Words only the Irish use.

Started by SidelineKick, December 05, 2008, 11:52:57 AM

WhoAreYaWhoAreYa!

i think  'Quare' stands alone i nthis thread, as a uniquely irish word. a couple years back Ray D'arcy had a phone-in on the radio, to find a uniquely irish word, and the best or most popular would be put into a new dictionary or something. i rang and rang but never got in, asuming Quare would be the chosen word, i was in disbeleief, when 'langer' was chosen.

Is Hoor a truely irish word  e.g. he's an awful hoor? 

Quote from: WhoAreYaWhoAreYa! on August 07, 2009, 10:04:59 PM
i think  'Quare' stands alone i nthis thread, as a uniquely irish word. a couple years back Ray D'arcy had a phone-in on the radio, to find a uniquely irish word, and the best or most popular would be put into a new dictionary or something. i rang and rang but never got in, asuming Quare would be the chosen word, i was in disbeleief, when 'langer' was chosen.
lovely word

This has probably been posted before but if a fella said he's after some pussy tonight he'd mean he's after a woman to have sex with.

The Watcher Pat

Quote from: RMDrive on February 07, 2009, 10:21:34 AM
A few picked up from my time in Mayo...

Molly Hick - "Look at you all Molly Hick" You are dressed in really rough looking clothes or you are wearing stuff that is completely uncordinated. [I'm not 100% how to explain this one. Maybe one of the Mayo folks can correct me if I'm wrong]
Meithering - "Stop meithering me" Stop wrecking my head

From a Belfast lad I used to work with
Scram - "Going for some scram" Going for some food

From my family in Limerick
Faith - "Oh Faith?" Oh really?

This Doengal dictionary was floating around a while ago. I reckon most of them are covered in this topic anyway.
Aul= Old
Aul Boy= Father
Aul Doll= Mother
Aye= yes
Bother= Hassle
Buck= Boy or Man
Canny= Cannot
Cowl= Cold
Craic= fun/news
Dinny= Don't
Doll= Girl or woman
Foundered= Extremely cold
Fray= From
Gan= Going
Geesa= Give me a
Gon= Please
Hanlin= Trouble or Fight or Argument
Hi= Used at the start and end of every sentence
Hay= Have
Lock= Small amount of something
Mind= To remember
Mon= Come on
Naw= No
Nuance= Unusual
Pure= very
Purdies= Potatoes
Rare= strange or unusual
Thon= That
Tight= Cruel
Wan= one(1)
Wee= Small
Weins= Babies or children
Wile= Very or Terrible
Yes= Hello

That Donegal dictionary is very like ulster scotch...lol
There is no I in team, but if you look close enough you can find ME

The Watcher Pat

Quote from: Denn Forever on August 07, 2009, 10:42:40 PM
Is Hoor a truely irish word  e.g. he's an awful hoor? 

Pat Spilanne said that on the sunday game about 3 wks ago...

Said something like "there's a awful lot of cute hoor's in Kerry"

I nearly fell out of the seat...Must be a local thing or Pat Knows something we don't..... :D
There is no I in team, but if you look close enough you can find ME

ardmhachaabu08

ya mare ye!

d'ya wanna swally - would u like a drink
Seo libh canaídh Amhrán na bhFiann

comethekingdom

There were opinions asked of the Kerry general public last week before the Kerry Dublin match about the supposed chaos and disharmony within the squad.  Most peoples initial response was " YERRA ".  8)

WhoAreYaWhoAreYa!

blade=woman, thons a quare word too, that only we use!

Quote from: hardstation on December 04, 2009, 10:47:00 PM
Funny you brought this up as I thought of one today.

"Doing the dell dell" meaning to go mad about something. No idea of the spelling, where it comes from or if it is widely used or not.
You're just making things up now.

WhoAreYaWhoAreYa!

not sure how yous wanna spell it, but ket? kyet?
as in, jaysus thats ket hi!

WhoAreYaWhoAreYa!