounts, and who all had Guinness & Mahon private bank accounts.  Ah no, we'd rather read about the McCanns

Don't go trying to raise the level of political discussion now Billy - We've lads who just prefer to shout at each other ;)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 16, 2007, 11:25:25 AM
Quote from: Declan on November 16, 2007, 11:07:38 AM

Wait till you want to get from Kells on the M3 to Bray and you'll be paying 3 tolls -

Where's de toll plaza on de M3 gonna be and what's de third toll???
Post by: Gnevin on November 16, 2007, 11:31:05 AM
Could be worse , we could be paying a congestion charge that makes no difference to the congestion .
Post by: Declan on November 16, 2007, 11:31:40 AM

A toll between Kells and Navan and then another one south of Dunshaughlin was what was origianlly mooted.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 16, 2007, 11:43:11 AM
Quote from: Declan on November 16, 2007, 11:31:40 AM

A toll between Kells and Navan and then another one south of Dunshaughlin was what was origianlly mooted.

There's gonna be 2 on the M3???  :o :o :o

Quote from: 5iveTimes on November 16, 2007, 11:34:12 AM
Tolls are a fukin joke. I went to the RDS last weekend. €1.70 on the M1, €6 in the tunnel and then €1.45 on the eastlink. I came home through the city.

I don't mind paying them if they're value for money. Use the M4 when going home and that means I can do door to door in 50 mins. Used to take 2-3 hours on de bus in college. Although if I was using it everyday it propably would get on my tits...
Post by: Gnevin on November 16, 2007, 12:54:27 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on November 16, 2007, 11:34:12 AM
Tolls are a fukin joke. I went to the RDS last weekend. €1.70 on the M1, €6 in the tunnel and then €1.45 on the eastlink. I came home through the city.
The only way you could of picked a worst route is if you hit the m50 for a laugh.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 16, 2007, 12:58:37 PM

I don't mind paying them if they're value for money. Use the M4 when going home and that means I can do door to door in 50 mins. Used to take 2-3 hours on de bus in college. Although if I was using it everyday it propably would get on my tits...

I agree with that. Recently we towed the caravan down to the Fleadh in Tullamore, (which incidentally was the best fleadh ever INHO) Motorway and high quality dual cariageway the entire way. Just took over 2 and a half hours from the outskirts of Tullamore to Newry. Had to pay 3 tolls in each direction but well worth it.
Post by: armaghniac on November 16, 2007, 05:14:50 PM
The toll will be €2 with an electronic tag, €3 without it. This is fair enough as it costs more to collect it and anyone using the road regularly will presumably get a tag. What they should have is €5 7:00 - 9:30 and 16:00-19:30 and €1 otherwise to balance out the traffic.
Post by: Pangurban on November 16, 2007, 07:32:13 PM
Will youse stop whinging about the actions of a government that you elected. If you have a gripe do something about it, organise and oppose, stop behaving like sheep waiting for the shepherd to come and lead them. No wonder Bertie and Co. are laughing all the way to the Bank
Post by: dec on November 16, 2007, 08:16:07 PM
If you don't want to pay the toll, don't drive on the toll road.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 17, 2007, 12:45:37 PM
Have we not already paid for these roads with our car tax?
Why do we allow Public/Private partnerships where the public money id used to build new roads and the private money seems only to be used to collect the tolls?

Bono presumably hasn't
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 17, 2007, 05:18:08 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on November 16, 2007, 11:30:03 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 16, 2007, 09:41:41 AM
Its even worse when you drive a van..it costs me €3.30 as it is that means i'll have to pay over €5 if this hike is brought in  >:(

LaoisLad, buy an easypass for your "car" and keep it in your "van" by mistake.  ;)

No im way too honest for that.... ;)

I have a mate you uses his brothers old Garda badge to get thru the toll bridge for free every time,they are the spit of each other so he never has any problems
Post by: his holiness nb on November 17, 2007, 08:07:17 PM
Quote from: Pangurban on November 16, 2007, 07:32:13 PM
Will youse stop whinging about the actions of a government that you elected. If you have a gripe do something about it, organise and oppose, stop behaving like sheep waiting for the shepherd to come and lead them. No wonder Bertie and Co. are laughing all the way to the Bank

How do you know we all voted for the government?  :-\
Post by: AhFeckRef on November 18, 2007, 10:06:33 PM

Yawn.... M50, Tolls, Traffic chaos, Bus Strikes......  ::)

Simple answer... Get a job somewhere else in the country.

Can make it to work in 5 minutes, toll free, down the country....  ;)

Post by: dodo on November 18, 2007, 10:10:22 PM
Quote from: AhFeckRef on November 18, 2007, 10:06:33 PM

Yawn.... M50, Tolls, Traffic chaos, Bus Strikes......  ::)

Simple answer... Get a job somewhere else in the country.

Can make it to work in 5 minutes, toll free, down the country....  ;)

Congrats there on that. There is a reason for the quiet roads around Leitrim ! ;)
Post by: AhFeckRef on November 18, 2007, 10:15:11 PM
QuoteThere is a reason for the quiet roads around Leitrim !

LOL. And that is?
Post by: dodo on November 18, 2007, 10:54:04 PM
Quote from: AhFeckRef on November 18, 2007, 10:15:11 PM
QuoteThere is a reason for the quiet roads around Leitrim !

LOL. And that is?

a) not many vehicles
b) not many people
c) price of fuel
d) in the pubs
e) they're all on the M50
Post by: AhFeckRef on November 18, 2007, 11:22:33 PM
Quotea) not many vehicles
b) not many people
c) price of fuel
d) in the pubs
e) they're all on the M50

Exactly, so why not move west. Life's too short for all that stress!  ;D

http://www.lookwest.ie/index.php/less-time-in-the-car.php (http://www.lookwest.ie/index.php/less-time-in-the-car.php)
Post by: saffron on December 12, 2007, 04:22:01 PM
Was listening to Newstalk this morning and the AA are saying that there would be ridiculous amounts of waste in collecting barrier free tolls - instead they suggest adding 2cents to fuel.

Seems pretty sensible to me but loads of people in Cork, Galway etc went ballistic saying they would never use it and why should they pay etc bla f**king bla - of course I wonder what they'd think if all taxes collected in Dublin were just spent in Dublin and vice versa - I'd be more than happy with that!

I pay tax for loads of things I dont use -  health care, child benefit spring to mind but I accept that these are necessary. So is sorting that balls up of a road.

Wasting 25 million collecting tolls is a waste - 2 cents on fuel is a much better plan. Of course I suppose that nearly guarantees it wont happen.
Post by: scalder on December 12, 2007, 05:02:54 PM
Saffron, living in Dublin but not being from Dublin I think means I can see the two sides to this, but you are right and not unlike the South East of England and the rest of the UK, Dublin subsidies the rest of the country I believe. Not a popular thing to say outside Dublin though. Whether we like it or not we all need a healthy Dublin, at the same time I'm not saying neglect the rest of Ireland.
Post by: Leo on December 12, 2007, 05:19:46 PM
I can think of no other European city where they have tolls on what are inner city roads.
Sure there are plenty of tolls out on the major motorways but no-one objects to paying them if they ease long journeys.
I have no problem with the tolls at Boyne or Enfield, but never mind the French I dont believe any other European nation would tolerate the anti-environment ant-people M50 toll.

Surely Fine Gael or Labour could take this up as a major election issue. Get rid of the toll completely on the M50.
The city centre traffic is another issue. It is too late now to introduce Park and ride as the land that was available for this 15 years ago is all built on and public transport is a joke, but I would put up with permit-only system (residents etc.) and hammer the rest of us with tehe congestion charge. Dublin might see less of us but the city and its inhabitants might be able to live.
Title: Re: M50/LIFTING OF M5 TOLL BARRIERS
Post by: Smiler An Dun on July 22, 2008, 11:28:28 AM
Any one know the full details of what happens when the barriers are lifted next month from the M50, especially for drivers from the north.  There was an article in last weeks Irish News and i felt it didn't explain the situation clearly.

For example, what about the occasional user who may only use the M50 maybe once (or twice a year) to go to the likes of Tullamore or Port Laoise  ;)  or those bringing their caravan for their fortnight in Kerry.  There are no benefits for them to register for an electronic tag.

I had read in the past that northern drivers would be exempt from paying the toll, is this true?
Title: Re: M50/LIFTING OF M5 TOLL BARRIERS
Post by: Tankie on July 22, 2008, 11:35:27 AM
Quote from: Smiler An Dun on July 22, 2008, 11:28:28 AM
Any one know the full details of what happens when the barriers are lifted next month from the M50, especially for drivers from the north.  There was an article in last weeks Irish News and i felt it didn't explain the situation clearly.

For example, what about the occasional user who may only use the M50 maybe once (or twice a year) to go to the likes of Tullamore or Port Laoise  ;)  or those bringing their caravan for their fortnight in Kerry.  There are no benefits for them to register for an electronic tag.

I had read in the past that northern drivers would be exempt from paying the toll, is this true?

No I dont think so, i think the driver is expected to pay withing the 24hrs or whatever just like every other car that is not reg. if the driver from the north does not pay nothing much can really ever be done unless the car is park illigally and get towed or is involved in an accident etc - then expect to pay alot more than the 2.50 at the toll bridge. - thaths what i heard the case was anyway

They have these types of brifges in other countries, i  wounder how they do it?
Post by: Hardy on July 22, 2008, 11:41:52 AM
Quote from: scalder on December 12, 2007, 05:02:54 PMDublin subsidies the rest of the country I believe.

Hmm ... then how come I get to pay for DART, LUAS, Dublin Bus, the new subway, more motorway than the rest of the country combined, the spire, the boardwalk, etc. etc?
Post by: amallon on July 22, 2008, 12:04:59 PM
I heard on the last word one night that they won't persue Northerners for the toll its just not cost effective to do so.  Are the introducing barrier free tolling at any other locations apart from the M50?
Post by: Tankie on July 22, 2008, 12:16:34 PM
Quote from: amallon on July 22, 2008, 12:04:59 PM
I heard on the last word one night that they won't persue Northerners for the toll its just not cost effective to do so.  Are the introducing barrier free tolling at any other locations apart from the M50?

No only on the M50. but thats what i was saying in my last post, northerns will be expected to pay but if they dont well they wont do much untell you car gets impounded or is involved in an accident etc!
Post by: Tankie on July 22, 2008, 12:17:39 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 22, 2008, 11:41:52 AM
Quote from: scalder on December 12, 2007, 05:02:54 PMDublin subsidies the rest of the country I believe.

Hmm ... then how come I get to pay for DART, LUAS, Dublin Bus, the new subway, more motorway than the rest of the country combined, the spire, the boardwalk, etc. etc?

you forget about all those costly bus routes down the country that are rarely used but are still ran at a loss!
Post by: Hardy on July 22, 2008, 12:37:40 PM
Oh OK then. You really blew me out of the water there.
Post by: armaghniac on July 22, 2008, 11:36:33 PM
Out of towners, including persons from the occupied 6, generally might get away with passing the toll once or twice, but if they are making any sort of habit of it then they will pass the unpaid bill over to debt collectors. When this happens the cost of settling things might be quite large. 
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 23, 2008, 09:24:44 AM
Quote from: Tankie on July 22, 2008, 12:17:39 PM

you forget about all those costly bus routes down the country that are rarely used but are still ran at a loss!

Have you ever been on a bone shaaker of a bus from dublin down west firstly your lucky if firstly bus makes it because its about 25 years old and and for this service you pay €30  secondly once you pass the shannon the roads are f**king shit a f**king disgrace for a so called developed country and to think that we are meant to have nct's on our cars its a joke.
Post by: Tankie on July 23, 2008, 09:32:38 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 23, 2008, 09:24:44 AM
Quote from: Tankie on July 22, 2008, 12:17:39 PM

Have you ever been on a bone shaaker of a bus from dublin down west firstly your lucky if firstly bus makes it because its about 25 years old and and for this service you pay €30  secondly once you pass the shannon the roads are f**king shit a f**king disgrace for a so called developed country and to think that we are meant to have nct's on our cars its a joke.

I got a bus to westport a few years back and i will never do it again, also there is nothing developed about our transport system, the country is a joke when it comes to any public service.
Post by: downgirl on August 05, 2008, 10:17:50 PM
Has anyone in the north signed up for eflow??  Was looking at the site there and to get a tag you get it free initally but you need to pay €1 per month, which is going to be €12 a year, then saw in the fine print  Please note that your account will be charged the Initial Start-Up Amount of €40 in August 2008.  Don't think I will bother signing up for it now I have seen that actually...
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 05, 2008, 10:52:44 PM
Quote from: downgirl on August 05, 2008, 10:17:50 PM
Has anyone in the north signed up for eflow??  Was looking at the site there and to get a tag you get it free initally but you need to pay €1 per month, which is going to be €12 a year, then saw in the fine print  Please note that your account will be charged the Initial Start-Up Amount of €40 in August 2008.  Don't think I will bother signing up for it now I have seen that actually...
Your account will only be charged €40 if you opt for the pre-paid account,there is a option for a post-paid account where you don't have to pay anything up front,I have just ordered 3 tags and haven't had to pay a penny
Post by: downgirl on August 05, 2008, 11:00:47 PM
Oh right ok sounds good then I will look at it again tomorrow!  Thanks Laoislad.
Post by: Tankie on August 05, 2008, 11:08:06 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 05, 2008, 10:52:44 PM
Your account will only be charged €40 if you opt for the pre-paid account,there is a option for a post-paid account where you don't have to pay anything up front,I have just ordered 3 tags and haven't had to pay a penny

is it more expensive that way?

Also i know its technically not the M50 but does anyone know what is happening on the N7 from Citywest to the red cow interchange? there is a sign for roadworks to start August 5th and i seen tonight that they were starting something. is this the Newlands cross upgrade as i didnt think that was starting for another year or so.
Post by: downgirl on August 05, 2008, 11:14:22 PM
I'd say it depends how much you use it, €12 per year but then each time you pass its only €2, whereas if you don't have it then its €3.  If you use it a lot then it probably does end up being a good investment.  I'd say I'm only on it 6-10 times a year so I don't know whether to get it or not.
Post by: Double Cross on August 06, 2008, 12:27:32 AM
UK/NI registerd cars can use the M50 free of charge. It doesnt matter if they decide to drive up and down all day, they wont be charged.
There will be Automatic Number Plate Recognition cameras (ANPR) cameras fitted at the plaza  to check for un-taxed Irish reg cars. No tax and you will be getting a NIP (notice in post) or a fine in any other language.
Post by: saffron on August 06, 2008, 11:26:11 AM
How do you know Ni registered cars wont pay? From what I heard they had the issue of Northern cars covered.

Tried to sign up for eflow but the website wont let you select visa just laser in another quality move by the government / NRA  - any wonder most people dont have a tag.

Have signed up with eazypass which looks about the same and their web site works.

Anyway heres hoping it makes a big difference cause to be fair that road has improved no end from the way it was but with PLENTY of room for more improvement....
Post by: Donagh on August 06, 2008, 11:48:27 AM
Can someone post a link to the registration page?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 06, 2008, 11:53:46 AM
https://csc2.eflow.ie/newaccount/newaccount.aspx
Post by: Donagh on August 06, 2008, 11:56:35 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 06, 2008, 11:53:46 AM

Thanks LL. I was on the wrong site altogether there.
Post by: Donagh on August 06, 2008, 11:58:45 AM

It doesn't allow me to put County Down in as part of my address ???

They can whistle for their money then...
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on August 06, 2008, 11:59:47 AM
Quote from: Tankie on August 05, 2008, 11:08:06 PM

Also i know its technically not the M50 but does anyone know what is happening on the N7 from Citywest to the red cow interchange? there is a sign for roadworks to start August 5th and i seen tonight that they were starting something. is this the Newlands cross upgrade as i didnt think that was starting for another year or so.

The enabling works for the interchange are starting this week. Full construction works will start in the new year.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 06, 2008, 12:06:58 PM
Quote from: An Gaeilgoir on August 06, 2008, 11:59:47 AM
Quote from: Tankie on August 05, 2008, 11:08:06 PM

The enabling works for the interchange are starting this week. Full construction works will start in the new year.

Hope Suir aren't doing any of it ;)
Post by: Bogball XV on August 06, 2008, 03:20:22 PM
Quote from: Donagh on August 06, 2008, 11:58:45 AM

It doesn't allow me to put County Down in as part of my address ???

They can whistle for their money then...
but if you've non-roi plates you don't have to pay afaik

Also, the cheapest option I've seen is the eazyflow one as they give you two tags for the price of one - the whole thing is f**king disgrace anyway, whoever decided to try and implement these new and currently in vogue standards of projects paying for themselves into the public sector needs a good f**king kicking.
Post by: armaghniac on August 06, 2008, 07:09:35 PM
Quotebut if you've non-roi plates you don't have to pay afaik

Not until the debt collectors come after you , anyway.

Quotewhoever decided to try and implement these new and currently in vogue standards of projects paying for themselves into the public sector needs a good f**king kicking.

I'd agree with this in general, but at least it stops work grinding to a halt when there is a wobbly in the public finances, like now.
Post by: Bogball XV on August 07, 2008, 12:19:45 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 06, 2008, 07:09:35 PM
Quotebut if you've non-roi plates you don't have to pay afaik

Not until the debt collectors come after you , anyway.

Quotewhoever decided to try and implement these new and currently in vogue standards of projects paying for themselves into the public sector needs a good f**king kicking.

I'd agree with this in general, but at least it stops work grinding to a halt when there is a wobbly in the public finances, like now.
On the first point, afaik they will not be coming after people with out of state registrations, it's just not possible, this has been factored into the equation already and they're happy enough to take the hit.

On the second point, there are definitely projects were PPP's can work and can be good things, but this particular project is a joke, the bridge was built back in the early 90's, the project was awarded to NTR who have subsequently been seen to have been making payments to P Flynn, L Lawlor (and I think G Redmond) these payments were for 'political donations' and 'consultancy' respectively.  Redmond and Flynn signed off on the contract.
As it happened the deal was actually a pretty good one for the government, primarily because neither party in the negotiations ever thought that it would be as successful as it was, the govt were taking 1.10 of the 2.00 that NTR were collecting per private car journey when it was purchased from NTR at a cost of €600M (i think that's what the deal is worth long term to NTR), over the 17 odd years since the bridge was opened the governement it's reckoned that the government have received revenue from the tolls of approx €300M, so in reality it has already been half payed for.  The further upgrade work would easily pay for itself in terms of savings in time lost sitting in traffic etc so why do we have to pay again??  Well the answer is of course because our politicians have made such a total fcuk up of the economy that they've got to try and grasp any revenue stream that they can.
Post by: balladmaker on November 25, 2008, 08:50:42 AM
So what is the actual story of northern cars using the M50.  Was down it yesterday and apparently have until 8pm tonight to pay my toll on eflow.ie

Post by: cornerback on November 25, 2008, 08:58:39 AM
Quote from: balladmaker on November 25, 2008, 08:50:42 AM
So what is the actual story of northern cars using the M50.  Was down it yesterday and apparently have until 8pm tonight to pay my toll on eflow.ie

Here's an article from the gaurdian saying that you will be tracked down:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2008/aug/31/transport (http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2008/aug/31/transport)

Went through it about a month back, didn't take any chances - though i went down on the friday, back on sunday and i only paid for both on the sunday night i.e my payment for going through on friday was late. 
Post by: balladmaker on November 25, 2008, 09:31:08 AM
I have just paid of course.
Post by: Final Whistle on November 25, 2008, 10:03:59 AM
have been down in dublin a lot recently  using the m50 to full effect. was down for a1 final and about ten times since going through it twice on each occasion. yet to pay, yet to hear anything. and if i do hear anything il tell them to prove that it was me driving as any1 is insured to drive my vechile and im f*cked if im paying for a road which car tax should provide for.

bring on the m51!!
Post by: Hardy on November 25, 2008, 10:05:50 AM
Quote from: Final Whistle on November 25, 2008, 10:03:59 AMif i do hear anything il tell them to prove that it was me driving

Yes - they'll never have thought of that one.
Post by: Final Whistle on November 25, 2008, 10:25:59 AM
no, your wrong, im sure they have thought of that one.

but are they going to go to the hassle of doing it and chasing me up north, i think not. keep you paying anyway, nice wee racing circuits yous are funding for us!
Post by: Maguire01 on November 25, 2008, 01:41:13 PM
I had 4 journeys through it in September and didn't pay (i drive a NI reg). I got a demand for all 4 journeys almost 2 months later, with the threat of an ever increasing fee for late payment. I paid just to be on the safe side. However, one or two comments:

1) I received 4 bills for the 4 different journeys, all posted to the same address, on the same day, but separately in 4 different envelopes. How efficient. I also had to key in my CC details online 4 times and pay for each one separately. Could they not just issue a statement and then let you pay one total fee? How much have they spent on this new system that it can't even manage such basics?

2) Is the DVLNI/DVLA or whoever it is, legally covered to give out my name and address to what is essentially another government?
Post by: Double Cross on November 27, 2008, 11:07:39 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on November 25, 2008, 01:41:13 PM
Is the DVLNI/DVLA or whoever it is, legally covered to give out my name and address to what is essentially another government?

The DVLNI give out your details for a fee to certain debt recovery agencies. It is a grey area that has yet to be tested in court, though I believe some cases are pending in England. What ever happened to the Data Protection Act?
Post by: armaghniac on November 27, 2008, 11:19:56 PM
QuoteIs the DVLNI/DVLA or whoever it is, legally covered to give out my name and address to what is essentially another government?

Yes. The EU have arrangements of this nature so that vehicles travelling from one State to another can be followed up for parking fines and the like. Dundalk council have been availing of this for years.
Post by: Final Whistle on December 22, 2008, 02:44:47 PM
still no sign of the toll bridge charges that i should have incurred in sep/oct!
Post by: Treasurer on December 22, 2008, 05:10:09 PM
I've been through four times and billed for three.
Post by: downgirl on December 22, 2008, 06:34:32 PM
Final Whistle, I never got billed for the time I went through in the middle of September but my Dad who was driving behind me got a bill...so I'd say they never picked us up and we are safe enough to forget about it!