Recent posts

General discussion / Re: Eurovision final here we c...
Last post by Main Street - Today at 02:24:18 PM
Apparently you can vote up to 20 times and only a small minority of the viewing public actually vote.
So if there is just 10 in every 1000 who are determined to vote for one act, that act has a very good chance of finishing in the top two. Not least because the other 990 votes are scattered over a varied number of acts and they're not likely to cough up the cash to vote twice or more

The large public vote for Israel was managed by hook.

General discussion / Re: The far right
Last post by Itchy - Today at 02:22:46 PM
Now I have a question for you, If your applicant has his/her finger prints taken and if they are put into the international criminal database and they come back as having no record of criminality on that database - Do you now consider that person to be "vetted"?
Last post by Itchy - Today at 02:17:25 PM
No I don't think that's unreasonable. I would imagine it's fairly pointless though.
Last post by whitey - Today at 02:15:24 PM
Quote from: Itchy on Today at 01:09:15 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on Today at 12:51:33 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on Today at 12:14:15 PMYeah, exactly. When are the Guards and politicians going to stop harassing local populations by forcibly planting hundreds of unvetted men from completely different cultures into peaceful communities?

Under the current laws (cause whether you like that or not, that's the way its meant to be, until its changed)

Unvetted person comes to Ireland and seeks asylum, under the current system how should that be done?

If they are vetted and approved, are you ok with that?  even though they are from different cultures? Or is it just different cultures that have you up in arms (literally) ?

I'm fairly sure, if yer man was honest, vetting would consist of looking at the colour of the applicants face and if it wasn't white vetting failed. In addition check persons religion, if Muslim vetting failed.

The government had claimed that people's fingerprints were being checked against international criminal databases

That was not true.

Do you think it is a far right opinion to ask that people with no (or visibly fake) Id  have their fingerprints checked against international criminal databases ?
Derry / Re: Derry Club Football & Hurl...
Last post by seanyb - Today at 02:08:09 PM
All very quiet on the build up to Saturday. Have we a clean bill of health? Murphy and McKinless fit? Not sure what to expect to be honest, let's hope we get the 2 pts and get back on the wagon again
GAA Discussion / Re: GAA moneybags and Sean Cav...
Last post by Truthsayer - Today at 01:58:42 PM
Watch this space with Jarlath. Grand speeches in the Hogan Stand all very well but as far as I can see hes another driven by corporate mentality of GAA hierarchy. Never trusted him since he suggested the Irish anthem and flag could be removed to placate unionism, then backtracked when he seen the reaction.
Burns has seized on one sentence of what Sean said in order to deflect from selling off our games thereby leaving many GAA lifelong grassroots members behind.
GAA Discussion / Re: Sam Maguire 2024 Group 1 ...
Last post by 93-DY-SAM - Today at 01:43:44 PM
Quote from: p3427977 on Today at 12:50:48 PMWhen will the fixtures be confirmed?

The GAA are f'ing useless at planning ahead. All we have is an idea of the weekend each of the teams will be playing. It's ludicrous that they can't publish for all these group games the exact day and time they'll be played and the venues for all the netural games. It's not rocket science. It gives people a chance to plan rather than waiting until each round has been played before announcing the day and time for the next round of games. Surely that is a PR own goal? Am I missing something around that?
General discussion / Re: Time Travel
Last post by Milltown Row2 - Today at 01:33:48 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on Today at 01:24:47 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on Today at 09:15:45 AMAlways loved a good time travel film or book, loved the film About time, very simple approach to what could do with the ability to time travel.

So if you had 3 attempts to travel back in time, with these three options below

• Go back and have a word with yourself- What would you say?
  • To witness a great/infamous event, be it your own or other event (give reasons)
  • To change something, but beyond your DOB and reasons
Are we allowed to financially gain from 1? Like Biff in Back To The Future II can we take back all the sports results or tell ourselves to throw money into Apple stocks?

No Biffs allowed unfortunately

Antrim / Re: Antrim Football Thread
Last post by Milltown Row2 - Today at 01:32:36 PM
Quote from: Spike on Today at 01:20:55 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on Today at 01:12:59 PM
Quote from: Spike on Today at 01:04:59 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on Today at 12:01:56 PM
Quote from: NatSoSaff on Today at 11:41:04 AMSpeaking to a man there about the Tailteann cup. So in theory, Antrim could make it all the way to the final which is 13th July. This would mean that there would be a good handful of players that won't have kicked a single league ball for their clubs over 15 games? Is this correct? And potentially may only get a couple of championship group games if their club doesn't progress? Jesus Christ the system is well and truly broken.

In successful counties that was/is common enough over the years with the various different formats they used.

So do we want a successful county team or a successful club team?

If a club player believes they can win an All Ireland with their club over the county then they might throw their lot behind the club. Antrim for whatever reason, club is king

Is it?  One obvious club possibly but the remainder get behind the Saffs surely?   

Do we though? Do we really commit to what's needed at the top table? Or do we collectively not have good footballers?

Because if we do have good footballers then we need to get them up to that level of physical fitness that we see from teams at Div 1. Seeing lads from other counties coming off the pitch in regards to ours is night and day.

Gone are the days of the stylish but light footballers, that we had many of in the past, that just doesn't count anymore. Size strength are up their with skill and application

The problem is it takes a good few years to develop a player into that type, sticking to it, is very hard.

I would agree that physically we are not up to it.   We have a big side at the moment but limited with their skills.  the challenge is to get our most talented footballers physically competitive.   

Oddly when I stopped being a regular senior hurler for the club, in my late 30's, I started training a lot more, got into triathlons and running, I did more gym/weights work than I ever did as a player or was asked to do.

6amm starts at the gym, at the gym after work most days of the week. Are we even getting that level of commitment? Andy has went for a type of player, Its down to the lads to buy into what is required.

Drinking is limited, if not stopped, clean food only, get to the targets sets by the S&C (I'm sure that has been given to players) study the game more, work on your craft, develop both feet, improve on your weakness, all sounds too much?  probably not for you

TBH I'm not entirely sure what the other counties at the top are doing, but did see a clubs training set up and it looked tough, so I'd imagine at the likes of the big counties they are at it more again 
General discussion / Re: Time Travel
Last post by Tony Baloney - Today at 01:24:47 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on Today at 09:15:45 AMAlways loved a good time travel film or book, loved the film About time, very simple approach to what could do with the ability to time travel.

So if you had 3 attempts to travel back in time, with these three options below

• Go back and have a word with yourself- What would you say?
  • To witness a great/infamous event, be it your own or other event (give reasons)
  • To change something, but beyond your DOB and reasons
Are we allowed to financially gain from 1? Like Biff in Back To The Future II can we take back all the sports results or tell ourselves to throw money into Apple stocks?