The IRISH RUGBY thread

Started by Donnellys Hollow, October 27, 2009, 05:26:16 PM

Was there an amnesty for the loonies in celebration of the result, looks like they've opened the gates and let em all out to pollute this thread.

It's the concept of the 'test' that people seem to be struggling with. Until the 4 Nations started Rugby was basically like Cricket in that there were no international 'competitions'. Every game was an international test. Rugby does not really do 'friendlies', although now with the World Cup established, you could say that the pre-World Cup tests are basically that, friendlies. However the autumn internationals are a series of old style test internationals, and are certainly not friendlies.

If you understand that the concept of friendlies in the Soccer and GAA worlds does not really exist in Rugby at International Level, then you begin to understand why this is a big deal.

However, to be fair, there is no comparison between winning this game and beating them in a World Cup.

Quote from: AZOffaly on November 07, 2016, 10:12:39 AM
It's the concept of the 'test' that people seem to be struggling with. Until the 4 Nations started Rugby was basically like Cricket in that there were no international 'competitions'. Every game was an international test. Rugby does not really do 'friendlies', although now with the World Cup established, you could say that the pre-World Cup tests are basically that, friendlies. However the autumn internationals are a series of old style test internationals, and are certainly not friendlies.

If you understand that the concept of friendlies in the Soccer and GAA worlds does not really exist in Rugby at International Level, then you begin to understand why this is a big deal.

However, to be fair, there is no comparison between winning this game and beating them in a World Cup.

There isn't but it is a sign of progress . Getting past a team like NZ is a big step forward.
There's huge value in what Steve Hansen said about Ireland

Agreed. Also Schmidt has been at pains to mention in every interview that this was certainly not the All Blacks first team and that he expects a different challenge in a couple of weeks time but it is nice to beat them for once.

I don't really see where people are celebrating this like we've won a World Cup either I just think Ireland haven't beaten a team we haven't in a long time so people are happy and it is a good foundation to build on for the coming year. Fair play to all involved. Feck the begrudgers!!

Quote from: seafoid on November 07, 2016, 10:24:04 AM

There isn't but it is a sign of progress . Getting past a team like NZ is a big step forward.
There's huge value in what Steve Hansen said about Ireland

AZ is right. For long enough (IIRC the Official Rugby world cup started in the 90's) there wasn't any competitions as such for Northern and Southern hemisphere teams to play each other and hence these "tests" aren't considered friendlies, much in the same manner as Cricket and the various test series run between competing countries, but not in a competition as soccer would have.

That doesn't mean that both competing countries do their damnest to win them and there in lies the point. If NZ had all their players fit (a bit like O'Brien for Ireland) they'd be sure as hell of lining out on Saturday in Soldier field.

On the game itself, I've only saw the second half where Ireland were under the cosh for big parts, I thought the tries from Henshaw and even the Murray try were pretty soft to concede from a NZ POV, but that's usually Ireland conceding them and that's the best part of it. When Ireland had the ball and tried to do things with it they were making inroads, but I still think the box kick is overused by Murray and teams will work it out, although Zebo in particular came off with some great catches to regain possession further up the field.

The game in three weeks times will be interesting to say the least and a NZ backlash will be something to behold.

Il Bomber Destro

Glorified friendlies, in other words.

Quote from: johnneycool on November 07, 2016, 10:44:13 AM
The game in three weeks times will be interesting to say the least and a NZ backlash will be something to behold.

Reset there, Johnny or you'll miss it. It's on Saturday the 19th.

dec

Quote from: Hardy on November 07, 2016, 11:45:30 AM

Don't worry, Fearon will keep him right on the date.

Quote from: dec on November 07, 2016, 01:36:03 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 07, 2016, 11:45:30 AM

Don't worry, Fearon will keep him right on the date.

FFS, I might need someone to keep me right alright!

Some great footage of the 'friendly': https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gC-tpy9E0hs

Long walk from the dressing rooms.

Il Bomber Destro

Quote from: muppet on November 07, 2016, 08:13:53 PM
Some great footage of the 'friendly': https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gC-tpy9E0hs

No need for the ' ', mate.

That's makes a lovely smiley actually.

michaelg

Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on November 06, 2016, 08:49:00 PM
Quote from: michaelg on November 06, 2016, 08:42:27 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on November 06, 2016, 08:36:38 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on November 06, 2016, 08:30:02 PM
Yeah they play in the high profile O'Fiaich Cup instead, ::)

That's a competition.

I wouldn't be getting worked up over winning one in any case.

It's about context and the rugby fellas are getting worked up about winning a friendly and becoming hypersensitive when this pointed out.
How come you don't refer to the ROI soccer team as the West British soccer team?

They don't line out under a bastardised flag and belt out a pub song written by the son of a peeler.
Ironic that you feel this way given that the Ireland rugby team is probably the one team that represents and is supported by people in the 32 counties of Ireland.

Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on November 07, 2016, 08:15:28 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 07, 2016, 08:13:53 PM

No need for the ' ', mate.

That's makes a lovely smiley actually.
What motivates you?

Il Bomber Destro

Quote from: michaelg on November 07, 2016, 08:46:55 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on November 06, 2016, 08:49:00 PM
Quote from: michaelg on November 06, 2016, 08:42:27 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on November 06, 2016, 08:36:38 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on November 06, 2016, 08:30:02 PM
Yeah they play in the high profile O'Fiaich Cup instead, ::)

That's a competition.

I wouldn't be getting worked up over winning one in any case.

It's about context and the rugby fellas are getting worked up about winning a friendly and becoming hypersensitive when this pointed out.
How come you don't refer to the ROI soccer team as the West British soccer team?

They don't line out under a bastardised flag and belt out a pub song written by the son of a peeler.
Ironic that you feel this way given that the Ireland rugby team is probably the one team that represents and is supported by everyone in the 32 counties of Ireland.

It's not supported by me.

Some of us don't forget how they supported apartheid in South Africa.