The Official Golf Thread

Started by laoislad, December 28, 2006, 07:07:48 PM

gawa316

McIlroy, Hovland and to a lesser extent Rahm got it done early. Was talking to the yank BIL last night and both agreed it would probably come down to Fleetwood to win it

square_ball

Now for the important bit - has McIlroy got a tricolour draped around him yet?

Or will people from Queen's county be pushing for him to accept a knighthood?

McIlroy

That's it. That's the post.

Quote from: trailer on October 01, 2023, 05:40:42 PMMcIlroy

"I needed to calm myself down because I could have let it bring me down the wrong path but I didn't," said the four-time major winner. "I made sure it focused me. I read a few quotes from the great Marcus Aurelius, the former Roman Emperor, this morning, so that put me in the right frame of mind. I also had some nice words of encouragement from my wife and I was ready to go. I am a big follower of stoicism so if anyone was going to get in my head it was going to be Marcus.

I'm a fan but what a f**king eejit.

Quote from: gallsman on October 01, 2023, 06:07:39 PM
Quote from: trailer on October 01, 2023, 05:40:42 PMMcIlroy

"I needed to calm myself down because I could have let it bring me down the wrong path but I didn't," said the four-time major winner. "I made sure it focused me. I read a few quotes from the great Marcus Aurelius, the former Roman Emperor, this morning, so that put me in the right frame of mind. I also had some nice words of encouragement from my wife and I was ready to go. I am a big follower of stoicism so if anyone was going to get in my head it was going to be Marcus.

I'm a fan but what a f**king eejit.
;D he'd have been better keeping quiet.

Jesus Zachary Johnson has zero charisma... just a terrible talker and communicator. Loads of silences umms and ahhs and repeating himself all the time.

How can he lead a team like that?

Saffrongael

Quote from: screenexile on October 01, 2023, 06:42:23 PMJesus Zachary Johnson has zero charisma... just a terrible talker and communicator. Loads of silences umms and ahhs and repeating himself all the time.

Ah come on me or you could captain one of those teams. Ryder Cup captaincy is the biggest pile of over stated nonsense, Donald will now reinvent himself, like McGinley did, as some sort of guru.

Donald was heading towards oblivion, his career almost over as he couldn't qualify for events, until Stenson made the jump to LIV. 
Let no-one say the best hurlers belong to the past. They are with us now, and better yet to come

Quote from: square_ball on October 01, 2023, 04:21:09 PMNow for the important bit - has McIlroy got a tricolour draped around him yet?

No, he had an occupied six-county flag on him.

Also today, occupied six-county flags adorned platforms where Jim Alistar and Jamie Bryson spouted their hate regarding the a few more customs checks in the Irish Sea.

Quote from: Saffrongael on October 01, 2023, 06:51:21 PM
Quote from: screenexile on October 01, 2023, 06:42:23 PMJesus Zachary Johnson has zero charisma... just a terrible talker and communicator. Loads of silences umms and ahhs and repeating himself all the time.

Ah come on me or you could captain one of those teams. Ryder Cup captaincy is the biggest pile of over stated nonsense, Donald will now reinvent himself, like McGinley did, as some sort of guru.

Donald was heading towards oblivion, his career almost over as he couldn't qualify for events, until Stenson made the jump to LIV. 

That's my point... he only really has to be slightly coherent and he can't even manage that!!

Quote from: screenexile on October 01, 2023, 08:48:44 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on October 01, 2023, 06:51:21 PM

That's my point... he only really has to be slightly coherent and he can't even manage that!!

I doubt Luke Donald has even the slightest interest in doing a McGinley.

McGinley was a statesman in every possible way for 5 years prior to his captaincy. His Ryder Cup was the denouement of a carefully considered and managed plan.

Donald is primed to go the Langer route and spend a decade on the Seniors Tour picking up bountiful amounts of cash.

What an absolute contrived load of bollocks, as for McIlroy, the antics were bad but to drape himself in the loyalist rag which represents only on section of NI and which is soaked in the blood of the catholic community, shame on him. Thank God for the Dicksboro v Shamrocks...now that was incredible drama and pure sport.

StephenC

Quote from: Applesisapples on October 02, 2023, 08:10:37 AMWhat an absolute contrived load of bollocks, as for McIlroy, the antics were bad but to drape himself in the loyalist rag which represents only on section of NI and which is soaked in the blood of the catholic community, shame on him. Thank God for the Dicksboro v Shamrocks...now that was incredible drama and pure sport.

Good contribution. Fair play.

Golf is one of the few sports i cant really warm to, the Ryder Cup 'competitive' element just seems so contrived when you follow sports where hair & teeth are flying regularly. Mcilroy obviously gets so wound up about it all, a few derby slaps when younger might have changed his outlook on life, tho I'm sure he's quite happy with his current life trajectory.