Mayo Football and Hurling - Discussion pages

Started by stephenite, November 09, 2006, 11:14:18 PM

I agree with Bod Mor about Nallen. The Clarke example is a perfect one and you can add in Cooper on Nallen in the 2005 quarter final. He has been a legend but I think a hard call needs to be made here and he will serve us better from the bench.

It is ludicrous to consider playing Brady at full-back. It was something that worked for a short time during the All ireland final. He does not have the mobility to do the job and we would be better served with him out the field.

If you go through the team line by line we are in quiet good order if the full-back line could be sorted.

I think Paddy Navin should get a go in the FBD for a start, re-assess and the go with him in the league. It is important that whoever is to nail down the number 3 shirt should play the entire season there if possible. I don't think Geraghty can be an option. Keith Higgins or Liam O'Malley can play in either corner but would we be better served if they moved out the field? We have no shortage of wing-back options. But I think we need to tighten our half-back line. Because of the tendency of Garinder to attack at all times, and Nallen's loss of that yard of pace our full-back line has been exposed as being short of numbers. It is the same with the high ball. Even if out fielded the players are not there to support the full-back line. This is the crucial change that needs to be made. A more disciplined defence. That is why I would look at replacing Gardiner.

OkeyDoke

Too many people seem to be obsessed with having a big full back line. Think back to Tyrone's full abck line when they won Sam in 2005.
Ryan McMenamin - 5' 9"
Chris Lawn - 5' 9"
Michael McGee - 5' 7"
It's all about getting pressure out the field and the type of defensive system thats used ie maybe playing an extra defender.
If we do happen to meet Kerry and Donaghy again, by all means play DB but in any other game he would be skinned alive at FB.
It's not a dig at him but it's just that FB is such a specialised position. Neither DB or Nallen has played at FB.
As Bod Mor said, it will end up being Navin or O malley

I really believe not placing brady at full back for the 1st 15 minutes cost M&M their jobs and mayo a fighting chance at winning the allireland last year. But it was areal horse for courses thing, as alluded to earlier Donaghy still has to prove hes not a one (very good) trick pony by dominating next year but if its as simple as putting a big agressive midfieder on him i feel he could be a on hit wonder . but for the rest of the games I dont see anyone challenging heany . sure your heart is in you mouth half the time with him but he has got us to 2 allieland in the last 3 years there so I would need a compellling reason to change him. in the u21's cafferkey didnt look like the man, when cork ran against mayo he looked very dodgy as he did against roscommon.  Navin has proved nothing yet. pat kelly the only natural full back on the panel is gone. so at the mo its still heany.

Funny that with all the teams being picked here at the moment Kilcoyne seems to have dissappeared when did that happen probably our best prospect

Cllr Willie Power

Quote from: rosnarun on December 15, 2006, 11:15:27 AM
Navin has proved nothing yet

Bit hard for the guy to prove himself when he's never been given a run.  ::) As I've said before, this guy is well worth a look and should have been give a run before now. If he's not up to it then fair enough but he at least deserves a chance. Let's make a call after he's been given a decent run during the League.

A few interesting names on and off the panel but I would bet that there will be a lot more changes before we head for Gaillimh next summer.

Anyway, it's way too early yet for this topic lads.....

Barney you hit the nail on the head. Nallen is not good enough for intercounty football, perhaps to bring him on if things are getting frayed at the end but I don't think Nallen will start a game in the green and red again, especially during the summer months.

Maradona

I agree that Brady is not the ideal man for full back, but I think with the options we have he might be the best. Remember 2 years ago we were having the same discussion re the full back line and no one has come through to challenge. 2 of the 04 FB line started in 06. And we were exposed again. Not just at full back but in the corners too. Plus we were v Dublin also - god did we ride our luck that day in the FB line.
The thing with Brady is that despite his limitations as a footballer, he does intimidate opponents - the only Mayo player in my time that has. He was a relative success against a rampaging FF in the AI Final when we were loosing battles all over the pitch. On paper he does not appear the right candidate, but why not give it a go rather than write him off after one go in the position? You have to be pretty mobile tp play MF too. Plus tha fact is that there is less energy required in FB than in MF so maybe he can be a 70 min man again rather than a 25 min one. Try it in the league - if it works good, if not give others a go. Think Heaney alongside him would make a formidiable line. We have to get away from 5'7" lads straight out of U21 marking the likes of S McDonnell / Gooch, etc. Even Higgins, fine footballer that he is, has a lot to prove as a defender if he is to seriously make the grade. Now Ryan McMen is no giant, but I wouldn't fancy marking him. Wouldnt have such a fear with Mayo corner backs!!

muscles magoo

Quote from: Maradona on December 15, 2006, 02:07:09 PM
I agree that Brady is not the ideal man for full back, but I think with the options we have he might be the best. Remember 2 years ago we were having the same discussion re the full back line and no one has come through to challenge. 2 of the 04 FB line started in 06. And we were exposed again. Not just at full back but in the corners too. Plus we were v Dublin also - god did we ride our luck that day in the FB line.
The thing with Brady is that despite his limitations as a footballer, he does intimidate opponents - the only Mayo player in my time that has. He was a relative success against a rampaging FF in the AI Final when we were loosing battles all over the pitch. On paper he does not appear the right candidate, but why not give it a go rather than write him off after one go in the position? You have to be pretty mobile tp play MF too. Plus tha fact is that there is less energy required in FB than in MF so maybe he can be a 70 min man again rather than a 25 min one.

I doubt if Brady would have the necessary discipline to be the solution at No.3. Ability is not an issue, he has buckets of that.

Bod Mor

Quote from: rosnarun on December 15, 2006, 11:15:27 AM
Funny that with all the teams being picked here at the moment Kilcoyne seems to have dissappeared when did that happen probably our best prospect

Thats true rosnarun. Kilcoyne needs to be given a good run in the league next year. I know its pointless picking championship teams in December but here's what I think anyway:

Clarke
L O'Malley           Navin      Howley   

K Higgins           Heaney   Gardiner

Harte       McGarrity

Kilcoyne           McDonald    Dillon

C Mortimer           T Mortimer     A O'Malley/K O'Neill
Ó chuir mé 'mo cheann é ní stopfaidh mé choíche
Go seasfaidh mé thíos i lár Chondae Mhaigh Eo.

blast05

QuoteThe thing with Brady is that despite his limitations as a footballer, he does intimidate opponents - the only Mayo player in my time that has.

Jaysus, you must be fairly young 

venter

Clarke
Nallen         A Higgins     L O'Malley

K Higgins      Heaney     Gardiner

Moran       McGarrity

Harte      McDonald      Dillon

C Mortimer    T Mortimer     K O'Neill

Im delighted to see Marty Mac back in the set up. Hopefully he can stay injury free and have a good cut at making the team.

Its bizarre to see all these teams that have James Nallen in the full back line !?

If the man couldnt cut the pace at CHB how do you expect him to stay with any corner forward let alone a fast corner forward at inter county level?
Everyone from Meehan to Gooch would destroy him. Im sorry but he would be roasted in the full back line.

Is it a case that you think he deserves a place for all his years of service?

To be honest thats not exactly fair on anyone and certainly not fair on him to expect that.

I wouldn't play Nallen at corner back either. CHB or on the bench, and I'm afraid I think it's time for Jimmy to get more familiar with the bench. He just doesn't seem to have the pace for it anymore, and he's too 'nice'. A bit of cynicism is needed these days.

I would pick a team along the lines of:

clarke
l o'malley navin k higgins
a higgins heaney gardiner
mcgaritty moran/brady
t mort dillon harte
c mort mcd k o'neill

I'm not sure about Navin but would like to see him get a couple of games at least so he can make a claim. 

Here is my tuppence worth... I think this is the strongest we have at the minute:

Clarke
L o'Malley    P Navin      K Higgins
A Higgins    David Brady   P Gardiner
        McGaritty   Heaney
P Harte    Ger Brady     A Dillon
C Mortimor    K McDonald    K O'Neill

Controversial as it may seem to put David Brady CHB it makes perfect sence.
He would stop anything comming through and would put the likes of Brosnen back on his arse. A very commanding player that would own everything that came into his space.

He is also the kind of player that is very inspirational and the team just improves 10 fold having him on the starting line up. I have left in Ger Brady too because he seems to shine when his brother David is playing too.

As pre-mentioned I would like to see Navin getting a fair chance at full back. I hope he gets a few games to develop there during the league. He could be the answer.

I have moved Heaney into midfield. Its partially experiential but I wasnt impressed with him at full back this year or at CHB in the AIF. He played all his underage football and club football at midfield and used to line out mid-field for Mayo so Im selecting him there. He loves carrying the ball and going forward but has loads more to offer at mid-field.

The only players I would worry about is O Neill who should be good for 40 minutes all the same. Im sure Kilcoyne or Trev Mortimor would be well fit to replace him if need be.

The other player id worry about is McGaritty who in my eyes has let us down twice on the big day. If he left down the basketball and concentrated on GAA and getting bulkier he could be outstanding. Barry Moran isnt ready for the step up. You may say he is young but he is three years in the senior camp now and still hasnt made much of an impression. I dont think he has got it and looked seriously out of his depth in the semi against Dublin.
I hope he proves me wrong though.

This is the team I would like start the league. A bit radical in the backs (because that is what we need):

Clarke

Cafferkey          Navin             Higgins

Mullins              Higgins           O'Malley

McGarrity          Brady

Dillon               McDonald         Harte

Mortimer          Trevor             Kilcoyne
Mortimer         

Just because a player hasn't been exposed yet does make him a good bet, and caffery and navin fall very much into that category they borh i feel have come to prominence because they were part of stronger teams. Navin looked well off the pace in at full back for UCD and only looked any way promising going foprward and isnt that what were trying to solve and how any one putting caffery in a team ahead of Gardiner is letting their predjudice go that one step too far