GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: thejuice on December 07, 2008, 08:05:47 PM

Title: €200,000........
Post by: thejuice on December 07, 2008, 08:05:47 PM
..............thats the cost of pitch invasions for the GAA in insurance.

As much as I enjoy the pitch invasions, do you think that money could be better spent! thats not including the damage to the pitch

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/croker-pitch-invasions-costing-8364200000-a-year-1565662.html

Title: Re: €200,000........
Post by: orangeman on December 07, 2008, 08:14:48 PM
You can't put a price on the first time Armagh or Tyrone or any other county for that matter, running out onto that pitch to acclaim their heroes. These memories will never be erased.

Small price to pay.
Post by: An Laoch on December 07, 2008, 09:07:09 PM
if ambulance chasing filth weren't claiming for ''injuries'' incurred while they invade the pitch the costs would be significantly down.

on pitch celebrations are great, but celebrations should be at your own risk
Post by: leenie on December 07, 2008, 09:13:50 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 07, 2008, 08:14:48 PM
You can't put a price on the first time Armagh or Tyrone or any other county for that matter, running out onto that pitch to acclaim their heroes. These memories will never be erased.

Small price to pay.

and think how much we had spent waiting for those days........

insurance was well paid for!
Post by: Owenmoresider on December 07, 2008, 09:26:31 PM
Is this McKenna off on his annual rant about invasions? I'm sure it doesn't help the pitch, but then neither does a host of rugby matches in November, or in the spring.... ::)
Post by: ONeill on December 07, 2008, 09:35:18 PM
Sure stick in a friendly between Trapp's men and Howsyerboyjohn to make up for it.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 07, 2008, 09:39:52 PM
If When Mayo finally do the business on a September Sunday that premium won't be long going up a nice bit  :P
Post by: ONeill on December 07, 2008, 09:41:55 PM
Yeah, especially with the dung falling to the turf from the flying pigs over Dublin.
Post by: Owenmoresider on December 07, 2008, 10:22:59 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on December 07, 2008, 09:39:52 PM
If When Mayo finally do the business on a September Sunday that premium won't be long going up a nice bit  :P
Uninsurable risk surely? Still it's not an event they will be anticipating any time soon, so the premium's safe. ;)
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 07, 2008, 10:25:28 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 07, 2008, 09:41:55 PM
Yeah, especially with the dung falling to the turf from the flying pigs over Dublin.

New money, no class at all

Quote from: Owenmoresider on December 07, 2008, 10:22:59 PM
Uninsurable risk surely? Still it's not an event they will be anticipating any time soon, so the premium's safe. ;)

A bit like ye winning so much as the Nestor Cup  :P
Post by: Owenmoresider on December 07, 2008, 10:38:45 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on December 07, 2008, 10:25:28 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 07, 2008, 09:41:55 PM

New money, no class at all

Quote from: Owenmoresider on December 07, 2008, 10:22:59 PM

A bit like ye winning so much as the Nestor Cup  :P
Well now the state of the Hyde is such that we probably improved its condition!
Post by: marty88 on December 08, 2008, 12:36:19 AM
Over €5,000,000

Thats how much gate receipts are for the all Ireland final when there is these invasions happen.
Post by: tyrone exile on December 08, 2008, 02:01:04 AM
Quote from: marty88 on December 08, 2008, 12:36:19 AM
Over €5,000,000

Thats how much gate receipts are for the all Ireland final when there is these invasions happen.

couldn't have put it better myself. Its not as if the GAA need the money, and its a small pleasure enjoyed by the fan, a well deserved one considering the price of admission
Post by: Hardy on December 08, 2008, 10:24:25 AM
I'm very happy you lads are not in charge of GAA finances anyway.
Post by: corn02 on December 08, 2008, 12:42:05 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on December 07, 2008, 09:26:31 PM
Is this McKenna off on his annual rant about invasions? I'm sure it doesn't help the pitch, but then neither does a host of rugby matches in November, or in the spring.... ::)

Hardly an annual rant. It is a quarter of million euro he is talking about, a valid point to be raised.
Post by: armaghniac on December 08, 2008, 01:42:00 PM
Why don't they just sell tickets costing an extra fiver which carry the right to invade the pitch!!
Post by: StGallsGAA on December 08, 2008, 02:30:07 PM
Who exactly is bringing these claims? 

If I decide to run onto the pitch to celebrate depite the repeated warnings in the porgramme and over the PA how can I hold Croker Park to account for falling over?  Sound like a crap legal tem they have if they are settling such cclaims.
Post by: Hardy on December 08, 2008, 04:13:07 PM
You go ahead, then and indulge your rare victorious feeling and don't let anyone interfere with your perceived right to go where you like, when you like, regardless of the danger or cost to others, the damage it will cause or the requests of your peers in the organisation not to. And don't be worrying now about that €200,000 - sure let someone else worry about that.
Post by: cornafean on December 08, 2008, 04:48:30 PM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on December 08, 2008, 02:30:07 PM

If I decide to run onto the pitch to celebrate depite the repeated warnings in the porgramme and over the PA how can I hold Croker Park to account for falling over?  Sound like a crap legal team they have if they are settling such cclaims.

My thoughts exactly. Why not get some of the renowned legal experts among the GAA's own ranks to help sorting this out?

If I trip and fall in Supermacs I can expect to face a vigorous defence if I lodge a claim against the company. The GAA should take a leaf out of their book. If we roll over every time someone claims compo, then we may as well fold up the tent in every club in the country as well as in Croke Park.
Post by: Maroon Heaven on December 08, 2008, 06:15:32 PM
Over €5,000,000

My God a 4% loss is serious money to be losing in anyone's language for something that can be controlled....
Post by: Maroon Heaven on December 08, 2008, 06:18:38 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on December 08, 2008, 01:42:00 PM
Why don't they just sell tickets costing an extra fiver which carry the right to invade the pitch!!

So hat - they'll have stewards at the entrances to the pitch looking at tickets -

"I'm sorry Sir - You don't have the right to enter the pitch to support your team after winning the AI - Please step aside and let the other 200 people like you get a chance for me to turn them away...."

I know your thinking outside the box Armaghniac - But that would be chaos
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 08, 2008, 06:50:41 PM
Ok I know there are some good arguments in favour of stopping invasions but I think it is one of the most heart warming and genuine sights in the GAA when a county makes a breakthrough success, be it on All-Ireland final day in Croker or provincial success, county title success etc.
Armagh and Tyrone All-Ireland successes, Laois and Westmeath winning Leinster, Sligo winning Connacht and numerous 'unfashionable' clubs winning county senior titles have all brought about emotional pitch invasions.
The players and their supporters mixing together, savouring the moment. It sums up a lot about the GAA - it is not just about the players, its about a wider sense of identity for anyone with any association to the success and allowing them all on the pitch together after they've reached their promised land is something I think we can't afford to lose.

Also, like some posters say, the GAA could easily be a bit more savvy when it comes to claims from those people who take advantage of moments like this
Post by: Rossfan on December 08, 2008, 08:07:12 PM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on December 08, 2008, 02:30:07 PM

If I decide to run onto the pitch to celebrate depite the repeated warnings in the porgramme and over the PA how can I hold Croker Park to account for falling over?  Sound like a crap legal tem they have if they are settling such cclaims.

Easy known you're from the North St Gall.
The legal system here is that the landowner is responsible for any damage to anyone that occurs on his property. If I break into someones house and cut my arm I can ,ost likely successfully sue the householder !!!!
Doesnt matter how much the claimant is at fault - sure silly things like personal responsibility cant be allowed to get in the way of the legal profession making it's fortune  >:(
Post by: marty88 on December 09, 2008, 07:13:45 AM
Quote from: Maroon Heaven on December 08, 2008, 06:15:32 PM
Over €5,000,000

My God a 4% loss is serious money to be losing in anyone's language for something that can be controlled....

I disagree. I picked out the gate receipts for one game.

Pitch invasions happen at 10 games over the course of the county season, so in actual fact its a lot less that 4% per game.

Running on to the pitch is part of the GAA's culture, I hope we're not trying to destroy it for the sack of a few quid.
Post by: passedit on December 09, 2008, 09:47:36 AM
QuoteCROWD invasions at Croke Park are costing the GAA €200,000 per year in insurance claims and are shortening the lifespan of the pitch, which brings a further cost.

I'd assume that the claims are defended rigorously by the insurance company. The real cost to the GAA is the premiums is it not?

As for invasions, never got them myself, i'm usually half way through my first pint in Gills by the time the cup's lifted.
Post by: thejuice on December 09, 2008, 11:50:58 AM
Quote from: passedit on December 09, 2008, 09:47:36 AM
QuoteCROWD invasions at Croke Park are costing the GAA €200,000 per year in insurance claims and are shortening the lifespan of the pitch, which brings a further cost.

I'd assume that the claims are defended rigorously by the insurance company. The real cost to the GAA is the premiums is it not?
As for invasions, never got them myself, i'm usually half way through my first pint in Gills by the time the cup's lifted.

Thats what I would imagine. I do like the pitch invasions and I dont find fault with anyone who took part in them, like I did myself in 96, but is it really worth that €200,000?
Post by: corn02 on December 09, 2008, 05:00:18 PM
Quote from: thejuice on December 09, 2008, 11:50:58 AM

Thats what I would imagine. I do like the pitch invasions and I dont find fault with anyone who took part in them, like I did myself in 96, but is it really worth that €200,000?

People seem to think that they would be missing out, but the fact of the matter is that if they were FORCED to stay in the stands, they would enjoy it just as much.
Post by: AFS on December 09, 2008, 11:44:02 PM
Quote from: corn02 on December 09, 2008, 05:00:18 PM
Quote from: thejuice on December 09, 2008, 11:50:58 AM

People seem to think that they would be missing out, but the fact of the matter is that if they were FORCED to stay in the stands, they would enjoy it just as much.

No you wouldn't. I'm undecided as to whether its worth paying so much for, but its silly to suggest that there isn't extra enjoyment gained from getting onto the pitch after a big victory.
Post by: Hardy on December 10, 2008, 10:39:47 AM
Why is it silly? I've experienced both and I much preferred the off-pitch celebrations in 1999. They went on much longer, and I got to raise the cup as Graham Geraghty spent at least half an hour walking around the perimeter, letting anyone who wanted have a grab of the cup.

I'm sure my perception is not too much coloured by the fact that I had my pocket picked in the on-pitch crush in 1988.
Post by: AFS on December 10, 2008, 12:50:26 PM
Well its silly to suggest that everyone would enjoy off field celebrations as much. I suppose I'm equally silly to suggest that everyone wouldn't enjoy off field celebrations as much :-\.

Yours is a personal experience Hardy, I have my own different personal experiences of comparisons between on/off field celebrations, however I think I'm fairly secure with the assumption that if the cost factor was eliminated the vast majority of GAA fans would favour on field celebrations. How else do you explain pitch invasions at the end of practically every championship success, at any level, in every county in Ireland, for as long back as anyone can remember?
Post by: corn02 on December 10, 2008, 01:13:52 PM
Quote from: AFS on December 10, 2008, 12:50:26 PM
Well its silly to suggest that everyone would enjoy off field celebrations as much. I suppose I'm equally silly to suggest that everyone wouldn't enjoy off field celebrations as much :-\.

Exactly. My point is that if the fans got over the fact that getting on the picth was not going to happen, they would rejoice as much in the crowd. They would still be surrounded by fellow fans. Sorry to bring another sport into it, but the Pool fans in Istanbul or Untied fans in Moscow celebrated as much as anyone.

I get that it may not appear to be as good as getting on the picth, but if people got use to the idea I don't think it would make much difference.
Post by: AFS on December 10, 2008, 01:25:02 PM
Yeah  maybe so, but there's a kind of forbidden fruit element about getting onto the pitch, particularly Croke Park. There's also the attraction of being exactly where the action happened, retracing the steps of the players you've just watched. This kind of stuff is what sets apart the on field experience from remaining in the stands.

In the end I don't think anything will really change anytime soon. The pitch invasions will go on. The only way that they'll be stopped is if the stadium authorities decide to take a really heavy handed approach to the situation and I don't think anyone wants to see that happen. Or if Kerry/Tyrone and Kilkenny start to clear up year after year and their supporters become blasé about the whole pitch invasion thing.
Post by: Hardy on December 10, 2008, 02:08:45 PM
Quote from: AFS on December 10, 2008, 12:50:26 PMHow else do you explain pitch invasions at the end of practically every championship success, at any level, in every county in Ireland, for as long back as anyone can remember?

Maybe it's that lovable spontaneity and enthusiasm for the crack that we suppose the world loves us for. It couldn't be indiscipline, carelesness and lack of respect, could it?
Post by: Homer on December 10, 2008, 02:34:52 PM
Quote from: Hardy on December 10, 2008, 02:08:45 PM
Quote from: AFS on December 10, 2008, 12:50:26 PMHow else do you explain pitch invasions at the end of practically every championship success, at any level, in every county in Ireland, for as long back as anyone can remember?

Maybe it's that lovable spontaneity and enthusiasm for the crack that we suppose the world loves us for. It couldn't be indiscipline, carelesness and lack of respect, could it?

Freudian slip Hardy?
Post by: ONeill on December 10, 2008, 05:20:06 PM
Was on-field for 2003 and off for 2005/8. Makes abolutely no difference. Think the players aren't too fond of it.
Post by: cornafean on December 10, 2008, 09:59:10 PM
Does anyone know how much of the €200,000 relates to claims for assault/pulling/dragging by the stewards in the luminous bibs?
Post by: ardal on December 10, 2008, 10:00:54 PM
€200,000 for pitch invasion (allegedly)

How much does CC fine counties when all players don't have socks pulled up for pre-match parade?
How much is the fine for having unnamed water carrier?
How much is the fine when subs have a kick around at half time?

There's a ton of pointless shite that CC fine County boards for, it'd easily cover the €200.000 10 times over
Post by: ardal on December 10, 2008, 11:39:55 PM
Simply check out the minutes of the central council meetings. It's public knowledge. I can trawl through them if'd you like but I'd be simply cutting and pasting as there's a lot of guff in there
Post by: corn02 on December 11, 2008, 10:01:10 AM
You are claiming they have fined two million in total?
Post by: ardal on December 11, 2008, 10:39:47 PM
Quote from: corn02 on December 11, 2008, 10:01:10 AM
You are claiming they have fined two million in total?

No, €200,000, one fifth of a million me thinks (if I understand you correctly). Don't know for sure but I'd reckon that over the year, it'd cover that amount. Ask your county treasurer how much they paid in fnes last year.
Post by: AFS on December 12, 2008, 12:41:58 AM
You did say the fines would cover the €200,000 10 times over which = €2,000,000. I doubt those fines add up to a significant amount in total.