Mayo Football and Hurling - Discussion pages

Started by stephenite, November 09, 2006, 11:14:18 PM

Quote from: Davitt Man on February 08, 2008, 09:08:55 AM
The C\ship draw was last night, does anyone have the full draw?

I dont have the actual draw but I know that we will be entertaining you guys in Foxford in the 2nd round!
Yourself and prewtna will be in for a treat when we put on our display.  :P  :D

Our first game is against Charlestown at home and our last game is against Garrymore at home.

Davitt Man

Quote from: AbbeySider on February 08, 2008, 11:29:05 AM
Quote from: Davitt Man on February 08, 2008, 09:08:55 AM
The C\ship draw was last night, does anyone have the full draw?

I dont have the actual draw but I know that we will be entertaining you guys in Foxford in the 2nd round!
Yourself and prewtna will be in for a treat when we put on our display.  :P  :D

Our first game is against Charlestown at home and our last game is against Garrymore at home.

Cheers Abbeysider, better get the boots on so..

westmayo

TF Royal Hotel & Theatre Mayo Senior Football Championship 2008

Section A

Round

1 Ballintubber v Charlestown                 

1 Garrymore v Bohola Moy-Davitts         

2 Bohola Moy-Davitts v Ballintubber       

2 Charlestown v Garrymore                   

3 Ballintubber v Garrymore                   

3 Charlestown v Bohola Moy-Davitts     

Section B

Round

1 Crossmolina v Ballinrobe                   

1 Louisburgh v Knockmore                   

2 Knockmore v Crossmolina                 

2 Ballinrobe v Louisburgh                     

3 Crossmolina v Louisburgh                 

3 Ballinrobe v Knockmore                     

Section C

Round

1 Shrule-Glencorrib v Breaffy                 

1 Cill tSeadhna v Ballaghaderreen         

2 Ballaghaderreen v Shrule-Glencorrib   

2 Breaffy v Cill tSeadhna                       

3 Shrule-Glencorrib v Cill tSeadhna       

3 Breaffy v Ballaghaderreen                   

Section D

Round

1 Burrishoole v Claremorris                   

1 Castlebar v Ballina                           

2 Ballina v Burrishoole                         

2 Claremorris v Castlebar                     

3 Burrishoole v Castlebar                     

3 Claremorris v Ballina                         

TF Royal Hotel&Theatre Mayo Intermediate FootballChampionship 2008

Section A

Round

1 Acaill v Ballyhaunis 

1 Mayo Gaels v Westport 

2Westport v Acaill 

2 Ballyhaunis v Mayo Gaels 

3 Acaill v Mayo Gaels 

3 Ballyhaunis v Westport 

Section B

Round

1 Kilmeena v Bonniconlon

1 Aghamore v Béal an Mhuirthead

2 Béal an Mhuirthead v Kilmeena 

2 Bonniconlon v Aghamore 

3 Kilmeena v Aghamore 

3 Bonniconlon v Béal an Mhuirthead

Section C

Round

1 Cill Chomain v Swinford 

1 Parke-Keelogues-Crimlin v Crossmolina B

2 Crossmolina B v Cill Chomain

2 Swinford v Parke-Keelogues-Crimlin

3 Cill Chomain v Parke-Keelogues-Crimlin

3 Swinford v Crossmolina B

Section D

Round

1 Kiltimagh v Hollymount 

1 Tuar Mhic Éadaigh v Davitts 

1 Kilmaine - Seachtain Saor

2 Davitts v Kiltimagh 

2 Hollymount v Kilmaine 

2 Tuar Mhic Éadaigh - Seachtain Saor

3 Davitts v Hollymount 

3 Kilmaine v Tuar MhicÉadaigh 

3 Kiltimagh - Seachtain Saor

4 Hollymount v Tuar MhicÉadaigh 

4 Kiltimagh v Kilmaine 

4 Davitts - Seachtain Saor

5 Tuar Mhic Éadaigh v Kiltimagh 

5 Kilmaine v Davitts 

5 Hollymount - Seachtain Saor

TF Royal Hotel&Theatre Mayo Junior FootballChampionship 2008

Section A

Round

1 Castlebar B v Knockmore B

1 Ballintubber B v Kilmovee 

2 Kilmovee v Castlebar B

2 Knockmore B v Ballintubber B

3 Castlebar B v Ballintubber B

3 Knockmore B v Kilmovee 

Section B

Round

1 Ballina B v Ardagh 

1 Ballycastle v Balla 

2 Balla v Ballina B

2 Ardagh v Ballycastle 

3 Ballina B v Ballycastle 

3 Ardagh v Balla 

Section C

Round

1 Killala v Shrule-Glencorrib B

1 The Neale v Moygownagh 

1 Kilfian - Seachtain Saor

2 Moygownagh v Killala   

2 Shrule-Glencorrib B v Kilfian 

2 The Neale - Seachtain Saor

3 Moygownagh v Shrule-Glencorrib B

3 Kilfian v TheNeale 

3 Killala - Seachtain Saor

4 Shrule-Glencorrib B v The Neale 

4 Killala v Kilfian 

4 Moygownagh -Seachtain Saor

5 The Neale v Killala   

5 Kilfian v Moygownagh 

5 Shrule-Glencorrib B - Seachtain Saor

Section D

Round

1 Bohola Moy-Davitts B v Crossmolina C

1 Claremorris B v Westport B

1 Lacken - Seachtain Saor

2 Westport B v Bohola Moy-Davitts B

2 Crossmolina C v Lacken 

2 Claremorris B - Seachtain Saor

3 Westport B v Crossmolina C

3 Lacken v Claremorris B

3 Bohola Moy-Davitts B - Seachtain Saor

4 Crossmolina C v Claremorris B

4 Bohola Moy-Davitts B v Lacken 

4Westport B - Seachtain Saor

5 Claremorris B v Bohola Moy-Davitts B

5 Lacken v Westport B

5 Crossmolina C -Seachtain Saor

Section E

Round

1 Béal an Mhuirthead B v Aghamore B

1Eastern Gaels v Ballycroy   

2 Ballycroy v Béal an Mhuirthead B

2 Aghamore B v Eastern Gaels 

3 Béal an Mhuirthead B v Eastern Gaels 

3 Aghamore B v Ballycroy   

Section F

Round

1 Ardnaree v Acaill B

1 Ballaghaderreen B v Breaffy B

2 Breaffy B v Ardnaree 

2 Acaill B v Ballaghaderreen B

3 Ardnaree v Ballaghaderreen B

3 Acaill B v Breaffy B

Section G

Round

1 Swinford B v Charlestown B

1 Louisburgh B v Carramore 

2 Carramore v Swinford B 

2 Charlestown B v Louisburgh B

3 Swinford B v Louisburgh B

3 Charlestown B v Carramore 

Section H

Round

1 Cill Chomain B v Lahardane 

1 Islandeady v Ballinrobe B

2 Ballinrobe B v Cill Chomain B

2 Lahardane v Islandeady 

3 Cill Chomain B v Islandeady 

3 Lahardane v Ballinrobe B

Quote from: rosnarun on February 08, 2008, 11:19:20 AM
QuoteSure loads of these young players are getting their shots at the moment from what I can tell, Mullins, Benson etc. If they're good enough they'll be there come the championship and if they're not than we may as well get what we can out of those that are proven while they're still willing and able
those guys were willing and able two years ago . no direpect to the best bunch of mayo players ive seen but its time to

Im not so sure about those guys being ready two years ago. Sure Benson is only 21 so 2 years ago he was 19.
A little young in my book.
Who do you think (from the current panel) should have been brought in 2 years ago?

In 2006 there we had a serious panel and the likes of Benson, Campbell, Kilcullans, O Se etc were too young. 

you mis read abbey sider the full original qute was
Quotewell get what we can out of those that are proven while they're still willing and able
what im saying is 2 years on its time for real change and give those players you mention their head in 2008  and that cant really happen when you have so much experience on the bench . they need to feel that its their team and they are not just getting a chance untill the  second half  when all the big guns will come on.
Last year was such a wasted year that most of the older guys missed their final chance i think . which is the main reason i pissed off with o mahony not because hes a blueshirt bastard

Now, now ros you cannot criticise O'Mahony for anything remember...

Anyway, can't wait for the clash of Knockmore/Crossmolina in the championship. I'd nearly go for Knockmore and Cross to come through that round anyway. It'll be interesting to see how Ballagh do in Bangor as well.

Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 08, 2008, 02:54:44 PM
Now, now ros you cannot criticise O'Mahony for anything remember...

Anyway, can't wait for the clash of Knockmore/Crossmolina in the championship. I'd nearly go for Knockmore and Cross to come through that round anyway. It'll be interesting to see how Ballagh do in Bangor as well.

Sould be good farrandelin allways enjoy the games in knockmore the crowd are on top of ya, and they know their football in the parish of the backs and very appreciative they are too, its many a time i heard them say great score Mc when the blond bomber would put one over the bar :D also you can't bate a pint in the clubhouse after the match

venter

QuoteVenter, whats happening with Cross? Who ye getting in as manager in May? Is moffat only filling in untill then

Davitt man, as the deel rover said, Liam Moffatt has the job full time. Fair play to Liam. It cant be easy when he is based in Dublin till May at least. Mick Moyles is back training along with 40 others so there is plenty of interest in getting another shot at the title.

Who has the best set of forwards in the county at the moment?

Quote from: the Deel Rover on February 08, 2008, 11:03:13 AM
He definitely managed in sligo Om could have been them team that o'hara plays with. Ye its a bit Ironic we have Cross men managing teams all over the place and had a job to get one for our own team   
Still don't think he did Deel Rover, unless it was a brief sojourn, Egan quit after 2001, Anthony Brennan was in charge for the title win in '04, and could have been there before that, and it defintely wasn't Curry anyway. Don't recall him being with any of the others (Tubber, Easkey etc.) either. Castleconnor I don't know about. Will check it out someday to see.

Re the SFC draw, from the outside looking in, I'd expect Ballagh (another rather handy group), Kiltane, Cross, Knockmore, Stephenites, Mitchels, Charlestown and maybe Garrymore to emerge. Group D in the IFC looks a tough one.

QuoteWho has the best set of forwards in the county at the moment?

Hard to look past Ballagh and Crossmolina for that one venter. Glad to have ya back on board, you were missing for lots of last year.

Regarding the championship predictions; Moy davitts and Charlestown, Knockmore and Crossmolina, Shrule and Ballaghaderreen and Castlebar and Ballina. Castlebar under Peter Forde will also add some spice to the county championship. Will he motivate the Mitchels to play like Galway did under him to get fired up for the Ballina game? If he does, there'll be some skelpin at that game!

prewtna

Davitt Man - seems like a good year to progress in both senior and junior

Senior Championship Group A

Garrymore 
Ballintubber 
Charlestown 
Bohola Moy-Davitts 

Ballintubber  v Charlestown   
Garrymore  v Bohola Moy-Davitts   

Bohola Moy-Davitts  v Ballintubber   
Charlestown  v Garrymore 

Ballintubber  v Garrymore   
Charlestown v  Bohola Moy-Davitts 

away to charlestown is always tricky as is garrymore but not impossible. ballintubber at home will be a good open game id say. its time to get out of the group stages and not be fighting relegation - its no craic that!

Junior Championship Group D

Lacken 
Westport B
Claremorris B
Crossmolina Deel Rovers C
Bohola Moy-Davitts B

Bohola Moy-Davitts B v Crossmolina Deel Rovers C
Claremorris B v Westport B

Westport B v Bohola Moy-Davitts B
Crossmolina Deel Rovers C v Lacken 

Westport B v Crossmolina Deel Rovers C   
Lacken  v Claremorris B 

Crossmolina Deel Rovers C v Claremorris B
Bohola Moy-Davitts B v Lacken 

Claremorris B v Bohola Moy-Davitts B
Lacken v Westport B

its a good time to convert the league form from last year into the championship here methinks.

blast05

QuoteI'd be near certain he never managed Tourlestrane. I'm not sure who was there in 02 after Egan, but don't think it was him. Never heard of him managing any Sligo team for that matter, a rarity amongst Cross men it would appear.

Wrong there Owenmoresider. He managed Toulestrane in the mid to late nineties.

Well I'm near convinced Egan was at the helm from 1994 (won SFC) through to 2001, certainly was for their 1997 and 99 wins. I'll find out though.

blast05

QuoteWell I'm near convinced Egan was at the helm from 1994 (won SFC) through to 2001, certainly was for their 1997 and 99 wins. I'll find out though.

OK, it may haev even beeng pre 94 but he definitely managed them - i lived with a guy for a couple of years in college who played with Toulestrane so not making this up !
I know it must be difficult to take that there are some Mayo men out there who actually know a few things about Sligo football that you don't know    :P   :P

Davitt Man

Any sign of the fecking league fixtures???